The Josh Innes Show - WBC v. NBA Finals Part 2
Episode Date: March 20, 2026As I continue, I really believe social media is the devil. I hate that people allow themselves to be morons. Don't you want to be knowledgeable? Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone....fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
In communities across Canada, hourly Amazon employees can grow their skills and their paycheck by enrolling in free skills training programs for in-demand fields.
Learn more at aboutamazon.ca.
What it comes down to a social media needs to be abolished, we're creating a universe of idiots.
Like, I'm smart enough to know what I don't know.
Like, we can all have opinions on sports.
Doesn't mean we're right, but we have opinions on them.
You can have opinions about whether or not, you know, a movie is great.
good or whether or not food is good or what like we all have opinions on shit there's nothing
wrong with having opinions but people are fucking morons and they they spout off as if they know
something about something and they don't and then it just feeds into more people who don't have a
fucking clue like that's why if you ever listen to me doing like sports talk they're like i can
tell you if i think a team stinks or i can tell you if i think a guy took a bad shot like i think
we could all do that right but it's when you start getting slap dick sports radio host
that never played at a high level that are telling you about cover two
and how the offensive lines technique isn't very good.
They don't have a fucking clue.
Hell, a lot of the guys that played don't have a fucking clue.
Listen to some of the dumb shit former players that are analysts say.
Like, I'll find myself going, holy shit, I know more than this guy and I didn't play.
But that's how people operate now.
Like, we sit here and if you listen to somebody on the radio,
spouting off about shit that they just like I try not to do that like look do I have dumb opinions on shit yes do I say dumb shit all the time yes totally but if you ever listen to me when I was doing sports like I'm not going to sit there and talk about the types of pitches that people are delivering or that a pitcher's delivering or an approach at the plate because 99% of us have no fucking clue what we're talking about we can have an opinion you can tell me if you thought the world baseball classic was more interesting and more fun than the NBA
that's fine. Like I don't know why the two have to be compared. I'm going to guess because, you know, and I tweeted about this the other day.
But, but, you know, and people misunderstand what I'm saying or they misunderstand the point, but the point's valid. I'm not going to change my stance on it.
Generally speaking, if someone is overtly hateful towards basketball, the NBA. And by the way, if you don't like basketball, you don't have to.
As we talked about before with voting, when I told you that I, look, I'm not going to vote for anybody, but I'm certainly not going to vote for liberals because liberal people come out and they tell you that,
white people suck and the cops suck and all these people suck.
Why would I ever vote for someone who openly just tells me I'm a piece of shit based on
something I have nothing, no control over?
I have no control over the fact that I was born in Poplar Bluff, Missouri, Methville, USA,
Butler County, Missouri, and then I'm a white guy.
I have no control over that.
So why am I, like, you're judging me for something I have no control over.
So I'm not going to, I refuse to vote for someone.
And I never will until that, you know, probably a lot of our beliefs.
are probably the same, but what kind of fuckboy
votes for a group of people that tell you
that you're a piece of shit? Like, no, just
on principle I won't. I'm not going to vote for
the other side either, but I'm certainly not going to vote for a
group of people that consistently tell you
that you're a piece of shit based on something that's totally
out of your control. When Westchow
first took flight in 1996, the
vibes were a bit different. People thought denim
on denim was peak fashion, inline skates
were everywhere, and two out of three women rocked
the Rachel. While those things stayed
in the 90s, one thing that hasn't is that
fuzzy feeling you get when West Jet
welcomes you on board. Here's to Westjetting since 96. Travel back in time with us and actually travel
with us at westjet.com slash 30 years. But like when I look in it like and I was tweeting about this the
other day that, and that's my first, I got to stop fucking tweeting. Although like I'm starting to get,
like people are starting to retweet my shit now. I have no idea why. I don't know what happened.
But people all of a sudden start responding to my shit now. I don't know why that's the case.
Oh, you just do it for the clicks. Not really. Oh, you're because, well,
Well, like, what benefit do the clicks give me?
Nothing other than I get to know that people saw something I said.
But if you see someone that's just overtly shitting on the NBA,
and no matter what happens, it's somehow a comparison to something else that's better than the NBA.
That person is probably either MAGA or conservative.
And on the other side of things, when someone's stumping for the NBA,
it's probably some hardcore liberal media person.
It is a very divisive thing politically.
And that's my point about that.
And that's the point I've been making.
If you don't believe me, just go read the people on social media
that are the most vocal supporters of the NBA
versus the most vocal detractors of the NBA.
The supporters tend to be very hipster, very hipster white,
very black, very liberal.
The loudest people against the NBA
that wants to tell you how great the NBA used to be
and they tend to be white.
They tend to lean conservative.
They tend to retweet shit by Clay Travis.
They tend to have American flags in their bio.
It's all very obvious.
But why is that?
Like, why are we at that point?
Why can't you just like things?
Why can't you just enjoy things and not have to have a war with everybody about them constantly?
Why can't we as people just go, you know what I fucking like today?
I like the NBA.
Like, I do.
Like, I don't find the NBA to be as abhorrent and loathsome.
I understand where if you're someone politically and like, oh, the guys were taking a knee and they hate the cops.
Like, I can understand if you're turned off by that.
The NBA is, it lacks a lot of self-awareness when it comes to social justice shit.
And some of that shit turns people off.
And they got turned off by it during the Rona.
They got turned off by, you know, during certain protests and in history.
Some of the players turn you off because they're very outspoken.
Like, I understand it.
I'm not telling you how to feel.
What I am telling you is that you don't, like, if you don't like it, you don't like it,
not everything has to be a war.
Not everything has to be us versus them.
Not everything has to be, well, oh, you like the NBA.
Well, they're a bunch of racists and they hate cops.
And that's why I love baseball.
But great.
How about you just like fucking baseball and not watch basketball?
Why does it have to be a war?
Am I making sense here?
Is this too common senseical for people to grasp?
Why is this?
Not everything has to be a war.
And it's wars that are all started by people who are in the media.
And these people in the media need engagement.
And they need to validate their existence.
They need to elevate their brand.
So what do they do?
These people start wars on social media and then people fall into them because most people are brain dead assholes.
No offense.
But so many people out there cannot think for themselves.
They see shit on social media.
Look, they're dipshits.
The number of people who believe that they're in a relationship on Facebook Messenger with Donnie Osmond.
Like the number of people who are that stupid, they're out there.
And there are more of them.
and there are smart people.
So you go out there and you try to find those people.
You make them your audience.
And then you end up with people having wars over whether or not women's basketball matters.
And then you have people who have no concept of how ratings work fighting with each other over ratings.
Hey, did you see that the ratings for the world baseball classic final were better than the average of the seven game series?
Like, just say that out loud and go, oh yeah, that's obvious.
the case because one is a winner take-all game and then seven games or like and then you explain
that to these people and they don't get it or they just choose not to get it. It's bonkers how
ridiculous people are. Again, I think my biggest mistake in life is social media. Like, I'm
never going to delete my Twitter because that would be a dumb thing to do. Like, I don't know how I have
32,000 followers. I mean, it's basically been that for the last seven years. It hasn't really gone up.
It's gone down a little bit.
But, like, I haven't been in a city, you know, where I've been offering opinions enough to gain new followers on social media, really.
Like, I think part of it is you have to be, you know, an opinion giver, you know, in something that people care about in that city.
Like, if I would have come to Detroit and been on the sports station, I probably would have picked up 15,000 new followers by now.
I'm not.
I'm on a rock station.
It's a lowly rated rock station.
People aren't coming to me for my opinions, really.
So I get it.
But I haven't really been in a setting where, you know, I'm trying to be.
to pick up new followers in anything since I was in Houston, really. I mean, we picked,
actually, I did pick up a lot of followers on Casey, I guess, and in Nashville. It's really been
Detroit that I just haven't gained any ground with people here. And part of it is because this radio
station is lowly rated. That's just reality, you know. But like, I'm never going to delete
Twitter because it just be bad for business. Same with Instagram. You know, like it looks good,
whether we think it should look good or not, it looks good to have, you know, 32,000 followers on Twitter.
It looks good to have, you know, 9,000 followers on Instagram.
I'd like to have more, but like it looks good to have 9,000 followers on Instagram.
It looks good to have 10,000 people on Facebook, which I guess looking back on it, and you guys all know this, but when I got super pissed and deleted my Facebook, like that had over 10,000 followers on it.
Who knows how much they cared?
but it had over 10,000 followers on the Facebook, and my personal Facebook, which I had had since 2005, had, you know, the maxed out 5,000 followers or whatever.
So I had like 15,000, 20,000 followers on Facebook.
Show Now has 1,500.
You know, was that a mistake?
Maybe.
Maybe a business mistake.
Sure.
Like, it probably was.
Probably wasn't the right move.
So I'm not going to, you know, go back now and be like, you know what I'm going to do.
I'm going to make sure I delete all of this shit because I'm super pissed and I'm going to go in and delete.
this. I'm not going to do that. But one thing that Twitter is done, not so much Instagram. Instagram
I actually really enjoy. I like to sit on the toilet and just scroll through like real humans do,
because that's what we are. We're real humans. And we like to scroll through social media while we sit on the commode.
That's our thing, you know, or when we're stuck in traffic. I love reels because most of my reels are
either hot chicks with nice asses or diet coat content. I'm not seeing as much barbecue content anymore
and it really makes me sad.
Like, I'll tell you, the saddest thing is like I'm in this old fucking house and I hate this
fucking house.
And I got rid of my smoke and I thought when we moved here, I'd get a new one.
And I'm like, no, because I don't even want to invest in a smoker at this shitty house.
And there's no outdoor outlets anyway.
And like, you have no idea how much I miss smoking meat.
And I mean that in the totally homosexual way that it sounds.
but my God, I just miss smoking meat.
I miss it so much.
And I see the videos and I get depressed.
Like I got a buddy of mine that's in Dallas that's on the radio and he just smoked a pork butt like a pastrami and went through this.
Like, oh, my God, it looked phenomenal.
And I'm like, I miss this life.
I think I'm super depressed over that because I'd gotten into smoking meat and I had a passion for it.
Because I'm like, I didn't have a lot of hobbies.
I don't have hobbies that I'm passionate about.
I'm passionate about radio.
I need to be more passionate about the podcast.
And, you know, maybe I'll, you know, maybe if we move, get a better house or something,
I'll kind of recreate a better studio for the podcast and get back to doing that kind of shit for you guys.
And I know you're probably like, Josh, you're full of shit.
You're probably right.
But like, God, I was so passionate about learning how to smoke meat.
And it felt good because it was the first time in a long time that I had a real passion for something that wasn't this.
You know, like I liked a golf.
I couldn't tell you the last time I played 18 holes of golf.
I like it.
I'm not passionate about it.
But I'd do it.
If someone called me today, I was like, you want to go golf?
I'd be like, sure, why not?
I like to golf.
I like to bowl.
But like, I'm not on a bowling team or anything like that.
Getting ready for a game means being ready for anything.
Like packing a spare stick.
I like to be prepared.
That's why I remember 988, Canada's suicide crisis hubline.
It's good to know, just in case.
Anyone can call or text for free confidential support from a trainer's spawner.
anytime. 988 suicide crisis helpline is funded by the government in Canada.
