The Late Braking F1 Podcast - 2025 Japanese GP Race Review
Episode Date: April 6, 2025The LB trio review the Japanese GP where Verstappen held off the McLaren duo to secure his first win of the season. The boys discuss the key moments from the race, including Verstappen's stellar drive..., Ferrari's struggle with pace, Hadjar's first career points, and their thoughts on Tsunoda's performance... FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
Very warm, welcome to the late breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Ead, Sam Sage,
and me, Ben Hocking, reviewing today the Japanese Grand Prix,
and it happened, Sam.
Yes, there was a race that began, 50-odd laps or so happened.
that race thing ended.
So it was a Grand Prix.
One has been had.
You join us slightly hung over
after eating fantastic barbecue food,
frozen margaritas
and Harry stumbling through the door
with a packet of port pies at 2 a.
That is true, folks.
I bought a packet of mini pork pies
following producer Kirstie's 30th birthday drinks yesterday.
Happy birthday, producer Kirstie.
Who's actually...
She got our sauce and then has not turned up
the next day for the recording, which quite frankly is rude.
Yeah, we got a message from her on the state.
What do you think we're all doing?
Yeah, I've got a box and mini-bought bystands.
That's my name on it.
Bens eating a whole margarita pizza at midnight.
I did.
Guilt.
You're charged.
Yeah.
I'll respect it.
Anyway, let's try and review what we just saw.
We'll give it a go because Max Verstappen took his first race win of the season
ahead of the two McLaren's, the first time this year.
that McLaren hasn't won a Grand Prix.
It was a double podium, at least for McLaren, though,
just as they qualified, Lando Norris in second, Oscar Piastri in third.
And that's where we'll kick off the conversation today, Sam,
because this whole race felt like a challenge.
Could McLaren do anything about that lead that never seemed to grow all that much?
But Vastappen kept them both at arm's length.
Was there anything?
Well, let's start with Vastappen, I guess.
Vastappen, what did you make of his performance?
I mean, Vestappan's
doing a great job of running away and cleaning air a little bit,
just holding that two-second gap back.
And unfortunately, this race, I believe,
sets the new record being the first race ever
where the top six starting in one order,
and they finished in that exact order.
So even Monaco hasn't set that record before.
So well done to Suzuki 2025.
It was a real banger.
Max did everything he needed to do.
It was a classic 2V-1 scenario,
and he's been in these before.
right, he's trained.
He's gone up against the,
uh,
the episodes four to six in Mercedes,
and now he's up against the prequel.
He's on the prequels.
Excellent.
Into McLaren.
Where's Jada Pigska appearing?
He's dealing with the paddawans at the moment.
Um, and he dealt with them well.
He dealt with them well.
He forever kept them at arm's length.
And the only time that there was any kind of danger that looked to actually
threatening his lead was a slow pit stop that came about courtesy of Red Bull
where we got a little bit of argy bargy,
a bit of elbow out action.
exiting the pit lane,
Landon Norris, two wheels on the grass for stab and scampered off.
And that was all she wrote.
It really was a bit of a masterclass in just,
I'm going to run my own race,
I'm going to keep my tyres healthy,
I'm going to keep it just outside DRS range.
And it is what it is.
But it looked very difficult to follow.
The tyres are like they were never, ever going to fall off.
Pirelli's rubber completely taking off at Japan
and fitted back on a Bahrain for free practice one,
and those tyres would be fine.
He did a brilliant job.
He did a really, really brilliant job.
I actually think as much as he did a brilliant job,
it was McLaren that lost themselves this race
rather than Bostappan outclassing the field to win this race.
He did a great job, but I do think it was McLaren
that threw this one away.
Yeah, on the tires, we obviously saw last year,
as we kind of discussed in the buildup to the Grand Prix,
that there were, at least Charles LeClaire
and a couple of others outside the top 10 last year were trying that two-stop.
And somewhat making it work,
it never felt like with those relatively damp conditions today,
never actually had rain,
but it was still pretty cold,
pretty damp.
Tires just went forever.
And a two-stop for anyone was out of the question fairly early on.
I mean,
we even saw the soft tire make an appearance for a few drivers.
Harry, what did you make of Vestappen's win?
It was classic Vestappen, wasn't it?
If you want to stop Max Vastappen from winning,
don't allow him to get a pot position as a rule.
in the book.
In the book, because from there on,
especially a sex like Suzuki,
oh God,
he was fullless.
And Sam,
you mentioned the 2V1 scenario,
which is correct,
but McLaren didn't give him anything to,
like, worry about.
Exactly what I mean, though,
by them losing the race
rather than Max swinging it.
Max is, yeah,
you've had the,
the experts at 2V1 with Mercedes,
and Max is like,
This is pretty easy, isn't it?
They're just not doing anything.
One hand behind his back.
Sog fighting.
Yeah.
I've been here before and they were better than this.
Yeah, it wasn't much for him to think about.
And that's not taking anything away from him.
He was faultless today.
And it was just a vintage Vestappan drive.
And when he just sort of drove to the pace he needed to,
didn't overdrive and just let Norris and Piastri was squabbling behind him.
and he just drove the
the pace he needed to do
to take the win so yeah
can't take anything away from it
it was faultless and to be honest in a car
that I don't think deserves to win at all
with keeping behind him the two fastest cars
on the grid at the moment so
it was a very impressive
drive do you know what that is a sign of a great driver
it was it was super impressive
but I'm just like oh yeah
it's just happening in it
that in itself
is a sign of
his average
is so much better
than 95%
of the Griggs
very good
and that just shows
you how good
Max for stabbing is
qualifying this year
is essential
you've got to get
qualifying right
and this is a
this Japanese
Grand Prix
told the tale
of having to nail
qualifying
because
you know
if that was to be
a tense
the other way
and Max starts
third
that order finishes
with Max
Mastaping
in third place
I don't think
he ends up
really getting
past
either of those
McLaren's
and they probably
run off
into the distance
so not mucking up
you're qualifying is as important as it ever has been right now.
And Lewis Hamilton, for example, paid that price by sitting that far back
and being in no man's land after he got past Isaac Haggwick on a teammate.
Was he in this race?
Maybe.
Where can I improve all of Suzuki?
All of the corners.
Faster.
Every single thing you can do is better.
We'll get on to that.
I was just going to point out, we are now halfway to 2012's record of
seven different races
Oh yeah three different winners
So we're on three
I guess four if you want to count the sprint
But it doesn't count because it's a sprint
But certainly the races we are
We're up to three now so yeah George come on
Be better next next to
And also three different poll sitters
Oh yeah that too
Come on
Low key could be a fun season
Even though it looked like it maybe was going the way
In McLaur and we won't get a two a heck of ourselves
Fast but silly
Always always
I mean, Vestappen was, as you've kind of both alluded to,
Vestappen was what we've come to expect from Vestappen.
The genius of him is just not being surprised.
And it never, as I mentioned, like that gap did occasionally go down to a second,
1.2 seconds.
Sometimes it went out to two seconds.
It never felt like he was in trouble.
It was only really the pit phase where you felt like McLaren could pull something off.
but on track, as was kind of the case up and down the field,
you felt that he probably wasn't going to be,
he wasn't going to be overtaken.
Just again, the Hamilton Hadjar overtake happened,
but so few others did.
Those tires were lasting a long time.
The dirty air did seem to be a real factor.
And yeah, I mean, he cruised it.
And I agree with your point on it really qualifying won and lost the race today,
because if Verstappan only qualifies third, he probably finishes third.
And if he qualifies fifth, he probably finishes fifth.
But ultimately he pulled out that excellent poll app.
And the pace was good enough to see off that challenge.
I think it was, even though that car wasn't,
I still think the strongest car out there today,
I think Red Bull will be encouraged that they seem to have genuinely better pace here
than they did at China.
and now we wait to see if it's a you know which ones the one to pay attention to is it this race or the one before as we head into the second two parts of this triple header like is this going to continue on can they distance themselves from or at least can Verstappen distance himself from the Ferraris from the Mercedes and really present that challenge to McLaren similar maybe to what we had when he was challenging the mux
almost in this 2V1 scenario.
Side note, we praised in China for the TV direction
for showing us battles after they crossed the line.
And we had one moment of action with the leaders,
all Grand Prix.
And did we watch it live?
No, we cut to it as Landon Norris is coming back off of the grass.
You have one thing to catch you in an hour and a half,
and you managed to miss it.
Just so typical Formula One TV.
Yeah.
On the McLaren side of things, Harry, we've already spoken a little bit on,
was this a race won by Vestappen or lost by McLaren?
What could they have done, if anything?
Just anything different, really.
I'm slightly baffled by the decision to bring Norris in at the same time as Vastappen.
No boxing opposite.
it either Vastappan pits and you carry on a U-pit because Vastappan's not come in.
Just, I don't think it would have made a huge amount of difference because I think the undercut just wasn't really working today.
I say undercut.
It was working in the sense of you had to have like a few laps undercut, not just what, you know, your standard of one lap.
But at least try something just to put them under pressure.
But doing it in the pit lane was never, I know it almost worked, be relying on Red Bull having a duff stop.
more duff than the one they had.
Yeah.
And it just felt like it wasn't really going to do much.
And then they just sat there,
sat there behind him for the entirety of the race.
So at least give Norris the opportunity to unlock the potential of that car for a lap
and see where we get to or undercut him and do the same thing.
It just, yeah, unimaginative from McLaren today.
And, you know, I don't think it's going to cost him in the long run this year.
but if it does get tighter towards the end of the season,
they can't be sitting on the laurels like that
because it wasn't, it wasn't a very, yeah,
as I say, imaginative way to go about trying to win the race.
They literally, they didn't do anything.
No, this is where you need a George Russell in your team
because he would have come over the radio and gone,
let's go long guys, so he would have come over and shouting something.
If I'm Piascari, you need to go,
I'm not getting past Norris and the staff,
but Norris isn't going to let me through.
we're not going to do a team order swap because we're direct rivals in a championship.
We've got to try something different.
The worst that happens is I end up back in P3.
It's really not the end of the world.
So the moment Max and Norris come in on the same lap,
you've got to run eight, nine, ten laps longer on those tires,
whack on the hardest.
We saw how fast Kimmy Antingelli was the moment he got into cleaning air on those hard tires.
And once he warmed them up, he was in belting form.
The lap times of Russell were coming down about a second or so a lap at one point,
8, 9, 9 tents, and you've got someone like Norris, who is just cooped up behind the
staff and trying to conserve, if Piastri arrives on the scene with four or five laps ago
and he's tired of a 10-lap fresher, there's every chance that he can actually get a
attraction coming out of that final chicane, use the DRS's advantage, and get something done.
I'm not expecting him to overcome them and end up coming out in front of them, I just don't
see that happening, but I generally think there'll be a chance for at least vassal for second
and first from Piastri's point of view. And the fact that they had this advantage of
2V1 and they did nothing else with it.
It's just so silly but so not fast from McLaren and that's the wrong way that you want to be.
As you said, really, really unimaginative.
Yeah, try summon.
You really don't have much to lose.
You are pretty much locked in to second and third place.
So it gives something a go.
We saw with Antonelli with how long he went.
Now, I appreciate he started 6th and finished 6th and didn't make any progress,
but he was comfortably behind George Russell in the first stint.
He went long.
Second stint, he catches him.
Like, he's only 1.3 behind at the end.
And we know that the McLaren's were at least similarly paced to the point where they could sit in the sort of two second gap behind Vastappen quite comfortably.
What if they did have 10 lap fresh a time?
tires, what would have happened then?
There would have maybe been the opportunity to get into that DRS zone,
which would seem to allude Lando Norris.
He consistently in the last few laps got to 1.2, 1.1, I think at one point,
but never within the DRS.
Could that have been the difference?
But even if the answer to that is no, you've tried.
So I think with at least one of them, as again,
the Merck versus Vastappen comparison comes back,
because you have the opportunity,
like you can 2V1
and have an opportunity to
essentially get one of your guys
on the winning strategy,
whichever that one is.
And I think Norris and Piastri
at this point in the season
are probably both mature enough
to give something different a go
and not be annoyed if it works for the other guy
and doesn't work for you.
So yeah, I felt that McLaren
should have done something different.
What about that?
moment that we've already mentioned coming out of the pits.
We saw Norris and Vestappen elect to pit on the same lap, slow, uncharacteristically slow,
pit stop from Red Bull, saw them come out almost side by side.
Vestappen about, I would say, half a car length ahead or so.
But Norris absolutely bolts it out of the pit lane until he goes on the grass.
Norris says that it was Vestappen who pushed him there.
a staff and says he put himself on the grass.
Harry, how did you see it?
Is it fair that it wasn't, was it even investigated?
It was just no action at all.
It was investigated.
Yeah.
What's your thoughts on it?
Yeah, he drove on the grass, didn't he?
He didn't.
He was clear.
And even after the race, Norris was saying it was, it was fine.
But he was just trying to get some, get something out of that.
that that gap was always going to close
Vestappen did nothing wrong
in how he exited the pit lane
Norris was driving into a gap
that was always going to close
in terms of tarmac
and he ended up on the grass
you can't blame me for trying
but to be honest
that could have ended badly
it could have gone wrong
because the grass is quite wet
because they've had rain overnight
and you saw he's actually pretty out of control
when he hits that grass
if that's just
he hits that slightly differently
or there's too much
you know too much throttle
he spears into the barrier into
Vastappan and then you know
it's all gone wrong so
the internet explodes
the internet would have popped
it wouldn't have
I actually wouldn't have
mind after what we saw
sure something would have happened
I guess
but yeah so it easily could have got wrong
I understand why he was to try to go for it
but there's nothing doing there at all
um
Wastappen was absolutely fine
and to be honest, it was sort of like,
it was quite a unique one because McLaren were the end of the pit lane
so they could, you know, go away with that any other time.
You might have said that was an unsafe release,
but because they were right at the end, they could just go.
So, yeah, I will give him credit for being that quick on the button,
the speed limit button, because he was on it versus this happened there,
but yeah, it didn't pay off and, you know, wasn't worth it.
Yeah, but no, no penalty or anything.
in my view was absolutely fine.
Any further thoughts on it, Sam?
No, in total agreement,
I actually think that McLaren are more at fault
and probably got away with not being given
an unsafe release because they were mighty close
in the pit lane.
And as Harry said, if that was halfway down the pit lane
on the other end of it, there's a real chance
that that McLaren will have to run side by side
with the Red Bull all the way down.
You can hit another wheel gun from another team
or something like, there's a lot of people,
log of machinery that sits on that inside line.
they're very lucky that they didn't have to pass another box, basically,
when they made that pit stop.
So, no, for Stappen was a little bit, a little bit rough in terms of, you know,
he definitely spread that car as wise as it could be coming out of that pit lane,
but I have no issue with that.
He's the car in front.
He's also entitled just to use the pit lane.
He was ahead when they released the McLaren.
Absolutely nothing there.
Actually, I think Lando is lucky, as Harry said,
to not have had more of an incident less than it's rather on the grass
and cause himself anymore,
Yeah, no penalty from my side as well.
I think Lando Norris knew it wasn't as well.
It was the post-race interview that kind of gave it away
where he was asked about it and I can't remember his exact response,
but he was something, he said something along the lines of,
you know, that's racing.
He's got to try, he's got to try.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, exactly.
But I think he probably knew that,
it wasn't going to stick.
I really enjoyed the Stappings,
call-down room comments where that came up on the screen,
actually.
And Max went,
very expensive lawnmower.
And I just thought,
oh, Max, you're in the mind,
don't you?
You're playing them games.
I did like the,
the cool-down room just for them talking about
how nothing happened.
Is that it?
There were no overtakes.
David Croft,
but there were some overtakes.
Please.
That's not a great advert.
All right,
let's take our first break on this episode.
On the other side, we're going to discuss Mercedes and Ferrari.
Welcome back, everyone.
A stat that we've already referenced in the first part of today's episode is that the top six
all finished in the order that they started, which of course included one of the Ferraris
in Shao LeClair and both of the Mux in fifth and sixth places.
Should we start with Ferrari, Sam?
Obviously, they haven't achieved much this season so far in terms of points after Australia
didn't go their way, double disqualification at China.
Some solid points here, even if they couldn't challenge for the podium.
Do they walk away from this weekend with bigger disappointment that the top three were
unchallenged from their perspective?
Or do they walk away thinking, we just needed something and we've got something?
No, I don't think that could be Ferrari's mindset.
I don't think they could sit there and go, oh, cool, we've got the minimum thing that a team like Ferrari should be challenging for when we spend hundreds of millions of dollars on this project.
And we have Lewis Hamilton and Charlotte Claras, I drive a line up.
Accepting at some point is not going to be enough.
That's not acceptable.
The thing they could take Solis from is that no one was really moving in this race.
It really was pretty much, you're finish where you start, unless you're Lewis Hamilton, who I think was the only changing position in the whole top 10 was the swap between.
Hamilton and Hajar.
So at least he got that done.
That was just him letting his idol buy.
Please, I am not worthy.
I am not worthy.
It really was.
But hey, we got something, I suppose.
The biggest issue that Ferrari will come away with
from this weekend is looking at the gap
that started to emerge between
Stauffing in the Red Bull and the two McLarence.
And the fact that it was Vestappen,
who was almost the cork in the bottle,
it wasn't holding up those McLaren's,
but I do think that had it being flipped around,
the gap back to the rest of the field will have been much larger.
And so I think it may be,
through rose-tinted glasses, they may look at this result and go,
well, we were only, was it 12, 13 seconds off of the fight up front
come the end of the race?
I actually think it was going to be significantly larger
if McLaren were able to get in front of the staffing
and they were able to lead that way.
So that would be their biggest concern.
They have not got the pace at the moment to match the red ball.
You won't have the pace match from McLaren even further off.
It's this a worrying moment for Ferrari
because when they were semi-willing races at the end of last year,
they were so close to taking a championship.
They really closed the gap to come into this new season.
And they had the whole Lewis Hamilton high.
Lecleron Hamilton is the best driver line up.
They had a real, almost, you know, aura going into what Ferrari was.
It could be their year, which is Ferrari's favorite slogan
at the start of every single season.
It is once again, narrator, once again, it was not their year.
and it's not looking good chief.
I think they might be the fourth fastest car at the moment.
It was a fresh twist in the tale of this epic championship battle between Ferrari and William.
So a good day for Ferrari in that regard.
They've put some distance between them and the blue team.
Harry, how will Ferrari look at this weekend?
Do you think it is more negative than positive?
What do you reckon?
I mean, they will be pleased to not be disqualified yet.
um but yet yeah exactly but um yeah i am with you some i think it's pretty disappointing in terms of
pace they they they were well they were bad they just weren't there with um it's probably
i would say the furthest the way they've looked this season uh pace wise versus you know mcclaren and
vestappen um certainly versus china and then yeah australia as well so yeah i think it'll be disappointed
that it's quite a you know it's quite a different circuit to the other ones we've been to so far so
i guess they can take solace in the fact that you know it's quite different and that they'll go to
you know bar right next week will be very different again so and they look good there in testing so
yeah i i guess it was about getting some actual points on the board but they can't be
they can't be too satisfied with how how that's gone because they just they weren't really there
at all pace-wise and like you said sound they were you know fourth fourth fastest team again
for snapping being his own team at this point but um yeah they didn't even have the pace to catch
the murk so they'll be disappointed i i'd hazard a guess that it would be better next week um sadly
rabe remains to be seen but uh i'm not sure for are going to be amazingly pleased with how
how this one has gone um they just seem to lack
Again, they weren't terrible.
They just seemed to lack any real speed.
Yeah.
And I mean, speaking of Bahrain,
like they are going to be hoping that this new floor that's on its way is a game
changer.
And I think they'll be annoyed that they're in a position where it needs to be.
I think if you'd have said like at the beginning of the season
that we've got something planned for Bahrain,
like an upgrade,
they'd have wanted it to be like a top up on what is already either the fastest car
or very close to the fastest car,
they're not in that situation right now.
As you say,
like positions-wise,
there was so little changing that I don't think it's overly disappointing
that LeCler couldn't make any progress from fourth.
But Lewis Hamilton,
and Lewis Hamilton, again, in just one spot.
But it's the time difference that was more concerning from my side.
Like, if Charles LeCler had still finished fourth,
but he was,
three seconds behind the two McLaren's,
I think you take that.
And equally,
if Hamilton was on the back of Kimmy Antonelli,
really challenging him for that sixth place,
again,
points-wise,
you're not making any difference
to what you actually got,
but you're at least showing a little bit more
in terms of performance.
They didn't show a lot.
Charle-Clau was never really in contention
with that top three.
Hamilton,
as soon as he overtook,
Hagear, that was his day done.
And yeah, even though it is solid points and that will at least cement them in fourth place in the championship, that's not their objective for the season based on where they were last year.
In the very last race of 2024, they were challenging for the Constructors Championship.
It would have been the objective this year to finally, after about 18 years, win another Constructors Championship.
And it's just not going their way.
I've got a feeling that we're going to get to the end of the year and talk about these first few races for Ferrari.
be like if anything better.
Yeah, that floor is going to be revolutionary.
They'll suddenly be really good from Barre,
but the damage is already done.
What about Mercedes fifth and sixth, Sam?
I think on pace-wise, they were fast in the fifth and sixth today.
George Russell, right on the back of Charlotte Clare for quite a long time.
That looked like it could be the closest battle that we were going to have for a little while.
But it seemed like the nature of Suzuki, the way the tires were, the damp conditions.
It was a perfect storm for the most board.
storm in the world.
And unfortunately,
that's a clear blue sky.
Like a light drizzle.
A gentle breeze upon the neck,
on the gait.
Yeah, not fun.
Not fun at all.
You know, really, really dull.
And George Russell, unfortunately,
much like many others up and down the grid,
was unable to really do anything to capitalize upon that.
And again, it's where qualifying hurts.
It's where the mistakes in qualifying on the Saturday
have cost him because I think George Russell,
probably could have qualified on the front row
if not he could have being in fourth place.
And if he does that,
there's a charge of that Mercedes, I think,
could have been right up there with the McLaren's
for the entire Grand Prix
or at least fighting around them
because you wage yourself into third place.
If you out-qualified Piastri, for example,
I think he finishes on the podium.
I do think that George especially
in that Mercedes has got that pace.
So they'll be frustrated, I think,
the same thing, I think they're frustrating day on Saturday.
I think they'll be more frustrated today
that they were stuck in between these two Ferraris
that didn't really have a longer pace.
Kimi-hanting-Elli, on the other hand,
whilst he didn't go anywhere,
and whilst his initial pace didn't look incredible,
this is the kind of race
that someone like Kimi-hancing Annie needs,
and you can hear that passion over the radio
when Bongo was like,
fastest man on track, great pace,
I'm giving it everything!
I'm giving everything!
Good lad!
It's like your dad's patting your back.
Good job, mate.
It really was.
Well done, son.
Well done, son.
You're trying really.
Are you a winning, son?
No, I'm sick, Bono.
I'm having a great time,
and I'm going,
really fast.
And you know what?
Good for you, Kimi Anseng Ellie.
This will boost his confidence.
Finishing only 1.2, 1.3 behind George Russell.
I think we'll end up being a real positive for him.
I think he'll come away from this race with some confidence in his locker,
which he needs.
And this is exactly what a rookie driver should be doing,
is finishing right next to their very experienced, very talented teammate,
they're bringing home as many points as they can
because they weren't moving forward.
But equally, mistakes could have been made today.
There were some damp patches, the track was cold.
we've seen how much gravel and, you know, Paul rang off there is at Suzuki.
Someone like Kimi Antigelli is easily the candidate where he could have made a mistake and ending up,
catapulting himself into a wall and coming home with nothing.
So I think whilst we're saying he won't be overly happy with the results,
they will be happy with what Kimmy was able to produce.
Harry, Mercedes, Ford.
Thanks, Ben.
Look, I think George, as you said, Sam did all of his down.
damage yesterday in qualifying.
I think, yeah, he could have been in that total three.
If he has a better lap in Q3, then he is in amongst it.
But realistically, he might do Piastri, but they might have got him.
Piaastri might have got him in the race anyway through the pit stops.
So I think the biggest, the bigger disappointment will be not beating Leclair on that one.
Because I think the Mercedes was a faster car than the Ferrari this weekend.
So I think that's, you know, props to Leclair for being ahead of both of them.
Um, Antonelli, it's weird to say, but that feels, that's probably his first like proper race in terms of.
Yeah.
Melbourne was wet and chaos.
China, because of a poor quality, he was just stuck in like dirty air and, and, and, you know, I'm obviously learning a lot and it was his own doing.
But that damage as well.
Yeah, and had damage.
Um, so this is like the first proper just sort of standard race for him.
Um, I thought he was, he was very impressive.
And yeah, I admire the.
of course he would just be going flat out all the time
that wouldn't expect anything that's but
great next speed all the time
he's just walking
going so fast bono
but yeah no
I thought I thought it was a very measured and good
good race from him
you know and again
this is all learning for him and you know
he he'll doing this alternate strategy to Russell
he'll see how you know he can lock that one away now
how that worked because as he said earlier on
Ben, he was only a second behind him,
or just over a second behind him by the end of the race.
So we can, you know, lock that one away for future use.
If they want to start doing alternative strategies,
he knows how that's going to work.
So that was impressive by him.
But yeah, overall Mercedes, they might have,
with Russell, maybe a couple of places or maybe just one place above where they were,
but I think it's probably the most, pretty much the most they had this weekend.
Yeah, I feel like from, from Russell's perspective,
this was maybe the first weekend this season
that he hasn't maximised the car underneath him
because he'd done such a great job in Australia and China
to finish on the podium in both of those races
and you didn't feel like there was much more that he had left.
Here though, certainly fourth place was on the cards
if he'd qualified better.
So a little bit disappointing from Russell's side.
From Kimi Antonelli's perspective,
firstly, absolutely love that he was the first person,
to go nope to the Casio
triangle. And then also
the other highlight from
Antonelli was just seeing that he had lap time
deleted because he's probably
just not on the first sector.
Straight line VES.
Yeah.
He's something to me.
But I think it was an encouraging weekend
from Antonelli.
Like to be a part of that main
group, like the front running group
is what he didn't do in China.
And obviously,
Australia, due to the poor qualifying,
was a bit trickier to judge.
But yeah, I think Antonelli was,
he did the weekend the right way around
because he, in terms of practice,
his pace was not very good.
Like he was pretty slow versus Russell in practice.
And also in the earlier parts of qualifying as well,
he seemed to work his way into the weekend.
Like he worked his way into Q3.
and then was able to deliver a lap
within a couple of attempts of Russell.
We get to the race today.
I know it was somewhat strategy dependent,
but he did feel like he got better
as the race went on,
starting to understand the track more,
starting to, I mean, understand F1 more.
Again, it's just his third race.
So I think Antonelli will be relatively content
with his weekend.
Should we do driver of the day?
Oh, I can't wait.
The verdict is in.
You're the driver of the days.
You're the driver of the days.
You're good at driving.
The background a cappella music of that
does not get enough love.
Slaps.
Does indeed.
Harry, driver of the day.
That's just happened.
But I mean, mainly for yesterday,
but he didn't put a foot wrong all afternoon.
As I said earlier on,
I don't think that Red Bull deserves to be.
I don't think the Red Bull deserves to be.
I don't think the rebel does not see on the podium,
let alone be winning a race.
So this was a max for Stappen day.
Sam.
Copy paste.
Don't what we're going on about it.
Done.
We're so tired.
Fair.
I'll at least give a shout out to one other driver.
Hadjar leading Formula 1.5.
Even with him losing a position to Lewis Hamilton,
it never really looked like he was going to lose another spot.
his pace early on wasn't brilliant,
but he got better as the way his race went on as well.
So, yeah, I'll go for Vastappen, though,
because he won the race and was good at the driving.
What about worst driver of the day?
Get in the bin, bin, bin, bin, bin, worst driver of the day.
Ben, Ben, Ben, Ben, worst driver of the day.
You suck at driving.
Sam, have you got?
Gosh, so many to choose from, because so much happened.
I actually don't even know.
Like, you know how it's just not bad enough to make you go, wow, you suck at driving today.
Like, you suck at driving again.
Stroll couldn't get off the back of the grid and was just around really, really slow.
So I'm pretty giving it to Stroll.
But Lorsing and doing her up there, that wasn't ideal from them guys at all, fighting around with her bloody,
best rest of the year for Losa, man.
What are we talking about?
Cut a sound was for company.
Yeah, it wasn't great.
But I'm going to go stroll.
Me too.
I appreciate Aston Martin tried something a little bit different.
And so did Alpine were doing, starting on the soft tire.
Didn't really work because stroll was pitting after 10 laps,
hoping to get some sort of undercut, maybe, that never materialized.
19 drivers finished on the lead lap.
I'll pick the one that didn't.
Nice.
Harry?
Yeah, Stroll.
I knew this is going to happen because I put him in my bloody fantasy team.
Oh, here we go, the demise.
It starts.
I was like, let's be races, folks.
Lantz has such a good start of the year.
Let's chuck him in.
Let's give him a go.
And then he does, he has an absolute howler of a weekend.
I bet your fantasy team at the moment is Stroll, Bortol, Bortoletto,
Ocker, Larson, and Holkenberg?
It's right.
Got Albonne.
you've somehow not got any budget left.
Yeah.
Let's bring it all on.
What?
New budget.
Yeah,
Stroh was,
I mean,
yeah,
like I said,
they tried something different,
but the damage was done yesterday.
And even if,
even if it was a bad qualifying,
the Aston Martin isn't last place.
It's not,
it's not the slowest car on the grid,
as Alonzo proved in the MP 11.
So,
um,
not,
a good day for Lanson.
He will be immediately coming out of my team
so he can be better again.
Good idea.
Big brain strap.
Oh, hang on.
Box for Wets.
What?
It's not even raining now.
What are you talking about?
Honestly, we should sell that to the killers.
They'd have it.
They'd have it immediately.
It'll be a number.
Free. You're the killers.
Right.
As long as you can shout us out.
As long as you say hello to me, Brendan Flowers.
Yeah.
Is he Brendan or Brandon?
He's Brandon.
It's his cousin.
I am Brendan for the country.
I'm Brendan Weans.
It's our killer's tribute at it with Brendan Flowers.
We are the survivors.
And I'm Brendan Weans.
The survivors.
The murderers.
Oh, dear.
So, big brain strap.
Sam, what we got?
I'm going to call out McLaren,
but one is very, very.
specific moment, which is the
box opposite of a stab and
box or overtake the stabbing. Stay out.
It's just like, the dummy doesn't work
anymore, guys. It literally hasn't worked since 1969.
I haven't seen a successful one of these pull off for a long time,
mate. Max is just cruising by, like, yeah, okay. Thanks, guys.
Okay. Okay. Okay. Yeah, honestly,
terrible. Terrible, cool.
Didn't got work.
I'm going to go with
Lawson and Sines.
So we had,
they went long on the first in
and Sines was just trapped
behind Liam Lawson
and they just ended up doing
the exact same thing.
They put on the same lap
and both went on to the soft ties.
I feel like Williams felt like they had,
I don't know,
they were onto a winner with this strategy
and then they realized that the V cup
on the same lap just did the same thing.
And he did a,
overtake him on track, so fair play.
But yeah, he was just, he was stuck there for a long time and then was probably hoping
for something different and got the same thing.
Harry from you.
Mine's sort of related to strategy rather than an actual strap, but just Alex Alborn being
so mad, a Williams.
I hate to you miss up.
I was so excited to talk about this from a moment of the race.
I was sorry, but he's so mad.
Williams doing anything different than just stopping early.
And then, I mean, you'd say it didn't work to gain any positions
to he finished where he started, but also can't be mad on them to try something different.
He's like, what do you want?
He's so furious about it.
Yeah, so I'll go for that one.
Because in the end, I think it worked as well as it could have done, given how the race went.
Fair enough.
That's going to lead us into our second break on this episode.
On the other side, we're going to chat more.
on the midfield.
Welcome back, everyone.
Let's round out the top 10, shall we?
So Isaac Hadjar scored points for the first time in his F1 career.
Obviously, took advantage of what was a very good qualifying attempt from him yesterday.
Did let Lewis Hamilton pass, but I think that was a foregone conclusion, given the Ferrari versus the racing balls.
But after that, held off Albon, held off Berman and everyone else behind.
Lawson, on the other hand,
wasn't able to score points in his return to the team,
was sort of midway
outside the bottom 10 for most of this Grand Prix
and end, I don't even know where he finished,
but it wasn't the other points.
Sam, what did you make of the other salaries?
I don't even go where he finished, but he sucked.
He was 17th, by the way, Liam Wilson.
That is seven places away for the points
from a husband and keeper count.
Isaac Hachar gets four big booms from me
for four big points
that is sensational
I bet Yuki Sanooga is looking at that racing ball
in eighth place and going
why now? Why is it now that they score points
when I'm going in that bloody car
he was like, that could be me
why have I been demoted in this Red Bull family tree?
The one race where it was almost impossible
to mess up your strategy is the race he moved away
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And well done to Isaac Hajjar for getting the job done.
Yeah, it's a shame that he let Lewis Hamilton buy,
but actually, I think the gap between Hamilton and Hajar
was smaller than the gap from Hamilton to Antingelli at the end of the race.
So I do think that he did a really good job at separating himself
from the fight of Albon and Behrman behind him,
that battle that went on forever between Alonso and Gasly and Sengoda
that seemed to be raging on for a while.
He was a step ahead of the rest of the field, in my opinion.
and Hagell's the real deal, man.
I really think that he's got something
and I do think that if Red Bull look after him properly
and he's actually cared for
and continues to have a car that suits his driving style,
we could see a bit of a star.
You know, he's already a TikTok sensation.
Can he be a Formula One sensation?
That's what we're waiting to see, I think so.
Lawson will be so frustrated.
He will be so, so frustrated.
I'm sure that he's had to pick himself up off the floor
after being demoting after two races,
which is ridiculous.
You've heard the comments from other F1 drivers
about how ridiculously quick this is,
how unfair it is.
But to then have a poor qualifying,
but in front of Yuki Sengoda,
that's okay,
well done,
that's one step.
But to see your teammate not only score their first points,
but score proper points,
really good points.
And to be this many places behind,
you know,
nine positions off at a track where,
I don't think Hajar's ever properly raised here before,
whereas Liam has ever properly raised here before,
Whereas Liam Lawson has been here at least three times in his career,
if not more than that.
It should be a happy hunting ground for Liam Norson.
He's got the experience here.
That's not four times actually.
So to figure 17th place, 80 seconds or so off the lead,
double the time of what your teammate is away.
It's a really, really poor weekend from Liam Norson.
He's got a hope that something goes his way very, very soon.
Otherwise, there might be a double demotion.
He might be out of this seat by the midseason.
Harry, what did you make of the V-Carb duo?
Yeah, I'm Hadja was really impressive this weekend.
And, you know, it's quite easy to forget that race, you know, where he was at race one,
where, you know, crashing out of the formation up and in tears in the, in the, in the paddock afterwards,
that could have been a lot to recover from just mentally.
But he has and has been very impressive.
was obviously with Sonoda, he was there on the pace in China.
And then he's beating Lawson here as well.
But in general, Lawson aside, it was a very impressive, very impressive weekend from him.
And like I said, he did let, you know, Hamilton got past him.
But also, like you said, Sam, Hajjar was still pretty close to him towards the end of the race.
So impressive, impressive stuff from Hadjar.
I hope that this continues for him.
And I'm sure Red Bull does it do as well.
Liam Lawson, I don't actually think Liam Lawson can be too,
weirdly the best race for him so far this year.
I don't think he can look at this and be like it was a disaster
because he's not driven that car until this weekend.
And around Suzuki trying to get to grips with the new car is pretty tricky in itself.
his pace in qualifying, yes, Hajar qualified him.
He can take solace in the fact that he did Sonoda,
which is, I know I'm sure he mentioned this on the Coralifying review, but lull.
We did lull.
Yeah, yeah, we said the word lull, lo, long.
And, you know, at least he was in the, he was sort of in the mix of that.
And it was not for anything massive or important,
but he was certainly in the mix for, you know, positions,
which he has not been at other, you know,
certainly not in China and I guess Australia as well.
So it still needs to be better than that.
But I think he can probably take solace in the fact that, you know,
this is race one in a new car.
And it wasn't, you know, he wasn't slow.
We didn't go, oh God, Lawson was so slow.
I think he'd probably take a little bit of solace in that and move on to Bahrain
where I think it will be easier and better for him.
Yeah, I think, um, you know, Bahrain is, is quite commonly one of the circuits where
there isn't a huge amount between teammates.
I'm not saying it's an easy track,
but a lot of the time in Bahrain,
you will get these like Noah's art grids.
And I wouldn't be surprised if Lawson is a bit closer in Bahrain.
Here, though, to lose, what was it,
three spots on his starting position in a race
where no one was really moving anywhere.
That's not ideal.
I wanted to see him pace-wise be a little bit
more involved than he was, but again, first race in that car, I think we can cut him some slack
this weekend. In terms of Isaac Adjar, yeah, four big booms is very appropriate for the Rizler.
Like, he was great. Again, you can't really hold it against him that he was overtaken by
Hamilton in that Ferrari. You could have done if there was anyone else that managed to make their way
by as well. But yeah, I mean, he controlled the race very effectively from there. We know that Alex
Albin in the Williams has been pretty quick so far this year and he was the next car up after
Hajjar. So to be able to not even really get in a fight with Albin and keeping him at arm's
length was very impressive. So good work from both of them. Speaking of the Williams duo,
what did you make of Albin and Sine Sam? Tricky, tricky, tricky, tricky, especially for Carlos Sikes.
He obviously ends up going backwards after not a great qualifying, despite the gap being very close
when the knockout in Q2 happened
about a 10th away from Alex's album
so I'm lucky to be on that cutoff.
The penalty that he gets from impeding
Lewis Hamilton just puts him in the part
of the pack that you just don't want to be.
Especially in a racetrack where overtaking
is seemingly very, very difficult.
It's really tough to get a running.
He tried. He did some good jobs
that getting past some of the lower
back in the McPhil, past the likes of doing,
etc., eventually.
But it was never really
going anywhere else for him.
He was unable to make any proper ringroads than anyone.
He was unable to really get himself up the pack.
And you saw just how hard it was to really progress in this Grand Prix.
So I think he'll come away frustrated from this weekend.
Alex Albon is already frustrated.
That man called in just to be a hater.
He has literally zero constructive feedback for anyone at Williams.
He just wants to mown over the radio.
And he's a little wing bag at the moment.
Alex, you're a little wing bag.
And you scored two points.
and did an all right race and it was fine.
And I think Williams will be happy with the fact that they outscored the likes of Haas
and Alpine and Aston Martin.
But they will also be frustrated that, you know,
the Rizzler managed to get four big boom points in front of them.
And actually that might be their closest battle this season.
So frustrating when a one half of the garage,
it looks like it's going the right way on the other side.
They kind of need to bring it up a little bit.
So a mixed bag of tricks for Williams this weekend.
your fault sorry
yeah it makes fortunes
I think is fair
Albon yeah
he's been quite whiny
but I guess if he keeps driving
the way he is
Williams aren't going to care
yeah
the point scoring winch back
exactly so they'll take it
I think he's actually driving really well
and whether that is just
where he's always been
or he has stepped up his
game for you know
the fact the signs in the team I don't know
but it's certainly being more impressive versus science than I
perhaps initially thought he would be at the start of the year.
So good good stuff from Albon.
Signs will be, I think this is his least convinced.
Maybe this is least convincing performance so far.
I'm not sure.
Maybe China was worse.
But again, there's something to be expected,
but there's something not quite clicking.
versus Albon
at the moment.
I am pretty confident
that it will come soon.
But if this,
as you mentioned,
I think this battle
with racing balls
could be,
could well be where they are.
And I'm Ferrari,
obviously.
But it could be well
be where their fight lies
this year with racing balls.
So they need both of their drivers,
both their drivers up there.
And signs just quite as in there at the moment.
So hopefully this doesn't cost them later on in this season.
Luckily for their,
racing balls have been able to do a strategy and also have had a new driver in the last three races.
So it's helping Williams out at the moment.
True.
Yeah, Albin's doing such a great job so far this season.
The fact that this might be his worst race so far should speak volumes because it was good.
He'll score points where a lot of other teams and drivers haven't.
In terms of Carlos Sines, I think it was okay.
I think he was better when he moved on to the soft tire
because he made progress where Lawson couldn't.
So, yeah, I think the last stint was maybe a bit more encouraging for him,
but at some point he is going to be a bit frustrated
that he's not featuring in the top 10 with the same frequency as Alex Albin.
Obviously, I know he picked up a point for the Chinese Grand Prix,
but he needed a couple of disqualifications to get there.
So, yeah, I don't think he'll be over there.
the moon.
Yuki Sonoda, Sam, what do you make of, obviously, a lot of chatter about his first weekend for
Red Bull, his home Grand Prix.
What did you make of his race?
Obviously, he was driver of the day.
Oh, God.
Didn't score points, though.
Side note, I hate this sympathetic fan voting for, for...
Where has it come from?
I'm being around for a while.
Grow up, everyone.
I literally grow up.
If you're going to reward someone for being good, give it to the person that's doing a good job.
Yuki was fine, but come on, don't be, oh, Yuki, this has got points of home property,
first race, Red Bull, oh, Drive of the Day, oh, isn't that nice?
Yeah, I'm sure he loves it.
That's what he was waiting for.
It was a farcical graphic as well, because it came up, Drive of the Day, started 14th, now 12th.
Like, wow, well done, guys.
My favorite graphic at the moment is Race Story, starting second, still second.
You're like, oh, good book.
That's a, I can't put that on down.
Yeah, that's a real page turn of that one.
I'll turn that into a blockbuster, I'm sure.
Go on, does my head in when I see it.
I'm like, you don't put the graphic up.
You have choice to put that up, free will.
Three grumpy tired men here.
Starting to crack.
Yuki Sengoda, he will be more than anyone frustrated,
more than any on in that team about his performance.
especially its home Grand Prix,
but I genuinely think he did okay.
That Red Bull wasn't on the back of the back row of the grid.
That Red Bull wasn't fighting for 18th place for the whole race.
Yuki Tsongoda got some all right pace out of it,
and we saw how difficult it was to make any movement up and down that grid.
And I think, yeah, okay, the Red Bull has got more pacing,
a lot of those midfield drivers.
But I think you need to be a good second or so a lap fast.
to really be able to get the moves done, get the overtake sorted,
move yourself up the grid and actually gain anything, really.
Fernando Alon also did a good job at the start of the race
by getting in front of Pierre Gassidy and basically didn't move after that point.
And that was all we really saw.
It was very hard to move yourself on, which is a massive tire deficit.
So whilst Duky will be really gutted that he hasn't scored points here,
I think there's some positive signs.
He's definitely done a better job than Lawson was doing.
And I think you give him some time to settling.
Maybe it's slightly easier track.
while running.
I think he'll find himself in the points very, very soon.
And he might be the answer that Rebler looking for.
I'm not convinced yet,
but it's definitely moved in the right direction in terms of that second seat.
Ben isn't here right now.
Should we carry on?
Harry,
what are your thoughts on Yuki to go against weekend?
Yeah, I don't think Yuki can be,
I don't think you can, I guess it's similar to Lawson.
I don't think you'd be too disappointed with this weekend.
It's, again, first time in this car.
for the most part up until about
qualifying he looked pretty on it with
Vastappan and then Vastappan was like
oh yeah wait I'm the fourth time champion
I am Max Vastapan I forgot who he was
but for the most part I think
Sonoda was up with that and look that's what Red Bull want
obviously it didn't transpire into qualifying the race
but I think that's pretty acceptable given its race one
but they're reasoning
if there was any justifications
was the fact that, you know,
Lawson's lap times were just not acceptable
in terms of versus Vastappen
or versus anyone.
So I think, you know,
they'll feel slightly,
I think they'll feel slightly justified
in, in their decision, I guess,
with the fact that Sonoda was at least in the fight
and fighting with other cars.
But obviously he needs to keep improving on that
and be scoring points when Vastappen is taking win.
so yeah I don't think he can be disappointed with this weekend I think it's probably gone
if it if it's gone any better I think we'd all be saying wow that was amazing from yuki
snowed because I think even if he finishes you know in the in the top eight for example
people are like yeah fair that's a good effort um so this is probably about as well as it
it could go that car is clearly not easy to drive and we've just happened we're struggling
to drive it all weekend up until about uh you know Q3 um
and only he, you know, he and his setup changes were, were the, you know, the turning point there for him.
So I think Senoda can be fairly pleased for how, how this weekend has gone.
I think that's where the issue lies for that second seat because I think Sano had the wrong setup on the car.
And he had such high wings and it meant that he was trying to be faster in that kind of first sector.
But then it caused the car to be too snappy.
Then you can't take the downforce off because obviously park Fermay, but they had.
having less down force will make that he could have overtaking in a straight line because he's getting
faster in a straight line. It just to be comfy is to be slow, to be sketchy, to be fast,
but then that car is so hard to drive while it's sketchy, it's just a really difficult situation
for any of these drivers to be. And even Max Verstappen is on, you know, on an eyefeg for getting that right.
Should we do moment of the race?
Yes, let's do that.
Let's do moment the race?
Do we think we have a jingle for that, do we?
mate at this point I like what we have
I don't think we do
well I think we already know yours
but what was your moment of the race
well I thoroughly enjoy Alex Alvong
literally
hello is that my team
you suck
I guess called to say you suck
and the response coming back from the
engineering as being okay
okay
we're just got abuse over the phone
you are terrible
what are you doing
okay sorry Alex
You're still P-9 Alex, shut up.
You're still being your team, mate.
You're still basically the next best car after the top teams.
No, not good enough.
Do more.
Fuming, but at least he's driving really well.
At least he's allowed to be that much of a winged bag
if you're driving that well.
So that was my moment at the race.
Loved it, hated it.
We're going to tell him to shut up, but also fair play.
He did really well.
I loved it, but I hated it.
Life.
That's a valid one.
I was with, this has already been mentioned,
I was going to go for Lewis Hamilton
still hating his new engine.
Where can I be faster?
Here.
Okay, how much?
Give me some detail.
There's so many corners that he's like,
I can't give me that much detail.
War and peace, I'm right?
I'd be here for days.
Just get on with it.
Where can I be better?
You know that race track you're going around?
Yeah, all of it.
All of that, please.
Yeah, look, still some teething problem.
There's not problem.
We know they're just getting to know each other still
And he's, you know, his new engineer is not Bono.
I love that Hamilton still talks to him like he is Bono.
Like he's a geezer, like, I'm where am a faster mate
And then his Italian voice comes back.
We are checking.
What he's made?
Ferrari hang it on both sides, though.
LeCleur, they were like, such a sassy little man.
Lecler.
You change this setting for agent breaking.
No, that's why I'm not doing it.
No, no.
Leave me alone.
I don't want to do that.
I'm in fourth, shut up, move on.
It's very, very good.
Bang, hello.
What's your moment of the race?
My moment of the race.
I'm also going to go with Ferrari team radio,
but I was going to go with the Charles LeCler one.
Yes.
Which was, oh God, what did he say exactly?
We just said that about the engine breaking.
Engine breaking.
He was like, I'm choosing not to do that.
Yes, I'm, no, I don't want to.
I don't want to do that.
I like, sassy shale seems.
to have made a real appearance this year
and I'm here for it.
I think it's learning from Lewis
just being like,
you know what,
I'm not going to do
with this anymore.
You guys suck.
Get it together.
I'm so exhausted
about doing it anymore.
Right.
I believe we have some Discord,
some subbies.
Some subbies.
Thank you,
everyone,
for those who have submitted,
especially you lot in the US
because it's a ridiculous time
to be watching.
So many for how dull that race was.
So I don't know what you've pulled out of that.
Well, here we go.
First up is Norven, Texas.
Hello, no.
Oh, hello, my late breaking friends from across Lay Big Way.
It is I.
Norm from Texas, and I'm here to give my moment of the race,
and my moment of the race was Alex Albon,
you know, being angry like a teenager on the radio.
Anyway, keep breaking late.
Nice.
Hello, Norm.
It's good to hear from Norm.
It is.
Skittles is next.
Ooh, I like Skittles.
It is 2.30 in the morning, and the race just ended.
Moment of the race.
For me, has got to be.
Every time the replay to somebody missing the chicane,
it had to have happened at least like 30 times, I swear.
Yeah, would you like some action?
Yes.
I like it when it gets so boring that they cut to a driver's family.
Oh, yeah.
Filippe Mass's dad, we miss you.
Question.
Question.
Is Oliver Berman's dad,
new Massadad.
Might be, actually.
Do you think he's got a potential?
I don't want to be the fashion police, all right, because you express yourself, where
what you want.
But why is Landon Norris' dad turned up in that matching hat and jumper?
He's a real gangster now, apparently.
Weren't she?
Next up is Mojo Dojo Casa House.
House.
All the leg breakers.
Mojo Dojo Katta House here.
moment of the race goes to Juki winning driver of the day because nothing has happened.
Yeah. Keep breaking late. Cinco Estrejas. Bye. I don't know what that means, but to you two.
Cinco Australia's five stars. Oh, in Spanish. Thank you, Cinco Australians. In Spanish.
I thought he was saying like five Australia beers. I was like, sure. That's also an acceptable answer on a day that is not today.
I will have five beers another day. Any day. Um, uh, uh,
Hello.
Hello.
My minute the race was here with my housemates and all,
and I'd be really happy for her
that she was having a lovely little sleep
during that warring race.
Okay, bye.
Good.
I can't.
That didn't happen in the race.
If we're going to have words for a second there,
you and me, all right?
Next time, make it something from the race
when you're not getting on.
I'm bad enough.
Get it together, beef.
Matt Coxie is next.
Hey guys
God, that was worth
Waking up for, wasn't it?
Moment of the race
was either Lando Norris
trying to do his best
George Russell
lawnmower impression
on the pit exit
or, um,
or Crofty
just trying to make
any sort of drama
from nothing
because that race was a
ball fest.
We, um,
haven't heard this from you yet,
Harry.
Um, thought song
Jacquesville nerve on co-coms.
Oh, God.
Well, did you enjoy that experience
at five in the morning?
How long have we got?
No.
He was terrible.
He was bad.
As a pair, awful.
Yeah.
I feel like the people that Crofty has alongside him
at least make him bearable normally.
But that as a duo was absolute crap.
They were not good together.
I know I'm biased in this,
but he just disagreed with everything Crofty says.
Yeah.
It's like, like Crofty's like eating.
cold moldy pizza, but then it's like someone
poured bin water over it at the same time.
And you're like, why?
It was bad to start with and now it's just horrible.
Yeah.
That's a very creative analogy.
I didn't appreciate that one.
Didn't click, did it?
No.
I suspect maybe they won't do that again.
Please.
Please no.
Plus no.
Who is next?
I don't know.
My phone's locked.
Please hold.
Oh, for God.
Oh.
Cade, 1989.
I liked the part when it was finally done.
Thank you, Jade.
I brought a lot of time for how short that was
and how it was delimited.
I liked the part when it was over.
Delivery didn't match the sentence.
That's great.
You can come back, Cade.
I like that.
This is actually final list, but we, look,
folks, producer Kirsty sent these and then has fallen asleep.
So there are a few more after.
So I think we're just going to wing this and do a couple after.
Oh, no.
After Blazy, who's next?
Here we go.
All right, boys, my moment of the race.
So many moments in that race.
Just so many to choose from.
I can't choose, honestly.
I have no moment of the race.
Because there were no moments.
Oh, my God, I hate this race.
Just said there were moments.
That man had an exasexascial crisis halfway from his event.
He wasn't sure what was going on.
He was also a huge fan of St.
lazy, I imagine.
Well, it isn't.
A blazy reference.
Yeah.
Opel.
Hang on.
Opal Turbine trio is next.
Sure.
Hey guys, Opel here.
My moment of the race was Crofty constantly being told politely that he was an idiot
and to shut up.
Shut up.
Shack did do a lot of that, actually.
Yeah.
I suppose he didn't outright say it.
Because if anyone would.
He calls a lot of big bloody
at Sizzling.
Yeah,
he's been paid to be there, I guess.
We'll do one final.
And these are just rogue now.
Ant-Man.
Ant-Man here from West Sword.
Update from the Suzuki circuit,
just waiting for a train.
Whoa.
The moment of the race was my good mate,
George Russell,
studying the flipping obvious
about if it doesn't rain,
then it will be dry.
Hmm.
Excellent.
Okay.
Thank you, George.
Very cool that you're at the track.
Also, a lot of noise happening.
Sorry, sorry for that, but that was atmospheric, if nothing else.
I totally believe the authenticity of that submission,
but it does give a good idea of like,
because we like at the track submissions
and let's face it, they're more likely to be played.
People like going out and like in public transport,
but not at the race.
Just at the race track, guys.
When you say that, I was about to coming
or one of the noises.
if you'd like I find it, Harry, but it definitely sounded like the McDonald's.
Sound of planes when you're waiting for your own.
My man's getting a McMuffin.
Just getting Bracky and Mackey.
I'm like, you know what I respect it.
I'm like, I respect it.
Yeah, this is Japan.
Bigam, bag, bag, oh, they have my God, over 56, please.
I might get a McMuffin, actually.
I'm really fine, too much.
Give me tonguing eggs.
Inject it.
I think on that note, let's go.
Yeah.
It feels like a good.
time to duck out of here. We've got power rankings that we're going to be recording tomorrow,
though, Sam, if you wouldn't mind getting us out of here. Yes, we will be rating every single
driver from that exhilarating Grand Prix. So you won't want to miss that. Patreon, the links in
the description. You get loads of extra content. We've also got our historic race review coming up
where I believe we're going to close it and Hungary has won the vote. So that's what we're going
to be reviewing this month. So if you want to go back and see Jenks and Button's inaugural victory in F1,
us talk about it.
Get down a Patreon city,
get yourself a little flat
and move on in
because it's a great time for all.
Helps us out massively as well.
The Discord links in the description.
You can join over 3,000 people
all talking F1 and many other things
every single day.
And you might get your submission paid
on the podcast as well.
Follow us on social media
late breaking F1 everywhere,
including YouTube.
And we'll see you midweek
because we're back for another race preview.
It's the Bahrain Grand Prix.
And I bet my bottom.
dollar. That's going to be more exciting than what you just saw. So we'll see you then.
In the meantime, I've been Samuel Sage. I've been Ben Hawking and I've been Harry Ead.
And remember, keep breaking late.
Podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
