The Late Braking F1 Podcast - 2025 Canadian GP Race Review
Episode Date: June 16, 2025Ben and Sam break down all the madness from Montreal, where we saw the first McLaren-less podium of the season! From Russell’s composed victory and Antonelli’s breakthrough podium to the dramatic ...McLaren collision - and yes, even some groundhog-related chaos - the boys have it all covered... >>> Late Braking LIVE returns to Austin on 16.10.25 ahead of the U.S. Grand Prix! Early access tickets are available from 6pm BST on 16.06.25 for Middle and Upper Tier Patreons! General Sale: 30.06.25
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 Podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
Welcome to the Late Breaking F1 podcast presented by Sam Sage and me, Ben Hocking,
today reviewing the Canadian GP.
But before we get there, Sam, got a little bit of late breaking news that I think the people
will be interested to hear.
It's breaking late breaking news.
That's right.
We've done it two years before,
but this year we can finally announce
that we are coming back to Austin, Texas.
For the US GP.
We're having a live show, folks.
It's happening on the Thursday before the race.
Ben, you've got some details to run down for the folks.
Absolutely.
Thursday, October 16th.
As you say, the Thursday before the Grand Prix,
we're going to be at AFS Cinema.
Very excited to see you all.
Tickets go on sale for Patreon users tomorrow.
as we're recording this. So Monday at 6pm, that's 1pm Eastern. And two weeks is what you get,
Patreon people on the middle and upper tiers of our Patreon before they go on general sale for all you
lovely lot. And Sam, each year we've done this as a Patreon special for a couple of weeks.
They sell out quite well on there, don't they? I believe hot cakes is the expression that is used regularly.
They sell like hotcakes. Patreon every year has picked up a huge portion of these tickets.
So if you're really interesting and coming and we would love to see you.
We get to hang around with you guys after.
We grab a little beer.
We chill out after the show as well.
Jump into Patreon if you'll get yourself a ticket.
And if you're already there, then this is part of your benefit package.
Get yourself a ticket.
Come and see us in Texas.
We love seeing you guys.
It's one of our highlights of the year.
Super excited already.
Lots to talk about.
Really, really looking forward to it.
Come out and join us, please.
Yeah, massively looking forward to it.
If you do have any questions at this stage, just get in touch with us via email,
podcast at latebreaking.com.com.
any questions at all, just send them over there.
But we are massively excited to be going back to Austin, Texas.
But today, the focus is not on Austin.
We're going a little bit further north to Canada
because George Russell has won this Grand Prix from Paul.
He becomes the first person this year to win a Grand Prix,
not named Max Verstappen and not driving an orange car,
joined on the podium by Max Verstappen.
And his teammate, Kimmy Antonelli, a double Mercedes podium.
Hold on, Ben.
You've got his name there wrong.
it's a grande Kimi Antingalee, please.
Nope, don't like that at all.
What did you make of the race overall, just to start off, sir?
It was an odd but interesting Grand Prix.
It felt like overtaking was really, really difficult, actually,
which I was quite surprised at.
Following became tricky,
and it felt like initially the hard tire was going to be a bad tire to be on,
very quickly became something that was actually the better of the two.
Because these teams so rarely run a hard tire test running,
in free practice.
You kind of never really know
just how good performance
of the hard tires can be.
And often you'll see a gingy pig
in the race run that tire
and everyone kind of goes,
ah, it's got some pace.
Let's all get on it or not.
But here you obviously had Norris and LeClaire
in the top 10 starting on that hard tire,
ending up working out quite well for them.
It looked like to begin with
and then the others adapted to that hard tire strategy.
So it was very tactical, this Grand Prix.
It felt like it was a slow builder,
had a lot to come.
And then, of course, we hit a climb
max with the collisions between the McLaurings, the race ending and the safety car.
It was a builder because there was some moments where I was a little bit like, uh-oh, nothing
happening.
Ben, what do you think?
It was one of those races strategically where I think we've had it a few times this year
where there is more tyreware than what we've seen in the last couple of years.
But for those out front, it makes sense to do a two-stop because you don't have to overtake
as many, if you can get that lead over the midfield relatively early on in the race,
you don't need to play catch up and make all these overtakes happen and take something out
of your tires. So a two-stop becomes very common for all of the front runners, whereas a one-stop
is far more lethal in the midfield. We saw Ocon and Sines make really good progress today,
doing that one-stop going a really long way on those hard tires to kick off. But yeah,
we've got some interesting things to talk about on this episode. Should we start out front with
George Russell taking that win over Vastappan and Antonelli. Of course, he showed that he had pace,
at least in qualifying trim yesterday by taking pole position. Did you feel like he always had this
race in hand? Having it in hand sounds like he's been driving in McLaren all season. It feels like
it was a given, or very similar to Max Vastaping in Suzuki, where it was so hard to get an
overtake done that the qualifying kind of did the work for them. I don't think he always had it in hand,
But George Russell kept a very cool head throughout this entire Grand Prix.
It felt like his strategy was always comfortable when he needed to create a gap.
He was able to create a gap.
And he was under pressure on the odd occasion from the likes of Stafford behind him,
which if I can have anyone behind me, it wouldn't be Max for Stappen
because that boy can get past you whenever he fancies it.
But I do think he managed the Grand Prix really, really brilliantly.
And we spoke about this in our race preview.
We spoke about in our qualifying review that Canada is a track that throws up
some odd results that don't, they kind of buck the trend through the rest of the season where
maybe your usual race winners aren't the ones that take the lead. And Mercedes seemed to be
quite positive coming in here. Last season, they were really good on the low grip of Vegas,
Imola, they were fantastic over the chicanes. They had their newer suspension fitted to the cars here,
and they kind of learned how to set it out properly. And you could buy all those things together.
And it kind of creates a big of a perfect storm when someone like George Russell feels really
confident in the car. And he said that in his call down.
after the race, how good he felt off things like the last corner,
how much grip he felt he had off the last corner.
It does turn into a result as good as this.
Russell did a great job leading from the front,
and he was fantastic, but also then you go back to his teammate,
Kimmy Antingelli, who essentially sealed himself a podium
by making a brilliant overtake of Oscar Piascri going into turns one and two.
So the Mercedes functioning brilliantly here.
I'd be shocked if that continues onto the next races we've got coming up here.
But yeah, a bit of a perfect storm for them.
I think it allowed them to show them.
that on the right day, that Mercedes can be a big of a lethal package.
Yeah, and it was warm today.
And that was probably the biggest concern for Mercedes going into this race was that high
tire wear.
I think it was maybe leaning towards more of a one-stop going into this weekend.
And then it appeared that Sunday was going to be significantly hotter than what we had
throughout free practice.
And suddenly the questions arise of, okay, we've seen what's happened with Mercedes
in hot temperatures before.
are we just going to get a repeat of that?
And George Russell's going to sort of go down the order and really tumble.
Didn't happen whatsoever.
And I think you're right when you're, a perfect storm is a perfect phrase, actually,
because we had, you know, Max Verstappen struggled quite a bit with tire wear in this race.
And we had Oscar Piastri get that bad start.
If he doesn't get that bad start and he's in the same position as Antonelli,
who was very close to overtaking Vastepen at the end of the first and second stints,
maybe Piastri gets it done where Antonelli can't.
Suddenly it's Piastri who's right behind.
I wouldn't like that if I was George Russell.
Lando Norris, given the pace that he showed this weekend,
and I apologize, I'm not allowed to speak about him,
but Lando Norris, he had a really good weekend as well
in terms of outright pace.
If he was there, I think George Russell will maybe look back at all,
everything that happened behind him in this race,
that maybe he wasn't 100% aware of and go,
I'm quite happy with how that race turned out, but he made it happen. He made it happen for how good
his tire management was. It was a very mature drive and fully deserving of the race win.
What about Mercedes and maybe Antonelli as a whole? Because the last triple header,
Mercedes had a fairly comfortable gap on Ferrari and Red Bull going into that triple header,
really difficult three races for them. Antonelli didn't score a point. Russell didn't score a point
at Monaco, of course.
But here we've got a double podium.
We've got Antonelli in third.
How encouraging is this for the team as a whole?
This is a brilliant lease of life for them.
I hope they look at it realistically.
As I mentioned, I'm not sure how well this is going to carry over to the races going
forward.
But Formula One is all about taking your opportunities where you've got them.
And I think they well and truly took those opportunities.
You spoke about George Russell having a mature drive.
Obviously, Kimmy Antigelli becomes the third youngest podium.
of all time in Formula One behind the illustrious list of Max Verstappling.
And what's, Lank Stroll.
Yes, is the other one that sits on that list, of course, you know.
The Holy Trinity of F1.
The Holy Trinity of F1, yes, the Golden Triangle.
But he's done it, right?
He's done a brilliant thing there, Kimi Antigli.
And it was that decisive, but really mature driving off the line.
The moment that's right started that put him in essentially,
no pun intended, the driving seat to go on and take this podium.
So fantastic race management.
He had a lot of pressure on him in the final stink of this Grand Prix.
You've got the two title protagonists so close to him in Norris and Piedastri.
And they are battling out across the track.
You saw that switchback maneuver from Norris.
We tried to dive down the inside.
Piastri, him go wheel to wheel, of course, we then know what happens.
And this whole time, Kimi Antigli, you heard him in the call down.
He was kind of giggling about it.
He was like, you know, do I go left?
Do I go right?
Who shall I give the slipstream to?
It didn't seem to phase him.
And that's fantastic.
That's what you want to see.
because with Kimmy, he has been a little bit down and out over the last few of these Grand Prix.
And we weren't seeing that fast, upright pace that Kimi Antingelli's delivered before,
that we kind of want him to deliver.
And here, it was very quick, but also very sensible.
And that's what brought home a podium today, a race where we saw some accruition,
a race where we saw some mistakes made, a race where damage was very easily attainable.
You saw Lewis Hamilton pick up damage by wrang over a poor little critter in the middle of the road.
it could have been anyone else.
Kimi Antigali, just like George Russell,
kind of battled his way through the carnage a little bit,
kept himself out of the wars,
and brought home a P3
and really, I think, maximised
what he was able to do in this Grand Prix.
And a brilliant race for Mercedes,
they're leading it because out of all top four teams,
they're the ones that have really been struggling
to pick up the points recently,
despite Ferrari's woes.
And today they managed it.
So good job, Ms. Cicummi,
and a brilliant driving judge.
A very good job from Antonelli,
who seems to have picked up a lot of fans,
by the way, in Canada.
Let us know if you were at the track
and how much of a Kimmy revolution there was there.
Because by the sounds of it,
when he was being interviewed after the race,
the Canadian fans had taken a real liking to him.
And he delivered a great race for them.
So why not?
This was his best race so far in F1.
I apologise to Kimmy because I did not see this coming whatsoever.
I thought given this was a track where there's high tire wear,
something that he hasn't been perfect at so far this year,
and it's understandable, given he's a rookie, and the fact that he's never raced here before,
I didn't think he would be all that in contention.
And then, of course, he just goes and delivers his best results so far.
But he was right in contention.
It wasn't like he was third place and 20 seconds back from George Russell, a pit stop behind.
He was right there.
And realistically, this wasn't that far off being a one-two finish.
I thought halfway through this Grand Prix, this was going to be a Mercedes-1-2.
because the way in which Antonelli caught up to Vastappen at the end of that first stint,
and essentially goaded Vestappen into taking that really early pit stop on the mediums,
I thought, okay, if his tie, if Vestappan's tire wears a bit better on the hard tires,
maybe it won't matter.
And then it wasn't.
Like the first stint on the hard tires,
Vastappan was still struggling at the end of that stint.
And by the time he made his second stop, which I think was on lap 38,
he still had nearly half the race to go at that point.
And I thought, if that stint happens again,
Antonelli's going to catch him.
Like Vestappan, with both of his stops, it felt like was delaying that on-track battle with
Antonelli.
And then for whatever reason, Vestappan's lasting, and he spoke about this when he was being interviewed,
his last stint was far better.
And on lower fuel, his tyre wear was much better.
I don't think Antonelli was going to catch him.
But for the first half of the race, I thought it was going to.
to happen. And that speaks to how good Antonelli was, that he was pressurizing someone as great as
Vastappen. Yeah, it almost feels like a not a discredit to Ancinelli, but more a credit to Vestappen of
how he handled that outlap that he had to get right, because obviously he boxed just before
Kimmy Antingelli, you see Kimmy Antigli come out of the pit lane, and Max Vestappen is able to get
round the inside and get past him. And he had to push. Kimmy Anskelly made Max Vastappen
push to ensure that he got past him. And that shows you how far Kimmy's come. And what Max
is having to do to make sure he's beating a Mercedes, which has been nowhere this season around
the track like Canada. So brilliant job for both of them. That was a really fun battle between the two of them.
I will say very quickly on that out lap from Vostappen. I didn't understand the praise for it because
he's on fresh tyres. It's an outlap. Antone's on hard, like, worn tie. I fully expected Vestappen to
be ahead of Antonelli. The fact that Antonelli was like side by side with Vastappen when he was coming out
the piss. I was impressed by Antonelli. I didn't think he would be that close to
Verstappen, given the difference in the tyre. I see your point. But when you have to be so
careful embedding these tyres and wearing them in to make sure you don't rip the surface too early
on and that causes extended tire wear issues, that means you get slow at the end of your stink.
The fact that Vastappen was able to match the pacing need to, but also they keep the tires alive
for the rest of the session that essentially held off Antingelli all the way through the end
of the stink. It's a very mature way of understanding how the tieware was working. And I think
he did just enough to keep the tires alive throughout the rest of the race, but also delivered
enough on that outlap to ensure that he did keep the place. Because we saw the trap position
was crucial around here. And the overcut was actually regularly stronger than the undercut
throughout this Grand Prix. It seemed like you were able to maintain your pace on older tires
for quite a long time. You saw how both Ocon and Science, I think, what, 51, 52 laps on their
hard size at the start. When they pitted, they came out still in the point. So it shows that the
overcut was quite potent here. I think Maxing a good job at getting those ties up to speed and
working quick enough without damaging them going too far into the race. Yeah, the tire wear was far
better on that final stint, which he deserves respect for. Yeah, I just, I thought, well,
Verstappen on an outlap on an outlap on fresh tires versus Antenelli on older tires. I kind of
just expected it to happen. So I was like, all right, cool. Like, yeah, that's what I expected.
Should Vastappen be happy with that second place? Obviously, he's
He's got more points than both of the McLaren drivers that he is either in a championship
fight with or not in a championship fight with, depending on who you talk to.
But he's walked away with 18 points.
That's six more than Piastri.
That's 18 more than Lano Norris.
Content?
I don't think so.
It's Max Verstappen.
The boy's a winner and he wants to go out and win.
And when you're that close to, if that was a McLaren and he was that close, I think he'd say,
I gave it my best.
The car is simply better.
I gave it my best.
But when it's a Mercedes, and worst of all for Max, when it's George Russell, that has gone on to beat him like this, he will look at this and go, our car and me driving it should be able to go out and beat at Matt Mercedes.
We've been better for a lot of the races throughout this season.
We've scored more points to both their drivers.
You know, I'm delivering a brilliant season in comparison to them and kind of, you know, consistently.
I should be beating them.
I think he'll be happy with Peter.
You know, he has beaten both of his McLaren rivals.
But I do think this is a slightly missed opportunity for Max Verstappen to not go out there and pick up a wing.
As much as that car is a perfect, it has got its problems.
It isn't as good as it what we've seen in the past few seasons.
I think when an opportunity like this presents itself and it isn't the dominant car winning,
Max Verstappen should have been the next guy taking the top spot.
And it wasn't.
It was good for Russell.
I think this was maybe, I don't want to say lost because he's got second place here.
But I think the race win went away from Vastappen in that first stint.
because I feel like his objective was stay within the DRS
and stay within the undercut range of George Russell.
And to be fair to him,
like he was throughout that first stint at times,
six tenths, seven temps back,
and was there or thereabouts?
And I think maybe his plan was,
keep that going long enough to the point where
if I get to lap 13, 14,
and I'm still within the DRS range,
I can then do the undercut
and really put the pressure on George Russell.
unfortunately, those tires did not hold on.
And by the time Vestappan did come in, he was defending against Antonelli and not attacking
George Russell.
And from there, Russell could just manage it.
Like he decided to come into the pits, the lap after Vastappan just to cover that off.
And then the second pit stop, I think Russell came in four laps after Vastappen because
he could do at that stage.
I think this might have been won and lost in the first stint.
But even so, I think Vestappen's had a good result here, you know, started a lot.
on the front rows, finished on the podium. Not a good day for the McCarron duo. It's not a win,
but it's a good weekend. It felt a little bit like that because for Stap and Haga 2V1 situation again,
right? He had to turn his focus to Kimmy Antingelli, he was right behind him. He had to ensure that
he beat Kimmy Antingelli today. If he had a teammate, or if there was a second seat of that team that
that was actually competitive, there's every chance that Kimmy Antigley was going to be fighting with
that car, and he could have had full focus on Russell. So there is a factor in that, I think,
that he was split between two drivers
and had to consolidate second
rather than push for first.
It's a very good point
because it's the second race in a row
where we've had that 2V1 scenario.
Different team.
Of course, it was McLaren in Spain,
whereas it's Mercedes here.
This one might be even more frustrating
because whilst Piastri and Norris
have been on it all year,
they were teammates last year.
Antonelli is a rookie.
And Vestappan will look at his team,
why can't I have a driver
next to me fighting with me
in these situations because it's been,
I was going to say it's been that way this season.
It's been that way a lot of the time over the last few seasons.
At least the last five.
Should we,
should we review our bold predictions?
I think I have a rightful grievance.
Hang on,
I am mildly annoyed.
You know what?
We'll come to yours last,
because yours is the funniest.
My bold prediction is that we would have,
three safety cars.
And you know what?
There were three laps of a safety car.
That spells like no points to me, Ben.
Oh, yeah, it was one safety car or not three.
Yeah, I should really find the details there.
I didn't get mine right.
Harry said that there would be four cars separated by one tenth of a second
at the top of the grid in qualifying.
No, George Russell was quicker than that over the second place driver.
So it wasn't close either.
Sorry, Harry.
No.
But Sam, you weren't right, but you were certainly the closest to being right.
You said that.
Lando Norris would bin it into the wall of champions at some point over the weekend.
Now, there were two examples where I felt like I was almost right.
His teammate put it into that exact wall, causing himself to have to go back to the pit laying,
hang of punctured you to it.
And then he crashes into said teammate, the wall after.
The wall after.
Literally, you can see it from one via the other.
And that's the one he hits after his teammate.
Now, I think I probably would have allowed myself to be wrong anyway,
if that ending up being the wall of champions,
because he hits Piascri first before he hits the wall.
But, yeah, wrong is wrong, I'm afraid.
That's the rules.
Yeah, good effort.
But just one wall short.
That's like a new slogan.
Right, let's take our first break on this episode.
On the other side, conveniently, we're chatting about that crash between the two McLaren drivers.
Who do you sound like?
Tigger.
Yes, that's it.
Back, everyone.
McLaren.
Now, they weren't on course for their best day this season.
In fact, they were on course for their worst day this season with neither car set to finish on the podium.
but both Oscar Piastri and Lando Norris putting pressure on Antonelli in third,
having to go slightly different ways on the strategy based on Norris qualifying slightly out of position,
but their races ended up coming back towards each other,
and indeed their cars ended up going towards each other.
We saw Lando Norris make a move on Oscar Piastri going into the hairpin,
Piastri fighting back out of the corner, side by side all the way down the straight,
Piastri on the inside of the last chican,
managing to get ahead, breaking later.
But Lando Norris, keeping it in there
until they are, again, almost side by side going down into term one.
Lando Norris going for a move on the inside of the corner,
very similar to what we've had before
with Lewis Hamilton and Jensen Button.
And there is an incident, finally,
between the two McLaren drivers,
with Lando Norris coming off far worse.
He retired on the spot.
So no points for him whatsoever.
Piastri seemingly avoiding damage and held on to fourth place,
but still just 12 points for the McLaren team,
not becoming of them, given how this season has gone so far.
Let's start with the incident itself before we look at the race that brought them to that point, Sam.
Did you view it the same way that Lando Norris did, which is that it was his fault?
Yeah, 100%.
I won't go out of it around the bush.
I think the internet has agreed in,
it's entirely an agreement that Landon Norris is at fault for this one.
I've just said this in our chat,
I want to read it out.
Formula One world title, world champion Damon Hittle has tweeted,
oh dear, oh dearie me, unnecessary.
That is scathing.
That could be a bad thing.
Yeah, the milk's gone off.
It's got to make a cup of tea.
and thought, oh dear.
He might be talking about burning his toast.
Like, it could be edited.
I can't necessarily risk by me there.
I've gone to the toilet.
Oh, this has got a hill I want to die on.
So, anyway, my point here is, yeah.
And you know what?
I have my hands up.
You're right, Ben, you're going to bring it.
Sorry, the look from Kirstie.
She's like, shut up.
It's a very serious part.
It's a very serious part of the show.
Everyone, composure.
Just be serious about this.
When you're in a title fight, this is the kind of behaviour that will cost you, said title.
This is where a teammate will come out on top and where that teammate has the composure.
We've seen it time and time again, and I've been reluctant to be too critical on Lando.
You know, we've had a lot of races and there's a lot of races to come.
And Piastri has being the more stern, the more composed so far this season.
But this is a total unraveling.
This is a total falling apart.
and it is such a cost in the stake.
After race one, when Landon Norris went on to Wing in Australia,
and Oscar Piastri came home, was it for four points after a very costing mistake?
Two maybe.
Two points, potentially.
He should not now be almost a race wing clear of view by only the 10th Grand Prix
this season.
And this incident is almost wrapping up everything into one.
It puts all the story into one split second.
I was ready to be so full of praise for Landon Norris,
he sent it in that hairpin.
I thought, well done Lander, you've done something
about unorthodox, you've been bold,
you've gone in for a move.
And I thought for a minute,
you know, if he doesn't come off,
you've made an effort,
you've really tried.
And I really thought,
Bravo Lander, you've had a go.
But this is silly.
This is rash and it's costly,
and it reeks of a driver
that is not going to win a world title.
And I'm glad he put his hands up.
I'm glad he put his hands up,
and he took on his ownus of it.
I'm glad that he was aware
that it was his fault.
and I think he did a good job at settling intention
that he and Oscar might have
when they go back to the media briefing
and there's a conversation there if he goes immediately
I'm at fault, I'm sorry, silly me, what a silly move.
I'm glad he's aware of that.
But this is the kind of thing that would damage Lando's psyche,
it would cause him to be down in the dumps
and it's cost him dearly.
I just think this is really, really poor from Lando Norris
and it's the kind of thing that does separate a champion
from just a race winner
and that's, I think, what Oscar has.
and maybe what Lando now doesn't.
I'll focus on some of the positives leading up to that point
because I do think it's worth talking about them.
The move from Lando Norris into the hairpin,
spot on, good move.
And it's not something that we've seen a huge amount of from Lando Norris,
at least on Oscar Piastri as his teammate,
being the aggressor, but equally, you know,
it was in control the whole time.
I thought it was a nice move.
Oscar Piastri defends it
pretty well.
I'm not going to say he sees it coming,
but he defends it perfectly
in that if he can get the cut back
and he can stay on the inside of the corner
all the way up to the chican,
he's still going to have the advantage.
So the attacking move from Norris,
great, the defending from Piastri.
Great.
They both have DRS because of Antonelli
in front of them going down that straight.
Into the chicane,
both of them, again, play it correctly.
Piaastri, knowing he's on the inside, he realizes he can break latest and he can keep the lead.
Norris knows that.
And as a result of that, Norris, I think, breaks slightly earlier than he might do on a regular lap
to then hopefully get a bit of a switchback going down the next straight and then maybe having an opportunity into term one.
Again, I think they both played it as they should have done in their respective spots.
and that's where it unfolds, because Lando Norris, I felt like he did everything right to put himself
in the situation to maybe have an opportunity going down into turn one.
But the inside of that corner, man, it was never on.
And the fact that he was able to establish straight away on team radio that it wasn't on, says a lot.
I will say with Lando Norris, there aren't many drivers in this sport that I think are willing
to own up to their errors in the moment on Team Radio.
There are quite a few that will, after having a bit of a call down in the media afterwards,
might say, you know, that was my fault.
Lando Norris to say that in the moment deserves a lot of respect,
but he shouldn't be in that spot to begin with.
It was just a, I don't know whether it's called it rash or just a complete misjudgment,
but it was a move that wasn't on and it was only going to become more notting.
on as the corner went through.
So, and he's come off far worse.
As awful as it is to say, in terms of the driver's championship, it would have helped
him if he'd taken his teammate with him.
I'm not saying that I wanted that to happen or should have happened, but in terms of
the championship, it would have benefited him far more for both drivers to walk away with
no points.
Instead, he's the one that walks away with nothing and his teammate, whilst not on the podium,
still collects 12.
I think the worst part is the most part is the most.
move most definitely was on had he just gone to the other side of the racetrack?
Yeah, yeah.
He had, you mentioned his exit out of that chican.
He set that up brilliantly.
He got the better run, bigger exit, better traction.
Oscar had to be really clunky through the final chican.
He was taking it at a really shallow angle, which meant that he couldn't get the run through
there you normally would have.
And he was slower on exit.
And Oscar left that door open.
Of course, the outside of turn one turns into the inside of turn two.
And that's where you want to be to get a move forced.
And I think a lot of other drivers make that move.
I think they make it stick.
So the fact that he tried to stick it where there wasn't any room,
it's just, it shows a lack of foresighting, a really, really important moment for what could be
the decider in a championship fight.
I don't see there being many DNFs across them both this year.
And that's the first one.
I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't all that many in the second half of this season either.
Yeah, the only thing that will worry me for them is the rate that Mercedes engine
are going pop in customer teams.
That's the only thing that would cause me any concern.
But when it comes to their driving,
I can't see them wiping themselves out too often.
No.
I do also want to very quickly give credit to McLaren
for not interfering with this because they could have done.
And I just think with the way the situation is
with the Constructors' Championship right now,
let them fight.
You are miles clear of the other three teams.
Let them fight and they did.
So whether they change their mind in the few,
based on how this went. I don't know, but I'm glad for this situation. I don't need any more
Papa rules now or anything like that. I thought we're close enough in the championship. We've moved
on. It's Mama rules now. Satsuma rules now. Wow. Squeezed to the juice out of it,
McLaren, I want it all. No. No, no. What about the race that led us to that incident? We had
Oscar Pia Astridh starting in third, but loses a position to Kimmy Antonelli off the start.
And then we have Lando Norris starting on the hard tire, goes longer on that first stint,
uses the medium tire as his middle stint, and then is sort of making his way back into the fight in that final stint.
From both of their perspectives, both fighting to be on the podium, rather than just being there as they have been so often.
How do you think it went?
I actually think up until that point, up until the crash, I thought Oscar Pastery's race was really going down on a sliding scale.
I think it was looking like he wasn't capitalizing on the fact that he'd starting three places,
in front of his teammate is his direct title rival.
Paul start off the line, of course.
He gets beaten by Kimi Antingelli over the first lap.
That's costly.
That could have ending up being a fight for first or second
rather than him battling with his teammate for fourth or fifth
come the end of that Grand Prix.
His pace regularly when he had Landau right behind him
didn't look the fastest.
And Landau was regularly hunting him down throughout that.
And I have to praise Landon Norris.
His pace on the hard tie was really, really strong,
kept his ties alive for quite a long time
and was able to deliver a really consistent strong pace.
He pulled away comfortably from LeClair, for example.
He made the stinks work where he fed back into traffic.
And it looked like all the way up to when the incident happened,
this was Lando's.
He was going to take it off him.
And if Lando did manage to start that far back
on an alternative strategy
and then overtake his teammate and beat him,
that would have been a real message.
That would have been a real statement made by Lando Norris.
But it was all deciding, unfortunately,
by that silly era and therefore it means nothing because Lando did have the better Grand Prix in my
opinion and Piastri was having one of these more mediocre races. It was closer to Monaco for
Piastri than this was to Bahrain. That's for sure. I was impressed with what Lando was doing up until
that point. So it's a shame that for Lando especially, it's ended this way. Yeah, I'll start with
Piastri. The start definitely cost him and let's face it, the rundown to term one of the Canadian GP.
is there a shorter run down?
It's about three centimetres long, isn't it?
Yeah, so if you're losing a spot, I'm afraid that goes on you,
and he loses that spot to Antonelli early on.
And from there, I feel like they were just trying to use their tire management
to create something of a delta over the opponents.
And they kind of got there, but maybe not as much as they should or could have done.
They decided to go in one lap after Antonelli on the first step.
which I wasn't sure was the right call.
So Antonelli comes in on lap 15.
Piastri comes in, I believe, on lap 16.
We had a few others like, say, Hulk,
I know it's in the midfield,
but Holcomberg went to like lap 20, for example.
I figured Piastri might go a few more laps
to try and create a bit of a difference on those tires
for that middle stint.
They didn't go for that.
And then obviously on the final stint,
that is when they really did create that tire advantage
by letting Piastri go six.
laps longer than Antonelli.
And I think without the distraction of Lando Norris, he was certainly getting there,
whether he would have made the move happen or not without Lando Norris behind him.
I don't know.
But I think Vastappan and Russell ahead of him were probably safe.
This just felt like maybe a race where they were hoping to get the same level of race pace
relative to their opponents that they've had in other races so far this year.
And it never quite arrived.
Like, they still had a good car.
Maybe they had the quickest car.
But they didn't have the outright dominant best car.
And that cost them based on where they were position-wise in this race.
Lando Norris, I think he had the pace to win this one.
I'm not sure.
Him versus Russell, that would have been a very entertaining fight
because he fought back from where he qualified,
despite being on that alternate strategy,
going along on those hard tires. He made the most of it. And he was rapid by the time he caught
Piastri at the end. Given the field spread that you naturally see here and that first stint where
Norris and Lecler as well were becoming quite distant from the top two or three to then get back
into that fight, hugely impressive. And as you say, hugely disappointing that it's resulted in
nothing for him. I think Norris will be, Norris will be frustrated. Again, race pace,
wise qualifying pace. If he puts it all together, that's first or second, I think, and he's walked
away with nothing. Or shall we do as he tries to play for time as he adjust the soundboard?
Shall we do Driver of the Day? Yeah, go on that, mate.
The verdict is in. You're the driver of the day. You're the driver of the day. You're good at
driving. Who have you got as your driver of the day, Sam?
There's a few contenders, actually,
and maybe we'll discuss them afterwards.
I don't want to take any options away from you.
I'm going to go for the race runner, George Russell,
who is my driver with a session in qualifying,
and I think that is what made the difference here today,
really calm, composed, deliver great pace against Max Verstappen.
His stinks were really excellent,
was able to pull out a gap where the undercut just wasn't viable
and was able to just really control this Grand Prix,
even with a slightly slow stop at one point,
which lost him about a third of that lead.
There was no rush.
There was no hurry.
And that was all because of his brilliant management.
with the race. So, yeah, Russell, for me, this was his best performance this season,
and he deserves that race win. Two contenders for me, and one of them was George Russell.
But I'm actually going to go for the other person who was on my short list, which gives him
back-to-back driver of the day performances from me, given he also had that at the Spanish GP.
Nico Holcomberg, yet again in the points for Salma. Now, unbelievably, four points here,
not as many as he got at Spain, but equally a very good performance.
Nearly kept it ahead of Fernando Alonzo, who was on a different and I would say better strategy.
But the way in which he cut through the midfield like he needed to to make that strategy work,
highly impressive. He one stopped after stopping on lap 20.
So he went, however many laps that is on the hard tire, like 50 laps, very good indeed.
Yeah, I thought he had a really good race.
The fact that there were others on the same strategy
that couldn't make their way through the traffic
as easily as Holkenberg did,
speaks volumes to what great day he had.
That's a great shout.
That was my other option, so I'm going to call it out.
So we'll give a little mention to Ockham
because the Haast felt very slow.
So the fact that he was able to turn that one stop
into a points finish, really, really good from Ockham.
Yeah, this was just the most harsh race of all time,
wasn't it?
So harsh.
Didn't look like much in practice, qualified, eh, and then come on the race.
Yeah, they managed to make it work somehow.
All on their 200th GP with that great, brilliant, wonderfully colourful livery that they decided to choose.
Yeah, I'll be real.
Like, it was there the whole race and I forgot about it.
Like, it was in front of me.
Literally not noticeable.
Literally not even noticeably different.
Well, you can't choose the Haas livery as your worst driver.
but we'll see who's going to be
Get in the bin, bin, bin, bin,
worst driver of the day
You suck at driving.
I think there are quite a few contenders for this.
Yeah, there are quite a few contenders for this.
And a lot of them are very far down the grid
and they're very far down the grid
because they were poopie.
We're not getting back on that.
Yes, poopie is the word of the year.
Did Liam Lord?
Awesome, bother?
Did he have a problem the entire Grand Prix, or am I being harsh?
Because he was slow.
And when they retired the car, they said, we've got to look after this P.U.
I think it was out of sympathy.
I think they went, you're that slow.
We don't want to damage his engine anymore and put wear on it.
So we're just going to bring you in because it's brand new.
He was really, really rubbish.
So unless he's got a race issue that I'm unaware of, Lawson, man, you are.
This was bad.
This was really, really bad.
I think from Lawson's perspective, and this applies to a few drivers that finish slowdown,
they were just stuck. And it just comes down to, again, qualifying not being good enough for him.
Like, he was in that train and couldn't move. And ultimately, he decided to get out of that train on lap 39
and switch to the medium tires far earlier than a few others did, like Bortoletto, for example, was lap 50.
And it just never paid off. I don't think he was quite. I don't think he was quite.
quick, he was just stuck.
But we've seen this like Imala, I think was another example earlier this season where
his race pace looked okay, but again, couldn't go anywhere.
So it's just languishing outside the points.
He was a contender for me.
Go with his teammate.
Three big dooms.
I think that's harsh.
Fair enough.
Started 12th has finished second last of those who finished.
His tire wear on the first.
Justin was pretty poor to the point where he had to come in far earlier than anyone else,
earlier than nearly everyone else around him.
And then we're seemingly struggling on the hard tires late on as well.
I don't know what happened between him and Behrman because there was one point where he
was close to Behrman and then we turn around and he's like four seconds behind.
So I'm not really certain what happened there.
Then he lost pace.
Whereas Colopinto, who was on the same strategy as him, stayed ahead of him.
stayed ahead of Bortoleto and Gassley.
Hadjar did not.
This strategy, Holkenberg made it work.
He finished 8th.
Had just finished 16th.
I feel like that racing ball was pretty much the slowest car on the racetrack today.
And he pitted early, yes.
He caught up to the back of the pack again pretty quickly and was just stuck.
It was very Monaco-esque, actually, that the car just had no oomph to get through that DRS train.
You're right that Holcomburg did it and fail-play to him.
but I do think it has made him look worse
than his actual performance seems.
Well, I thought he was going to get through,
at least like Pierre Gasly,
who was still on the tyres that he was starting with.
Like with Lawson and Gasly,
like they were on the same tire,
whereas Hadjar, I thought,
okay, he's got 14 lap fresher tires.
He's going to cut through Gasly.
And he did get by him.
It just took him what felt like forever.
Not a great day for the racing balls,
given they've had a few good ones.
recently.
Stroll as well.
He was another contender, yep.
Pretty gas.
That 10 second penalty there,
just driving across someone in the breaking zone.
Yeah, I want to have another look at that
before I absolutely definitively say it
because I like to be careful,
but it didn't look good.
Yeah, I was a little unsure,
but, you know, I could see Gaz's POV.
Yeah.
Let's take our second break.
On the other side, we're getting into Ferrari.
Is that someone we want to get into?
Not really.
Sam, we had at one point unfolding a potential five-car battle for the win.
I think Martin Brundle said it on commentary.
We've got the top five all on the same straight on this racetrack,
which of course included two McLarence.
Included two Mercedes.
It included the Red Bull of Max Verstappen.
And there was not a Ferrari in sight!
At that point, the closest Ferrari was larger in its gap away from that front five than the front five were together.
They were nine seconds apart.
The Claire was 15 seconds away from the back of that train.
Now, Lewis Hamilton, I almost have to take him out.
I'd have to just not include him in the conversation.
Like you took out that ground dog, eh?
Yeah.
Hey!
Hey, death to animals.
No, don't clip that.
Lewis Hamilton rang over a tiny little critter.
Damage his car.
They did not stop going on about the fact
he was losing 20 points of downforce.
Do a shot every time you hear that phrase
on the British comms at Sky.
But it meant he was slower.
I don't know if his pace would have been good enough
to compete anyway,
but it meant he was slower.
So he's a non-factor in this.
I'm just taking him out.
LeCler, that strategy,
and then winging over the radio
back and forth at each other about,
I want plan B,
well, I want plan C,
we're giving the medium tie,
well, we're giving you the hard side.
Why have we stopped?
I don't know why we've stopped.
It doesn't make sense what we've stopped.
It was just a Ferrari mess again.
To Ferrari hate Canada, poor Jean-Alazzi waving that flag over the end there.
Feels like the last person to a bloody one ear at Canada, who's also driving a Ferrari.
It was painful.
It was really, really painful for Ferrari today.
You had one car limping its way around.
He was quite literally in no man's land.
You know, the other car that didn't know what, you know, he's left from his right,
didn't know what he was doing, when he was stopping, what strategy he was meant to be on.
And they were just drifting away.
just drifting further and further away
from any form of competitive finish
that they might have attained.
And you think when Norris was able to make this hard start
work really, really well,
it actually ends up being a real factor
come the end of the Grand Prix,
out of all the drivers think,
oh yeah, LeClau'll have a go at that,
you'll have a go at that,
and the Ferrari's been looking a bit better recently.
Look how they were in Spain.
This is similar.
You've got long sweeping corners.
It's quite warm at the moment.
There's a chance here that Ferrari could be in the mix.
They were just nowhere, dead in the water,
and they were a real waste of track today
when it comes through anything competitive.
Really poor, really bad for Ferrari.
I mean, the good news for Ferrari, credit to you.
You've managed to gain six points in the championship battle
between you and McLaren, so yeah, that's heading into nail-whiting territory.
That would turn the tide.
Yeah, right.
Oh, boy.
Yeah, Lewis Hamilton, I almost just want to completely discount
because I just don't know what...
Forget about it.
Forget about it. I don't know what that Groundhog like.
how much damage that's done to the car.
A poor little baby.
Bless it.
What are you doing, groundhog?
You see them scuttering around on the side.
You're like, please move.
That poor little thing.
Yeah, so Lewis Hamilton has managed to hit more groundhogs
than he's got podiums today down in sixth.
Charlotte Clare, just Ferrari.
Okay, strategically, I'm not sure the one stop was going to work.
In fact, if I had to play a guessing game, I would have gone, no, it's probably not going to work.
What would the result of it not working been?
I'm going to tell you this, Ben.
The same.
The same.
He was going to finish.
Okay, let's just even say worst case scenario, absolute worst case scenario.
He falls behind his teammate.
Ferrari still claim the same number of points.
That doesn't change.
You might as well try it.
You really don't have anything to lose.
Alonzo was so far back and Holkenberg in the whole midfield, they were never a factor.
Ferrari just had a free hit to try something different, and they didn't.
They come in after 28 laps on that hard tire.
For reference, I think Ocon and Sines went 58, so it's overdubled the stint that LeCler did.
And sure, maybe he would have had to have defended against quicker cars.
Maybe he would have lost out to them.
But again, so what?
You lose out, then you take the pit stop, and then you're in the same spot anyway.
At least at that point, you are goalhanging a little bit for a safety car at a track
where you do get quite a few, and we got one today.
Now, it came to a little bit later on than would have helped Ferrari, sure.
That comes 10 laps earlier, and they've played a bit of a gamble or 15 laps earlier.
They're in business.
They can do something about that.
It was clear they didn't have the outright pace to challenge the likes of Russell and Vestappen.
In which case, strategically you try something different.
And I think Charlotte-Clau is pushing for that.
And ultimately, Ferrari, being Ferrari, decided to do 28 laps on a set of hard tires.
And then another 25 laps on another set of hard tyres.
He'd done two stints on the hard tires before Ocon and Sines have finished.
One.
Come on.
It didn't make sense, see it.
They didn't just pit themselves into no man's land.
And they were just between strategies.
They never committed to one or the other.
again, it's just classic Ferrari.
I don't know. We don't know what we're doing.
We just don't know what we're doing.
I wonder what conversation is going to happen over this summer break
because it feels like there's a shake-up coming along for Ferrari.
It feels like something in turn is going to change.
Yeah, LeClaire was not happy throughout that race.
I love the way they can't talk about it properly over the radio anymore.
I love the way they got allowed to have that conversation.
Yeah, I know, right. Makes it even better.
I won't speak.
Should we focus a little bit on the midfield?
I know he came up in Driver of the Day discussions,
but Holkenberg's managed to secure four points for Salba,
very valuable points.
Alonso, another six for Aston Martin.
What did you make of their days?
They got similar results,
but achieved them a very different way.
I was a little bit worried about Fernando Alonkso
coming into the first stint.
Yeah, he was singing like a stone.
Yeah, my guy stuck way too close to Lewis Hamilton
before we had Groundhog Day.
And he was just burning up those tires.
he was just sat there right in the DRS
and he wasn't going anywhere
I wasn't moving forward
but he was just overheating those tyres
and we saw just how high Degg
was on those tyres
and of course they started on the medium
which meant the tyre where was even higher for him
and it meant that he just fell
he just fell backwards and I thought
with the traffic that we then saw later on in the Grand Prix
which we've already mentioned with the racing balls
with the Alpins in there
with Pearman was stuck in there as well
I thought uh-oh
along the same guy to be stuck around his teammate
despite having such a brilliant start to this Grand Prix
and he's not going to go anywhere.
But he recovered it.
He recovered it really, really well.
He had a great middle stink.
He put together some brilliant laps,
got himself into some clean air,
got himself underway.
You know, you heard over the team radio.
We need to manage, I think it was in turns three and turns eight.
You know, this isn't testing.
This is a race.
And I'm getting on with it.
And he delivered that.
He ends up being best of the rest.
And this was a really good race from,
so in the end.
But at the start, I was worried.
Holgerberg, it was almost the same story,
but it went about it in a very, very different way.
It felt quiet at the start.
It felt like for a minute there,
it was kind of like,
yeah, he's just getting on with his day.
And then pure experience kicks in.
And as he watches Alex Albon sail over the grass,
and obviously others take action to get out the way,
he goes, oh, there's a gap over there.
Thanks very much.
I'll go on through.
And that kind of allowed him to get away
from the traffic and the cues that were going on around him,
or all the kerfuffle that was going on with mistakes being made.
And it meant he could just run his own race.
And that set him up to have.
a brilliant end of the race where he then managed to score great points again.
Holgerberg is having one of the most under the radar seasons, I think.
He is really starting to thrive and a car that is improving.
He deserves those points.
So brilliant race from Holgerberg.
I also did a good job.
Well done from them.
I'm not sure anyone else was challenging them for those spots today, you know,
who weren't in those best cars already.
Yeah, it was very comfortable as well.
Like those two were a long way clear of everyone else in the midfield.
Holkenberg have already given him praise via driver of the day, but just to say, yeah, for Stappen, his
tires were going off, Hadjar's tires were going off, Alonzo's ties were going off, Holtonberg still at
lap 20 looked pretty good, like his pace, he was managing it well. He came in at the right time,
and the hard tie stint was very effective as well. Fernando Alonzo, we're finally starting to
see something from the Aston Martin, and therefore we're finally starting to see something from
Alonzo. He's still pretty good.
I just want to put that out there.
He's still pretty good.
And today he proved it.
Everyone agrees he's really good.
So there's not much point to be saying it, but I'll say it anyway.
Yeah, he, I agree with his middle stint.
I thought that was maybe the best stint that he had throughout the race because he was
looking a little bit like a sinking stone in that first stint to the point where I
thought they might bring him in a little bit earlier than they did.
But they sort of held him out there long enough that he wasn't going to be overtaken.
So that he could extract as much from that first stint as possible before going on the hard tires.
But they were much more comfortable when they got onto that middle stint.
And he was clinical.
He just made the moves that he needed to make in a way that not many other drivers in the midfield did.
So very deserving of six points.
He's had a few races like this this season and he just hasn't been rewarded for it.
Today he was.
Anything else from sort of the midfield skirmishes that took care of.
I don't know, caught your eye.
It was a little bit disappointed with how it worked out for Colopinto.
But I mean, that Alping also felt like it was so poor that maybe he got the most out of it.
Yeah, I think he was sort of in that same boat as the likes of Hadger where they were having to manage those tires a long way to the end.
Yeah.
And it never quite played out.
I think maybe Bortoletto was playing protector of.
of Holkenberg a little bit because he seemed to be the head of the train for quite a few laps
and the likes of Colopinto is kind of stuck in that. But it's still way better than what we've
seen from him in the first three races. Yeah, agreed. Final point from me, I suppose, is Williams.
This feels like it's a real kick in the, in the teeth for Williams and they really could have
had something coming out of this Grand Prix. And when you've got, and no disrespect to them,
but Asalba picking up that many points and Okong after that half seemly not being great doing so well,
it feels like this should have been a given that Williams should have been at least 9th and 10th and they've had a DNF through an engine failure and Carlos Sykes has been all over the shop this weekend. So yeah, it feels like a real missed opportunity for Williams. Hopefully they have a better time of it when we go to Austria, which does feel like in theory should really suit them. I feel bad for Album and Williams because it felt like they properly committed to a one stop in a way that no one else really did. Well, Albin did. I'm not sure the team did.
Well, fair point.
But I feel like so many others did end up doing a one-stop,
but it was more like they stumbled into it.
Like they realized halfway through that,
oh, actually, this is probably going to make more sense
in terms of trap position,
whereas they actually, like, committed to it,
and it didn't pay off.
I don't think it was going to work anyway.
I think he probably would have finished maybe 11th.
I don't think he was beating Ockon or signs on that strut.
So, yeah, tough day for him.
Carlos Seines obviously qualifying and being impeded in qualifying really hurt him
because I think he could have been on course for more points if he'd had a better starting spot.
But the fact that he couldn't get by Ockon will still be a bit frustrating for him.
Agreed.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Not too shabby coming from that far back.
Shall we do?
Big brain strat.
Oh, Bob.
We're going to need you to box for wets.
What?
It's not even raining out.
What are you talking about?
Yeah.
What have you got for big brain strap?
I have gone for LeCler and the radio engineer situation,
which I thought was just fabulous.
Plan B, plan C,
we like to go into the mediums, he pits.
Why am I on the hearts?
It's just, again, a classic lack of communication
or miscommunication from Ferrari and the team,
and it's costing them.
I'm not sure they got being beating anyone,
but it's costing the chance of even trying to beat.
someone. So good job Ferrari. It's always nice to give it to the originators of the award.
Absolutely. Don't disagree with you there whatsoever. I'm going to go for something slightly
different. In the midfield, there were two options. You could either start on the medium tire
and not do many laps on them and then coming quite early for the hard tire. That's what the likes
of Colopinto did, Holcombberg did, Hajjad did, Berman did. Option two, go very long on the hard
tire that you start with. That's what the likes of Ocon and Sines did, and they got rewarded with points.
Those are your two options. Now, notice how one of those options was not, start on the hard tire,
pit after 25 laps, go on to another set of hard tires, go another 28 laps, and then come in for
medium tires. That was the strategy of one lanch stroll. Now, he didn't help himself by getting a 10-second
time penalty, but it was going nowhere anyway. I don't know what they were trying.
with that strategy.
It just didn't work.
And he might not score points anyway,
but there's a reason no one else tried it.
We've seen it a lot with Ashton Martin.
Their strategy team have not been on it.
They are off the boil this season.
Yeah, I didn't think that one was great at all.
Let's take our final break on this episode.
On the other side, Moment of the Race.
Welcome back, everyone.
It's time for Moment of the Race.
And of course, that means Discord submissions coming up for you
in just a moment's time.
But before we do that, Sam,
what was your moments of the race?
I don't get to do it as often as I would like anymore,
but there's nothing like a good total impression.
And so when you do get your first ever pony
and what you want to be greeted with, of course,
is yeah, you are little Kimi,
but now you are Grande Kimi.
Good job, good job, Grande Kimi.
And I love that he could even get the words out properly.
You kind of think, have you thought this through?
Did it sound better in your mind
when you thought this was a good thing to say
to someone over the team radio like that?
Classic, loved it, bizarre.
George Russell was having a great radio straight after that
as he was coming down the pit straight,
but I shall hold.
Ben, what was yours?
I've had a thought on the Toto Wolf,
Kimmy Antonelli team radio,
and I've decided it is grounds for disqualification.
I know it's a great moment for him to finish on the podium
for the first time,
but you just can't let that happen.
It can't be allowed to sit there unpunished.
I don't disagree with you.
Apologies.
My moments at the radio,
five very simple words.
We are racing, not testing.
Just the most vintage Fernando Alonzo.
It's so Fernando, isn't it?
It's so good.
He loves selling off his team.
Man, what a great man.
What a great driver who still has a lot of capability
in this sport.
Well done, Fernando.
Right. What do we have from our Discord submissions?
Yeah, we're going in with DJ,
Sping to Wing.
Thank you for all your submissions.
We've had plenty of them.
got plenty of good ones coming up.
What's popping, everybody?
It is DJ Spin to Win Alive from Canada.
My moment of the race was my fellow countryman,
Lance Stroll getting a 10-second penalty.
Thank goodness for a surgery because he still cannot drive.
Well, there you go.
We had someone from the racetrack there,
and it's a Canadian being what, impolite to another Canadian?
They're not often rude, are they?
No comment.
Thank you for your submissions,
especially when you're down at the racetrack track track.
It's really cool to get your track side.
Up next is Alex.
C-458, curious thing what happens to the other 457,
and that is a different conversation.
Hey, guys, Alex C here in New York City with my moment of the race.
For the Canadian GP, I'm going to go with my girlfriend and I
playing Groundhog Investigator during the race.
We think there was a Groundhog dead by the hairpin at the end.
I think Lewis hit it, but no one wanted to admit it,
so we were trying to figure it out the whole time.
Cheers, boys.
What's a wonderfully morbid game that you decide to play?
Expect them on the next plane to Scotland Yard.
Good. We can move on swiftly to a first-timey, and we always love a first-timey, so thank you to us. Do join the Discord. Do get involved in the submissions. It's really lovely to hear from you. This is Chris Mueswell or Mucel. I've said that so wrong. Welcome to your first time, and your name gets butchered here.
Hello, first-time submission here. My moment of the race is why is there someone younger than me getting a podium in Formula One?
I turned 19 yesterday.
Why is there someone younger than me that's got a podium in Formula One?
Welcome.
Welcome to the club.
I would give you my reaction to that,
but I don't listen to people born in the 2000s,
so I didn't hear you.
You know that GIF where they're standing on the Pirateship
and he looks over and goes first time?
That's like us to people who are now getting younger people on podiums.
There's always that first time where someone of a similar age
than you achieve something and you're like, damn, I suck.
Yeah, I really think.
thought I was going to be something.
Now I'm not.
Oh, boy.
Speaking of someone who is really something,
Bristol Liam is here, and hopefully his mum.
Very lots.
It's for me, Grande, Kimmy Antonelli.
Morrowing the race was Toto being really creepy over the radio.
Cheers.
Cheers.
Thanks, Bristol Liam.
He was quite creepy, wasn't he?
Yeah, speaking of creepy, without the context of Bristolian's mum,
that really sounds bad.
It's a ranging joke, folks.
If you need to the show,
go back and listen.
Next is Blazy.
All right, boys.
Moment of the race obviously has to go to.
Lando Norris just drives into his teammate, Oscar Piastri,
for no reason whatsoever.
There was no gap there, Lando.
I don't know what you're doing.
This is how to lose a championship one-on-one at this point.
Keep breaking late, boys.
Took a while.
Took a lot of that I thought to get to Lando
and Piastri crash a moment of the race, Ben.
Yeah, understandable.
Just from Lando Norris's perspective, he's going to be harsh on himself,
just based on what we know of Lando Norris.
I really hope he's not overly harsh on himself
because there's a long way to go in this season
and he could, based on what we know about him, very easily,
not go the right way about this incident.
Agreed. I think that team will give him the support that he needs.
I think they'll look after him. They're a good bunch.
Finally, not finally, Ms. Wayne Water gum.
I'm just talking out of my backside.
V-crab's.
This is where Harry does this, by the way, folks,
because he's genuinely better at it than I am.
V-Crab, you're out next.
B-crab here, the unofficial fishmonger of F-1.
My moment of the race
is going to be Fernando Alonzo,
being told by his team to manage tires,
I think, was it?
And him replying,
this is not testing, this is racing.
You tell him, Fernando.
Use that neck.
Spang, are you the official fishmonger?
Because is V-Crab, the unofficial one.
You must be the official one, right?
Can I ask why?
You have the same opinion.
About.
And that's the basis for being a fishmonger of F1.
Well, you do like to go fishing with some of your comments, so maybe.
I don't know what you're talking about.
Every single one of my comments is genuine.
Good.
That's for me.
Good.
Ash Adventures up next.
Hi, late breakers.
This is Ashton.
First time to bitter.
Coming to you live from turn two at Canada.
Nice.
My moment of the race was Kimmy and
Kelly, getting around Oscar Biastery, and getting his first podium.
Keep breaking late.
Yeah, I bet that was really cool to watch.
We've been privy to some great moves in Texas when we've been there,
but I would love to go to Shilvonga.
I'd love to go to that race track.
So, I'm bit jealous.
Very, very cool that you got to see it.
Come out next is boogity, boogity, boogity, boogity.
Bugety, boogity, boogity, let's go racing in late breakers.
My moment of the race was lap 57 when Esteban, Steveo Ocon,
finally pitted for the first time.
Who needs pizza ups anyways?
You're breaking late.
What's the link to Steve-o?
I don't know.
I'm sure it's really funny, though.
Hi, I'm Esther Mang Okong, and this is Formula One.
Anyway, thank you.
Appreciate it.
Two more to go.
We've got Bullet Bill up next.
Mr. Bullet Bill here.
This week's moment of the race was Russell totally ban-baiting Max Rastappen with that
break check.
This week's Bullet Bill.
Award, though, goes to none other than Lando Norris.
Keep breaking late, fellas.
Pugh-Pew.
That's an award show that I would like to go to.
Obviously, we can't, via the medium of audio, share with you the accompanying graphic.
But to prove the point that Lando Norris has won the award, Bullet Bill, has given us a great graphic in Discord.
Yeah, check it out.
In the submissions channel, there's a lovely, lovely picture there of, well, I'll let you come and see it.
You'll get the full experience.
Finally, rounding us off is Sarah H12.
This is Sarah coming to from the track in Montreal.
My moment of the race had to be finally getting to see the two McLarence battling.
And sorry, Sam, they did not have any USGP shirts for sale here today.
Thanks for looking.
Good luck out.
Appreciate you looking out for me.
It's very kind of you.
Maybe I'll get to get one when we come back to Texas later on in the year, Ben.
Yes.
Absolutely. I massively appreciate the submission, obviously, live at the track. There's,
there's plenty to do at a race track. So the fact that you've taken a little bit of time to
to give your opinion on our podcast means a great deal. That is all of our submissions for
this episode. There won't be any submissions midweek because we don't have a race coming up
next weekend. But we do have one in a couple of weeks time, Sam. And we've still got some
episodes between now and then. Yeah, we're going to be back midweek, of course. We've got
power rankings in between that. So if you think, oh,
Patreon, is it just early tickets? No,
no, no. Patreon City provides you with many
benefits and that is extra
episodes. That's a historic review. You get
beer breaking and
you get early access to things. So
make sure you check it out. It massively supports
the show and thank you to everyone that already
does. Make sure you take advantage of those early
tickets if you will be in Texas.
Thanks for following along. Follows on social media
Late Breaking F1. Watch this on
YouTube Late Breaking F1 and we will see
you midweek for more brilliant
F1 content in the meantime.
I've been Samuel Sage.
And I've been Ben Hocking.
And remember, keep breaking late.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
