The Athletic Hockey Show - Who won the Elias Lindholm trade? NHL All-Star weekend and The Athletic player poll

Episode Date: February 1, 2024

Hailey, Max and Sean breakdown the trade between Vancouver and Calgary with the Canucks receiving Elias Lindholm for picks, prospects and Andrei Kuzmenko. The crew looks ahead to NHL All-Star weekend ...in Toronto including the PWHL's involvement, fan-fest, the skills competition and the highly anticipated all-star player draft.Plus Sean and Max sift through the Athletic's anonymous player poll including the player you'd most want to punch in the face, most overrated player and least favorite city to play in. Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 This is the Athletic Hockey Show. What's up, everybody? It is February 1st. It's another edition of the Athletic Hockey Show here on a Thursday. Haley Salvean, Max Boltman, Sean Jintilly here with you. I'm going to leave at some point because it's All-Star weekend and I've been running around and I think, I didn't even say hi to the dog when I walked into the apartment. That's how busy it is. Normally I spend about 15 minutes just like, laying down with the dog. This is a rare afternoon, like, lunchtime record for us.
Starting point is 00:01:00 That's very rarely happens. I can't believe Haley just admitted to big-timing her own dog. I know. National podcast. I know. And he's laying behind me on the couch and he's going to be pissed when we're done with this. But it's fine. Yeah, I just want to say one thing.
Starting point is 00:01:15 You guys want to know I had for lunch? Costco hot dog. Oh, with a Pepsi? $1.50? Hell yeah. Thank you to Costco Corporation. Big dudes rock energy. The amount of like dudes on a Saturday afternoon walking out of Costco with a $1.50 hot dog and a Pepsi or a slice of pizza.
Starting point is 00:01:37 It's pretty unbelievable. I love seeing, one of the time I went recently, a group of dudes carried out a full pizza. They just went to Costco and got the eight the whatever it is, the 1599 pie. It's amazing. We love you guys. I haven't done lunch. Maybe I'll maybe I'll make a. Costco run here after this. What'd you have, Haley? I ate a couple nachos. And what does that mean?
Starting point is 00:02:06 I had a few nacho chips with some guacamole. So not decidedly not nachos. I know I'm not the only person that does this. I know everyone's going to say I'm stupid. But like if I'm just eating like chips and dip, I'm going to say like I had a few nachos. You're not stupid. It's just a stupid thing to say. Oh my God. My mom says the same thing. Would you call my mom stupid? It's a dumb thing to do.
Starting point is 00:02:34 Smart people do stupid things all the time. I think this is another Canadian thing. Is it not? Like this has to just be it. You guys mistook the nacho for the chip. This is a combination of chip cheese. This is a salvian. This is a salvian women thing.
Starting point is 00:02:53 This is a national. This is familiar. This is a familial error. Yeah. I don't know. It's just like if there's like a bag of testitos, my mom's like, do you want some nachos?
Starting point is 00:03:04 I'm like, yeah. And I just need a couple of chips. It's not correct. It's not correct. It's really what would you call it? Just tortilla chips. Haley, Tartia chips.
Starting point is 00:03:12 Yes. But that's not a potato chip. Like I don't call potato chips. Yeah, that's why you say. I just say chips. So these are not chips. These are nachos. This is,
Starting point is 00:03:22 you're wrong about this. Like I, like, there's, like, there's there's no way to justify this. Bougar, I think, might be some kind of regional pronunciation thing. I can buy that. I can buy that being like a Canadian thing.
Starting point is 00:03:34 This is wrong. If we were having a podcast party at Haley's parents' house and her mom offered me nachos and just brought me dry toastitos. She's a nice lady. You would eat the nachos and say thank you for the I would take it as a personal slight. is what I would do.
Starting point is 00:03:57 Yeah. Well, we have a trade to, we don't have a trade to a trade. We have a trade to a note. We have a trade to talk about. It's one of those rare days where Ian and Julian haven't talked about, like, everything that was interesting. So then we have to talk about nachos and burgers for 45 minutes. Yeah, right.
Starting point is 00:04:18 Because the trade happened in the middle of the night on the East Coast, basically. And that's the only way we're ever going to have news to talk about on this. Yeah, except that like one day where Shane Pinto got suspended for the half season that happened in the morning. True. And we were like so sorry to Shane Pinto, but also. Thanks. Okay. So the trade late Wednesday night, as Sean said, depending on what time zone you're in.
Starting point is 00:04:43 I don't even think it was that late. It was like 8 p.m. No, it was like the first intermission, first or second intermission. Yeah. I don't know. It's all blur. So the Vancouver Canucks get Elias Linholm from the Calgary Flames. the flames get Andre Kuzmanko, a 2024 first rounder, two D prospects,
Starting point is 00:04:59 and a conditional 24 fourth round pick. And that condition according to, so Craig Conroy went on the radio with my close personal friend, Pat Steinberg, who I love and miss dearly, even though I'm giving me a shout out. He doesn't listen to the show, but I'll tell him I said this. I know for a fact that Pat doesn't listen to the show. No chance. But Craig told Pat on the radio that the condition is, It'll go up to a third round pick if the Canucks make the Western Conference final.
Starting point is 00:05:28 So that's the full trade. I feel like, you know, Duran's had a story last night and it was like this was the perfect fit for the Canucks. And I think I'll obviously get to you guys for your opinions on this trade. But for me, the fact that the Canucks made that deal without giving up any of their premium assets other than that first round pick to get a guy that is exactly what they needed. that's pretty good work by Patrick Alvin, who signed a new contract yesterday as well. I'm with your answer on this, too, by the way. And if you haven't read the column, it's, you know, to the point. And I think pretty direct headline is Canucks Go All In, why Elias Lindelam was the best available hockey fit.
Starting point is 00:06:16 It's true. They needed another top six center. I think we're looking at line projections. is he he's going to center he's going to play center and peterson's going to play left wing on the first line which is just like a fascinating fascinating uh combination and i think that that sort of is a nice i think that in and of itself is a nice counterbalance to all the to maybe some people who are less who are less high on the trade for vancouver which is which is it's a valid valid thing to say about eliz lindholm is that he struggles when he's not playing with with elite players
Starting point is 00:06:51 it's true. Like when you moved away from that over the last few years. True for a lot of players, not unique to him. How many guys are you going to move away from Matthew Kachuk and Johnny Godreau and not see some kind of dip? Johnny Goddrow, by the way,
Starting point is 00:07:06 for the record, has seen quite a drop when he's not playing with the lines. It's worth noting. But we can say definitely, it's probably a bit more of a being on the blue jackets thing. I was being a smart ass. Yeah, but like we can say pretty definitively,
Starting point is 00:07:20 two things it wants, which is that Elias Lindholm was the third guy in that line. That's okay. Very weird effect on streamer just popped up. I just set off balloons going off in the background. Elias Linholm was the third guy on that line, but also he's still a really good player.
Starting point is 00:07:39 In the top six is such in Vancouver that he's going to be playing with elite players again. Whether it's Elias Pedersen, whether it's J.T. Miller, whether it's Brock Besser, who's produced it at a nearly level this year, they're going to find some kind of combination for him
Starting point is 00:07:55 in that top six that stacks it up and puts him next to high octane dudes A. And the other thing is the power play. He's a power play a weapon. We know this to be true. And the rich kid richer as far as that's concerned in Vancouver. I love it. I love it for them.
Starting point is 00:08:12 I love it for them because this is a year for them. Like the West is open in a way that it isn't always. and the Canucks are better than they typically are. This is such a Jim Rutherford trade. And I love everything about it for that, man. Go all in. Try to win it when you can because who knows how many this chance you get. I like it too.
Starting point is 00:08:35 I think there will be teams that are other sellers that will be happy with this return for Calgary. And I just ultimately think what you view of the price Vancouver paid depends what you think of Andre Cushmanco. So obviously, I think we can all agree that the 27% shooting percentage year he had that led him to 39 goals and 70, whatever points got him that five and a half million dollar deal. Yeah, and the two year extension, right. That's probably not happening again. But at $5.5 million, if you have a player who you trust to be a, you know, above 50% expected goals player who's going to score 25-ish goals, you know, above 50 points, I think that's a, that's an asset you can. can either, you know, go forward with or plan to trade if he does rebound next year, if you are going to go more rebuild.
Starting point is 00:09:25 The other assets, like, you know, the first-arm pick is the standard going rate for a player of Elias Lindholm's caliber. So if Kuzmenko gets you something additional to that, you really like the price for Calgary. But where I like it for Vancouver is that I don't think they care. I think they would have wanted to move off of Kuzmenko, clear that money, have the cap space above all anyway. And so even if you lose out on Elias Lindholm, then you paid the rental price of the first round pick
Starting point is 00:09:51 and that little extra sweetener and you got out of the money. And that's what I like about it for Vancouver. 100%. Rick Tucket had no use for Kuzminko. Like we, that's a fact. Like we'd seen that for a year and a half now. And it frees up money in both the short term like AKA now and in the future, right?
Starting point is 00:10:10 Because you lose that 5.5. There was one year left on that. And then, you know, Linholm. one more year, right? So next year, they were on the hook for another $5.5 million. So that frees that up for the Canucks next season. Obviously, we know that there's a pretty big contract, a UFA contract for them with, with Elias Pedersen, right? But they still have around, they can add a player of around $2 million cap hit at the deadline. So they bring in Lynn home, they still have assets and they still have money to spend.
Starting point is 00:10:42 And I think that's another thing that just makes this. I know there were some people, like, I think as far as a win-win goes, like this looks like, because I know people in Calgary were happy about this too. Craig Conroy was talking about, you know, how Kuzmanko is what they want right now. They need a right shot. They want guys who can score goals. They think he'd be able to do that in Calgary. We'll see if that actually happens because even Linholm wasn't scoring goals in Calgary.
Starting point is 00:11:08 He had nine so far this season. And I look at Lin-Home and he'll be able to produce in Vancouver. I don't know if Cozmanko is going to just all. all of a sudden start producing in Vancouver if he's not shooting 27%. But I think the flames are happy with the return too with getting the assets as well. Max, are you familiar with the top prospect that's coming back in the deal? It's Bristevich. Did I mess that out?
Starting point is 00:11:31 No, no, you're right. Familiar, I wouldn't say I know his game, like intimately. The profile is off-moving defensemen. Obviously, I think it's easy to get carried away with what that looks like when you're looking at the junior numbers, though. We're going to have to see what this player looks like as a pro. When you hear like puck moving defensemen who lit up the OHL, I'm sure you love to think, you know, big time, you know, whatever, Ryan Ellis type.
Starting point is 00:11:55 I don't think it's necessarily that. But it's at least they get themselves a flyer at a player. And I think that's where if you're Craig Conroy, you like knowing what you're getting in this return more so than a, you know, vague nebulous draft pick and it's going to take even longer. So I like that as a as a part of this trade. know that it's going to ultimately be what the trade hinges on, though. I think you're still looking at the first in the Kuzmenko is the two top assets. And then Bristavits is the,
Starting point is 00:12:22 you know, we'll see what happens there. And if he, if he's great, then this is a great return for Calgary, obviously. Yeah, he's popped in the OHL this year. And Dran's had a pretty good Q&A. Yeah, Drans had a Q&A with him one-on-one in November, I believe. So if there's Flames fans listening to this, you can check that out if you want to get to know your newest prospect. One question I had for Sean, obviously, you mentioned Jim Rutherford, and this is such a Jim Rutherford deal, but to kind of zoom out on like what he and Patrick Alvin have done, like, I think everyone knows. Like, I don't want to say that Jim Rutherford is pulling all of the strings, but we know that he's involved in stuff and we've seen how he's operated before. Like, you've
Starting point is 00:13:02 said this a lot. Like, he's a GM who understands the gift. And like, they are sitting first in the NHL right now. Their coach is going to maybe win coach of the year, if not just be in the conversation. They're going to have guys in the conversation for like every award when we're talking about Demko, Quinn Hughes. So I'm just curious like how would you look at the move that Jim Rutherford and Patrick Alvine made here? And like zooming out though, like how would you assess their body of work over the last little bit. Like are they doing a good job with the Canucks essentially is my roundabout way of asking that question?
Starting point is 00:13:45 To me, this is like, imagine a Jim Rutherford deal, like the platonic ideal of a trade that Jim Rutherford makes. And it's this, it's this, because he identified a need in Vancouver, which he's, I don't want to say he's great at it because sometimes he, in the past, he's identified the wrong needs, you know? Like, like, his, his, his, his perception maybe hasn't matched up with, uh, with, with, with what, say, the penguins needed at times. But the point in the, the instructive part here is that for better or worse, he's like, okay, we need this. We need thing X. And I'm going to go get it. And it's, and it's been it timed with Pittsburgh.
Starting point is 00:14:25 It was speed, which they did need. And that's why they ended up winning two straight cups. And then at times it was toughness, which they didn't need so much. And you could argue hastened, you know, their down. fall kind of into mediocrity when they went out and got Ryan Reeves and then you know screwed up a bunch of stuff financially for them and blah blah blah blah blah the point for Vancouver is that he knew what they needed it was correct and then he went and got it which they which the Canucks are a much better five on five team today than they were yesterday significantly so they needed another we'll we'll say second well whatever Elias Lindelam he's a second line center on on a contending team right like he's like the definition of that guy who like if he's your one C you're probably fine if if you have them
Starting point is 00:15:10 surrounded with the right pieces if he's your two C though you are set and that's kind of i to me that's kind of the role for better or worse that he's feeling that he's feeling here he went out and did it five weeks ahead of the trade deadline which is something jim has always loved to do he'll he'll he doesn't care he'll set the market and he'll go out and get a guy a month ahead Because, like, look, do you really think that on March 5th that Elias Lennon would have gotten much more than this? A first round pick, you know, a roster player and a, you know, a mid-level prospect, let's say. Come on, come on. How much more was Elias Lennon going to get on deadline day?
Starting point is 00:15:53 Right. What's the end result? You get five more weeks of them than you would have in March. He gets that much more time to incorporate himself in the lineup, that much more time to help bank you. points on and on. This is like the perfect Jim Rutherford deal. So I'm not surprised or whatever. Let's get Patrick Alvin some credit. Whether whether he's, whether he's, whether he's, you know, doing the stuff that Jim tells him to do or come, whatever, whatever the power dynamics are there. Like, they nailed this one for sure. And the Canucks are a perfect Jim Rutherford,
Starting point is 00:16:23 perfect team for Jim Rutherford to do this with, right? Because especially toward the tail in in Pittsburgh, it kind of seemed like you wanted the guy who was going to make these trades when you had the goods to go win it all with that upgrade. The problem was when you started to not be one player away, he was still making trades that were given away futures to try and get there, which is admirable. I love the ambition, but you want to have a team that's capable of making good on it. And say what you want about the shooting percentage, the save percentage. I think we're at a point where we can agree Vancouver is in that range, right?
Starting point is 00:16:59 Oh, 100%. That's kind of what I meant when I said, like, their coach is going to be in the conversation for the Jack Adams. Like Quinn Hughes is going to be in the Norris conversation. We're going to be talking about Demco for the Vesna. This team is first in the NHL right now. Like this is when you talk about GMs who like to take their cues from their team, that's the Bradtree Living, you know,
Starting point is 00:17:17 line is I'll take my cue for my team on what I do at the deadline. The Canucks are telling their general manager, you know, we are good enough to add to. And I think what's impressive about this deal is like they already had center depth. But now it's even better. And Linholm is versatile enough that he can provide. more depth at center or he can kick out to the wing or yeah um you know alias peterson can play up the middle or kick out to wing as we already talked about like there's going to be so many options
Starting point is 00:17:42 for rick tocket to play with and and linholm too is you know he can play on the power play and they need that production but he's also very defensively strong he can play on the pk he can eat tough minutes like you can if elias lynnholm is still on a scoring drought two weeks from now like there are things that he can provide to this connect's team that is still going to be valuable because there's other guys who can take the offense. Obviously, you want Lindholm to score. He scored over 40 goals, you know, two years ago. So I like this for the Canucks a lot.
Starting point is 00:18:15 He's also a player that Jim Rutherford has had before. He drafted him. Oh, my gosh. You're kidding me. Max brought that up in our little chat. What do you mean? So Jim Rutherford loves to train of the hurricanes whenever, whenever Elias Lendlundon was drafted.
Starting point is 00:18:31 Are you serious? Oh. So when Sean was talking about this being the platonic, Jim Rutherford trade. Rutherford loves to get guys back. Right. That's why everyone was like, Jake Gensel or whatever. It's true. It's true because it happens.
Starting point is 00:18:46 I slid into the chat like, yeah, but he's not a guy he's had before. I completely had to make sure because it was, I think I believe he was, it looks like he was, he was Rutherford's last first round pick with hurricanes. And the other things, Haley, the other question you asked like big picture, like what kind a job is that administration doing with the Canucks. I'm not sure what else you would want them to do. Right? Like I know there has been some problematic starts there.
Starting point is 00:19:13 And Elias Lindelm is an RFA after the season. So they need to get that figured out. No. Alias Petterson is a... Oh, Pedersen. I thought he said Linholm. We got two Elias. I think I might have said Elias instead of Elias. So whatever, I combine the two.
Starting point is 00:19:29 But he got, you know, Quinn Hughes locked up for a few more years. It's probably going to, you know, it's a little bit of a bridge deal. So whatever. But he's cleared space. He's corrected his mistakes, which is such, another, such a, such a rough effort thing where it's like he's got a way of like working his way out of this. Like, Kuzmiko, that's a bad contract. It was bad.
Starting point is 00:19:52 It was bad the day it was signed. They imagine what they could have gotten for him when he was on that like 39, 37 goal pace that season. Yeah, but you know what? Like, they just use them as a main piece to get back Elizland. So, like, say what you will about, about, about Rutherford. He's not above criticism. God knows. But what that dude is not afraid to do is, is go back and hit the erase button on all this stuff.
Starting point is 00:20:17 So, like, but like long term, I think from a cap standpoint, they're significantly better off than they were before. You know, Pedersen is, is the major, you know, you know, long term, long term question there. But man, like, they're the team. If not the team to beat league-wide, they're in the top three at this point, let's say. And they just went out and got a bunch better. Like, it's great. It's great to see. This is why Jim Rutherford is good for the NHL.
Starting point is 00:20:46 It's because he does this sort of shit. Like the dude's in it to win it every year. If there's any realistic possibility, right? And he makes it fun. We're lucky to have them around. I think one of the big takeaways from yesterday, as well with Elvine, like just starting with the Alvin extension. Like the thing I really liked about that is it was,
Starting point is 00:21:07 it was a no-brainer. And it was like drama-free business for the Canucks and for Canucks fans. And I know people like to have fun with Canucks fans and like dunk on them sometimes. But like it was nice to just talk about something. Like that was like just a piece of good business in Vancouver. Like after years, like the only reason we talked about the Canucks for like two years on this podcast was there was a shit show. And now it's just like, oh, yeah, Patrick Alvin got an extension, like makes sense. I've liked what he's done. Like, even looking at some of the deals that
Starting point is 00:21:39 aged well, I said this on the radio yesterday and I'd be, you know, curious to know if Kinnucks fans think it was dumb. But like, obviously nobody is like happy about losing Bo Horvatt. But like, in hindsight, like, would you rather have Bo Horbat or J.T. Miller on the roster right now based on the way that J.T. Miller's playing. Like, that was a big thing. People were like, like, shredding Rutherford and Alvin for like, why would you pick J.T. Miller over Bo. J.T. Miller is having a very good season. He looks great. He's like a part of what's working so well. In Vancouver this year, the Philip Ronic deal looks great in hindsight. That was one where people like, what's happening here? And then Sean just mentioned, you know, the Kazmanco extension,
Starting point is 00:22:18 not great, but they just used it to bring in Elias Linholm. So I think there's a lot to like about what these two have done in Vancouver over the last little bit. On that note, would you rather have Horvette or Lindholm? Because the return's not totally. dissimilar. I actually think Calgary got a little more for Lindholm, which I think is justified because of the defense, but would you rather have Horvett or Lindholm? I think I'd rather have Lindholm coming up to UFA than, then Beau Horvatt signed for a zillion dollars for a zillion years, which is what the IELs into immediately. Yep. For too much money for too many years is that. That's the Lou quote, right?
Starting point is 00:22:56 Yeah. I mean, Horvatt has 20 goals right now. You know, he's having a, good season. So like, you know, with respect to him when I'm saying, would you rather have him or J.T. Miller, um, 20 goals, 45 points for the Islanders. The thing to remember too is like, look, Miller's contract's going to age badly. Like that like we're in whether it's in a year or three years, we're going to be back to complaining about him getting eight million dollars a year. Because it's, it's on, it's in a vacuum, not the right deal to sign. But you know what? If they win a Stanley Cup this season, who gives a shit? That contract can age as badly as once they can buy out J.T. Miller in two years because they will have won a cup with him
Starting point is 00:23:35 as a major, major, major, major contributor. So whatever. Like flags fly forever. Yeah. The Horvat trade also ended up getting them Philip Hironik almost directly. They basically, within like a month span, flipped that for Philip Hironic. Then you trade the 2024 pick that's going to be very late. And obviously picks prospects and whatever it is with Kuzman. go, but I think this is on net. If you go like the last, I don't know how it's been 13 months, 12 months, I don't know how long it's been since the Horvett deal. I think they're in a better place, like roster construction wise,
Starting point is 00:24:13 obviously standings wise. But I also think it's a better strategic position to be in, too. So I agree. I think a Canucks fan would probably say I'd rather have a Horvat. I can never say his name. I always, and I just, I can't speak. I want boror. I do wonder if fans would say they'd rather have
Starting point is 00:24:31 Horvatt just because he was like the captain and like beloved in that market so they'd be like whatever I don't care about the contract like just give me back they'd rather they'd rather have a team that has however many points they have right now and is and isn't that wasn't the question that wasn't the question the question was would you have Horvatt or Linholm and I'm saying I think a Canucks fan would say I'd rather have Boe back if it was just all the same if it's just like flop them in right now at the headline. I think fans would be like bring Bo back, but whatever. Anyways, let's take a break. So mean. My God. I'm feeling Rick Attack right now. We need to take a break. We'll be right back.
Starting point is 00:25:11 This is not an hour of Canucks talk, though. We're not going to go on for 40 more minutes about the Elias. Lindelum trade. It is All-Star weekend in the NHL. And our co-host here, Ms. Haley Salvian, is in Toronto for it. Haley, I know you've been bouncing around the last couple days. It's some of events, various, various events that are taking place in the greater Toronto area. Very top secret. Uh-huh. Which is, she's not joking. She's going to have a very, a very interesting piece come out at some point in the next
Starting point is 00:25:45 couple weeks. It is women's hockey related. And I think if I say any more than that, I'm going to get electrocuted in my chair. You've already said too much. But there's more coming up as well. And you're going to be involved with a lot of that, a lot of that, too. Let's just let's go through where we're at here midday on Thursday. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:26:06 What's the second coolest thing you've done so far? Because I know, again, I know what I know what the first is. Let's walk us through the vibe in the city of over the last couple of days and kind of how you've spent your time. Yeah. I think yesterday, so Wednesday was interesting because like I just went to go pick up my credential. and then I went to the Carnegie Initiative Summit, which was really interesting and got to listen to a couple great panels there. But it was cool, like, walking around the city and seeing, like, the prep before everything starts.
Starting point is 00:26:40 Like, I'm in Toronto for the All-Star weekend because I live here. So it was just kind of, like, going about my normal day, but there's, like, this extra level of, like, hustle and bustle around. Today was really the big day, though. I went this morning to Nathan Phillips Square, which is like City Hall, and there's an outdoor rink at Nathan Phillips Square in the winter, typically.
Starting point is 00:27:03 And the PWHL was doing their kind of like morning skate, so to speak, for the players, which is like low-key, kind of cruel. Like the players are playing at 8 p.m. tonight, and I think they had to get to the rank by like 7 a.m. for like a full walk-through, which is wild. But it was like cool. It was like pretty cold out.
Starting point is 00:27:21 but it was very cool. There was like fans in the stands, like eight in the morning watching all the players, you know, skate around. They were like taking some pictures. It was just like a cool experience, I think, for the players to just be out on the outdoor rink in the middle of downtown Toronto is like a good vibe. You know, Tessa Virtue and Junkwell Jones are the two celebrity coaches. Tessa obviously is like a legend in Canadian sport.
Starting point is 00:27:48 I always joke like, so she's a figure. skater, retired figure skater. And I really want to go up to her and just tell her like when I need to feel something, I watch your Moulin Rouge ice dance from the 2018 Olympics. If I'm feeling like- You had your chance to say- No, I didn't get up close and personal. I wasn't going to scream it. Does it?
Starting point is 00:28:14 Please, I want something to tell you. Yeah, so she was there and I was like, oh my God, I wish. and it was so, you know, standing around, like, there's Mary Philip Poulin, like, Megan Duggan walking around. I'm like, Tessa Virtue, I love you. Just like totally losing my shit. So, yeah, that's just an aside. That was cool. But John Quall Jones, a Hooper in the WMBA, plays for the New York Liberty, and she's one of the celebrity coaches.
Starting point is 00:28:42 And I just really want to be like, how did this happen? And she was walking around like she wasn't on. skates. Like she like went out like in her sneakers like walking around in the ice. You know, you know something funny is like literally while we had, you and I talked about this last night. And, uh, I saw an ad, a commercial on TV for a documentary called Shattered Glass. Yeah. Not the movie called Shattered Glass. This is a documentary about the WNBA and in women's sport. Yeah. And it's streaming on Tubi. Yeah. And it's, I think it I think it dropped yesterday. So there's a free for Tovie, I guess.
Starting point is 00:29:23 But it's available to everybody. So I would, and John Quil Jones is seriously involved with. She's a big presence in the Players Association for the WMBA, I believe. Like she's, she's a presence, certainly a presence in that documentary because I,
Starting point is 00:29:35 because I saw interviews with her in the trailer. And that's dropping this weekend. So it's well timed. Yeah. So I would like, those are the two things that I saw today where I was like, if I could carve out like five minutes with the both of them, like Tessa,
Starting point is 00:29:48 I'd probably just be like, wow, Moulon Rouge, iconic. John Cole Jones, I'd still be like, you know what? You are incredible in the playoffs last year. I'd just be like an idiot. I'm just joking for the most part. Like I'd be professional. But that was cool, like to see everything going on. Like Megan Duggan and Cassie Campbell are on the ice with the players too.
Starting point is 00:30:07 So that was like a cool morning talking everyone. I got to talk to Kendall Coinscofield. It's been five years since her fastest skater competition. and so much has changed and happened in women's professional hockey in that five years. So it was cool to talk to Kendall and have her reflect on that. So that was a big one. And I was walking around. I was down by the arena this afternoon,
Starting point is 00:30:32 obviously where the All-Star Games can be by Scotia Bank Arena. And I saw some of the merch for the PWHL stuff. Like their jerseys are actually kind of cool. And they're just like in the store. Like there's the Austin Matthews like Drew House jersey. and then a PWHL All-Star jersey, which is very cool. And there was like a meet and greet with William Nealander that was about to start. And it was very busy.
Starting point is 00:30:54 And I was just like, should I get in line? I didn't even realize that I didn't realize that the PWH had their own looks. I thought they were just going to stick them in, you know, co-branded, co-branded Drew. What is it? Yeah. Drew House. Good God.
Starting point is 00:31:11 I almost said Drew Hill, which is like the most. You guys don't know what Drew Hill is. That was the group that Cisco was in in the, in the late, in the late, in the late, in the late, in the, in the late 90s before, before song song dropped. But yeah, there was, um, very old. Yeah. There was like a lot of like meet and greets and stuff happening at the, like, sport check, uh, by the arena. These are nice. I'm looking at the jerseys now.
Starting point is 00:31:35 Team class and team king, which, which is what the, yeah, I tweeted a picture. Okay. Of them. Um, they look pretty cool. There's the home in the way. And then, yeah, there's like, meet and greet. and stuff happening. Like today was William Nealander.
Starting point is 00:31:47 And then at 5, it's Emily Clark and Savannah Harmon. And then Connor Vodart is tomorrow. So there's just like a lot of stuff going on. Lots of player appearances, lots of different activations going on in the city. So it's been full-off. Marketing executive,
Starting point is 00:32:05 Ailes Albion. What else would I call it? Events. Anyways, it's been a good vibe, whatever. And then I'm going to go back, once we're done here, the red carpet, I think, is at three, and then the doors open at 3.30, the drafts at 6, then the 3 on 3 is at 8. And so I'm just very excited. I've never been to an All-Star weekend before. I know people love, it's like, it's like a too cool for school thing
Starting point is 00:32:30 for a lot of guys who've been in this industry for a while, but I'm like, yeah, Max is like, Max Baldwin, don't care. Weathered veteran Max Bolman of the All-Star game process. But I'm excited. You never done one, actually. I just, on principle, I skip it. Last one I went to was, 2015. Columbus, the drunk all-star draft. I was there,
Starting point is 00:32:55 I was there for that one. And it's nine years later and I have not returned. So I think I've, I think I've had enough. I actually am excited for this one, though, because of the draft and the revamped skills competition. I'm mostly just coping with the fact that I'm not there. But to see it,
Starting point is 00:33:12 but I have never been. offer by my bosses. But, no, I think that the skills competition is going to be really cool. And the formatting, I know you're not going to see every player. I did think it was funny that Sean said we can't spend the whole show talking about Vancouver and then pivoted to the All-Star game because my understanding is the All-Star game is just the Vancouver show, especially the skills competition, which like is a quarter Canucks, I think, right? Yeah, three of the 12.
Starting point is 00:33:40 Yeah. But I think that's going to be really cool. there's a lack of American representation at the skills competition. It must be said. I think they're properly represented. Three Canucks, two Oilers.
Starting point is 00:33:56 Canucks fans, scare me a little. I'm dumb. I love, listen. I love the Canucks. I love the Canucks, the Wild, and the St. Louis Blues. If anyone asks, I think you're great. Good, normal people
Starting point is 00:34:13 over there for sure. I'm being, I'm being honest. I love them too. They're very good and normal. Okay. Is there something that you're like you care about about the All-Star games this year, Sean? I want to see if they what the, I mean, it's the draft to me. And I'm a product, I guess, of the time.
Starting point is 00:34:32 But that like the drunk draft in 2015 is just one of the funniest things that ever happened. And me and Rousseau and Joe Smith were, I probably should plug this. We wrote. A pretty extensive look back on it. It's like what happened, what, what everybody was drinking, what Alex Ovechkin, obviously the star of that because he was, that was here famously, he was, he was pushing to be taken last and kind of, you know, as a bit, but not really sort of on the, on the broadcast. It's a lot of fun.
Starting point is 00:35:04 Read the piece and tell me that Nick Folino wasn't the MVP of the entire process. Like he gave us, I think, I think, I think, Joe did that. interview gave us everything everything the gory the gory details of of that which is honestly what else say is this and this is something this is something felino kind of brought up is it's easy to look back on that and say that the at the nchel just killed it because it was too much fun and all those guys got half loaded on you know keg beer but in a in a green room and you know got goofy on on tv maybe that was part of it maybe not but i think it's worth noting that that year the game was as bad as it ever was.
Starting point is 00:35:45 And I saw it in person. It was awful. The quality of play was humiliating. This guy should have been ashamed of themselves, honestly. And that is what spurred the three-on-three tournament. And I think when you put the three-on-three tournament in place, it was easy to just be like, all right, the draft isn't a part of it now, right? So I think that's, that was as big as much a part of it as those guys being, is those guys being, you know, silly up on stage.
Starting point is 00:36:09 But now it's back. And I think it's, I think it's great. I think incorporating celebrity captains in there is, is, the cringe potential is. Tate McCray and Nathan McKinnon. You know, it's been funny if, if old Cole Cillinger was good enough to be in the discussion for a, for an all-star spot, unfortunately. I had to give my, you know, adult male producer at CBC. He's great.
Starting point is 00:36:36 Shout out, Sonny. I'm all about the shoutouts today. But like I ended, I was, I ended up like giving him like all. the all the hot gossip on the Tate McCray thing. Because he was like, is not a country singer? Tate McCray. He was like, did you hear like the last name of Cray and assume it was like some country ban?
Starting point is 00:36:53 I was like, no. So, okay, listen, here's the lore and just went through her and Cole Cylinder were together. Kate McCrae. Let's let me. Let me do it. Yeah. Kate McCray and Cole Cylinder dated.
Starting point is 00:37:09 Cole Cylinder had said on a podcast that someone was like, who's your celebrity crush? He was like probably Kate McCray. And then they end up, shut up. And then they start dating. And then they end up breaking up under mysterious circumstances. And now she's wearing like hockey pads and like dancing on the Zamboni and her music videos. And now she's at All Star and her ex-boyfriend is not.
Starting point is 00:37:32 Is that it? We're good. Max is like, I just turned my mic. Max does not care. He's muted. He doesn't give a shit. It's funny. The draft is cool.
Starting point is 00:37:42 So today and, you know, I'm scooping a bit of. the story that I'm going to work on after the PWHL three on three, but I asked some of the players, like if you could have like your must haves for a PWHL All-Star weekend, like what would you want? And one of the players said she'd want the draft. She's like, especially if like you get pick last and you get a car, that'd be nice.
Starting point is 00:38:02 I was like, oh. So angling for like a next, if there's a PWHL draft, like Emily Clark is going to go full of etchkin and be like, don't pick me, don't pick me. Like I need the Honda Civic or whatever. What is the equivalent? It wasn't a, I wasn't, I wasn't, I wasn't, I wasn't a, it was like a,
Starting point is 00:38:18 Ford. It was like a, he wanted it for charity, like, like, like, like, like, what would the equivalent be salary-wise of an NHL player getting an accord? What, uh, versus a pH, PWH player getting like a vehicle of something? Like, would they get a bike? Like, well, like, what could they even? What could, what could they even get? It's not mean.
Starting point is 00:38:40 They're underpaid. It's, it's not, it's not, it's not fair. I don't know, $1,000 Dicks sporting goods gift card. Oh, God. And they already get one of those? I know I just poo-pooed this. It actually sucks for Cole Cillinger that his ex is at the NHL All-Stom gave in He was hilarious.
Starting point is 00:39:00 I think it's hilarious. I saw she talked on a podcast about how she saw an ex-boyfriend on Tinder, like while they were still dating. And I'm like, oh, if that was Cole Cillinger. He fumbled the bag. But so that she was also on Tinder. No, her friend saw it and sent a screenshot and said, oh, my God. Lately story. Maybe he just didn't delete it or something.
Starting point is 00:39:24 I don't know. No, that's not how that works. I don't know. As someone who's literally seen a dude that I, anyways, that's happened to me before. And it's like, oh, my roommate's matched with someone that I was dating on Tinder. And I was like, too far into it. All right. And then you were the hired music.
Starting point is 00:39:44 musical guest at his point. Yes, right. Yeah, exactly. Anyways. I can't believe it's only Thursday and we've had all this. Like, I think that's where the NHL does deserve some credits. I feel like this is turned into like we had stuff Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday. Like, it's really is like a full week event.
Starting point is 00:40:03 And I think they've done a good job of, is that because it's in Toronto? Maybe, maybe not. But I think they've done a good job of, you know, making it feel like more of a more of a full, a full week long thing. Because we have days worth of days more remaining of all serolid stuff, which could be worse. And for as much as people complained about it not being in a warm weather place, it not being, you know, in a vacation city, honestly, that helps that, right? Like instead of it being about, you know, your break, you're going to sit in the beach and be in the sun, you're going for an event. And they've made it an event.
Starting point is 00:40:39 So that is, good-sudos to them. Yeah. And when you say people, you just mean Mark Lazarus, who will complain about, what is it? Was it Marchand, too? Yeah, maybe. But I know Laz's big thing is like the draft should always be like somewhere like this and All-Star should always be like South Florida. He's not wrong, but also who cares. But then you have travel tanks with Las is always, is always one of my favorite.
Starting point is 00:41:05 If you put All-Star just in Fort Lauderdale, Tampa, L.A., whatever, you have people treating it like they're there to get away, not like they're there for the All-Star game, right? Yeah. I guess I can't say I've never done it, but that's how I would feel. Yeah, you're a phony. You hate All-Star. I'm a fraud. Rick Nash is like in that in that story, we wrote, Rick Nash was like, he made a point
Starting point is 00:41:27 to say, like, you got to remember, like, he was basically like, give these guys credit for even being there in the first place because there are 600 other NHL players and everybody spends this time on the beach. Like, you got to remember. You got to remember, these guys don't want to be anywhere. Yeah, is what he was saying, which is like, it's true to an extent. But the least they can do when they're there is, if you're there, be there. Like, right?
Starting point is 00:41:52 Like, have, like, go to the events, you know, do your best on TV. Try to give people something to remember from the skills competition in the game because it's always important remember for all circumstances. This stuff is for children. It's for little kids who are there. That's what I'm having such a good time. there who are there in watching on television. It's there for, it's there for children in media members.
Starting point is 00:42:13 If you are a media member who is also a child, you are in hog heaven, my friend. Hi, Jippy, you got to go, don't you? You have someone, speaking of, you have a bunch of other all-star obligations to not to handle here. So you guys split. That's correct. All right, we're going to head and do a break. When we come back, me and Max, are going to be around. We're going to talk anonymous player poll, which I had nothing to do with and could just read and consider.
Starting point is 00:42:38 Zoom and Max, and a bus is asking people to answer the questions over the last month or so. Allegedly. Allegedly. Maybe, maybe not. That's off the record. We'll be back.
Starting point is 00:42:54 Welcome back. It's segment three. A big piece drop on Wednesday. It's something we do every year. The athletic NHL, it's the anonymous NHL player poll for the season. It's where we ask dudes like, who's the best player,
Starting point is 00:43:09 who's the most overrated player, best goal. Worst Road City, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. I believe 100. Yeah, it's good, though. Like everyone, no, the reason I phrase it that way is because everybody knows that, everybody knows what this is about because a zillion people read it every single year. Like, people know the drill now.
Starting point is 00:43:29 The important thing to know is that it dropped on Wednesday of this week. So go read it right now. There's a ton of good stuff there. Around 200 players were, were pulled. It's, you know, some guys declined to answer questions. but you see a lot of 174 players answered this, 181 players answered that. A lot of stuff is not a surprise. Connor McDavid gets 70% of the votes for best player in the league,
Starting point is 00:43:54 a smattering of stuff going to other dudes. I think Nathan McKinnon is the relevant one to mention. He's at 16%, but that's not a debate, nor should it be. We'll start with the goalie question, Max, because you were in the room polling guys, I think, on some capacity. here that we won't with any specificity with any specificity. 44% still say that Vasilevsky is the best dude in the league. Does that seem high?
Starting point is 00:44:23 That seems high to me. I think it all depends how you take the question. Because I think, and there was a time doing these polls over the years, there was a time that you would still get some Crosby in the poll too for best player, even when it, you know, it was certainly trending McDavid and he was winning them. but Crosby was still getting them on, you know, on any given night, would you rather have Crosby or, right? And he is, by the way, for the record, Crosby got 1.66% of the votes out of 181. So you can do the math, like two people.
Starting point is 00:44:57 Right. But it used to be, I think, a little more. If we went back to like our 2018 or 19 polls, I think it was a little closer than that. And so I think it depends how you take the question. If you gave me one game in a game seven right now, I still think I'm taking Andre Fasselowski. But if you look at this season, I don't know how you can say it or personally than Connor Hellebuck. I didn't try to manipulate these results. So, you know, but that would be my vote would be Connor Hellebuck because of the year he's having.
Starting point is 00:45:23 But if you're if you're taking it like you got a game to win tomorrow, I would vote for Andre Vasselowski. So it just depends on how guys take the question. You know what I mean? Hellebuck is the dude who I would have thought would steal votes from Vaseliski this year. The other ones, like, you know, there's, it's not even worth getting into it because I won't just start naming numbers and names and whatever. Not the point. Connor Hellebuck got about 15% of the vote out of 183 poll players, which, I don't know, it just seems, it just seems a little bit low, not just because of the season that they're having, because there's so much volatility at that position, you know, year over a year. How do you, how would you say Igor's just starting?
Starting point is 00:46:04 because of he's been, you know, wasn't super, wasn't as outstanding last year as he was the year before. How do you say Lisa Elkin has dropped off pretty significantly, right? Like, I get that. Hallibuck's the one, though, who's been there in some capacity year over a year with Vasilevsky. Yeah, has he been two or three or four behind Vasilevsky and a bunch of the, yeah. But I would think that that track record combined with how great he's been so far this season, when it maybe netted him a little bit more, but that's probably. It's probably nitpicking.
Starting point is 00:46:36 Most underrated player in the league, I got to give Alexander Barkhoff credit for this. Like the fact that he finds a way to stay on these lists year after year after year, despite being fantastic and despite being universally acknowledged, is underrated for a decade now is pretty impressive. This one tried my patience. I'm annoyed by this. I'm annoyed that he's still number one.
Starting point is 00:47:02 This is one, if I was ever going to try to. to talk someone out of an answer in an anonymous player pool. This is the topic that would make me want to do it because I have only two theories. Number one is that when you're on the spot, you're trying to just sort through it. It's a heuristics thing and you just think underrated Barkov because it's been beaten into your head so many times. Completely. Number two is that Alexander Barkov loves this and he prides himself on this perhaps.
Starting point is 00:47:31 And maybe he's manifesting this. in all of his conversations. When he's on the eye set of face-off, that he goes, hey, did you do the player pull yet? No. Underrated.
Starting point is 00:47:40 Just remember. When's the face-off on you? And how can you argue at that point? This is like, this is going to be like in four years, if Greta Gerwig still doesn't have an Oscar after, you know, her next movie comes out and people still say she's underrated.
Starting point is 00:47:54 It's like, well, no. Her movies are loved by everybody and one of them made a billion dollars. Like, she's, she's properly, properly.
Starting point is 00:48:02 rated. She just does, she just doesn't have a trophy. Should we orchestrate, what's our, what's our voting organization called PHWA? I'm getting confused now with PWHL, PhWA. Should we orchestrate a conspiracy to get Barkhoff an MVP to end this one? Dennis, I think, I think so. To just properly rate him. We should definitely, yeah, we should have rig awards voting. Yeah, that's, that's what that's right here.
Starting point is 00:48:30 I love, I love the list. dude I love the list of other of other votes which is something that was included in the in the right up here because the most common answer was was another was a player other than the top 15 or whatever yeah other includes Alex I follow Eric Goodbranson this is a very long list I'm just picking off you know fun like funny ones but these are actually underrated like that that's my thing these are under these are the guys who are absolutely these are the guys who underrated. Elias Pedersen is in the other, he is not underrated. He is a superstar and a Canadian team. Everyone agrees that he's good. You can sit here and tell me that Matias Samuelson is,
Starting point is 00:49:14 is the most underrated player in the league, or that Trent Frederick is the most underrated player in the league. Both those guys got votes. I am infinitely more interested in hearing from NHL players talk about why those guys are underrated than just being like, yeah, it's Parkov again. who would have gotten your vote here I walk into the locker room and I ask you I probably would have you know is it a Borkov Borkov
Starting point is 00:49:44 Buf Borgov How about I don't he's not even the most underrated player on his own team I think Carter Hague is significantly more underrated than Alexander Barkov how about that? I like that take
Starting point is 00:49:59 I go Kempay. Adrian Kempe is my answer to this quote. He got 1.79% of the vote. Every time I watch him, I think this guy's so good. That dude, he is so, because he's, because his, I know why he doesn't get more votes. It's because he's like an inconsistent, kind of an inconsistent player. But his, the stuff he's good at is so clear.
Starting point is 00:50:19 And that's, he's one of those guys where if me and you drop it on a Kings game, we watch it for a period. And if he's on, it's going to be like this guy's, he's the best player on the ice sometimes. Yeah, because he's, he's got one of the best shots in the land. he can use fast as hell. Like he pops. We love him.
Starting point is 00:50:34 We love Adrian Kempi here. Who are the other guys off, off this list? I'm, I'm always going to be on, I'm always going to be on the Ailers is, is underrated train, but that's been,
Starting point is 00:50:44 that's been going on for, for too long. Chandler Stevenson's been, uh, maybe not great this year, but for, but on balance over the last bunch of years, extremely,
Starting point is 00:50:53 extremely, an underrated player. Um, and I'm just glad people came off the, the, the, the Jacob Slavin thing, because he is down a 1.79%.
Starting point is 00:51:03 He was approaching that level, the Barkoff level of like, okay, everyone just come off it. Everyone likes him. Hyman's approaching that too, I think, for me, where I saw him on the list and I went, yeah, that's right. But then I also think he's getting the credit now that he's in the hockey markets he's been in. I think Hyman was like somehow underrated but over-discussed when he was with the Maple Leafs. Great way to put it. And now they're meeting. they're meeting in the middle.
Starting point is 00:51:31 So this is worth reading, I think, just to see some of these names pop up and also some of the lines because clearly one of the anonymous players was as pissed, you seem almost as annoyed about Barkov getting, you know, mentions as often as we are. He goes, Barkov's underrated. He's a marked man every night. Another one. Everyone's been saying Barker for so long, but he's not underrated, like on and on and on. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:51:58 So we love it. Where was he in our top center? He was in our top ten centers list in the league. Parkov, yeah. He was in our top ten list. And I think in the actual player tier list, I want to say he was 2A. Like, he's, don't worry about Alexander Barkov. He gets more than enough dapp from, from everybody.
Starting point is 00:52:18 What did you make of the overrated? Because Eric Stevens, it was Trevor Zegras. Other one, other wins a lot of these. But Trevor Zegris was of the named players, the highest vote getter. Eric Stevens did one of my favorite things that we do. Yes. Took that right to the locker room and asked the Ducks teammates about it. And if you're Eric, you can be like, hey, it's not, it's not me.
Starting point is 00:52:38 Just the people I work with saying that. It's your opponent's actually saying that. I want to say specifically, like, who won the Red Wings voted for Zegra's? He's the most underrated player. We went names. Others, 26%. Zegress is almost 13. He's significantly above the rest of the league.
Starting point is 00:52:57 The next name person... It's only 12%. Yeah, but the next named person is Darnel Nurse, who's like not even at 8. Yeah. And then Cachuk, Robertson, Euberdo, Ovechkin, Hopkins, Dubois, Lina, Carlson, Meyer, Mitch Marner. The Cachuk one surprised me. I don't know how he's... How is he...
Starting point is 00:53:15 It's because he's... It's because he gets on dude's nerves, and they can use that as a chance to... Is a chance to Grand Yax. The other ones are very... funny. Who, like, is Adam Pellick overrated? Who's overrating Adam? Who hates Joel Edmondson enough to say that he's the most overrated player
Starting point is 00:53:37 in the league? Tate's Tomp. Tage Thompson's an interesting one. Um, but yeah, that's another interesting story from, from Eric Stevens. He, the, the, the, the, the, the, most, uh, the most overrated guy in the league. Here's the last one we're going to talk about, I think, because I don't care about refs. I don't know if you do either.
Starting point is 00:54:02 Well, the funny thing about the refs is that's the one that players, you look at these totals here, right? Worst ref only had 92 people willing to answer it. Yeah, they're like, I'm not even, we're not even going to dip our toe in those waters. And then you look at the winner, Justin St. Pierre, and one of the first notes. He's definitely widely loved. But the, the, oh, he's not even around anymore. in the league.
Starting point is 00:54:25 I want to know if the players know that. Did the players know that and knowingly said a guy who's not in the league right now just as another way of copping out? Nope. Nope. Man, but back to what I was saying. Because I guess you are right. The rest stuff is more interesting that we're giving a credit for.
Starting point is 00:54:44 Big question. Who's the player in the league whose face you most want to punch? Congratulations to Nick Cousins in the Cousins family. he is at 28.57% and he beat other. Smoked other. Significantly. It goes, Cousins at 28.57,
Starting point is 00:55:06 other at 16.3. Marshawn did a hair under 15%. And then Cachuck at about 7.5. What is Nick Cousins doing out there? I mean, I knew that he was a, I knew that he was a shit disturber, right? But, man,
Starting point is 00:55:24 look at, lines too. Played against him a long time. One player said, always hated the guy. He's going to get a lot of answers on this one, says another. Another says, a third says, I'm buddies with him and I'd still say him. We have a new rat king. Congratulations to Nick Cousins. You know what? There was a run there where Nick Cousins was in the news for a different bad hit like every week. Yeah, that's true. I honestly, I think that's a well-er. one. I don't want to make it sound like it's not something that he earned.
Starting point is 00:55:59 This is just decisive. Decisive. He's doubling the next named human being in this, in this, in this, in this thing. And that's the best to ever do it. Brad Marsh is like for God. Unreal. Unreal stuff. Nick Cousins.
Starting point is 00:56:19 I'm buddies with him, but I'd still say him is a, is an all-timer. How relatable is that, too, by the way? How relatable is that. You and I have mutual friends who we'd say deserve to get punched in the Fizz, who we would probably describe that as well. We're not going to be what they did it here. What else? Pick one more.
Starting point is 00:56:40 Pick one more for us to talk about that you like. We got best jersey. We got favorite road city. Well, these are the ones that like, you know, favorite road city. I'd poor Winnipeg's piling up 41% there.
Starting point is 00:56:52 Like, I don't like to pile on on that one, you know. But, favorite road city is like equally boring it's it's Vegas near I what I loved is that is the Jersey's just the original six no wild yeah and I don't know if that's like is that a history thing and you've just known the jersey so long those are the teams that don't change their jerseys that's probably what it is all these other teams experiment with what they're doing I think about how many different looks the capitals the coyotes have had coyotes actually make the list in a
Starting point is 00:57:20 decent number of spot a decent decent spot but the original six just stayed of what works and I think that is a this is a this is good reinforcement probably for those ownership groups and management groups that have probably taken a ton of shit for not doing more alternates over the years but look where it gets you nchl players having a conservative streak who could have seen crazy crazy crazy crazy good showing by the cracking yeah 4.11 they're the they're the best they're the number one non-original sex team I players also couldn't vote for their own in which I think is irrelevant. Did you do any polling for this?
Starting point is 00:57:59 This time, this year, no. Okay. In the past, we've had this question before. I've had to. I've had to, this is a big under, I think we need to, we don't need to go too far into this, but this is a big undertaking.
Starting point is 00:58:09 It takes a lot of time. It takes a lot of, a lot of practice days. Yeah. You know, where maybe you would rather be doing something else, frankly. So there's been times,
Starting point is 00:58:20 doing something other than just being like, hey, what's your least favorite road city? What player do you want to punch in the face? Because time is at a minimum. especially when you're dealing with professional athletes. So there's been years in the past. We're in Pittsburgh. I've been called in to, you know,
Starting point is 00:58:34 take some stuff off of Josh and Rob's plate, rightfully. You pop in the road room, all that, right? It's a lot of effort. But the jersey one I find interesting, because I don't know if you've ever had this on the jersey question before,
Starting point is 00:58:46 sometimes you get a specific jersey. And I don't, I actually don't even know how they tabulate that when I submit to them like a certain team's like third jersey. So if someone's, like if someone's like, I love the coyote's third jersey or right, the Kachina or something. Because they even said in the article, I actually, I think Jake is who puts it together. But he kind of made the point that a lot of guys, you know, pointed to the to the alternates.
Starting point is 00:59:11 And I don't know how they, how they end up getting tabulated. I think NHL players should be able to do this about reporters. They should ask, we should answer questions posed by NHL players about who's the coworker. We don't want to punch on the fist. who has the yeah exactly customs okay that's it who's the worst dress
Starting point is 00:59:33 laughs I don't know not me hockey beat writers would make that a challenge let's say that you're just picking from a bunch of dudes wearing chinos and quarters ofps like it's really not that
Starting point is 00:59:47 it's not that interesting of a field maxi this was fun I feel like Haley should have stuff to do more often Just kidding. We need more boys' time. I don't think so. You know the next time you're here, you know where we're going?
Starting point is 01:00:06 Costco. Oh, yeah. Hot dog lunch, my boy. Shout out, shout out to the water from Costco. There's a couple Penn's trips that look mighty doable on the back half of the schedule. Just remember. You have friends in high places. You have a gold star member in your immediate social circle here.
Starting point is 01:00:23 Wow. Have you seen that meme by the? the way of the guy in like the basketball student section who like pulls out you can just kind of see like he's like showing a girl in the student section she's like oh wow and then they like zooms in it's for sure a Costco gold card. I love that. Dude's rock. Thank you folks for listening.
Starting point is 01:00:42 As always, Haley's going to listen to this and be upset at both of us because it kind of seems like we made fun over there for a second and I'm vamping as I try to go find the ad read which is in front of me now. on YouTube, folks, YouTube.com slash at sign
Starting point is 01:00:59 the athletic hockey show. Right now you can get a one year subscription for $2 a month when you visit theathletic.com slash hockey show. That's the athletic.com
Starting point is 01:01:08 slash hockey show. Next episode is Friday with Max again, Corey Promin, Scott Wheeler, and Chris Peters. You guys have like the, you guys have the prospect
Starting point is 01:01:18 mega team coming up. I love this. Yeah. It's going to be a great episode. We're going to, obviously we talked about Scott's draft rankings earlier this week.
Starting point is 01:01:24 We got Corey's. that we'll talk about that came out tomorrow, and then we're going to do a mock draft. So it's the first, for all the teams that are starting to lose hope on the season, we've got the first 16 as a mock, and we did a little simulation on the lottery that people will hate. Love it. Love hate listeners.
Starting point is 01:01:43 Also, Monday, we have Ian Mendez and Mark Lazarus on the Monday show, and they will have their reaction to the London Police Service Press conference on Monday, which is about the five team Canada players who are now being charged. charged and that is a big day on the calendar for that, for that case. Tune in for that. Again, Ian and Mark are going to have live, live reaction. Ian, in his boots on the ground there as well. So they will have that for you on Monday. Enjoy the weekend. Enjoy the All-Star festivities. If you're listening on Thursday, remember All-Star draft tonight. Let's see if some dudes get drunk. Always makes it better.
Starting point is 01:02:21 Have a good weekend.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.