The Late Braking F1 Podcast - 2023 Qatar GP Qualifying Review

Episode Date: October 6, 2023

Sam takes it solo for a review of what was an unexpectedly eventful qualifying at Lusail International Circuit. He covers all of the session's main talking points including Stroll's woes, Perez + Sain...z Q2 exit, McLaren's double heartbreak, and Verstappen's dominant pole. Tune in tomorrow for our Sprint Review and GP Review as usual on Sunday! FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League BUY our Merch EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk   & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network. Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 Podcast. Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday. And a very warm welcome to the late breaking F1 podcast with me, your host, Samuel Sage. Now, regular Liskers, you might already be thinking they haven't let sad do it all along his own, surely. Well, let is a polite word. Neither of them are here. So I'm free roam.
Starting point is 00:00:46 I'm free to run. Basically, I didn't turn up to the midweek one. I was at another wedding. And if you did listen, you'll have heard that I thought we were going to do a show on the Friday anyway. That apparently wasn't the plan. Harry and Ben have run away together. I believe they're stuck in a lake on a pedalo somewhere.
Starting point is 00:01:02 And I refuse to help them. So you are stuck with me. And I come to you straight after what has turned out to be a drama-filled qualifying session. And I thought it was all going to be quite chilled. I thought, you know, Max Verstappen will. waltz to pole position and sorry to spoil it to your folks, but he has picked up another one. It's 30th career polling Formula One, which, you know, fair play to him.
Starting point is 00:01:25 He's like a belter of a year. But the drama is all over the rest of the circuit. Some key talking points I was talking to chat about before we go into the real topics. Firstly, at one point over the weekend already, Goodthus Steiner has created a gustometer to test the wind because it's so windy out there in Qatar, 42 degrees it was today in the middle of the day. It's just holding a paper cup over the paddock on a bit of string. It feels very late breaking. But I absolutely love it.
Starting point is 00:01:51 We are the pinnacle of motorsport. And that is a brilliant invention. Well done to you. Great to see De Rood's turned up. Pure Sangstorm vibes all over the race track because it's so sandy. But in terms of the actual track action, Ben's work to wonder. Alping, two cars in the top 10. Lank Stroll has had an absolute meltdown.
Starting point is 00:02:09 We're going to be talking about that soon as well. McLaren right at the end of the session after looking at. absolutely rapid from Q1, Q2, and then seemingly Q3 have an absolute nightmare. Valtry Bossas makes it into Q3 for the first time since Hungary. He's only done that twice before, Hungary and Miami. Carlos Sites, Sergio Perez, out in Q2. And now we have two Mercedes on the front row on second and third with Max Verstappen, who was mentioned earlier. Firstly, though, I want to kick off with, as much as there's been so much drama, both at the start and at the end. I actually want to start with Lantz Stroll.
Starting point is 00:02:45 Lankstrol knocked out in Q1. This is the fourth time in a row, and he's only made it into Q3 six times. No podiums to his name, of course. And Fernando Alonkso, who has ended up in Q4 after all the drama today, has never missed Q3. Now, there were some worrying signs coming from Lance Stroll here. So firstly, the performance itself hasn't looked comfortable on that track
Starting point is 00:03:10 for the entire weekend so far. We know they've only had one practice session due to it being a spring weekend and we'll get the shootout tomorrow and then the spring session again on the Saturday as well before the main event on Sunday. But he didn't look good. And some drivers do a brilliant job at being able to grasp the situation and adapt and nail their setup. And you look at the likes of Oscar Piaastri, who's still in his rookie year. And again, we'll get on to what happened to McLaren. But even before that, he just looks so switched on, so ready. Some drivers are really, really struggling against surgery.
Starting point is 00:03:42 Perez not making it through the opposite going ahead. Of course, for Botas, we got into Q3. The two Mercedes guys seem to slowly progress throughout the whole weekend so far. But Lance Stroll didn't look good in practice and has looked terrible, terrible in qualified, being out again. And the first worrying part of me for this is not because he's at his head drop. He gets out of the car, walks into the garage, and his PT's personal trainer approaches him. And we see Lantz kind of duck behind the. the team wall in the back of the garage where cameras don't really get
Starting point is 00:04:15 an off, you know, you don't regularly get a look behind there unless something is planned. And all of a sudden, Lance lashes out at his PT. He physically pushes away, shoves his PT, which I am all for driver passion. Those who are long-term listeners know that realistically, I love a bit of a swear from drivers over the radio. I love when they get, you know, heat in the moment. I love, they go to 200 miles an hour over the radio. Let it out.
Starting point is 00:04:39 Then, you know, show that emotion. You're a competitor and you want the best. I'm all for, you know, letting yourself be wound up and angry. You care about this. But you can't be going around physically assaulting people because you have had a bad day. And realistically, this string of poor performances, as I mentioned earlier, four Q1 eliminations in a row now. I'm pretty certain it's the worst record of all the teams within the top seven or eight.
Starting point is 00:05:07 It might be the worst record other than Logan's sergeant now in terms. of the eliminations. Not good at all, but it's down to him. The car, whilst it was not as good as it was at the start of the season, is still more than capable of fighting at the top end of the midfield and even comfortably getting into Q3s. We're seeing it time after time after time again. And I mean time after time, every time with Fernando Alonkso.
Starting point is 00:05:32 Now, Fernando Alonso is a fierce competitor to have, a fierce teammate to have. People regularly call him the goat. How are he, of course, king of the Fernando Alonso fan, club and champions him rightly so, because the man is, you know, a hatful of talent at 42 years old, still turning out what ending up being a fourth place. Now, I don't think any of us expect Lank Stroll to be beating Fernando Alonkso across a championship, you know, in points, tallies. But the gap between them now is over 100 points between them. And it is going to cost Askin Martin, or he has cost Asken Martin. They're no longer in the fight for second place in the championship,
Starting point is 00:06:06 despite looking so positive. McClaren are rapidly catching them, and it looks like Ashton could drop back to fifth. And arguably, Lance Stroll is the biggest reason for this. If he was able to semi-match what Fernando O'Lonogs was doing, be 20, 30 points behind him, then the conversation would be entirely different for the team. They'd still really be in that fight with Ferrari, Mercedes.
Starting point is 00:06:28 McLaren have a lot more work to catch up to do. But four in a row, pushes his PT, and then we get the interview with Lans after the qualified performance. And I'm going to come down harsh here in months. I don't think this whole setup to other people is fair when it's pretty much entirely him that is responsible for the negative performances. He gives a one word response to how does he think qualifying goes.
Starting point is 00:06:53 I mean, the interviewer surely, surely knows what kind of answer is going to get. But Lance uses an expletive, basically, and says it was bleep. Didn't like it. Don't like it. Don't want to do it again. Ask what he's going to do for the rest of the session. Lance says, I just keep driving. which fair answer, seems logical.
Starting point is 00:07:12 But the question has to come about of, when do Ascom Martin as a team? When does Lawrence stroll, father of Lawrence, step in and realize this is drastically negatively impacting this team? Lance Strong needs to have a whirlwind of a weekend now. He needs to nail it in the shootout tomorrow. He basically gets a second crack at qualifying to hopefully turn something around for some part of his weekend.
Starting point is 00:07:35 In the sprint race itself, he used to do better, getting himself right up behind a long time. so maybe try and beat Alongso. He's only done that a couple of times all season. Spain being the big standout, where I think Alonso for 90% of the laps was driving around waving, is adoring fans.
Starting point is 00:07:49 And then into the main race on Sunday, he's starting all the way at the very back of course. He needs to buck his train, maybe go for a driver, he gets himself a couple of points. And I think that would be a good turnaround. You know, from what, 17th, 18th, for whatever he is,
Starting point is 00:08:03 getting to 9th or 10th. In that car, I think would be a good job. I think you could go, all right, you had a nap Friday. which is weird to say. Isn't that weird? Thank God the other two are here because they would be moaning about it endlessly.
Starting point is 00:08:15 But you've turned it around and you picked up some points. So hopefully he could gather his head. We see an apology about the assault that essentially happened. And again, I'm all for passion, but that is taking it too far. And the chat manages to actually deliver because at the start of the season,
Starting point is 00:08:28 he was such a feel good story. Aston Martin, on the up. He, of course, immediately recovering from breaking his wrist before the preseason, finish his sixth in Bahrain, has another great performance in Jeddah. and the first four or five races, he was really doing well. He was sticking with Fernando.
Starting point is 00:08:44 While Fernando was beating him, he was there or there about. But he's the only driver now inside that top five teams to not have a podium. You've got to remember that Pierre Gazley and Ockon behind them have also both had podium. So really, really disappointing. Let's hope he turns it around quite worrying that it's got to the point now where he's lashing out like this. Someone does need to sit down with him. So let's go on to the chaos that happened at the very end. of qualifying there. And, you know, if you switched off, if you thought, oh, Maxwell Stappers
Starting point is 00:09:13 going up a car before everyone else has even finished their laps and on, what do you mean, I've missed chaos after? What's happened? Well, track limits, sandy tracks, a gusty track with wing-blowing cars all over the place. And of course, the fact that the FIA can't deliver their own penalty system on time during their sessions means that we had silling us, pure But stilling us come the end of qualifying. So, Verstappen's there. He's got pole position. He's out there in the cool down area, getting his weighing, shaking hands, towel on, having a drink.
Starting point is 00:09:46 Great time for him. Dan Don Norris comes round the track, comes over the radio, essentially saying how stupid he is. He's run wide again. He's got some oversteer. He's flicked it back to try and gather the car. The car goes wide. Laptime deleted. And he definitely had the timing to get himself second on the grid.
Starting point is 00:10:03 And realistically, Piastri himself admitted. that he wasn't doing brilliantly either, McLaren are arguably the second fastest car on the grid this time around, quite comfortably. I think they've got the legs on Mercedes, and I think because Ferrari are so wind-sensitive, and I'm not going to wind.
Starting point is 00:10:21 That sounds a bit gaudy. But my point is, Ferrari don't like a gust of wind up the backside. It does send them outside of track limits a lot. And how many mistakes we see both the Claire and science-making, again, science sound in Q2, it costs him dearly, McLaren have by far got the car capability here to nail comfortably a second and third. And if something happens to Verstappel or they get a great run, the wing is on.
Starting point is 00:10:44 There is a chance for victory for McLaren, and they could be the third team this season to take a race victory, of course, after Ferrari digging with Carlos Sines in Singapore. Ben and Harry's bold predictions is that McLaren will win, or in Ben's sake, Norris will win one of the races this weekend, the spring of the main race. So we'll see how much that's going to happen. It's looking less likely. Landon Norris drops from second place to 10th, and Oscar Piastri drops from fourth, I believe, to sixth place after,
Starting point is 00:11:11 essentially, post-qualifying lap time, deleted. Absolutely priceless scenes, because you've got Piastri being interviewed. You know, after we've had Stappan, and then Norris has been removed, and then Piastri's turned up after Russell, and he's gone, I'm a bit confused, not really sure what's going on. And then on the screen comes up, Oscar Piastri, lap time, delete. and he just goes out. Okay, then see you later.
Starting point is 00:11:37 Bye. And now Lewis Hamilton is sadly third. So we've got a Russell Hamilton two, three, right behind Max Westapen, which I'm not going to lie, folks, between you and me, the lot of you that listen. It's actually a big of a shame. I genuinely don't think Mercedes has got what it takes over this weekend to challenge Red Bull in any capacity. I think McClare and might just.
Starting point is 00:11:56 And I think this means that we might, unfortunately, have a slightly more dull affair out the front. Now, for those that listen to the big week, you'll know that I dig a big of a call-in for my bold prediction and said that Max Verstappen will have his most dominant weekend in this season so far for him. You know, he'll take pole position, check. Is he going to take a sprint shootout pole tomorrow? I reckon it's going to happen. We'll take the wing in the spring and probably the championship. And then he will dominate the race on Sunday.
Starting point is 00:12:22 So I'm looking Rosie so far. But it does mean for, you know, us as viewers, it's not going to be a thriller. But Qatar, what do you think of the track? really want to know, listeners, let me know, Discord, late breaking F1 on all social media, or speak to me as well, if you'd like, if you just want to go out, oh, Sam's doing it at a chat with him, Samuel Sage F1 on Twitter and I'm on Instagram as well. Give me a follow, Samuel Sage. Come on, let me know what you think about the track of Qatar, because it's only the second time we've been here. We've got this new surfacing.
Starting point is 00:12:51 The sand was everywhere. The wing was kicking up. It feels like a real driver's track at the moment. It feels like those who are able to get the car around and e-counter performance and nail the limits up to it and not over are the ones who are rewarded. And it is brilliant that we're seeing lap extensions punished properly now. The only thing, of course, it is let us down is that the FIA again are not enforcing this fast enough. And I do think this is going to become a nightmare scenario again through the sprint race and even more so on Sunday in the main event. Do you remember Austria? We had an absolute ton of lap extensions, and they were flying in,
Starting point is 00:13:34 and certain people were getting penalties. Some people had got black and white flags. Some people got stuff after the race. No one knew what the true order was in terms of penalties. Do you remember Landon Norris calling out Lewis Hamilton, who was in front of at the time going, he's extending every lap on this corner. Penalties start rolling in. I do think we could have a repeat here.
Starting point is 00:13:51 The FIA approved time and time again that enforcing their own rules is a night. there for them. They struggle to do it. They can't keep up with the process. And unless they get on top of this and have multiple people weighing in to help them with the evidence and the ordering of what's going on, I think they could very quickly be overwhelmed with this. Speaking of FIA rule sets, and another one that's been brought up in conversation is the fact that we've got this maximum lap time that you're allowed to do around the track. The fact that, you know, both Ferraris came on who were running alternate time strategies. They were going out onto the track, basically,
Starting point is 00:14:28 when no one else was on there. And they were saying it doesn't work because we spend our entire in-lap getting out the way for the cars that have started to come out, that we are so below the delta that we're allowed to be, despite being safe, despite getting out of the way, that it's not enforceable,
Starting point is 00:14:43 because we're not doing anything wrong. And if we put our foot down, we block someone on their lap, or if we don't put our foot down, we're under the delta time. So clearly the system isn't perfect. Clearly it needs working on once again, the FIA found themselves in a bit of a predicament that means that
Starting point is 00:14:56 that means they can't enforce their own rules. Now, we're going to take a really, really quick break. I promise you, and this is going to be a relatively shorter episode because it's just me waffling on, just chatting. So we're going to come back after the break. We're going to talk about Science and Perez being out in Q2. We're going to talk about Hamilton's possibilities of picking up P2 of the championship after what happened with Perez,
Starting point is 00:15:17 and obviously his promotion and qualifying. And we'll obviously get us set up for the rest of the weekend. So stick with me. See off the break. Have a sandwich. And I'll, uh, I'll catch you a jiff. So we're back from the break. I honestly, folks, in qualifying, I was just trying to have a curry. After this wedding, I was absolutely exhaust kid. And we ordering in a curry. I thought, I'm not cooking tonight. There's lovely chicken teak of curry. And I was really just minding my own business and, you know, all this drama's cropped up. And now I'm trying to have a cup of tea while I record this podcast. And honestly, it's going cold. Because I don't see all this talking.
Starting point is 00:16:05 And usually Ben or, well, it's not Harry, is it? Because he's never here. But Ben would usually take over a bit and have a chat or ask me some questions. And I get a chance to have a drink of me drink, which is funny. Sometimes you'll often hear my bottle. This is a live example. You'll hear this a lot. That squeak is my drinks bottle that allows me to stay hydrated because I gnaturong. So what's your chat about?
Starting point is 00:16:29 We are going to go through Sites of Press out in Q2. Hamilton's chances are picking up P2 in the championship. And I also will give a little mention before we go into those two details of Faltry. Bottas. Valdry Bottas and the Alfa Romeo gets into Q3 for only the third time this season. Zhoguan Yu out in Q1, so he's done brilliantly there. And the last few times he gave this were both Hungary and Miami. Now, firstly, I don't think that Alfa Romeo is actually really capable of being in Q3. I think he's outdriven the car. I think he benefiting as well from the lap time deletions. But as I said earlier, you only benefit from the lap time deletions by being good enough to maximize the track. without going outside of those lap times yourself.
Starting point is 00:17:12 And Perez and Sites, who both got the lap times deleted, promoted him into Q3, deservedly so, because he was able to get the lap time without breaking those rules. And it meant that he got a shot at Q3. And because of Norris's failure as well, he isn't P10 either. He's been moved up, I believe, to P9. So Valtry's got a good shot here at picking up points.
Starting point is 00:17:33 I don't know how well that Alfa Mayo is going to do in race trim. If he can maybe get a bit lucky with a safety car, Maybe he could run in the DRS. If he could stay close to those around him, those in front of him, he's around the Alpins, who we know aren't the speediest. There is a chance that Alpha America could pick up some points. And it would, I believe, put Bottas pretty much clear ahead in the teammate wars, which we'll review at the end of the season, of course.
Starting point is 00:17:57 But Botties deserve a shout-out because he does so well, it seems, at these very low-grip tracks. Of course, because of the new surfacing, the sand, the wind, the cars were really struggling to grip up. They were really struggling to maximize lap times. And we saw that a lower cars went out on mediums in their first run in Q1. I had to very quickly comebacking and put on softs because the delta between the two compounds is just wild when the track is this low grip. Now, Bottas has a history of success at low grip tracks.
Starting point is 00:18:25 Miami was already been proven with how he qualified earlier in the season. Hungary is quite regularly a low grip tracking. He did really well there. And if you cast your mind back and you might be new to Formula One, but those who remember, well, he was Lewis Hamilton's teammate. he regularly beat Hamilton at Russia, Sochi, which famously is a really, really low grip track. And he was able to maximize those key areas. Maybe it's a Finnish thing, maybe because they're so good on the rally with the gravel understanding how, you know, willspin works.
Starting point is 00:18:55 Maybe it's all of the DNA and those gorgeous Nordic men just know how to handle a car. But he really does deliver in these slightly extreme scenarios. So props to Bottas, deserve. serves a shout out. Hopefully, him and Alpha Romeo can turn something around properly in the race and really deliver on Sunday. And maybe we'll see something similar in the spring. I will review that again tomorrow on Saturday. I believe at least Ben is back. Never can be too sure with Harry. Right. Let's talk about the real juicy stuff, shall we? Firstly, Sikes and Perez out in Q2. What does this mean? Let's start with Carlos Sikes. Carlos Sites out in Q2. Of course, only won a race, two races ago.
Starting point is 00:19:33 He's been looking pacey, right? You know, I would argue that since, the summer break, he is being the faster Ferrari driver. He's kind of had Charles O'Ker in his pocket, and he's been running the pit wall. But here, he's not able to maximize this. And he thought he had it. He crossed the line in Q2. And he said, have we got it? We've got it. And they kind of said, no, we do not got it. Which is a shame for Sykes, because Lecler gets through and he will have to battle through some traffic. But it appears that the Ferrari is shocking around here. It is not capable of handling strong gusts of winds, especially if they are coming across the car. I think it was turn five and turn six. Almost every lap. They were getting hit with
Starting point is 00:20:16 the crosswind. The car was snapping and then they were having to run off the track. It deleted their lap and they could never get a really solid rapid lap timing. And this, of course, led to science being kicked out in Q2. And LeCler wasn't exactly prosperous in Q3. So it might be a really different difficult weekend for them. After all the success they've had recently and arguably better than Masegis quite consistently, they could lose out massively here, both to Masegis and to McLaren if they don't get it together for the actual point scoring scenarios that we've got coming up in the weekend. The other big name, of course, which I feel like I've talked about too much, and I am sorry to those who are Sergio Perez fans, because it must be so frustrating to constantly hear some negative
Starting point is 00:20:58 comments. But Perez out in Q2 again, he's now, I think, missed 50% of Q3. appearances across the whole season, maybe slightly under. I think this is race 16 and he's not being in Q3 seven times. So yeah, just under 50%. And you can argue that sure, you know, there should be a little bit of forgiveness. And your team mates Matt Stappen, who is a literal god of driving a race car, right? He's one of the greatest we've ever seen at this point. The man is going to keep breaking of all kinds of records. But, but when you can't even get it into Q3, the car seemingly is fine, you know, Max was happy to get out after, he ran wide and he was like, yeah, well, I'm still comfortable anyway, there's no problems. It seems like Perez mentally, especially since the summer
Starting point is 00:21:43 break, I'd argue maybe since Miami, but especially since the summer break and we came back, he has dropped off hugely in form, you know. It's not been a great run for him. And this is looking worse and worse when seemingly Lawson is getting another shot and doing well. Daniel Riccardo, got faith in him to being Alpha Tauri despite not realistically having much of a shot in the car. And actually, I'm going to contradict myself immediately, this multitude of choice for Red Bull and Alpha Tauri in the family that is Red Bull Racing
Starting point is 00:22:19 might be his one saving grace. It might be, you know what, Sergio, whilst you're not impressing us, whilst you might be letting us down, we did win the Constructors title, and we just don't know what option to replace you with because we haven't seen enough of any of them, they might all be better than you, they might not be.
Starting point is 00:22:36 But because we've barely seen them because we've had to chop and change so many times, we actually don't know what the best option is to change anyway. So you're going to get some more time. It might be that that is the case. Because of this, Lewis Hamilton, of course, starts P3. He's been behind George Russell, pretty much the whole weekend so far,
Starting point is 00:22:51 and that was proven again in qualifying, despite being on top spot for Q2. It doesn't mean too much, unfortunately, doesn't set the grid. He was a cut of tense behind again, George Russell. I believe that's now 9-8 in the qualifying record to George Russell, which is no mean-fee.
Starting point is 00:23:05 You've got to remember how many poll positions that Lewis Hamilton has had and how much success he has had on it, in theory, a Saturday, but in this case, the Friday session. So the fact that he's gone 9-8 to Hamilton shows that whilst Russell is not having the best time on race day, on the one-lap pace, he's still smashing it. But points are typically won, apart from a Supreme Race, on a Sunday. And he does just start picking those up. But Hamilton is in contention for P2 in this championship.
Starting point is 00:23:31 I believe it's just 33 points behind Sergio Perez. And if the same happens in terms of performances for the Saturday, for the spring, let's just say Hamilton, I don't know, finishes in fourth. And then in the race, Hamilton finishes in third. He's going to pick up there. I think it's in total it'll be 20 points. If Perez doesn't make up any points, if the traffic is hard, the dirty air affects him, he runs wide, he has an accident.
Starting point is 00:23:54 And to be fair, I think if it was Max Stapling, you go, well, that's not going to happen and make it through. But Perez's performances are skeptical. they're not assured. We don't know if you can pull it all the way through to pick up the strong points again. Lewis Hamilton, with I think what, six races to go, could in theory close that gap to Perez to maybe 10, 12 points, which with how up and down that Mercedes is being, arguably not the second best car and hasn't been since the summer break, that would be a real performance from Hamilton and a real disappointment on the side of Perez. Now, you have to ask yourself, I suppose, Ignoring what Red Bull think, from a Perez only point of view, his personal objectives, his personal goals, didn't pick up P2 in the championship last year.
Starting point is 00:24:40 Shal La Clair, got it. Didn't pick up P2 in the championship in 2021, of course, because that had the hamburgic of a stab and fight, and they lost the Constructors' Championship because of Perez's performances. And this would be a third year in a row where he has not been able to be rung her up to his teammate in any capacity. At what point, mentally, because that go, I just don't have him. to be at this very, very top spot. And what worries me is, if McLaren's threat next year is real, if Ferrari can turn something around, if Mercedes suddenly understand what is wrong with their car,
Starting point is 00:25:11 is Sergio Perez the man that is going to be able to, in the under pressure scenarios, give Red Bull the leg up? Is he going to be able to give them the extra few points that they need to overcome fierce rivalries, these fierce battles that might happen? And week after week after week, I feel the answer is being more and more
Starting point is 00:25:31 compounded to no. Sergio is, by all means, a fantastic racing driver, but he's not a world champion in terms of both future or ability. He is not a consistent race leader and he is not able to regularly draw it out with most of the top drivers. I'm going to be harsh here. You know, I think Verstappen is better. Hamilton is better. Russell is better. Science of Leclera better, Norris is better, Alonso is better. Piastri at the moment is performing better. Of course, we haven't got the longevity of results to see what the difference is between the two over multiple seasons, but currently the outlook looks better for Piastri.
Starting point is 00:26:11 So out of those top teams, the only person worse than Perez, it feels like, is Stroll. And Ashton Martin, the team that are the least threatening so far. So it's a big question for Red Bull. Hamilton has got a P2 potentially on his hands that he could pick up coming of the season if the performances
Starting point is 00:26:29 are still in a slum for Sergio Perez and it's a little bit of a worrying sign you don't want to have one of your big issues as a team be 50% of the side
Starting point is 00:26:39 that could score you your actual points that win you prizes that give you the money that you need at the end of the season so we'll have to see we'll have to see
Starting point is 00:26:46 what the scenes they make if they make any at all how long we've done here 27 28 minutes that's all right in it I'm all on my own I'm a little bit out of breath, I'm a bit tired. I'll tell you what, folks, I am hung over.
Starting point is 00:26:58 Got very, very drunk. I think a lot of dancing. A bit hoarse as well from the singing. I did the whole of Libbiscuit break stuff on my own. I haven't sung that for a while. Still smashed it. I wrong it because that is quite literally in the song. Anyway, I'm going to leave you to it.
Starting point is 00:27:12 Make sure you give Ben and Harry lots of abuse and hate because I haven't turned up and I've done this all on my own for the very first time. And they may never let me do this ever again. We'll be back straight after the sprint race. for another catch-up episode, aren't you all lucky? So please, please, please, do tuning.
Starting point is 00:27:29 But from the three of us, we have had our three, four months in a row had been our best ever. Our audience is getting more and more massive. The live show is obviously at Cota and that's sold out instantaneously. You are making this a career possibility for us.
Starting point is 00:27:45 We are, you know, walking slowly towards doing this full time and it is both mind-boggling and breathtaking and humbling. So thank you, thank you, please get with us. We're back again, well on the Sunday for the Qatar race review and we'll be looking at all things racing,
Starting point is 00:28:00 any drama, what the skewers are doing and of course reviewing our bold predictions where one of us at the end of the season with the lowest amount of points we'll have to give up their Twitter page for the day and the other two could do pretty much within reason. Whatever it is they want. Love you all dearly. Join the Discord for the race weekend if you haven't already and I will hopefully see you with another co-host come the Sprint Review. In the meantime, I'll be a time
Starting point is 00:28:23 and remember, keep breaking late. Really, please, please come back. Podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.