The Horror Returns - THR - Ep. #512: Berberian Sound Studio (2012) & undertone (2026)
Episode Date: March 20, 2026Pedro is here to listen in on a few movies this week. Cool of the week includes World Baseball Classic, Whistle, and Ted: Season 2. Trailer is Hokum. The podcast spotlight shines on Berated B-Rated mo...vies and Two Girls One Crypt. And we get feedback from Steven Lowblad, Jack Hunter, Derek Rosenberg, Trudy Zonca, Lauren Marchant, Russell A Calhoun, Pat Caruso, Arielle Gusmano, and Xim Vader. Thanks for listening! The Horror Returns Website: https://thehorrorreturns.com THR Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thehorrorreturns/ Join THR Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1056143707851246 THR X: https://twitter.com/horror_returns?s=21&t=XKcrrOBZ7mzjwJY0ZJWrGA THR Instagram: https://instagram.com/thehorrorreturns?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y= THR Threads: https://www.threads.net/@thehorrorreturns?igshid=NTc4MTIwNjQ2YQ== THR YouTube Channel: https://youtube.com/@thehorrorreturnspodcast3277 THR Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/thehorrorreturns THR TeePublic: https://www.teepublic.com/user/the-horror-returns SK8ER Nez Podcast Network: https://www.podbean.com/pu/pbblog-p3n57-c4166 E Society Spotify For Podcasters: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/esoc Music By: Steve Carleton Of The Geekz
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Greetings, victims, for those of you who delight and dread, who fantasize about fear, who glorify gore, welcome.
You have found the place where the horror returns.
Listeners beware.
This podcast contains major plot spoilers.
and the foulest of language.
Join us in celebrating the old and the new,
the best and the worst in horror.
All right, welcome back, everyone.
Hold on.
Is it Friday 13th?
No, let me, yeah, hold on, Brian.
What are you doing?
You hear that?
I don't hear a damn thing.
I mean, the video is showing me something different.
But it's showing like your pleasure in yourself or something.
Hold on.
Hold on.
I'm trying to, I'm trying something new here.
Hold tight.
Are you trying to do ASMR?
Yes.
Trying to ASMR.
Is it working?
No.
No.
All right.
Well, welcome back everyone to the horror returns.
It's all about sound this week.
So we'll see how this works out.
We'll try to do something like these films did.
We'll try to be all substance and no style.
But, uh, you know,
You know which ones I like to use from time.
Speaking of ASMR and the whole sound vibe that we got,
sometimes when I have a long day at work,
I just feel like what we call in the clinical world disassociating,
where I don't have the mental energy to watch a movie.
I don't have the mental energy to watch wrestling.
So I literally throw on barber videos on YouTube.
And they are so relaxing because I don't have to do shit.
I just sit there and just space out and stare at the screen.
And it's just a guy getting a haircut.
And the way they have the sound, right?
The whole, you can hear all the clippers going, the buzzer, the, you know, the shaving cream.
And it does the job, you know, an hour later, I'm fresh as a daisy and I'm ready to get back into the world.
So, hey, it's better than coming home and down in a six-pack.
That's what I say.
You know, a lot of people disassociate that way.
I just associate watching Barber videos on YouTube.
So anyways, yeah.
I like it.
What do you, what do you do, Brian?
I watch videos of people doing landscaping or power washing driveways.
Yeah, see.
Are you fucking serious?
I'm missing out.
It's, it's oddly calming.
Right, for sure.
This is insane.
Okay.
Yeah.
The tripping thing is that, first of all, there's a niche for,
everything on YouTube. Literally everything.
Anything that there's right. You could
watch and whatever.
You could watch pain on the wall, drying
for all. Literally.
Literally.
And, uh,
either that or watch that
barbarian sound effects or whatever that
movie's cause. It's going to bore you the same way.
Um, so,
so no, they have, they have,
you could even tune on to getting the
downtown camera. They have like a camera that
just, it's just in downtown a street,
a random street and you just could stare at that for
powers if you want. But what I'm trying to say is that there's people that are making big time money
off of this. Really? These landscapers that Brian's talking about, they have like hundreds of thousands,
if not millions of followers. And these things are very popular. This ASMR, whatever, are very,
very popular. So, yeah. And I could see how it's something to do with the brain and the way it connects.
There's a science behind it. A lot of these sounds are very soothing to the brain. So when you're sitting there
watching it is kind of is very calming um but yeah i should try it lance i don't know i don't know what
your nature would be but you should try it mine mine is mine is staying awake listening to nba basketball
games over audio and and going nuts and not been able to sleep for three hours because i'm because my
team loses so it's not working but you're still one of those people that listens to up games
i do yeah i do listen to all that's old school right yeah that's old school well later at night
I do, man, because I'll watch, I like to watch the games on TV, but then sometimes my eyes get really tired.
Yeah.
Like my back starts hurting from being on the couch a certain way, so I kind of want to just like kick back in bed.
Right. And put the headphones on. So that's, yeah.
That'll do it. But then you get pissed off anyway, so like you said, it doesn't work.
Okay. Or I'm all high because, because the Rockets win or something like that. And, you know,
I can't get to sleep for three hours because I'm celebrating, right? So.
what are you going to do right brian yeah all right we got pei as if you guys couldn't tell
we got pedro and brian in the house phillips out tonight he's doing what was he doing some kind
of mr. mom thing he said i got the kids does he not always have the kids i mean he's not
divorced what what's up with that he was uh he was yeah he was on father duty today so
i'd bless him for that okay all right well you guys want you up into
cool of the week?
Yeah, let me see.
I'll go last.
Yeah, I don't have much.
I've been watching the world baseball classics.
I'm a huge baseball fan.
And so just kind of keeping my eye on that.
It's been very emotional.
I never, I don't know, I guess when these professional athletes play for their country,
it adds another layer of just like emotion behind it.
And Team Venezuela won.
They actually beat team.
USA yesterday, which was a big upset.
And it's, yeah, I mean, it was just interesting, you know,
that Venezuela has gone through a lot this year.
Right.
You know, they took their oil and all kinds of stuff.
And, but, hey, now they got the WBC Cup.
So good for them.
So I've been doing that.
I watched the new Spider-Man trailer today, which it didn't really, I don't know,
it was okay.
You know, there was, there's this big rumor.
And I'm not spoiling anything, folks.
It's a rumor.
Whether or not this happens, I don't know.
But supposedly in this latest Spider-Man, Peter Parker is going to turn into an actual spider
because he's got he's so stressed out from what I understand.
What?
He's going to be like, like, Jeff Goldblum and the fly and just turn it like, you know.
And so I'm watching this trailer and I'm seeing all these little teas and I'm like,
I think that's actually going to happen.
Really?
Because they show him kind of, you know, he's going through some stuff.
Brian, did you watch the trailer?
Yeah, I checked it out.
And I was like, if he's going to turn into an actual spider, like, they better know how to get around this, because it's going to come off as really, like, it's going to look really silly.
And it's going to, you know.
Another jump to shark moment for Marvel, huh?
Well, maybe, who knows?
But the trailer didn't do much for me.
I mean, I know it's the first one.
And, you know, they don't want to reveal too much.
We saw Scorpion in there who's played by the guy from Breaking Bad.
Michael Mando.
Michael Mando
Yeah
Okay
Not not
Yeah
Not pink men
Oh
Oh
Oh
Yeah which actually
I don't know
Lance if you remember
If you
Because I know you
You don't even like
These Spider-Man movies
You're always saying
They suck
And this
Which is fine
No
No
I didn't say that
No you said the last one
I refer to
To spider
Man
Okay
Well that's the same
shit
As saying they suck
So anyways
They teased
Scorpion
in the very first one in Homecoming, way back in 2017.
Yes. And so now, after almost 10 years, they finally bring him back and it seems like he's going to get, he's going to be part of the, of the villain side.
Because I think they have like three or four villains in this movie, which is a big red flag in my eyes.
Because they also have tombstone and, you know, the foot or whatever they're called from their devil are in it.
They're actually, they actually come on in the trailer.
or the claw or the paul or whatever the fuck they're called the hand the martial art yeah the
the foot clan is the the the footland is the ninja turtles which is a which is a which is a rip off of
their devil um so anyways the fifth foot way huh so i don't know i wasn't i was kind of underwhelmed by
it but um yeah so that that's and i guess the to me one of the biggest hype movies of this
week which i'm going to go check out tomorrow is project hell mary which is
everybody's talking about that movie right now because the reviews are out and it has like a really
high score people have been hyped up about this movie for about a year now and uh it's yeah so i'm
looking forward to that as well so that's kind of my cool of the week is even though it hasn't
happened yet i'm looking i haven't been this hype for a movie in a while is uh just going to go
check out at project halmerry tomorrow are you gonna you're gonna see it and you're gonna see it in
i'mx of course i mean that's the way to go and and and and for a cinafile for a cintifile is a pretty
cool week because then we also have Ready or Not Part 2. I'm going to go check that one out over the weekend.
So I'm excited. Nice. Nice. Yeah, I, I'm looking forward to seeing it in IMAX. I'm kind of,
of course, I read the book. It's the same guy who wrote The Martian. I don't think it was as good as
the Martian, in my opinion. I didn't enjoy reading it as much as that. And I love the Martian,
by the way. Martian's awesome. But yeah, I don't know if they're going to be able to pull it off,
dude. There's some pretty out there concepts in the book, right, that I think will be very, very difficult to get onto a screen.
Well, from what I hear, with the alien. Right. From the, from the early reviews, and like I said, it's been pretty well reviewed.
Okay. They're saying that they really caught that little alien, the bug, the rock, whatever it is.
The rock, yeah, they really caught the, because, because this movie was, Rocky, because this movie was going to, you know, make or break whether or not that character, it was in a citizen.
or what, you know, so supposedly they got it done pretty well and it's a very good character.
So we'll see.
I'm excited for it.
And it's two and a half hours, though.
So that's always at my age, that's always a little bit, you know.
I want those 90-minute movies.
What happened to 90-minute movies?
They don't exist anymore.
We got one this week.
That's true.
Reviewing this week was a little over 90 minutes.
That's very true.
So they're still out there.
Rare, rare, you know.
What's that, Brian?
Didn't feel like it.
No, it didn't.
We'll talk about that later.
Okay.
That's my cool of the week.
All right, cool.
So, world baseball, right?
That's right.
World baseball, classic, yes.
World baseball.
Mine's pretty simple, guys.
I caught up with the movie.
As happens a lot, you guys caught the movie when it came out, and I didn't that week.
But I caught up.
I corrected myself.
And I did check out the little movie called Whistle.
You've seen this.
one, right, Pedro?
Whistle?
I saw it about a week ago, and yeah.
Okay.
I didn't really like it, but give me your thoughts.
It's by the cool of the week, man.
No, I really dug it, man.
All right.
Yes, was it CGI heavy?
Come on, dude.
Fire that looks like a fucking 64-bit video game in places and stuff like that.
Yes.
Very CGI heavy, very, very corny, right?
With the, you know, the kids, the same old stock,
same old story we hear over and over and over again, right?
you know the kids find something they shouldn't find and play with it and god forbid they all get in trouble
but i don't know i kind of like seeing nick frost at the beginning there and that oh it was different
because in this one he's the one that plays with it first yes and then and then you know he fucks around
and finds out as they say so yeah to to comedic effect i would say wouldn't you yeah yeah yeah no
the kills were pretty cool though i like the kills the kills were were very inventive and like you
said CGI heavy but but yeah but I thought the story was a little plain like you said it's like me
you know we've seen it before a thousand times for sure for sure I just like I just like even though
the kills were CGI heavy I don't know I just kind of like the I guess the the inventiveness
of some of the ways that they took these kids out you know like like you guys were saying however
you basically are we're going to die anyway however many years down it might have been a week later it
might have been, you know, 70 years later, but you die in that same fashion. And I thought that
was pretty interesting the way they did that. Dude, if my, if the town I grew up in the high school
I went to had a fucking Halloween carnival like that, Jesus Christ, dude, I would have been there
every fucking night that it was going on. That was amazing, huh? Yep. So, uh, it was fun. It was
just a good old-fashioned, fun January horror movie. So I dug it. So Whistle is my cool of the week.
Awesome. Okay. Brian, what do you got?
I got a screener for a horror revenge thriller called Death Cycle.
Death Cycle, okay.
It is about a lady and her sister.
They get hit by a car and left her dead, and then a guy on a motorcycle with the helmet.
You don't see who he is.
Mm-hmm.
kind of shows up and
he's getting revenge
on the people that are involved
that's kind of cool man
yeah but I'm a little let down
by the poster
really
because the poster the motorcycle has like
knives and blades on it
and
one of those game of Thrones
motorcycle huh
yeah
but it's
it's a decent movie
It's not the best thing I've seen this year.
It's pretty shot well for a low-budget movie.
There's some practical effects with the death, so I'd say check it out, but don't go off the poster or you'll be disappointed.
Right.
Yeah, it sounds like one of those 80s kind of action horror movies, Brian?
It kind of had that vibe.
Yeah, like Wrath with Charlie Sheen, those kind of movies?
Yeah
Exactly
Yeah, I'm all in
Dude, I want to check it out
I'll see if I'll see if I can find that
This was not available yet right
Like to rent or nothing
I think it just recently
I get sent screeners
And I kind of get to them late
So I think this is now available
Okay
Sweet
Yeah I'll check it out too
And my next one
Is a movie that recently came out on Shutter
I think you guys are familiar
With this one body cam
Oh yeah
I watched that
I remember the trailer
It had some good ideas
And it had some good scenes in it
But it just felt like I've seen this movie before
Was it was it called dash cam
When you saw it before
No there was no freestyles or anything in it
Okay
Or annoying
No red hats
Nobody wearing a red hat
But it was
To me, it was, you know, it's kind of a little bit like, like, undertone.
It was very, very, very, very, like overly hyped in the beginning.
Yes.
Yeah.
But, but also I was never, I was never, I was never, I don't know it's going to sound weird coming from a grown-ass man, but I was never scared or creeped out.
I guess, I guess I didn't see the people as threats for some reason.
Maybe because they didn't really have a lot of makeup on.
Maybe it was just regular people, but I never saw them as the threat.
So it was, to me, it was in that.
Like, I never felt like, like, unnerved, right?
Because these kind of movies, because of the way they're shot, you kind of feel kind of weird, you know,
they get that vibe, the atmosphere.
But for this one, I was like, eh, I'm just going through the motions.
I don't know that's how you felt, Brian, but to me, it was just going through the motions as the film was progressing.
Yeah, I mean, it was creepy, like, when they'd all gather.
But once they gathered, they just kind of stood there and did nothing.
Yeah, they just shook the car.
That's how they just shook the car.
I mean, they did a little more than that.
But, you know, it was just, come on, were you going to shake the car?
That's how you're going to get me.
Come on.
And I wasn't really into one of the main characters because they kind of made it seem like he was a good guy but misunderstood.
Right.
But yet when he got into this situation, he knew exactly how to handle it like he's handled it before.
And they kept kind of pushing him to be like this misunderstood guy.
and I just couldn't get behind it.
Right.
Yeah, no, that was another thing that I didn't like about is that there was just a lot of,
a lot of our characters that were supposed to root for, they just had all this information
that, like you said, they knew what was happening.
He wasn't the only one.
There was other characters that kind of knew what was going on.
So it was kind of hard to root for them because, like, well, you guys have dealt with
this before.
It wasn't that whole, like, old mystery, like, we're learning along with you guys of what's really
happening, which is, I think that's where the quay factor really comes in. So, yeah, I didn't really
care for this movie. And it was also like only like an hour and 15 minutes, and it seemed way
longer than that for some reason. Yeah, because I think it's under an hour and a half, but it,
you're right, it felt like it was just on and on and on. Yeah. So my cool of the week, I'll keep this
one short. I think it's better than the movies. And that is I've binged Ted season two.
Oh, nice.
He pulled a Philip and brought a comedy with us, huh?
Yeah, I remember watching the first season when it originally came out and thinking,
I don't know if I'd buy this kid as young Mark Wahlberg,
but he kind of wanted it over.
Season two, I think, was just as good as season one.
And I put it up there equal with the first movie.
They even make a joke about how bad that.
the second movie is in the season.
Okay.
Did they do the, what do they call it, the Thunder Buddies or whatever?
I think they did that in the first season.
Okay.
The origins of it.
Gotcha.
All right.
They have any big guest stars that show up or anything like that?
No, but they kind of focused more on the family.
Okay.
Because they were kind of like side characters in the first season,
but you get more of them, and they were great.
Does Tom Brady show up?
No, this is set in like the 80s.
Okay.
Well, I guess, I don't know.
Tom Brady, he's not a spring chicken.
He might have been a kid in the 80s.
Maybe he'll show up as a kid or something.
Pedro, is Tom showing up at WrestleMania or something?
No.
Pedro.
No.
Logan Paul's going to wrestle the Hussein.
at WrestleMania, I believe, with Austin Theory.
I can't wait for that.
Yeah.
Jeller Roe is going to be at WrestleMania, though.
So that's good, I guess.
Yeah.
If you're into that.
Is he going to be wrestling?
Yeah, well, he's wrestled already.
Really?
He wrestled at SummerSlam last year, teaming with Randy Orden,
against Drew McIntyre and Logan Fall, of all people.
Yeah.
Well, I made it.
There was a funny spot in that match that I'll never forget
where he was going to take a splash through a table
and he covered his balls for the entire spot.
He literally just put his hands in his balls
and he covered them for dear life.
Yeah, because he's supposed to be,
he's supposed to be laying on the table incapacitated.
Right.
But you could see him like tightening up,
bracing for the impact and covering his balls.
I would be too.
You're supposed to be almost beat unconscious.
I don't blame him.
But yeah, he's going to, I think he's going to do something with Kit Wilson.
It's going to be an undercard match.
It's not going to be promoted as the main event or nothing, which is good.
You know, it's like a little side attraction.
Right.
But I have, yeah, the Tom Brady rumors have been pretty hot and heavy, but I don't think
he's going to come in.
Okay.
Yeah.
Oh, you know what I take that back.
He might come in to do that hole.
I'm in the audience and I'm going to punch him spot.
They might do, I thought you meant as some match.
He's not going to come in in a match.
but he might do the whole, I'm in the front row
and somebody holds him up and he slaps them
or he throws soda on his face or whatever.
They might do that spot.
I hope it goes better than the Grombe.
Security one letter.
Lance, they're more common than you would think.
We get that spot with celebrities all the time.
So.
How did it bring Will Smith then?
And some get over and some look horrible.
So it just depends.
It just depends, huh?
If they can pull it off or not.
You know, you know, which is awesome.
Many years ago, Arnold Schwarzenegger was promoting end of days.
This is back in like 99, 98, 99.
Sure, sure.
And he had a spot where he had to wrestle or fight,
Triple Age around the announcers table.
And he did like a whole stun double like choreography.
Like he'd actually like punched them, but it looked real, but it wasn't real.
But he did one of those like like stun double punches, you know.
It was pretty cool, actually.
Cool.
But Arnold's very charismatic.
Everything he does has charisma behind it.
Of course. You can probably still find that somewhere, right?
Oh, yeah, it's a round. Yeah, that's around.
Well, like you said, everything's on YouTube.
Yeah, exactly. So, uh, yeah, I don't know how we got to that topic, but...
Ted Season 2.
Oh, Ted Season 2, okay.
All right, is that it?
Yeah, that's all I got this week.
All right, uh, that means now it's time for horror headlines brought to you by Brian.
Take it away, man.
All right.
We're going to start with TV news.
Patrick Wilson and Jason Ritter have joined the cast of the last of us season three.
What?
Don't get excited, Lance.
I don't think Patrick's bringing his guitar this time.
Is this the final season or what?
I have only seen the first season, so I wouldn't know.
Me too.
Yeah, I haven't caught up.
Have you, Pedro?
No, it's like, it's, it's...
like a wrestling personality, Jim Cornett would say season two got over like crotch rot and nobody cared for it.
So it's just something that I don't know, it was just, I don't know how a show could go so high and then hit such a low.
I can't remember the last time that happened to any show because the last of a season one, like everybody was talking about it, right?
It was the next big thing, you know, Pedro Pascal was all over the place.
And then season two comes out and everybody just starts talking shit about it, how it just,
drags and nothing happens.
And I guess people that never play the video game,
there's a big, you know, the whole thing with Pedro Pascal's character.
Yes, I heard about that.
So, so, yeah, people just kind of gave up on it, you know.
And so now nobody cares about season three.
So it might be the last one, you know, but we'll see.
But I've never hit, I've never seen a show go from such highs to such lows
and such a fast, quick amount of time, I should say.
But yeah, I don't care about that show.
So I saw the first season and I'm good.
Yeah, same here. I think I'm done.
Let's see. Hulu is no longer moving forward with its Buffy the Vampire Slayer new Sunnydale reboot, despite having filmed a 90-minute pilot episode.
Yeah, Sarah Michelle Gilar went out there and broke the news and she was all sad about it.
Is that it?
Yeah, but, you know, they should at least, they should, I don't know, they never do this, right?
but they should release that 90-minute pilot.
If they filmed it, I mean,
maybe it'll create such a stir that they'll bring the show back.
But, I mean, if they already have it in the can, you know,
just give it to us.
I mean, people work hard to make that pilot.
But, yeah, they said they did the pilot,
and they're like, no, we're good, straight up.
Were they bringing back all the actors from the original TV show?
As far as I know, just her with news.
Just her?
Okay.
Yeah.
There was no, there was no David Borianz getting another payday.
No angel.
No, the reason I bring that up, another, another, but we didn't do one last week, right?
We didn't do a cool of the week last year, or we didn't do a cool of the week last week?
No, so you get another one.
What is there?
All right.
I'm going to throw in a rewatch on St. Patrick's Day, Brian, one that we, that we covered for the podcast called P.S. I love you.
with a Negan in it.
And you remember this one?
We talked about one of the rom-coms that we covered.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
I do remember.
Pretty good movie, but I bring that up
because the dude that played Spike
from the original Buffy the Vampire was in this movie.
And Mayhem, you guys know the Allstate commercials with Mayhem?
I think it's Allstate, one of these fucking insurance companies.
Yeah, what's his name?
No, Austin has a guy from Wals.
Yeah, Ryan O'Reilly.
Oh, that's Mayhem?
Ryan O'Reilly?
Yeah, mayhem.
He was in this movie, and I've forgotten he was in it.
Remember his brother, his legit brother is in Goodwill Hunting, which always makes me laugh.
Is he?
Mayhams?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Well, the actors, you know.
Okay.
Who was Cyril O'Reilly in Oz.
They played brothers, even though they were real brothers.
That's a good show.
That is a good show.
Lance, did you ever watch Oz?
Is that, can you still get it?
those on HBO Max?
Yeah, that was still in there.
Little known fact, that was their first dramatic one-hour series in the history of the channel.
Even before the Sopranos, huh?
Yeah, because they came on 97.
The Sopranos came out in 99.
All right.
I'll have to check it out then.
It's been on, that one's been on the two watch list and so has six feet under.
I heard that was a good one.
Yeah, that one was around the same time.
But both of them are really good shows.
All right.
I'll check it out.
How many seasons do you remember?
It's, it's, uh, yeah, I'm a huge mark for that show, so I do remember.
It's, it's five seasons, but there are only eight episodes of season.
Oh, not bad.
You'll fly right by them, yeah.
Like a work week, 40 hours of investment.
There you go.
Gotcha.
All right.
Let's see.
Mike Flanagan has signed a multi-year overall TV deal with Amazon, MGM Studios.
I don't think that guy ever sleeps.
Like, he's got about, 25.
projects. No, I think the last one was he signed on to do with Netflix and then he signed on
to do the Exorcist and then he signed on to do the Carrie television show and it just never
ends with this guy. I don't know. Maybe he's doing the same thing that Stephen King was doing in the
80s to stay up. I don't know. That's right. That is his hero after all. I mean, he's always,
you know, that right. But I don't know. I don't know. But yeah, we'll see. The thing about when you
work that much is that you become
a victim to the law of averages where something's
going to suck bad from that's true
he's got such a great
filmography and his shows you know
for the most part they're they're really good
but man you work this much you're you're gonna
lay an egg eventually and we'll see maybe
the exorcist I'm calling I think it's gonna be
the exorcist they're gonna be the egg
you gotta call it the egg sursist
yeah the exorcist you know
that's gonna be his first turkey of the bunch
right there.
Speaking of the Exorcist,
which has already begun filming,
and joining the cast,
John Leguizamo,
Carla Gagino,
and of course,
Kate Siegel.
Of course.
Along with...
Leguizamo.
I haven't seen him in anything in a while,
except his stand-up, Schick.
Well, he's been going around bitching that
they've been taking projects away from Latinos,
so maybe this is a response to that.
Okay.
But yeah, as long as they don't bring
Reagan's mom again,
because we don't need to see her anymore.
Oh, yeah.
They said this is a whole new story.
All right, good.
Okay.
Let's see.
I wish Philip was here
because his boy James Juan is stepping back
in the director's chair.
All right.
For an English language remake
remake of
2019
South Korean
serial killer
thriller
the gangster
the cop
and the devil
all right
huh
I've never seen
that one
yeah I was wondering
if you guys
had seen that one
yet or not
no I've heard of it
it has that one guy
I think he's the lead
in it from
train to Busan
the big
rugby player guy
the badass one
sure sure
whatever happened
with train in New York
it just never
came out. It missed the station, I guess. Like, it literally, that was, they've been talking about
that one since before the pandemic and it just never came. Wolf Smith was supposed to be the lead
in that and it was supposed to be a remake of Train to Busan and I don't know if they shot it or not.
It's a tax riot off. I don't know what happened. It just never came out. I think it's a problem
when someone like James Juan puts his name on a whole bunch of projects. You can't get them all done.
that's true
was he behind that one too
yeah he was producing that one
oh okay
yeah that's what happens
this next one is a rumor
but I've seen it pop up on a few sites
so
that Smile 3 is currently
in development
but Parker Finn the creator
the writer director of the first
who may not return to direct
all right happens
sometimes, right?
Yeah, yeah.
Can't expect him to do all of them.
If they're going to keep it going as a franchise.
That franchise, that was his name,
Jim from the office ran.
What's the...
Quiet Place?
Quiet Place.
I mean, the one, that prequel was pretty good.
It wasn't better than the original
or even the sequel, but it was pretty good.
I liked it.
Well, we'll segue to a Quiet Place 3 news.
Emily Blunt returns alongside
Killian Sillion Murphy.
The kids are returning with Jack O'Connell from Sinners.
And 28 years later, Jason Clark and Katie O'Brien are joining this cast.
How are they going to get around the kids?
He's going to have a time lapse, right?
I hope so.
I think so.
That's cool.
It's going to be a stranger things type deal, huh?
Well, I mean, they would have to be.
The Quiet Place, too, was years ago.
It's been a lot.
I'm excited because now it's going to, the story's going to jump forward a little bit because now they know how to kill them.
They know how to, you know, with the little girl found out how to kill them.
So now I guess this movie's going to be more of the humans being on the offensive, you know, and I guess I don't know, the aliens kind of retreating a little bit.
So we'll see how it goes.
I'm kind of excited for this one.
And we'll finish news off with Arnold Schwarzenegger's reportedly in talks to return as Dutch to the Predator, France.
There you go.
Full circle back to Arnold.
75 years old.
And some non-horror news.
His King Conan movie is moving forward
and he said he's also received a script
for a sequel to Commando.
Damn.
Okay.
Sure. Why not?
It's all sound like parodies.
I was sure the Wayne's brothers are not behind all these films
because...
Could be.
How is it like a 75-year-old
man, going to be like beating up all these other, you know, younger guys.
But then again, I don't know.
It is Arnold.
Remember, we said earlier, he could get anything over, so.
Have you got, have you guys seen the new extended scary movie trailer?
No, I haven't.
But the original is enough for me.
It looks pretty crazy, man.
I think they're going to be back to form.
I got, I got faith in them, man.
We'll see what happens.
I got faith.
I started revisiting all of them, just because that's what I do when I'm about to watch a movie, like
Scary Movie 6.
Sure. And I had completely forgot that the entire cast dies in the first one and it just come back in the second one like nothing happened.
Like they literally all get killed. Everything.
It's a parody, dude. Come on.
It's killed in the first one.
And they just come back in the second. No, no, I wasn't bothered by it. I just, I was very inexpensive.
It's kind of crazy. Yeah, yeah. I mean, I wasn't bought. I mean, it is what it is, but it just wacky to me.
Like, it's like they just came back in the second one like nothing happened.
Who was the final girl in the first one then?
I forgot.
It was Anna Ferris.
Was it?
Yeah.
Yeah.
But at the end of the movie, at the end of the movie, they do the,
so she makes it through the entire movie, right?
The last one.
And they get you with that old final destination gag,
where she's in the middle of the street,
and she gets hit by a car.
And, you know, that's the end of the movie.
Okay.
Well, we'll see.
Yeah.
So I haven't started part two yet.
So I'm interested to see.
I'm interested to see how that one goes,
even though I saw years ago.
And that is the news.
All right.
That means it's time to take a little trip down to the trailer part.
Brian is going to bring us the big, the small,
and sometimes the very, very weird.
What's our first trailer tonight, Brian?
The first and only trailer we got this week is a Irish folk horror movie
from Neon called Hocum.
synopsis goes
A horror writer visits an Irish
In to scatter his parents' ashes
Unaware
The property is said to be haunted by which
This stars Adam Scott
And directed by Audity
Director Damien McCarthy
Okay
I loved oddity
What did you guys?
Yeah I mean
It's it
I mean it looks atmospheric right
It looks pretty atmospheric
It looks like this is going to be
The Adam Scott show
It's pretty much like
just kind of like the movie we're going to cover tonight, undertone,
just pretty much one person in the entire,
pretty much for the entire movie.
And yeah, it's just creepy things are happening around him.
So we'll see.
We'll see what happens.
I didn't really get too much out of the trailer.
We don't know if it's in his own head or if it's really happening.
I'm sure the movie's going to fuck with us that way.
So, but I'm going to check it out.
It's Neon.
Neon has a good track record with you right now.
I think Neon's overtaken 820.
I could see that.
That's a valid argument for sure.
But no,
but I will say that neon doesn't have the classics that age 24 has here.
They still got a waste to go.
Yeah,
they don't have the library yet, right?
Yeah.
Like age 24 just had bring her back last year.
Or, you know,
that was like,
to me that was like a great film.
So they're still cranking them out.
But neon has been on a good streak lately.
We'll see if they have,
if they could stick around.
What'd you think, Lance?
I think that it, well, I definitely got shades of the wicker man. And I'm like a big fucking mark for these
English and Irish folk horror. Even the, I was saying even the Nick Cage Wicker Man,
well, that was not with the bees. Yeah, maybe not quite so much. Well, that brings me to my next point,
dude. So Adam Scott, though, I mean, is this miscasting to the worst degree or what? I mean,
do you guys think he can pull it off? I mean, I mean, he did that dramatic.
He was in that TV show that got over really well.
Severin.
Yeah, the one on Apple.
Severin.
It's all right.
He has a, but he's pretty, that's a dramatic role.
I mean, it's not really a comedic role.
Mostly, yeah.
So I guess they found that, they saw that and they felt he had the chops to pull this off, you know, I don't know.
I guess so.
But it is weird because I remember him from stepbrothers.
That's where I always think about.
Of course, getting punched.
You want to punch me in the face.
And the fist, right.
Yeah, so, but yeah, we'll see if he pulls it off or not.
Yeah, yeah, I like Severance.
And you're right, he's mostly, you know, like a straight actor on that.
He's not, like, super comedic.
But that show, it's so surreal, you know what I'm saying?
And so, have you guys seen it?
Have you all seen Severance?
I saw the first season.
I saw the first season.
Okay.
I don't know.
I know the second season is over.
I just never went back to it.
Right.
But I liked it.
It's weird.
I liked it.
I just never went back to it.
Sure.
Well, it gets
It gets weirder.
The second season gets a lot more surreal.
But I don't know, dude.
I was just thinking there,
I mean, there's plenty of good Irish actors
that might could have pulled this off or UK.
What is he doing there?
Do we know what sent him to this place?
His parents died and he's going to scatter their ashes or something.
Just like the synopsis I read, Lance.
All right.
Well, that makes sense.
That makes sense.
then okay and American in American lost in the in the wilds of Ireland huh?
Oh, I don't know. Is it in Ireland or is I guess it is used that was also in the synopsis.
Yeah, I mean, well, it says an Irish end. Yeah, but that could meet. Yeah, I gotcha.
That could mean like a new England area. That could be in Boston. We don't know. That's right. Hopefully it's better than that one M. Knight's daughter did.
Oh, I was horrible.
I was horrible.
Did she do that movie?
I don't think so.
I don't think so.
But notice she hasn't done shit since then, so everybody caught on to that.
Yeah, well, that's true.
That's true.
Well, there's a lot of people, of course, that say Toby Hooper didn't really direct
poltergeist, right?
Yeah, but he's directed enough that we know he's actually a legitimate director.
Right, true.
Hocum hits theaters May 1st.
I know it's going to go out against something big
because that's the summer season right there.
Oh, I'm disappointed in the schedule, Brian.
Because you said next week we're covering ready or not too, right?
What happened to the Zazi Beats movie?
That's coming out next week also, isn't it?
They got moved.
Yeah, it's coming on to 27th.
Yeah, I got you.
Lance. I know your history
was Ozzy Beats. Don't worry.
I got you.
All right. I was kind of freaking out.
I saw that extended trailer today too.
Is that the other one to be ready or not?
The trailer that I've been seen?
Okay.
Yeah. That's right.
All right. Are we moving on now?
This is usually Phillips thing, right?
Listener feedback.
All right. So this week, we're going to celebrate
with not one but two podcast spotlights because of course we didn't do that last week either.
So first up we've got be rated, be rated movies.
I like that.
Be rated, be rated movies.
And this is a weekly podcast hosted by Brian.
Brian with a bee.
How else can you spell Brian guys?
Any ideas?
No.
I mean, there's a Y and an eye in some Brian, but I don't know about it.
The bees are always the same.
Yeah.
I would think.
All right.
Usually he goes with it.
Must be an enjo, right?
We need to listen to the show.
And Amphemy, Amphorne, not Amphorny Hartaway,
focusing on reviewing and mocking independent horror and low-budget,
be movies.
No, I don't like that.
I got to hear this show.
Yeah, we got to hear what they're talking about.
What are your thoughts on that?
I got to, go ahead.
I was going to say, I got to listen.
to it too.
I don't like to put down
anybody's, unless they're doing in a
lighthearted way.
I don't like to put down
anybody's work.
Because at the end of the day, I'm not
making movies.
Very, yeah, because horror is very
absurd, right, as we know. So maybe that's
what they're kind of laughing now, which is fine.
That's, yeah, horror could be very
absurd sometimes, so I get people laughing,
but, you know,
like, you can't, I don't know.
We don't want it to be minspirited.
Maybe they're joking in a fun way
from a love of so bad as good movies.
All right.
That's what I'm thinking.
You can find out.
Well, but then again, the first, so I'm looking up,
I'm looking up their episode.
So the most recent one was,
they were reviewing a 2024 movie called Scared Shitless.
I've seen that.
There you.
go.
Oh man, they got real...
These aren't B-movie. These are Z movies
they're covering. They got that. They got something
called dead teenagers.
Something called House of Rooms. Okay, I get it.
Now we get it. Okay, Stag Night.
Is Donna Nelly
in that podcast? Because he's always
covering these
bottom basement horror movies.
Well, I had another question, but I forgot.
yeah well i will talk donnelly's name will come up later tonight i i assure you
we get into the first first of these two movies all right so we got uh oh and well so we're
going to bring you another one oh philip would love this title two girls one crypt
you guys get that one yes yeah okay a horror focus podcast tailored for both dedicated fans and
the horror curious i guess that's like
by Curious, I don't know. The host
Explore the best and worst
of the genre, discussing
favorite horror films, television shows,
and books. The podcast
features discussions of classic
horror cinema, including
themed episodes like
Creepmus, all while
exploring various subgenres and
eras of scary media. Okay.
Could be good, right? It all just kind of
that sounds like a description of the horror returns.
Exactly. It depends
on the host, right? Depends on the
host it's all about that all right all right so our our feedback from last week's show is starting to
come in um stephen loblad uh we love you stephen thanks for listening to every episode um
he reached out to tell us listening to the march madness episode right now awesome episode so there you go
was that before after lance left abruptly that's what we want to know i think i think next year we may
have to start doing these to 16
movies instead of 32.
That was a, that was a marathon.
I think Philip called it a marathon
at one point, didn't he? He said, I know
we're running a marathon here, guys.
Yeah, I don't know
when I realized
you weren't there, but I
was just like, Lance is being awfully
quiet.
Offly quiet.
I was going to say, I think it was
when Patriot said you had to go eat taco.
I think he was still here for that.
Because I had a feeling that.
See, my whole thing is that I didn't want people to start getting nervous.
And I'm talking about people in the show that were doing the show.
So knowing the history right of the show, yeah, the first round always drags.
Every year, the first round goes long.
And then the last couple rounds, we weren't through them pretty fast.
And that's exactly what happened this year.
So I didn't want people to start thinking, oh, my God, I'm going to be here for fucking five hours, you know?
So that's why I stopped the show and I told everyone.
not, that's just how it goes, because we know that
Lance has to eat his tacos.
Because you stopped the show in the past because you
went to go get some tacos.
So I was like, okay, but then
you ended up, but then you just laughed and then you left
anyway. So you did go get tacos.
All right. Well, look, I'll say
this. You know,
we definitely pick some, we definitely
pick some good judges for this week.
Because you guys all do your
fucking shit. No, they
They were both those guys were great.
And you know, here's another thing that makes me laugh.
So you told us you were leaving through a message.
But the audience had, to the audience, you just kind of vanished on the face of the earth.
You just never, you just stopped contributing in the middle of the show.
And that was that, you know?
So they're still thinking where, where lands go?
Like, what happened?
Is he still there?
Right.
But because you didn't piece out on the air.
You pieced out in private.
True.
They were thinking, where's uh,
Lances giggles at? We miss them.
Right, right.
Yeah, it was an old, it was an old, where the, where the fuck is Amunds get, right?
From yesteryear.
That's right.
All right.
And speaking of our guest, uh, let's see, Jack Hunter reaches out to us.
Guys, it was an absolute pleasure.
Um, and if you ever want me to come on again, I am, I am more than willing, you know.
I do like discussing movies just as a fan, and I can understand that, just as a fan and not a filmmaker a lot of times.
So thanks for being on Jack.
We really appreciate it.
Derek reached out too.
Derek Rosenberg said it was a great conversation and did not go exactly how I thought it would for a winner, which always seems to be how these tournaments.
Yeah, thank God, right?
I mean, how boring if it had been the Blair Witt, spoiler alert, right?
but I'm sure everyone's heard it by now.
Well, Derek kind of knew, because he did his homework.
He went, listened to all the previous March Madness,
and he brought up the travesty of the Bride of Frankenstein winning best horror sequel.
Right.
Which Lance has no memory, of course.
No, I have pretty vivid memory of that one.
That one was a shocker.
I mean, it's a great film, right?
No doubt about it.
Right of Franket signs a great film.
Yeah.
But it would be evil dead too.
Sure.
What else did it be?
That's already a miscarriage of justice right there.
He'd be beating evil dead too.
I think aliens was in the final four.
Jesus Christ.
Who did you have on for that?
I don't think I was on that one.
What did you have on for that one?
I know Steve was on because Steve was messaging me like what the fuck is going on.
Was it Steve? Thomas Mariani was on.
Fuck, dude, I'd have to go back and listen.
That one's been about seven or eight years ago, I would say.
It was definitely one of our first three or four.
And as Brian will remind us, we're going on 10 years here.
Tavares was on that. No, Tavar's was in there.
It was a while. It was a while.
All right.
Fuck, man, James Whale might have been on it or something.
I'm pimping his movie. Who knows?
All right, dangerous animals.
Trudy Zonka says, OMG, just watch this Aussie made movie today.
So good.
The acting superb, Jai Courtney, you scared the shit out of me.
So, yeah, that was good.
Did you see that one, Pedro?
Oh, I loved it.
I saw it in the movie theaters.
Yeah, that was a great movie.
Yeah?
Everybody did a great job except for the boyfriend.
I thought he was kind of weak, like just the performance.
Oh, yeah, for sure.
He was a little whooped, a little too fast, in my opinion, but that's just me.
Right.
But then again, look at the girl, so maybe I don't blame him.
I don't know.
I guess so.
I mean, the guy fell in love with her after, like, one night.
Like, one night, he goes and risks, like, come on, bro.
Cooking her pancakes.
That's right.
Cooking her the pancakes, then she's gone.
No, but Jack Corny did do a good job in that movie.
I just saw him pop up in a war machine.
Did you guys catch that one?
That was a great fucking movie, by the way.
I'm hearing good things about it.
Like it's a throwback to 80s
sci-fi action.
Yeah, yeah.
I mean, it's surprised a hell out of me.
So I won't spoil anything then
because neither of you have watched it.
But it's a great movie.
And he pops up in there.
So I was like, man,
I got Jai Courtney popping up here and there.
No longer ruining franchises like he did it there for a minute,
back about 10, 15 years ago.
We might have a Jai Courtney Renaissance.
They finally learned that maybe stop putting them
in the lead of these big franchises.
That's right.
Makes sense.
All right.
And then we got a
random email here from Lauren Merchant
and she just simply says
Scream 7 was a piece of shit.
You know what's interesting is that
it's already available to rent.
I was surprised by that.
Of course it is.
It made its money.
I guess it's the highest grossing movie
in the franchise.
Unbelievable.
Yeah, and the apologize
will use that argument to death
even though that's not how it works.
Quality doesn't mean
it's not about hype. If you hype something good enough, you're going to make money. It doesn't mean
it's going to be good. Right. Well, she did get a reply to her comment because Russell A. Calhoun
says, it's not the worst movie ever made. It's not even the worst scream movie ever made. So there you go.
There you go. Apologies sorry. But he doesn't tell us which one it is, though. He just says he just
leaves it at that. I'm going to assume it's three. He just left it at that. All right.
No, I'm going to assume it's six, which I hated. Right.
You hated worse than three?
Yes.
Because I like three.
No, because of the fake deaths.
They bothered me.
I hated that.
That was terrible.
That's true.
Really bad.
Like what's his name?
Mason Gooding.
He gets stabbed about 10 times in the chest, mind you.
And then they just show him kind of in the ambulance, you know, still verbal with no oxygen.
He's just kicking it.
Right.
You know.
And then also what's her name?
they also, I think they, they stab her as well.
What's their name?
The twin.
That twin, but no, what's, God, damn it.
She was in part three or part four.
They bring her back and she's working for the FBI.
Kirby.
Okay.
They also have a fake death with Kirby, if I remember correct.
Right, right.
And radio, because that bothers me so much that I heard the entire commentary from
Raido's silence because I wanted a justification
for that death and they actually
I mean for that fake debt and they actually
bring it up and they're like
you guys are going to have to forgive us for that one
we just had to use it at shock value sorry and that
was their justification in the
commentary at least they were honest
at least they were honest so they knew
they fuck they're not they fucked up they knew that people were going to be
upset because it's such a cop-out right like
you stab somebody that many times they're dead
like no matter was that studio
interference saying you guys
need to put Kirby in the movie?
No, I don't know about that.
They were talking more about Mason Gooding's death or fake death.
Oh, okay.
Because that's the one that really bothered me,
because you cannot justify him coming back.
Right.
Well, they tried to obviously make him the new Dewey.
That's true.
By the way, scary movie Part 1 has a doit.
Oh, he's the one, he's the guy, the main guy.
He's the one, because they give him the Kaiser Solseye gimmick at the end.
Yeah.
I forgot about that.
I love it. I love it.
Yeah, yeah. So anyways, yeah, I don't know what, I don't know.
I wish this guy would have told us what he thought was the word.
He just comes in and talks shit and doesn't that his two sense, you know, was it three, was it six, was it one?
Who knows with these people sometimes?
Yeah, fair enough. I mean, at least he weighed in, right?
That's true. We welcome all feedback.
All right. So let's see. We're moving on here.
So that was all the
Scream 7 shit
What was now?
Oh, regarding the new scary movie
Pat Caruso
says, Pitting it up against He-Man.
Is that coming up the same weekend?
I think so.
There's a lot of like one-on-one battles
here coming up this year.
I hate to say it.
I was watching the trailer for that He-Man movie
and I didn't know it was He-Man.
I was just like, this is kind of good.
I'm kind of digging this.
Why do you hate to say it?
The movie looks fun.
I said, why do you hate to say it?
The movie looks fine.
Okay.
I don't know, man.
I guess because when I was younger, He-Man was considered kind of corny a little bit, you know?
Because they didn't have the ball haircut.
Yeah, the haircut.
I'm looking forward to it.
It looks interesting.
He-Man had a lot of similarities to, how could I say this without getting in trouble?
Well, let's say to Nightmare and Nowstreet Part 2.
Let's just say that.
If you watch, he meant the cartoon and you watch Nightmare and Outstreet Part 2, there's going to be a theme.
A theme?
Okay.
So I don't know if the remake is going to have the same theme, but we'll see.
Huh.
Okay.
It's like with Skeletor and with a...
Scalotor.
Is that Jerry Letto?
Skeletor?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Man, that guy is a new Gygic Courtney.
they better be careful.
That guy,
that guy flops every,
every franchise they put him in.
He just won't go away,
Willie.
No.
But he doesn't age either,
so good for him.
He's like 60.
Yeah.
All right.
Scalator.
Maybe he didn't need no makeup for skeletor.
It's just him.
Because, man,
he's,
yeah,
he looks pretty young for his age.
Okay.
So,
I don't,
Who are we? Oh, the conjuring.
Ariel Guzmano said,
one of the best horror movies I've ever seen.
I actually screamed in the theater.
Now, that's strong words, right?
Okay.
The original conjuring, right?
Yeah, the clapping scene is pretty scary.
Okay, now we're running into a problem with my notes.
But Zim Vader, we love you.
And thank you for your feedback.
But I have no idea what you're commenting on.
Maybe you guys know,
because I forgot to add in what these notes refer to.
All right, see if you can figure this out, guys.
So Zim Vader made two comments.
He said, number one, the lack of symmetry in this poster unhinges me.
I have no clue.
Maybe he's talking about that motorcycle poster.
With the Knitza, the Game of Thrones motorcycle.
We may have a new game to play here on the show.
Every week.
I don't know.
I mean, there's a lot of weird posters.
All right, everybody, write in, tell us what you think.
And Zim, you can write us and tell us,
and we'll decide if we want to make it a contest.
But so Zim Vader is quoting,
what can everybody guess he's talking about?
The lack of symmetry in this poster unhinges me.
All right?
And then the second quote from Zim Vader,
you guys ready for this?
You're listening?
Okay.
The best film?
of 2006.
Oh, that narrows it down.
The best film of 2006.
Any ideas?
Cloverfield.
Black X-Mess.
Maybe so.
Maybe so.
No, Cloverfield was 0-8, I think.
Yeah, I'm going with Black X-Mis.
Black X-Mis. All right. Is that your guess?
Yes. But you don't tell us, right, because you forgot to write it down.
Yeah, we got to, yeah.
I didn't write it down. We're going to find out. Zim's going to let us know. He listens to every episode. So we'll get to the bottom of this, man. I promise. Oh, we got one last piece of, now this one I had to edit. That may be why I messed up with copying Zim's notes, because there were some words that were in this next one that I had to kind of change him or move him around a little bit. So bear with me. All right. So Derek Rosenberg said, just ordered the H3
Season of the Jasper t-shirt design.
I couldn't pass up this design, got it as a shirt and a sticker.
Now, you know, you guys know why I'm not saying the real movie title, right?
Of course.
And we're going to, we're going to support that.
Yeah, we don't want any more getting yanked, like that Camp Crystal Bone t-shirt or whatever it was we did, right, Brian?
I don't know about that one.
Yeah, crystal bone.
Yeah, people should go on T. Public
because sometimes they have those $16
sales. That's right.
If you want to stock up on your horror returns
shirts, go ahead and
Yeah, buy two or three.
Yes. Get them for somebody
you know, get them for somebody you love.
And shit, I mean, show some real love. Buy one for the
homeless man down the street.
They got to have shirts, too, you know.
know.
So, uh, yeah, by one.
He said he wanted one.
Who's that?
Jack Hunter. He said he wanted one.
There you go. Jack Hunter is, he's got to get a t-shirt and you're, get one for your, your pastor,
your rabbi, your, uh, your faith, your healer, your healer, if you have one of those.
Your healer.
Yes, plenty of them to go around.
So, yeah, all right. Everybody thanks for the, uh, comments.
our show intro and all of our logos
come from Steve Carlton
from the geeks. Be on the lookout for more
great stuff.
Our original skull artwork comes from
Natsalani. If you'd like to help the show,
please consider becoming
a Patreon patron. We'll let you pick the movies
for a future show at
any amount, and for $5 a month
or more, pick a commentary
for a future bonus show.
All right, now
it is time for our main attractions.
We explore the world of sound,
with a couple of horror movies, I guess.
Barbarian Sound Studio, 2112.
Is that when this one came out, Pedro?
Oh, it was a long time, yeah, somewhere around there.
Okay, just like the Rush album, right, 2112.
All right, a sound engineers work for an Italian horror studio
becomes a terrifying case of life-imitating art.
But was that what it was, Brian?
we'll get to it
I mean
okay we'll get into it
all right director writer Peter Strickland
also known for in fabric
have you guys seen that one
yes
kind of like the
the horror version of the devil wears Prada right
no not
necessarily
okay
all right
we got some trivia here
the title of the fictional
Studio refers to Kathy Barbarian, the U.S. soprano who married Luciano Berrio,
a pioneer of electronic music, and a key influence in Strickland's film.
Pedro, you said you didn't re-watch this one this time, but you've seen it.
No, I was very, I was bored to tears the first time I watched it.
Way back in 2012, so I didn't want to sit through that again.
Uh-oh.
But I do like Toby Jones.
I think he's a very underrated actor.
every time he pops up in something, I enjoy his work.
Yeah.
And he does pop up in quite.
What'd you think, Brian?
What'd you think of this movie, man?
I agree with Pedro.
This movie's boring as hell.
I mean, I think it's well shot.
It's well acted.
I like Toby Jones, too.
But what the fuck was going on?
This guy shows up to a job.
He doesn't speak to language.
he's supposedly
good at sound effects
right
he clearly does not want to make the movie
he doesn't make horror
he doesn't work on horror movies
and it's just him
doing fucking sound effects
and recording shit
for an hour and a half
with fruit and vegetables
what's up with that
and then at the end
all of a sudden
he starts
hallucinating
I assume
as what was happening
I think
and all of a sudden
he's dubbed
Dover in their language?
That's right.
It's a very strange movie.
You can say that.
I mean, there was some cool
shit at the end, like when he
someone's beating on his bedroom door, the door
to his room, and he
kind of answers it and goes in, and then all of a sudden
he's in the movie, and he's
watching the screen as him back in the room answering the door again.
I thought that was kind of trippy.
But it was not explained on what was really happening.
It really wasn't, was it?
Yeah, it's one of those movies that you have to watch over and over again.
It was one, this is one of those, like, it would have been like 824 if it was later on, you know?
You think so?
Or neon.
Just like that movie, what was the one where, where, I think it's a, I think it's a,
I think it was the girl that just won the Academy of War
where she stuck with a bunch of men.
Lance, you like that movie.
Lance, you like that movie quite a bit, right?
Yeah, Lance, you like, man.
Yes, the movie, the movie, man was, I got a lot out of it.
I know you guys didn't care for it as much.
Jesse Buckley. She's a good actress, man.
She was really good in Fargo.
You guys remember her in Fargo as the nurse that would kill people?
who's just the bride wasn't she
yeah and the big old flop
I heard that wasn't too good
you've seen it Pedro
I don't yeah you know I watch everything
with that AMC
With the AMC stuff card
I have to watch everything
We're bored with this barbarian movie
Give us a real movie review
It was weird
It was like it was trying to do too many things at once
You know it was a music
You'll probably like it
Because there's still a couple musical numbers in it
Yeah Christian Bell
plays the monster, which they call him Frankie
in this movie, which is
dumb, because nothing it retains me more
than when people call the monster of Frankenstein.
That's fucking stupid.
But that does not be part of me.
So then,
so here in this world,
Frankie's just running around. He's cool.
Like, he's chill.
He's not, you know,
and he's lonely.
So he wants a bride.
So they create this bride.
It's not a bride of Frankenstein shit.
So I'm not spoiling anything.
And then Jesse,
The greatest sequel of all time, by the way.
And then Jesse Buckley plays the bride.
And they go into this weird like Bonnie and Clyde thing going on,
like where they start like just killing people randomly.
And it takes place in the 30s, by the way.
So so it's a time.
It's a period piece.
There's a couple of dance numbers that are like really out of nowhere,
which I'm sure you'll like Lance.
Okay.
And then there's like a possession film.
them at the same time because Mary Shelley is like in hell or wherever the fuck she's at and she conjures up
this member it's in the 30s she's no longer even around anymore but it's all happening in her it's all
happening in her mind so so they'll cut to like very busy movie it sounds yes it was it tried a thousand
things and none of it didn't get none of them right that's the problem with it uh-oh um
maggie jillenha directed and then she gave her brother jake a payday because he's also in the
movie.
And I don't know for what it was.
It was whatever. It was a one-time watch.
I was very disappointed because there was a lot of potential with different things, you know?
And then they also have that whole thing about how like every guy in the film wants to
fuck the bride for some reason because that's another message is trying to say.
So it's kind of a feminist angle to it as well.
Okay.
All right.
I could see that.
Yeah, the cops try to fuck her.
Every guy that she comes in contact with like rape her?
Or just fucker?
Well, they, yeah,
rape her and whatever.
They flirt with her.
Jesus Christ.
They objectify her.
Put it that way.
Okay.
And so, yeah, I just tried too many things.
And then at the end, we're supposed to, like,
it's supposed to be like this romance thing.
Sure.
Again, it has that Bonnie and Clyde where, like, there's a big shootout.
And I don't know.
Oh, boy.
I'm going to go five on ten.
That's not terrible.
Because for a period piece, it was,
was fun. You know, to me, whenever the story's not engaging to me, I start to focus on other
things in every movie, right? The sound design, the cinematography, you know, the set design, like,
something that's going to keep me invested. And in this movie, I like the period piece because it takes
you back to the 30s and the 20s. So, yeah, so that was a whatever. It was a one-time watch for me.
Okay. All right. Got to get my money's word with that AMC Stubbs car. You know how that goes,
Lance. I mean, you used to know. But we used to be, we used to be stub car.
buddies back in the day. Yeah, well look, now I've got the $5 Tuesdays right down the street. But here's
the problem. On the Disney parking lot. Well, that's what I'm saying. Melbourne, Florida, you usually
can't catch a lot of these movies if they, if they aren't, you know, real big releases, right?
But the bride was a big release. It was the, it just flop. Yeah, it was, it was playing here. I just
chose not to, not to go see it. But I might, I might watch it later. René, you should need to
renon. All right. Well, back to, back to Berberian. Brian, what did you think? Well, he already told you
what he thought.
Yeah, I didn't like it.
Are you done? That's it?
I mean,
a one sentence review.
The movie was so boring
that I started rewriting
the movie in my head that this should have been
like a found footage movie.
That could have been interesting.
Kind of like a mockumentary
that we're watching this guy
work on this film that he doesn't want to work
on that he starts to believe
like Spital Tap.
That he starts to believe
that the movie's actually real and
kind of loses it at the end.
That would have been more interesting.
Because I have no idea what happened in this movie.
Yeah, yeah.
Look, I like what they were trying to do.
I appreciated the nods to the Gialo credits.
They're at the beginning and everything, right?
And like they're really, I have no problem to see really hot Italian actresses.
I don't have a problem with that.
But, yeah, damn.
Barely seen them.
They're just up close shots of their faces screaming.
half the movie.
I know.
Yeah, I know.
I can't justify this one.
Yeah, it went off the rails.
It was a lot of good style, though, early on, right?
Like I said, earlier, style of no substance.
That was kind of it.
Like I said, I kind of like the nod to yellow.
I think they made, they did a good job of at least making the film look like maybe it could
have been filmed in the 70s or early 80s.
Yeah.
At least I got that feel from it.
Like, I kind of liked some of the film.
the camera work and stuff like that.
But yeah, man, it just turned into a fucking bloody mass at the end, didn't it?
Like, just, what the fuck is going on?
So...
Yeah, and then it just fucking ends.
And then it just ends.
Yeah, agreed, agreed.
You want to give it a rating, Pedro?
I mean, was it recently enough to...
No, no, back then it was probably like a three-on-ten.
I saw it in 2012 when it first came out.
Three on ten, Brian, what do you think?
I'll give it a little bit more because I do like seeing that kind of stuff,
how they used to do the sound effects for this kind of stuff.
And I did like the old school Jolo feel.
And I like Togi Jones, so I'll give it a four.
You know what?
I'm totally in lockstep with Brian on this one because I think it was interesting,
you know, getting to see the feel, the design of it,
get an idea for how they used to do the old things.
But then again, there wasn't really any payoff, right?
Like, they kept using vegetables and fruits to do all the sound effects.
Now, is that a real thing?
Or is that...
Was there symbolism that I missed?
No, no, the sound effects, that's how they used to make them before, like, technology.
Okay.
Well, then why would they show them all rotted?
Like, they're in, like, little scenes.
They would cut to rotted fruit for no reason.
I don't know.
Maybe that show that he didn't like that.
particular sound effect or the music or whatever.
Possibly. Yeah, possibly. Four on 10. I'm with Brian, four on 10. Not horrible. Not horrible.
All right. I will say, now, I will say something about this barbarian sound studio movie.
It does have a rep. People like this movie for some reason. So with that said, if anybody's
listening to this and they're mad at us, it just wasn't for me. That's all I'll say. Like,
not every movie's going to be for everyone. Because I know it does have a rep. It's a artsy-fartsy kind of
movie that people are you know there's people that really love it and they and they read things
into it and whatnot which is fine you know if you watch it more than once i'm sure you which i'll
never do you'll probably read all kinds of things into it but uh yeah three on ten for me yeah if you
if you think we're wrong and we don't know what the fuck we're talking about let us know yes
definitely yeah more power to you man if you love this movie i'm i'm happy for you i wish i
had. All right. Undertone. Undertone from
26. The host of a popular paranormal podcast
becomes haunted by terrifying recordings mysteriously
sent her way.
Director, writer Ian Tuenson
in his feature film debut. Oh, here we go.
All right, so here's a little bit of trivia.
Boba Black Sheep is a British nursery rhyme
which first appeared in print in 1744.
It is generally held to be referencing a wool tax,
which makes sense,
because everything was all about the king's taxes
and stuff back then, right?
Which meant that for every three bags of wool,
one would go to the king or taxes.
In other words, the master in the poem.
One would go to the state church, the dame, right?
Yeah, church always has to have its hands.
in the pie. Am I right, Pedro?
Throughout history?
And the third could be kept by
the shepherd. The conspiracy
about backwards,
nursery rhymes having evil meanings was
entirely created for the film.
All right, well, figured
it was. Figured it was.
Pedro, you did
see this one. Yes, I did.
Again,
this is one of those movies.
It's getting a lot of critical acclaim.
It's very hyped.
We're getting words thrown, those phrases thrown at scariest movie of the year.
One of the scariest movies you ever seen.
Possibly even the scariest movie of all time.
You know, all those catchphrases that we see.
Kind of like Skinnamarine.
All these movies, long legs, you know.
And they're all one big disappointment, including the affirmation long legs.
And so this was the same thing.
Like, you go into, that's why it sucks because I don't feel like it's the film's fault.
Like the film shouldn't be judged on its hype, you know, like, because it's not, it does, it has no control over that.
Overhyped.
So this is a very, you could tell this is a very, very, very, very low budget movie.
So, so I want to say that I really admire the director for what he did with the money that he had, which probably he had none.
I thought it's very creative.
The fact that it was literally just one house, one actress, the entire movie, maybe two if you come to mom.
and a voice actor
and that's all he needed
you know and he was
I will give him this he was able to create atmosphere
throughout the movie
I don't know how you guys feel
but I was engaged throughout the majority of the movie
you know it never
it never got super boring for me
but I could see how some people would get restless
because it was one location
I thought the director did a lot of creative shots
while the story was progressing
because he knew that people were probably
going to get bored along the way
way. And I thought I thought right before it would get repetitive, like they would give us
another bit of information so that it kept the story moving forward, which I thought, because a lot
of filmmakers don't know how to draw that line, right? They'll just drag on and meander.
And then this guy wasn't, at least in my opinion, maybe you guys have a different opinion.
Right, right before, right when it was on the cusp of like getting boring or repetitive,
it would give us another piece, another detail. So that kept me engaged throughout.
the only thing for me, and again, we're not in the spoilers section yet, so I won't say nothing.
I thought the third act didn't really hit for me.
And again, that seemed because there was budget limitations.
I especially got annoyed at the final, final scene just because it was like, what, like, there's nothing here.
It just literally nothing when we get to the spoilers.
Faith and black.
I mean, I go okay with it, I guess.
But I, okay, whatever.
So, yeah, so I don't know.
But all in all, it was an okay movie.
It wasn't boring.
It wasn't bad.
It wasn't great either.
It was just okay.
More than anything, I give props to the filmmaker for creating something with,
with very, very, very limited resources.
That's what I remember about this movie.
What I'll take with me about this movie.
one of the things that I found interesting
and I don't know if it was for budget reasons
is that she has this podcast with her friend
Justin I believe his name is
and they're not doing the whole video thing
which is which is what's in style right now
everybody's doing video now
like we're kind of doing here
yeah and with her it was still
the old school just you know
over the airwaves you know
yeah that's what we did for the first
five or six years right Brian
well more than that
I mean, you guys just barely got on YouTube.
That's true.
That's true.
More like eight or nine years is more like it.
So we're old school.
Yeah, no, but that was cool, though, because, again, if you see this in Dobie Cinema, it's tailored for your ears to get that pleasurable sound of people's voices and, you know, that microphone sound.
So I like that.
And so that was a good decision by the filmmaker.
Instead of doing the camera thing, just do the sound thing.
just do the sound thing and you get to amplify that and it doesn't take as much money as doing the camera thing.
So that was pretty cool.
Yeah.
But then I feel it also got a little contrived towards the middle where the, so we're saying kind of spoilers right now.
Like, since you already spoiled something.
What do you think, Brian?
I mean, I don't care.
Okay, okay.
So the girl's going through something.
Okay.
Right.
She's going through something.
We'll just leave it at that.
And to me it's like, come on, that's such a, like, you know, that's, that's, that's so convenient for the plot, you know, like, all of a sudden, uh, uh, uh, yeah, let's say she had a, in addition to a, in addition to a dying mother, which we know in the first two minutes.
Let's just say that she had a fun time with a Netflix and chill with her boyfriend about six weeks before.
And she's going through what she's going through. How convenient for the plot.
True, true. So, and then after that is when they got like, it was one thing.
after another that I started saying, okay, okay, like, you know.
Right.
But, well, but it was, it ramped up.
It ramped up at the end.
So all in all, I enjoyed it for a one-time watch.
I'll never watch it again.
Wasn't the worst, wasn't the best.
So that's kind of where I'm at.
What do you guys think?
Cool.
Well, I mean, look, in the filmmaker's defense, I mean, there could have been,
there could have been, look, this was obviously not just a straightforward movie, right?
there was obviously something going on here that was either, I don't want to say satanic or demonic or whatever, but I mean, it's definitely something supernatural, possibly going on, right?
So maybe, maybe it wasn't just a coincidence that she was in that way.
Are we sure that Nicholas Cage didn't sneak some sort of appliance into the house, maybe some sort of doll or that was, because that's what it seemed to me.
Yeah, I'm sorry, man.
I just tried to kind of defend the filmmaker.
little on that point. But all right, what did you think, Ryan? I liked it enough. I didn't love it.
I wanted to love it because it had podcasters as the main characters and it kind of spoke to me,
especially like when they first jump on the call together. I mean, we had a moment when we first
jumped on this call right here when I was like, hello, hello? Like little things like that was
speaking to me.
Sure, sure.
Or when she said right now this weekly podcast is kind of the only thing keeping me sane.
Yeah, or related to that.
Let's pick this back up on Tuesday.
Wait, no, can't do Tuesday.
Let's do Wednesday.
Yes, right, right.
They were speaking to us.
Yeah, it did a great job on building the atmosphere and a little tension.
But I think it, by the time it ramped up at the end, it was a little too,
little too late for me
because it moved a little too slow
I like the use of
the nursery rhymes
being played backwards that was creepy
I felt
I did feel faked out on a lot of the shots
because it had me looking in the background
and looking at reflections in the mirrors
and there was barely anything going on
yeah there
there was a lot of trickery with audio
there is one with the mom that was
creepy though that towards the end
if you guys remember that shot
of like the mom in the mirror
yeah that was a cool shot
and uh
yeah I just
I really wanted to love this
I think this this guy's doing the next
Paranoma activity movie I think
he's going to do a great job with it but
he has to
he has to give me a little bit more instead of
waiting until the very end to
give me something
okay
Makes sense.
What did you guys think of the actress?
For her, for this, for her having to carry this entire movie,
do you guys think that she did a good job or she wasn't good enough?
What are your thoughts, Lance?
I was happy with her.
I thought she did a good job.
I mean, it was a little contrived there toward the end
when she was starting to fall back into a little habit that,
and she's lying about it, you know, the river of denial and all that shit that, you know.
You hear so much about or you know about if you know.
if you know, you know.
But I don't know.
She didn't really seem to me that she was really necessarily getting back into that so much.
She was just acting that she was getting back into that because she was holding the,
you know, when like in these movies, like, you know, when somebody is a real alcoholic in a movie, right,
they're always drinking out of a fucking coffee mug.
Have you ever noticed that?
Like, they're trying to hide from people that are looking that it's alcohol in it.
You know what I mean?
Or they have a class that never runs out of alcohol.
Yeah, that's right.
Yeah, it felt a little forced.
Yeah, she wasn't great.
She wasn't great.
She was serviceable.
What did you think, Brian?
I kind of didn't like her character.
Right.
Because one minute she's sympathetic to her mom's condition,
and then next she's leaving with her boyfriend to go party
because he said, oh, she ain't going nowhere.
She'll be okay.
Yeah.
Well, he was kind of gas.
sliding her too, though, wasn't he?
I mean, I kind of got some vibes.
Yeah, it was kind of like a dick.
Yeah.
Or midsummer.
Yeah, but there was a little, sorry, there was a little bit more to that relationship
because when they got up the phone, he said, I love you, and then she didn't say it back.
Exactly.
So I don't know.
She didn't even say, I know.
She didn't even pull a Han Solo on it.
She just said, yeah, yeah, bye.
Or something like that.
No, but I was, I think the fact that she comes off as kind of like,
not the best person, especially to her mom.
It does pay off because when she finds out that she,
fuck it, we're spoiling now.
This is a motherfucking spoiler alert.
You've been fucking warned.
This is a motherfucking spoiler alert.
You've been fucking warned.
This is a motherfucking spoiler alert.
You've been fucking warned.
I guess so.
She, she, uh,
that's not a huge spoil.
It's not a huge spoiler.
It has really, I mean, I don't know.
But anyways, she, she, she has, she has.
has that doubt. Remember she has that scene with her mom where she kind of doubts whether she should be a good
parent or not. Of course. So there's like a lot of internal conflict within her. So I understand why
sometimes she would neglect her mom and sometimes she wouldn't. And I think in real life, when we have to
be caregivers to our parents and they're like really old and they're bedridden, it's okay to feel
frustrated. Like it is, it doesn't mean you don't love them. It just means like for better or worse,
they are getting in the way of your life in that moment, right? As a fact, you know, as a
I deal with all that stuff every day with my clients and stuff.
So I could see her inner struggle like, okay, you don't have to take care of her,
but I also got my life to deal with.
And a lot of the movie played on that, you know, and her internal struggles for that.
No, that's a good, a good way of looking at it, man.
So, yeah, and then I guess the ending, man, you notice how like movies now,
they don't keep you in the dark too much because then somebody would get up and go complain
that the movie shut off.
Like this movie
This movie doesn't give a fuck about that rule
They go into darkness
For a long ass time with just sound effects
More than once
And I was like
Is somebody gonna get up right now
And be fooled by this shot
Because it went on for a good minute
Like it was like a minute and a half
Of just darkness with some
And so
Like I understood what it was
Because of the whole gimmick
With the sound and everything
But you know
You always have like those 60 year old
movie goers
that don't know what the fuck's going on.
And they're like, what's going on with my movie?
They're going to go call the Usher.
You know, there's no, I can't see nothing.
But there was none of that.
But anyways, and I noticed that a lot of movies now, for that reason,
they won't stay in the dark for too long.
Even like big budget movies, they'll go a quick shot and then they're back.
Right, right.
But this movie's like, nah, fuck that.
I'm going on out on this one.
There was all kinds of sound effects with complete darkness.
Sure.
But that's because this movie was found by Neon.
Neon didn't make this movie.
This movie was a movie that was made independently produced by the producers of this movie.
Again, very little budget.
And then Neon just loved it.
They saw it and they bought it.
And they put a couple more bucks in there for post-production stuff.
And they released it.
So I don't know.
It got a lot of hype.
I don't know how much money it made.
I don't think it made a lot because we would have.
Wouldn't have to make too much, right?
I think it did decent for its budget.
Yeah, I mean, it wouldn't have to make a lot for profit.
But yeah, so, yeah, again, all in all, it was okay.
Okay, yeah.
No, I definitely appreciated the film.
Brian, you know, me and you, we're both big sound guys, right?
Yeah.
Probably 20% of what we loved about the first smile movie that surprised us was the amazing sound effects in it, right?
in the creepy soundtrack.
So I definitely appreciated what they did technically in this film,
like with the sounds and stuff like that.
As a matter of fact, there were a couple of scenes in this movie
where I was closing my eyes so I could, you know,
kind of feel the sound a little bit more in certain scenes and stuff like that.
And then I'd open my eyes and there's like this weird fucking face like that on a screen.
I'm like, what the hell did I close my eyes for?
I thought this shit was going to be audio on.
but I don't know. It was kind of neat the way they, I like, I like the setup like Brian said of the
podcast and how realistic all that part was. You know, they go they go into the, not necessarily
like creepy pasta type stuff, but they go into like those urban legends, a lot of the,
the online things that creep people out and cause them to kill each, kill people, kill each other,
kill themselves or go nuts or whatever. You know, and I think there was like a good story here. I just don't
think they were able to kind of like pull it all together at the end because i mean like obviously
there was like a little ceramic article that some crazy person had and can we even believe the
stories right see that's the other thing we don't know if we can believe the stories of the people
that are calling in and phoning in and did this really happen and and how convenient that it was in
her town in her area code you know the le guffins again i'm starting to buy more into pedro's
argument here way too much fucking convenience in that
this thing. I mean, yeah, there was something supernatural at play, but are we to believe that it pulled
all this stuff together? You know, like this crazy lady that, well, we're really in the spoilers
now. Crazy lady give a ceramic statue to her mother and, you know, now she's the one that,
that, well, I don't want to go too far. But I think what I got out of it was that at the end,
we find out that it wasn't for Eve or Evie or whatever the fuck her name was.
Evie, yeah.
It was for, all that was for the mom, because the mom at the end, you know, I guess she
resorax or whatever the fuck.
Or she, I don't think she really dies, but she pretty much attacks her daughter.
That's what I'm trying to say.
Or that's what we're led to believe, because we can't see shit.
Yeah, you can't see shit.
That's the problem, too.
So, so I think, yeah, it was more for the mom to, because, because I guess the whole mythology was
that, like you said, that was this.
I don't know, myth or legend or whatever,
fable where this person was killing her kids, right?
That's the whole thing that they're trying to investigate.
Or that's what we're learning along the way.
And then instead of her being like killing her kid,
the mom kills her or whatever.
So yeah.
Right, right.
It even had a little twizz there at the end,
but I don't know, it was okay.
Kind of.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
You guys want to go scores?
Yeah, real quick, this movie gross,
9.3 million.
Oh, shit. That's really good money.
Off of a $500,000 budget.
That's more than the bride. I'll tie with that right now.
And we've been saying neon.
It's actually put out by 824.
Oh, that's right. Jesus Christ.
Yeah.
You know where I got confused because of that fucking trailer you sent, Brian,
because they had neon all over the place.
That's true.
And I was trying to sneak it in as we're talking right now,
and I just, neon got stuck in my head.
But yeah, it was 824.
So there we go.
824 is still rocking it.
I think you said there's a bidding war for this movie, though, right?
Pedro?
I'm sure there was, yeah, because I mean, but they found it.
They didn't produce it.
They found it and then distributed it.
But 9 million.
God damn, that's a lot of money for a small movie.
Not bad.
Yeah, because like I said, the bride only made like 7.8 on this first weekend.
So it was a really big flop.
But so I don't know
You never know with the movie business
Yeah well hey it was playing here in Melbourne
Florida so there you go
You don't have to go to that Disney parking lot and drive 40
And walk 45 minutes which I have a hard time believing
Come come visit someday dude
You can hook up with Nez
Have you ever I got Universal
City Walk here in L.A
Yeah we have a city walk here in Florida
It's the same concept
And the parking is yeah it's fall
but it's not a 45-minute walk.
Like, man.
All right.
You're literally, we'll go see a movie there together.
How about that?
Because that's not even, I know it's Florida, and Florida is a very conservative state.
But over here in California, we care about our people with disabilities.
That's not even ADA compliant, what you're saying.
Like, what about if I'm in a wheelchair, if I'm in a walker, how am I going to walk across for 45 minutes to go watch a movie?
Can't you get on a shuttle bus, Lance?
I don't think there's any shuttle buses.
No shuttle buses.
See what I'm saying?
But I think for 80 bucks, you could rent a motorized scooter to go around for the day.
So just because I have a disability, which isn't my fault.
Right.
Now I have to pay $85 to be able to go across town, it seems like, even though I'm parking that facility to go watch a movie.
It sounds very fucked up.
Jesus Christ, man.
45 minute walk from the park.
Park into the theater.
But anyways, yeah, I'll see it one day.
I'll go over there.
All right.
Now, yeah, hook up with Naz, dude.
He's got that airline.
He can fly you for free.
Now, you might be sitting in the very, very back, like,
next to a stewardess or something, right?
So does he get free flights, too?
He gets free flights, right?
Oh, yeah, he does.
He gets free flights, yeah.
Why else would you work for an airline, right?
You said that you're pretty close to Tampa, right?
Because I got friends in Tampa.
Relatively.
Yeah, it's right across the state.
We're like, we're even with Tampa.
Like, it's on the, it's basically on the Gulf side.
So you're like two hours away, two, three hours away from Tampa.
Exactly.
Two and a half.
Yep.
That's not too bad.
You got it.
But back to the movie.
What's your score?
Oh, so I'm going to go five on ten.
Okay.
Yeah.
It wasn't a waste of time whatsoever.
I mean, I was, like I said, I was never bored.
But it was a little overhyped and it's a movie that I'm,
I'll never watch again if I don't have to.
What about Brian?
Like, are you going to ask Brian?
Is it on me?
He fell asleep, listened to the ASRM or whatever.
No, it was a parking lot talk.
But also, Lance, you're the one that's supposed to go, Brian, your rating?
Like, you just didn't say anything.
No, I didn't.
I didn't.
I didn't.
I didn't.
Anyways, Brian, go ahead.
I think I'll give it a little bit.
higher six because I'm just starting
now think about the movie.
I did like the stuff
with the nursery rhymes and
the stuff on the tapes were pretty cool.
Like the part where the girl
was chanting and the
voice would change. That stuff
was kind of cool.
But it just
by the time it ramped up
it was just a little too late for me
to really get this movie
a high score.
So I'm going to give it a six.
Yeah, I like it.
All right, yeah.
I can't quite go six.
I'll go with, I'll go with Pedro on this one.
I'll give five on ten.
But luck, I really, really, really wanted to love it.
Like the first act, I would probably give about a seven and a half, right?
But by the time we get to that mish-mashed third act where I don't really know what the fuck's going on,
yeah, maybe if they had a bigger budget, they could have told a better story.
But then again, storytelling, it should be in the first.
the storytelling, right?
You use whatever tools you have at hand to wrap up the story.
And I never got a gut punch, like an aha moment or anything like that that I was really expecting.
Because I thought, their goddamn well better be a big payoff at the end for all this.
And I love slow burn stuff, but this was slow, slow burn.
But I think five and a half is safe.
Are there any, are there any spoilers we haven't already brought up?
No, but I was going to add, apparently he has a trilogy mapped out.
before he even finished making this first one.
Oh, well, then that's going to happen, I would think, right?
Maybe the next one would take place from Justin's point of view on the other side of the show.
Because he's also going through.
He's also kind of going through shit.
We just never see that side, you know.
That would be pretty cool.
Yeah, I think that's...
I'll be down for that.
Not a bad idea.
And then how would they wrap it up, though, right?
Like, the next generation...
From the mother's point of view.
The Mark Twins?
Oh, the mother.
point of view, okay.
Like Strangers
Chapter 3 wrapped it up.
That's how they'll wrap it up.
Oh, God.
Haven't seen it yet.
Brian, you haven't either.
Oh, no, you saw it, Brian.
Yeah, I saw it.
Oh, is that one of the ones
that you had to walk 45 minutes for,
last?
That's chapters...
No, that was an hour and a half walk for that one.
All right, cool.
So we want to thank you guys for listening
to another episode of the horror returns.
We'd love...
That's kind of funny.
That's the first time we didn't feel like
we had to hold anything for spoiler.
Is that because we were all confused at the end?
I think it just came out.
I apologize if people got spoiled.
No, it's all good.
It worked out.
It made $9 million, so you still go watch it if you want.
Yeah, they're not running.
People are mad.
They'll be okay.
All right.
Another episode of The Horror Returns.
You can find us at thehorrorreturns.com.
Go to all of our socials from there.
Next week, we have a real treat for you.
As we are joined by the creator of Plankenstein.
You know what Plakenstein is, Pedro?
I've never heard of it.
It's the killer surfboard.
It's a Dona-Yali kind of movie, I'm sure.
Made in Hawaii.
We may try to get Don on with us,
because we are going to be joined by the director of the film.
Get this, Dick Diamond.
Hard as a rock, right?
All right.
We'll ask him about that.
Are you going to ask him about his name?
absolutely all right so we're going to be covering the brand new ready or not two and
1982's most dangerous game turkey shoot so until the horror returns again good night
