The Late Braking F1 Podcast - 2023 Las Vegas GP Review
Episode Date: November 19, 2023Sam, Ben & Harry review what turned out to be an action-packed Las Vegas GP where Verstappen secured the win, but Leclerc battled to the very end to secure P2. The boys unpack all of the race's main e...vents from Norris crashing out to Verstappen and Russel's penalties, and they question whether Leclerc could have been on the top step of the podium without that mid-race safety car. As always they review their predictions, name their Drivers of the Day, and hear your submissions for the Moment of the Race... 🌎Get Exclusive NordVPN deal here ↣ https://nordvpn.com/lbf1 It’s risk-free with Nord’s 30-day money back guarantee! 👍 FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League BUY our Merch EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Now a quick word from our friends at NorvPN.
Say goodbye to the frustration of missing out on live sports due to regional restrictions.
Thanks to NorvPN, you can bypass geographical limitations with ease
and never again worry about not being able to catch your favourite games.
Simply switch your virtual location and make every sports event just one click away.
NornVPN also helps you save significantly on subscription services and flights.
take advantage of cost-effective deals from different countries,
all with the peace of mind that your online activities are secure and private.
We're delighted to say that NorvPVPN are standing alongside Movember
in their mission to raise awareness for men's health,
including crucial issues such as mental health.
Norv VPN will match any donation made to Movember by both existing and new subscribers at checkout.
So if you choose to donate five pounds,
nor will also donate five pounds.
Having personally encountered challenges relating to mental health,
understand the significance of Movember's efforts in creating an environment where men feel
encouraged and supported to openly discuss these challenging topics. It's great knowing that
with Nord, your donation will be going twice as far. So grab your exclusive NorgVPN deal by
going to Norgvpm.com forward slash LBF1 to get a huge discount of your Norg VPN plan plus
four extra months for free. It's completely risk-free.
with Nord 30-day money-back guarantee.
Again, that's NordvPN.com
forward slash LBF1.
Thank you for listening to the late-breaking F-1 podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes
every Wednesday and every Sunday.
A very warm welcome to the late-breaking F-1 podcast
presented by Harry Ead, Sam Sage,
and me, Ben Hocking,
Las Vegas Grand Prix review time,
and, well, we were treated to something
fairly exciting this morning, yesterday, tomorrow, this evening.
I'm still not quite sure when the race was.
Max Vestappen taking another win,
but it was a close run thing versus his teammate Sergio Perez,
who ended up finishing third,
and Charles LeClair, who managed to beat him on the final lap, into P2.
Sam, I guess, it's what everyone says, isn't it?
What Vastappen's in Vegas, stays in Vegas.
Look, we are a family-friendly show.
If you would like me to vomit onto the microphone,
with that atrocious line that you've reciprocating again,
then I will.
You're going to force me to do it.
I didn't even realise I did it.
Oh, that's so natural.
You definitely didn't wipe that down months in advance.
It didn't flow out of you.
Don't let that one slip.
What the staff is on the podcast stays on the podcast, I guess.
Yeah, that was horrible.
And there were some real moments like that,
which we'll get into later on to go.
But what a spectacle we've seen over the weekend.
You know, Big Dong singing the national anthem.
you know,
Kylie up there.
We're having a great old time, aren't we?
They really wedging everything they could.
Star Spangled banners were a galore.
Surprise we weren't there, quite frankly.
But yeah, at a lovely time.
Harry, did you enjoy it?
I know you're keen on this level of spectacle.
There was certainly an event today.
That's all I'll say.
There's not much else I can say.
I'll tell you what.
I know we'll get into a moment of the race,
but I've got to get it in there now,
Big Shack
You know
Hall of Fame
Just can only say three words
Louis Hamilton baby
That's it
That's his favourite words
Oh I knew from then on in
We were in for one hell of a day
Or morning or evening
Wherever we were
I don't know
It's been a year
Yeah it's been a whole year
13 years
Who knows
Right
What on earth
We're going to talk about
Today moment of the races
Harry's teed up nicely
Will come on
Lays
on in the episode.
We're also going to be looking at Alpine
and apparently they can do
straight lines now. That's interesting.
Mercedes, tough day for them
as they couldn't crack the top six.
Aston Martin, closing up
to McLaren after today's result,
but we'll start out front naturally. Max Vastappan
took the race win ahead of Leclair
and Perez. Of course, LeClaire was
on pole. Vastappen
very fairly got the lead into the first
corner. We'll discuss that in a little bit.
And there was interchangeable
of the lead later on in the Grand Prix as well, to the point where eventually it panned out
that Vastappen took the race win. But as mentioned, not without a good fight. So, Sam, to start
with, we had a mid-race safety car that Vastappen took advantage of, and indeed Perez did as well.
Lecler had only come into the pits a couple of laps beforehand, so didn't take advantage of that.
The two-stop of Vestappen beat the one-stop of Leclair. Do you think Vostappen takes that win without
that safety car? I mean, it definitely acts to the challenge without the safety car being,
of course the safety car pit time is minimizing your normal pit time,
normal pit time at Las Vegas is around a 20 second time period loss under a safety car.
It'll be between 9 and 11.
So you're kind of expected, which is 10, by the way, everyone?
That's 10 between 9 and 11.
There you go.
So typically, you would expect it to be made easier when performed under safety car.
But it wasn't all playing sailing from Max Verstappen.
He got caught up behind a few cars.
He had to make some overtakes.
We saw the instinct, of course, with George Russell.
that happened at a blind corner according to George Russell.
There was a number of events throughout the Grand Prix
that didn't make things super simple for Georgie Russ
because obviously he had to serve that five second penalty beforehand as well.
But I do think that if we didn't have a safety car,
the fight for the lead probably would have gone right down to the wire,
whereas with the safety car it was kind of resolved,
what, eight to ten laps before the race had finished.
So, yeah, he benefited.
But at the end of the day, it was still a very fun race.
So we got racing out front.
we got overtaking on track and it happened multiple times.
And it was exciting to watch.
So I don't mind the Maxis Statt won.
But I do enjoy the fact that we had a proper battle for it.
So yeah, I'm okay with it.
Yes, it was made easier,
but I am okay with the fact that it happened.
Do you think it would have happened, Harry?
Do I think it would have happened?
Yeah, let's just say the safety,
that second safety car that Vastappen took advantage of,
that doesn't come out?
Does the one stop of Lecler hold on?
How do you think that might have unfolded?
I think he holds on a bit longer.
Do you know, the battle for the lead, I feel like,
was only made by Max Verstappen doing some other things.
Like, you know, the term one incident, which we're going on to.
But yeah, Leclair, I think he probably,
he might have extended.
I don't know if he would have held on,
but it would have extended that battle further into the race.
And maybe it would have been like Perez and LeCla.
there's battle, but for the lead at the end, I don't know.
But yeah,
were you watching the cool down car, by the way?
Oh, of course.
I couldn't miss it for the world.
Couldn't miss it for the world.
Yeah, again, another thing.
Why did they drive them all the way to the hotel
to interview them and then driving back?
It's a very small choice of car.
Who knows?
Why would you squeeze them?
I love the engineer was sat in the middle seat waiting to go.
Yeah, this is that.
Come on, let's go.
Let's go.
No, woo.
Anyway.
This is in your seat, mate.
Very, sorry, that was a bit of tangent.
But in the, in the cool-down car, what's my point?
Was, did you see Lecler, the moment of realization when he was like,
you guys stopped again?
You both stopped?
Oh, no.
Okay.
It's like, our ties were five laps smoother than yours.
He was like, ah, who?
Yeah.
So I think a little bit of luck there for Vastappen, but again, like his pace today was, like, blistering.
I think that's the word Martin Brundle used.
It was ridiculous.
Despite the fact he had probably one of his messiest,
if not his messiest race of the season,
he still wins.
So that's just 2023, summed up.
There you have it.
Yeah, I would have been intrigued to see how the race would have panned out
without that safety car.
I was trying to decide internally whether it was better or worse,
the race because of the safety car,
because I do think we got an epic battle,
anyway for the lead.
But I think we probably would have had it without the safety car anyway because
Lecler stayed out a long time on those medium tires.
And I think he made those medium tires work to an extent that I'm not sure anyone
else did.
And certainly the hard tires, Vestappan we know needed to stop again at some point.
He wasn't going to go the rest of the race, given how early he came into the pits.
So he would have taken advantage at some point.
But yeah, I think Lecler would have, obviously Lecler.
was on for a one stop and Vastappen would have been a slower two-stop.
The question is how much slower?
I think Leclair wins that race without the safety car.
I think he holds on.
It would have been tough to tell.
Certainly it's a lot of projection at that point.
But yeah, I think Leclair did such a good job on that first stint to the point where,
yeah, Vestappen's having to take that full pit stop.
And it's not like Vestappen won by a huge amount.
I know he did, obviously, pull back a little.
little bit on the last lap in order to try and help Sergio Perez, but it's not as if he was
10 seconds up the road when he did that. It was only a few seconds. And for the majority of the
second stint, even after Vostappen got by, Leclair was, and Perez were able to stick with him.
It's not as if he rushed off into the distance. We mentioned the optimism yesterday of Leclair
going into today. And obviously, it didn't pan out for him. This is the fourth time in the last 10
race is that Vostappen has converted a Lecler pole into a win, which is a pretty horrible stat.
It's also the 11th in total, I read. He's done it 11 times.
Still, even with the result, I think we did have reason to be optimistic, even after seeing
the result today. It wasn't the case of Vastappen rushing off into the distance. This was a case
of, I think Lecler got unlucky with the safety card. Now, Vestappen still has to take advantage of it,
and he did a very good job with it.
Don't get me wrong.
But yeah, I don't know if he wins it without that safety car.
I think the five second time penalty played a big factor as well.
I think if there was no penalty given to Verstappen,
if he got in front cleanly in turn one about running Lecler off the track,
then I do think that actually might have been a bigger victory for Verstappen
because he really been able to romp away.
Although we saw those ties come back in with Lecler,
managed to close that gap down and get the move back for the league,
which is great to see.
It's very possibly a hypothetical Grand Prix.
you could paint out with some of the changes that we saw.
But you're right,
Leclair was fantastic on the size,
and that was displaying that first stint,
the way he roped Vastappen back in.
I was surprised that Sergio Perez,
who also, I think, took massive advantage of the safety car,
was able to challenge so well at the front as well.
He was also not getting completely dropped by Max Vastappen.
I know I'm going to ignore the dropback that Vastappen gave on that last lap,
but the gap was, I think, what, 4.5, something like that,
before that drop back happened.
So, not extreme, no major difference.
So close enough for a competition to happen,
I think you're right.
If no safety car happens,
Verstappen, what gains 10 seconds under that safety car time,
there's about a five second deficit
between those two things there.
So realistically, the Claire wings it by three or four seconds, maybe.
I don't know.
It's, yeah, it's difficult to tell
because obviously Vestappen, I think,
probably needs to come in
because of the safety car a few laps earlier
than he ideally would have done.
I think he probably went, what,
10 laps or so on that first set of hards,
maybe something around that point,
whereas I think if he had full control over it,
he probably would have stayed out for another five or seven laps probably.
But yeah, it's an intriguing one.
In terms of that penalty that you referenced, Sam,
do you think it was a fair one for the first quarter?
Yeah, I do think it was a fair one.
We've got very set rules now on what an overtake on track means.
And, I mean, both cars left for track,
let alone, you know, Shola Clare being run off.
They extended all the way down the strip by the looks of it
with how far off turn one they kept going.
Yeah, I think a lot of people were weirdly defensive
of Max Verstappen there being like, oh, it's the track surface.
And I kind of think, what a weird excuse to make.
Both drivers are running on the track surface.
Both drivers are got to get through that corner cleanly.
The Clure was ahead when they hit the first apex.
It's entitled to stay on the track.
And if you look at the replays enough,
you'll see that there really isn't any room between the two cars.
Forstappen was running all the way off the edge of the road.
I think the penalty was fair.
I was really shocked, actually, at Red Bull coming over the regia repeatedly going,
don't give that back, Max.
This is completely within the rules.
not only ahead, but the move was good.
You just keep going, mate.
Boom, five second penalty.
I'm not sure what they were watching, quite frankly.
But it was not a clean overtake.
It was not a great turn one move.
And I think the penalty was serving.
A lot of people on the other side were frustrated
at how small a penalty is being given for this situation.
And I think it only looks small
because it's Max for stabbing a Red Ball
that could turn that over so quickly.
I think for a lot of other cars,
George Drusel, for example,
with people on up for the instinct,
which we'll discuss later on,
he got dropped from fourth
all the way down to eighth place
so it can have an impact
yeah but foot observed
I think he worked it off
he still won the race
but it wasn't a very good move
into turn one
he had loads of time
didn't need to rush it
do you think the penalty
was fair Harry
yeah it was entirely fair
and I
again I reiterate
entirely fair penalty here
it was on Verstappen
but I do think I have some sympathy
because you saw the amount of cars
that didn't make turn one
I think there were
I don't think he's full
full intention was to run LeClaire that far off the track,
but he still did it.
So it's a fair cop.
I'm with you, Sam.
Just tell him to give it back.
Like, under the safety car,
that would have been a perfect opportunity.
Just give it back and then, you know, go again.
I know it didn't matter in the end,
but I was, I did not understand that.
I did not understand that call from Red Bull.
But yeah, yeah, entirely fair.
I see what people are saying about that it's, you know, it's not enough, but I think it was.
It obviously just didn't seem like it.
And it did, you know, it did still hurt his race because, you know, when he came out from
that pit stop, he was like down in ninth and he had to have to fight his way back through.
So, yes, the overall result he didn't, it didn't cost him in the end, but it still cost him
during the race, which I think is for the crime.
it was a fitting penalty.
And as we've already discussed,
if the safety card doesn't come out,
he's an extra five seconds back on actual track time
he's got to make up and it would have been an even bigger impact.
So arguably, he was saved way more by the safety car
than maybe what people think.
I get the call from Red Bull,
even if I don't think it was right,
I get what they were doing.
Because at the majority of Grand Prix,
I think it would have been the better option
to shoot off into the distance
and claim the five seconds
and keep the lead anyway, because Vestappens had such an advantage over the rest of the field,
but in most instances, he can build that gap to the point where it doesn't matter at all.
And that's a safer option than dropping behind LeCler and potentially someone else if he slows up too much
and then having to get the overtake done again.
I think the reason it wasn't the right decision here was because there were so many unknowns with Las Vegas
and knowing exactly what the Red Bull pace was versus Ferrari.
So I agree with you, but I understand at least.
where Red Bull were coming from on the penalty.
Yeah, it was a slam dunk.
You can't drive another car off the road.
It's simple as that really, isn't it?
The rules.
Dem's the rules.
So, yeah, part of this is on the FIA
for just not being authoritative enough
in terms of their decision making.
I don't understand how it took them so long
to decide that this was a penalty for Vestappen.
In other instances, you know, you're just told,
give the place back immediately.
and then in other instances it takes six laps.
And it's not like it was just six laps.
It was six laps where most of it was under VSC or safety car.
So they had a lot of time to make that decision.
I don't know why they couldn't have just done that straight away.
There was something later in the race.
I don't even remember what it was.
It was for Stappen again.
It was for the unsafe release, right?
They barely decided that penalty or lack of penalty
by the time David Croft had finished his sentence.
weren't earth couldn't they do the same thing here?
So I wish it would have been as simple as the FIA saying,
give the position back and telling them directly to do that
rather than the five second penalty.
But yeah, in terms of a penalty, 100% justified.
Now, we saw the battle out front was very firmly two Red Bulls versus one Ferrari.
Now, it might well have been two Ferraris if Carlos Sines hadn't picked up that penalty.
We discussed the merit of that penalty on yesterday's qualifying review.
Do you think that race ends any differently, Sam,
if Signs is in that fight and LeCler,
I guess, wasn't ganged up on by another team?
Sorry, folks, if you heard that,
that was just producer Kerski rejoining in Google meets.
The ultra-professional producer Kirstie there.
She moated to Harry earlier as well
for not signing his discog off from making the...
Yeah, Kirstie.
Yeah, Kirstie.
Right.
Do I think that changes the face of the race?
I think it wasn't necessarily changed the end result.
that we saw. I think Max Verstappen still has every possibility of winning the
Grand Prix. But we've 100% ramp up the challenge. It could definitely change what goes on
during the race. How many times if we see kind of in 2019, 2020, 2018, where Max Verstappen
was trying desperately to battle two Mercedes at once. strategically, they were able to just
outclass Red Bull because they could do one on a long scrap, one in a short strat, or they could
sit one right in front of him to defend or the other runs away. You have so much more versatility
and so many more options at your disposal
when you've got two cars versus one
and that's exactly what will have happened
with Sergio Perez out again, of course, in Q2.
Carlos Sainz was fantastic
and he deserved to start on that front row
and that penalty was already discussed.
He's a big of a joke.
And I think across a whole Grand Prix, 2V1,
yeah, if science can maybe stay in front of
the Stappan going to turn one,
the clerk could get off down the road.
It definitely makes it harder.
Again, like I said, I'm not sure it changes the end result,
but it gives Ferrari more of a chance.
and I think LeCler probably increases his percentage chance of winning
should Carlos Symes be starting alongside on turn one.
It's a shame we didn't get to see that battle.
I do think it will make for a very fun Grand Prix.
Does a two-on-two battle change things, Harry?
Yeah, I think as Sam says it undoubtedly,
it makes it more difficult for Red Bull today.
And, yeah, I know Signs never really recovered,
but, you know, it was pretty chaotic race for him.
I think he would have been well in the fight
had he started where he actually qualified
so yeah that's Ferrari
well it's not on Ferrari is at this one
but Ferrari will be seeing that as a missed opportunity
to not have signs in that fight because
yeah it would
LeClair was fighting it
two red balls all by himself which is
difficult to do
and I'm not saying whether it would have changed the race result entirely
but yeah it would have made it a much more difficult task
for Vastappan to get through
he's got to get through
another car with that penalty
etc if they play out the same
you don't know so
yeah it's a shame for
Fari around that one because
yeah apart from Singapore
it's probably the most competitive
showing all season
but they only really have one car
in the mix
a point I want to make on this
I'm sure you'll get onto a really good point
in a minute is it was one versus one
remember at the start of that Grand Prix
Czechos had not qualified into Q3
of course and the problem here
was Carlos Seitz was at first
fault for not being at the front when it comes to the safety car restart because he drove
into the side of Lewis Hamilton on turn one and spun himself round and was at the back.
So unlike Sergio Perez, who also wasn't the cleanest man through turn one, managed to
somehow escape any real major danger.
Carlos Seinfeldt, I think, was also more a fault for not being at the front, whereas
Sergio Perez did get himself to the front and took advantage of what was going on.
So as much as it was frustrating for Ferrari to not have a two-on-one situation at the start of the
Grand Prix, which they earn and they deserved.
I think it was Carlos Sein's fault for not being at the front come the end of the Grand Prix.
I think that car was capable of being there.
I think credits to Sergio Perez for getting in that mix because we've seen so many times
this year that Red Bull haven't had two drivers at the front, but also, at least in terms of
the race win, they haven't needed it.
Vastappen's been so good, so quick that he hasn't needed someone else in that fight to see
off Leclair or one of the Mercedes.
here, arguably they did need it.
This was far closer than we've seen at other Grand Prix so far this year.
And it's almost like the one time Vastappan needed that other driver in the fight.
He got it.
So fair play to Perez on that front.
We're going to take our first short break.
We'll be discussing Aston Martin and McLaren a little bit more on the other side.
Okay, so a few races ago we thought this Astin-Martin-McClaren battle might be all done and dusted,
but a little bit of a revival from Aston Martin late in the season
and also thanks to McLaren having a few difficult results,
particularly today with Lando Norris retiring and Oscar Piastri
only just getting into the points in 10th,
albeit with the fastest lap for two points.
Aston Martin though, Lance Stroll finishing fifth and Fernando Alonzo finishing ninth,
both of whom took advantage of the early safety car,
at least Lanshaw did Fernando Alonzo as more he had to.
But Sam, what did you make of both of their drive?
in the way they fought back in this Grand Prix?
I think it's a bit of a tailor to suit size of the carriage here.
You know, a lot so out qualifies Lance Stroll,
and Lance Stroll picks up that penalty as well that he had to serve.
And I thought that Lance Stroll was fantastic around Las Vegas.
I mean, yes, he managed to take a baron to a safety car,
but then again, that situation and that opportunity can be applied to every driver
if you, you know, you get your strategy right.
And I don't think luck in terms of safety cars is just randomly thrown out.
I do think that a lot of times if you're towards the back of the grid,
maybe you plan for it.
For example, Lewis Hamilton's starting on the hard tire.
We're at a track which has got almost no temperature in it,
and it's a track we've never raced at before.
And you think, well, start on the hard tire.
There definitely won't be a safety car in the first 10 laps.
That feels like a poor choice of strategy to me,
whereas Lance Stroll managed to take advantage of it and work it perfectly.
Kirsty's young again, folks.
So when you do hear the Google bong, she'll come back.
Fernando Alonso qualifies P9, ends up finishing in P&N.
knowing. I don't think this was a fantastic Grand Prix for Fernando a long so. And actually,
I think he got a little bit lucky to end up finishing inside the points. I think actually
it was kind of a not a perfect day for him. He decided to turn himself into the roulette wheel
going into turn one. Guy was absolutely on a spinning top and somehow managed to come out in points.
So well done him, I guess. McClaran, not a good day for McLaren. I mean, it seemed like they got a
great start. They managed to avoid all the carnage and elevate themselves up from, you know, the
back end of the grid into what 11th and 12th or something like that, I think it was.
Lina Norris then, of course, spinning all on his own into the wall, the only car to do that,
which is very strange, a very bizarre looking crash, obviously been taken to hospital for
precautionary measures.
So as a potty seat, we obviously wish him the best.
I'm sure everything's okay, but fingers crossed.
And Piastri, who decided he just never, ever wanted to stop onto a different combat
of sight until about three laps from the end, which is a great strategy from McLaren,
really works out well, despite the multiple.
opportunities where you could have had a discounted pit stop.
You thought, we just won't.
Keep on the hard tire.
That's the wrong strategy call.
And they pick up, what, a point from the finish and a point from the fastest slap.
So they were lucky to get two out of that situation, really.
Askin Martin, going back to the old spec, it's a great recovery.
It's a great turnaround.
Them and McLaren and the battle for second place between Ferrari and Mercedes is looking
incredibly hot for the end of the season.
It's going to be an exciting one.
Indeed.
What did you make, Harry, of Astor Martin, firstly, Landstrol, P5, Alonzo, P9?
Yeah, I mean, as Sam said, Lanceroll was excellent out there today, I think.
Yes, you say you're a bit lucky he avoided the carnage at the start, but yes, he did that himself.
But I think his pace was good.
Pretty good out there.
So that's a big result for him.
obviously Alonzo, I think Alonzo
would have been up there, but as you say,
Sammy decided to become a spinning top at term one.
Got the mother of all launches.
Oversetook like three cards and then
and then was like, nah, I'm done for the day.
A question on that.
And indeed Carlos signs at term one
and anyone else I've forgotten.
How did everyone just avoid a penalty?
Like even investigation for it.
It's all good, mate.
Apparently, you're already if you're at the front
do you get looked at properly in the midfield.
It's just free for all until you get to turn four.
Valtry Bottas is there
he's been smashed by Alonzo in the front
Perez has gone into the back of him
and he's just shrugged his shoulders
okay no penalties then
fucking complaint digging
dig it out of the radio
and then and then
and has like the most woeful race from then on in
like is at the back
for the remainder of the race
despite qualify top 10
he was so good
you can serve something from this
it's just that they didn't even look at it
on either front
I really enjoyed as well
Valdry, obviously, as you said, get punted from behind by Perez.
Then he's got, oh, a wild Fernando Alonzo facing him, hits him,
and then hit just goes, oh, just hit him again.
Just give him another little whack.
Have another one.
Have another one, Fernando.
My race is done.
And then they're just both stopped and Bottas, I'm not reversed.
I'm not reversing universe.
Alonzo, fine, gone then.
We're getting Cornish countryside Rome.
Yeah. No, I'm not going back.
You go back.
Anyway, what was I talking about?
Oh, yeah, Alonzo.
Yeah, not his, not his finest hour.
But yeah, this is, given that McLaren scored one point out of this one, with Piastro, two points.
Piastri got the fastest lap.
Oh, right, yeah, okay.
Yeah, it's another chunk of points that they've taken out of what was a 20 point lead, I think, coming into this one.
Yeah, I think it's 10 now.
No down to 10.
So, yeah, after this race.
All to play.
for us they head into Abu Dhabi and yeah as what we thought was a battle that was done it isn't well
it isn't um yeah it's going to be an interesting interesting abadabia you'd say it will be difficult
to imagine the McLaren will have a worse weekend than they did here uh but you know you never know
so Aston Martin certainly will be buoyed by that going into uh next weekend and and yeah i'd like
said pace-wise, it was quite encouraging for them to be a bit more in the mix again.
I know it's not quite where they were, but they're certainly in that conversation more so than
they were, I don't know, three races ago.
Yeah, I think Landstrol first and foremost, that's back-to-back good races, which is something
that he's struggled to do generally, is string-together results.
So fair play to him for what he was able to do.
You've referenced the safety car and how he might have got fortunate there.
But yeah, you're right.
The pace was pretty good.
the only very minor, not he's not even a complaint, but I think he had generally pretty good pace
and he was catching up to Ocon quite considerably. And then he kind of just hit a wall like a second
and a half. And he just couldn't get any closer than that. So I don't know if tire management wise,
he might have just been able to get him with playing it a little bit smarter. But I think that's
being quite picky. And he still managed to get fifth place. And yeah, Fernando Alonzo, obviously
clumsy at the first corner. He wasn't the only one.
but it was clumsy.
And yeah, I think he came out relatively well.
But he was kind of there because of his own error to begin with.
So I think he'll be disappointed in that as soon as he realizes,
McCarron scored exactly two points.
I think this was more of an opportunity to claim points than what Aston Martin have.
I think that there was a chance here that they could be almost level going into Abu Dhabi.
instead. It's still doable at 10 points. Definitely doable, but it could have been a little bit better.
From McLaren's perspective, Sam, you've already mentioned Oscar Piatry's strategy. We saw the hard tire was
much better than any other tire out there today. Do you think that's what McLaren were playing to?
Just stay on the hard tire as long as we possibly can and then just pit for the mediums almost at the last
possible moment. Well, yeah, clearly they
listened to the preview show or the
qualifying show, rather, where I said that
Yuki Sanoda should be goal hanging for a safety car at the end of the
race. We'll get on to all those predictions. They go wrong, folks. Xavier
laughs for me later, thank you. And Oscar Piacery
was clearly going, that's a great strategy. Sam Sage
knows all about predictions. He's called it. I'm
going to get this right. It did not. Narrator, he did not
get it right. So, that's what they were trying for,
which I understand and I respect it. But
I think the car actually in race conditions was good enough to score good points today.
I think they had relatively decent pace.
They were following well.
And M. P. Astri was on those hard ties.
He was making the work so well, especially off those restarts.
We saw him pick up multiple places and both goes.
I just don't know why he didn't essentially follow the strategy of the Stappen.
When they kind of cut their losses on that first stop and went, right, get off, let's make a go now.
And then get back on them again with a short stop.
I know they can't predict the future,
but you've got to change over,
and how long do you wait
before you do the first change over?
It just felt like they threw away
what could have been quite good opportunity for them.
I don't think they would have maybe beaten Lance Stroll.
Never thought I'd say that.
But I do think that they probably could have picked up,
especially with a sixth or a seventh,
I think was definitely viable, definitely an option.
They could have walked away at least five or six more points
than they actually got at the end of this race,
I think.
A bit of a missed opportunity for them.
And I think the 10, 11 points that they've got to Askin Martin now is a buffer.
And I think they're lucky it's 10 or 11 points because I think they could have lost that fourth place next race.
And I think actually they'll probably just get away with it due to Abu Dhabi.
Again, I don't know anything, but it probably doesn't suit the Askin Martin.
But who knows?
They'll probably win now.
Probably.
It's a desert race as we discussed.
McLaren can't do them.
Ah, yeah.
Right. Remember that knowledge, folks.
I will predict both McClarrows out in the first 10 laps.
based on what Sam's just said there Harry
do you think that McLaren were actually a victim
of Piastri starting on the hard tire
because as we've sort of referenced
those that started on the medium tire
were able to take that option to pit
and then go to the end
but Piastri had had to use the medium tire at some point
so do you think they were a victim of the start tire
almost? Yeah I think they were
because like you say there was
I guess there wasn't the right opportunity
I'm trying to think
when did he stop for a second time
Is it under the second safety card?
No, he stayed out, right?
And that's how we so high up.
Stayed out for the first one.
Stayed out for the...
Coming on the second one?
Anyway, I...
Sorry, Ben.
My point was, I don't think there was necessarily
the right opportunity for them to...
When those safety cards were happening,
to bolt on the mediums,
because I'm not sure it would have been...
It would have been too long for them.
But yeah, so yeah,
I think they were slightly boxed into a corner by that.
But given where we were, they maybe should have planned for that a bit.
It was a risk.
And obviously, the Piastri was starting out position,
so they had to try something different.
But yeah, they, like Say Sam, I think they probably could have come away with a few.
Given the pace that Piastri had,
they will probably feel a bit disappointed to have only come away with two points
after the race, at least not from qualifying.
I guess they would take two points.
Yeah, his pace was, again, very good.
Very good on there today.
So that's, yeah, they'll be scratching their heads on that one.
He was on the same strategy as Lewis Hamilton,
who, if he didn't pick up the ridiculous damage,
ironically with Piastro, they should have finished together higher than what they did.
The strategy was able to work for one car, but should be able to work for the other.
How did the tiniest amount of contact, by the way, end up with two punches?
They self-destructed.
He literally kissed and the world blew on.
up. Those two can't, they're not allowed to be side by side. It's mon's all over again.
Fair play as well. I know it wasn't like a fast stop just on the clock itself, but Piaastri got
that puncture, came into the pits almost immediately. And McClaren still turned him around in,
what was it, four seconds, four and a half seconds, which I think is pretty impressive,
given how little, little warning they had to do. That was basically the same time for Lecler, who,
that was a planned pit stop. So.
Oh no.
Yeah.
Ow.
God.
That's so Ferrari.
Bashing your elbow.
It's such a weird circumstance for Oscar Piastri, because he would, did he start 17th, was it, on the grid?
He went from 17th to 10th and scored two points, which I think in any other race, you'd go, great stuff.
What a recovery.
And then you look at actually what happened out there today.
And there were like four drivers ahead of him that arguably recovered more.
It's an odd one.
But, you know, at least where Norris was out, he was able to claim something.
I agree.
I think that McLaren had good pace here.
And to walk away with two points is a massive disappointment.
Should we go for Driver of the Day?
Yeah, let's do it.
The verdict is in.
You're the driver of the day.
You're the driver of the day.
You're good at driving.
Sam, Driver of the Day.
It's playing the symbol for me.
It's Eskerman Okon.
The guy got the bacon on the grill.
And we threw the...
Pay-God!
Honestly, it's like...
It's like Pierre Gas's battery just died.
And I'll have the barbecue now.
He was great.
He was really, really good.
Fair play to him.
He made every right call.
He took advantage of every mistake.
He made the tire's flip.
Apparently Alping can go on a straight line
on this Sunday only
as a one-off exclusive.
So don't miss it, folks.
We really did or you didn't.
Who knows when the race goes live.
But he was brilliant.
And the gap in there between the two of them now is only four points.
So, boy, you've been making nervous.
Boy, come on helping no points scorers next week, please.
Yeah, they can't do it two weeks in a row.
That'd be ridiculous.
I think you're fine.
Yeah, there were some good recoveries out there today.
Landstrol, as we've already mentioned.
Ocon was another mention from me.
Yeah, good work.
He's given me confidence that actually Laplan starts in 2024.
It's fine, folks.
I was just early to the party.
It's all good.
But I'm not going to give it to either of those because ultimately they were out of
position because of their own fault.
So, you know, I'm not going to give it to either of those two drivers.
I'll give it to Charles LeCler, because I know he technically went down one position
from where he started.
but I do think he gave it absolutely everything
despite not really anything going his way.
He just stuck in there.
And the move on Sergio Perez on the last lap
was miserly impressive.
And Sergio Perez just needs things.
I'll tell you what,
just needs whoever it was
who waved the flag at the Canadian Grand Prix
a few years ago just to make sure all races end
like a lap earlier than they should.
Winnie Harlow?
Yeah, that's it.
Winnie Harlow, yeah.
Driver of the day.
Harry.
I'm entirely in agreement with you, Ben.
I'm going for Charlotte Claire.
He didn't do anything wrong.
Like, I don't think you put a foot wrong all weekend,
and he was the quickest driver.
Part of the massive lockup.
We'll forget about that one.
Yeah, but that point didn't matter, did it?
And as you say, made a little muggins of Sergio Perez on the last lap.
Honestly, Sergio, what did you?
think he was going to do?
Like, just defend the inside, mate.
Lewis Hamilton, did you get in the car?
Oh, anyway.
Yeah, LeClaire for me, he
was, yeah, almost faultless.
What about worst driver of the day?
Get in the bin, bin, bin, bin, bin,
worst driver of the day.
Ben, Ben, Ben, Ben, Ben,
worst driver of the day.
You suck at driving.
Harry, who've you got?
I'm going to go for
oh I don't know actually
maybe Lando Norris for crashing on his own
he is out of hospital by the way now folks
so we can we can mock him again
he's fine
how this podcast works
as soon as you step out the doors of a hospital
you're fair game
you are fake game
all right okay fine
I think it's a compulsive
yes
he's not
no but you know
But, yeah, Norris was the only driver out there to bin it all by himself.
So if you lock up, as you say, and the carnage there was turn one.
But yeah, I'll give it to him.
I feel like as soon as lap one happened and, well, maybe not lap one,
but the early stages of the race happened and the grip started to improve.
It was, it wasn't a clean race, but also it could have been more chaotic.
Like, there could have been more carnage late in the race.
So, yeah, it did seem as if the early laps were the ones where you needed to navigate a bit, a bit safer.
Sam, who was worst driver the day for you?
I've got to completely agree with Harry.
I think it's Landon Norris.
The McLaren had pace.
His teammate made it kind of work.
And, I mean, true fair to Piascri, obviously, he was in the walls a little bit and got through his own fault.
And I do think that without that collision, he probably could have gone on to be higher up the grid.
This was a really uncharacteristic error from Landon Norris.
and, you know, now he is happy and healthy.
I can mock him.
Boy, you can go around a corner, boy.
You need to not hit the wall, you know,
because that was really rubbish.
Probably the worst error of the entire weekend.
And I did not think it would come from Manor Norris.
I mean, there were some bad drives down the grid.
There were some drivers that really didn't perform.
But at least they finished.
Just to say, it was a real indie car crash.
Do you not think the way, I don't know,
it was like an oval crash.
It was an odd one.
Just like lost all downforce one of a sudden.
Yeah, it was strange.
Can we also, can we potentially give worse driver of the day to the Alpha Tauri?
Because that was a heap of junk this weekend.
It's a rocket ship.
Rocket ship, baby.
It's a rocket ship.
More on that a little bit later.
I will also give it to Lando Norris.
I'll give it to Lando Norris too because he crashed and scored no points.
That seems like a fairly valid reason to give worst driver of the day.
Honorable mention to Alonzo, I was a bit disappointed.
said he couldn't do a bit more.
But, yeah, Lando Norris gets it for me.
I'm going to need you to box for wets.
What?
Slaps.
Love it.
Sam, what have you got?
Toto Wolf, coming out with the radio.
George, we are going for P4.
Get him.
Alvi.
Have you forgotten a certain
that your driver may of course
that relegated you with a P8?
Honestly, hilarious.
They just seem to literally ignore it.
It doesn't exist.
If there is the five second penalty in the room with us?
If we can't see it, it doesn't exist.
it was ridiculous. I get what they were trying to do, I think, trying to spur him on just to
make up as much time as possible, maybe. But I would rather just be honest to say, we've got a penalty,
make up as much time as possible. You can sound a bit silly. I don't know if he would have known
before that via his engineer whether he had a penalty. I agree with you. I feel like it was
motivation of by doing that, you're going to make as many positions as possible come the end of the
race. I think maybe that message in isolation didn't make it much sense, but maybe the surrounding
messages did. Who knows?
I think so.
Yeah.
My big brain strategy has to go to Alpine on the verge of a good result for the first time since 2005,
deciding that they're going to try and kill each other.
Now, honestly, then going side by side through the final corner,
I almost lost it and then still going side by side through the first few corners.
That in itself sent me.
then the radio message of Esteban hold position.
Why?
I'm assuming it was a bit of a delayed message,
but why on earth would you tell them to...
Surely it's slower, given the amount of slipstream in DRS,
it is slower for someone to hold position
than it is just to overtake them.
I think Gazley's race and how that unfolded proved
that that was a stupid idea to begin with anyway.
And then, I don't know why this just capped it off.
It was just the battling where they nearly killed each other,
that stupid radio message
and then the sales force bear
just dancing on the sphere straight after
I was like this crazy isn't it?
I love that.
Yeah.
It's so much.
I'm fine.
So yeah, that was my moment
or moments of the race.
Harry?
I was going to go for the Alpine one
but I'll go for,
because they always need a mention
on this segment.
Why do you not pit
let's when a safety car
came out?
The poor,
face that he pulls when he realizes that both his competitors did that.
It's like, oh, I, I, have mattered?
I don't, I don't.
But, but why would you not give him that opportunity?
Trapped position?
I don't know.
He only had a, like, five lap fresher tires and would have dropped positions.
If they didn't think he, he was necessarily quicker than the Red Bulls, would he've got,
I don't know.
I was fine with it.
Did he finish in the same place that he would have finished in regards?
I think he'd have finished a P3 if he'd, in my opinion.
Big brain strat is Harry's big brain strap.
I don't know.
I mean, mine was the Alpine one, but Ben nicked it, so I had to make it a lot.
It's a problem.
The race of hypotheticals, wasn't it?
A lot of what ifs.
A lot of what ifs.
The best kind of race.
What, Verstappans in Vegas?
Stop it.
The stays in Vegas.
Thanks, Sam.
With that, let's go eat some sandwiches.
We're going to take our next break.
On the other side, we're going to be discussing Alpine a little bit more.
Okay, Alpine. One driver did very well in qualifying, didn't do so well in the race.
Apparently Alpines can't go two at a time. So the other driver did very well in the race,
and the driver that did well in qualifying didn't do very good in the race. So Esteban-knock on
out in Q1 yesterday, turned that into a P-4 for 12 points today. And then the P-4 of Gassley in
qualifying resulted in no points when he finished in 11th. Both of their strategies,
interesting ones.
So Gazley's tires seem to completely fall off.
So let's start with Gassley, Sam.
Impressed a lot yesterday.
We referenced that in our review.
Just couldn't hold on where others could.
What did you make of his Grand Prix?
Well, he's like a serious battery failure in the last 10 laps of.
Yeah, which I think was the major cause of him dropping places.
I think he would have stayed ahead of Lance Stroll.
I think he probably would have stayed ahead of, you know, Alonso and Piastri.
I think probably maybe a P6 or P7 was comfortable in the cars.
George Russell's penalty as well.
I don't think the ties were that much worse than everyone else around him.
It will cause him to drop that fast.
I do think it would be unfair to say that this was a bad result through Pierre
Gazley's own doing.
I think he was massively hampered by battery, essentially failing on him and him having to
cope with that.
What is probably the most battery intensive track that we've seen for some time.
But on the flip side, Esplan-Ockon dig exactly what I said earlier on his driver-of-day moment.
He absolutely capitalised on the mistakes of others around him and the opportunities
that were presented with the safety cars,
and then he deployed fantastic pace.
It was very silly that they tried to hold O'Conn back behind Gassley
because I think Gassley was already encountering the problems
that we saw really unfold at the race at that point.
So you would have just caused both of your cars
to essentially be driving around with the damaged battery
if you really stopped O'Kong overtaking before the end of the race.
It felt like a silly strategy call.
But I'm glad that one of the cars managed to get really good points.
It felt like they had the pace to do so.
both drivers, realistically, when the cars were functioning, the tyres were good,
had phenomenal pace, they were driving fantastically well.
It begs the question, what could they have done if Oconga qualified in the right position,
and what could Gassi have achieved if his car had held together before the end of the race?
I think Alpine possibly could have walked away with a four, five, I think was protection
on the car, so everything gone 100% to plan, which is really strange, because I think we all
written them off completely, come the end of, come the midweek, because we know that Alpine weren't
good in a straight line. So a bit gutting for Gassley.
Strategy wasn't perfect, but I think it was way more deserting of what he got.
O'Conn, as I've already said, a phenomenal comeback.
I don't know if you were the same as me, but as soon as like all of the carnage ensued
on the first corner, and you were just sort of glued to that action, and then you just sort
take a step back. Oh, wow, that was pretty frantic. Let's have a look at the time timing tower.
Wait, Ockon's an eighth. What?
What have you moving up?
How was he there?
doesn't make sense.
What did you make about P, Harry?
I mean, baffling.
Utterly baffled.
Where's that pace from?
I mean, it will be gone again next race, I'm sure.
But yeah, it was a, it was confusing one.
I think battery issue aside,
and obviously Gassie was very impressive yesterday,
as we said in the Collier Review,
and Estaband was not.
But I think Gassley's race management pace
will be a little bit concerning to, well, to him, I imagine.
Just given where Ocon started and yes, he benefited from quite a few cars falling off at the first corner.
But his race pace was just better than Gassley's throughout anyway.
So that'll be a bit of a concern for Opie Gazzle.
But yeah, it was a positive race all round for the Alpine team, which, again, how?
What, why are you good around this circuit, Alpine?
All the signs say you shouldn't be.
But then you're up there.
So that makes no sense.
It just doesn't make any sense.
It just doesn't make any sense.
They should have been 21st and 22nd.
I'm going to sit down later on YouTube,
set a thing for a nice cozy Sunday because I'm going to be tired.
You know, maybe put something a bit weird on top 10 conspiracy theories of all time.
In a third, the New York Triangle,
second place will probably be Alpine.
pace around Las Vegas.
I imagine it probably falls short of like Area 51.
You don't understand it.
How did it happen?
Was it real?
We don't know.
Who knows?
So yeah, Abdel obviously happily take away the big chunk of points that they got.
Whether they understand why or how that even happened remains to be seen.
But yeah, Ocom was obviously impressive today, as we've already mentioned.
Now they just need both drivers to be good on both days of the weekend.
That would be...
Just once.
Just once.
Yeah.
One, don't, you can't have one good on Saturday and one good on Sunday and not be the same driver.
It's amazing that they've managed to have, what, two podiums this year?
Both drivers have picked up one podium.
And I think in both instances, the other driver wasn't in the points.
It's not even close, yeah.
How is it happening every time?
It's very odd.
Beer, good day for Alpine.
Yeah.
Like you say, utterly bizarre how on earth this unfolded.
we assumed, as I think most did,
that Alpine not having an engine in the back of their car,
was going to really hamper them here.
But apparently they can do Las Vegas.
Yeah, utterly bizarre.
I think with Pierre Gasly, it is difficult to tell
because we don't know exactly when those battery issues started to kick in,
and we don't know exactly how much it hampered him.
So, you know, when we first got wind of it,
he'd already started dropping,
but it's entirely possible that he'd already reported the issue before that,
and we just didn't hear about it.
So I think he would have struggled anyway because in terms of tire wear,
he was on older tires and pretty much everyone,
including his teammate, around him.
So I think he would have dropped, certainly to his own team,
maybe some other spots as well.
I think the battery issue probably enhanced what happened.
I think he would have started to drop anyway.
Ocon's pace was good and he will be frustrated.
Well, I don't know if he will be frustrated because I don't know if you could have achieved
anything else with two Red Bulls and a Ferrari in front of him.
but, you know, he might have, if he had a better day yesterday,
he might have still finished fourth.
But yeah, it was a bit of an odd one.
He bemoaned his bad luck yesterday,
and we spoke about that a bit.
But today he proved that he is deserving of a place in F1.
He's a deserving of a place in that team.
And now four points separate him and Pierre Gasley.
Four lovely stuff for us to eat for breakfast.
After the other day he grew up in the Grand Prix,
when I win teammate wars.
Honestly, when FP1 happens next week and they're 17th and 19th, I'm just going to, oh, it's going to be so depressing.
I'm going to put the teammate wars episode on the ground and I'm getting a dark song it like a happy jig.
Completely fair.
Let's switch gears to Mercedes.
So they didn't exactly have the race that we were thinking they might.
I think in the preview we said they might be the fourth fastest team.
They finished seventh and eighth, which is about where the four-fastest.
his team would finish, but it's maybe not quite as straightforward as that,
as both of them had messy races.
Lewis Hamilton in particular,
was involved in an injured with Piastri,
and then Russell picked up a five-second penalty for forgetting a driver exists.
Let's start with George Russell, and that penalty.
It's probably giving away what I think of it, but, Harry, what do you think of it?
Yeah, George, mate.
There's a car alongside you.
What are you doing?
Can't drive in the car.
Can't do that.
Show you blind spot, mate.
Not even the blind spot.
literally there. Like, it's not even a dive from Max. I know Max didn't have the cleanest of races
today, but I think this one was a fair move. It was on. And George's like, nah, you just get out
the way, mate. And obviously, Max can't disappear. He's very good, but he's not a magician.
He cannot go and like disappear in thin air. Yeah, very odd one from Russell there. And obviously
that cost him a big, big old chunk of points because he would have been on for P5. How do he
How do you not have that penalty?
So, yeah, but completely fair cop in the same way they've ever stop and one was a fair cop.
As we say, can't just drive into people.
Did you understand and agree with the penalty, Sam?
100%.
Like, you know, that gap is, we saw overtakes happen through that corner.
We saw two cars go through there comfortably.
We saw Shaula Clark decide to absolutely launch it through there over,
Sergio Perez, on the last lap when it all could have been at risk and they made it happen.
and yet George Russell just went,
oops, have I hit you?
Don't mind me.
You know, just destroying carbon fiber
absolutely everywhere.
I would say you deserve the penalty.
And it was just hilarious
the way that they almost kind of
did, no George Russell radio a message,
and I was for like that, if they keep really quiet,
they can, shh, we won't be noticed.
And, oh, big brain strut.
Got noticed, didn't you?
I mean, you hit another car when,
that he was 100% alongside you,
you don't do that, mate.
So it's a spam dunk,
and deservedly so.
And they face the punishment.
I think it was a fair one.
I think the lack of George Radio,
George Radio, George Russell radio message.
Hello, I'm George Radio.
George Radio.
I mean, after this year,
we probably should call him George Radio.
No, but the lack of any message from him
kind of suggests that he knew straight away
that was a bad one.
Because normally with George,
you hear a complaint if he thinks he's in the right,
and yeah, there was nothing.
Sidots.
Yeah, there's not really too much to add, is there?
You know, shouldn't drive into someone.
Slam dunk penalty, yeah.
And he's got to be frustrated, Georgia.
So I know he made comments about this earlier in the weekend
about how this is like one of the messiest seasons
or I can't remember the exact phrase he used.
But it's true.
It has been a really messy season for him where
there is no reason he should have lost to his teammate today
given he started, what was it, seven positions higher than him,
seven or eight positions higher.
And then Lewis Hamilton got involved in the first lap, carnage,
had a crash with Oscar Piastri,
started on the hard tires, so it wasn't on the best strategy,
and didn't have a five seconds.
And he still beat him.
That's not how a race should go.
George Russell should have been a comfortable P4 here.
That's how that race should have gone.
for him. And it was going that way for him, at least until Perez got involved. He was P3. But,
yeah, there was no reason why George Russell shouldn't have been walking away with a comfortable
P4 here. And it's just another instance of him getting in his own way, I think is probably the
right way to put it. Yeah, he, sorry, Sam, I was going to say, we've mentioned this the other day.
He's had the pace all year, Russell, bar a couple of races, maybe. But yeah, he's just,
it's been messy. Messy is the correct word.
This is a monumental fall in form from Mesaig's at the moment.
The gap between Ferrari and Mercedes now four points in the constructs title.
In the last Sixth Grand Prix, they only had three races where both cars have finished.
The results have been, I think Mexico was the only all right one.
They got a second and a six, I think.
I mean, in Japan, fifth and seventh.
Qatar, Hamilton takes out himself hitting his own teammate.
And Russell finished is, I think, fourth.
USA, Ham, DSQ, that only brings up Russell to fifth.
He was further than that.
It was in the seventh before that.
Brazil, Ham, 8th, Russell out.
And now Las Vegas, 7th and 8.
This is possibly the worst run of form that Mercedes have ever had since joining Formula
1 again.
Maybe, I'll go back maybe to 2012, 13, whatever it was when they first came in.
They weren't amazing.
But this is a horrid, horrid run.
And they are about to throw away second place in the constructors to the team that don't
understand what pit stops are meant to do for your own, you know,
your own car. So they need to sort this out. This is really worrying. Russell is being up in the air
about what's going on. Hamilton's form is all over the place and they can't seem to get a car
across the line cleanly at the moment. It is really worrying from a Mercedes' point of view that
they think they're going to do this thing to challenge Red Bull in 2024. I think if Mercedes
do end up dropping that position to Ferrari in the overall constructive standings, it will be because
of not necessarily the last couple of races, but it will be the couple of races before that. Because
I think with here and particularly Brazil,
Brazil, I mean, they didn't have a good result,
but also it's where they deserve to finish.
They weren't very quick.
You referenced Qatar.
I think they had a very valid case for being the third fastest team there.
And Russell's comeback proved that.
But of course, Lewis Hamilton was out on the first corner as you referenced.
And the US, albeit with an illegal car, Lewis Hamilton was very quick there as well.
I think if those two results come together, this isn't even a debate at this point.
afford these couple of bad results. I think those were the couple races where they, if they do end up
losing it, that will be where it's come from. I agree. That's a quick reflection on the Grand Prix
itself and the Grand Prix weekend. I'm sure we'll spend a bit more time in our preview episode
for Abu Dhabi next week talking about this. But just to give it a little bit of airtime now,
obviously a lot of controversy. What has followed is a great race. Ups and downs, I think is probably
the easiest way to put it. Sam, how do you?
reflect on this race weekend as a whole?
As a whole, I actually think it's being a massive success.
I think the fans are suing Formula One, which is great.
Well done to them.
So massive success.
Fans are suing.
The jacks the position there.
Just on that point, and I will shout out my old man for this,
just go and look up the lawyer who is leading that class lawsuit.
Just anyone listening, go and look it up because it's an risk.
Man doesn't lose.
that's all you have to say about that.
Yeah, so we'll put that bit to one side
and the manhole cover causing a penalty controversy
that ripped apart a competitor's car.
Put that to one side as well.
But on the Saturday and the Saturday...
No.
It's very confusing.
We're in the wrong time zone.
The qualifying and race components of this weekend
I think we're a massive success.
I think the track being really stupidly and cold
was very fun and a challenge
and it made for a proper interesting race.
I think they nailed the DRS length
and how effective that was throughout the whole race.
I think it was exactly right.
We didn't see too many overtakes
where they breeze past only halfway down the straight.
There were some.
Don't be wrong, there were some.
But I think a lot of the time it was heavy into the breaking zone.
It was Sergio Perez taking a nap on the apex
and someone was flying past him.
It was, you know, multiple times we had to see proper moves
where cars were wheel to wheel for a couple of corners
and it was exciting.
Strategy played.
element. We didn't know whether it was going to be a two stop or a one stop. I think overall,
this was a fun race. I'm not saying it was race of the season. I'm not going to say it's going to
go down in history as an absolute thriller, but I enjoyed it. And some of that is to do
with what the events took place within the race. But at the same time, the track had to provide
that. And I think it did. And I'm not disappointing it happened. I don't think it was the
absolute fiesta that effort wanted it to be. But it certainly wasn't a failure in my eyes. And
I had a good time.
Harry, we know your position coming into this race was one of pure optimism and joy and love.
And of course, Jack Villeneuve getting married would have only enhanced that.
So can he grow up?
Can he like, why is he a child?
Can you grow up?
Grow up.
Oh, God.
Um, yeah, look, I, it was, it was a, it was a, it was a, it was a, it was a, it was a,
fine race.
Some people have been calling it race of the season
and I don't know whether I fell asleep
and missed something because that was not
race of the season in my view.
But anyway,
maybe it was a good question actually.
I mean, I enjoyed Singapore a lot.
I know there was a
there was actually no overtake for the lead,
but I just enjoyed that.
But it hasn't got to be. The fight was so close.
Doesn't got to be an overtake for the lead.
It's exciting.
I don't know, I'd actually have to probably think, but I don't, I wouldn't put out those, it was, it was, it's better than some races we had this year, undoubtedly. Um, but I, yeah, overall, I am not the massive fan of Vegas, but I think that's pretty obvious now. Um, I think the track itself, really dull. It's, it's a lot of straits. And that doesn't, like, and I, I, I'm with you, Sam. I think they did well on the DRS zone, because I, I thought that was a, that was a fear of mine. There were, there were, there were some quite a few, like, like,
just blasting past, but I think it could have been much worse.
But just the track itself, I don't, there,
there's a lot of hyping up, you know, through the final corner,
like, whoa, look how fast they're going through there, which yes, they are.
But I don't know.
I just, it did not, did not get my juices flowing.
So, yeah, look, I'm obviously not a massive fan of the overall overhypedness.
I still don't understand why they drove them to the Bellagio Hotel to interview him
afterwards, away from all the fans that were there.
Why would you, what's the point?
I don't understand that.
Because they can.
I don't know why.
Anyway.
I agree.
It's so they could set out the podium, Laurie.
That's why.
Yeah, yeah, true.
I go by some time.
So yeah, overall,
I'm not a massive fan.
The race was all right.
I don't want to sound like,
I know I do sound like a Debbie Downer about it,
but, um,
because I want F1 to succeed in America.
And this will, it will succeed.
I'm sure.
But I'm not
fully convinced by this track,
this race so far.
10 more years.
No, no, Jesus.
10 more years.
God, Elvis.
Yeah, we'll see.
Maybe it will continue to improve.
You know, Baku first year wasn't amazing
and we love going to Baku.
And that's kind of similar with a lot of long straight.
So, I don't know.
I'll give it a middle of the road,
six out of 10.
love that.
I'm going to go out on a whim and say that the race weekend didn't start in the best way possible.
Risky.
But I think F1 will be happy with how it played out from there.
I do have quite a lot of thoughts on the FIA and how they could be better at communication management.
And a lot of thoughts on how they could not possibly be worse.
But this was, I think overall they'll take it.
And I think they will refine the event.
in years to come. This was always going to be the fanfare of the first year. Some are going to love
it. Some are going to hate it. I think it will eventually find itself and find its way onto the
calendar in a seamless fashion. I do actually think it will generally improve from here. In terms of
the track itself, it's mixed feelings because as a pure qualifying track, I'm with you, Harry,
doesn't do much for me.
I felt qualifying
while, at least for a qualifying session
in 2023, wasn't brilliant.
I thought it was good
because all qualifying sessions are good.
It can't possibly be bad.
But equally, I think we've had better
because I think there are,
I don't know necessarily better tracks,
but just different tracks
that were better for qualifying.
I think the way I see it is
this track is almost the anti-Sizuka.
in that Suzuki is a great track
that ordinarily doesn't produce very good racing,
at least in F1 racing.
And here in Las Vegas,
I think it's a bit of a dull track,
but it's kind of just set up for modern F1
in the way that it runs,
and it will give you overtakes,
it will give you following,
it will give you continued battles
where it's difficult to break DRS.
I think it's almost set up for how F1 is in 2023.
And I mean that in both a positive
and a slightly negative way.
So I think as well,
this isn't a criticism against Las Vegas.
It's more of a criticism against F1 generally.
I think when the racing starts
and at least you sort of take away the skyline
and you're just looking at the actual race itself,
that Grand Prix and Jeddah and Singapore,
they become so interchangeable
in terms of actually the look and feel of the racetracks.
Obviously they're at night,
so you haven't got too much to look at,
where they become a bit samey for me.
I lost track of where I was on the track with the camera a lot of the time.
I didn't know what corner I was regularly looking at.
I'm not going to lie.
Yeah, I had the same as well.
And part of that is going to be the first time we were here
and we'll get used to how the track works in future.
It's for sure.
But yeah, I think it was a mixture of positives and negatives.
I think the race itself, I wouldn't put it as race of the season,
but I'd probably put it top three.
I think it was a very good race.
And part of that is speaking to how 2023 hasn't been a brilliant season in terms of races.
But equally, there have been many, many worse than what we had out there.
At a 10th, then?
I'd give it a 7.5.
That's exactly what I was said, 10.5.
All right, we'll take our final break.
We've got Moment of the Race on the other side.
Before we get into Moment of the Race, we've got a segment that Harry is probably very much
looking forward to.
We're going to review some bold predictions.
Let's start with the bad.
Am I here yet?
Is it worth me talking yet?
So Sam, your prediction was that Lando Norris
would win the Grand Prix and that there would be
at least five retirements.
It was a double header which you managed to get
zero out of two on.
There were three retirements.
The first one was Lando
Norris.
Which is obviously.
When I looked at,
up after hearing.
Oh, there's been a crash.
Oh, it's Landon Norris in the barrier.
I mean, luckily,
there weren't,
there weren't five retirements
and one of them was Landers
because that would have been rubbing salt
in the wound.
If you got one...
Until about six laps from the end,
it was one retirement
and it was Landon Norris.
And I thought, you are...
I am the Antichrist of Predictions here.
I am Damien Oman
for getting things right at the moment.
Good Lord, am I bad at this?
So, this is going to be...
be a bit of a visual reference, but if I start up here, this was my confidence level for my
bold prediction being right from the beginning of the weekend. We get to qualifying. It's still pretty
high. Start of the race is looking pretty good. He's challenging for P4. My prediction was album on
the podium. And then it just slowly, slowly went away and out of the points. You're kind of so close.
They just didn't like race conditions, did they? No. No, no.
for your classic Alpine P4.
God, damn it.
I've done that four times this season.
Aw, God, actually what P4?
I predicted that, I think three times this year.
Not today.
Come on.
Laplan is stronger than I give it credit for.
So obviously no point for me.
But this is probably going to be the tiebreaker
because myself and Harry were tied on correct bold predictions,
I believe.
Harry predicted that someone from outside the top 10 we get on the podium
Harry was Sergio Perez on the podium
he was thank you Sergio
where did he start I had to double check this because with penalties
I was like oh wait did he get was he starting 10th no he started 11th so yes
well done thank you Sergio for being absolutely NAF at qualifying once again
you've made my day in fairness to you as well this I mean you weren't just relying on
Paris here because Ocon,
stroll, signs, four, fifth, sixth,
all would have been correct as well
for your bold prediction. So four of the top six
were from outside the top ten.
Honestly, Harry
had 18 backup answers that are all
correct. I could not
hit a donkey in the face
if it stood two feet away from it at a moment.
In Venice, you went
very bold this time. Hey,
can't win anything, so you may as well go home happy.
Be not. Exactly.
I'm very unhappy.
Moment of the race.
We have of course got our Discord submissions
that we will play momentarily,
but we have the three of us
and our moment of the race to start us off.
Sam, what was yours?
So we had a lot of interesting punditry lines
on the UK channel.
And Crofty tried time and time and time again
to come up with some clever, witty, fun thing.
But it was Martin Brundel that stole the show for me
when Crofty turned around and said,
oh Justin Bieber's going to be waving the check of flag
and Brundle just turned around and said,
that's made my life.
I was, it was quite early here, really,
I'm a loud laugher, you may be aware.
I was trying very hard to snigger into my jumper
as a very silly boy who thought that was just absolutely hilarious,
the absolute disregard for someone like Justin Bieber
in Martin Brunzel's world.
I thought it's very funny.
Sorry, they're going to do a racing because I thought it's funny.
Harry, your moment of the race.
Um, mine's not actually in the race, which I know we talked about off air, but I, I didn't even see this happen live. I woke up to it this morning before I, you know, settled down to watch the race.
Sergio Perez and his driver intro, but have you seen this?
No. Oh my, oh my God. Go and have a look on Twitter Samuel. It was on there.
Who's, is it Bruce? What's the second name? What's the guy who's doing the intro?
Anyway, I didn't, yeah.
He's doing the intro and he's screaming,
Sergio, Jekko, Perez.
And he did he does it in Perez's face.
And then Perez just stands there looking like the most lost to even being.
Like, is he going to talk to me?
Do I do it?
Oh, it's so good.
Oh, good Lord.
And that, yeah, that helped me wake up for this race.
It was, it was unreal.
So that, yeah, that's my moment of the race.
by it not actually being in the race.
My moment of the race,
honorable shout out to Lewis Hamilton,
reverting back to an 11-year-old boy
of anyone in the UK
as soon as they see something that can be kicked,
just kicking it with the bollard.
By bollard.
I'll go with the moment of the races.
I'll actually pick a serious one for all right.
So you usually joke around on this.
I will go for LeCleur versus Perez on the last lap
because that was fun.
Yeah, I mean, to be fair, that was a saucy boo from from LeClau.
Love that.
I'm just sorry, I'm just watching Sergio Perez's face as Michael Buffer is literally screaming into his soul.
And he's like, hi.
And then he's like, ha ha, yeah, okay.
I don't understand.
The whole thing is absolutely bizarre.
Where do I go?
Why are you yelling at me?
what's happening?
I love that.
Well, good Lord.
Good Lord.
Well, that's what we had to offer.
What do the Discord submissions have to offer?
Plenty, as ever.
Thank you, everyone, for sending your stuff in.
First up is Bristol, Liam.
You know what?
For a weekend that looked like it would be awful.
What's a race?
And what a terrible suit.
for Maxis to happen and Chekker looks like he's driving for Ferrari.
But me moment of the race, it's got to be that last lap over taking it.
Cheers.
That was a stang.
Even if Sergio Perez did ask for a wake-up call from room service and it ever came.
Charles LeCler absolutely planned to get on.
It was fantastic.
Norm from Texas is next.
Yeha.
Oh, hello, my late breaking friend.
It is I, Norm from Texas.
And much like a much-needed cup of coffee right now,
I'm going to give you my moment of the race.
And that was Chagas Lavegas, betting it all on black
and putting on one of the smoothest overtakes
that we have seen this year on the last lap.
Too bad it's happened to Checo twice.
Anyway, McLaren,
Bubby, we got to talk.
Anyway, keep breaking late.
this one's
for you, buggers.
Red.
Shut the clothes
of a Ferrari.
That's a good point,
Matt.
Oh.
It's a swing and miss.
Sorry, Norm.
It's probably a ridiculous time for him.
So,
like half past three in the morning.
Well,
the race would have started
central time at 2 a.m.
I think.
It's a great time for Americans all over.
No, no.
Sorry, I'm being stupid.
It's not 2 a.
What is it?
It's midnight, I think.
Oh.
still gross.
Still painful.
Still at least half-poss two.
Yeah.
Next up is Caroline's number one, dad.
All right, boys.
Moment of the race.
Late breaking hall of famer.
Yes.
The big shack.
The big diesel blowing off Martin on the gridwalk.
And CVS turn 14.
Couldn't be a better turn for more action.
He's not wrong up.
Turn 14.
Which one was that?
Was that the little chicade at the end?
Oh, yeah, I think so.
Cool.
Nice one.
Next one.
Next up is Inspector Sebb.
Inspector Seb here.
Today is a good day to be an Australian,
both because Oscar Piastri is a gun,
and the race was actually a good time in Australia.
Moment of the race was absolutely Hamilton running into the ballad.
It just sent me.
It was so good.
It was like an angry child kicking the wall,
but in an F1 car.
Absolutely beautiful.
That's exactly what Ben said.
As if.
You're sure the same people
just on the other side of the world.
That is how it works.
We've all got a double ganger
and we found Ben's.
Finally.
What a weird thing that would be.
Oh Lord.
Next up is Vigin Spiker.
For a moment of the race,
I think I'm going to go with the fact
that the cool down room
was actually the back of a Rolls of race.
I mean, how Vegas is that?
Keep up the good work.
We'll try.
Cool down car.
Fansom.
Next one is username you can pronounce
with their second entry.
The first one, we're not allowed to play.
Hello, Sam Ben and Harry. First time submission
for me. I'm another one
from the worst country contingent.
Whey!
From Sider Country.
My submission for a moment of the race is
me waiting the whole race
for Crofty's
Vegas puns
and then on the final lap
when he crosses the line
him coming out with the
what Vostappans in Vegas
stays in Vegas
classic line
thanks guys keep up the good work
oh
it might be the worst thing you know
I think it is
might be the worst thing anyone's ever said
maybe
we've said a lot of bad things on this problem
I don't know if anything's on that
goodness me
yeah this week
this weekend was painful to listen to.
All good always is now
is now next or just next.
Highly breaking moment
of the race for the Las Vegas Grand Prix
other than the fact that I'm kind of glad that it's over.
Has got to be at the end when Max
went on the radio on his
like cool down lap at the end and was like
Viva Las Vegas.
I mean the guy so relaxed now that he's already
got the drivers and the Constructed Championship
in the bag that I mean this is a pretty
It's a pretty funny sight.
Love you guys at the podcast, bye.
I actually enjoyed that.
Can I write the max on that?
But also, after an entire weekend of just slagging off the whole event,
and he starts singing, Viva!
Last week!
Apparently, he's a big Elvis fan.
He did a whole challenge on social media,
guessing Elvis lyrics as well.
Apparently, he likes the Presley.
He likes the king.
Oh, well, sure.
next is Pietro de la Rosberg
do you think that's a real name?
That's a fantastic man
No it's Pietro Fittipaldi, Pedro de la Rosa
and Nica Rosberg
all doing a submission in one
That's the only logical explanation
But it's going to be a busy 17 seconds in
Howdy fellas
Well first I want to thank you
Thank you very much for having me on the show
Oh no
I'm on one of the races watching Alonzo
Make it a classic Alonzo start
and pass everybody
and then just forget that there was a turn one, oh, baby.
Oh, baby.
Oh, no.
I enjoy that a lot.
I'm going to use that a lot now.
Oh, baby.
Oh, baby.
Right.
Anyway, thirsty platypus is next.
Thirsty here, boys.
My moment of the race is Perez needing Max's help to get P2
with the most dominant car in history
after having the best luck of safety cars
I've ever seen in a race
and then getting P2 in the driver's championship
after being the worst performing driver of the year.
Unbelievable.
I don't know how it keeps that scene next year.
Thanks, boys.
He's won two races.
Can we forgot on that?
That's more than everyone else but won.
I don't hold this against Vastappan at all
because he had no need to actually do this.
But when he came over the team radio
and said, I did everything I could to help.
no you could have helped more if you wanted to
you didn't have to but you can't say you did everything you could
I tried I liked I liked the let's work together together you know
and then just overtakes some runs off bye
let's work at a team and by a team I mean I'm winning
there's no I in team except when I spell it
real dad yes
real dad is next
Good morning this is the one only real dad
with the one only James
for giving our moment of the race
started watching half an hour later
so the race is still on
but as of now
the moment of the race is
probably Leclerc
absolutely not going for the pit stop
under the safety car
I mean there's completely messed up
the strategy there and then
terrible race for him
free Leclerc and
go back a bit boys
have a great Sunday
bye bye
we'll try it much is available
It is available still
until he's free.
Oh Lord.
Jerome
I don't, I'm sorry if I've said that terribly.
J-O-R-O-M-I-R.
What we're saying?
Gerama.
A-R-R-A-O-R-M-I-R.
Jor-A.
Like Jeremy, but wrong.
Jeremy.
Like Boromier.
All right.
Here we go.
What's up, boys?
It's Yormeer Thier,
submitting from Chicago and
moment of the race is Max Lannister sending his regards to the FIA stewards over the radio.
Sassy.
The Nade God is, is this another new one?
Yes.
Well, they've thrown it in the Discord and then they've gone back to bed.
So here we go.
What's up, late breakers?
Love the pod.
My driver of the day is Lance Stroll, aka Lance Stroll.
What a great drive by him.
From 19th to, I believe, fifth.
after the penalty for George Russell,
really quietly moved up the field there.
No one was really talking about him.
I think we all expect him to crash most days,
but this was a great drive by Lance Stroll.
So my hat's off to him.
Also, Vegas, great job.
This was a really good race.
It's 245 where I am,
and I am wide awake.
Great job.
245 anywhere is not a good time.
No, no good.
We've also had one last one,
the inner the death unvetted from Penny 1532.
What do we reckon?
Give it a world.
Let's play it.
My mother of the race from Las Vegas has got to be
chuckles, le buckles under the weight of that pole position again.
Just can't make it stick, can he?
Do you think if he ever gets on kind of pole position now, he just thinks,
oh well, that's not going to be another win for me.
Question for you.
That's why he was so disappointed in qualifying.
I love that he just goes to question
Question for you
We are checking
Yeah there's no doubt about it
He's ready to get hurt again
Every single time he puts it on pole
We all are
Well
He's only got to get hurt
Once more this season
And that's next week
And we'll be previewing
And reviewing the episode
Sam
Only one left
Oh my Lord
Just for caveat
We are here
The entire winter break
But one race to go
So we will be back
On the midweek
For our preview
and of course we'll be out here over the weekend
for our quality review and race review
of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.
Abu Dhabi, as we like to call it,
at Yars Marina.
So make sure you tune it,
especially if it's your first time.
It's still be a good fun,
even though it's the last one.
Discord link is in the discreppy.
Patreon means you get all episodes
add free and two extra every month.
Top tier gets beer with breaking.
You also get discount on merch
and a birthday shout-out,
which we will be doing at some point
in the next week, I promise.
Late Breaking F1 on all social media.
It's a follow.
This is being video recorded with a camera
so you can see our faces on the yub tubs.
Please subscribe.
We really need the revenue
so we can do this full time, please.
Thanks kindly.
That's it for me.
I have a lovely Vegas.
You're all sleeping well
and we will see you in the next one.
In the meantime, I've been Samuel Sage.
I've been Ben Hawking and I have been Harry Ead.
And remember, keep breaking late.
River Las Vegas.
What first happens in Vegas?
Stayed in Vegas.
Oh, baby.
I'm stopping.
Bye.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
