The Late Braking F1 Podcast - Has Sainz made the RIGHT decision to join Williams?
Episode Date: July 31, 2024It may be the start of the summer break but F1 has delivered plenty of news! The LB boys cover the latest from Sainz signing with Williams, Red Bull's decision on Perez's future, Alpine's team princip...al exit, and Ocon completing Haas' 2025 lineup. They finish with a game of Back and Forth... FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes, historic race reviews & more! JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League: SIGN UP & create your team, and JOIN our league (join code: C3PHEQHPU04) BUY our Merch SEND us something! We have a brand new PO box - address: Late Braking Podcast, PO Box 821, TRURO TR1 9PE EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
Very warm welcome to the late breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Ead, Sam Sage, and me, Ben Hocking.
It's the first episode of the summer break.
And oh boy, Sam, it feels like the summer break.
The summer is upon a sea.
Whoa.
Ah, I mean, it is.
warm. It is so warm. And I'm really losing my mind through dehydration. So yeah, it's good.
Harry, I don't know if you're really here or if you've got some kind of oasis in the heat.
No, I am actually here. I'm not a mirage. But it is very hot. And as we like to do in the UK,
we complain about the weather at all times of year, whether it's too hot or too cold or too
rainy or too mild.
Mild or muggy.
Muggy. As we spoke about on.
They were breaking. Yeah, but other than that, I am well.
Lovely. And I'm looking forward to your outro of
and I've been a mirage.
Obviously, the idea of Harry each
face through that wavy lighting, a desert that they make through
on films, it's so funny.
Excellent.
What have we got coming up on today's episode?
Well, it's a stacked episode for a summer break
because so much has happened since our last midweek episode a week ago.
So Esteban Ockon is being confirmed to be racing for Hasse.
Bruno Fuming, no longer team principal at Alpine.
Sergio Perez after talks yesterday, Monday as you're listening to this,
he's due to stay at Red Bull.
But before we get to all of that,
we're going to start with Carlos Signs to Williams.
He's gone to Williams on a multi-year deal.
2024 has become the year of what will Carlos do.
He's got a number of options in front of him.
Finally, he has made that decision to go to Williams.
Signs had the following to say,
it is no secret that this year's driver market
has been exceptionally complex for various reasons
and that it has taken me sometime to announce my decision.
However, I am fully confident
that Williams is the right place for me to continue my F1 journey
and I am extremely proud of joining such a historic and successful team.
The ultimate goal of bringing Williams back to where
it belongs at the front of the grid is a challenge that I embrace with excitement and positivity.
And team principal James Vals are the following to say, Carlos joining Williams is a strong statement
of intent from both parties. Carlos has demonstrated time and again that he is one of the most
talented drivers on the grid with race-winning pedigree, and this underlines the upwards trajectory
we are on. Carlos brings not just the experience and performance, but also a fierce drive to
extract every millisecond out of the team and car. The fit is perfect. Before we get out,
on to the move from Williams's perspective, Sam.
Let's just focus on what it means for Carlos Sines as an individual.
As mentioned, this wasn't his only option on the table.
Was it the right call?
Yeah, I declared in the last race, in the last preview we did,
that he had to make a decision before the end of the summer break.
And he went, I won up you?
I'm like, you at the start of the summer break.
It's about goddamn time, in the words of Lizzo,
that he gets a shifty on because seats were starting to fall left, right and center.
I don't think he ever looked at Haas as a real option.
Ocon taking that, which we get on later,
is never really going to be,
I think one that troubled him by disappearing.
Of course, the Mercedes still empty, still available.
He never seemed like a contender for that seat,
which I must admit even now is still quite baffling to me.
I know they want Kimmy Antingelli in that seat,
and he has been leveling up his FD performances.
So I guess that they're seeing him to go straight into that option
and not to Williams first, but I take as a science,
he's been pretty darn good.
It would be a good accompaniment to George Russell, I think.
But then, of course, you have both Alpine
an Audi as well as the William seat available.
I never thought Alpine was a real option.
I know that I think if you're Alpine, you'd look at this and go,
seems pretty sensible, seems like a pretty good choice for us.
For science, I don't think it was ever there.
I don't think they're showing the capability, the drive,
the structural changes to actually make it feasible.
For Carlos, I'd like to achieve what he wants to achieve as a driver.
So you're down to Audi and you're down to Williams.
You know what?
Andreas Sider walks out the door,
Salver, strung around at the back of the Griggs.
You've got no idea if Alti,
you are actually going to be decent, they turn up.
Williams is a known quantity.
James Vouse has hired everyone in the world to work for that team over the last month.
And he's poured out his brilliant negotiation skills once again,
because it is absolute crime that are lying up of that quality
are driving around in the ninth fastest car in Formula One.
But if they can get the car going in the right direction,
I think Carlos Sites has done a really good job here,
moving to a legacy team where he could be for a long time,
won't for the immediate pressure like he did at Ferrari.
They'll have a little time to settle, I think.
I think this is sensible.
I think him and album will work well together.
Vows is a great team leader.
They've got the likes of Pat Fry there as well.
I do think this is the start of a very positive journey for Williams.
I think science is going to play a crucial part for him along the way.
So, yeah, science is like a tricky choice.
I think this might have been the best long-term option.
Out is the risk, though.
You never know.
We'll come back in a couple of years.
Just save that and we'll see how well that age is.
Because either...
World champion boss is, smoking cymbal.
precisely.
Harry, what do you think?
Has signs made the right decision?
Yes.
I think Carlos Science has made the right decision.
Sorry.
Did you just say yes?
Where's a thanks?
Why are you not on it?
I know.
That was definitive.
Yeah, well,
my fancy and days are over for today.
I've just got off as too hot.
Yeah, I can't say it offence is too much.
Yeah, no, I think it is for science.
And because he was in a tricky position here,
given that he was obviously let go by Ferrari,
as you said sam mercedes apparently never seemed like an option maybe that's why it's
taken a while because from signs inside i would if he had any sense would be pushing to try and get
them besead but it just doesn't sound like they're interested and they want either max vastappen
or uh if not kimi antonelli so the signs was never an option which
don't know they could rue the day when that happened they let signs go i don't know but
anyway that was another never the option as you say has probably never truly was an option
Alpine, I mean, we make all the jokes about Alpine,
but just on a more logical point,
he's also been there, he doesn't need to,
he doesn't need to go back what's really the point in that.
So that left Williams and Aldi and given the,
and maybe they knew about this,
but given the fact that Seidel has now been sacked
and the other person whose name Eskates me,
but the two guys who were there for a while,
you know, co-founders of this,
maybe that influences his decision to go to Williams.
Or he was going to Williams
and that's why they sacked Siddle.
Whenever I know.
But, yeah, I think this is the logical, logical option.
I, you know, you've been to markets before, boys.
I mean, Samuel Lidlund for a while, as did I.
Ben, you're not far from par market.
You've got par market.
Honestly, national treasurer's par market.
You go down to the market and there's all sorts of stalls.
There's like a hoodies with wolves on them.
Exactly.
There's food stalls.
It's so par market.
Go on.
Puddies and walls on them.
There's a guy in the back with a vinyl shop
He's got the worst collection of all time
Precisely, there's so much
There's so many people selling different things
And in the distance right at the end
There's this table in like a dark blue
There's a man there with a flat cap on
He's called James
And he's just got a table full of dreams
And he's selling them
He's absolutely selling them
To anyone who have it
And that person who's just bought them
Is Carla Sines
I'm so impressed with this from James Viles
because, okay, the heritage Williams has is undeniable.
A lot of history there, excellent.
And signs is in a unique position where he wants a drive
and there weren't that many seats available.
A top drive was limited, Mercedes, as already mentioned.
But even so, James Zalzer sat down at a table with him and gone,
well, this is our past record.
But don't worry about that since, you know,
to the early noughties when we used to win Regner races,
our last race
run being 2012,
the future,
my friend,
is bright.
And he's,
he's taking him
on an absolute journey.
And Carlos Sines has very much bought it.
And I sincerely hope it works out.
I have a feeling it could work out.
But James Vals,
he's like Del Boy,
basically.
How has he pulled this off?
James Vows, honestly,
man has got the barbecue out
for the summer holiday
and he is cooking.
He is,
he is,
He is frying up straight dubs.
How has he managed to pull this off?
I do not bring in the chilly seasoning now, aren't he?
Sprinkling it on top.
It was spicy.
I think in reality,
Carlos Nights has probably had this on his desk for a couple of months.
And I think he probably was just waiting to see if something did unfold
in that whole Mercedes and indeed Red Bull scenario.
I don't think it's a coincidence that this has essentially happened
on the same day that Red Bull held their.
crunch talks with Sergio Perez
and it was confirmed essentially
that nothing would be changing
in their lineup for the rest of this year
and it would still be Perez and Bastap
and I don't think it's a coincidence at all.
I think Sines probably was waiting this out,
realized that, nah, it's not going to happen.
It's got to be one of these three other teams
and he's pulled the trigger on it being,
on it being Williams.
It's a shame for Carlos Sines in the short term
because whilst that Ferrari might not be
winning races every single week,
it's certainly probably going to be a better option
than whatever he was going to sign for next year.
After all, the three teams fighting for his signature
are eighth, ninth, and tenth in the championship.
And even if you think in 2026, things will turn around for any of them,
it's probably not going to turn around next year.
So it will be a year of hurt, I think, for Carlos Sides.
But in a weird way, I think there is a positive in this
in that because all three teams, Alpine on 11 points,
Williams on four, Salber on a big fat zero,
those three teams being so bad
and they're not really being that much between them
has made his decision a bit easier
because he can focus solely on who he thinks
is long term going to be the right call
because there's no, let's say Alpine, for example,
where they were last year, right?
Not brilliant, but quite a bit better than where they are now,
there might have been a choice for signs to say,
well, short term, Alpine's going to get me more,
but I might fancy Williams long term.
He didn't have to worry about that.
He could just go purely on who he thinks long term
is going to be the right option.
But honestly, as good as Williams have done here,
and I give them a lot of credit,
this is an utter embarrassment for Aldi and Alpine,
particularly Audi, but it's an embarrassment for both of them
because on paper, Williams should not have a chance
to sign Carlos Sides.
they should firmly be last of those three teams,
even if Williams do turn it around in a couple of years' time,
they are a customer team with no ambition to change the fact that they are a customer team,
going up against a massive brand in Aldi, who's appearing in the sport,
and Alpine, who, at least in theory, should be a factory team.
And somehow Williams have beaten both of them.
The dysfunction of both teams has cost them a major.
signing, whether it's Audi with
Seidel and Bonotto
and the whole sale change happening towards the top,
whether it's Alpine and just, you know,
being Alpine,
it's a massive vote of no confidence
in both teams.
Audi has been a frontrunner for Carlos Sines
for so long, and it hasn't
worked, Sidle, who worked with Carlos Sines in the past,
could not get his signature.
Bonotto, who has, I appreciate he's new in the job,
but he worked with signs in the past.
He couldn't get his signature either.
Fair play to Williams.
They, as you say, Harry, they are very much selling dreams
because they're not selling anything else on track.
And I don't know if a team that has a team ever performing this poorly
got such a good set of drivers, I don't know.
But man, they should not have had a shot at this.
They should not have had a shot.
I think Williams need to be careful here.
I think they need to make sure that we've heard the speech from James Vowles being like,
you know, we're taking steps to make our long-term future
success. We're not bothering about finishing
eighth or ninth, wherever it might be. We're here
to develop a car that ends up finishing
first, second, third, regularly fighting for
podiums, regularly in the top half of the points, picking
up race wins. And in turn, of course, they want to be
world champions. Now, hiring someone
as good as Carlos Science, who's come from
the esteem of Ferrari, who was previously at McLaren,
these were regularly both race winners, who was
previously in the family of Red Bull,
looking at Nor Renno, in that situation.
My point here is,
they can't now drop the ball because
they could very quickly lose both prime time assets.
For the first time in a long time,
Williams have got two drivers
who are incredibly well regarding
around the paddock and the wider Formula One world
who are not pay drivers,
who are not low needs from other teams,
who are not here on a one-year deal,
we don't want to be here for much longer.
Albon enjoys it in his year long term
and science, by the sounds of it,
a sign for at least two years, potentially more.
So they cannot drop the ball
and be racing around in ninth and tenth position
in the championship
another three or four years.
By the time we get to 2026, they've got to have their pennies in a line,
and they're going to have to spend them to get to success town.
Because honestly, it's not a good time otherwise.
I genuinely think the first race of 2026, it's going to be an important race for many
constructors.
I don't know if it's going to be more important for anyone other than Williams.
Williams might be top of that list because so much of that team is there based on what
they might be able to achieve in 2026.
Both drivers, a lot of senior.
management. They've all been brought in for that.
If Audi don't get it right straight
away, okay, it's not brilliant, but equally
they're brand new into the sport.
Give it time.
If they turn up and they haven't improved
in 2026, that might be a struggle
for the team. Driver line-up wise, Harry,
best line up for 10 years-ish.
Yeah.
Massabotas, you probably have to go back to.
Yeah. 2016 is the last
by the last time they had a decent lineup.
Obviously, that started in 2014.
Yeah, and even then I'd say this is a overall better line-up.
It wasn't prime massive, was it?
It was not prime-massar.
I think it is a better line-up.
So then if you want to go further back,
then you're going back quite a way for a good lineup,
double-line-up for Williams,
who for a lot of years have had,
in Massa-Botas is your most solid lineup in that stretch,
but in between that, you've had a lot of years with one very good driver
and another driver.
The other driver in the team who often was bringing money
because they needed money, so Maldonado springs to mind
or even people like Kazuki Nakajima for crying out loud.
He wasn't saying the world alike, but he was partnered with Rosberg.
So yeah, it's great.
Again, how he's done this, I don't know,
but this is such a good lineup for Williams.
It's one of the tastier lineups on the grid, to be honest.
You know, Signs is a proven race winner.
Albon, who obviously has picked himself back up after his Red Bull experiences
and is now becoming a solid driver himself.
That is a dependable, if nothing else,
for a lineup for Williams, which that probably doesn't sound like a lot.
But for Williams, a dependable double lineup is like winning the lottery.
They haven't had that for so long.
they've had one driver who's been scraping points here and there.
Yeah, this is excellent, excellent signing.
It also gives Williams less room to go away and hide because if they don't,
next year is probably going to be tough anyway, but certainly from 26 onwards,
if they don't perform, you can't really look at the driver lineup and say that's going to be
the reason why.
So like you say, in previous years, they've had one very good driver, one not so good driver.
If you think last year, for example, that team probably breaks
50 points if it's two Alex Albin's.
They aren't going to have that excuse with Albin and signs at the team.
There's going to be a spotlight on Williams if they don't perform
and it's probably not going to be directed at the drivers.
But we'll see, I mean, the rest of the Dominoes are probably likely to fall in place quite quickly,
my instinct.
Oh, they should get Domino's response to the car.
Oh, have you heard that Duracel is sponsoring Williams?
I'm not getting into this.
Actually, I only noticed this other day.
On the airbox, they've got...
Oh, it's so what, I'm not dealing with it.
But, you know, they do batteries.
They've got like a battery on the on the airbox.
It's actually really...
It's a genius bit of marketing, actually.
Someone's pointing that out.
No one's ever done that.
I'm convinced no one's ever done that before.
I didn't realize they've been sponsoring it since like 2022.
They should have started then.
You should have done something about it.
It's way earlier.
He's actually left.
He's gone.
I'm going to have to take the next break
just to get over that revelation
on the other side
Sam will want to come back for this
because Sergio Perez
we're discussing his future
after this
the bong right in the outro
to the break
are you quite dang
welcome back everyone
more news obviously coming out
after the Belgian Grand Prix
and it's in relation to Sergio
Perez and the Red Bull seats
for the rest of this year
So obviously we found out that Sergio Perez and the Red Bull team were going to be having crunch talks on Monday to determine whether he would be in that seat for the rest of this year.
And that has been confirmed.
Sergio Perez will keep his seat at Red Bull in the second part of the season.
A Red Bull spokesperson said Christian Horner told employees in a speech at the team's base in Millen Keynes that Perez would stay on.
Dutch newspaper DeTelegraph reported that Horner said,
Checo remains a Red Bull Racing driver, despite all the speculation of late.
We look forward to seeing him perform on circuits where he has done well before.
And there will also be no change to the driver lineup of Daniel Ricardo and Yuki Sonoda at the second team Rabe either, as spokesperson said.
Sam, your reaction, are you surprised that they're not pulling the trigger on this?
What race tracks has he performed well at that weren't the first four?
Baku.
Baku.
Great, good.
So it's what out of 10 left?
10% great. Good. Yeah, I'm surprised. Yes, I'm so surprised because for the question that we've
been asking on the show for weeks now is, what have you got to lose by switching it? He's already
not scoring anyway near enough points that's required. Sergio Perez with the last eight Grand Prix
currently sits eighth in the driver's title, title fights, that is, but it sounds much better than it
actually is with the tallies provided because in front of him, of course, he's.
got Bastapen 1st and
141, Piastri's second on 126
Hamilton 3rd on 123
Norris 4th and 116
Lecler on 79, Syntz on 79
and Russell on 79 which will be more
having got been disqualified and yet
Perez is on 28
how have you scored 28 points in
8 Grand Prix? That is
like what an average of 3 points
a race? Just slightly
over that? Not much more.
It is honestly atrocious form
genuinely one of the worst we've seen from a top driving a long time.
And the likes of Albon and Gasly,
who are both pretty much in their debut seasons at this point,
not far from it,
were well and truly booting out a long time ago.
And they had worse backup options then.
They had less experience.
They had less quality available to them,
less certainty.
And Yuki Sanagos got me thinking,
to not even get a punt for half a year
with a chance of maybe going back to R.B.
If it doesn't work out,
what have I got to do?
Daniel Ricardo, he's not in the form of his life,
but he gets him slowly better throughout the season.
Because it was he doing worse than this, really?
There is a title on the line.
They are slowly at risk of losing this.
It is slowly falling away from them.
And Perez is 100% going to be the driver to blame
if they do slip up, if it does not get delivered.
He's so far away from the competition that it is atrocious.
And the fact that he has managed to keep his seat,
who is his negotiator?
Is it James Vowles?
Has he sold Red Bullse and Dreams?
Because, honestly, he needs it at this point.
This is one of the most baffing decisions.
I've seen a Formula One for a long time.
I cannot fathom how he's kept his seat.
It is mind-blowing.
Did you see this coming, Harry?
Did you think they would make that switch?
Right.
I was convinced that this was going to,
there was going to be a switch here.
And this isn't a Sergio Perez hating podcast
for clarity to any Sergio Perez fans.
But you only have to look at past form of Red Bull themselves.
As I already mentioned,
Alex Albon
Pierre Gasley
going to check
Danny Kaffia in there
Red Bull
have got form on this
for less crimes
like if
I'm baffled
that they're keeping
because like you said Sam
I
and again
whether you put Sonoda or Ricardo
in for the second half
of the year
as it currently stands
even if Ricardo and Sonoda
are crap
you're replacing crap
with crap
so what does it matter
there's no deal and at least you then know
especially in Riccardo's case but both
of them Sonoda as well
you both you can
rule out the crap for next year
it's gone you don't have to put the crap in between 25
you've got a replacement yeah
so why they're not
I don't understand right so Red Bull
have had this issue in the past where they don't
they've promoted drivers too early
etc and sometimes they've run out of drivers
so they can then put in that seat because they've been promoting
and promoting.
And now they've got to a point where they,
when they signed Perez back in 2020,
end of 20 for 2021,
it was like a stop gap.
It allowed them some time to build up
the reserves in the RBC.
And I know Ricardo is not a young driver,
but in terms of two reserves
that could go into a Red Bull,
they're not bad options in terms of
if you really need them.
So they've given themselves that space.
But now they decided not to pull the pin.
They're not just going to keep the driver
that's not doing very well,
whereas in past they pulled the pin
and put in another driver
that's not be ready to replace.
They might have a driver
ready to replace
and they're not putting in the pin.
I just, I mean,
I read that yesterday
and I was like,
I'm not even sure I believe it.
There's a part of me that goes,
Gazzley will tell you
it's happened before.
Yeah.
We're not replacing him and then they might leave this
until we might come back
to Baku and if he's terrible
at Baku, they replace him anyway.
Do you think that's,
I think that's why Christian Horn has thrown that line in
about how we're looking forward to him doing better at circuits
that he's done well at in the past
because then if he doesn't,
that's his reason for going,
okay,
let's put a stop to this.
That confuses me as well.
I know they have to shut down for two weeks
in a couple of days' time so they can't do anything.
But at least with a summer break,
you allow yourselves a bit of time for everyone to get swapped around.
Are they going to do it into the second half of the year?
That's just making things more stressful.
So if you still go that in the back of your mind,
just do it now.
I also give one of the other drivers enough time to settle.
That's what I mean.
A new car, right?
Not for Sergio's sake, sorry, Sergio,
but more for getting the driver you want in the car up to speed.
Because, yeah, trying to do that in the middle of like the racing again.
It's going to be really tough.
So, yeah, I am very confused by the decision because,
and again, I'm not hating on Sergio here,
but just because of the pass form and Red Bull have done this before.
and why now?
Why are they deciding to be kind now
when they've done it before
there were no championships on the line?
I know it's quite a,
you know,
Red Bull is still in control here,
but if it keeps going the way it is,
they're going to lose.
So there is a championship on the line.
They made this snap decision beforehand
when there was literally nothing
to fight for championship-wise.
But now when it matters,
when it matters,
they're not going to make the call.
And look, for surgery's sake,
sincerely hope this is the kick-up the
ass he needs and he comes back from the summer break
and proves everybody wrong
and he's mega.
But just the rut he's in
at the moment, I would be very
surprised that happens.
What do you think the reasoning is?
Even if it's something you don't necessarily agree with,
what's the basis for
them making this call?
Is it that if they put one of the other
drivers in and it is worse, they can't
go back to what they had before?
Oh, I couldn't they?
That's the beauty of,
their setup.
They could do what they want.
They could swap them back again and then carry on as they were.
All day long.
Yeah, I'm not suggesting that's the right thing to do.
But they are the only team on the grid that can do this.
Why not do it?
They can swap them around.
Put Ricardo or Sonado in the Red Bull.
Put Sergio in the RB.
I mean, look, again, I don't necessarily agree with how they've gone about their business.
But when Gassi got put in the Torosso back then, he instantly was better.
like instantly was better.
It could just be one race.
Yeah, it was the race of, wasn't it?
Yeah, yeah.
Could just be what Sergio needs.
And I don't know.
It just, again, it confuses me as to why I guess they're going for the consistency.
But at this point, they've got to try something else because they're going to lose.
Otherwise.
Yeah.
I was somewhat surprised.
I could have seen this one going either way.
But yeah, I felt there was at least the chance that he was in trouble.
as you say Sam, 42 points separating Red Bull and McLaren, that is one race.
That's it.
43 points for a win in second place, double retirement, McLaren lead the championship.
If it was a driver's championship and there was 24 points between Vastappen and the driver
behind, we would say we've got a fight on our hands.
It's exactly the same for the Constructors' Championship.
And we put a lot of focus on McLaren and rightly so because they've been certainly the best team
of the last 10 races, let's say.
Ferrari is 63 behind.
Ferrari have been pretty rubbish for a while now.
They are still only 63 behind.
So if they can figure something out,
I don't think they're completely out of it.
They will need to certainly be much better than they have been.
But they've stuck around enough.
They've stuck around enough.
And look, I agree with what you said about how they've done this before
with Albin and Gassi.
They're not doing it here.
and a thing that I always look for,
particularly in these sorts of battles,
is what percentage of the team's points
are you bringing home as an individual?
And this goes back to the stat you mentioned, Sam,
of the last eight Grand Prix,
as you rightly said,
Verstappen, 141 points, Perez 28.
If you want to put that in some context, folks,
George Russell scored more than that in Austria.
Alone.
Oh, no.
It's not great.
So that overall means that in the last eight Grand Prix,
Sergio Perez has contributed 16.6% of the points that Red Bull have achieved.
And I was very interested.
So I went back to both Albon and Gasly's last eight races to see how that compares.
Because again, they obviously made the decision with both of those drivers to move on.
Albin, 42 points, Vastappen 104.
That's 28% of the points for the team.
So far higher than what Perez has done the last eight.
Gasly, he had 50 points.
Vastappan had 130.
That's 27%.
So in both of those instances,
they were securing more of the team's points
than what Perez has done in the last day.
In a worse car.
I mean, the fact that obviously Vastappen's also in a worse car
so that levels itself out.
But even so, if you look at all three of those situations,
Albon had 12 Grand Prix before he was promoted to Red Bull
and then only did a year and a half in that team.
Gassley, he only did 12 races in Red Bull.
When we say last eight races for Gassley,
we are literally talking about race five to race 12,
and that's it.
In both of those situations,
there was a legitimate reason as to why they should be struggling.
Perez is halfway through his fourth year at the team,
and he's a near 15-year vet of the sport at this point.
there should be no reason why Perez is even on the same level as Albin and Gassley,
let alone 12 percentage points below it.
So I thought there was a legitimate reason to move on.
And I do want to stress exactly what both of you have said regarding the junior team
and ask the question, what the hell is it there for?
I do not.
If you're not going to pull the trigger now, when are you going to?
because, look, if Red Bull want to turn around and say,
of all the realistic options, Lawson Ricardo Sonoda,
we've seen all the data, we've got all of the SIM data,
we do not believe any of them can actually do a better job than Perez.
I will go, you know what, fine.
You've got all the data, your Red Bull, I'll trust you.
Fine, they won't do a better job.
But even if that's the case, why have you got the drivers in those spots?
because Sonoda at this point
is the most experienced driver
ever at that second team
to not have a promotion to the main team.
He's done 80 races at this point.
If you want to put that in some context,
by the end of this season,
Sonoda will have only done five fewer Grand Prix
than one Pablo Montoya.
He's not new in the sport anymore.
This guy has been around for a long time.
If not now, when?
This team, as you've rightly said,
has had many experiences in the past.
Some have been good, some have been bad,
of promoting drivers,
at least giving them the opportunity.
Ricardo is an example here, right?
If you were to say,
surely when they rehired Ricardo for this opportunity,
Christian Horner must have just said,
look, all I won is a nothing to lose opportunity,
just to throw him in the car and see if he still got it.
They have been given that opportunity on a silver plate
and they've decided not to take it.
you can get your definitive answer by the end of this year.
I just think you might as well.
If you're R.B., Menardi, whatever you want to call them,
you might as well get rid of both of Ricardo and Sonoda,
because if you're not going to promote them for this,
they're just wasting the spots.
Completely agree with you.
I think the damning rapport on the junior team
is really what's so worrying about this.
Because, yeah, like you said,
they can keep Sergio for as long as they want, really.
If Max Verstaff is still putting the strings and we're in the championships,
you're only hurt.
much by it. If you're a junior driver as part of the Red Bull program right now, the system
is broken for you. If you're someone like Isaac Hajar or Ilyssa or someone like that, try
to get through the Red Bull Junior program. And you're going, there's a mid-30s year old man in my way.
Like, I'm 19, 20 years old. How I beat this race-winning man that's got his own clothing brand and a
mustache. And I'm 19 and can't grow facial hair, but I'm just trying to get a break in this
sport and I'm doing my best.
How do you get through that?
Or Yuki Sengoda, who is not the same size as an average man, but he screams like one
and he makes the impacts of one, but he can't get a break either.
What are they able to do?
What can these, why would you be a junior driver for Red Bull right now?
Because you're never going to beat Max for Stappen and you're never going to get into
that top seat.
You never get into the second seat.
So why bother?
It just feels like there's a big cork in the way with Daniel Ricardo's bum on it.
and they cannot break through.
He said cork.
I did.
I said like a wine bottle.
Yep.
There'd be an R in that word.
I promise you.
Oh boy.
Should we ever look at F1 Fantasy?
Oh, I'm getting a bit bored of this, actually.
You used to love this segment, Sam.
Well, George Russell hates me and I hate him now, so that's why.
So if you can't tell Sam, they'll have a great week.
Well, we'll start with someone who definitely did have a good week.
and that is the winner for the Belgian Grand Prix.
Rabbit Racing, 318 points.
Congratulations to you.
The top three overall for the season so far
as we head into the summer break.
It's all Bon Rang leads the way.
He's eight points clear of nice guys finish first.
And Prancing Zebras back into the top three in third.
Of the four of us, I'm 268th,
so I've dropped 10 positions week to week,
which I wasn't particularly.
particularly pleased that.
And then I saw what had happened to Sam.
156 positions dropped, 440th.
Honestly, Russell, D-Qed, great.
Norris, crap, great.
Hulkeberg, almost last, great.
Sonoda, almost last.
Great.
I had a stinker.
Yeah, it means you're only 17 points clear of Kirstie,
who went up by 12 positions.
largely due to the fact that Ferrari managed to outperform Mercedes.
So, um, I,
come on.
I assume the apologies stuck in the mail somewhere.
I'm looking out for it, but, um, I haven't heard that from me yet.
Uh, and Harry.
Oh, Harry.
Hey, how are we doing?
Um, you've dropped a few positions.
Oh.
Oh.
I'm just imagining.
Harry played his own version of snakes and snakes.
Boy, keeps flying down.
It can only go down.
1,512, drop of 45 spots.
No, what, every time it goes badly for me, I think I'm not Harry.
Yeah, I really need to change my teams.
Didn't you do that last time?
Yeah, and the weeks before.
No, I didn't.
I didn't.
I've left that for the last three weeks, that team.
Also, he got George Rossellone as well, so.
that's not held.
Ah, yeah.
How have you managed to get George Russell in your team
for the week where he scores
massive negative points, but you don't feel the
benefit of him when he does do very well?
It's a good question.
Sure what, as well, I feel sorry for Kirsty
because she shows her wild cards
or whatever they were called
in the other day.
She's just missing two and hasn't played them.
She can't play them, but they're not there.
And still thrashing Harry by three.
three times.
Wait, what?
So you get six tokens
and one you can't use
on the last race.
Two of them
just don't aren't there.
Yeah.
I haven't used on my chips.
Well, you're not meant to
have done yet.
Oh, right, fine.
Still got time, mate.
Ten races.
We go again.
Final fix.
Does that just get rid
of all my negative points?
I hope so.
For the season.
Add some all back on as positives.
Save that one for the locker
at the end of the season.
Well, that's the last F-1 fantasy update.
for a few weeks, of course.
We'll bring it back for when the Dutch Grand Prix has happened.
We'll take our second break of the episode at this point,
but we've got plenty more on the other side.
We're going to be discussing Bruno Faman.
Oh, good.
Hello, everyone.
Back for another disclaimer.
Two episodes in a row, of course.
This time, because we are about to discuss Bruno Faman,
leaving his role as Alpine team principal.
At the time of discussing, though,
we didn't know who was set to replace.
place him. We now do. Oliver Oaks, who set up high tech back in 2015, so he's had a lot of experience
owning a team in junior formerly. He's actually as a driver, a former Red Bull junior team member,
but he now makes the jump, second youngest team principal of all time after Christian Horner.
He will join Alpine at the end of the summer break. You will hear me try and remember his name
at the end of this segment and embarrassing myself royally. So have fun with that and have fun with
the entire segment.
Welcome back, everyone, to the third part of today's episode with this news.
Alpine team principal Bruno Faman, also known as Bruno Fumann, has confirmed he will step
down from his role at the head of the F1 team at the end of August.
This after taking over his team principal almost a year ago from Othmar Saffnauer following
last year's Belgian Grand Prix, he has said he will move on to concentrate on the other aspects
of his Alpine role.
sorry.
Right.
Where does this leave the team, Sam?
Traditions.
You have to get rid of an LP manager
at the Spa Grand Prix every year, apparently.
But you don't.
No, you don't.
You just don't.
This is part of the 100 race plan.
Honestly, whenever that 100 race plan ends,
I am going to document the whole thing.
Netflix will buy it off you, I think.
Damn right.
I mean, he walks into a situation that was mediocre at best, not amazing.
But it wasn't absolutely dire.
They weren't anywhere to this level of bad.
Now, I think it's right that he does step away because, you know,
he was trying to run a building that was built upon sand.
And he looked like he was trying to reinforce the structure with water continually.
And it was just crumbling around him endlessly.
It felt like he didn't ever really realize what he was doing
for a log of this, right?
He never went right.
People were leaving left, right and centre.
He hired Flavia Briatore.
We don't know what he's doing at all.
Fired Bruno.
Yeah, fine, by himself because of that.
My first act is to fire the man who hired me.
Maybe he's brilliant.
He is maybe a genius.
You know, Ocon's gone.
And that was probably one of their strongest assets,
despite the rivalry between the drivers.
I think that actually,
generally was a bit better, to be honest.
The team is about to
offload its engines despite being a
power manufacturer, which doesn't make any
sense.
No one ever knows if they're going to sell or not.
The car is so heavy that honestly
you may as well drive the bloody
shard around the racetrack with some wheels on it.
The team is not on a healthy state.
It's not on a good place.
And a lot of that I do think is on his shoulders.
He was the leader. He was the one that could have turned it around.
And like I said, he inherited a
middle of the road, not
great, but not terrible
product. It could have been improved from there
with the right people. And it just
wasn't. So, whilst it is very
funny that he got hired after
spa and then he's immediately
leaving after spa, especially after
WAM to Ockmar as well, I actually
think it's the right choice. And I think, I think Al
P need like, not just a
facelift, they need a whole bloody
transplant at this point, something completely
new inside to get them working again.
Because it's a mess, absolute state. But
yeah, love him.
missed the name
because it was funny for the podcast
but the right choice
you know that meme that documents
how the growth of humans
and how we've managed to evolve
every time and then the last one is just
go back we've messed up
that's Alpine
that's just start again
tear it all down
yeah
Harry
last week on the podcast
I jokingly
yeah you've got some crystal ball
or something
I jokingly
said, and I meant it as a humorous joke,
Bruno Famine fires himself.
And he then, then he did.
I think I could do that.
I've got a great idea.
I haven't flying it on this way.
I'm pointed at himself.
I'm fired.
That's not what I meant, Bruno.
I'm sorry you listened.
You've got no job now.
So that's a real shame.
He still doesn't have a job.
He's just not.
No, I'm sure.
That's true.
F1 side.
He's still overseeing
everything else, but yeah.
Look, Alpin are in no
good states.
You need people, Alpine.
You're not hiring on else.
No.
Again, you need people.
And yes, I'm not
saying Prudor Famin's done a stellar job,
as you pointed out, Sam.
They've lost one of their best assets
in Estabanovcon.
The car's really heavy.
and they're thinking about not being an engine supply to themselves.
That's not a good state of affair.
Oh, and they hired of Flavia,
but the only person they have fired is Flavio Brayatore,
which has a track record.
He's not good.
That's it.
Singapore's coming.
What shout, everyone.
But I just feel like getting rid of the team principle right now.
That's probably not the best I did.
Like, let's try and fix this.
Let's not just get rid of someone.
once again after a short amount of time.
And I know Othma was an idiot,
but also he was only there for a year and a half.
I feel for the man.
He's giving us some great anecdotes.
The, you know, nine children.
Rick some repeat, baby.
A year, we've been doing that one whole year
because it was spa last year.
That is actually,
you could have like a shawl in that time.
I'm like Othmire who's pumped out about a thousand,
I'm short.
Don't say pumped out again.
It's not a phrase that will be repeated.
Oh, Lord.
Not again. Anyway, but Alpin just need to give some people some time to do.
Again, I'm not suggesting he's done a great job because I don't think he has at all,
but just given where they are, I'm not sure this is the right call because now not only
are you missing many, many members of your team.
You're missing a team principal.
Trent Alexander Arnold cannot do it all.
That's very much been proven so far.
That's why we lost the Euros.
I don't know what that
what's there left to say at this point
we could add them to the list of people that have been fired
you know that famous list in four years
another one bites a dust
just hold out for the rest this year
I'm sure there'll be at least four more
before we get to December
I have to say I was surprised
when he was hired in this role
I was surprised when
because it was interim in the first place wasn't it
yeah I thought it was just going to be
an interim role for a couple
months and that they would hire someone like ready for the start of this season.
I was surprised when they didn't do that.
And I've been trying to find, because I thought it would be a stopgat more than anything.
And I've been trying to find like a less insulting way to say what I'm about to say.
But it might just be the most pointless 12 months of all time.
Like what can you look back at as a success?
I mean, by by Belgium last year, again, what you said, Sam, they weren't doing particularly well.
we were at the time saying you should be much better,
but they had 57 points.
You know what?
I wish I had some sort of arithmetic device
to be able to prove my...
Oh, hang on.
Oh, hello.
It's the Abacus!
So let's have a look at this then.
It's like a kick show.
I love this.
They have 57 points.
So we're going to move...
And is that?
3.30, 40, 40, 50.
Yeah.
We're going to move.
It's great for a...
podcast where people can't see what you're doing.
This is the best YouTube plug of all time.
That's so true.
Ben, play the technical difficulties music whilst you're doing.
There's no difficulties in this, son.
It's maths.
57 points they had at this point last year after the Belgian Grand Prix.
How many do we need to take away to get to their total this year?
Well, we need to get rid of all those blue ones, all those yellow ones, all the green ones,
all the, whatever colour that is.
We'll take away nearly all of there.
Eleven.
That's less than 57.
A joke on late braking, that was.
It's not good, is it?
He oversaw the build of a caravan
that's been trying to impersonate an F1 car all year.
It is awful.
I wouldn't be surprised
if poor old Bruno is sat there in his semi-retirement
so confused at the concept
that at the weekend, a car that finished first was somehow disqualified for being underweight.
Like, what is that?
Do you think he's like, how is that possible?
How have you got to that point?
He's staring at the word light, being like, what does it mean?
So they mean like sunlight?
Obviously, multiple team members have left that you've already said.
There's just nothing that they can take away from the last 12 months as being a success.
As you've already referenced some, they are, they, the only.
thing they have to take away from the last 12 months is that they now have developed a long-term
plan to essentially gut the team to be not to essentially take the Renault out of Renault.
That's what you have to show for a year's worth of work.
It's just we're no longer going to be this team as you know it.
The LinkedIn post from their former legal manager is utterly hilarious if you haven't
seen that, which is essentially just the former legal manager confirming that that is what they
will do and saying how it's an awful idea.
And loads of Alpine employees have liked the post.
What's the legal manager's name?
Oh.
No, don't.
We'll have to look afterwards.
Don't remember.
You'll be able to find it without his name, I'm pretty sure.
But anyway, it was like, it's been liked by multiple members of the Alpine team.
and also some other distinguished folks,
such as Martin Budkowski, who used to work there,
and Eric Boullier.
So clearly everyone knows what's up.
This is a team that is in utter dire straits.
And found it.
Even more so now.
Yeah, I found it as well.
Goodness me.
Yeah, yeah.
It's scathing.
To talk positives, there are many,
and this won't be a long point, but...
It's a point at all, but go on.
one or two things are going to happen here.
Either they are stripping the team for parts
and they're going to sell it,
which is,
they keep denying that that's happening,
but it is definitely possible.
Or they've realised
that now is the time for change
if they want any success come 2026
and that is what they've decided
to build towards,
which is, I think, the long-term right call
if they are doing that.
But that was last year though.
That should have been last year's call.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah,
agreed.
But better late than never, right?
At least it's still 18 months.
We'll be here this time next year.
SPAR 2025's done.
Oh, we've just lost another team principle.
Andreisidle's been firing from LP.
They're just getting it in now before 2026 guns.
So yearly tradition, we've got to do it.
Gassley's just finished 24th out of 20 cars.
Yeah.
Is there a lot up?
Are there any rumours?
I believe the, oh, I cannot remember his name.
He has something to do with high tech.
Oh God, his name has escaped to me.
Harold High Tech.
It's not Harold High Tech.
I think it's someone Oaks, potentially, who is a possibility in that role.
But what on earth is his first name?
Anyway, so there's a guy whose name Ben can't remember, which is deeply worrying,
who has never been in Formula One.
Oliver Oaks. There we go.
Oliver Oaks.
Obviously, Harold High Tech wasn't far off.
I mean, arguably a better name.
than Harold High Tech.
Oliver Oaks is an excellent name
for a team principal.
We can make so many woods jokes.
Oh, I can't wait.
Let's see how he grows into the role.
Nice.
Take a leaf out of his book.
It's going to be a hard job following that one.
If you listen and watch the show, Oliver Oaks,
don't go with that.
If your own benefit, don't, but for mine, please don't.
You're welcome to come on the show if you can laugh at yourself.
I know it's hard if you're a little Woody.
George.
Esteban Ockon, let's move on to him
because he's managing to escape this asylum
because he has signed with Hasse for next year.
Of course, that means he partners Oliver Berman,
which means they have gone with this weird concept
of experience plus rookie.
They were listening to you, Harry.
Who'd have they done that?
I don't understand it.
I didn't know as possible.
Yeah.
Matsu has smuggled the bow thing
under the cover of night and hope that a certain
someone hasn't seen him.
They've got Nickah Hockoberg and Roman Groszong masks on.
He'll wear helmets forever.
K-bag is then you?
Ben has got a plot of a German accent every time he talks.
Do you think for Ockon at least, Harry, is this a move forward?
Is it a move backward?
Is it a sideways move?
Do you think it's a positive overall?
Before.
I'm back on the fence.
I feel like this is a tricky one
because you'd say looking at the two teams on paper here
you go this is a backwards move
but as Esteban Okon said in his
I think statement about when he was announced
to the team he said something along the lines
so it's really great to be a team that's moving forward
and it's and it's has
that's the level of moving
savage burn ball type
but that's the
and but it's true because
he's been at a team that's just gone
backwards for the past three years
Has,
okay,
Has have got started to go forward
at a very minimal level,
but that's kind of the level he's at
and he wasn't,
you know,
the options around him were not great.
Less options than Carlos signs certainly had.
And I think Hass is probably the most feasible option here.
Clearly wasn't in contention for the Audi seat.
Mercedes definitely a lot.
And I guess Williams are too busy chatting up Carlos
all the season to even notice Estaband was out of a contract.
So this is the, the, maybe his only move, but, you know, the sensible movie he had to make.
Maybe that, you know, has made some progress this year.
And I guess, oh, call that's all he wants.
That's all, that's all he craves and desires.
It's just a bit of progress forwards.
And to have a car, which, apart from my guess, this weekend, just got in a spa,
have a car that's consistent in its performance and not a bin bag that doesn't really,
a really heavy bin bag full of stuff
and it just varies from weekend to weekend
it's got all the staff members so fired
in it yeah
at least the Hasse has been a bit consistent in his performance
so yeah
it's the move you had to make
I think it's a solid enough move
and for Hasse again pretty decent
little line up Hockenberg Maglinson to
Behrmann and a knock on that's not a bad little trade
what do you think Sam good move for both parties
I'm oddly quite happy with this
for Ocon.
Whilst I don't think the car is any major step forward,
I do think it's probably a bit of a sideways move.
Ococke is one of those drivers that's never going to go on to be a world beat.
He's never going to be a world champion.
He will be lucky if he wins another Grand Prix.
And that is the, you know, it can happen for that is the world of Formula One, right?
That is the world of Formula One.
Only the very few go on to really do anything great.
The majority of drivers never win anything, let alone a couple of Grand Prix.
So he's in a pretty good spot overall in his country.
career. What I like about this for Ockham is we know famously he has struggled against teammates.
And I've come to the conclusion a little bit. That's because he's never really been seen as the
one with responsibility, as the leader, as the one that is going to be the sensible,
older head to guide the team and create something different. Since his rookie couple of years,
where he was against so many sporadic drivers, you know, you can name some absolutely random ones like
Jordan King. Of course, he was like Pascal.
Valverline. It was up against Parma. I've got Grosjean written down here. I think Mal Dengardo
had a race with him as well, right? There's a very bizarre list of where he was just kind of in and
out with teammates for a few Grand Prix. It was a trepid time for him. Every other teammate he's
been up with for a period of time has already been semantic as a long-term, high-regarded talent
that realistically he has had to try and step up and beat. Sergio Perez is probably the first
knowledgeable one of these.
George Russell came along, but they weren't together for very long,
so I'm not really going to massively count that.
Daniel Ricardo was the next massive one of these.
Fernando Alonso as well.
And finally, Pierre Gasly, who is now very highly regarded.
This is the first time ever, I think, since Okun is cementing himself
has a regular Formula One driver where he's going into a team.
He is going to be the team leader, in a place where they're both new drivers.
He can help Oli Behrman.
He can form those relationships at the same time as this other new driver.
And I think he can make the team his.
So I'm hoping that maybe takes the weird teammate aggression sting out of things.
Ollie Bearman will survive and they might be able to create something that is
not going to go to be a world beach like I said,
but it might be consistently all right.
They might regularly score points and he might make himself a happy little home.
If that's what Ockon does, then good for him.
I settle with the term frustratingly necessary for him because he has dedicated a lot of his years
of his career to this team for one win and essentially no development in that time.
It's easy to forget, but when Ockon joined what was Renault back then, they were in an eerily
similar spot to McLaren.
There was not really anything separating those two teams.
And for him to essentially witness what McLaren have become and what Alpine haven't
become, that is a massive frustration.
I think Hasse is, you know, certainly,
it's a better option than it was a few years ago,
but it is still something of a consolation prize.
So I think it is probably a sideways move.
I think what will worry Ockon the most is,
what is Hass's ceiling and are we already witnessing it?
Is there another gear for Hasse?
Like we saw, was it, six years ago
that they very nearly got fourth in the Constructors Championship,
but they haven't been there for a very long time.
With so many teams that have high ambitions for 2026, so many big names,
you know, Audi entering the sport, are they going to be able to compete alongside some of these names?
That's probably what's going to give them the most trepidation, but I think it's an okay enough move.
For Hasse, it's really great work.
I'm not convinced at least like straight away it will be better than Magnuson and Holcomberg.
But get it half a season, I think it will.
as Harry has been calling on them to do
for what feels like 40 years
rookie plus experience
that can work out for you
I think it will
and I also think like
not being in that Carlos signed sweepstake
has actually been a very good thing for Hass
because they've kind of just got on
with their business separate to it
and now ironically Alpine of course
having got rid of Ocon
Alpine and Audi are going to be scrapping
over drivers that I think are a
worse option than Ocon.
It's almost like the winner of the sign sweepstake is in a very good spot.
But the two losers,
not so much.
Whereas Hasse on the other side,
they've got a,
I know Bairman's not doing very well enough to this year,
but I think there are a lot of different things going on there.
And they've got Ocon,
that's a good lineup that they've just managed to sort of conjure up
whilst everyone else has been taking the attention.
I think it's good work from them.
Who do you think is going into those other two seats?
Because obviously got Mercedes,
that's a different conversation.
But is in Audi and Alpine?
Yes.
A bot hasn't doing it, I think, is my...
Kind of make sense, right?
Yeah, I can't really see it going any other way.
Maybe, I don't know, Mick Schumacher gets a call-up, but it feels unlikely.
Yeah, and as I mentioned earlier on the show, it might well be now that signs has confirmed that these moves start to happen fairly quickly.
And I hope that's the case, because things to talk about in the summer break are always welcome.
Should we take our final break, place some back and forth on the other side?
Oh, go on then.
Ping managers.
Twice.
We've only got another 15 minutes, mate.
Welcome back, everyone.
It's time for the one and only, F1, back and forth.
F1.
Back and forth, it's F1.
Back and forth, it goes backwards.
Then goes forth, it's F1.
Back and forth, F1.
Could be wrong.
I don't think we've played this since the live show.
So it's been a little bit of a while since we've had back and forth on the schedule.
It's a very simple game.
If you haven't heard one of these before,
there's a category with a number of correct answers.
Sam and Harry will go back and forth until they can't think of a correct answer
or give a wrong one, at which point they lose the game.
I know people don't love it when I give out lives in this game.
But equally, this one's a bit tricky.
This one, there's a lot of close non-answers.
So I am going to be kind here.
I'm going to give you both two strikes on this.
Oh, two.
Good.
I can throw anything out into the world.
That's very dangerous.
I want you to name the 19 circuits that are featured on the F1 calendar since 2010
that have at least 16 corners.
Hold on.
I actually need to write that down because that's genuinely.
So the 19 tracks.
Yeah.
since 2010
yeah
that I've got at least 16 corners
correct
okay I just
my brain I will forget that one
like the third thing
I'll be very annoying
okay
and the reason I'm giving
a couple of strikes on this
is that there are
12 circuits that have even 14 or 15
so there are a lot of
close calls in here
Harry
starts off
spa
Oh nice and safe to start things off
Spar has 20 corners
That's a tie for third
Sam
Jedder
Jedder
Jeter has the most corners
on the F1 calendar
with 27
As many as 27
That's too many
Too many
Harry
Silverstone
Silverstone is a correct
answer
18 corners
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore, even with the corner's obviously taken off
as a result of the track changes.
It's still got 19, so a correct answer.
Harry.
Suzuki?
Suzuki is a correct answer.
18 on Suzuki as well.
Sam, back to you.
It was driving one of the circus.
My head to work out what track it is.
Cota.
Cota is a correct answer.
20 corners around Cota,
so that's another one that's in a tie for third.
Harry.
Mexico.
The Autodromo Hermannos Rodriguez.
What a name?
17.
Sam.
Oh, of course, there's tracks that we're not at anymore as well.
That are also relevant to this.
I'm just going through the current calendar.
Obviously, there's still ones that are left on the current calendar.
well. I'm going to go with
Abu Dhabi.
You've hit the first 15, I'm afraid.
Even with an old layout?
Just outside, I'm afraid. Just outside.
I'm going to look at those up. Even with the old layout, I can't believe that.
I have taken the new layout, to be fair. So maybe it has not true then, is it?
It was here in 2010.
Hey, I haven't got Wikipedia in front of me, okay?
You're making the quiz.
Don't give me excuses.
Ben, I would never talk back to you like that.
Disqualify him.
That's a very fair point that he's made there.
It probably had more than 15 at one point, but...
Yeah, 21, pal.
Oh, well...
It's correct. I'm stilling.
Shame it got rid of some.
Harry, back to you.
The Bahrain endurance circuit used just once in 2010.
Yeah, that's the most...
Yes, it is correct answer.
The current layout has 15
So if you'd have said the current layout
You'd have been just about wrong
But I wasn't sure whether
Because it's a layout of a circuit obviously
So
So Abu Dhabi's old layout
Not relevant anymore
It's only ever had one layout
And it's got
15 calls
How many times you've been
The old one
I got the new one
It can't be an old one
There's only been
I've been one
Big!
Yes, yes
Bahrain is a correct answer
Well now
I don't want to try that one
because it's had a different layout.
So I'm not doing it.
I'm going to say Shanghai.
That one I think actually might be under.
No, you're just about good on Shanghai.
Shanghai's had 16 corners.
Okay.
It's one of the four that is on the number exactly.
Harry.
Sapang?
Surely.
Great shout.
Oh, no.
15.
for Zabang.
Oh, one strike to nil.
Sound back to you.
Um...
I mean, one all on the strikes.
Just going to put that.
One strike to nil.
Um, Nürbergring.
15 corners for the Nureberg ring.
One strike all, damn.
Two one.
Harry, back to you.
Yong Nam.
I was wondering when that would make an appearance.
It is a correct answer.
18 corners around
Yongnam.
God damn it.
I'm trying to run the through
in my mind.
I can't do it fast enough
before it gets back to me.
I'll give you a clue
that there are
seven circuits
on the current calendar
that are good.
Seven hurts me as well.
That's still a sizable amount.
A big chunk of them.
Sorry, six, I think,
rather than seven.
Oh, okay.
Well, that's another lie
of this podcast.
Oh, Qatar.
Yes, just 16.
I thought that was
way more.
But it's not, only 16.
Harry.
I don't know.
That's no good.
So the game works, mate.
Where else to be race?
I would have lots of corners.
Does Monaco have 16?
No, it has 19.
So it's an absolutely direct answer.
Nice one.
Back to you, Sam.
Yeah.
I was hoping you'd take a bit longer than that
because I was driving through multiple of the way.
You know the worst is when they count a corner.
For example, we know this is a one.
Austria, for example.
Give it a go, Red Bull.
Go on.
No.
I can't believe there's still five or four now, I suppose,
that are on the current calendar
that we haven't got yet.
That is crazy.
I'm going to throw out a bit of a rogue option,
which I think might give you my second strike.
but it will be
Zangvort
and that's going to be
just under
14
yeah okay
strike number two
Harry back to you
oh
Miami
Miami's good answer
18
nice
I struggle to remember
what's on the calendar
what comes after this
how ridiculous is that
usually I can rattle off
all 24
and right now
I'm forgetting
what they are
um
I knock me out
or
move me forward
that's how we roll with the game.
It's a big game of knock me out on movie.
To Jillville nerve is what I've gone for.
Jilville nerve is not a correct answer.
I'm looking at that.
I think you are right, but I don't know how many?
It's less than 14, I think,
because I haven't written it down at all.
I think it's mind-blowing how small it is.
Don't clip that.
It is mind-blowing.
Yeah, that was one of those I thought they might count as,
like I had a little, like, kinks in the term,
but that has got 14 corners.
Okay.
Any guesses for the...
How many more have we got here?
Well, how are still in the games?
Seven left, if you wanted to chuck any out there.
Vegas?
Vegas is a correct answer yet, 17 for Vegas.
Oh, I'm surprised about Vegas, I must admit.
Are there any more on the car in Canada?
Yes.
how many
three
oh poop
valencia
this isn't valencia
25
that's second on the list
25 corners of valencia
it's a big old track
goodness me
um
big bud
yeah big bud is there
16 exactly for big bud
I don't know anymore
I've got a couple
that I've got to shout out
but I'm not going to do any until Harry's done and dusted
I'll fold
well obviously well done
well done man
Harry folding when he's won is the most Harry move out.
I give up.
Wait.
I should have done and I'm really going to do it.
But Imola?
Yeah, Imola's good.
17.
And Sochi.
Sochi, I've got down as 15.
So just outside.
I need to look it up now.
I don't want to see.
I'm interested because he's wrong with Abu Dhabi.
So I'm curious.
Ganes me, end this game.
Yeah, bye.
The other ones that you didn't get were Baku with 20.
Albert Park was 16.
and Hockenheim with 16.
I went through back in my head
and I did not get to 20.
The new Albert Park layout
has only got 14 corners, actually,
and Sochi's got 18 corners,
so this quiz is rubbish.
The old layout's got...
Right, exactly.
I said, it's a different layout, though.
It's not like I would have it, it's the same one.
They've changed the track, actually.
So is Scott?
Ben's Quist just realized something.
I don't care.
I don't care.
I'll leave you.
show again.
Twice or one episode.
Rage quits twice in one episode.
Yeah, you'll have to do the outro.
Oh, fuck.
Wait, we got one more thing to do, yeah.
I've got two more things to do.
I'll remember, Ben.
I'll let you all off for everything for remember that.
Yeah, that might get out of chill cut.
Let's do, though, because there might be some factual stuff
coming up in what is the greatest segment in all of
podcasting.
It is the
Hell be question of the week.
I mean our question of the week is just asking for awful answers
but we went with it anyway.
Lewis Hamilton during the Belgian Grand Prix referred to something
that was between his legs.
What was it?
It was an obvious game, wicket.
It was an easy way for us.
Yeah.
I'd like to say Sam suggested this question of the week
and it was about half past six.
It was on the Monday morning.
It was the first thing I looked at on my phone with Sam saying,
I've got a good question of the week.
And this was it.
between his legs.
Oh gosh.
So many to choose from.
One of our most
replied to posts of all time,
this was.
Yeah,
a lot of you.
F1 Coffee Corner commented
ballast that he took
from George's car,
which goodness me,
that's a big old ballast.
Well,
speaking of Russell,
we've got one here
from Myra
who says Russell's hopes and dreams.
Yeah,
CNB says his collection
of Barri Manolo CDs,
which again,
my favourite ongoing joke
for no reason.
Robby's just said,
me,
I'm not going to call you a liar, Robbie.
Maybe it was.
James Michael said the yabba-dabba-dongle.
Got a lot of time for that.
Is he Maca-Ly's answer?
No, what was it?
Uncle Tim.
Is that where he's been hiding?
Mythical Uncle Tim.
Tim, the authorities are looking for you.
Make yourself known.
goodness me.
Ethan said, Jacket Potato.
High's great.
That's a hefty jacket potato.
Webb Smith said the hustle from Russell.
Oh, awful.
Even a few days on.
It still makes me sick.
Yeah.
Tyler, I don't say,
Tyler said,
Gammon, because obviously.
Get that in there.
I gotta get that in there somehow.
Yeah.
You know me.
Love a pixel reference.
Niche 95.
The mice from Rattatooey
trying to help him drive the car.
Brilliant.
One of them is his helmet.
I'm a big fan of that.
Matthew Biscoff,
if that's how you pronounce it, great name.
Toto's Pump and Ickel,
thank you for getting that in there.
Anymore for any more.
The thing is there's so many
that I'm like,
I'm having to pick and choose
what was I like more?
Pink is Robb, actual Barry Manor though,
which is even better
than the CD collection.
Oh goodness me.
Bang, have you got a favourite?
Usually have one that you that stands out to you?
Oh, the Ratatooie one was the one
I love more than any.
That was, that was right up there.
I like the Steel Scarecrow.
I simply just said,
1.5 kilograms.
No, no more context.
1.5 kilograms of something.
Yeah.
We've also had a few,
but this is the one that I've got on my screen at the moment,
which is from Padongyang 4.
He's stuck Rosco on board.
Watching having the dog in there the entire time.
Also, I've not going to read any of these out
because they've been hidden my Instagram,
but Aaron Dixon, Alaska River Guy and Chris Sillog.
One of them is awful.
Yeah, I'm not really any of yours out.
One of them is you are a trio of wrong ones.
Oh, I need to find it.
What?
No, you don't, because you'll say that.
No, you'll say, move on, move on.
We are moving swiftly on.
We are moving swiftly on to one more thing on today's episode.
It's the end of July, which means it's time for
birthday shout-out of the month
Happy birthday to you
Happy birthday
I can do that
Please hold
Happy birthday
Oh there we go
If we get copyright for this
I'm going to murder you
Right start reading them out
Well ladies and gentlemen
Thanks for our Patreon and subscribers
We've got some birthday showouts
Yay
Coming in
Angel
we have got five.
Is that someone or is there five shouts?
Five of them.
I can't be looking.
Right, I'll try to go through.
Ormond, just a five, happy birthday.
The fan, five.
Brandon Blazing, happy birthday for July.
Happy birthday to you, sir.
Great song I can barely hear playing the background.
Sir, Jake of Byrne, July 10th,
happy birthday.
Katie Kibble, July 14th, happy birthday.
Sean H. July 16th,
happy birthday.
And James stuck,
July 22nd,
happy birthday.
I hope you're not stuck at the age
that you are now
and you can continue to grow.
I do realize
James
James messaged about making a joke of his surname already.
Okay, good.
That's why I did it again.
That makes sense.
I figured that might be the case.
Goodness me.
End it now.
End it now.
I don't know if you're talking
the episode or the podcast as a whole.
But honestly, at this point, maybe we just wrap it all up.
We will be back, of course, on Sunday.
It might be the summer break, but despite it being in our name,
we don't know the meaning of break.
We're going to keep being here twice a week all the way through
with various bits of content, whatever the F1 world gives us.
Sam, if you wouldn't mind, getting us out of him.
I'm still looking for those answers that I'm not allowed to read.
Or fair.
And folks, thank you for listening.
That's Ben Sig.
we can be here for at least twice a week
every single week through the summer break.
Join the Patreon though
if you're going to be making
even more of it.
And it is sensational value.
Ask Harry after the show
how much he thinks it is
because he'll give you the normal amount.
But his friend,
man who doesn't understand the value of money,
might say something entirely different.
Leave a five-star review.
You can comment now on podcast on Spotify as well.
So check a little comment in there.
Say something nice.
That would be really, really lovely.
Go down below into the links.
You can find Patreon.
You'll find Discord.
Join that chat with us
about Formula One and many other things
they're going over the summer break.
Follow us on social media late breaking F1,
watching on YouTube,
follow us on Twitch,
and in the meantime,
I've been Samuel Sage.
I've been Ben Hocking,
and I've been Harold High Tech.
And remember, keep breaking late.
That's got a mirage.
I know.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
