The Athletic Hockey Show - Toronto Maple Leafs goaltending questions, Marc-Andre Fleury trade destinations, Igor Shesterkin Hart trophy credentials, Multiple Choice Madness, and more
Episode Date: February 28, 2022First, Ian welcomes Hailey back to the show after her three-week hiatus covering the Olympics, and then they discuss the Tampa Bay Lightning-Nashville Predators outdoor game, and thoughts on the jerse...ys each team wore, the Toronto Maple Leafs facing a potential goaltending crisis with three weeks to go until the trade deadline, Marc-Andre Fleury’s future with the Chicago Blackhawks and possible trade destinations for the veteran netminder, and, in light of Igor Shesterkin’s dynamite play in goal for the New York Rangers, whether goalies should or shouldn’t be considered for the Hart trophy.Plus, Hailey answers some questions from Twitter, and to wrap things up, Ian and Hailey discuss a couple of Multiple Choice Madness questions including if it’s time for the NHL to have a best forward award, and if the Manitoba Moose’s Jeff Mallot skating right off the ice to the dressing room is the best celebration after scoring a shootout winner in hockey history or not.And, right now, you can get a 6 month subscription to The Athletic for just $1 a month when you visit http://theathletic.com/hockeyshow Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
All right, everybody.
Welcome back to kick off your week.
It is the Monday edition of the Athletic Hockey Show.
It's Ian Mendez and drum roll, please.
She's back.
Haley Salvia.
I don't know if that sounded like a drum roll.
That sounded more like a, what was that?
Like you were typing on typewriter there in the 1950s?
I don't know what you were.
But it was a fine.
But it was a drum roll.
I think drum roll is more like.
I can't do that, though.
Hayley Salvean is back in the mix.
We're great.
Listen, this is going to be great.
Haley's back. We're going to talk about her Olympic kind of TV experience.
We're going to talk about if Daryl Sutter really missed her when she was gone.
We're going to have some fun with that.
Outdoor game from Nashville this weekend.
We'll talk about another crisis in Toronto after they hung on by their fingernails to win on the weekend against Detroit.
Is it time for the flower in Toronto?
But maybe Toronto's opponent on Monday.
Washington could be in need of Mark Andre Fleury.
And speaking of goaltending, we'll talk about Igor Shisterkin.
He's getting some love for the heart trophy.
We're going to talk about that, whether goalie should be part of the Hart Trophy debate or not.
All of that and more.
Multiple Choice Madness coming up.
But like I said, welcome back.
Hey, Lee Salvin.
Yeah, the drum roll.
I think my drum roll might be better than yours, but welcome back.
Welcome back.
Yeah, it's okay.
I never played the drum.
So we'll just, you know, play the ignorance or something here.
But thank you.
It was, I'm happy to be back.
I know I remember we were talking about, you know, yeah, we'll find a way for me to do this show.
while I'm doing the Olympics, we'll make it work. No, it wouldn't have been good. It would have been
a lot. So I'm glad that Julian was around and it sounds like he did a good job and happy to be back
with you. Yeah. Listen, I'm going to say, and I did tell you this, you did a terrific job. And I think
you got a lot of, I hope you got a lot of compliments from a lot of people on your work on television.
It was first rate. You were super well prepared. You just looked really comfortable. But I do have
one bone to pick with you, Haley, one bone to pick. And we talked about this. We said, I just need you
to drop one reference of the Athletic Hockey Show podcast during your panel time. And okay, you didn't do
that. And I wouldn't have been so upset if your dog didn't get some screen time. Like, I kind of feel
like your dog Bono not only got a mention, but a picture on the screen in front of a national
audience in Canada. And you couldn't even sneak in one athletic hockey show podcast mention.
And that's the only part I'm disappointed in.
That's how you do.
I was getting more comfortable on TV when I proposed to the producer.
Hey, can we put a picture of my dog on the screen?
Yeah.
I'm sorry.
You're not.
It's sorry.
I'm sorry.
I can't.
It was within the context of the like episode or the show that we were doing,
PJ and Hunter Ryan had, so my co-host, PJ Stock and Hunter Ryan saying that we were doing like,
the final block of the show. It's always like three minutes. It's kind of what's left after we do,
like the big parts of the show. It's the final one before the show was done. It's usually like a
moment's the day. PJ and Hunter Ryan were like, well, I've got a picture of this guy that I met that
had a good call yesterday. And Hunter Ryan's like, well, I have a picture of this guy that I met who
had a good, who had his final call for the Olympics the other day. I was like, well, I don't have any
of that. Here's my dog instead. And I just thought that it was this like, I don't know. I think
it was this perfect little like look into my actual personality while trying to be serious analyst on
television and sorry Ian.
No.
There was just no natural way to bring up the show.
It was, there was no natural in.
I didn't even get to talk about talking to Shane Dome because Canada didn't really do a whole lot.
They were gone before I could talk about it.
Right.
Yeah.
That was my end.
That was we talked to Shane Done on the athletic hockey show and then Canada lost.
So you have a bone to pick with Team Canada.
Yeah.
And Shane Dones is.
specifically. Okay, now you got it, now you got to tell us because like I said, I saw a lot of compliments
coming your way and rightfully so. Could you maybe peel back the curtain a little bit? Like,
did you get one note, whether it's a text, an email, a comment from somebody that you're like,
wow, that was really, you know what, that person said I did a really good job on TV and that was a
really cool moment for me. Yeah. And I mean, I always find this like really uncomfortable because
I think I suffer from imposter syndrome, like, all the time. I think I'm constantly wondering,
like, oh, God, what am I doing? Why am I doing this stuff? And I think, you know, negative comments
that you get online always kind of, like, reinforce that more so than the positive one. So I'm
really bad for compliments. Also, when people say things, nice things to me, I'm like, oh, why? I don't know why.
I don't know if there was one that was like big.
I will say like a lot of people were very kind.
And I think it was like an overwhelming thing for me.
I think it was really overwhelming just to even go there and to think like, you know,
I'm going to work the Olympics.
I'm 27 to work my first Olympics.
Like that's something that, you know, for a lot of sports broadcasters, that's, you know,
for a lot of athletes, that's a peak.
For a lot of broadcasters, that's a dream.
so I was really honored to be a part of it.
I don't know if there was one note that I got.
I will say there was just, I was really surprised at how kind people were because I have gotten
so used to the, like, what do you know?
You know, why are you talking about this?
Or like, shut up, you're an idiot kind of comments.
I think just really anyone who has worked in broadcast that gave me a compliment was really kind.
And, you know, I got some nice notes from people on, like, hockey night or people at Sportsnet,
people on TSN.
You know, my producer and, you know, bosses at CBC, you know, John Shannon was one of the ones
leading the charge and James Duthy was there.
And I did a game night panel with James Duffy and Dave Poulin.
And that was like a, oh, God, this is one of the, you know, best hosts in Canada.
We're talking about Latvia in Sweden.
I have no idea what I'm talking about.
I just want to get through this show and, like, do a good job.
And they were great to work with.
But I've got to say, I think it was just like the comments from people back home that were the best.
Because that's who we were doing the show for, right?
And I think just hearing from people who were watching that it was, you know, it was the people saying, like, I've never really seen you before.
But, like, I learned something every time you spoke.
And specifically about the women's hockey.
And that was one of the things that I was so glad to have a.
platform to, you know, Jamie Lee Ratra had a great tournament and I got to sit there on the desk
on national TV and talk about her journey and how great of a hockey player she is and how she
deserves to be there or players like Claire Thompson, Mary Philippe Pula and Natalie Spooner, Sarah
Nurse, I got to like share those stories on that platform and hearing from people who maybe
didn't know that much about these players coming to me and saying, like, thank you so much for
your insight. I learned so much about this team today. And I get that at the athletic.
But it was nice to hear from people just given I'd never done that medium before.
But again, I'm not good with compliments.
So it was very strange.
Well, you got to be better with compliments because, yeah, you deserve them all.
But now we need to delve into because Chris, our producer, Chris Flannery and I,
tried our best a couple of weeks ago.
We saw the note that said Daryl Sutter apparently was asking about you at a press conference.
We actually went through that day's entire availability on,
on the Flames website.
It wasn't there.
So we need to know, did Daryl Sutter legitimately get to a podium and ask when is Haley Salivian coming back?
Yeah.
So Daryl has this like, you know, I guess if you watch some of his avails or people talk about
him, he does have that kind of like grumpy persona.
But once the media availability is over and this is very much how Daryl Sutter is,
if you ask his players, like he can, there's like the business and then there's the person
and he's able to separate them so quickly.
So he can be pretty sharp and pretty on you and media availability.
But once the questions are done and he's like, you guys good,
he'll like push the microphone back a little bit.
Everyone stops recording and he'll just chat with you.
And I guess in that moment he said, you know, when's Haley going to be back?
I watched the show the other day when she, was she coming back soon?
So that was my friend Kristen Anderson on the beat here, tweeted it, and I texted her.
And I was like, did that actually happen?
Yes, it did.
And I had this moment of like, oh, God, is that a good thing or a bad thing?
Because you never really know with Daryl.
I was like, oh, God.
That's a good thing.
Oh, no.
If a coach brings you up with you not there and even in a joking manner, it's a good thing.
Oh, God.
I was like, oh my God.
What if he thinks I was on vacation?
He knows.
He was watching you.
We all knew.
The entire country knew where you were.
I don't think DJ Smith.
DJ Smith has never asked about me if I haven't been.
Oh my goodness.
Where's Ian?
No.
I don't think DJ has ever asked.
So you should take that as a compliment.
I remember I missed like a week and a half on the Sendsbeak.
So I was moving out of my apartment in Toronto.
It wasn't a full week, but I missed like a couple practices,
maybe one game after Christmas.
And I won't say the player, but I remember a player being like, where are you been?
You've been gone for a few days.
Everything okay?
And I told Kreacher, Graham Kreach, who does a nice job on TSN-1200.
He's like, I've been on this beat for like 10 years and nobody's ever asked me that.
I was like, sorry.
Sorry, dude.
So, sorry, everybody.
That reeks of Mark Borvietzki.
No, it wasn't Mark, but...
It wasn't Borough.
I saw him when Nashville was in town and it was...
He's still the best person.
Yeah.
Very happy for him and Tara.
You know what?
Him, Borough and the Predators were front and center on the weekend.
It was the outdoor game.
And, uh, yeah.
And I'm wondering, uh, what, what you thought of the outdoor game because you know what?
Like, there's a lot of us that look at outdoor games like, yeah, yeah, yeah.
They're done and they're played and all that stuff.
But it actually seemed like a pretty cool spectacle in Nashville.
It looked like whatever, 70,000 people.
It looked like a lot of fun.
What I liked about this was you put together two teams that don't really have a history, right?
Like Tampa and Nashville, there's no like, wow, there's that great rivalry that goes back 10 or 15 years.
So my question is, is this something we should be doing more with these outdoor games?
Maybe just get random teams like, you know what?
It's the blues and flyers.
And it's outdoors.
And you're like, you know what?
They don't have to be a great rivalry.
maybe this is a way to kind of change up the outdoor game because it kind of looked pretty cool with the Preds and the Lightning.
Yeah, you know what? I think I saw a lot of people like, you know, discussing how they didn't really love the fact that there was so many more games on the schedule. Like that was a big hockey day when this game was on. There was a ton of great matchups. So I think it was easy to lose sight of the game that was happening. You know, if you're just looking at the schedule unless you really know and you're paying attention to big events, you know, there wasn't really that much made of it.
nationally, but it seems like for the people that were there, for the teams that were there,
it was an amazing experience.
Like you said, Ian, there was almost 70,000 people there was 68,000.
And every quote I've seen from the players to the fans, like social media, it seems
like people had an amazing time.
The atmosphere looked amazing.
And I saw that, you know, they kind of planned a lot of stuff around the Peca René,
Jersey retirement.
So Pecca was actually able to be a part of the stadium series.
So he was there as well because he'd had his jersey retired on the Thursday night.
And then that allowed him to be part of Saturday with the stadium series, which I think that's a nice example of Nashville.
They always seem to take advantage of the big moments that they're put on.
They might not get a ton of them, but if they get like an event or they're somewhere, like I think the predators always show up.
And I thought the outfits were fun.
I thought it was kind of funny that it was the leather jackets versus the full jean jean.
jacket and cowboy hats. Like the team, like they had fun with it. Um, you know, Steven Stamcoast was
talking about how, you know, the atmosphere was incredible. I think I would like to see,
see, I'm stuck on this because it's a Saturday night. Do you want this game to be the marquee
matchup and they're marketed way better than everything else in the schedule? Or do you want
this to just be, start to become a norm where there's just like an outdoor game on the schedule?
That's where I think the league needs to decide what lane they're in. Like, are you? Like, are
you get to market the stadium series games to be like the game that's on that night.
But it's a Saturday night.
It's hockey night in Canada and you've got all these other great matchups on.
So I thought it just kind of elevated what was already a good Saturday in hockey.
But I also can agree with people who were thinking like that should have been the game,
like the event for the night.
I don't know how you feel about that though.
Yeah.
It's a great because you can no longer now, because remember Gary Bettman infamously said
the sun is our enemy.
So I think the idea of playing these afternoon games
Like a Sunday afternoon would be perfect, right?
But it seems like we can't do outdoor games anymore in the daytime.
And it just ends up getting pushed back and messed up anyways.
Yeah, like that Avalanche Golden Knights game that got perpetually pushed back last season.
But yeah, I think I guess we wait and see what the television numbers are going to be.
But you're right.
Like that Saturday night was jammed.
Like Toronto and Detroit were playing.
it's an original six matchup Ottawa, Montreal
were going head to head.
It was a full night of hockey everywhere
and it kind of got lost,
but I don't know, I kind of liked,
the only thing I have to laugh
when you say Nashville always seems to do things right.
They do except for the banner.
Remember the...
Oh my God, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
The infamous banner.
The, what was it, regular season,
Western Conference Champion?
Yeah.
Banner.
That's about the only real misstep.
I meant events.
I meant they show up for events.
They don't do everything right.
Let's not get crazy.
Yeah.
But they seem to show up when these events happen and take advantage.
Did you see that there was like 20,000 or something Tampa fans there?
Yeah.
They traveled really well.
Yeah.
Like it was pretty cool.
Like I don't think I've ever seen an outdoor game other than when the Leafs played at the big house in Ann Arbor.
There was a huge following of Toronto fans.
But this one was pretty cool.
Like I don't recall any other outdoor game where, you know, 20,000 Chicago fans.
fans or Pittsburgh fans or Boston fans or Philly fans traveled like that.
That was cool.
This hockey work in Florida, Ian?
I don't know.
I think it does.
It might, it might.
It might.
But tell me, what did you think of the, I know that the jerseys on the ice took a little
bit of a beating because the lightning had the big word bolts on it.
And Nashville said smashville.
So it wasn't like traditional jerseys.
Did you have any feelings on these teams wearing these alternate jerseys?
Or you just, you know what?
Doesn't matter.
I didn't like the, like, when I remember when the designs first dropped, I didn't like them very much.
Once the game started, I didn't really focus on them at all.
It's not like I was watching the game being like, oh, God, Nashville looks horrible.
But I mean, I didn't like the jerseys very much.
I thought I don't really know what the overall vibe they were going for with them.
It was probably like a let's just go with their nicknames and have fun with it and be bold and different.
They tried and they didn't look great.
So it is what it is.
I think the league has come out with so many different jersey options in the last couple of years.
I wonder if the designers were just like, I don't know.
We've got the home and the away.
We've got the reverse retroes.
We've got the third alternates.
Maybe they just kind of ran out of ideas and wanted to try something different.
Um, I didn't love them though.
But that's okay.
I thought, I thought everything else about it was fine.
I didn't see any, I don't know.
I think some, the real good jersey matchup of the weekend of the week was that Canucks Flames jersey matchup.
Oh my God.
Like, uh, Thatcher Demco going full, uh, Kirk McLean.
Like, take my money.
Like if you, if you, if you.
Yeah, I loved it.
You're right.
That was phenomenal.
And you know what?
With the bolts and the Smashville,
I think sometimes we always rip on the NHL, right?
Like, you guys do the same thing.
And then they try something new.
They were trying to be different.
They try to be different. We're like, that sucks.
Like it's just like, it's a no win.
You're right.
Once the game got rolling, you're not really paying attention to it.
But you're right.
I loved.
Okay, by the way, real quick,
because you brought up Vancouver, Calgary.
That was your first game you covered the flames since the Olympic stuff, right?
I wasn't in the arena, so you can't say what you're going to
I am going to say it.
I watched games while I was at the Olympics, though.
It doesn't matter.
You weren't quote unquote covering them.
I brought up to Julian McKenzie.
Wouldn't it be hilarious for us, not for you,
that if the Calgary Flames went into some sort of extended nosedive
when you started recovering the team.
Like, I know that at least they beat Minnesota on the weekend,
so that narrative is probably gone.
But you got to admit,
there was probably a little bit of worry on your part
when Vancouver dusted them.
were back on the beat. I got a text from someone like in the organization being like,
better hope we don't start losing. Now you're back. Hockey people are so superstitious to like.
Well, exactly. And I was like, oh God. But I was still watching the flames. And I didn't,
I wasn't writing daily while I was at the Olympics, but I was still on it. I wrote like three
flame stories that the Tyler to Fully trade actually happened while I was on.
air. And I was like, oh, no. I think we were like in like a sound on tape. So our mics were down.
And I'm looking and I see Elliott Friedman tweet about to Foley to the Flames as close to being done.
And I was like, okay, but how close? Like next five minutes, next 30, am I going to be off air?
And so the trade happens. And I'm like literally trying to write a story about it at commercial
breaks. So that was super fun. So I was still covering the team. So this isn't an
This is a false narrative.
But it was when they lost, I was like, oh no.
I know.
I was thinking about, yeah, for sure.
I didn't want to put that out on Twitter because then, you know how that, you know how that goes.
But anyway, so I figured I'd bring it up on the podcast because, you know.
Yeah, exactly.
Thank you.
On the weekend, the Toronto Maple Leafs and Detroit Red Wings played a throwback game,
inadvertently played a throwback game.
17 goals scored in this game.
I saw the stat and Sean McAdoo,
Down Goes Brown had it in his column on Monday.
Since the NHL started tracking, or since their statisticians started tracking goals, like expected goals in hockey, which is 2007.
Never before has there been such a poor goaltending performance in the last 15 years in the NHL.
Based on expected goals, there should have only been five on Saturday night.
There were 17.
So that's just bad goal-tending, okay?
But once again, Haley, it's the month of February
and the Toronto Maple Leafs might be having
kind of an existential crisis year
because remember, it was February 2020.
David Ayers came in and beat them.
And it was, oh, my God, the Zamboni driver beat us.
Last year, they blew a 5-1 lead to Ottawa.
And it's like, oh, my gosh, this team is still soft.
Still soft.
Here we are again, February of now of 2022.
too. And yeah, they won the game 10 to 7.
But there are some serious question about Jack Campbell, questions about these teams' ability
to defend. And I'm starting to wonder, are we just back to doing what we do with the
Leafs every year, which is, yeah, they're good, but this team isn't built for the playoffs.
Yeah. Well, I think that it's a, you know, you never want to sound the alarm based on one game.
But I do think there is a legitimate question of, can.
And a lack of stable goal tending upend everything that this team has done this season.
Because the Leafs have shown that they're, you know, a good hockey team who should be able
to contend in the playoffs.
But if you don't have the saves and you don't have the goaltending, that's not going to happen,
it doesn't really matter what's in front of you in terms of offense.
And, you know, there's a question of what do the Leafs do and where do they go from here?
Like, you know, with Jack Campbell, with Peter Marazek, with the crease in general, I think,
I was reading the article from Jonas Siegel this morning, and he kind of said, the thing that's
really clear now is that Sheldon Keefe needs to open up the competition in the crease. I think
we saw Sheldon really, you know, going with Jack Campbell. Like he was the guy, he was the starter.
Even when he was pretty shaky in the last month or so, he would still go with Jack Campbell.
You know, Peter Marazek had that win against Minnesota. He only led in what one goal.
And if there was a night for, you know, Peter Morazik to get another start, it probably would have been this one against Detroit because he played so well against the wild.
But we saw Sheldon sticking with his guy and Jack Campbell, and that's what Jack Campbell did.
And I think the fact that Campbell got pulled when it was still a seven to five game, that's still a two-goal lead.
You have seven goals.
Games not over yet.
But I think the fact that Sheldon saw what was happening and said, you've got to.
we got to get him out of there. He needs to be better year out. I think that kind of speaks to where
they're at right now. You know, the game wasn't lost. I think they were blowing the lead a bit,
but the fact that Keith went in and made that switch, I think kind of speaks to where they're at.
And, you know, Marazek's not a perfect goalie either. He's struggled with injuries for almost his
entire career, especially this year. So you've got these big question marks of who's your guy?
and if you pick one of them, are they good enough to be the guy?
I think Campbell had shown through a large portion of the season that he was and he's lost his way.
So now it's can he find his way and how long do you wait to see if he can do that?
And you're basically waiting until the trade deadline, right?
Because if between now and March 21st, Jack Campbell can't find his way back and Marazic's just okay,
do you now have to switch from using whatever cap space you have to get a forward or a D,
do you now have to go and try to get a goalie like Mark Andre Fleury,
who everyone's talking about.
Everyone wants Mark Andre Fleury, right?
So that's not an insignificant conversation for the Toronto Maple Leafs,
because I think any team would want to upgrade their middle six heading into the playoffs,
right. They've got a great top line. I think the Tavares knee-lander combo has been just okay lately.
I mean, their top line with bunting has been incredible. You lose Zach Hyman and you bring in
this guy, this bet, and he's been incredible. So their top line is unreal, but is curfut good enough?
Like, you want to make upgrades there. And right now with Jake Muzzineau, you've got a really
young blue line and that's not always a recipe for success in the playoffs. So you've got these question
marks now in your middle six, your blue line, and now the crease. And that's not like a, oh, God,
the sky's falling in Toronto kind of thing. I mean, it might be in the local market because of
what these fans have been through in the last several, several years. But those aren't insignificant
question marks heading into a really important stretch of the season. I love how you referred to Toronto's
big line, but you only named Michael Bunting. That was awesome. I thoroughly appreciate it. Mitch
Marner, who.
Yeah, Mitch who, Austin, who.
But I think it's interesting because Monday night,
we're recording this on Monday,
but Monday evening,
it's Toronto, Washington,
in a battle of two teams that, let's be honest here,
have kind of hit a little bit of a wall.
Washington in particular has looked awfully flat.
And when you look at teams that might be in the running,
like you just said a couple minutes ago,
everybody wants Mark Andre Fleury.
I think Washington's in that camp.
I think Toronto might be a,
in that camp. I think Edmonton is certainly in that camp. Like, if you're looking around,
like, which team would you say Haley's like, you know what? They actually need Mark
Andre Fleury the most. Is it Toronto, Edmonton, Washington, I mean, somebody else. Like,
how does this play out with the flower? I don't know. I think, and the thing is, too, is like we saw
the reluctance from Mark Andre Fleury to move his family to Chicago. And now he's potentially
having to move his family somewhere else. So I do wonder how much control.
over the situation that he's going to have.
Like, will Mark Andre Fleury be able to say, like, this is my short list of teams that
I'll allow you to trade me to?
You know, will his agent be able to say that to the Blackhawks?
And I think that, I don't know, I mean, he's probably just going to the highest bidder,
don't you think?
Like, Chicago's not going to hold on to him.
It wouldn't make sense for Chicago to hang on to him.
But, I mean, also, if you're Flurry, then there's also a question.
of where you would want to go as a goalie because,
boy, the pressure cooker to me,
I wonder if you're Mark Andre Fleury.
Would you want to go to a Canadian market?
Would you want to go to Edmonton?
Would you want to go to Toronto?
Or would you rather go to Washington's a great hockey market,
but the media is not going to be.
But he was a penguin for so long, Ian.
I don't know that that matters.
Do you think it does?
Or someone like Mark Andre Fleury, it might.
You think that damages?
That's a great question.
Does it damage his legacy if he gets trade?
Like, it's not like he signs there as a free agent.
He gets traded there.
Like, he, like, I don't, look, I was a, I was a Penguins fan growing up.
And, like, I went to some old games at Mellon Arena, like the old civic arena.
Yeah.
Mark Andre Fleury is a starter, like, 2008, like, first Stanley Cup winning days.
Like, Mark Andre Fleury was, like, almost larger than life in Pittsburgh.
Yeah.
And I think you can gather that without being a Penguins fan, without actually being in
Pittsburgh as a fan at a game. He was the guy. And I think that was a lot of why, like, fans really
turned on Matt Murray and Matt Murray had a really hard time because he was the reason that the fan
base lost Mark Andre Fleury. Right? Like, they really, really, like, that was Matt Murray's fault,
not the front office. And I just wonder if there's like that loyalty to the city for Mark Andre
Flurry. I don't know if it would damage his legacy, but it'd be really weird for a lot of people to see him
in a Capitol's jersey, especially when you consider how many times those teams went up against
each other in massive, massive playoff matchups and how big Mark Andre Fleury was in a lot of them.
That's weird.
Like it's hockey.
It's a business.
It's going to happen.
Teams players get traded from rivalries.
Derek Ryan's playing for the Edmonton Oilers.
That's completely not the same.
But I don't know.
There's something about Florey to the Capitals.
It's weird to me.
You make an excellent point in that if you look at the history of the Pittsburgh Penguins,
Matt Murray won two Stanley Cups for them.
Tom Barrasso won two Stanley cups for them.
Flower was really only the starter for one,
and yet he's by far the most popular, right?
Like, it's not even close in terms of it.
Part of it is his personality, right?
Like, he is just a really easygoing,
always smiling, happy go lucky guy.
Yeah.
And I think him and Murray were like both involved in both those cups, though.
Like I don't know.
Yeah, I don't remember exactly.
It's like he has one and a half cups.
Like, it was like.
Flurry had the net and then he lost it and Matt Murray came in and won it.
And then the year after they won, Matt Murray was hurt.
Or maybe it was the other way around.
I don't know.
Like they both split both of them and Murray was hurt one year and Flower had the net until
Murray came back and Murray got the net back and then they won.
And then it was just whatever.
But they both, you know, but I get it.
I think people give Matt Murray those cups, but I think Mark Andre Fleury was a big part of it too.
But yeah, the fan base, like, loves that guy.
Loves him.
It's why every time people are, I bet you right now,
people in Pittsburgh are like, get Mark Andre Fleury back.
Tristan Drys went great, but who knows what he's going to look like in the playoffs.
You tell me which fan base would be more upset.
Pittsburgh's fan base, if this summer Mark Andre Fleury signs with Washington.
Oh, God, like as a free agent.
Or, or Boston's fan base, if Patrice Bergeron signs with the Habs.
this offseason.
Oh. Which fan base is a little bit more.
You're a traitor, man.
You're, we're done with you.
I feel like it's the Bruins.
Yeah, I think so.
Right.
Because at least like Mark Andre Fleury's been gone for a decent amount of time.
He's still a good guy.
Can you really blame him?
But no, Patrice Bergeron, the minute you're out, you're going to Montreal.
I think the Bruins fans would be way more angry.
Oh, with your old agent, though, running the show.
You know that that's going to be.
one of those things that pops up. Hey, listen, we were speaking to goaltending there,
and obviously some teams need some goaltetting. One team that doesn't is the New York Rangers.
And I mean, Igor Shasturkin has been just dynamite. And not only is he probably the
runaway leader for the Vesna Trophy as the top goalie, he's getting some love here, Haley,
for the Hart Trophy as League MVP. And I'm wondering where you fall on that debate, because
there's going to be a great, I think there's some great candidates this year. I think
Johnny Gujarow deserves some love in Calgary.
I think Carreel Caprizov in Minnesota has been really good.
And then the obvious candidates, right?
You're Austin Matthews and your McDavid Drysidels and, you know, the usual candidates.
Where do you fall on goalies being in the conversation?
I'm not someone who's like goalies shouldn't win the heart.
You know, I think sometimes they maybe don't get enough love for what they do to a team.
I think a lot of times you have to look at, you know, how much is the team giving up versus how much is the goalie doing?
And I think Igor Shisterkin is an example of a goalie carrying the team a lot of times.
Like when you look at the, you know, goals save above average and the expected, like the saves made over expected.
Like Shisterken is one of the best in the league this season specifically.
and, you know, the Rangers blue line, they, you know, they give up more.
And based on what they give up, their opponents should be scoring more than they are,
but they are not because of Igor Shusirken.
And is that what the Hart Trophy is supposed to be for is for the player who is the most valuable to his team?
And I think it's probably still early, like what are they going to look like when the season's over?
Are they, where are they going to be in terms of playoff positioning and positioning within the division
in the conference.
But, I mean, I think he has as good as case as any to win the heart because of how
important he is to the New York Rangers.
If Igor Shus Durkin was not starting for a significant amount of time, what would that team
look like?
You know, they have, they have talent at front.
They have talent on the back end.
But I think if you don't have Igor Shusirken, are they going to be the same team?
I don't know.
And I think, is that not what this is supposed to be about?
if you take Austin Matthews away from the Leafs, are they the same team?
I think they've probably got a decent amount of players to get them there.
And I mean, he missed some time at the beginning of the season with the wrist injury.
That was this year, right?
I lost track of everything.
Oh, God.
You know, and I thought they got through.
You know, Brad Marchand missed a bunch of time with the Bruins for that suspension.
The Bruins got through it.
That's not to say that he's not important.
but I think there's as good as case as any that Igor Sturkin is the most important
player to his team right now in the league.
Although I, you know what?
I will say, though, I think Austin Matthews probably wins the heart and I wouldn't be
angry or surprised about it.
He's been incredible.
He's so good at hockey.
So, and Johnny Goddrow is going to be in the conversation, too.
I don't know.
I'm all over the map here, Ian.
That's going to be your, that's going to be your,
I think if somebody comes to you and says...
If somebody comes to you and says,
what's your case for Austin Matthews for heart,
your response is going to be he's so good at hockey.
He's very good at hockey.
I like that.
Watch the leaves play and it's just like, Jesus, dude.
Hey, no, no, no, no.
Michael bunting.
You're just pointing out.
Michael bunting is carrying that team.
But I think it's...
That line specifically, yes.
Yeah.
But I think what's fascinating to me
is that I see all these people up in arms saying,
you know, a goalie shouldn't win the MVP.
It's not, you know, they have their own, you know, but because it's...
Is the Vesna?
Yeah, they have the Vesna.
But what I find interesting...
Sorry, I'm going to cut you off.
Sorry, sorry, sorry, sorry, sorry.
I voted for Connor Hellebuck for the heart like two years ago.
For as the first place vote?
Not first, not first.
But he was on my ballot because he was that important to the Winnipeg Jets.
And I also had him first for the Vesna.
I don't see what the problem is with that.
It is, they are the best goalie in the league and the most important.
player to their team in the league, right? The most important player, MVP, whatever, like a goalie
can be both. If you're the best goalie in the league, there's a good chance that you are also the
most important player in the league. But there's some sort of mental block or hurdle that
voters need to get over because, look, in the last 50 years, there's only been four times where
a goalie has won the MVP. Two are Dominic Hachik. One was Kerry Price. One was Kerry Price.
one was Jose Theodore.
And the Theodore one, I know, is upset Flames fans to no end.
Don't talk about that.
We won't go down that road.
Not in Calgary.
But here's the better question.
Why has only one defenseman won the heart trophy in the last 50 years?
That was Chris Pronger.
Because don't you think if you're going to be like, well, I don't know about goalies
and they have their own award.
Like, defensemen often play more minutes.
Yeah.
then forwards.
Like, I guess my question is, like, at what point is Kail McCar maybe get some love for the
heart trophy?
Yeah.
And is that a conversation we should be having?
So I think the follow up to that, though, is if you look at a lot of the Norris trophy
winners, so like, you know, the bestie in the league or, you know, players who are the best
defender on their team, the teams that typically get the love for those awards are typically
contenders because the team's doing really well, et cetera.
Is there not a player on those teams who will always get a little bit more shine than that defender?
You know, like you look at Victor Headman and, you know, Norris conversation, Kutrov is overshining.
Stamcoaston, even Vasilevsky.
He doesn't get so much heart love.
But I think they go a bit unsung because they're on a team that's so stacked that I think they're the best defense.
Like, you know, they could be the best defender in the league, but they might not even be the best player.
on their team. Does that make sense? Like I think if you look at Kail Makar is, I think Kail Makar is incredible,
but is Nathan McKinnon going to win the heart over Kail Makar? That's a great, right? Adam Fox,
another one, like, on a team with some really talented. Artemmy Panarin, I've, I voted for, I think
you've got Panarin in that conversation, Mika Zabana Jed, you know, you're looking at a great year.
Yeah. Yeah, so you're looking at, you know, the best defender in the league, but they're
not always the best player on their team. And that's probably why.
Yeah. Well, anyway, it's interesting to be that only one defenseman has one M&M.
BP award. Yeah. In 50 years since Bobby Orr, since Bobby Orr won his last heart trophy in
1972, there's only been one defenseman. That's one. And that was Pronger in 99.
That's probably some kind of mental block too, though, you know, it's to a greater scale of,
like, well, they've got the Norris. So leave this one for the forwards. Because the forwards don't
really have their own like best forward award no and see that this is perfect that's that's going to be
one of our questions to wrap up the show in multiple choice is it time for forwards to have their own
award but before we get to that haley it's we got some twitter questions for you uh i threw it out
on twitter that you were coming back to the show and we were going to see if anybody had uh some
questions for you and uh we just happen to have a handful of questions here that we're going to
take in in kind of this podcast form here.
And Dom, Dom at the athletic.
I don't know if you know him.
He has tweeted at us.
And he wants to know Haley Selvian.
What was your favorite part of Toronto?
Probably seeing his dog, Ruby.
That's it.
I think that's why he asked a question.
When I went for lunch, I hung out with Ruby, that was the best.
That was the best part.
Matthew has written in to the show and says, hey, everybody.
Haley, what was the most unique part of your Olympic experience?
Probably, I mean, the whole thing was unique, so I'd never done anything like that before.
You know, being on a nationally televised show every day at noon, it's a completely different, you know, work balance.
You're prepping a lot in the morning.
You know, the show is only an hour, but there's a lot that goes into it.
I think you go, you know, you're prepping in the morning.
You're watching the, I think the fact that the show was during and the Olympics, that was 13 hours ahead of us, was unique too.
Because there's games at 8 a.m.
So you're up.
You're watching the 8 a.m. games, specifically when the women's were on.
You know, you wake up and watch Team USA at 8.
Then you get into the studio, you start prepping, you do the hair, the makeup, you have all your meetings,
and you're still trying to watch the game that's currently on that you have to talk about.
but that isn't over yet.
And, you know, then you're on the show.
And then, you know, you're done.
And then you go home, you like take a nap and then you've got to watch the 11 p.m. game,
which was always the Canada games.
And then you watch that.
It's done it to, you know, some nights I was writing for the athletic about those games.
So you're going to bed between like two and four in the morning.
And then you're up again at eight for the 8 a.m. game.
And then to get into the studio.
So I think just the entire experience was unique in the sense that it was,
nonstop, almost 24-7 for 23 straight days.
And then you add in the fact that the flames were doing some stuff and winning.
You know, you're not, for me, I wasn't just working the Olympics.
I wasn't just working the Olympics for CBC.
I was still doing it for the athletic.
So I think the entire thing was pretty unique.
I've never worked that hard in my life.
And I was very tired.
Once I got back, I took a couple days off and just slept.
So it was all very unique and different.
Well, that's why we gave you last week off too because we're like, man, we can't.
We can't ask Haley to work.
You did ask me to work and I said, I'm flying home.
No, I can't.
I like my version of the story better.
Speaking of which, we had Julian McKenzie sitting in your seat for a couple of weeks.
Julian did a fantastic job.
And he has jumped into the thread here with a question, Haley.
He said, Haley, what was the best perk of being an on-air talent at the Olympic Games?
Like did you get some, do you get some Olympic swag, sweatshirts, hats, anything like that?
Yeah.
What's the best piece of swag or something that you got her perk?
I got a winter hat.
I got a sweater, which I got a men's large and my dad stole it.
So I no longer have that sweater.
I got a jacket.
So the gear is cool and fun.
I had a dressing room, which was strange.
With your name on it, right?
Yeah.
Yeah, I saw the picture.
Yeah, I had a couple of friends from university who were working as like producers or runners, you know, work in the highlight reels and stuff walking through and they sent me a couple pictures of it.
They'd give dressing rooms to just anyone these days.
So that was pretty cool.
You know, I felt it was weird.
Like, I think that was unique too.
Like we had runners to get us stuff and I hated it.
You know, just like our runner, his name was Graham.
He's a student in the RTA program at Ryerson where I went to school.
And like his job was to like get us stats and like grab food, like almost a coffee
runner.
I was like I can't, I can't do that.
But you know, when it's 10, when it's 1130 and you're about to go to air and it's like,
oh God, I don't have water.
And you're just like, Graham, can I have a water please?
I felt like an I felt like an ass every time.
I was like I hate doing this.
No, no, no.
You got to lean into it.
And like after you take a sip of the.
the water spit it out and said, I asked for lime.
Splash a lime, Graham.
This is supposed to be a bubbly.
Yeah.
This is flat and you take it, you throw it against the wall.
You send a message.
I had a tea every day before the show and one time the water wasn't hot.
It's like, Graham, this is lukewarm.
See?
I was just kidding, though.
I was like, I'm joking.
It was a joke.
I'm sorry.
But yeah, that was like a perk that I didn't love.
It wasn't like the best.
perk, but it was like a weird one.
But I, so doing the, doing the job of a runner, when I was in journalism school at Carleton,
I actually served as one of those runners for CBC.
Really?
Yeah.
It was working.
They came to Ottawa for a, Scott Russell.
And Scott would never remember this.
But they came to town.
I think it was like the world figure, or the, sorry, not the world, the national figure skating championships were held in Ottawa at some point there in the late 90s.
and CBC was broadcasting it and somehow I got a chance to go in like I remember running the Kettleman's bagels to get some lunch for people and giving like coffee to, you know, Scott Russell and like I had to do some photocopying.
And so you know what?
That's so funny.
This Graham guy is going places.
It's all I know.
Oh, you know what?
To go back to one of your earlier questions of was there someone that made a comment to you that was like,
wow, Sid Sixero made a nice tweet about how the show was really good.
And he named us all, like PJ Stock, Haley, Salvia, and Hunter Ryan Singh have been doing
excellent.
Like, I've loved the show.
Peter Mansbridge retweeted that.
And that was a moment for me where I was like, oh, my God, I used to run Peter
Mansbridge's scripts.
And my first day on the national.
Yeah.
So I used to, I was a script runner.
So I was an editorial assistant at CBC News.
So I ran script to enrolled prompter for the 6 o'clock news with Dwight Drummond, who was one of my favorite people in the world.
And I loved that job so much working at CBC for the first two years out of university.
And I would do the 6 o'clock.
Then I would run the scripts for the National.
And then I would do the 11 o'clock.
And so the National was super specific of the ways in which the scripts needed to be printed.
They needed to be on like, you know, the margins had to be different.
The font size was different.
Like everything had to be a certain way because that's just Peter Mansbridge did it for years.
That's how scripts were done.
So I had the list of how to do it.
Go to the first printer.
Printer jams.
Oh my God.
I'm going to go to the other printer because Peter Mansbridge needs the scripts for the national.
I go to the second printer.
Printer gets jammed.
I jammed three printers on my first day at the national.
Oh, my God.
So I had to go to the producer and be like, hey, none of the printers are working.
Isn't it so embarrassing?
I was like, oh my God, oh my God, oh my God.
I can't even print a script.
My career's over.
And so it was like this really funny moment of like Peter Mansbridge was watching the show.
And he has no idea that I almost broke every single printer at the National three four years ago.
He knows everything that guy.
But is that a bad feeling when you jam a photocopier and then you go to like open the tray and then you pull out that piece.
And it looks like like Japanese fan.
And it's all like.
And you're like, how did this happen?
Like all crickled up?
And you're like, am I an idiot?
Yeah.
Oh my God.
It's such a bad feeling.
So, yeah, try doing it to three printers on your first day.
You're literally still in university.
Like, I hadn't graduated yet.
I had that job while I was in my fourth year at Ryerson.
So I interned there and then I got hired after.
So I'm still in school.
I'm like, oh my God, my career's over before I even started.
I just broke all the printers.
And for our American listeners, just to understand, like Peter,
Mansbridge. Like Mansbridge is to Canadian viewers kind of like what like Dan Rather or Tom Brokaw
would have been for generations of American viewers. Like he was your staple at night delivering
the new Peter Jennings would be the other one. Just the biggest news person in Canada. And he's in,
he has a cameo in the movie Zootopia. Yeah, he was the PA guy at the airport.
Wasn't he? Peter Moosebridge. Oh right. Peter Moosebridge. But
Apparently, they've changed the name of Zootopia on Disney Plus in Canada.
My wife and daughter just told me this the other day.
They're like, by the way, Zootopia is not called Zootopia anymore in Canada.
It's called Zootropolis.
Is that what you talk about when you have kids?
Yeah.
We just talk about Disney Pixar stuff all the time.
But anyway, that, the Mansbridge had a, I actually just read Peter Mansbridge's book, which is phenomenal.
Nice.
Yeah.
Did he write about it?
He doesn't mention this incompetent intern.
Damn it.
That jam.
The champ the copier.
Oh my God.
Yeah.
You know what?
We got to get Mansbridge on this podcast.
I was freaking out, man.
And see if he knows.
He knows.
Does this face look familiar to you, Peter?
His floor producer was the best.
He would do the 6 o'clock and the 11, and he was so nice.
Because, like, Peter would be prepping and stuff in, like, the suites or in his office or different parts of the studio.
And so sometimes I would drop off the scripts and Peter wasn't there.
But his floor director would, like, leave little candies for me sometimes where I would put the scripts?
Can you imagine if those were Peter's candies?
Yeah.
Just taking them all this time.
Yeah.
Mansbridge is like, where the hell's my jolly rancher?
Where is my...
Where's my Wothers?
No, I think, I'm pretty sure they were for me.
Yeah.
But what were we talking about?
Like, Jolly Ranchers, Tutsi rolls?
Any kind of candy that was there.
I love candies.
Like I'm not a big chocolate person, but I like candy.
Like Jolly Ranchers?
Yeah, like Jolly Ranchers, like Gummys.
I like Skittles.
I love candy.
Sour Skittles?
Yes.
Yes.
Sour Skittles are good.
Anyways.
Okay.
Now I'm scared.
that I just ate Peter Mansbridge's candies too.
I think they were mine.
Yeah.
Actually, Mansbridge doesn't...
Moving on.
Moving on.
Just to wrap, put a bow on this.
I think there's like a 1% chance Peter Mansbridge eats sour skittles.
You know what I mean?
Like he doesn't strike me as a sour...
I don't see it.
I could be wrong.
He's a real person too, Ian.
Yeah.
Maybe he likes sour candy.
There's something about like a larger than life person being like, ooh, sour.
It just doesn't.
Yeah, exactly.
All right, moving on from that discussion of whether or not Peter Mansbridge eats sour Skittles.
You know, I say we tweet at him at the end of this podcast and ask him if he's ever eaten sour skittles.
You can do that.
Ian Mendez, that's all you.
Okay.
I will.
I will. Don't drag me into this.
But I will drag you into multiple choice madness.
In fact, we kind of touched on this earlier in the show, Haley.
Okay.
Here's my first question to wrap up the show.
Look, we've got a best goalie award, the Vesna Trophy.
We have a best defenseman award, the Norris Trophy.
Is it time for the NHL to have a best forward award?
Your options are obviously a yes or B, no.
What do you think?
Time for a best forward award.
We call it the Gretzky or we call it whatever you are,
Lemieux, whatever, whatever you want to call it.
I know you would probably say the Aginla, but anyway.
What do you think?
Time for our best forward award.
No, I think after the conversation that we just had, I think the forwards win the heart so often.
And they also win, you know, there's the Selke, which is like a defensive forward.
But I feel like there's enough awards that forwards take control of every year that I don't think it's necessary.
necessary.
Okay.
And you know what?
There is the best defensive forward.
And there's one for the goal scoring winner like the Rocket Richard.
Yeah.
There's the Art Ross.
There's the heart.
There's, you know, there's the, like isn't the best forward the one who gets the most points?
Like, is that not it?
The best goal scorer, the best point getter, the most important to the team, which is
typically a forward.
And then the most, the best defensive forward.
I think there's more than enough awards for the forwards to win.
So let me make the counter argument here of why we need a best forward award because maybe that will then open up the door for more goalies and defensemen to win the MVP.
Because I think like he said, I don't think it will though.
Yeah.
I think it'll just be, it'll just have years where Connor McDavid wins the heart, the Art Ross and then the best forward award.
And then maybe the Ted Lindsay, you know?
Like it's just going to give us another award for the same dude to win.
Yeah, maybe.
But I find it odd that you would have a best defensive,
or maybe I should have asked the question.
Give us a best defensive defender award, please God,
because the Norris Trophy winner is not always the best defensive player.
That's something that bothers me.
Okay.
So, or what about, or do you think they should change the parameters and have like a best
offensive defenseman and a best defensive defenseman?
Like, keep the Norris whatever, because it's already become the defender who scores the most.
Yeah.
even though they're good defensively too,
but like if there's a best defensive defenseman award,
like I think that would open it up more to defenders who have the best defensive metrics.
Like I cover the flames.
This looks so homery of me.
But Chris Tannave has never gotten a single vote.
Yeah.
For the Norris.
And that is one of the best defensive defenders in the league.
Has Jared Spurgeon ever gotten a sniff for the Norris?
I don't think so.
That is one of the best defenders, period, in the league.
And I think he's underrated because he doesn't put up the same amount of points as someone
like Victor Hedman or Adam Fox.
And I think those are players who are critically important to their team.
Yeah.
Because of what they do on the back end.
And I think there needs to be an award that celebrates how important they are.
I don't care about more forward awards.
Give me the good stick detail award.
You're very good in your own zone.
and I appreciate you for it.
You should have an award.
Man.
You know, San Jose fans would tell you,
Mark Edward Vlasic for years would have been that guy, right?
Like, it's just a very good, solid, stay-at-home defender.
Yeah, you know what?
Maybe you're right.
Maybe you've talked me into,
we don't need a best forward award,
but maybe a best defensive defenseman.
Even just think of, like, Drew Dowdy.
I remember Drew Dowdy talking about this
a couple years ago to Eric DeHachick,
and he was talking about, and, you know,
you might not like this,
but, you know, he was saying, he's like, I would take Mark Giordano over Eric Carlson on my team
if I had to win a game tomorrow because Gio's a better defender.
Like, you look at some of the guys who win the Norris and they're putting up points,
but they're not necessarily on the top PK.
They're not necessarily a shutdown guy.
Is that not what the best defender should do?
And I thought the fact that Drew Dowdy was talking about that was kind of interesting because
he was, you know, talking about how, like, sometimes the Norris guy, like,
someone who you'd rather want on your team if you had to win a game because they will shut down
the Ovechkins, the Crosby's, but they're not winning the awards because they don't put up the
points.
Yeah, it's, you know what, it is.
I'm with you, Drew.
There you go.
Yeah, I wonder.
I'm sure our listeners would have some great, there would be some great potential names,
like who you could name the best defensive defenseman award after.
I didn't even know who would be.
I know Kevin Lowe will probably get some love for that, although.
The anti-Noros trophy.
Yeah, the anti-Noros trophy.
Name it after me.
Yeah.
Your ego certainly hasn't gotten big now that you've done some network TV.
I hate compliments.
Yeah, I hate compliments.
Name this award after me.
Okay.
One other multiple choice question.
And if you haven't seen this, folks, this was something else.
We're going to take you to a weekend game involving the Manitoba Moose.
And they're in a shootout.
So they're the HL affiliate, of course, of the Winnipeg Jets.
and they're in a shootout, and Manitoba's Jeff Mallet
skates down the ice, scores the shootout winner,
and instead of circling back as most players do
after they score the shootout winner and high five teammates
and they all gather, he literally skated right off the ice.
They opened up the door and he walked out.
It was one of those side entrances.
I ask you this.
Haley, was that Jeff Mallet skating off the ice?
Is that the best walk-off celebration after a shootout
goal in
hockey history.
Yes or no?
So the fact that you say shootout goal
bugs me because I preferred
the Jack Hughes
stick into the stands
after the OT winner goal.
And then Zegra's did it,
which was super fun.
Let's go.
So in terms of like walkoff winner,
yeah.
No, it's not the same.
I think the fact that Jack Hughes did it,
like right in the moment,
it's the NHL too.
It was a big game.
Devils.
He's your big stud.
And he scores that goal.
and then just goes and throws a stick into the stands.
And then, you know, Trevor Zegris does the same thing a few weeks later and copies a celebration.
I think that was more fun and cool than just like running off the ice.
But it was cool.
Like I think I thought I was like, I liked it a lot.
But when I think of the best walkoff that I've seen this year, and it wasn't even a walkoff.
But when I think of the best celebration, I go for the Jack Hughes.
Yeah.
And remember Zegris got a misconduct penalty for doing that?
He did?
Yeah, they slapped a 10-minute misconduct penalty on them.
At the end of the game for putting a stick into the fans?
Yeah, I'm pretty, like, 99.9% sure.
Yeah, because they were like, it's an unsportsman.
Like, they're trying to deter players from throwing.
Why is the league like this?
Don't you remember?
Zegra's got.
You're trying to deter fun?
A penalty for, now I feel like I need to look that up just to make sure.
I'm going to look it up.
I'm going to look it up.
I'm pretty sure Zegra's got a misconduct for,
Look it up. Trevor Zegro's misconduct.
If that's real, that is so stupid.
Yeah.
What the heck?
10 minute misconduct for the celebration.
I thought it was ridiculous.
Oh, you know what?
That was after a shootout goal too, so I'm going to say, if you keep the shootout,
I'm sticking with Trevor Zegris.
Okay.
Oh, my God.
I don't know.
I loved what the, with Jeff Mallet, the Manitoba player did.
Because I don't think I've ever seen that.
Like, I've never seen a player score a winning goal in the game,
and literally just skate off the ice.
Sometimes you've seen that in the NFL,
like the odd time a guy scores a walk-off touchdown,
and he'll just run through the hallway
and you just don't see him.
Like I think that's happened in college football a couple times.
In Major League Baseball sometimes,
the guy will hit a home run,
and his walk-off, he'll try and just run right to the dugout
and try and avoid the mass of players.
Yeah, you don't want to break your leg or something.
Yeah, I thought that was cool.
But yeah, you're right.
The Zegra's Jack Hughes thing was.
It was great, too.
All right.
I can't find it.
It looks like he got a game misconduct after celebrating in front of the Blue Jackets bench after a shootout.
Is that the same game?
Yeah, I think so.
Yep.
What the heck.
So lame.
Yeah.
10 minute.
Trevor Zegris, bad for hockey.
Yeah.
Tone it down, kid.
Stop being so freaking fun.
Yeah.
Bad for the game.
You know what?
Speaking of Zegers, you don't have noticed now.
Have you seen this?
The trend of players doing the fake Michigan.
Mm-hmm.
behind the net, which is awesome.
And it's, it's opened up a whole new avenue of ways to kind of be creative behind the
net, right?
It's amazing.
There's nothing wrong with creativity in this sport.
If you want to stick with just, you know, beat the crap out of each other, whatever, but.
Yeah.
It's not as fun.
Yeah.
You know, it was, it, ugh.
It wasn't a beat the crap moment.
It wasn't that, but Oliver Schillington got tied.
up in the game against Minnesota.
And I like you watch it happen live.
The sound of his body hitting the boards.
It was legitimately one of the scariest.
And I was in Boston when Scott Sabrin had to get stretched it out a couple years ago.
Yeah.
I think what happened was Shillington was one of the like scariest moments.
I think I've been in in a hockey arena.
And he, you know, apparently was fine after the game.
Like he, you know, he skated off with help and he was in the locker room post
game with the team, but that moment was really frightening. And it's moments like that to me. And it
wasn't even, didn't even come off of a crazy physical play, but someone's like that to me,
we're just like, oh, God. And stuff like that happens, just like, shit. You feel like physically
unwell and you just like, you're worried and scared for the human being. Yeah. I would much rather
see Trevor Zegris do the Michigan and throw a stick into the stands and watch another player
needlessly, immobile on the ice. And look,
he wasn't hit into the boards.
It wasn't, it was like a freak play.
You know, there was a holding penalty on the play.
He wasn't thrown in the boards or anything like that.
It was just got tied up and turned around and it happened.
But I would much rather see Trevor's egress do what he's doing then.
Yeah.
To sit there, like, you know, holding your breath and hoping a person's okay.
Anyways.
Worst one I ever saw was, and I was once again, back in my days as a media runner,
volunteer, late 90s,
and it was Brian Barard
taking a stick in the eye from Marian Hosa.
And Brian ended up losing, you know,
a significant amount of vision in that eye.
And, oh, I can even just now
picturing that at on the ice and the,
oh, it's just awful, honestly,
sickening, sickening feeling that you have.
Now, why are we ending on such a downer note, by the way?
I thought we had such a fun show.
What happened to the Sour Skittles and Mansbridge?
And all of a sudden now we're talking about, by the way, the most horrific injury I saw was this.
I'm like, what happened here?
What happened?
All right.
You know what?
I'm going to tee up.
How about this?
Why don't we tee up?
We got our Rangers, Arthur Staples with his Garden Faithful podcast, former Rangers GM, the architect of the 94 Rangers.
I don't know if we've done enough on the 94 Rangers.
But anyway, Neil Smith is going to drop by Arthur Staples Garden Faithful podcast this week.
Make sure you check that out.
See, that's the segue.
Now we just move on.
Okay.
Yeah.
Well, that's it.
Haley, welcome back.
This was a ton of fun.
The hour flew by here.
Yeah.
Thank you for having me.
Thank you.
Sounds like you're a guest on the show now.
I am now, yes.
Will I show up next week?
I don't know.
Who knows?
Who knows?
I don't know.
Oh, man.
Listen, have a great week.
Awesome to have you back in the mix.
And we'll connect with you again on a Monday of next week.
I want to thank everybody for listening to this latest edition of the athletic hockey show.
It was great to have Ali.
Hallie. Heyley.
Oh my God.
Do you even know my name anymore?
Hallie?
Jesus.
Hallie Selvian?
Hayley Salvean back in the mix.
That was awesome.
Follow us in a favorite podcast platform.
Leave us a rating and review.
We'd appreciate that.
Right now, take advantage.
You can read all of Hallie's great stuff at the athletic.
You're a flame's fan.
Just a dollar a month.
Oh, you're going to love this.
You're going to love this.
I'm cutting you off.
What?
Guess who's on my trade board.
Guess who I'm trying to steal for the flames?
Claude your route.
Nick Paul.
Nick Paul.
I actually only got about two-thirds way down your column today before this podcast started.
I saw you were pushing for J.T. Miller and Claude Jureau.
I did not get to Nick Paul.
If Pierre Dorian cannot resign Nick Paul, the flame should absolutely grab him.
There we go.
He's so good.
And where can you read this?
On the Athletic.com.
That's right.
A dollar a month for six months when you visit theathletic.com slash hockey show.
