The Late Braking F1 Podcast - 2024 Miami GP Review
Episode Date: May 6, 2024What. A. Race! Ben, Sam & Harry review the spectacle that was the Miami GP, where the McLaren outpaced the Red Bull and Lando Norris secured his FIRST EVER race victory! As well as the momentous resul...t up front, the boys unpack the ample drama that unfolded up and down the field... FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes, historic race reviews & more! JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League: SIGN UP & create your team, and JOIN our league (join code: C3PHEQHPU04) BUY our Merch SEND us something! We have a brand new PO box - address: Late Braking Podcast, PO Box 821, TRURO TR1 9PE EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
Everyone welcome to the late breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Ead, Sam Sage,
and me, Ben Hocking, today reviewing the Miami Grand Prix.
Grand Prix won by Lando Norris,
Lando Norris taking his first win in Formula One
after so many missed opportunities.
Of course, the great news now is that Nick Hydefeld resumes his role as having the most
podiums about a win.
So thank you for that, Lando Norris.
But an epic day for him.
It's been a while.
I think they mentioned on commentary, Sam, 103 races or something like that with McLaren now.
So he's in free figures.
And after so many missed opportunities, it's finally there for him.
It was never an if it's going to happen.
It was always going to be a weng, will it happen?
And it has finally happened.
McLaren fans, I'm sure that.
last 20 lap period for you was horrible.
Even as just a broader F1 fan who doesn't support a driver,
I was tense, I was sat there, taking deep breaths,
having to kind of almost coach Lando through it from the sofa.
I know he can hear me, so it's definitely worth doing.
And yeah, every single lap felt like an eternity.
I'm sure for you guys, for big Lando fans, a McLaren fan,
you must have been sat there really going,
oh, is this going to happen?
Is something bad going to go wrong?
And it didn't.
He's got across the line.
his lovely tribute to his mum, his dad,
it was for his grandma, which is so sweet.
He gave that credit back to the team.
And Fairplayed to McLaren, who brought 10,
10 performance upgrades to Miami.
We weren't sure that this might be the right track to do so,
but it's paid off for them,
and it's culminated in his first ever race victory.
And the first victory for McLaren in a full-length race since Ricardo won in Monsa,
right?
A good couple years ago now.
So it's a fantastic.
return to form. And I think it was Brundle that said this, that last time they're in Miami as a
team, they finished over a minute behind the lead. We come back a year later and they have won
it. Well done Lando. Well done McLaren. British biases in four swing tonight, guys. Oh, the Brits.
No. Oh, God. No, no already. A UTB chant from Harry Ead. Yeah. Back to bed, grandpa.
Back to bed. Take your pills. Yeah. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent race.
all round and not just because
a British driver won it. I actually quite enjoyed that one
and I don't want to enjoy a race
in Miami but I did.
I love how it went
every, went against every
fibre of your being and I enjoy it
but you did in the end. Yeah, I did.
I don't like to enjoy races that aren't the UK
obviously because of Brexit.
Harry's got a ceditin flag
every round every track.
Good.
We've got a lot to talk about
on today's episode.
So we'll be going through our moment of the race a little bit later on.
Our driver of the day, worst driver of the day, that's all coming up.
A few incidents that we want to look at and think if were the penalties or the non-penalties that were applied, correct.
Ferrari finishing third and fourth, Mercedes, finishing sixth and eighth.
But we will naturally start out front with Lando Norris, taking a win over Max Verstappen.
Norris, sixth place in the early goings of this Grand Prix.
eventually though with a safety car meaning that when he stayed out a little bit longer
compared to the others around him he was able to take advantage of that after his pit stop
under the safety car came out in the lead and really after some very early pressure from
Max Verstappen on the first lap it was seemed like fairly fairly easygoing for him Sam
I think easygoing is a very sweeping statement there bench I'm sure that
he sailed off into the distance he was
That's a way for that.
Yes, of course.
It was as easy as, you know, hopping out of bed and make yourself a cup of tea, I'm sure, for Landon Norris.
Yeah, start the Grand Prix when Sergio Perez nearly alerted Co. Brown across all of the southern states of America as he almost took out his teammate.
Lano Norris was heavily affected by this.
He was held up in some of the melee around that.
He got, when Perez rejoined the track, Norris was the one massively affected because I think Perez comes straight back on right in front of Norris,
cause him to have to hop off the throttle, hit the brakes.
Piastri has absolutely taken advantage of this at this point and jumped into third place.
And you think, oh, this isn't gone well, Fernando.
He's the one carrying the new upgrades.
Piascri's only got half of them, which side note shows just how good those upgrades were.
That Piascri was also incredibly competitive until the incident happened with science.
So the car is going in the right direction.
They figured out what wasn't great with their car and they've made the right moves for it.
But Lando, he's raised place like fantastic.
It took a few laps to catch up to Perez.
Perez pulls off into the pits and then he's unleashed.
Lando is able to run through that clean air and boy, does he.
Lando's engineer comes over the radio and says,
we're not going to match Perez with the strategy,
go after science.
And Lando's filled with confidence at this point and says,
you got it, I'm after him, I'll go get him.
And he does, he catches straight up to him again.
Seconds out of the lap times.
He's right up behind him.
Again, pills off into the pit lane.
Lando stays out again.
And you heard over the commentary,
time and time again,
we're waiting for a safety car.
We're waiting for a safety car.
They're all playing for the safety car.
Or Landon Norris did play the safety car and it paid off fantastically.
Job wasn't done.
The restart looked a little bit shaky coming off the line straight away.
It looked like he might have fluffed it.
But no, Miami, tough track to get past.
The tires are scrubbing all over the place.
Landon Norris holds on, pulls out one second over the one lap before the DRS is activated.
And that is all she wrote.
He was sublime.
The speed he pulled out of the McLaren was fantastic.
And we finally seeing it.
How many times have we said, oh, Lando's,
second, but it's 15 seconds clear of everyone else behind him. He would have won if Max
Westapel would have been dominant. He's done it up front. Seven seconds clear from Max
Westappen, who from what we know had no issues with his car. This was a fantastic
performance from him, one that he could pat himself on the back. There was no, you know, oh,
Max broke down and I didn't have a challenger. They plagued their cards perfectly,
and then he executed it brilliantly. It was a great performance.
Harry, what did you make of the way that Lando Norris claimed victory? Because, you,
As mentioned, I think after the safety card peeled in,
we thought that it might not be a slam dunk for Max Verstappen,
but for Lando Norris to extend that gap the way that he did.
How did you view that?
This is maybe a bold claim here.
I think Lando Norris is winning this without the safety car.
I think he's in the fight.
I really think he's in that fight.
When Vastappan pits, he comes out,
he's about 10 seconds behind Norris,
and then it doesn't really move from 10 seconds.
and just before the safety car,
it had actually gone up to like 11.5 seconds.
So Norris is now pulling away on old mediums
versus old hard,
new hards for Vestappen.
And I was thinking,
this is game on here.
Then obviously Kevin Magerson,
the Logan Sargent were playing silly,
silly games and the safety care,
yeah, silly buggers.
And the safety car came out.
And obviously,
who then was game on.
But yeah,
genuine, I think the pace Norris had.
I think he's in,
like you say,
he's in fact,
I think he could have won it anyway.
So it was,
it was, I wasn't, I was confident that he was just going to run away in the, in the, in the style that he did after the safety card, because it's, you know, he's got Max Verstappen behind him.
But I was fairly confident if he could do, do the restart, then he was in with a very good shout of, of holding on. And it wasn't just holding on. He, yeah, he just, he had the legs on Verstappen easily for the remainder of the race and just built, built that gat up, built,
that gap up
lap by lap.
It was very
very impressive.
I know,
I'm sure McLaren fans
were worried,
as you said,
Sam,
for those last 20 laps or so.
But Norris just looked
like he could have done
that all afternoon.
Did not look concerned,
didn't look ragged.
And even on the last lap,
he was still flying around.
It looked like he was not,
you know,
he was taking risks,
but he was just in the groove,
like could have just kept going.
So it was,
it was very assured.
And,
And yeah, no, we've not that there have been question marks over Norris, but there have been a few occasions where opportunities have arisen for him to take a winner or a poll position.
And there's been a mistake or a bad, bad call made.
But not today.
Any qualms about that are certainly gone.
So because he was, yeah, he was just, it looked very Vastappanesque, which is pretty the biggest compliment I can give him.
I think that's fair.
And similar to the point you were making there, obviously the moment of Lando Norris, obviously the moment of Lando
winning was pretty epic and that's not any that's not British bias that's just a new winner
winning in F1 is an epic moment for whoever achieves it um but actually for me everything that
preceded that was brilliant as well I thought before the safety car came out it was a great race
and I actually agree with what you said Harry in that I think the race would have been just as good
without the safety car I think the end of that race was shaping up really well to the point where
I think Lando Norris would have been in that fight with Max Verstappen,
and I wouldn't have been surprised if he was a couple of seconds behind
with five laps to go or something along those lines.
And in a weird way, and because I don't necessarily just look at the result of a race
and say how exciting it was, I think there was a version of events where Vestappan wins that
race with no safety car by half a second over Lando Norris,
with Norris chasing him down in the last few laps,
that would have been just as exciting as what we saw with Lando Norris.
taking his first win.
Genuinely believe that.
It was,
I thought it was an epic race
that could have gone either way
if it weren't for that safety car.
Lando Norris put in an excellent performance.
I think,
you know,
in the early stages,
he was biding his time,
I think,
just behind Sergio Perez
because he was about a second and a half
off of Sergio Perez
for a good chunk of that first in.
And then all of a sudden,
he just,
he went, right?
And then Sergio Perez peels into the pits.
And you could tell by the confidence,
where he was five seconds or so behind Carlos Sines
when Perez came into the pits.
At that point,
I think in most races,
if you'd have asked him,
let's go on,
catch up to Carlos Sines.
He'd have gone with something like,
I'll do my best or I'll try.
I'll start burning the laps.
He was confident at that point.
He was like,
yeah,
let's go get him.
At that point,
I thought,
okay,
this guy's got some serious pace out here.
And you're right,
how he performed on those hard,
old medium tires versus the new hard tires.
I do think the medium tire had a weird advantage over the hard tire today,
but he was excellent.
And I actually think he would have extended that stint even further
if the safety car hadn't have come out.
So, yeah, really excellent performance.
And I wasn't going to say this, but I am going to say this.
Thank God it wasn't a sprint, man.
Thank God he came his first win like this.
Because I don't know.
it just wouldn't have been as epic.
So that was great.
I made the comment a few,
maybe a couple of months ago now,
that, you know,
when you hear race wings now,
and there's no disrespect to Max Verstappen,
he's a legend of the game at this point,
and he's superb at what he does.
But when someone wings that often over and over again,
you know, the whole, you know,
that was simply lovely,
we had a lovely time, thanks all.
You kind of get a bit like,
all right, yeah, what does it mean?
But when you see someone win their first Grand Prix,
especially after what Lando's gone through,
how many, you know, near misses he's had,
and that elation and the crying and the, you know, the crowd surfing with his team
and the screaming through the garage.
You know, the Lando, Lando.
That was honestly, if I or not, you've got a smile.
And you saw that other drivers coming up to him.
Max was grinning here to wear.
You saw Russell, Ricardo and others Alonso coming over,
slapping him on the back, giving him a hug.
It was a real wing of a day for Formula One today,
having something like this, having a story like this.
And you know what? Miami will benefit.
Because Miami as a racetrack has taken a lot of slack from us and rightfully so.
But it was almost a perfect storm at Miami.
The track grip was confusing.
It was very difficult to get it just right for each driver.
The tires were scrubbing and sliding all over the place.
And overtaking seemed really, really difficult due to the tailwind that they were receiving.
DRS did not seem particularly potent, which is perfect.
You want to just give a little bit extra so you might have a chance at a lunge.
And we saw near misses.
We saw slight collisions.
We saw great overtakes being made in unorthodox places.
You look at how LeCler got past a couple of people,
how Hamilton got past Sonoda through the Mickey Mouse section halfway around the track.
This racetrack today delivered a sublime race.
And so you're right, even without Norris may be winning,
even without the safety car,
we were having a sensational Grand Prix today.
It really was one of the best Grand Prix we've seen this season.
Maybe it was the best Grand Prix we've seen this season.
I need some more time to soak it in.
But it was a really great grand prix.
really good race day for Formula One and it needed it, I think.
How much did F1 need that today, Harry?
F1 and Miami were my under pressures for this weekend and they've delivered.
You've called it.
Thank you, F1, thank you, Miami.
Yeah, look, F1, that was my point really ahead of the weekend.
We needed this weekend.
I'm not saying this was an all-time belter,
but in the context of the season and I guess the last year or so,
we just needed, we needed that, that variety and I thought, and, and I think the most important thing was this wasn't a, and as you made this point earlier, Sam, this wasn't a, oh, Max for Staffen retired or, uh, it was, like Singapore last year, I know that was a, it was a normal dry race, but the Red Bull had zero pace that weekend, like it was just a weird anomaly. Um, no retirements out front. Exactly. This, this was, this was just a, a race where Red Bull were, were outpace.
best happen was outpaced, which we've not seen for, but I don't know, since 2020, maybe, or
certainly for a Red Bull.
Yeah, Brazil 22.
That's probably as far back as you need to go.
So it's been, it's been a while and it's that sort of race F1 needed.
And also, it's been a bonus for the fact that we've got a first time race winner out of it.
So, yeah, well done.
I mean, well done.
There's not, no one's done this.
Well done events.
Yeah, what's an event for generating this one?
Bernie Eccleston, back at it with the script.
Yeah, we were only missing the sprinklers coming up.
Should we give out a driver of the day?
Although this might be a bit of a clean sweep, Sam?
Yeah, there were some honourable mentions.
I think it's quite obvious where we're going with this,
but let's shout them out first.
I think that Lewis Hamilton had probably had his best race day this season.
clung on to the back of that Red Bull
like Spider-Man hanging on to that train
during the film. He was not letting go
of it and bless him, it was really pulling him
along. Really, really good from him.
Yuki Sanoda did a brilliant job.
Played the safety car brilliantly.
Held on in front of George Russell.
Great points, especially considering
that we were considering how far off he was
to Daniel Ricardo over the sprint period
this weekend.
Holkerberg did really well, but Ocon,
we're going to talk about him later as well.
Scores first points for Alpine.
Fantastic news for Alpine.
brought upgrades. They finally met the weight limit.
Score a point. Well done, SD.
You've done it. And I'm behind on teammate wars, but you deserve the credit.
So well done you.
But I'm going to give it, obviously, to Lando, who has blowing us all away this weekend.
The signs looked like they were there at the start of the weekend.
And he delivered when it mattered. So well done to Lando.
From my side, same shoutouts.
Yuki Sonoda was great. Both Alpines, I thought, were very good.
but Lano Norris was
was my driver of the day.
Harry?
Three.
Yeah, the same.
I agree with all your shouts as well.
I know I'm head of the fan club,
but I'd also shout Walanzo in there again
because I don't think that car deserved any points today,
but, you know, easily,
easily Norris for me.
Worst driver of the day, Sam.
Oh, we've got equally
when you have a lot of good,
sometimes you get a lot of bad.
And there were a few that I was struggling with,
he they commented how
that must have been a really bad point
so bad he's been muted by technology
well I'm back you little
Lewis Hamilton
I keep pulling out my microphone
this is something I've got to sort out
he's clearly heard me and gone
I'll have a go at that little weasel
but yeah you can't rack off that many penalties
and take out another driver again
and just carry on circulating so yeah
Kani and I, you were not good this weekend.
But I love it. I love the drama.
He's my driver of the weekend, if that was an option.
That's a contrast.
What about you, Harry?
Worst driver, I'll go for Alex Albon.
I don't think he's very good today, was he?
You're going to break for that, that corner at the end.
Goodness me, that's a lockup.
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
But, I mean, all weekend, to be honest,
he hasn't looked particularly punchy,
even versus sergeant.
So I'll go for our one.
It's not a massive dig on him
because I don't think the Williams
was particularly excellent anyway,
but it's a bit scrappy.
You know how sometimes
the worst driver of the day
you struggle to come up with one
and then you might just be able to find one driver
or maybe two drivers?
I genuinely think there are about seven drivers today
that weren't as good as what I thought they could have been.
I thought Sergio Perez was poor.
I thought George Russell underwhelmed.
I thought Alex Albin underwhelmed that you've already said, Harry.
Daniel Ricardo, at least if we're looking at the race itself, made no impression whatsoever.
I have, and we'll discuss the incident a little bit later on in the show,
I have also gone with Kevin Magnuson because if he hadn't had that crash, let's put that to one side,
it was still an awful race for him.
he was really nowhere near where he needed to be
and obviously Nicolkulke-Holkberg is fighting
in and around the points
so I have gone for Magnuson
Big brain strap Sam
I was just gonna
I've played none of the jingles
do want to play this one on there
yeah one out of three is not bad let's go over that
so well let's give a 30%
what it's not even raining now
what are you talking about
at least it's the best one
yeah that's true
what was your big brain strat?
Sam?
I think there were surprisingly
quite a few options
in this one
and I won't spoil any other
so I'm just going to pick my one
but I wrote it down quite early
and it was the awful Ferrari dummy
when they go...
This might be all three of ours
because I don't see how it can be anything else.
It's so funny!
It's the most office-esque pit stop dummy.
Oh, do we need to go out?
He's already gone past the entrance.
He's come and gone.
It was so much.
bad, so badly done.
It just really made me how
with laughter the way they kind of all half walked out
with tires, but even in their hands. I was like,
yeah, you've, you've fought but clare on with that
one, guys. So that was my big brain strap.
Harry? I can't look past that.
That was the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen in my life.
Box opposite to Piastri.
Even the, I mean, I know Crofty gets confused
at the best of times. Side note, can we talk about
Crofty at some point later today?
I don't know if I'm going to be.
But yeah, Crofton gets confused at the best of times.
And when it said a box opposite to Piastri,
and then he's like, Piaastrius gone through.
And there's a pause.
And he went, yeah, yeah.
And so is Lecler.
Okay.
Terrible, terrible dummy.
Maybe it's so, such a good dummy,
such a bad dummy, it's good.
I don't know.
But Ferrari, come on.
They went, do you remember that one with the playbook?
We should try it.
and then they've just never executing it before.
Excellent work.
I have to offer some variety.
So I'm going to go with Salba.
Like every team going,
hmm, we like medium and hard tires.
And Salba being like, nah, softs.
No one else,
apart from the late pit stop for the likes of Alex album.
But yeah,
they committed to the soft tire early on for Valtry Bottas,
which didn't work.
and then they put Joe Guan Yu on the soft tire
towards the end of the race,
which equally,
he was all right, actually,
but it faded towards the end.
So, yeah, fair place, Alba.
Can we also talk about the McLaren double lap
with the safety car?
Because that, one was confusing
because the safety car obviously didn't pick up the leader, right?
But it felt very intentional from McLaren to go,
go again, try and confuse the system.
And if that was intentional, 100% intentional,
quite big brain, I thought.
What do they, I don't understand.
So the safety car picked up the wrong pack, didn't it?
Yeah, it's a pit up for stopping.
Yeah, because Lando also didn't come in on the lap
and straight after the safety car was called.
The flag came out for safety car.
Oh, I thought he came on a lot of that lap.
Stayed out another lap and then went in,
which meant that he actually had a much bigger gap.
He had an 11 second gap.
He had a 30 second gap back to the pack,
which meant that his pit stop was, you know,
you can have a Valdry Bottas-esque pit stop
and still come out in front.
If it was intentional,
Blinder.
Yeah, rate that, if that was intentional.
I did enjoy David Croft thinking that Landon Norris was now going to be a lap ahead of the field.
He really was adamant that Landau was going to have one lap clear.
Yeah, that was interesting.
Right, let's take our first break on this episode.
On the other side, we're going to be chatting Ferrari, Mercedes and Sergio Perez.
Hey, welcome back, everyone.
As you'd have heard before, we went to our last break.
We were talking about our driver of the day and worst driver of the day.
There'll be plenty more of that chat on our Power Rankings episode on Patreon.
The link is in the description.
We'll be recording it tomorrow as we record this.
So I imagine how much happened there's probably going to be some disagreements
across the three of us.
We'll be scoring each driver out of 10.
Let's go on to Ferrari.
They started 2.3 and they ended 3-4, which doesn't sound great,
but equally they've done far worse in the past.
So they at least got one car on the podium.
What did you make of their Grand Prix, Sam?
Because I mistakenly said, I did my classic nearly being right yesterday
by saying I actually thought Max Verstappan was going to be vulnerable.
I said the wrong team they'd be vulnerable too.
Did you think they were going to offer a little bit more?
Yeah.
You caused me flashbacks there of the coveted Ferrari 5-6
that they pulled out of Hungary a couple of years ago,
which was a great result for them.
I imagine if you've said to Ferrari, you're going to start two, three, but you'll finish three, four.
And they'll go, oh, I imagine Perez has got back through, right?
Red Bull 1, 2.
And they probably go, yeah, okay, we can settle for that, we understand.
But that's not the case.
Not only did you not get beaten by both Red Bulls, one was still behind you, and you got beaten by Macquarum instead.
That Maclaren went on to win the Grand Prix.
Now, I don't think this was a case of Ferrari should have been fighting with Landon Norris the entire time at the front.
Because I do think that those upgrades that McLaren brought were incredibly effective.
I thought they got the job done.
They were a great step forward, mechanically and aerodynamically, for McLaren.
Well done.
Brilliant job.
So I do think the Ferrari overall was a slower race car than McLaren.
Now, what I did think they could offer was a closer fight with the battle that happened
throughout the Grand Prix strategically.
It kind of felt like they were caught a little bit in getting stuck behind certain cars,
and not knowing when the right lap to box was, you know, the whole weird dummy that they pulled off.
It felt like they were trying to be very, very reactive.
and they weren't running their own race.
And then when they finally did bring the likes of Leclerc in,
he gets stuck behind Sonoda and that group at the back of the points area.
And that's tricky for him to get through.
Russell is also in the area as well with one of the pits.
Perez falls into the same trap.
We'll talk about him later.
It just felt like at every turn, they were never at 100%.
They never executed something perfectly, fluidly,
to the point where they go, yeah, we've smashed that.
We're ahead of the game.
They were always on the back foot.
And so I don't think they were going to always.
win that Grand Prix. And I don't really think they were going to beat Max Verstappen,
but I thought they could put up a bit more of a challenge. So overall, three, four, solid result.
I think they could be relatively happy with it. And LeCler said, after not having any practice
and only doing three laps in qualifying, picking up a podium, not too shabby, really.
But I'm sure they'll go winging our upgrades to work over the next couple of races when we
bring them in, because now we've got to take a big step forward. It's not just Red Bull
we need to catch. Harry, how to Ferrari view this one?
yeah like you say it was
I don't think they can be really massively disappointed
but also
yeah the McLaren coming past them
and then winning the races
that's got to hurt a little bit
because clearly the Red Bull was vulnerable today
but they just they were just
yeah with them with it the whole time
but just never could do enough about it
yeah the pace wasn't awful
it was it was good
it was pretty pretty good all round
but just there's no much more they seem to
they couldn't just push that extra
extra bit more that Norris could do
for example to be quicker
than quicker than Vastappan so
yeah I guess encouraged by the fact that it was
pretty solid but
yeah I guess I'll be hoping for
they've got over grades coming for Imala no
yeah I guess I'll be hoping that that
does what
it did for McLaren in the same
in the same in the same in the same vein because
Ferrari were close today
but just not
not close enough.
So yeah, on the face of it, obviously,
converting a 23 to a 3,
two, three, two, a three, four doesn't seem brilliant,
but I don't think it was a terrible afternoon for them.
Yeah, it was a bit of an odd one.
You're right, because it certainly wasn't a terrible afternoon for them,
but equally,
they can't go away from this weekend completely happy.
I think a combination of Leclair and Sines
might have been able to put up a fight,
because certainly in that first thing,
I was really surprised at how slow Shale LeClau was
at the beginning of the first stint.
Based on the sprint race,
I thought he'd be able to somewhat keep up with Max Verstappen.
Instead, obviously, Piastri has the pace to get by him.
And then Shao LaCla, as soon as he'd kind of recovered that,
seemed to have all right pace.
But at that point, he stuck behind Piastri
and can't really do a great deal.
Similarly with Carlos Sines,
he was pretty quick in the first few laps of the race,
the point where there was an active discussion
on whether they were going to let him buy
or not, but actually once they got settled into their rhythms, it was Lecler that was quite
confidently better and signs dropped back by a few seconds. So it never felt like both cars were
operating, I don't know, operating at their best at the same time. And it was nearly,
yeah, it was nearly there, just not quite. So, look, I think based on, yeah, based on 27 points,
at least from the race itself, fine sprint race as well for Leclair.
So, you know, I think it is an okay weekend points-wise.
They do need to look out for McLaren.
It's still very early in the season.
McLaren have done a good job of being consistent across the first few races
to the point where if their upgrades are not just Miami-specific
and they do actually work everywhere else,
that gap could become, you know, that gap could come down very quickly.
So they are going to be hoping their upgrades work in Imala.
but yeah, I think overall they'll come away from this weekend going fine, sure, we'll take it.
Still the second top scoring team, weren't they?
Still score more points than McLaren as a constructor.
Only one less than Red Bull.
It's, you know, I think 28 in total for Red Bull, 27 for Ferrari, 25 for McLaren.
So, yeah, no glory.
But when you look at the points tally, they pull ahead of McLaren.
And at the end of the day, that's what matters.
I think we're seeing a symptom of them not being a fully succinct built team.
and that is the crux of Formula One.
You're two individuals fighting for one team.
Science isn't really a part of that team right now.
And I do think that's where some of the hesitancy is about letting science pass,
Lecler, to go team orders, swap over your faster right now.
We'll give it back later.
In the same way that we heard McLaren come over the radio and go Piastri,
do not cause a safety car right now because Lando could win this.
And that'll be your fault if it gets brought back to the egg.
That's the kind of team orders you would expect when your team is won.
and you're aiming for the same goal.
So, yeah, it's a difficult time at Ferrari,
but I think they'll walk away with this going,
it could have been much worse for us.
What did you make, Sergio Perez's race, Harry?
Pretty bad, no.
Wasn't great out there.
That noise is a great encompassing of what we thought.
I enjoyed his attempt to recreate
Lewis Hilton's term one from the sprint.
A great effort, and I think he did a better job.
Yeah, yeah.
He just didn't hear anyone, but he gave it a good, good old go, didn't they?
Yeah, that was, that wasn't, it was a scrappy start from, from him, but, yeah, I know the rebel clearly wasn't at its dominant best today.
But even so, he just, he just seemed to be defending from people all afternoon.
It was just for, it would just be with someone else.
It was a Ferrari, it was a, it was a, it was a McLaren in Piastri.
it was,
sorry,
McLaren in Norris,
wasn't it?
Apologies.
And then it was,
and then it was Hamilton
towards the end.
Obviously he kept Hamilton behind.
But yeah,
his pace just didn't seem,
just didn't seem particularly good.
And maybe again,
that's that natural gap
we talk about
between Vistapin and Perez.
And maybe that's acceptable.
It just seems,
it just seemed,
yeah,
it didn't seem like a great day,
a great day for Perez out there.
Yeah, I don't know how much
will be picked up on,
given that Vestappen
didn't win the race.
I think that pretty helps his case on that one,
but it wasn't a great day.
Yeah, it wasn't.
And I mentioned him as a close contender
for worst driver of the day.
I feel like this result and this race,
it's got me more disappointed in him than others.
Because him being fifth place is hardly the first time
that that's happened.
I really felt like there was more on the table for him,
and I think it's a missed opportunity.
Vestappen was, you know, for whatever reason,
and he wasn't the only one,
he was not at one with a car this weekend.
And I feel it would have been a real opportunity
for him to challenge for Stappen,
and he wasn't up to it.
And actually, the way the race unfolded,
you've already mentioned turn one and what happened there,
the way the race unfolded was pretty good for Perez.
He obviously came in quite early for his first pit stop,
went on to the hard tire.
And again, for whatever reason,
the medium tire, at least in my opinion,
medium tire was far better than the hard tire today.
the Norris versus Vestappen, old medium versus New Hard,
proved that, at least from my perspective.
So for Perez to essentially be given the safety car pit stop,
he two stopped versus others,
and to go back on that medium tire,
he's the only car in like the top,
I can't remember how far it went down,
but he's the only real contender who's on the medium tire
for that last stint.
I was thinking at that point, okay,
you have a real, you can stay on the back of the cars
in front of you and make some moves here.
That is open to you.
And he just did not have the pace.
At no point in that Grand Prix
did he look convinced in terms of the pace he had.
Even though it's a fifth place, 10 points,
it's still a solid result.
I just felt more than usual
there was more on the table for him.
What do you think, Sam?
Yeah, I think what really highlights
is how poor performance this was for Sergio Perez.
And he needs to be careful.
This is kind of, he's like a couple of these crop up now
over the last couple of races
where he has seemingly dropped back off that front row pace that the Stapper is still able to demonstrate
despite the car not being 100% happy with where he's got it.
But after the safety car, you've got Sergei Perez and you've got Lewis Hamilton on exactly the same set of tyres.
And Hamilton's medium tyres are five laps older than Sergio Perez's.
And you think, okay, that Mercedes is far worse.
We know it's far worse than that Red Bull.
And Lewis Hamilton's tires are older.
It took about 18 or 19 laps for Sergei Perez to break.
the DRS from Lewis Hamilton.
It took him so long.
And they only ended up finishing the race a couple of seconds apart.
And I don't think that the red,
I think the red ball is better than that.
And I think the Mercedes-Hamilton was having a Grand Prix.
I think he stood out from the crowd a little bit.
Sergei Perez was underdriving that car.
He was not demonstrating the pace.
All the events, as you mentioned, Ben went in his way.
The safety car came at the right time.
He was already quite far behind them,
but this saved him.
went on to the right tire,
right up behind rivals who are slower than him,
had a slower rival behind
that realistically wasn't going to threaten him,
and he ends up sticking to the car behind him
who is so much slower and struggled in every area
and he can't shake him.
It's very disappointing.
And this is, especially at a track that he did really,
really well out last year,
of course, starting in front of Stauffin,
finished second place.
Obviously, that was demoralising for him,
but the result was still good.
This is not a good turn of form.
These are the kind of races
that we actually expected Paris could do Welling
if he was going to continue to excel in the championship this year,
it's got to be careful.
He needs to start finding those results from elsewhere
if his safety tracks aren't going to deliver
in the way they did previously for him.
What about Mercedes, Harry?
So it seemed to get better as the weekend went on,
but it's still obviously just sixth and eighth
at the end of the day.
What did you make of their performance?
Again, just no idea why they don't know
what that car is doing any of the time.
Russell, obviously, he got caught out a bit at the start with the melee at the starts.
He ends up behind Hamilton, which, from their strategy, him being on medium and Hamilton and hard,
was kind of the wrong way around for them almost to be in that order.
But it is what it is on that one.
But, yeah, his pace, Russell's pace wasn't particularly great.
Hamilton struggled at first on the hard ties, then once again got embroiled in a battle with a
house because that's what he does in Miami, apparently.
it's the only way he knows how to operate.
Obviously, he got past Holkenberg in the end.
Got to say, Hamilton's pace at the end of the race
after the safety car was very good.
His little move around Yuki Sonoda,
saucy.
That was lovely.
Lovely.
I know Piastria damaged,
but the commitments just go,
I'll go around the outside of you as well.
Like, it didn't need to do that there and there.
And he just chucks it around.
Suddenly bravery in Lewis Hamilton.
Yeah.
So Hamilton's pace at the end,
the car seemed to come alive
for a minute and Hamilton was on it and obviously like we said he was chasing Perez and
look quicker than Perez just obviously couldn't get past him because the Mercedes only does
about 20 miles an hour in a straight line anymore so uh that's a shame for him but yeah a sort of
just a tale of their current woes in that it's sometimes the car is absolute garbage and sometimes
it just comes alive and and works for them but by the time that happened.
it's too late.
A similar story for them both in
in Suzuki,
wasn't it?
They were so bad in that first stint
on the hard tire in Suzuki.
And then it came alive
in the second half of the race
and they were,
you know,
on the pace with the guys
that were on the podium.
So,
and Hamilton was that,
it was the same story
for Hamilton again today.
I think he could have,
had he been a bit further
up the field with the pace he had.
He might well have been
possibly on that podium.
So just,
yeah,
it's just,
a tale of where they are at the moment, to be honest.
Yeah. From Russell's perspective, like you say,
he was caught up in the first corner incident.
So that was unlucky on his part.
Having said that, it was another,
he's had a few of these,
just anonymous races this year, George Russell.
Made no impression on Yuki Sonoda whatsoever,
which I was surprised that.
I thought it's down the back of him.
But really, that gap opened up and just,
I was going to say,
stayed the same, but I think it just ended up growing.
So he was a bit anonymous.
Lewis Hamilton, yeah, it was a weird weekend for him.
Whereas George Russell was pretty anonymous in the race.
Lewis Hamilton was, he was definitely there, good and bad.
Certainly the letting Nika Holcombberg back through with that incident was sloppy.
But the rest of the race, I thought, was pretty good from his perspective.
And yeah, I think if the car was set up slightly better and he was able to get past Sergio
Paris because he definitely had the pace to get by.
then maybe he makes an impression on the cars in front.
We will never know.
But hey, I mean, you've got to set up your car, right, Mercedes.
So, yeah, do that maybe.
Overrated.
Yeah.
What do you think, Sam?
Yeah, Russell, go to get the face today.
Got caught up at that me, as you all said.
But I would have expected, arguably on the better tire,
for him to make more of an impression on Lewis Hamilton
and the cars around him at the start of that grope.
You saw how much Fernando Alonso strolled to switch on that,
hard tire at the beginning of the strategy.
Lewis Hamilton didn't really seem to have that much for a problem.
Yes, he got caught up behind the hearse.
And as you both mentioned, he makes the sloppy mistake of locking the brakes and letting
Holgerberg straight back through.
Entirely a him thing.
But it was always Hamilton was on the attack.
Hamilton was always the one pressuring someone in front.
It never felt like Hamilton was struggling with someone coming from behind him and
had the option to be overtaking himself.
And he's starting on that hard tire.
Russell started on the medium tie with cars around him.
couldn't get past the RB,
couldn't get anywhere near the hear the hearth
for a long time.
And then once all the traffic did clear
and those two were running together,
the gap just was slow,
but it slowly grew.
It was about a second and a half for a while,
then it moved up to two seconds,
and then it got to two and a half seconds.
Russell just, this Grand Prix
never had the pace on Lewis Hamilton today.
So interesting to see that
how it ebs and flows.
And I do think it's set up related.
I do think those two just don't know
what they're doing with the car at the moment
because it's such a beat to control
that one of them will,
do something, it will happen to work. Oh, this is good. The other one would not do that because
they'll go, we'll try something different. And it will be horrible. And they'll just suffer with it
for the entire Grand Prix. And then I just don't think they know what the cause and solution is in this
scenario. But you're right. This is where Mercedes are. They're the fourth fastest car.
They maximised the fourth fastest car, I guess, today. Sixth and eight was arguably as good as
that car can get. I may be seventh. She'll have been on the cars for Russell. But Sonola out drove him.
I think it was a great drive.
This next segment could get ugly, folks.
We're going to review our bold predictions.
Let's start with Sam Sage, shall we?
How many red flags did you say they were going to be?
So I said there were going to be three red flags across competitive sessions.
How many did you count?
In the Porsche races, there were two.
Cool.
There were none.
I love to disclaimer where you're still not right.
That's brilliant.
Oh, yeah.
I was close.
Yeah.
If I lied and cheated, I'm still wrong.
I'm so annoyed at my one.
I'm so annoyed.
Again.
It's happened again.
Ridiculous.
I said that both R.B.
Minardi drivers would score points in the main race.
You know, the one where 10 drivers score points.
Unfortunately, only Yuki Sonona did, so I'm wrong.
But of course, they both scored in the sprint race where only eight position score points.
But I very much clarified, I meant the main race.
So I am annoyingly wrong.
Harry wasn't here for his bold prediction, but he did send his in.
His bold prediction was that Salba would do a pit stop of under three seconds,
which myself and Sam challenged.
You slated.
Slated.
I haven't got all of the pit stop times, but
Joe Guan Yu, at least one of his pit stops, 2.7 seconds,
which is under three seconds.
Hey, I'm at the mercy of what you decide.
So, but, you know, should have put it to a Discord poll.
If Sam can have Daniel Ricardo scoring a point in China,
I did challenge that to be fair.
He did challenge that to be fair
But it was allowed
I can't let this one go
Harry Ead
Don't care mate
Don't care
You're in Dreamlands
You must still be napping sunshine
I wish I was you know what I'm happy for you to have this
Because that will mean that Sam has one point
Harry has one point
And I have no points
And I just need some motivation
To actually get one of these correct
So I feel like
Something's got to break my bad streak
that might be it. That's the incentive I need.
Discord army. Rise up. Defend us. Please.
This is a 1-0 and then another TBC 1 is where we're out there.
One-half a nil.
Discord support us.
Let's go to our next break.
On the other side, we're going to be stewards.
We're going to have a look at a couple of incidents
and determine what we think should have happened.
Welcome back. Action-packed Grand Prix.
meant that the stewards had a few things to work out today.
Let's have a look at a couple of them.
Kevin Magnuson and Logan Sargent, of course,
the incident that brought out the safety car that turned the race on its head.
Logan Sargent out on the spot,
Kevin Magnuson picking up another penalty.
Sorry, well, another penalty, another penalties, plural.
Man is collecting them like top trumps at this point.
Kevin Magnuson essentially trying to go up the east.
inside of Logan Sargent, they have contact.
Sam, the 10-second penalty applied to Kevin Magnuson.
Is that how you saw it as well?
I was really unsure on this one.
And initially, I thought Logan's sergeant was at fault.
He didn't check to see if a car was alongside him.
Kevin Magnuson seemingly had his two front wheels, his front axle,
ahead of Logan's rear axle.
So he was comfortably halfway alongside.
But he was the attacking vehicle, so to speak.
and I believe that the onus is on the attacking vehicle to be the one to be sensible,
to be safe, to make sure the move is done effectively.
You know, the only exception to that is if you see someone, you know, weaving in the braking
zone or something like that.
But Logan Sargent had the move done.
He was on the racing line.
And it's a very unorthodox place to overtake.
Not saying that means you shouldn't and you should not get penalized for that.
But you've got to be very aware of what's around you when you defend or overtake in those
scenarios.
I do think overall KMAG shouldn't.
stuck his nose in there and was trying to be a little bit advantageous and they ended up
ruining someone's race. So contact, I think, was initiated by KMAG. I think he'll be more
patient. So yes, I think 10 seconds for that incident ended up being correct. Fair penalty, Harry?
I don't know anymore. I just don't. I cannot fathom what the stewards deem. What's their
criteria for a 10 second penalty anymore because I agree.
I think he deserves the penalty.
Sargent, to be fair, I know it's not necessarily up to him to jump out the way,
but maybe he could have in circumspect.
If, you know, looking back on this,
he probably could have given a little bit more room because considering they were
having a battle into that corner.
But Kama was the one that, as you say, Sam stuck his nose in.
But I don't know what he did there is as, as is bad as some of the stuff he did yesterday in
the sprint race.
but he still got the same amount of, like the same penalties for, for things he was, he was
doing there, which were, were more blatant and unsportsman like this.
This was a 50-50.
And I, yeah, I don't agree.
I don't disagree with the penalty, as in, I don't disagree with the fact that a penalty
was given.
I think I disagree with the amount of time that was given to him.
So, yeah, I don't know.
Stewards just making it up as they go along.
question for the board of race stewards.
Equally here,
comparing it to a penalty that happened in China,
which has been spoken about a lot
as they were trying to rescind it,
alongside science, right?
Wheel to wheel bang,
10th to second penalty,
penalty points awarded.
That, I would argue,
was less intrusive,
right?
It's a wheel-to-wheel racing
against around the corner.
This was essentially a T-boning.
What, has he got penalty points for this?
I may have missed it.
That's why I'm asking.
but otherwise it's a smaller penalty.
But even with the penalty points aside,
how is that the same,
how is that the same on-track penalty
for the Alonzo signs one?
There's this one here.
I don't, I just, again, I don't, I don't.
We need to come up with some kind of thing.
Sorry to use a British, European footballing reference, Americans,
if you're unsure, we have red cards and yellow cards,
and maybe we need something like that,
that one type of contact is deemed a yellow card,
which is equal to X amount of time,
and another level of contact,
is deemed as a red card, which is deemed
as X amount of time. Then that way you can have
several scenarios that fit under the
umbrella of yellow card, red card. I don't know, maybe that's
a way to make it more clear, because you're right, Harry,
why is one contact better or worse, or what does it mean until we're sold?
And also, we spoke about this last year.
There's a real of Ben doing that, talking about this.
Stuart Dean last year just kept giving up five second penalties.
They decided this year, they're going to do tens instead.
Well, all tens.
You can do both. Yeah.
You don't have to.
Don't have to just do one time.
You can do different times.
I'm on the other side of this.
I think Logan Sargent was a fault for this.
I think Magnuson was fully entitled to space there.
I think Logan Sargent, you're right.
He's on the inside defending into term one, but goes quite deep.
To the point where Kevin Magnuson is alongside him
as they're going through almost the corner before they crash,
where there's the curbing on the left-hand side.
They are pretty much side-by-side at that point.
There's a good two seconds.
where Magnuson is side by side, at least in terms of my definition,
a side by side, where Logan Sargent should have seen him there.
And of course, Logan Sargent, it wasn't a conscious decision to cut him off.
He thinks he's not there.
But equally, I think that's just as bad as if he had made a decision consciously.
It completely depends on whether you think Magnuson is entitled to the space there.
I do.
I don't think Magnuson did anything wrong.
Was it opportunistic?
Sure.
I don't want to dissuade drivers from trying these lesser scene overtakes because it's not an overtaking spot.
I think any point on the track can be an overtaking spot.
And I think any time you're alongside another car, you're entitled to space.
So I thought Logan Sargent was at fault for this one.
And I thought this might have been the only penalty that Kevin Magdison got all weekend where I didn't agree with it.
Do you think that that's where the problem lies, Ben, that maybe it's the right.
of the rules and the interpretation of what is alongside that is causing this much confusion.
Because equally, my first thought was, KMAG was halfway alongside, right?
There's enough of a car there that he's entitled to race alongside of him.
And that's why, and then I kind of rethought the rules out.
And I went, well, actually, according to the rules, he's not far enough alongside to therefore
he's wrong.
And that seems confusing, especially to newcomers.
Yeah.
I mean, the way I would do it is if your front tire is in line with the rear tire.
of the car in front. You are therefore
alongside, enough alongside,
to warrant space.
I mean, there were plenty of incidents, signs of piastri as one will get
onto in a moment where, particularly into that turn 11,
where cars were just driving the other car off the track,
like they would use all of the track available,
not go off the track themselves, but to the point where
the other car can't do anything. I don't agree with that.
I don't like that way of racing.
I would rather, you have to leave one car,
width to the outside driver so that these battles can actually keep going through the next
corner and the corner after that. And we don't get that because for the drivers, it just makes
sense to drive the other one off the track because if they're not going to be penalised for it,
why on earth wouldn't you do it? So yeah, I think there is, people are going to have different
interpretations of what racing should and shouldn't be. But I think the lack of clarity from what
is and isn't allowed absolutely does lead to this sort of thing. Speaking of, Piaastri and
signs, so they had multiple incidents.
How did you view them, Sam?
Yeah, the one I want to talk about is the obvious one where Piaastri ends up getting
massive damage on that front wing.
Proper crumpled it, didn't it?
It probably bent it around like a bit of paper that you just muck around with.
This is entirely on Carlos Sites.
I think Carlos Sites has not seen red, but it was clearly frustrated by everything that had
gone on and the past that had happened previously where Piaastri had overtaken by essentially
running Carlos Sainz off the track
and they didn't have to give the position back
which happened multiple times
throughout the Grand Prix as Benzor really mentioned but
you know moves are separate from one another
they're not linked so I'm going to talk about
the hairpin move I think science should have
been penalised for this it was essentially a block
pass
pastry had nowhere to go he couldn't turn in he couldn't
get the car turned in at all he had to keep
driving straight towards a wall because that is
a wall right in front of that hairpin
or he drives into Carlos Sainz
so he's two options so
it felt reckless.
I don't think science had control of the car.
He causes severe damage to piastri.
He is against the contacts.
And I do think that Carlos, I'm sure
I've been penalised for that move.
You agree with that, Harry?
I was, I don't think it was that.
I don't think it was,
I know it was a bit of a chancy one
from signs, but I don't think
it was that bad.
Again, it's where the rules lie anymore.
I don't really know,
because for me, the worst one was the piastri one,
because he was barely making the corner himself,
let alone the fact that he had Carlos Sines next to him.
So yeah, they are both, maybe both them's penalties.
I don't know, but that's how they've called it.
And God, well, you both as bad at each other,
so neither of you get penalties.
I don't know.
It was, yeah, it was a messy, it was messy, fine.
And I agree.
I think Sines was frustrated by the fact they wasn't,
given that position back.
But I don't think there was a particular,
any particular malice behind,
uh,
behind,
science's move.
I think there was,
it was,
it was just a bit of a,
he was on a bit of a knife edge going into that corner,
trying to get the move done and it,
he,
he lost control a bit.
So,
yeah,
maybe they both deserve one,
but I wasn't as offended by the signs move as it was the piastri one,
to be honest.
Yeah,
I think the,
um,
the first one,
the,
the piastri one,
um,
this is another,
the case of, I don't think it should be in the rules, but it is.
He is allowed to do that.
I don't think it's good.
And I would penalise that sort of move, but based on the rules as they are,
he doesn't deserve a penalty.
The one with signs in the sort of penultimate corner of the lap,
yeah, felt pretty slam dunk to me.
I mean, he has basically just driven into him and caused him damage that has ended his race.
I agree that I think Carlos Sines lost his composure.
and again, I think rightfully so, because I don't think that move should be allowed,
but I think for whatever reason he lost his composure,
was desperate to get by,
and that desperation has caused him to quite severely lock up into that corner
to the point where Piastri is just a bit of a passenger.
So, yeah, I don't think he could have had too many complaints
if he did get penalised for that.
Let's move on to Aston Martin.
Harry, you've already given Fernando Alonzo a little bit of a shout-out
for the job that he did to get back to P-9.
Of course, he started 15th.
only asked the Martin who ended up scoring points in today's race.
What did you make of their performance?
Because, you know, it didn't seem as if the car was at one with this circuit.
Not at all, no.
And to be like, I think it was good today and better than he was yesterday.
It still wasn't his finest weekend, I don't think.
But he was helped out by this, where the safety car came, came out.
Because he and Ockon, who he seems to have been battling eternally with this.
weekend in Miami.
They were just on track
at the same time for some reason,
but they both could put out of the safety cow,
which I think helped his calls there.
See, I think he did well to salvage
a couple of points out of this,
but yeah, their pace was,
I think the worrying thing for them,
and I hope they'll probably be hoping it's a blip.
The worrying thing for them was that their pace
has dropped and converge with
the improving pace of an alpine,
which if you consider where they started the year,
I know I'm not saying,
Aston Martin, were a top team
at the start of the year,
to worry them a little bit
that the Alpine is,
they're having battles with Alpine
given where Alpine were
at the start of this year.
So not the most encouraging weekend,
but,
but yeah,
they'll be hoping that it was more
just a bit of a one-off
and then more towards
their China pace again.
In fact,
not their China pace
because that wasn't good.
Then either was it,
which is Lonso,
but more towards the pace
at the start of the year.
What did you make of Aston Martin's race,
Sam?
It's starting to slip down a slope, isn't it?
And I think we've been seeing Signs of Ichina was the first one.
But Fernando Alonso has been out driving that car all season.
And I think he's been masking how, not poor the Aster Masking is,
because poor is harsh, but how far away it was from their peak of performance last season.
Alongso has been putting up a fight to show that that car might be equal with the Mercedes.
And I think I was sold a little bit on his ability paired with that car
and kind of believe that maybe it was just Lance Stroll
not being good enough at all that meant that they didn't have two drivers in that scenario.
But actually, I very much feel that this was the first time that Fernando Aloncso
fell back to where Lankstrol was normally driving,
and the car really did struggle around here.
This might be the first occasion of many.
It might start a train where Asson Martin are struggling.
They've fallen into that midfield pack and they have become one of those teams
that are just trying to get one car into the points,
trying to get a ninth place or a 10th place.
So they need to be careful.
They need to bring some updates.
Otherwise, they will get swallowed up by a resurgent horse
and improving Al P.
The RB that are making those upgrades.
That pack is so close that if you do drop back a couple of tents,
you could very much be at risk of falling into being the seventh or eight fastest car.
And that could be so detrimental to that championship money
that comes at the end of the season,
especially with how many investments they're making at the moment.
You know, it's not a good look where you've put that much cash into the whole system.
and you keep falling back.
So not a good sign.
The car struggled, the team struggled.
Let's hope it's a blip rather than the start of a trend.
Yeah, it was a really tough weekend for them.
Fernando Alonzo, I think good strategy ultimately helped him out.
But, you know, that recovery to 9th is pretty solid.
I thought Landstrow had a pretty all right weekend.
I think he was unlucky.
The street side was great as well.
Yeah.
And his strategy didn't plan out for him at all.
So he was obviously one of the cars that started on the medium tires, went to the hard tire,
at which point the safety car comes out.
And he's one of the cars that's almost stuck between a rock and a hard place in that either
he carries on with those old hard tires like Pierre Gasley did.
And Gasley got a 12th place out of it, which indicates that maybe that was the right call,
rather than the decision that went, so Landstrol went back on the mediums.
But of course, the likes of Alex Albin were holding up the whole pack to the point where
Landstrol is not able to make any progress at all.
I actually thought he was quite unlucky to find himself where he was.
And actually, if he was on the same strategy as Alonzo,
I think in terms of pure pace,
he would have been around where Alonzo was in this Grand Prix.
But, yeah, worrying one for them.
Also, Estabana Ocon is the go.
Fair play to Estabang.
That was, I mean, both Gassadley and Ocon looked like at any point.
They might have been the one to pick up points.
And I think, I do think this was Gasselang.
his best performance of his season so far.
But Ockon's just, again, another step on that trend.
The Alpine was a bit better.
It was a difficult race for a lot of drivers.
And he did a great job at taking advantage of those that were struggling.
Well done.
They deserve a point.
It's a great turnaround from them.
Maybe crypto.
No, it's not the way I'm taking the Mickey.
I don't want to take it seriously.
But well done then.
And like you say, Pierre Ghazley, despite not scoring any points,
had a very good weekend as well, didn't have the better end of the strategy.
So it would be very interesting.
again power rankings be interesting to see how those two stack up against one another
where the one scores a bit higher than the other.
Let's take our final break on this episode.
Moment of the Race is on the other side.
Okay, moment of the race will give our selections and then hand over to some Discord submissions.
I say some Discord submissions.
Incredibly a popular occasion today.
There have been a lot of submissions.
So thank you to everyone who has got in touch with us via Discord.
but as mentioned, we'll kick us off.
So Sam, what was your moment of the race?
I'm glad I get to go first because I'm going to take the obvious one.
It was the first time race winner.
We saw the passion.
We saw how emotional it was.
And I was also loving seeing it on the TV.
It was amazing to watch.
So Landon Norris crossing the line, taking the wing.
His first ever Grand Prix victory was my moment with the race.
Harry?
It's year three here in Miami, not here because we're not in Miami,
but year three at the Miami Grand Prix.
and we hadn't seen two cars try and go side by side
through the little chican.
Oh, Jesus.
Oh, what is wrong with those two?
The Alpine boys decided to give us a bit of entertainment
and lap one of the race go through it side by side
and remain side by side for the next left-hander
and continue to fight down that back straight.
I laughed out loud.
It was excellent work from the pair of them,
easily my moment of the race.
Full disclosure, that was my answer as well,
because honestly, as soon as Sergio Perez went up the insider term one,
I was like, right, that would be the most ridiculous thing that happens on this lap.
And then Pierre Gazley and Esteban Ockin went, nope, hold my lack of employees.
It's our responsibility to top that.
Side by side for that, that was ridiculous.
I would have loved to have filled myself at that point
because absolutely none of it would have been usable
based on all of the swear words.
Goodness me.
You're actually in an all right position.
You might grab a point.
Don't take each other off.
But because you have already said that, Harry,
I am going to go with the,
another Alpine moment.
I'll go with the Fernando Alonzo and Esteban Ockon battle
because I thought that was top notch.
And sorry to make the point again,
but it comes back to how,
I think, for the most part,
seem pretty fair from both parties.
and because they weren't forcing each other off the track,
it was able to carry on for a couple of laps,
and I loved it. So, yeah, I'll go with that.
Yeah, that was sensational.
I just to imagine anyone at Alpine that works there,
not sure who it is anymore,
pick out the phone at the start of, oh yeah, just Ben, go.
Guys, we've got an upgrade, we're weight saving.
The car is all right now.
Just get through the Grand Prix.
Half around one at the most dangerous spot in the entire circuit.
Killing Chabber immediately occurs.
Also, great job, Patrick Mahomes, on the rear left tire this week.
can love your work.
Cheers for stepping in, Pat.
Trent will be back in next week.
Let's go to some of the
Discord submissions and I'll hand over to
Mr. Harry Ead. First up
is the shortest one and
obviously that is from Skylar.
Lando Norris
One.
To be fair, it's been
a while and she's done
a lot of Lando Norris submissions.
I'm glad that she's finally at a moment.
Oh, Skylar. It's lovely to have you back.
I'm glad to wrap me.
Next up is bongers.
Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages,
is the McLaren C.E.
Oh, yeah.
And the moment of the race,
let alone Lando getting his first win
has to be Oscar's engineer saying,
please don't bring out a safety card.
Let's go!
Yeah.
Please, Oscar.
Please don't do it.
Blungers was very emotional, bless him.
That's also lovely to see.
Next up is L.J.A.
I'll say it again.
L.J.L.
This is Lance,
friend of the podcast and training.
Longtime listener,
first time submission.
My moment of the race,
aside from Lando,
finally driving brilliantly
in getting his first victory,
congrats to Lando,
was that sweet,
double pass on Piastri by Perez and Hamilton where they split them going down the backstretch.
Great racing boys.
Great race today.
Unexpected winner.
Love it.
Keep doing a great job on the podcast and keep breaking late.
Thank you for your first submission.
Love that.
Next up is Charlemagne Fury.
Great game.
Charlemagne Fury, long time listener, first time smitter.
My moment of the race for the Miami GP was Carlos Seines crying about.
the astry.
Just get over it, boy.
Just get over it, boy.
And then also,
Max first happened,
basically always complaining
about Andrea Nui's car.
It's just,
every single race,
it just drives like shit.
So,
yeah,
moment of the race.
First time submission,
first time bleep.
Oh, on the bleep.
Kirsty's not going to bed
until four.
Just for everyone's aware of us,
we record this,
it's 20 plus big guy here.
Also,
just like to say,
Kirstie chose that.
so that's made worth for yourself.
That is a bad point. It's my fault.
All right. Next half is Bristol, Liam.
Yeah, yeah. Landon Norris has done it and all that stuff, right?
Evan Magnuson, you are a convicted terrorist.
They're coming for you.
The FBI and all the American police stuff, they're coming for you.
Plus, I've just seen Lando's got a plaster on his nose, which is quite funny.
Oh, dear.
American police stuff.
Have you got heard of the APS?
No, I hadn't.
That's on me.
There were so many of them there because of Kevin Magnus.
Illeducated, man.
Goodness me.
Next up is Marine.
Hello, boys.
This is Marine trying to, or I'm going to,
in my moment of the race.
And for me, it has to be maxitting the ballad
because I was at a concert
and the first thing I saw was him hitting that thing.
So it made me laugh.
And yeah, Congress to learn about that ballad really was my MVP.
Greetings from Germany.
Love you.
Bye.
Oh, yes.
I really like when Max hit the ballad.
I was like, that is something I would do every time I go around a race track on F1.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, definitely.
Next up is Wechard F1 another.
Oh.
Hey guys.
First time submitter here.
Calling from a terrible place.
I hate my life.
It's the worst.
But my moment of the race was Logan Sargent getting to go home early.
18 minutes down the road and he was able to curl up in his lightning queen bed.
Enjoy some of his mama's milk, you know, fresh, we'll say.
I mean, I always thought milk should be enjoyed at 37 degrees Celsius.
Anyway, good for him.
Happy for him.
Cachow.
Goodness, me.
No, no, no.
Trying to be sympathetic about you hating your life
from laughing at mommy's milk.
It's just like it should be enjoyed.
Oh, no.
Oh, God.
Oh, goodness me.
Gosh.
Oh, thank you for that.
And right.
Next up is Black Flag Racer.
First of all, shout out to Lando Norse for awesome.
and win here in Miami.
My moment of the race is watching the timing tower as the gap between Lando and Max
just got bigger and bigger and my heart got happier and happier and the smile got bigger and
bigger. Also shout out to all the Max Verstaffin fans who showed up to a race for a guaranteed
win and didn't get it.
Side note, Max Verstappen being applauding Lando Norris was wonderful.
sportsman-like behaviour was
exemplary. The amount of drivers they came out
to Lando was excellent. Enjoyed that.
It was lovely. Yeah.
F-1 Swifty is next.
Hey, F-Won-Swifty here.
This is my first time ever doing one of these,
but of course my moment of the race is Lando winning.
I've been waiting a very long time for this.
My kids came up to watch this
the last few laps with me,
and we were all screaming and crying
and just really, really happy.
congratulations Lando
That's our discord mama
That's Jamie that is
She messed out by the live show
Didn't she?
Screaming, cramming
Throwing it up
Yeah
I'm shook her
She's never done one before
Well we love it
That it's uh
It was worth to wait
Yeah yeah
Huge debut
Uh
Inferno Jim is next
Just a thought here
Norris
Norris only had to have a cut on his nose
To win a race
Whereas
Science
Had to have his appendix
appendix removed.
Norris clearly the goat.
What a race, boys, what a race.
I love that logic.
Cheers.
You must have some sort of injury to win a race in 2024.
Weight saving is extreme this year.
Your ability is based on how injured you are in the up,
in the lead up to the race.
Yes.
I like that.
Logan's Saga's getting a turn up with.
I really just torso.
You know SpongeBob where like he's in a full cast.
Strap me in, boys.
Yeah.
Bill Lewis Hamilton next phrase on crutches as he walks in.
Yeah.
And finally, we have Nicky Lauder.
Nick Lauda.
What?
Well, I'd say it's Nicky Lauder, but Lauder spell as in,
can you please say that louder?
Oh, great name.
Not as in Nicky Lauder.
Nicky here.
By submission.
My member of the race is coming from F-on-TV commentary right at the end
when David Korthod said that Lando was just
stroking at home
stroking at home he said it was stroking at home
thanks David
that's such a DC phrase as well
he has said that a lot
he loves telling Meng on the TV
to stroke it home
doesn't matter because it still beats
what David Croft said
we're not going to talk about it
I refuse to give it airtime
he deserves a smack across the face
okay good
yes it was bad
yes it was bad oh dear anyway that was everyone
thank you that wasn't everyone
apologies if you didn't make it on
there were so many of you this time round,
but thank you anyway.
I feel like at this point,
it's 26 minutes past midnight.
Sam should probably get us out of it.
Yeah, folks, thank you for listening.
If you want to hear our power rankings
and more Patreon content,
we're really proud of it.
Do go and check it out.
It keeps this podcast going.
Thank you again.
And if you don't want to subscribe,
well, you can't because, you know,
financially, then we appreciate you
just turn up to these episodes and listening.
It does mean the world.
Your support is wonderful.
Thank you.
Go subscribe on YouTube if you want to.
who are going to see us say this in with a camera,
late breaking F1. Social media is late breaking F1 on every platform
where you can follow us individually if you'd really like to.
Discord's available, get down below.
You can have your submission playing on the next Grand Prix race that weekend that we do.
But thank you anyway.
We appreciate it.
And we're back midweek, of course, if you're just following a normal episode.
In the meantime, I've been Samuel Sage.
I've been Ben Hocking and I've been Harry Ead.
And remember, keep breaking late.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
