The Late Braking F1 Podcast - F1 Drivers and Principals rank their Top 10 drivers of 2023
Episode Date: January 7, 2024The LB boys give their thoughts on the recently revealed Top 10 driver rankings of 2023, as given by both the drivers and team bosses. They also discuss the FIA's desire for the future of F1 engine de...velopment to be 'road-relevant', as well as Perez's aim to reverse trend of 'mid-season slump' in 2024, before finishing with a game of Late Faking... FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League BUY our Merch EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
Welcome to the Late Breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Ead, Sam Sage and me, Ben Hocking.
We've got another episode.
It's a new year.
We're back to two a week, which feels right.
Everything's okay in the world again.
And we're back new and improved for 2024.
as proven by our last episode, Sam,
because we're now on to sandwich fillings.
Wait, tell me your fillings.
And many people did.
They came to the Discord flocks in there,
thousands to tell me,
I did not realize I was such a sandwich rating.
Yes, thousands of seven or eight people.
Hey, I'm interested to know.
I'm a big sandwich lover.
Are you a sandwich lover?
I cannot overstress how much I love a sandwich.
How good is a sandwich?
Such variety.
Such variety.
The bread, the filling.
Eadless.
You want Subway, I've got such a great.
Eat fresh.
Oh, they've nailed it.
They've crushed it.
Anyway.
Oh my God, we should be sponsored by Subway.
Sam Subways.
Yes.
Tell me your fillings.
Tell me your fillings.
Tell me your fillings.
Obviously, forget the F1.
Subway.
Still sandwiches.
It's got to be sandwiches.
That's true.
I mean, the triangular cut or is it the down the middle cut?
If you're down the middle cut, you're an animal.
Harris said it.
He's called you an animal.
Ben's an animal.
Wait, what?
Do you cut your sandwich diagonally or in half?
Oh, in half?
You're an animal if you cut it in half long ways.
Yeah, but if you've just got two rectangles.
Yeah, but you know, you can cut it in half lengthways or horizontally.
If you cut it lengthways, you're insane.
You're unhinged.
Yeah, yeah.
I bet you're eating it with like a pixel sharpener in there or something.
You're that crazy.
you do that, Ben?
Right.
No, no, I do it the right way, but not, not diagonally, no.
I do time me when I'm out.
In public.
In public.
In public.
I'm seen.
Don't be judged.
There is F1 in this podcast.
We are getting to it.
Is this an F1 podcast?
Not anymore.
Probably.
Show me your fillings.
As well as fillings.
We've got late faking coming up later today as our end of show game.
Sergio Perez,
looking to avoid another mid-season slump our thoughts on whether he can avoid that.
The FIA have had a few comments about the new engine regulations, but we're going to start with
this. If you are a Patreon subscriber, you'd have heard one of our episodes before Christmas
where we went through our top 10 drivers of 2023. And if you do want to join Patreon and you
aren't on there yet, you can do because you can go back and listen to all of the previous
months episodes, including that one from December.
That's how smooth you are with those plugs, Ben.
Honestly.
Thanks.
Appreciate that.
Effortless.
Like extension cord.
So many plugs.
Just plug him in everywhere you go.
He's a universal plug.
Sure.
Why not?
Well, we gave our top tens.
And I won't give too much away in terms of how we ranked,
but something less important, the drivers and the team bosses have given out their top
tens.
So I thought it would be a good idea to run through those and see what we make of their
lists what surprises us, what doesn't surprise us, etc, etc. Just to run through what each list
looks like to start things off. The drivers rank things as such. So Max Verstappen in first,
Lewis Hamilton and second, Alonzo, third, Norris, 4th, Leclair, 5th, sign 6, Albin 7, Piastri,
8, Ghazley 9 and Sergio Perez in 10th. The team bosses, Max Verstappen, Fernando Alonzo, Norris, Leclair,
Hamilton, signs, piastri, Albon, Russell, Perez.
So some similarities, but also a few differences.
Sam, is there anything off the top of you add that sort of jumps out there?
Yeah, they both start Perez in 10th.
Perez, sorry. Again, I'm putting the emphasis on the wrong part of the world.
I'm offending all of Mexico when I do that.
Yeah, Perez is in 10th on both lists.
Now, again, I won't want to give too much away for our list.
If you'd like to go and listen to them on the Patreon episode,
which does massively supporters.
he didn't make it to any of our top tens.
And I'm pretty certain we all alluded that he probably wasn't going to be
the top 13 or 14 either.
So this, either they know something, very highly likely,
that we don't know that is Perez may be overachieved
or he did something that they didn't expect.
I mean, he got the wings other than science that no one else did
when Vastappan dominated and cleaned up.
But I think for the most part,
he did what most other drivers could do in that car against Max Vastappen.
I didn't see anything unusual.
usually special from him, that, you know, you could pluck a name out of a hat from the Formula
1 grid and say, do you think they could win a couple of races in that Red Bull over the whole
season? I reckon 18 out of the 20 drivers, yes, could probably win it.
Just to actually comment on that, because I don't think this was related to this discussion necessarily,
but Gunter Steiner recently commented on Red Bull to say that Kevin Magnuson and Nika Holcomberg
would win races in that Red Bull from last year.
I completely agree.
just thought that was a interesting tip bit that's relevant to the conversation.
Yeah, I completely agree. And that is, that's exactly what I'm saying.
Gunter's saying, my car is terrible. Yeah, literally.
I mean, he doesn't need to say that for us to know that, right? Results do speak for themselves.
All right, Gunther. You suck. My point being here is that I think Perez had an underwhelming
season. I think he struggled. And I'm surprised that he made into the top 10 and not to be rude to Perez or fans of Perez.
This felt like a bit of a pity vote, like a, when you get to the mid table of drivers,
it can be hard to order them correctly.
And because he did technically achieve something, second of the championship, got a couple of wings,
he gets to sneak into the top 10.
So I don't really feel like this one's fully justified.
Another one that jumped out is that both drivers and team bosses like have dropped Russell
down to, I think, ninth equally as well, which I think actually is very much in line with
where we put George Russell.
We put him all around the eighth, ninth mark.
So I think he did have a bit of an underwhelming year, probably the most underwhelming performance from previous season to this season.
I think he deserves the biggest drop that we've seen on that list, which is six places off of those lists.
So I think that's fair.
At the top end of the list, the one that stands out to me is the placement of Alonso and Hamilton.
And where they sit separately, Alonso is second in the team principals list, I think.
But Hamilton is second in the driver's list.
and I think, oh my God, what is that?
What?
Nothing to see.
Someone is furious about a long-sone's placement.
It's Fernando's in the kitchen.
Fernando's in the kitchen.
What's he cooking?
He is always cooking.
He's always cooking.
He's always cooking on gas.
Anyway, so yes, I think that,
this is a disaster at this show already.
I think realistically, it's very interesting to see
how the back end of the drivers
are rated very similarly
between drivers and team principals,
but the top end, there's quite a disparity between who sits directly under Max for
Stapping in that order.
Again, we were all quite similar in the three that we put straight after with Norris,
Hamilton, and also in any particular order, whereas they've had quite a bit of a drop to
change on those.
So I thought that was quite interesting to see the difference between how they few things
in comparison to the direct competitors that are the drivers.
Yeah, I think a couple of those things are what I pointed out as well.
I will say on the Sergio Perez being ranked 10th in both lists.
And as you say, I think he'd have ended up around 14th or so on all three of our lists,
roughly speaking.
I think at least whether you agree with it or disagree with the logic,
I think it's likely a number of the drivers on that current grid having an appreciation
for how difficult it is going up against Max Verstappen.
Because if you look at, obviously from a team boss's perspective,
that's separate, but from a driver's perspective specifically,
Alex Albin, Daniel Ricardo, Pierre Gasly, Carlos Sines, all four of those drivers have direct experience of going up against Max Verstappen and finding it tough.
You know, Daniel Ricardo put up a good fight against him.
So did Carlos Sines.
Albin and Gassley was much more one-sided, but all four of them, you know, first-hand witnessed how incredible that driver is.
So I think that probably got Perez bonus points maybe in their list specifically versus what.
the three of us did.
What were your thoughts, Harry?
Are there anything,
is there anything in either list that stands out to you?
I think the Alonzo being second
and also Hamilton being second
over Norris is one that surprised me a little bit.
I know, I think we,
not to give it away entirely,
but I think we all had Norris in second.
I did not.
I don't remember.
Maybe I did.
You have to watch the Patreon once to find out.
Pay some money, scrubs.
But anyway, I think we had,
I think I did,
I think Ben did,
Sam, maybe, who knows.
Who knows.
But yeah, as much as I think Alonzo and Hamilton were great this season,
I do think Norris deserve a second spot.
So interesting that, yeah, he was also seen third,
but for both of those and variation on who was in second place
between drivers and teams.
That was interesting.
The rest are all, yeah, the points have already made.
Peres sneak into the top 10.
Great to see Albon in both lists.
Agreed.
Yeah, that was a fair.
I think it's fair shout.
And again, I think we had probably something similar there.
I think, yeah, the Piastri signs,
placing's probably about fair in my view.
Yeah. It's just interesting.
Obviously, this is not, you know, it's not the Bible. It's not law.
No, of course. It's just people's opinion.
But it's just interesting to see how the opinions vary between, well, us, team principals or team bosses and F1 on how they view the season.
F1 on drivers in particular, because, as you say, Ben, like some of them have experience against Vestappen, for example, etc.
They have a different view on how the season goes.
versus, I guess, people who watch from the outside.
They're in the cars, if you hadn't noticed.
You know what? That's a new one.
Get that in the book of F1.
Drivers go in the cars.
In the cars.
Brilliant.
So they don't see everything.
You know, they might watch the race again afterwards,
but I doubt they all do.
No, probably not any of them, really.
I know that the likes of Hamilton go back
and analyse certain parts of their performance,
and they look at the statistics.
But they go sit there go,
oh, Sky Sports, got that on record.
On Monday, go and watch that back.
Alonzo loads up F1 TV.
You know he does.
And he probably has the game next to me.
it and he pre-drives it at the same point to know exactly what he's doing.
Okay, everyone apart from Fernando Alonso probably doesn't watch the race.
Who lives and breeds it.
So, yeah, it's just interesting to see how those, how those opinions vary, but also in the same
way they sort of come out kind of similar.
Yeah, because soon as how many more people are involved in making this an average, how similar
they are to ours.
We are clearly wise.
Wise men.
One thing that really irked me about this, really irritated me about this.
And I don't usually go off on it, but I'm going to.
Lewis Hamilton, you too good for this.
mate. Only person to not put any ratings into any of these lists. Every other person does it.
Don't do see Santa either. I know and that annoys it does annoy me. I'm like, I get your Mr.
big time, you're Mr. Successful, you deserve all the credit because you're phenomenal.
But come on, join in with some of this stuff. He barely does any of the, um, the F-1 special
bits where they do like the name all the tracks and can you guess these things either. He doesn't
really, thank you. It doesn't really do a lot of those either. I'm like, I get it. You know,
you're super-seleb status, you're amazing at what you do.
It does annoy me that he doesn't really join in with the extracurricular activities.
Play the game, son.
How long does it take over your life?
Half an hour?
I get that.
Irritates me.
But also if you were that successful and rich, you'd be like, no, not doing that.
But I argue Fernando and Max Wastappel at this point could turn around and go, don't fancy it.
And yet they're both fully in.
Max hates this stuff.
He's in.
Fernando loves it.
Fernando is like, yeah, I'm going to be competitive for every time.
So he probably wants the best secret Santa present as well.
I saw a quote from it.
This is an entire little topic now.
I saw a quote from him yesterday about someone asked about retirement.
And he was like, well, if I get to the end of next year and, you know,
I don't feel, doesn't feel the same anymore.
And like I'm too tired or my, I feel like my reflexes aren't there?
Or the speed's not there.
But he's like, but that's not now.
It won't happen.
But you also see the obligatory, um, for annual also George Russell Christmas photo.
New Year's Eve, yeah.
I love that.
That's it.
New Year's Eve.
They loved it, didn't they?
Man loves a party popper in his mouth.
He looks so good with it as well.
I'm not going to say that again.
But yeah.
That's inappropriate.
Just a bit.
You're right to point out the fact that Lewis Hamilton is the only driver
and indeed all team principals did vote on this to not take part.
The other thing that should be mentioned is that it's a completely secret ballot.
So we've got no idea who's voted for who.
And you are able to vote.
vote for yourself. How much money do we want to bet that Fernando Alonzo put himself first?
Yes. Of course he did. Yes, he did. I'd love to see who put themselves in the top 10 and where
they put themselves. We'll never know, but that would be a fascinating thing. I'd like them to release
all the lists without any games on and see if you can guess whose list is who. You know who Alonzo's
because he's all 10. Yeah, he's all top 20. Alonzo, Alonzo, Alonzo. The rest of the grid.
Anyone else, don't care.
George Russell's probably not very happy.
about Lewis Hamilton not taking part, though,
because he was ninth in the team bosses list.
He didn't feature at all in the top 10 on the driver's list.
Hamilton probably would have rated him quite highly,
so that's probably what's cost of a top 10 finish there.
That's why he's Fernando a long time's best, mate.
I need some more backup.
Please, Fernando.
Where did you put me?
Eighth.
Yeah, that'll do best friend.
Thanks for included me, mate.
He's like, yeah, I'm fair.
I was the top seven.
You were eight.
One other thing I wanted to pick up on was Pierre Gazley.
So he featured, I believe, in one of the three of our lists.
I won't reveal who.
Spence, as if people really care about which one of us it was.
One of us put him 10th, and I think the other two of us put him 11th.
But he features on the driver's list that he's 9th, which, got on, Pierre.
One of us talks absolute sense.
I won't reveal who.
But while this is a genius.
sure yeah cool go on pierre sam's pointing at himself get your susskees out
or have it was hurry it bloody wasn't oh we'll have to go back and listen now it bloody wasn't
it bloody wasn't i'm the gas man it'd be funny if it's not you if it actually is you and got me
i've definitely put me my top ten no i i tell you what i've remembered incorrectly because i
did put pierre gaisley in the top ten and so did sam oh i did it was harry that didn't yes i knew
Harry was the odd one out.
There you go.
I got my list here.
Sorry, Pierre.
Yeah.
Well, that completely deletes all the suspense that I tried to build up for it.
Please give us the money anyway.
Put your money away, folks.
We do really need it.
Full time this year.
That's the game.
Good stuff.
Why do you think Lewis Hamilton's ranked much worse with team bosses versus his other drivers?
P2 versus P5.
I feel like he did make some mistakes this season, which is fair.
And I wonder if a lot of the driver isn't.
without showing it, without displaying it.
I don't know if they look up to Lewis a little bit.
They see what he is historically.
And they do...
I think that's a factor.
Yeah, I think they do go.
He's, you know,
statistically the greatest we've ever seen in the sport.
He's allowed to get a little bit of a 10% leg up before the stats start.
I think you go...
Oscar Piaastry did not vote for him.
No, probably not.
He probably put him 20th.
That's pretty wise so far.
Very why he's not first.
No, I think maybe the team bosses are slightly less bias,
unless, apart from their own drivers, of course.
I'm sure that, you know, Christian Hall are probably stuck his top two in top two,
maybe just to be helpful to Perez, you would, I guess.
Peres, Senoda, Ricardo, DeFries, Top 5.
Oh, like, on Lawson, DeFries.
Lawson, yeah.
Gassley, ex-driver, you know, runs for every single that's ever driven for a...
Danny Kiffa in eighth.
Exactly.
Hamilton, 40 seconds.
Yeah, yeah, 44th.
Exactly.
So, I think that's why I think there's probably a little bit of driver love going,
on a lot of dry respect.
I know that Lewis has got a little bit of a following around the grid.
You know, you saw the end of season Christmas dinner that maybe 10 or 12 of them went to.
And Lewis was there.
He went to that dinner.
So socially, he's got a grip.
I know Joe Guan Yu set it up.
But the fact that, you know, Joe Guan Yu invited Lewis Hamilton.
Out of all the things that Lewis Halton turns up to, it's Joe Guan Yu's Christmas dinner is...
It's a place to be.
Hey, says something, doesn't it?
Biggest invite in town.
Yeah, exactly.
So he's gone, thank you, Joe.
that's the one event I'll be doing
in my calendar this Christmas period.
So I think, yeah, I think he's just got a lot
respect along the drivers, whereas I think maybe the team bosses
see it for it is, maybe a little bit more,
see it for a little bit of, you made some mistakes,
you weren't perfect, the car wasn't amazing up and down the grid.
He's obviously top five, he's still fantastic.
I was interesting to see that they put LeCleur above Hamilton,
whereas the drivers didn't.
That was probably the biggest changing everyone's list
because we also had the Ferraris below Hamilton,
regardless of where he sat in our list,
as did the drivers.
So that's the one exception,
to the rule. That's quite interesting.
One last thing.
Yuki Sonoda nearly got a mention on all three of our lists.
No feature here as well.
He had a solid season, but maybe just missed out again.
He seems to be...
I forgot about him.
I just didn't see him.
I took the photo from waist up.
Oh, come on.
I love him.
Looking around in the panic, I couldn't see him.
119 of us here.
I'm sure there's another one.
Don't we have plenty cars on the grid?
I just think everyone universally agrees
he was like the 12th best driver last season.
Yeah.
And that's the one thing no one disagrees about.
Which everyone will now disagree with that.
That's exactly what Yuki Snogger is becoming, I think, as a driver,
just a very strong, consistent midfield driver.
I don't think he's going to break the welding off with his driving ability.
I don't think he's going to destroy records,
but he just deserves to have a strong midfield drive.
is the Yarno Trulley of Japan.
That's rude.
Is he?
To Yarno Trullo.
Yeah, that's rude to Yardt.
He's the Nick Heigfeld of Japan.
Better.
That's rude to Nick Hydefeld.
He's criminally underrated.
The Ralph Schumacher of Japan.
Well, that's a good shot.
He won multiple races.
Oh, dog, he's got plenty of years left.
He might get there.
That's a good topic for another day,
but should Nick Hyfeld have got a win an F1?
Yes.
Yeah, he should have done.
Nick Heidfeld was much better than people
give him credit for. He's so good.
And he loves nature.
It's under a tree once. I'm not sure that's funny.
Sam just makes up.
Lavesless comments.
It doesn't even count as obscure.
It's like a joke that's relevant to one person.
I wonder if anyone could go back and find the clip.
Because I know where it is of Nick Hydefeld retiring and deciding to have a picnic under
a tree and watch the race.
Does anyone else know what I'm on about when we say that?
I know which race it was, right?
Yeah, you guys know.
You want to test people.
go and find it.
Because I always said it
since almost day one of this podcast.
Anytime he comes up, it gets a mention.
So I want to know if people are even aware
that this happened or if they can say,
what on earth is this tree coming?
The thing is,
other people,
like, we don't do it for other drivers
that have sat on things when they retired.
Fernando Alonzo, for example,
in Brazil or man who sits in a deck chair.
Yeah, yeah.
Kimmy Reikler in in Monaco when he...
Sits on a boat.
Yeah, man who sits on yacht.
It's because they're so well known
for other things that Nick Heigfeld.
This is a savage than Nick Hygfeld.
He's amazing.
But he never won anything.
So he has to have some award
And he's award his most obscure weird reference
Great
Tree Man
Sure
He is group
Last thing before we go to our first break
Which list was better
I'm going to say drivers
I trust the drivers more
I'm going to say bosses
That's interesting
That's fine
It's only one we can find out
Fight
Fight
Me and Sam
You just was good to Stuyger
The more sensible option
Might just be
I'll have the deciding vote
Oh yeah
It's not the obtaining option, so I'm not going to give an opinion and let you fight.
Harry Hill style.
Exactly.
I'm actually going to go with all team bosses as well.
Cool.
Cool.
I'm the rogue option.
Sure.
All right.
We'll take our first break.
Tell us your fillings.
We'll be back on the other side.
Hashtag tell us your fillings.
Okay.
Comments from the FIA, as they say that the long-term direction of F1,
engines will be dictated by road relevance. Now, 2026 is set from a regulation standpoint. F1
has committed itself to turbo-hybrid power units on fully sustainable fuel, although there will
be an increased reliance on battery power from 26. I think they're looking for, they're aiming for
50-50 in terms of the ICE versus battery power. But of course, when that set of regulations
comes to an end, we don't know exactly what direction F-1 is going to go in.
So, Harry, do you think that the FIA should be looking at road relevance is an important fact that, as they've said here?
Shut up FIA.
Correct.
That was quick.
I respect.
This is stupid.
And I've always hated this argument.
And it's the reason we have the current engines, I guess, the V6 turbo hybrids.
The hair drives.
Which are, which, you know, they come a long way in terms of what they were able to do.
and but that was all based on the
attracting
manufacturers.
We got a lot of them
when we decided to do that,
didn't we?
Yeah,
really well.
Yeah,
how many if we put in sinks?
One?
Yeah.
Google FIA.
Yeah,
I just hate this.
I understand
I understand the logic of it
and that in that
F1
car manufacturers,
OEMs,
will want to showcase
what they can do
on the road in F1.
but F1 it should be more about manufacturers coming along
and they, you know, they come along and do the pinnacle of engineering performance
and that makes people go, oh, that's a cool car, I want to go buy one.
That should be the link here, not trying to, because what in F1 is relevant to the road?
The battery power.
Wheels.
Yeah, there are four wheels on the car.
I thought it said eels.
Also eels.
I'm sorry.
definitely eels
um okay sure but
this is this is a thing like yeah
technology does make its way down from formula one
in terms of like safety because i know that's been a big factor
uh in road safety but
but like direct links from an f1 car
to a road car it just doesn't exist and i don't
I hate the idea that this is what f1 should be it shouldn't be that
it's at the end of there it's a sport it's entertainment
let's i'm all for
for a more for turbohybrids,
making it more, you know, eco-friendly.
But we can do that with big, loud,
Sebastian Vettel is showing us the way forward.
It literally works.
It shows it works.
With his, you know, FW 14B
and the McLaren MP4-8 that he's running like Goodwood and stuff,
he runs them all on sustainable fuels.
Let's do that.
If Sebastian Vetter could do it on his own.
Because of that, if you want to be relevant,
that's the way the world is going to have to go anywhere.
way. Let's do that instead. And we can have the big loud engines and they can still be
sustainable and everyone has a good fun time. Speaking of, I'm going to take a little detail here
before I go to my point. There is a song that's come out for a very obscure band, which has come up
and I've got it here. And I want to bring it up because I want you to do a guess. I want you to find
it on Spotify if they can hear it because I think they can. I want you to do it. I love songs that
have a niche relevance to Formula One, right? We gained a lot of songs in our love for Formula One.
right.
Alexander Burke's
most recent search.
Now I'd like you to search
for the band
Cheerless, right?
And they have got a song
here called Heat.
And it's a great little song.
Really enjoy it.
There they are.
Don't get a lot of listeners,
but they're great.
Give me listen.
There you go, Heat 3000.
Right.
What is, can you name
the era of the first sound
in the song, please?
I like that song already.
V-10.
It's a mid-2000s.
Williams.
I found that out
because I spoke to one of the members
of the band.
Oh.
And lovely, very cool.
Songs great.
Go and listen to it, folks.
We love an F1 inspire bit of music and it's great.
And my point is, you instantly recognize that sound.
That sound is iconic.
It's what people look for in Formula One.
And this car should be very relevant thing is an absolute load of rubbish.
I think that, yes, it's a side part to this argument.
It makes total sense.
Sure, if you happen to get an off cut of analysis or understanding because of Formula One,
Britain, like your battery power to put into your road cars,
sure, make a hybrid car that works off a Formula One battery
and you understand it better because of this sport, great.
But the key elements are other than winging
and being successful in a sport is marketing.
It boosts your marketing hugely.
Just look at the recent upgrade in Aston Martin sales
that we saw from them moving up the championship.
We saw Lawrence Strull come out and say
that what's something like 70% increase in purchases of road vehicles
of Aston Martins around the world
because of how successful they have been
in the first half of the 2023 season.
Marketing is the biggest element you get.
Mercedes are a far cooler brand
since winning their seven or eight championships in a row
than what they are before that.
Mercedes have always been big,
have always been cool,
but they got massively more common
and more popular because of this sport.
And I imagine that if Audi do well,
they'll have exactly the same input as well.
Sports that should be more rogue-reliant,
that should give more benefits to road cars,
are your endurance races,
your WEC races where you have Gt3 cars, Gt4 cars,
you have hypercars that are built off of this technology,
cars that actually you can almost buy on the road.
You can go out and buy a Mercedes AMG that races around LeMont,
off the shelf.
They run them off the shelf that you could buy,
and it makes total sense to get research to improve those facilities
for your road cars.
Formula One is a madman sport.
It is for perfecting the impossible.
It is for taming absolute chaos.
It is for putting something on a road
that should never ever work and going, wow.
That went 320 kilometres an hour down the road
and stopped in less than two seconds
and then it got back on the throttle again
and it's blown my mind.
And that's what captivated me as a kid.
Captivated me, not a word.
Captivated me as a kid when I was watching it,
I went, I don't know how they do that.
That is incredible.
It is mind-blowing.
Formula One is cool.
Just be cool.
Don't be safe.
I mean, don't hurt people.
But you know what I mean?
It's not about airbags.
It's not about how to make suspension perfect for your Mercedes
or your Mondeo driving down the road.
It's about being bloody cool.
Everyone else could do the rogue research.
Formula One is about being bloody mental.
I'd say as well, this is going to sound like we,
like proper old people here.
But we've all been lucky enough to see F1 cars from the previous series of like V10s and V12s
or even V8s.
And there will be a lot of people, maybe listen to this,
who have only watched F1 in the V6.
era. If they bring them back, it's going to blow everyone's minds. Right? You'll get that. The noise. The
noise is ridiculous. Because you see them nowadays, there might be one doing a show run at a race or
a mixture of mech who did some with his old, some of his dad's old cars, or you see it at Goodwood or
whatever. 20 of them going around. It's ridiculous. If you're not loaded, you can't go to tons of
events, which is totally valid. That is most of us. And you go to one Grand Prix in this era.
And then you say, I'll save up for another one in four or five years. And we've swapped to V10 or even
V12's, you will be deafened.
Yeah, you'll need some headphones.
Do you think V6 is allowed?
Or you sang it's the track?
The V-10 will blow off your bloody head.
So, yeah, bring it back.
Bring it back, bring it back to me.
Yep.
Good.
That's a good debate there.
That's the next break.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah, I think there needs to be, sure,
there needs to be a small element of road relevance,
but it doesn't need to be the leading factor.
Definitely not.
As you say, Formula One is primarily a marketing exercise.
That's what it is for nearly all teams.
And I don't think a detachment from reality is going to impact certainly teams like,
you know, Red Bull.
I don't know if you've noticed their cars don't go very fast because, well, they don't
have cars.
They have energy drinks.
So surely the road relevance for a team like Red Bull,
Bull does not matter whatsoever.
They're going to, you know, winning and looking cool, which are the two things Red Bull are in
F1 to do, will ultimately get them their objective, which is sell more outside of F1.
You know, there are just as many teams in F1 who are there as a marketing exercise, then are
there to make a profit.
You know, Aster Martin, Mercedes, McLaren, Ferrari, they're all there to sell cars.
They're not there.
You know, if they wanted to turn over a profit, they wouldn't be an F1.
It's, you know, you can turn a profit in F1, but you have to spend a heck of a lot to get
back.
The ROI is not substantial when it comes to F1.
Sure, some of these smaller teams like Williams and Hass, that's probably what they're
looking to do.
But certainly these bigger teams are just there as a ploy, it's a marketing ploy, to sell
more cars.
And yeah, I mean, road relevance, it is a factor.
Don't get me wrong.
Certainly, there are things.
that they would like on the F1 car that they can translate into their high performance range.
So if you're looking at Mercedes, say, F1 to the AMG range, sure, there might be bits and
bobs that are going to be translated over. Don't get me wrong. But it shouldn't be the,
it shouldn't be the most important factor. The most important factor is these teams are selling
cars and they'll sell cars as long as they look cool and they'll look cool as long as
F1 is cool. I think the key factor that we're talking about here is you've just brought up,
Ben is that not every Formula One team sells road cars.
So it can't be about road relevance if your key aim is not to sell road cars.
What would you think a Formula One's KPI is when they come into Formula One?
Is it all?
Everything that we do has to have a direct link to the technology that we put in our road cars.
It physically can't be that when half the teams don't make road cars.
I bet you their KPI is brand word of mouth, brand awareness and positive sentiment around
their brand as a whole.
Because as you said, as you stated, every team sells something different.
Red Ball sells cans.
Hars sells misery.
Aston Martin sells sports cars.
They all do different things
and they all have to deliver that well.
Hars are on an absolute hit in their brand perfection right now.
They're smashing it, right?
Red ball, top of the table, bloody cool, right?
Mercedes sell a ton of road cars.
They're doing it perfectly.
It's not all the same thing for every team.
I don't need to have my Nang,
God rest of her soul, looking at Formula One going,
oh, my Suzuki Swift will be fantastic now
because Formula One helped with road relevance.
No.
Everyone write in if you know what a Suzuki Swift is.
Hashtag Suzuki Swift.
I've just had some brand awareness that they've never had before.
That's three million of you loving it.
It's one of the things that irks me about, I guess, more modern day Formula One is that, yes, manufacturers are definitely important to the sports survival.
There's no doubt about that.
But Formula One not that long ago was mainly made up of just teams brands who just wanted to go racing.
Weirgos with a lot of money.
Yeah.
Which, and again, I'm not saying,
I wish I'd go back to the old days,
because you get some crap that would come in,
like Andrea.
Andrea Moda, for example.
Andrea Lerner?
Yeah, exactly.
Trying to kill your drivers.
Google it if you don't know who that is.
But that, for me,
is what it should, you know,
motorsport is about,
and you look at other forms of motorsport,
like endurance racing.
Yes, again, you've got the big manufacturers there.
But they're not all manufacturers,
and there's actually quite a lot of just racing things.
Yeah.
So for me, that's what it should be about.
You don't need to keep making F1 road relevant
to keep the big manufacturers coming.
I don't know why they want to,
but it should be more accessible for teams.
Anyway, so there's an entirely different debate, but...
Well, good work for us.
We started off talking about sandwich fillings
and other stuff things,
and we've had a very strong, sensible and intelligent debate.
For once, we've started off low
and ended up higher than we started.
Our collective knowledge of business,
has really worked well for once.
I think this is the peaks downhill from here.
Because we've never had a better debate.
Yeah, that's the problem
because it would make a lot of sense
to just finish to this debate off now,
but I've got one other thing I want to bring in,
and there's no way it will go up from here.
It'll only go back down.
Here we go. Sorry, everyone.
Hydrogen is what I wanted to introduce,
because there is a working group within F1,
and I believe in Formula E as well,
to look at the future of,
hydrogen as a viable option
because if they are going to go down
the path of road relevance, at least
at the moment, you'd just turn
yourself into Formula E, which
theoretically probably isn't going
to happen. So
are they going to be relying on hydrogen?
I think that's a
genuine question at this point.
There's a little part of me, and I think the
eco-friendly stuff is brilliant, but there's a little part
that I think that Formula One should lead into
we're the only fuel thing
going now. Look at this, like,
You all have to drive around the electric cars and hydrogen or whatever it might be in recharge.
But we are,
we're the thing you watch at the weekend that goes bang and is loud.
Guilty pleasure.
Yeah,
like a,
oh,
you know,
after a bit of work,
you know,
it's like,
what that means.
Neither do I,
really.
You're naughty little thing.
Christ.
My dirty little secret,
Formula One and she is a dirty lady.
Don't where this is going.
I'm sorry.
This is why I should have.
You knew.
I shouldn't have carried on it.
It was so good, Ben.
You've really.
let me if down the garden path.
Like I'm falling into a pit of mud.
I went for the stars and I'm in the soil.
Yeah, that is so us as a show.
Anyway, there's a little part where I think,
just be bad.
Yeah.
Look, that's what I say.
I think F1 is an entertainment sport.
And let Formula E or WECB
be more road relevant because it is.
You've got the electric cards in Formula E,
if you didn't know.
Oh, that's not all the E-shadles.
Yeah.
Not Formula
Easy
Electronic
And then you got WEC
Which is quite literally
Cars being taken
Wow, electric cars
From manufacturers
and made into racing cars
So let, as he say,
maybe not the naughty thing
after work,
but let F1 be the entertainment sport
Oh,
Yeah, be the cool king at the back
Yeah
If they sat on a bus
F1 was at,
sit at the back of the bus
Absolutely.
And we do spitballs
at Formula's head
and they'd be covering petrol.
Boss GP right at the front.
Can I just say every bus we got in and out of the circuit at Cota
we sat at the back?
Because we're cool.
We are the cool kids.
And we were, we are the formula.
I feel like maybe it was so cool.
Do we think maybe this is a British thing?
I don't know.
And no one else was that bothered about it.
Apparently on the buses to the kids have designated seats.
Oh, that blew our minds.
They have stickers on the window that's their names.
For reference, for context, we got school buses in to the city.
So very well.
oiled machine.
Honestly, well done to Coates it.
It was fantastic.
Lots of school buses,
but we sound on one school bus,
which is obviously off duty
for the weekend.
But each seat had the little...
Their kid's name.
Are you American?
Does your child have a designated seat
on the bus?
That blew, I might...
You ordered by social class.
Yeah.
Yeah, in Britain, it's a fight
for the back of the bus.
Yeah.
And the rest of your peasants.
Are you cool?
And are you scary?
If so, you're at the back.
If you're a dweeb like we were at school,
we're near the front.
And now we're finally old and cool.
They're not cool.
I've been in the...
well, Ben might have done,
but me and Sam didn't get the bus to school.
No, I walked.
And if close enough.
I think it was right again.
Bring it back to the actual initial point.
I should be wrong with this statistic,
which, you know,
I'm sorry if I am,
2% of F1's emissions are caused by the cars.
So if they want to look at something,
maybe they should look at the way
in which they travel around the world.
first, then look at your cars after that.
Because that's where the majority of the emissions are coming from,
is the way in which they do the calendar.
Great idea.
Why don't they do the races like in geographical order?
Oh, God, we'll get into this.
They're trying.
Too fair, they have a little bit of this.
They did try and then they did Las Vegas to Abu Dhabi.
We also don't need to have 24 Grand Prix in a season.
Well, yeah.
But we get also little hint, though,
in our paid service, there might be something coming
that talks or looks at the olden formulas
that you might have an option in.
That's what I'm going to say.
Oh yeah, nice, nice.
Plug in something that we've not actually sort out yet.
A teaser plug.
That has got being fully agreed.
Good.
And with that, we will go to our second break.
On the other side, we'll be discussing Sergio Perez.
That's fun.
Moving on to Sergio Perez.
Perez has acknowledged that he needs to understand
why he hasn't been able to perform consistently
across a full season since joining
Red Bull. He's acknowledged that it's a trend.
He said that I want to be able to hit consistency to build a platform.
I think what we lack this year is the progression.
We started this year really high, on par with Max, but we were just not able to evolve
through the season.
If anything, we went backwards at times.
Sam, first and foremost, would you agree with the statement that Perez has said there?
And secondly, do you think there is a way forward for him to get that consistency?
I have to give Perez his applaud it's here. I think it takes a lot of courage and bravery to
openly admit so publicly, especially in sport alone, but a sport like Formula One, which is very cutthroat,
you weren't up to standard. You weren't hitting the goals that you wanted to achieve and you
weren't of the level of a teammate that, of course, we see is one of the greatest now. So very brave,
you turn around and say, I wasn't doing what I think I should be doing and I need to work on how to do that.
So yeah, I think he's writing a statement and I also applaud him for coming out and saying it,
because it didn't need to say it publicly.
I'm sure saying it internally would be enough,
but it's good to hear.
What can he do to change this?
We spoke about this previously, historically,
when we speak about the likes of Lewis Hamilton
when he went up against the Ferraris, for example,
or his teammates.
It's just some drivers have the ability
to just kick on another level.
Every single race, they pull something out of somewhere.
You saw Max for Stephanie won 10 races in a row.
That isn't just down to a car being very, very good.
Do you know how hard it is to be mistake-free to hit every apex, to nail every lap,
to make overtakes at every moment that you need to, if you ever need you to,
and to take the check of flag first place.
Ten races in a row, that's not something that every driver can just pull out by,
oh, I should be a bit more consistent.
There is another level to sport that Max Verstappen has found,
that Lewis Hamilton has found, that Sebastian Vettel found in the previous Red Bull,
you know, also found when he was racing at Renault.
you just have these abilities for certain drivers
who can just step up and deliver
and I don't think Sergio Perez has that in his locker
and I don't think that's anything
he can muster up in his locker
while he's in Formula One.
I think he's a very, very good racing driver.
I do not think he's ever going to have all it takes
to go toe to toe to with Max Verstappen
for 24 Grand Prix in a row.
Also, which lends itself to Max Verstappen,
that team is his team.
You know, whether publicly they say it or not,
he's been in that team since he was a kid.
They've nurtured him.
They build things around him.
They take his feedback very seriously.
It is organised and built to be centred around Maxa Stappen.
And that's okay to have a leading driver, to have a talent that you put your time into.
So I think that Sergio Perez was not being the world's best driver.
It's a very good driver.
He's also battling up a bit of an incline to make sure that things go his way internally within Red Bull.
It's just make it a little bit harder.
So I think all we can expect of Sergio Perez is to always finish one place behind Max Verstappan.
I think that is the best that he'll ever get.
And I don't think that's a bad feat to achieve either.
From an outside point of view, I'm sure Perez would like to win every race.
But if Matt swings 24 out 24 and Perez finishes second in 24 races, I'll go, fair play,
Sergio Perez.
You dig absolutely everything you could and you were just beaten by a driver who is once in a generation level.
And that's fine.
So great for him for recognizing it.
But I don't know what more he can really do.
apart from let his morale drop, which is what happened after that Miami performance,
where he got absolutely decimated by his teammate, which was pretty soul-destroying,
I do admit.
Yeah.
And Christian Horner actually very recently said the same thing.
He notes that down as quite a notable point of the 23 season.
Harry, your thoughts on the quote and his chances of turning it around?
Yeah, I mean, as Sam said, fair play to him to acknowledge it.
I guess he doesn't have any other option to
acknowledge it.
I think with Perez,
the biggest thing for him to overcome here
is not to focus on trying to beat Verstappen
because I think that in itself is what is leading to his downfall
because before Red Bull,
Sergio Perez was Mr. Consistent.
I don't know anyone else on the grid.
You'd say,
Aesia whisperer.
Yeah.
Just whispering to them.
Hello, Tyne.
Stay with me.
Louis Howlton's beating them with a rank.
I hate you.
But he was.
And I think that's what he needs to,
he needs to be looking for that form again.
He needs to be looking for his racing point,
force India form.
Because I'm not saying that will be enough
to beat Maxfus Dapen over a season.
I think we were all in agreement that it just,
that's not going to happen.
But it's clearly enough to beat him on occasions,
as he already has done.
But just concentrate on that because he'll just have a much better year.
And then with that, then the confidence comes back.
And then maybe it builds from there.
Again, I don't think it'll be enough to top of us happening over a season.
But yeah, he just needs to, which again, that's easy for us to say and harder for him to do
because you're directly compared to your teammate all the time.
But you're right.
If he's, the problem with last year wasn't, oh God, Perez is second to Vastappen again.
And it was, oh God, Perez is 10th.
Yeah, exactly.
And that's what he can afford to do again.
So, yeah, I think Sergio, you know, go back and be like you were in the racing point days
because that's a Sergio Perez that Red Bull hired at the end of 2020 because he was that
Mr. Consistency.
And that's what I think he needs to deliver again.
I think Perez's PR team actually could do him a favor by building Perez as, as you said,
Mr. Consistent, that is going to deliver the constructors title.
for Red Bull. He's not there to set the world a light. It's not there to be their shining boy.
He will be the man that you can fall back on every single race who just deliver strong results
every single time. And I think that will build out. That's what Red Bull needs. They don't want
two eggs butting at the very top, causing Max Verstappen to be angry every single weekend.
They want a driver that brings home the rest of the points that gives them the lead that they
need. And if they could build that PR, and then if Perez then goes on to beat Max Verstappen
quietly on his own, knowing that that's reputation is different publicly,
Great, well done.
But I think they need to set up a different level of expectation publicly,
maybe to what Perez wants to achieve privately.
The problem is that just effort drivers aren't built like that.
No, they will never settle for being second best.
I mean, Barichello was probably the biggest example of a driver that basically got shunned
as a, you are the second driver here.
Well, he was up against Michael.
And I think even in Barrett, as much as much as it happened to him,
I still don't think Barrichello was, he didn't accept it.
You saw when he went up against Jensen Butte and at Brong as well.
He was fuming about.
was so upset about it.
So even when you do resign yourself to being second best,
it's still heartbreaking for them.
Yeah, I like to often compare Perez and Vestappen
and their partnership to Hamilton and Bottas from the Mercedes days.
But whilst like the end result was largely the same,
I think we can probably agree that what Perez did versus Hamilton
is pretty similar to what Bottas did versus Hamilton.
The way in which they got there was very different.
And I actually think looking back at Valtrey Bottas, that might be a way in which Perez is able to resolve some of these issues.
So whereas Sergio Perez has these stretches of good forms, so we can look at the beginning of last season and say, you know, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Baku, I think those might have been the first four races of the year.
You know, he had a very good stretch there where he was, as he says, on a par with Vastappen.
And he's right.
He was on a par with Vastappen.
But Valtrey Bottas was very different in that Bottas had like one good race in every four.
Bottas would like, he had these tracks that he was very good at.
I know Russia was one of them.
Austria was another.
But he'd always, it was like one in every four races.
He'd be, he'd outqualify Hamilton.
He'd win the race.
And then, but he could never build on that.
He could never string together two good results.
And I think that's almost, that's obviously not the ideal.
But part of that is what Perez needs in the.
based on the last two seasons, as soon as Vastappan gets the advantage,
Perez has no way of snapping momentum.
He has no way of just breaking a streak from Vestappan with a qualifying performance or a win.
It's just as soon as Vastappan gets ahead, that's it.
What he needs is to be able to deliver, like Bottas,
once in every three or four races just to let Vastappan know he's there.
As you both say, he's not beating Vestappen over the course of a full season.
It's never going to happen because Perez, whilst he is within the top 1% of drivers worldwide,
he's not in the top 0.0.01% of drivers worldwide, which for Stappan is.
For Stapen is, as you say, Sam, a generational talent.
That's okay.
Perez is not going to be able to beat him.
But, sorry, I realize I'm now in the gods again.
I'm in heaven.
That is the gospel of late breaking.
You know, Sam Katz saying please subscribe to the Patreon because we need money.
It's to buy Ben the blind.
Obviously, he needs a blind.
Ben blind. It's on his way.
It's a, it's a custom one as well.
Custom blind.
It's going to be a late breaking one.
Wait, it has late breaking on it.
It's going to have the logo on it.
Shut the front door.
Obviously, that's the best thing in the world.
Oh, let's quit here.
We've made it. We have made it.
But until then, you can't see me.
To block out the he'll see it.
I don't know where I was in that point anymore.
Sorry, Ben.
Yeah, so, yeah, Sergio Perez needs to focus on himself.
which I agree with what you said on that, Harry,
because he's not going to beat him.
That's okay.
But he just needs to, yeah,
he needs to focus on maximising his own performance rather than,
and that wasn't an intentional pun,
versus comparing himself to Vestappen.
He just needs to be better situationally as well.
Like you look at Monaco was probably the prime exam,
Monaco qualifying.
Everyone knows Monaco qualifying,
what can't you afford?
You can't afford a bad qualifying due to a crash of all things
at that circuit because it's just,
regardless of how good your car is,
you're not going to make that back.
And Perez obviously struggled.
Whereas, and I think he was guilty there
of pushing the car too much.
We all remember the inter-turn one
just outbroke himself, right?
And it's that sort of situational
decision-making
that hasn't quite been there
since he's joined Red Bull.
Again, if he was able to settle
for a Q-3 appearance,
and a P4 start and, you know, end up P3 in the Grand Prix,
that's far more points than you get if you crash out in Q1.
So, yeah, I would agree with what you say there.
Focus less on what this happens doing.
Focus more on your own performance.
And then get that Monica back, as you say, missed the consistency.
That 2020 season he had a racing point.
One of the, he was one of the best drivers of the season that year.
People often look at his winner, Bahrain and rightly so, it was a great result.
But it was his consistency across the whole year.
that was mightily impressive.
Just needs to get back to that.
Should we take our final break?
We've got late faking on the other side.
Have we, though?
Why?
Or is it a fake?
Oh, I see.
Might be.
It isn't.
Solve the text.
After the break.
Okay, let's round out today's episode with a game of late faking.
Sorry, Liverpool TV, because I think it's still the old one, but here we go.
I'm going to annoy you
The Hall of Fame
I'm going to get a DM
This is the late
faking game
Where one answer is fake
And the other one's all right
So help me Christ
I'll make my decision
In a second
Sam you're gonna have to wait
Because Ben made this game so hard
And I'm down by five
It's so good
Even if that is the old version
It's so good
Anyway
Sorry
I'll sort it out.
Triple L.
He's a Hall of Famer now.
We can't muck him around.
He's a hall of fame.
He's here for life.
Late faking.
So Sam will go up against Harry.
Six questions.
And there are four possible answers to each question.
Three of them fit within a certain category that I will say.
But one of them does not fit.
It's up to the guys to determine which one is the fake.
So number one through number six, Sam, what would you like?
John, I know something really lame.
Always.
I've been running through anti-clockwise tracks in my mind
in case it comes up as a topic.
Nice.
Right.
Is it going to come up as a topic, Ben?
No.
I'm prepared for another day.
Nailed it.
Maybe I should try 90s drivers
because I'm really bad at those.
I love number one, please, Ben.
Number one.
Okay, four drivers,
three of them have an average of over 100 points per season.
Wow.
One of them doesn't.
This is going to be really difficult.
You've got Lando Norris
Yeah
Sergio Perez
Yeah
Michael Schumacher
Yeah
And Daniel Ricardo
Great
Good
Hate this game already
Um
Over 100 points of season
Average
Okay
Well's tricky
Because of the eras
And whatnot
Eras
Eras
No, no, you're right the first time
It was eras, right?
It's not the Taylor Swift error at all
That's true.
It's an error, but I made that to you know.
I'm going to go with
Sergio Perez.
It's not Sergio Perez.
Shock, I'm wrong.
What would you have gone for,
Ariette of interest?
Lano Norris?
You'd have been more wrong.
I'd have been more wrong.
I actually forgot the other two.
Oh, one of them was Schumacher.
My calling Ricardo.
Oh, what's dang, Ricardo then, isn't it?
Nope.
Michael, that's the era thing.
That's what it was playing on my mind.
I was like, if it's not,
I think it's Perez, if it's not, it's Schumacher.
I didn't fully listen to the question.
I'll be honest.
It's a classic Harry move.
Well, I can't steal it on this one.
Salpa?
Who cares?
That's literally what you did.
Fair.
Yeah, so Lando Norris, his average points per season,
126.6.
Sergio Perez, 114.31.
Daniel Ricardo, 101.3.
And then Michael Schumacher, 82.42.
What scrub?
Washed.
What's the point in him?
This makes sense now because they had different point system
and then when they had the new point system,
he wasn't in a...
Yeah, literally, that's why I was running through it in my head.
Like, that is that the trick?
In hindsight, the word error was correct.
I was wrong.
And so were you, listeners.
Sorry to all of you that actually got it right.
But you're wrong.
Over to you, Harry.
What number would you like?
Number five, please?
That's a good one.
I can have them
listen to what you picked
for reference he picked
number one
four drivers
three of them
have led a lap
in a sprint race
and just to clarify
to have led a lap
you need to have completed
the lap
so if you've been leading
at some point
let's say during a lap
but you haven't ended up
at the end
that doesn't count
three of them
have led a lap
one has an in a sprint race
Kevin Magnuson,
Lewis Hamilton,
Sergio Perez,
and George Russell.
Oh.
Lewis Hamilton?
Fascinatingly, it is.
Lewis Hamilton has never led a lap of a spring race.
Magnuson has led two laps,
thanks to Brazil, obviously.
Sergio Perez has led 10 and George Russell has led 18.
Another 7th time world champion that's washed up.
Once you hit seven
I'm targeting seven times
Ben,
you're down at the top
One nil to Harry, back to you, Sam
I'll have number four please Ben
Number four
Four circuits
Unfortunately, it's not to do it
Antichropwise
Three of them
Nico Rosberg
won a race at
One of them he never did
Okay
Suzuki
Yeah
Barcelona
Yeah
Sochi
Yeah
Circuit
Jill Villeneuve
Great
None of the ones
I had in mind
Brilliant
I thought you were
going to say
Kota then
and it was going to
throw back to the live show
That's what I was waiting for
I was like he's going to get this
I was like
That's why I'm going to get it
Famously
You always beat
Lewis Hamilton in Kota
That's never one there
Oh
never even beating him there
Net-Lone one
The solid highlight
of the show for me
Yeah
I go
Zillvilvilnerv.
You're absolutely right, say
Zilvilnove.
Suzuki was Rosberg's last win
in F1.
Barcelona, he won in
2015, and Sotchi he won in
2016, but no win for him
at Jilvilvilenev. Loves it.
Suzuki, 2016, by the way, I think
underrated, maybe one of his best
ever win, so Nika Rosberg, just
throw that one out there.
Can't remember it. Why? He's going back and watch that.
I don't remember a great deal from it.
Mainly because it was towards the end of that year
and Hamilton was like winning everything,
apart from when the engine blew up.
Oh, no, no, no.
But it was, you know when Hamilton gets on those, like,
run of forms at the end of the season?
He's so good at the end of the year.
And Rosberg broke, like, didn't, wasn't,
like, Hamilton was out on qualifying.
Snap that form.
It was just a, it was just a, he outpaced him over a weekend.
I think that's what made difference.
Anyway, sorry, it was a random.
Oh, it's a good point.
Thought.
Okay, we're now at one all.
Back to you, Harry, two, three or six.
Six, please.
Number six, I'm going to give you four years.
Three of them, the driver who...
Sorry.
Carry on.
Four years.
Three of them, the driver who won the title did not win the most number of races that season.
1953.
Oh, God.
Okay.
2016.
Ironic
I don't remember that
2008
1994
and 1987
and 1987
I know the answer
which means I don't know the answer
because if I'm over that confident in anything
it means I'm wrong
I don't know
it could be any of them
it could be that's why he's picked him
one of those years
the driver who won the championship
did have the most number of wins
that's the one you're looking for
Right.
I will go, what was the third one?
94.
The third one was 1994.
Uh, hmm.
Maybe I'm 2016.
It's not 2016.
It was 1994.
2016,
Hamilton had more wins than Rosberg.
2008, Massa had more wins than Hamilton.
Uh, 1987, Mansell had more wins than PKK,
but 1994 Schumacher did win.
win the most number of races against Damon Hill.
Of course, Schumacher didn't take part in a few races during that season for
completely innocent reasons.
Again, I'm just going to have seven-time world champions today.
Three in a row, that is?
Oh, dear.
So, one all with two questions to go.
Sam, two or three?
Three.
I think number three, my lord.
Thank you.
Number three.
Okay.
Four drivers here.
Three of them were present when the longest question ever was asked ahead of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.
Which one wasn't there?
Okay.
Kimmy Reichenen.
Nico Holcomberg.
Nico Rosberg.
Jensen Button.
God.
This question.
I might make it the longest thought process of...
Okay.
It would be really funny if you did the Sebastian Vessel bit of, can you repeat the question?
I'm witty enough for that.
He's giving you one there.
What?
Well, I didn't include him in the list for that reason, but yeah.
If he started taking them out.
Yeah, annoyingly in my mind, I had three already,
and two of them, two of the ones aren't on,
because there's six drivers there, I think.
That's correct.
Yeah, two of them, Betel be one of them,
were the ones that are there that you haven't mentioned.
I'm going to say, Rosberg.
Rosberg was there.
Who brains?
It was,
Harry, any other?
Is it Holkenberg?
No, Holkenberg was there as well.
It was Kimmy Reichen and he was not there.
Kimme, He made, I was torn between.
So it was Holkenberg, Rosberg, Button,
and then Alonzo Hamilton, Vettel were the six.
Hamilton-Vettel were the two that hang in my mind
that were definitely there.
Which means,
what question would you like?
You've got two or two.
Oh, asking what's left, I reckon?
What's left, Ben?
You've got, well, one, three, four, five and six.
So you've got two.
Or two.
Pick number two, my lord.
I'll go for number two, please.
Good.
That was terrible.
You could win it all.
Or draw it all.
Or draw it all, which is a very amicable result.
Four teams.
Graham Hill raced for three of them.
Which one did he not race for?
Shadow.
Can't see it.
It's in the sun.
Not true.
B.R.M.
Okay.
Lola.
And Portia.
She was a show girl.
What, Lola?
Yeah.
What, BRM?
Yeah, she said her hair.
Her name was BRM.
Burm.
I love it, Burm.
I am going to go for Lola.
That's what it's called Barry Magalo.
This is my name's our.
Barry Racing Magalo.
Burry Manalo.
Burry.
Please move on.
I've said Lola, please get the answer and get this over.
She was a show girl.
Well, Harry and Sam started this game.
Level on points.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And they finished level on points.
It's not Lola.
Is it Porsche?
Never drove for Porsche.
Come on.
Why do I always get the ones that you get?
I know them.
I thought Lola were only around for like...
Three minutes.
97.
Yeah, in for practice, basically, in 97.
I've heard Barry's still singing it.
It's on TikTok.
Good.
Oh, Lord.
All right.
Well, there you go.
Late faking.
No winner.
Good.
That's how we roll.
I was just going to,
before we end,
we've had an update
from Beef,
life update.
Do you want to play that?
Oh, that's,
yeah.
Go on.
I think she's done a couple
over Christmas
that we didn't,
we didn't play.
Speaking of show girls.
Yeah.
Big Bash beef.
That's a month old.
Show beef.
Hello, beef.
That's not a month.
No, the other one was.
Oh, right.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, right, anyway, here you go, Beef.
Hello, I hope you all had a good Christmas and a new year.
Thank you.
My new year's resolution is to be more me.
Not sure what that means yet, but I'm going with it.
What's happened?
Oh, my God, boyfriend Beef bought me Taylor Swift tickets for Christmas.
That's an error.
That's a buzzing.
Is that it?
The errant.
I feel like that's it.
Oh, I put my bet on Carla's science to win the,
Championship.
Okay, bye.
Oh my God.
Give it.
It does every year.
Some things can change,
but one thing that stays the same
is Beech puts Mali and Carlos
science to win the world title.
She's going to cash out big one day.
I wonder how much she'll have lost
by the end of when he retires.
Six pounds.
I think he does a fiver.
God.
Bloody hell, beef.
Beef.
Bagrod beef.
Big bucks beef.
Bankrock beef.
Bankrock beef.
Anyway, thanks, beef.
She's the only person in our submissionist channel now.
It's just her.
Yeah, there's multiple beefs.
we'll do something with Discord submissions very soon
we've got to think of what that actually is
but we'll do that very soon
Sam nothing left for us to do
other than get us out of here
all right then
yeah we're all over social media
late breaking F1 and that does include TikTok
where if you want you can pretend to see Lola
by Barry Mangelo while you watch our content
then you will do a son
down with the key kids
I have to do a video now
just for you Barry
also on Facebook Twitter
well Facebook I brought Facebook into it
We've never, we've never
purposely posting anything on Facebook.
If you're following us on Facebook,
I see some of you are.
Blah Bibo while you're at.
Yeah, my space.
Yeah, yeah, grandad.
Yeah, yeah.
Tumblr.
MSN.
Instagram,
Pinterest, I'm sure.
No.
You can follow us on all those places
late breaking F on YouTube as well.
This has been video recording
so you can say hello to us.
See our lovely, gorgeous smiling faces.
You can follow us on Discord.
Links down in the description, chat to us.
We're all three of us are in there.
Curse is in there as well.
lovely producer Kirstie.
Yeah.
She definitely will reply to you
if you try and speak to her.
More than I will.
Yeah, that's so true, actually.
She's more of a member than you are.
But join us.
Over 2,000 and a bit thousand people in there
chatting every day through the winter break.
It's delightful.
I am meant to do an update
for the people that won the disco racing league
and I'm sorry to Joyce the Kill
I've completely forgotten,
but I've got the list so it will come out soon, I promise.
Speaking of fantasy leagues and stuff.
Yeah.
Here we have a winner in our mix, Ben.
Ben, you've been very humble about this.
You may have won the fantasy football league,
American Football League.
Yeah, I won last year as well.
You need to get good at America.
Oh, wow.
Been schooled by Brit.
Yeah, that's embarrassing.
That is embarrassing.
Very embarrassing.
Fairly embarrassing.
Anyway, so you can try to beat Ben in the fantasy American football league.
I don't know how that works, but I'm sure Ben does.
Well, yeah.
In nine months time, anyway.
Anyway, Patreon is getting a bit of an overhaul.
You'll start to see that soon.
We've got some new things coming and we're going to be setting up, as I said, a PO box,
and you'll be sending some goodies for us to look at soon as well, which will be lovely.
We'll bring some content with that as well in the next few months.
months. Thanks for listening. We love you. We've got some good stuff coming up and we're going to
see you soon. In the meantime, I've been Samuel Sage. I've been Ben Hocking and I've been Harry Ead.
And remember, keep breaking life.
Another one done. We're almost there. That's the spirit.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
