The Deep 3 Podcast - Every #1 NBA Draft Pick's Biggest Flaw | TD3 Clips
Episode Date: March 18, 2026The biggest flaw in the last 10 #1 NBA Draft Picks! #nba Check out the TD3 merch: https://the-deep-3-shop.fourthwall.com/ Listen on Spotify!: https://open.spotify.com/show/3elbbqVumwqz8wlIdknsLW... Listen on Apple Podcasts!: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-deep-3-podcast/id1657940794 Follow us on TikTok!: https://www.tiktok.com/@thedeepthree Follow us on Instagram!: https://www.instagram.com/thedeep3podcast/ Isaac's twitter: https://twitter.com/byisaacg Mo's twitter: https://twitter.com/Mojo99_ Donnavan's twitter: https://twitter.com/Dsmoot3D Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I'm in a name to you.
Every single number one overall pick
in the last 10 NBA drafts,
we had to pick their biggest flaw.
So some of these players are obviously good,
some not so good,
whatever level of player
they netted out to be
after their draft year,
what do you think is the biggest flaw
in their game holding them back
from hitting whatever the next level
that's in front of them is?
Okay.
So first off, Cooper Flagg,
the most recent one.
What's his biggest flaw right now?
Three point shooting probably right now.
Whenever he launches it specifically off of the dribble two,
it's always going like hit.
It's always hitting the back irons.
He's always way too strong.
But outside of that,
he's such a superb offensive player.
But that's his biggest flaw.
Yeah.
And then hopefully I should come with time, right?
It's really just a year a rookie
and you have this one glaring thing
that I would assume year two
you're going to develop.
Yeah.
He can't be this bad of the shooter.
And as soon as it develops,
we're going to be looking at the guy
who we're going to take the title away
from Palo Pank Carroll
for the closest thing to LeBron James.
There was a play the other day.
He jumped from like two steps inside,
inside the futile line,
just flew, just rose.
Once that jump, his slashing is crazy that size.
He's going to be Caucasian LeBron James real fast.
When he gets down here, it is scary.
And it's crazy because, like, he's, he's obviously a rookie.
He's like 19.
In two years, three years, he's going to put on like 15, 20 pounds.
Yeah.
Just freight train downhill.
It's going to be discussed.
The battles between him and Wembe, oh my God, man, they're going to feed me so well.
I mean, eating.
It's going to be entertaining.
Masterclasses.
Timeout historical battles.
Free Dawkins type shit.
Free Dawkins.
Yeah.
Shout out for Dawkins, man.
Shout out feeding Mo.
Shout out Feeding Mo.
Apparently, he loves to be fed.
Look at an AP though.
You see that shit?
Zachary Hiseachie.
What is his biggest flaw?
This picture's mad funny for no reason.
I am not going to lie.
I've never seen this picture.
Take that fucking head off.
Mo.
Chamans.
What is his actual biggest flaw?
Outside of the laughing at him for
not being number one overall pickworthy.
What is stopping him from being a productive player
from being a productive three and D starter?
At the three of the D.
Top of the year.
I would defensively,
he's actually really good.
Okay, so it's the three.
He's a,
he's a great defender.
Good, lengthy guy.
Makes guys uncomfortable all the time whenever he's like
dealing with some type of guy
was trying to get into his sets.
He's good at absorbing contacts,
surprisingly.
So defensively,
I'm so happy with him.
But offensively,
it's consistency.
It's a service.
It's creation or the want to,
they want to,
to be able to create.
I don't know if he's like in the mindset of doing that or just he doesn't want to create
and go ahead of shoot.
He doesn't want to dribble.
Stop asking.
Yeah.
Yeah,
exactly.
But more so is biggest weakness,
Quincyner.
Biggest weakness,
Quinsider.
Go get a bucket.
I don't want to.
I'm tired.
Any team would live like you put him on any team across the league.
They're going to be a better basketball team.
Okay.
We got just like,
he's a good average player.
That is a lot.
You don't even start him.
That's a lot.
That's a lot.
If he was on your bench,
you guys would be better.
You would be better.
Then why is the starting lineup?
Because Quinn Scott is our coach.
What do you mean?
He should be in our starting lineup.
Oh, he's a coincidence.
He's a problem.
He hasn't been, he hasn't been doing the best job.
The head coach stopped playing the young player.
If he was on your team, if he was on your team,
we would look at you guys not differently, but a little.
No, you would not look at the Lakers.
I've already had Tori and Princeton the Lakers.
I don't miss him that much.
Come, he's better than Tori and Prince.
No, he's not.
I promise you, everything.
All my soul, he's better than the team.
All my soul, he's better than Torian.
I legit don't know if that's true.
No, you're, get the fuck.
I'm only sort of choking.
All my soul, he's better than Tori and pros on defense alone, bro.
I don't think you're gasping the defense because there's nothing to point you offence.
Get the fuck.
So you got a really hyper focus on the defense.
Like, it's better than you think.
Maybe it's not.
I'm not gassing his defense, bro.
Top boy defender in the league.
Yeah, the way he was talking about his defense wasn't saying, I'm going to line.
I'm just, I just say that to say it's like it's an underlying part of it.
If there were four all defensive teams is he making.
I'm not saying top 20.
No, I'm not saying
if they were seven
all due to 15
TV
get on team number nine
I'm just saying
What is victim
What is victim woman
It jumps out on paper
It literally does not
If I jump out to the eyes
So what you're looking at
If you're looking at anything
It's like okay
He got that
He got that figured out
What is victim woman
Yama's biggest flaw
Um
I
This is Glace
Already
Silence filter roll out
That was crazy
I was trying to figure out the way
It was
Not that
I was trying to figure out the way
To put it to
Yeah
Ball handling and core strength
He can't blow that guy's on ball
Because he's too weak right now
With his lengthy limbs
He needs to put on more muscle
Or learn his driving
It was a tighter handle better
So you do more on ball creation
Offensively he's so prone
to have stinkers.
Yeah.
From the mid-range area
of operin finel,
but he needs more strength
to be able to get his own shot
off more often.
You got that.
But outside of that,
nothing.
Palo Ben Carroll.
This suit.
Oh, man.
I thought you liked it.
I think I did,
but looking back,
this is not good.
He's gone older.
Facts.
Unkmoding engaged.
What are those pins?
I don't know.
I forget what those were.
Oh, yeah,
I can't tell off in this picture.
Those Larry L.D.
Maybe it's just the background
color where I'm like,
I like those colors.
Oh, yeah, the purple doesn't lend itself well to this maroon in the back.
Yeah.
Yeah, if I see it differently, I might like it again.
I mean, we should talk so much about it.
Yeah, playstyle.
Yeah, playstyle, decisiveness.
Shooting.
Yeah.
Shooting is probably the post-in.
We can just call it that.
The jump shooting consistency.
And then more importantly, what, how often he gets aggressive as a driver when the jump shot
isn't falling?
Him being able to know I need to get in the slashing mode more often because I need to,
because the jump shot isn't going to carry me to half-core deficiency.
Adaptiveness.
Yes. In-game adaptiveness is the thing. And now in-season adaptiveness, let me see a full 82 games of you having a good feel for how much you should be slashing relative to the jump shooting and not just second half of the year turn-ups.
He's going to end up like saying who it's like every year he's good at something different.
So really what they really answer is consistency. I need to see 82 games of efficient play and not these flashes.
But truly just being young. We need to see him get grown essentially and hit that prime level at some point. Grow up, palo.
Be a man.
Cade Cunningham.
He also has just
efficiency issues. He's just not a great score.
He's not a top tier score and that's the biggest flaw.
If he was, he would be Luca Donchage.
But I think he's never going to be a
truly elite rim finisher because the burst isn't like truly
top tier. Yeah. And for what he is
defensively and what he is as a distributor,
that's perfectly fine. He can get to, he still
can get to and access a lot of spots
on the court. But when it comes to
tough shot making that just isn't in his game at this point in time.
No, no, I'd say.
I'd say the easy shot making isn't always there.
Sometimes he doesn't, oh, hit the easy threes and create as many easy rem attempts.
That he's on pretty good at the midrange and being able to show over people and do the
tough stuff.
But the easy stuff doesn't come easy enough for him.
A low-key thing, bro just might be tired.
Like, I think once, like, we can kind of get away from the spacing, but just the
amount of effort that is needed every single play from Cade to set up.
the offense, the amount of times that he sees double teams, the amount of times that he sees
pressure from other teams. If you get somebody else who can dribble, we've been saying for two
years now, you can probably get another 5 to 10 percent of energy from Cade Cunningham.
And you probably see, I think there's another leap from Cade. Certainly, certainly.
Based solely off of everything in this offense is not based on what I do and what I can
accomplish. If we can get him an elite score next to him and he can average a more efficient
21, 22 points for game,
instead of an average efficiency, 26.
Way better player.
Yeah.
100%.
Way better player.
We need to get him a Quiet Leonard.
Anthony Edwards.
Playmaking probably.
Offball defense.
His offball defense has been dog shit this year.
Yeah, that's been a big talking port
over the last few games for him specifically.
And it's real.
He is out there letting everybody cut back and forth.
He pulls up his shorts and he locks up well on ball
come playoff time.
But regular season, he doesn't give a shit about playing helpside defense.
He's slapping the four.
He's like, I'm staying here.
here and I'm not moving.
I got the corner.
Yeah, passing and off ball defense.
That's what stopping him from being like the best playing in the world level guy.
Yeah.
Offball defense.
I feel like it would be so much better.
And I've seen it be better before.
But obviously, whenever I have seen it be better before, he's tasked a lot less offensively.
And now these days has to be pretty much everything for the Minnesota's number.
So there's only so much energy that can be expended.
Yeah.
If he was a great shot blocker and like a really good passer, at that point we're describing 6'5
LeBron James.
Yeah.
So it's asking for.
a lot for him to be great at everything.
Just be amazing.
How about you be perfect?
How would you be literally Michael Jordan?
How about that?
What are you prepared to do about that?
Tell me what you can't.
Honestly, listen, it is about time for him to turn into Michael Jordan.
We've had a cut.
Literally.
Literally.
Evolve.
We've had.
Here's a rare candy.
We've had so many.
You're at level 36 now, man.
Bro, we've had so many of the Adidas commercials in the campaigns.
where he's been taking shots at Shea and obviously the team the teams are very very different.
Yeah.
But She goes in every time and just wins these games and he keeps sending him home and they had they were cutting the promo earlier and they were like, yeah, you know, they had the running MVP.
They beat us in the conference finals last year.
It's personal.
I need to see that.
At one point in time do you think it like stops.
His team just stops taking shots at Shea because it's he or the Timberwell just can't like to go to that.
It's probably not.
One more play of loss.
They probably have like one.
one or two commercials already lined up,
they're not shooting anymore after this year.
If they don't beat them.
Yeah, we'll see what happens in the playoffs.
If they beat the Lakers again,
he's in a double down on Luca being fat and out of shape.
If he beats Shea, he's in double down on that.
They'll pick their target wisely.
Okay.
They'll have a whole summer to improvise.
Smart.
Zon Williamson was his one biggest flaw.
What do you got to pinpoint to why he isn't who he is?
Overall, we would say health.
If he's on the court, I think, all the time that we talk about him differently,
but also because, like, how his game hasn't changed
and adapted necessarily.
It's so hard to, like, sit down and talk about teams right now
who need to trade for Zon Williams because even if he was healthy,
like, we still come back.
All things probably lead to this point right now where to move,
the pelicans are still ass and just doing a whole lot of nothing on the team.
It's health.
And I wonder if the health is why he hasn't developed because he hasn't had as many
encore reps as he needs.
But then again, it's just hard.
If you're going to scale down and be traded to a team where you are like a second,
third option, it's tough to also be a mediocre rim defender
and non-existent shooter.
Yeah.
You got to pick one of those things to be good at if you're going to be a third option.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
So health, but it ties into just overall.
Where's the evolution in your game?
Exactly.
Lack of development over time.
DeAndre Aton, I would say pick one identity would go a long way.
I would say stop listening to the monsters under your bed.
Or be fearful of the monsters under your bed and get to a new crib where there's no monsters.
But to get to a new crib, you need money.
You need a contract.
You need to lock in and get that contract every single year.
Yeah, multiple personalities are not.
It is clear the biggest flaw in De Arndrae's game is not being locked in.
We have good nights where he's very locked in.
He's aggressive at the rim.
And the nights when he's lock at a day's goal,
doesn't want to warm back in transition because he'd rather look at the floor and be sad.
Doesn't want to jump high enough to catch every love.
Doesn't want to fight for every board.
Consistent energy is the story of his career.
I wonder what his nighttime routine is, man.
Like, what does he do to prep himself?
Mad in 26, a mountain dude.
Mountain dude
A bunch of refill bottles
We could have it was on allegations now
That he'd be game until 2 a.m.
Waking up, tired
Doesn't want to run back in transition
Because his energy's low
Eat an apple
Felt soda under his bed
Man if we'll do any
I'll mail you a dream catcher
And something like that
And put it above your bed, bro
Something
Make a smoothie in the morning
Eat an apple, get some energy going
You come to work tired
it really like nothing
I give him grace for like dropping a lob
not being quite high enough like all this stuff
the one thing I'll never look past
is whenever he misses a shot
he doesn't sprint back in transition
he looks down and jogs
does that
get the fuck back
like it's understandable to miss a layup
as a big not get back in transition
that happens like every time
but to look down and I even try
pick your fucking head off
God
that's him switching
God
it's him hitting his fucking Omitrix
Oh, we're going to be it.
No, I'm only 100.
The Omni tricks.
Markill Fultz.
Man, light went up.
I just saw that he got picked up by a G-League team.
I think it was some,
I think it was a Raptors G-Leak team
or maybe the game's not sure.
Pretty clear.
Can't shoot a lick.
Pretty hard to be a point guy
that doesn't have a single three-point shot.
Motorcycles is his weakness.
Did they ever get really confirmed?
I wonder.
I don't never.
But like we all know it's real, right?
Like it was an injury.
He was not going to accident.
I think so.
But nobody wants to report on it.
Yeah.
Yeah.
No jump shot to speak of.
It's tough.
You can't,
you can never come back from that.
Ben Simmons.
Also,
mindset.
Health, you know.
We gave him so much flack.
His body fell apart.
I know.
Yeah.
His back,
he can't bend over and pick up a fucking crayon off the floor.
We're like,
you're weak.
His back doesn't work.
It sucks.
That's why he didn't want to dunk on Trillo?
I love what we index on that so much.
much.
Yeah. Just one simple
to say,
damn,
out of everything that he,
all the great things
he's done.
That's why he never
wanted to take threes in game
unless it was a preseason game.
He took a three in a preseason game
and they were like,
oh my God,
stop the game.
Give him the ball to take home.
I love the trade on things specifically
because it is very funny.
You should dunk that fucking ball clearly.
It's also like understandable
that in a high pressure moment
he got the ball.
It was like,
threw it to the next pass real fast
and didn't realize it was
Trey fucking young.
I don't think it's,
I don't think a moment like that is ever
on this.
understandable like he should fucking dunk but like
I don't think he was scared to Tray Young I think he was
thinking too fast it was like a turnover like going out
of bounds you know it's like the same thing as that
you're an NBA player and you're wide
open in the pain you see no one
Trayline to Chung is not even in your eye line at all
I'm not saying it wasn't fucking stupid
but plenty of players are caught the ball and thrown out of bounds
and we haven't been like this will define
you forever like we do
with that play
I suit to me
I gotta talk about more of these plays man
I'm already thinking of a couple
Andrew Bynum three-pointer I remember that
No.
What was it?
Tough.
It was like his last season on the Lakers.
He took a three at the top of the key.
Oh, you're saying more career defining bad plays?
Yeah, more career defining bad plays.
He took a three at the top of the key.
Mike Brown called the timeout, benched him.
That's going to happen to the sisters like that season.
That's going to happen to Aiden.
Aiden's going to miss a lob because it goes through his hands in the playoffs
and he's going to get bench to close the game and they get eliminated.
And that's going to define Aiden.
That's what we're going to do for a clip.
We got to talk about the worst play of every player's career.
Every star player's career.
Funny shit ever.
Plays that ruined you with one bad decision in one.
In one split, instinct sports decision, you ruin your reputation.
But I do think, like, out of all, like, worst plays that a player could have,
that Ben Simmons-Streyong thing has to be, like, top tier.
I don't think there's too much worse.
I can't think of a single one that defines you more than that.
That has be number one.
Unless there's, like, a LeBron, JJ Barrier moment that I even can't think about.
I mean, LeBron won four rings.
Yeah, exactly.
People got over it, and this Ben-Simpleans.
I'm acting like I don't understand.
I understand it.
It's indicative of everything people hate about Ben Simmons,
because they've seen him not be aggressive many times.
So this is the one they can point to you to explain
the lack of aggression.
Yeah, he's a scammer.
That's the last one.
That's the last scammer.
That's funny.
Some of the other guys aren't scammers.
Ben Simmons is a scammer.
Harding on it.
Does I make him a scammer?
No.
No, he's...
People have been telling us about who he is
from day one since he was at LSU.
There are so many reports talking about like,
yeah, he doesn't really love basketball as much as he should for some of this.
I think he's less of a scammer and we...
willingly got scammed
and we had to learn from Ben Simmons
and other guys
to take these guys
with face value.
Yeah.
But we never will.
I never will.
Because I'm realistically,
how am I going to get up here
and be like,
I think this guy doesn't love basketball?
Exactly.
What do I know about this guy?
What do I know about fucking
Darren Peters says love for basketball?
I don't know him.
How am I going to get in my draft seat
on draft night and be like,
this guy's going to be a bitch in five years.
I guarantee you is.
How am I going to do that?
You got to make those calls.
Because don't you got to stand on something.
What are called?
Fuck.
Dude, we're really a jackass.
You can't stand on your principles.
Sometimes you gotta try to identify the marks.
Yeah.
Be a volume shooter.
If I go,
if I go 10 guys mentally weak,
the numbers tell me at least one will be.
And I can gloat about that.
These jobs that we have are preposterous.
Right.
We got to have an opinion about everything.
Yeah,
to do it.
And then we told them about why they're so bad.
There's like a hundred of them.
I don't even ever saying that.
All of them.
Best shit is a two pack of ass.
I don't know.
