The Late Braking F1 Podcast - What is going on at Alpine F1?! (Yet Again)
Episode Date: May 7, 2025The LB boys unpack Alpine’s latest chaos as Colapinto replaces Doohan, and Briatore takes over from Oakes as Team Principal. They dive into the behind-the-scenes drama, react to Norris’ take on Ve...rstappen’s Miami drive, and discuss Miami staying on the calendar until 2041, before wrapping up with Back and Forth... FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! TIDE: Save more, earn more—up to 4.48% AER (variable). Interest rates are tiered, with the top rate for balances over £1M. Each tiered rate applies to the portion within that range. New Tide members get these rates free for 6 months; after that, your Tide plan’s rates apply. For full offer T&Cs visit tide.co/savings. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
To the late breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Eid, Sam Sage, and me, Ben Hocking.
Today on this midweek episode where we don't have a race to preview, so there's not really much.
Oh, Alpine.
I'm well there, haven't they?
Blimey.
Blimey, blimey, blime.
It has, oh, let me just check the calendar.
It is that time of year when they need to,
they need to just muck everything up.
They do it well.
It's not even the right time.
They've gone well early.
So early.
It's not only the summer they do this sort of rubbish.
It's usually June, July, isn't it?
Yeah, they're like, they're bored.
Did six races, that's, that's boring enough.
So come on.
It's be silly now.
It's like the chat around March, April time,
and you go, ooh, Easter's early this year.
Or Easter's late.
It's like, oh, Alpine's early this year, isn't it?
They've arrived a bit soon.
Good.
Well done, Alpine.
Thanks for filling the voyage between races.
Good fun.
Yes.
We should have a bit of time to talk about something that isn't Alpine related a little bit later on in the podcast, including Miami getting that new contract until 2041.
And we're playing F1 back and forth later on as well.
But first, two bits of news from Alpine that came one day after the other.
we've got Oliver Oaks who's been replaced as, oh sorry, he's resigned as team principal to be replaced by Flavio Briatore, at least temporarily.
But let's go and start with the other bit of news, which is that Alpine has confirmed Jack Dewan will not race for the team at the Amelia Romagna Grand Prix, which is coming up next with reserve driver Franco Colopinto taking his place.
So Duan has started seven races for the team, six this season and then won in last year's season finale at Abu Dund.
Abby. Colopinto, who raced nine times with Williams last season, was signed as a reserve
driver in January with speculation of a switch ongoing. Alpine said in a statement, Colopinto
will take Dewin's place for the next five rounds. It then intends to reevaluate its driver
lineup before the British Grand Prix. Doan does remain part of the team with Flavio Briotori
saying the next five races will give us an opportunity to try something different. And after
this time period, we will assess our options. Sam, before we get into our opinion,
and whether this was the right or wrong decision when it comes to Jack Dewin.
What was your initial reaction when you heard the news?
Shock, I laughed.
I think I sent you guys a text message ago, five races.
Because what's that all about?
What's going on in the world of Formula One where drivers get about three milliseconds of time in a race car to prove that they're worth doing?
Yeah, absolutely shocked at the news.
Shocked at both sets of news.
But this one, I was less surprised about the switch of drivers,
but more surprised about the declaration of length of time
that Colopinto is going to get in that car
because it is absolutely laughable
how we're treating these young athletes these days.
And poor Jack Dewan, I feel so sorry for the guy.
Comes in the last race of the season
when that Alping has been shocking all year,
but in the car that is a box with wheels
and he has no going to be upgrades on what Gaston does,
has a really bad performance, understandably,
not because he's crashing with him,
but the car's just so slow that he can't prove himself.
And that looks so bad when you compare it to your team.
mate who was finishing well inside the points having a great race.
And then if you look at this season, six races, two of those, he's barely started.
And Australia was his first race.
It chucked it down.
It was tough conditions.
He lasted in a lap.
And then most recently, of course, when we were at Miami, Liam Rosson drove straight
into the side of him.
He got a corner.
So not really his fault.
So not prove himself either there, in my opinion.
But then the results in between Matt have somewhat been quite consistent.
He's not being up there with Gaspy, but it's not like Gasty's finishing
fifth, sixth, seventh,
on a regular basis.
He's finished 13th, 15th, 14th and 17th.
These 17th these 17th are great.
But in that, we've had Japan,
where movement was really, really tough.
That was another one that was difficult.
He's been in the pack.
He's been around the Pat Bahrain,
showed good signs,
and he lost it on tireware.
Just give these drivers a chance to prove themselves.
I feel so sorry for a dad, Mike Chatt Dewan.
In my opinion, he was never really ready
to be a Formula One driver,
and I was surprised when he got the call up.
But now you've given him the call up.
You've got to give him some time
to show that he can prove himself.
and six ratings in one season, of course, one before,
it's not enough, it's not good enough.
And I feel so sorry for him because that is a dream crush.
And he deserves, if you get a sign a driver,
at least given to the summer break to evaluate things.
So whilst it's classic Alpine,
I am shocked at how brutal this has been.
Harry, when you heard the news, were you surprised by it?
I mean, not surprised given the current state of Formula One teams at the moment,
because, I mean, I blame Red Bull for this,
because they're setting a precedent
and Alpine
have decided to copy them.
It really rinks at the moment
of like maybe early 90s,
late 80s F1
where like drivers would just swap about
on a reg.
I, like,
when Schumacher came to the sport
1991 and he went from Jordan to Benetton,
Eddie Jordan, God bless his soul,
signed Roberta Moreno
who was the guy that Schumacher replaced.
like drivers will just swap about all the time and we somehow have regress back to that and it's
it's just a bit um it's a bit embarrassing to be honest i don't it doesn't make the sport look very
good but no i'm not surprised because of the you know we've been talking about the potential of
this since before the season began which in itself is ridiculous and completely unfair for jack doing
um i it's in the same way it wasn't it's not fair for limb lorson i mean he got you know a third of
the races the Jack Duhn got, and that's ridiculous given the Jack Dune's been given six.
But it's just not enough time to prove yourself.
And like you said, Sam, and I think Ben, you've made this point as well.
I don't think Dune has disgraced himself.
It's not been a belter so far, but also the Alpine has not been good.
The only time the Alpine was good was Bahrain.
Gansley got some points.
Doing wasn't far off it, and it fell off for him during that race.
But it was actually a pretty good performance, given that he's so early.
into his career.
Again, we're probably going to make the same points we did for Lawson and a Red Bull.
It wasn't the right call at the time, but you've made the call.
So stick with it.
This is just unfair to a driver's confidence, career.
And the fact that they keep, you know, at least for Lawson, he gets to drive a seat.
Dewin's just going to sit on the sidelines now and do what?
Cry?
I don't know.
It's...
We cut his air again.
You shave his head again.
Yeah, he's grown too long.
it's it's um it's completely unfair for for him and his confidence and he's just not being in enough time
and it's i guess the difference between that and the rebel situation is that i feel like red bull
were committed to lawson and they realized it made an error this is the duum was signed before
a certain mr briotori who will come onto was sort of fully involved and colipinto was
on the scene and it felt like as soon as colopinto was available it's this is
kind of been writing on the wall since since then.
And we, you know, we thought maybe he'd get to the summer break,
but Alpena decided that it's going to be just six, six measly races.
So I'm not surprised.
I'm just, I'm saddened for Jack doing because he's not been given a fair crack at the whip.
This one was a bit of a classic modern F1 news story in the, the rumors of it started to appear
a couple of days before the team actually officially announced the news.
So there was little surprise when Alpine said that it was going to happen because it was kind of already known.
In terms of how overall shocking the news is, I guess not massively just based on what you've said
that we have had this as a news story ever since the season begun, which is ludicrous,
given Jack Dewan had to spend a large part of his preseason preparation going through the motions of,
should you even be here
Colapinto's waiting
you worried at all
like those shouldn't be the questions
that you have to answer
before you've even made your
official or proper F1 debut
I know he did Abbey Dhabi
but I don't read too much into that
single Grand Prix at the end of last season
I'm not surprised because
number one it's Alpine
like they're used to doing
something stupid we've already referenced
that it was about time they did something stupid
again and this also
feels like what Flavio Briatore wanted all along.
It's kind of always felt that way.
And Briatore himself said last year, our 2025 lineup doesn't matter because they're so focused on 2026.
And I think this is their way of showing that where they finish this year, how many points they get, it's not overly important.
What they want to do is make the most informed decision for next year.
And the way they feel to get that is to get Collopinto in the seats of their.
they can do a bit of comparison.
Sam, in terms of whether it's the right or wrong decision,
how might you have played it?
I would have given doing at least till the big season.
I think the crazy parties Flavio was or still is Jack Dewan's manager,
which is so bizarre to see a team boss treating his driver
or one of his drivers and his roster.
Of course, he manages a few others, most notably Fernando Alonso.
So poorly, surely, you know, you see the way Toto,
Wolf, for example, treats the drivers he's managed.
You know, let's take Eskerman Ockon, for example.
He was his manager for a while.
And when Ockon dropped out of the sport, he going back in the sport.
It was always talks of, you might be the Mercedes driver.
If not, I'm going to get you in a seat somewhere else.
There were all those conversations.
But this is almost the total opposite.
It's almost like, you know, an animal is given birth to a litter.
And doing is the weak one, the one that needs to be turfed out for the sake of the others.
It's really bizarre to see someone who's meant to care for.
You turn on them so quickly.
And when you compare the drivers that you've got there,
and obviously they are trying to find the best line up for 2026,
that's over with the goal of what's going on here,
you look at Gassely's results.
And while I rate Gassi very highly,
I think Gassi's doing a very good job,
the numbers on paper are not too dissimilar.
He's been 11th.
He's got a disqualification.
He's been 13th.
Then he has a 7th.
He's like a DNF and a 13th.
He's only had one point scoring position.
Doing regularly is about two places behind him when they finish.
It really isn't that disastrous for a rookie in their first.
against someone so established and as talented as Pierre Gasly to be kicked out so quickly.
So I would have definitely given to the summer break.
I will not have caved to this Colapinto popularity pressure.
And I would not have sat there and scrambled because what I've heard some rumors of is that they are
trying to, they're very excited by 2026 as a team.
They think the Mercedes engine is going to be brilliant.
They've got the gearboxes, of course, now as well.
Pierre Gasley has quietly come out and said that he thinks he could challenge for race wings,
a world title next season.
Briatore is clearly going for a power grab
on top of that. Yeah, it's the biggest joke in Formula One.
Sure, Jan.
Okay.
And so what they're doing is they're trying to use
all of their available driver slots
to find who might be the best partnership to Gasly
because they believe some miracle might strike
and they might be fighting for a Constructors' Championship next season.
If you don't know, folks, you get four drivers a year
as proper drivers in F1.
They're now on their third for the third
for the season.
So if they're going to swap Colopinto out for someone else in five
races time,
they're going to hope they either go back to those to all.
This person's good enough.
It's a real mess so early on in the season.
I keep going,
you know,
back and forth from what the correct answer is,
whether it's doing or Collopinto,
do and Collop.
And I've come to the conclusion.
The answer's Esteban Ocock.
Yeah, that's a good point, actually, then.
Yeah.
And it, in all seriousness,
It's difficult for me to give my opinion on, like,
it's similar to the Red Bull and RB switch,
where I had to give my opinion on whether it was right for Lawson to continue
or whether to make the switch,
because I'm like, if it was down to me,
he wouldn't be in this spot,
and I'd have done the Sonoda call back in December.
And it's similar here.
I wouldn't have hired Jack Do,
and I'd have done everything I could to keep Esteban Okon,
because that was a great line-up Alpine that you somehow managed to squander.
But in this spot, given Dewan does have that seat or did have that seat,
I absolutely would have given him more than six races.
Like the six races plus the one sprint that we saw from Jack doing,
he showed flashes of potential.
I agree with you both on that.
He did out-qualified Gasly Fair and Square at Miami
and was consistently quicker across all the runs that they had together in Q1.
And he had plenty of errors.
Like the Japan one that you've already mentioned maybe stands out the most,
but China was also a very messy weekend too.
So he's shown flashes of potential,
and he's made a lot of mistakes.
I've said it before,
that sounds like a rookie driver to me.
That's what happens.
That's what happened to Colopinto last season.
And I just don't think six races is enough
to give an overall picture on what a driver
is going to be like across a full F1 career.
I think if you were going to give Colopinto a chance,
which I'm not against in any way,
I agree.
You give Jack doing until the summer break.
That's 14 races.
You've then got,
if you want to make the switch of that,
point, you've got 10 races to look at Colapinto plus the nine he did last year for Williams.
And I think you've got a true sample size, or at least a truer sample size for both drivers.
At this point, playing musical chairs and, you know, six races for Dewan, maybe five for Colopinto,
maybe he stays after that.
I just don't think helps anyone.
And I stand by that the way that Jack Dewan has been treated by Alpine since his debut has
been a disgrace.
And it spits in the face of what a rookie driver should have.
have in terms of level of support coming into the sport.
The fact that he has been fighting for his seat before he's even really got behind a race car
is lunacy.
But it's the situation that we're in.
And just to top it off, I mean, Oliver Oaks, rest in peace, said in Miami that he was
asked about Dewan's position in the team.
I got the exact quote here because he said, as it is today, Jack's our driver along
with Pierre.
I think we've been pretty clear about that.
I mean, we always evaluate it, but yes, today that's the case.
Today, that's the case, as it is today, those are not encouraging lines whatsoever.
And we'll talk about the Oliver Oaks side of this in a moment.
But yeah, I just feel horrible for what doing's had to go through.
Harry, just five races for Colopinto in terms of an initial contract.
What do you make of that?
And does he have to worry?
Do you think there's a chance he would lose a seat after five races?
Or is he set for the year?
I mean, at this point, it's hard to say what's going to happen
because quite frankly, you know,
McSumacher could stage a comeback for Alpine.
Who knows?
Sure.
I think this reeks of a PR-coms director going,
please, please, please, if you're going to do this,
can I at least say he's only got five?
races because that's one lesson do and got and it'll be it'll make things better i i genuinely do think
that's why they said that i don't think i think he's he's there for longer you know this is the whole
point why briotori's got him in he's going to be there longer than five races i think this has just
been said because it makes it softens the blow somewhat for you know getting rid of your driver
after six races you say well the new guy's only going to get five races to prove himself and then
we'll see where we go.
Problem is, box themselves into a real corner there
because if Colapinto's crap,
then they've got five races to think of another solution.
Do you bring doing back in?
I don't know.
That in itself is...
They've got 83 drivers out the back ready to go.
So don't be worried.
They've got substitutes for tagging.
Yeah, although they sold one to Haas,
so they've lost one on that one.
But...
Economies of scale, man.
Economies of scale.
Selling them for profit.
I told you.
is the Briator is flipping
he's flipping reserve drivers
like houses just for profit
Al Bean will be on right move next week
I'd like to living reserve driver
number three please
don't say that again
yeah I genuinely think this has been
written that way for that reason
but I don't
genuinely think that's going to be the case
I think Collopint is probably here for
the long term
The long term in this case is the rest of the year,
but that is the long term.
It is for that.
I tend to agree with you because if you're wrong,
this is just so monumentally stupid.
Like the whole, it's too stupid to comprehend that I thought initially
the way that this was being reported by media outlets,
the media outlets got this wrong.
I thought that that's how stupid it is.
Because if you're giving Colopinto five races,
I assumed it was six because, number one, that's the same amount as Jack Duton.
And secondly, that would mean his contract would be up after the British Grand Prix.
After the British Grand Prix, we have a three-week break before we get to the Belgian Grand Prix.
Seems like an appropriate time, if any, to make a switch.
If they were to make a switch after these five races, which would be before the British Grand Prix,
they would be making the swap in the middle of a double header.
why would you ever do that?
That would be so stupid.
You know the whole, if you think something once thing,
you know, shame on you.
If you've fought me twice, shame on me.
Why do we keep believing that Alping are intelligent enough
to understand the process that they're going through?
As I say, Ben, you know who you're talking about here?
It's Alp.
Come on now.
Come on.
I was told Trent was going to sort it all out, all right?
And he just hasn't.
He's off to Real Madrid, mate.
He doesn't care about this thing.
Can I back to red?
Actually,
I know that.
Can I say on that?
That whole ownership by all these celebrities,
what's happened to that?
Very quiet.
I saw Gasly talking to,
I was like, Patrick Mahomes.
But I was good.
Patrick Holmes, I think.
Can I get that right?
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, in Fort Ball.
Football.
Yeah, he was at Miami, but other than that,
you ain't to see nothing and nothing around here.
Yeah, Ryan Reynolds has been real quiet,
really quiet.
Too busy doing him.
He's got some.
Yeah, he's got their problems, isn't they?
That, well, he's staging with fake PR calls.
Just like Alpine.
It doesn't like Alpine, actually.
My instinct is on the reserve drivers at Alpine
that they won't give their other two a shot.
Kushmani, his record in F2 wasn't particularly strong.
And Paul Aaron felt like an Oliver Oaks higher
more than it did a briotory hire.
I could be wrong, but I don't think either of them will get in the seat
if Colopinto is at least okay.
It did make me look at Gabrielle Minnie's super license points
to see if he had enough
because whilst he's not a reserve driver,
he is part of the Alpine Academy.
And as far as my maths goes, he does.
So, yeah, who knows.
But I think Colopinto will be there for the rest of the year.
Get Sergio Perez in the car, Alpine.
Come on.
Sure.
I have to tackle Cadillat to get that done.
I'd like to see that fight.
Barry Harry Hill fight, isn't it?
Okay, let's take our first break on this episode.
On the other side, oh, it's more Alpine.
Oh, yay.
Welcome back, everyone.
This isn't Deja Vu.
We are talking about Alpine again because they've done something else.
More specifically, Alpine team principal, Oliver Oaks, has resigned from his role with immediate effect.
It'd been in the role for the grand total of nine months, which is basically nine years by Alpine standards.
Team executive advisor, Flavio Briatore, will also be.
covering the duties previously performed by Oliver Oaks in addition to his existing role.
Sam, your reaction to this Alpine news.
It's comical, but it's so Alping, isn't it?
We've been through the roster of team principals and owners and CEOs that Alping have been
for over the last few years, saying maybe a few.
Othmar was there for a little bit, quickly replaced by Bruno Fuming, as we like to call him.
Very quickly, less than a year, basically, the Oli Oaks steps in, less than a year.
Flavio Briatore steps in.
Now, if you're new to Formula One
and you don't know who Flavia Britoire is,
he is most famous for race fixing
in 2008 in Singapore,
where he received at the time
a lifetime bang from the sport.
And this storyline genuinely now reads
like some kind of
romanticised
royal plot to seize the throne,
the way he has
wiggled himself into certain positions
and people have fallen by the wayside
to rise to,
the top and sit on what was it the throne of swords,
whoever was it, Game of Thrones.
That's genuinely how this feels right now.
Privatore has taken down the final boss in Olli Oaks,
and is now the team principal once again
of his famed Renaud child that he had back in the 2000s.
What's so confusing about this, though,
is Oli Oli Oaks was clearly building to 2026,
and Oli Oaks is a good boss.
He was head of, what was it, high-tech, F-3 and F-2.
he was doing a brilliant job there
he was a key part of their bid to get into Formula One
when they opened it up to an 11th team
they didn't make it so he went to Alpine
he's a young he's dynamic
and he's trying something different
to become a real
almost like Christian Hall arrest back in the day
when he joined Red Bull a long time ago
and the way that he was going to make his stamp
his seal of approval was 2026
but in comes the
conniving Flavio Briatore
and he's it's a power grab
this is definitely a power
grab to seize what could be a really competitive moment for a team like Al Pee.
Again, this is a fantasy world remember, where they might actually go on to maybe win something
and who will be the hero of this story?
Flavio Briatore.
It really just feels like the most bizarre set of circumstances that this man, who is so regularly
thought of as a really negative influence in the world of Formula One, is now running a team again.
the team that he set up illegally and was banned for nearly 20 years ago.
It truly is a bizarre story in Formula One.
I've gone past the point of anger with Alpine when it comes to this sort of thing.
It's just, you know, Harry, I think you nailed it.
It's just sad.
Like there are, this was once a great team.
And there are plenty of people within that organisation who have nothing to do with these key decisions
that are associated with this crap.
And I feel so sorry for them.
you know how I compared them to Ferrari recently,
calling them Ferrari's little brother?
That's an insult to Ferrari because whilst Ferrari are bad,
they're good at being bad.
They give you hope and then they bring you back down.
And it's a bit of a roller coaster and you're there for them.
And you can respect it to an extent.
Alpine just suck.
Like they're just bad at being bad.
They don't give you any hope.
They're just nothing.
And this is like the next episode of this soapop.
Ironically not Hollyoaks.
I'd say ironically Oli Oaks.
That just keeps on playing.
I don't know what...
You remember about a year ago
when I went through all of the different names
that had either been fired from Alpine
or had left Alpine.
Less than a year ago,
because that's how ridiculous this team is.
10 months ago this was.
10, 11 months ago, sure.
And it's just, on the one hand,
it's great evergreen content
because it's still true how ridiculous they're out
they are. On the other hand, it's already outdated because Oli Oaks wasn't even hired by this point
and he's gone already. Like the list is already longer. Roll out the scroll, Ben, put another name
at the bottom. Yeah, can we just like edit like the episode to just include the other three names
that have been added on to this point? It's, I would say it's insane, but it's Alpine,
so it's perfectly normal. Harry, what was your reaction to this bit of news? Sure.
I mean, sure.
Very hairy, I, yeah, where, where, well, there's two aspects to this.
The Flavio, the Flavio point, as you pointed out, Sam, the man was banned for life from the sport, banned for life.
Not, I don't think anyone's been banned for life.
He was banned for life.
Now, I know that decision was overturned like a year later, but it doesn't matter, that's a pretty bad stain to have on your record.
And somehow he's worked his way back into the sport
and not only worked his way back in,
he's now a team principal.
And not only is he a team principal,
he's a team principal for the same God-blooded team
that he got banned for in the first place.
How we've ended up here.
This is Alpine.
Different, right.
Different teams.
Very different teams.
Very different teams.
Yeah, yeah.
They're actually Tolman still.
Yes.
Pick out, Tom.
Shoutouts.
Never.
I'm shout out as for Tomlin.
That in itself, ridiculous.
The Oli Oxy, I just feel, I feel sorry for, in the same way, I feel sorry for doing.
And I know Flavio's come out and said, you know, no, no, no, there was no, no disagreement here.
He left on his own terms.
Sure.
Because team principals often leave after six races into a season on their own terms.
That's a normal thing to happen.
So don't buy that at all.
I think clearly there's something this is to do with the do and call a Pinter decision
and they've got rid of him.
But like you said, Sam, he wasn't given a chance.
We laughed at Othma and, you know, we've all had our thoughts on Othma and his 100 race plan,
et cetera, et cetera, but we said at the time he wasn't given enough.
Do we think that plan's an effect yet?
I need to work out when it is.
imagine, oh my God, imagine if the next one is 100 races, that'd be hilarious.
Anyway, but we all, you know, we were all joked about that.
But we said at the time, he wasn't given enough time to turn things around.
How did they ever expect to turn something around when they keep firing the person in charge after like half a year?
The season before a new regulation change.
You're going to do anything this season?
That's the point.
Sorry, I just wanted to interject on this because I was listening to the episode,
where Bruno Famand basically fired himself last year.
You made the same point, Sam, which is like, okay, I don't love it.
But at least they're making the move now and not in a year's time.
Because then you're getting really close to the start of the regulations.
And I'm pretty sure Harry at that point said,
we're going to be here in a year's time.
No, we're going to be here in six months time instead.
Gelsen P.K. Jr. is quite literally seething right now.
All of that back at bang for this.
And for what?
17 years of trauma
And look where Briatore is
And look where I am
I think he still follows us on Twitter
Actually Nelson P.K. Junior
I love you, Elson P.K. Jr.
Redemption.
In conclusion, ridiculous.
Put him in the seat.
Put Nelson P.K. Jr. in the second Alpine seat.
No, because the Singapore GP will come along
and the world will pop.
History repeats itself.
I suspect Breitore is going to get someone in to play the role of a puppet that I think Oliver Oaks was not willing to play.
Because I don't think...
Oatma.
No, he did that once with Lauren Stroll and it didn't end well.
So I don't know if it would be Othma.
But I think he'll get someone in to essentially play that role.
Because I don't think Breitore, I could be wrong.
I don't think Breitore has the appetite to actually do some of the team principal activities at this point in his role.
career. He won't mind be in the face of it, but I feel like there are some things that he isn't
going to want to be a part of now. So he can, he'll basically work it. So Flavio can do the things that
he's good at, aka cheating. And he can get someone in to be this puppet and do other things like
probably be the full guy for cheating. I'm sure he's got a little black book somewhere of people
that he could hire. So it'll all be fine. This is, this is like some political game. You see or a T. This is like
House of Cards?
I don't have, in terms of like their performance,
I don't have high expectations of Breitori.
I appreciate how successful he was in 2005.
So was Myspace.
Times move on.
Oh!
Bloody out a Myspace dig.
Who knew?
Myspace and Tolman.
Sam, how linked do you think the do and news is with the,
Oaks News. That's what confuses me the most because
Breitore should be the guy's offending doing. I still don't understand this
relationship. I don't get it. He's got no link to collarpin too. There's no
relationship there. They're not managed by the same people. There's no
funding that goes on there. I don't, I do not understand why
Briatore is like, ha ha! I hate my own staff. I hate the person that I
signed. I want this Argentinian Wonder kid anyway. And I get it. It's a
talented driver, but I just don't understand the situation.
There's a part of me that wonders if Briatore is angling for the team to be sold.
And I think to sell the team with him as a key part of it, he needs the team to be as
appealing as possible.
And a way for a team to be as appealing as possible is marketing.
He is obviously hugely popular in South America and Argentina.
He is already loved by so many across Formula One is Colopinto.
If that brings in cash, we saw what Sergio Perez was able to do with Red Bull and how long
he's stuck around for.
If he's able to bring in cash and sponsorship and appeal
and they're able to make this Mercedes relationship work
and they can bounce up the grid a little bit.
I don't think they're going to be what they think they are,
which is challenging for raised wings.
But if they're regularly 8th and 9th and it's progression,
and then they sell in 2026 and Briatore goes along to another manufacturer
and he gets to run that show how he wants to,
I think that's exactly what he wants.
I think he's using these parts like Paul's on a chessboard
to ensure that he gets the best outcome for himself.
I mean, that was the initial role that Priyatori was brought in to do, right, by Luca Domeo.
Like, he was essentially audit the team.
Yeah.
It certainly feels like what you're saying there.
Harry, how linked do you think these two bits of news are?
Entirely.
What, you mean the news that came two days apart from each other or a day apart from each other?
Well, yeah, exactly.
We were all expecting the doing news.
and then news comes from Alpine
and it's actually the Oliver Oaks news instead
but yeah I mean it feels like they're linked
yeah fairly telling that the Oliver Oaks one came the day
you know not even a day
it was like 12 hours before the
the Colapinta move so it's clear that that had to happen
before the Colapinto one could be announced
yeah I think it's entirely related
and like you said Sam it seems to be
Briatore now calling the shots at Alpine
who knows maybe he'll get Fernando in the car
again.
That man is going to have a stepping foot in that room again.
I'll tell you, he's not going to be in that seat.
Is it Keller?
Oh, God.
Oh, I saw that sweet from Piastri.
I thought, my lord, what a swerve from that guide.
I hope he's, I hope the bonuses that Mark Weber's being paid are fat.
Okay?
Yeah.
Because it's maybe one of the best career moves ever made in Forn history.
I hope he's saying every announcement from Alpine straight to Piastri.
Like, look what I say.
you're from boy.
Yeah, again.
It's so fitting as well that this has all come out a few days after Piastri has won his third
race in a row.
Yeah.
Like, the timing couldn't be better.
He's now a six-time race winner.
And in that period, Al P. have won one Grand Prix in that entire time that he's being in the
in the formula.
The irony is...
And they fired the guy!
They fired the only winner.
They fired the only one.
It's comical.
It's going to say the irony being as well
that Mark Weber used to be managed by Flavia Briatore,
which feels like fairly fitting.
Everything's full circle, isn't it?
Everything's full circle.
Oh, boy.
Well done, Alpine.
You've given us 35 minutes of comedy gold,
so appreciate that.
Speaking of comedy gold,
it's time for our F1 fantasy update.
Let's go.
Congratulations.
First of all to Team Bash, who got the most points in Miami.
419.
Excellent score.
Well done to you.
In terms of the top three in the league, clueless F1 guy, clearly not that clueless,
leads the way first person to 1,500 points in our league.
Well done to you.
Just four points back, though, new signs.
And then Cartuzzo in third with 1,467.
in terms of the four of us.
I didn't have a great week.
I've gone back by 29 spots.
I'm now 177th.
But there has been one improvement this week.
And that's probably selling it short.
It's a big time improvement.
354 places up for producer Kirstie to 1,523rd.
Sensational.
Sensational.
Indeed.
Kirstie, not did you use a chip in the end?
Shake your head on asking.
Oh shit.
God, just raw dog in that, that point's back.
I love that.
Just pulling them all backing.
Damn.
Harry, you're going the wrong way.
That is a shame.
Do you remember when you're in the top 1,000?
Was I?
I feel like you were in like the first week.
Oh, no.
I put Fernando in my team and that's a mistake.
Yeah.
You've gone down 161.
spots, you're now 1,647th.
All to play for.
Any comment?
All to play for.
Oh, good point, well made.
We are only a quarter of the way through the season after all.
Gonna chip away in it, mate.
Chip away.
You get it, mate.
Sam.
I'm having a great time.
You had a good recovery, the previous race,
but you've gone back down by 106 spots to 1,820th.
Right where I want you.
Said with confidence as well.
You don't know the long game, man.
Me and Sam racing our way to the bottom.
That's where we belong, mate.
Well, if you want to contribute to that, folks,
and you're not a part of the F1 Fantasy League yet,
you can get involved.
All of the links, the necessary information is in the description.
We've got, I think, over 2,600 teams in the league now,
so it's not too late to join.
Make sure you come along and see if you can beat all four of us.
We're going to take a short break on the other side.
We've got Lando Norris.
response to Max Verstappen's driving in Miami.
Welcome back, everyone.
Obviously, Miami review.
We picked up on a lot of what happened during the Grand Prix,
but something after the race was the Kormai.
It was Lando Norris' response to his battle with Max Verstappen.
He had the following to say,
he ruined his own race.
He's not racing very smart.
He probably could have finished third today,
and he didn't because of that.
He's fighting hard, as always expected,
but that's the way it is.
We obviously saw that battle rage on for about four or five laps.
Max Verstappen eventually ending up finishing fourth rather than third in this race
with George Russell taking advantage of the VSC.
Sam, on Norris's comments fair here.
From Norris's point of view, I can totally see what he's getting at.
And there is something to be said from Max Verstappen
that he maybe should look at the bigger picture in a F1 race
and that every single position,
sometimes fighting for those is futile
and it's a battle that you won't win.
And actually, you need to look at picking up every single point that you can
and maybe his actions by being so determined
to fight Landon Norris as much as he did has gone to cost him.
It cost him three points.
I'm sure the bloke's going to be quite all right
without those in the long run.
He's been all right beforehand.
So I understand what Landon Norris is saying.
Equally, Landon Norris,
I don't want to sound harsh here,
but just overtake him faster.
It won't be a problem anyway.
He won't go do silly things in front of you
where he ruins his own race.
And you can just use that almighty McLaren
to just drive off down the road and follow your team, mate.
He managed to do that in half the time.
So, yeah, Max did cost himself a couple of points.
He's still third in the championship.
He's still incredibly close to you in the overall points battle.
I think he's probably going to be okay.
The person who is starting to lose out of points, my friend,
is yourself because Oscar Pistra is getting the job done
where he needs to, and he isn't making these comments.
So for me, there's a part of me
understands what he's saying.
The bigger picture here is Matt's could do what he wants.
You just need to get past him faster.
Harry, any thoughts on those comments?
I don't really, really agree with them
because I think Vastappan
Vastappan was always going to,
from Paul, he was always going to try and hold up
the McLemers as much as possible.
And whether you agree with his tactics or not,
I think he did as much as he could.
I think the only reason he really lost out to P3
was the VSE, the way it fell,
and Russell got the pit stop.
I think without that,
I think without that,
Vastappen could well and probably would be P3
because he was still pretty close to Russell
at the end of the race.
So I'm not sure that's the reason why he lost P3.
I am concerned that Norris is focused on Vestappen
potentially more than he is his own teammate,
and maybe it's a slight deflection, which I understand,
but I wouldn't worry that you, you know,
you're worried about what for Stappen, whether you've got P-3.
I mean, always be worried about Matt's Vastappen.
You know, clearly, he's very good.
I am right now.
Sat here. I'm terrified.
I live in fear.
He might hang off the door.
Could you imagine?
Oh, hi, it's Max here.
But, yeah, always be, have a wary eye on Mats for Stappen,
but it's clear the title fight's,
going to be with East McLaren's, I think.
And he needs to be worried about his teammate who's being in three races in a row now
and is building up a healthy little championship lead.
So it does feel like a bit of a deflection tactic.
This one, what he said.
I think, you know, I guess he's commenting, trying to comment on the way Vastap and defend it.
But saying, you know, he costs himself P3.
Do you care?
Does it matter?
If you beat him, I don't think it matters if he's in P3 or not.
it's an odd comment to make.
So, yeah, I think his mindset needs to shift somewhat.
It feels like it's still left in 2024 and he needs to move on.
I think in terms of what he's saying, like the accuracy of it,
I think he's 100% right.
I think Vestappen probably did cost himself third place with the way in which he drove
against Lando Norris, which, you know, for the overall entertainment of the race
was a good thing that he fought as hard as he did.
but even with the virtual safety car,
I think Vostappen would have finished third
if he had given up that place more voluntarily.
Again, I'm not suggesting he should have done,
but I think he would have finished third.
I was having a look at the lap times,
and in terms of his first stint,
all of the laps before lap 14,
which is the lap where Piastri got by into term one,
and all of the laps after Lando Norris got by,
his times were very consistent.
He was like an averaging of 1.302.5,
In the five laps, so between Piastri getting by and Landon Norris getting by,
those five laps, he was 1.4 seconds slower on average.
So I would estimate across five laps, he lost seven seconds worth of race time
fighting Lando Norris.
And he only came out just behind George Russell after Russell pit under the VSC.
So those seven seconds, he easily would have finished third, I think, in this race
if he had fought that position differently.
But I agree with what you're saying.
I don't really have an issue with Landon Norris's comments here.
And Max Verstappen did cost himself three points.
And maybe he should, if he's thinking about the championship,
have played it slightly different.
But you're right that this isn't 2024,
where it was very much a case of if Landon Norris can put together enough good results,
he could make it a one-on-one title fight between him and Vastappen.
That is not going to be the case this year.
We've seen enough from Piastri that his pace and Lando Norris's pace
are so similar that you can be confident if the McLaren't,
Aaron keeps being this good throughout the year.
It's basically either both of them are going to be in the championship fight
or neither of them are going to be, in my opinion.
So you need to be worried about Piastri as well as Vastappen.
We'll see what happens with the Red Bull throughout the course of the season.
Maybe it ends up being good enough that Vastappen can make this a three-way fight.
Maybe it isn't.
But the point is you can't just focus on this being a one-on-one battle with Vastappen anymore
because if you do that, you'll look up one day at the championship standings
with like six rounds to go and, ah, I don't know if I can catch Piastri anymore because he's kind of
gone off into the distance.
I also, I don't like to overanalyze like body language.
But did you see Piastri's like side eye?
Yeah, in the car.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I thought that was very weird.
I think it's weird the way that Lando talks so much about Max when he's already 16 points
clear of him.
And he doesn't seem to recognize the challenge that Oscar Piatry is posing right now.
And the fact that Piastri has a 32 point gap to Max now.
He can miss a whole race and Max can win one and he can still be clear by seven points, right?
That's very comfortable in the overall frame of the championship.
But Lando's gap is as big to Max as Piastri is as big to him.
And I'm telling you what to worry about Max's gap.
You start worrying about that gap in front of you.
And he seems to be focused on the wrong person.
And I did think that that side eye was a bit like, oh, yeah, give it a rest, mate.
Move on to something else now.
It was the first sign of, I don't know, a little bit of friction.
I think.
Let's move on to another thing relating to Miami,
but this is that Formula One has awarded the Miami Grand Prix,
a new 10-year deal,
which will keep the event on the calendar
until at least 2041.
Formula One CEO, Stefano Domenicali,
said the race has established itself
as one of the most important and spectacular events on our calendar,
an extraordinary example of quality and vision
that truly represents the spirit and ambition of Formula One in the United States.
F1 claims the race has generated more than $1 billion worth in economic impact
across its first three years since it joined the calendar.
Harry, as our resident Miami fan, what are your thoughts on this?
Oh, sheer delight and happiness.
I think they've, I'm not sure they've, Miami's not even going to be there by 2024,
2014, to be honest, I think could well be underwater.
So, Sebastian Battle is laughing at you.
He's laughing at all of us.
From a lot, he's Sunshine Land.
Yeah, he's like Noah.
He's got an arc ready to go.
Formula One shows arc.
He's exactly like Noah.
Sebastian's arc.
But instead of, instead of animals, it's two by,
two by two of classic F1 cars he likes.
Yeah.
Look, I, why does it need such a long contract?
It's so long.
We're going to be so old by the time this evening.
The possibility of the next Formula One season
when they're Miami GP in it,
we're going to be in like our mid-40s,
and that's disgusting.
Disgusting.
Sorry to hang on their mid-40s.
Sorry to when I went to the 40s,
but we're not there.
I don't like that.
Also, I'm sure you wish,
I'm sure you wish you were 30 again.
Yeah, I am not satisfied.
Look, the racing on Sunday was second best race of the season.
But as I said at the time, that was Max Fitzhappen, to be honest.
And obviously, the Ferrari being comedic, but we get that everywhere.
So I'm not sure that was a Miami-specific thing.
I still don't like the track.
it saddens me that we have a situation now
where we're going to have an iconic race like spa
which is going to be alternated
and that to me, you know,
wreaks of the possibility that it will drop off the calendar
and Charlie eventually.
Yet we have a place like Miami,
which gets a contract for basically eternity.
And I just,
there's not a,
enough evidence for me. I know I'm, you know,
I'm not exactly Miami's biggest
biggest fan, but
I feel like it's justified.
What has Miami delivered over the
past, how many of you had, no, is that the
fourth race we've had there? 22, through four, yeah.
The four, four races we've had
and a couple of sprints, what memorable,
memorable moments, apart from
Sassy Lewis Hamilton?
Well, I am.
Doesn't count. Oh, $80.
$80 lobster rolls.
Also doesn't count.
fake marina.
Will I am on a lobster.
Being a fake marina.
This is the formula.
Yeah.
We have absolutely
deconstructed your argument here,
mate.
You are watch.
I'm absolutely on the ropes here.
I'm trembling.
Damn,
I have a GP.
Got hands?
Ben and Sam's got hands.
Punching each other.
We are one hand in.
Yeah,
I feel like you've actually
proved my point quite nicely.
I just don't think
there's enough justification yet to give this such a long contract extension.
When it already had a really massive one in the first place,
it was going to be there for 10 years.
You've given it another 10 years.
It doesn't need that many.
There's too many.
Yeah, I'm not best pleased about this decision.
But it's happening.
I can have to get over it.
tonight's episode has been really easy to prepare for because like of the four topics we've
discussed so far three of them all of my points are just going to start with I'm not that surprised
this is another one I'm not that surprised about because as I think all three as three of us
have routinely said about what it does and does not get on the calendar if you got the money
f1 or make it work like that that is how it works and remember the F1
really struggled to get this race to happen.
There was a clear desire from F1,
but a lot of opposition,
then some might still exist locally,
to really get this over the line.
And at least in terms of a commercial story,
it seems to have ended positively,
or at least it's positive for now.
I saw something on Twitter from Joe Popliano,
who said,
the Miami Grand Prix generates 25% more in ticket revenue
than all of the Miami Dolphins games for the Hard Rock Stadium
for all of the Miami Dolphins games in a season.
And that's like eight or nine games.
It would be more if they'd ever make a playoff home game,
but they don't do that.
Miami Dolphins burn.
Yeah, I know, right?
But that says a lot about how much this event is adding to the local economy.
So from a pure commercial standpoint, I understand it.
It also does very well in terms of,
the TV audience as well. I was looking at some of the stats there. Of the five most watched
races in America ever for F1, four of them are the four Miami GPs that we've had,
including the one that's happened this last weekend. So commercially, and in terms of viewing
figures, it's working very well. That doesn't mean I don't agree with literally everything
that Harry just said about the track, because I don't find it all that in.
inspiring. There's nothing, I think my issue, there's nothing distinct about it is probably my
biggest issue. There's not one corner, one section. There's nothing you can particularly point
at and go, that really adds value racing-wise to the calendar. And I mean, this year was a solid
race. I'd say maybe six and a half out of ten, seven out of ten, maybe, something like that. But
that's probably the best one we've had so far. So across four years, it's average of a good race
has not been all that good at all.
Sam, what was your reaction to the news?
Is it a good thing?
Is it a bad thing?
I'm very much aligned with a pair of you.
It doesn't need to be that long.
2041.
Good Lord.
I don't want to think about any part of my life in 2014 right now.
That is horrific.
I have no issue.
What are those people that has a problem with America having North America,
having multiple races and the country of the United States of America
having three Grand Prix?
I have no issue with that.
I think Vegas has actually been funded two years.
we've been there.
I think Cota is an absolute staple
of the candidate
and I love that it's part of this.
And we say it before so many times.
There are so many brilliant racetracks
in the United States
that could host a brilliant Formula One race.
But this Miami Grand Prix
is just a bit soulless.
It just doesn't provide anything
that I can get attached to or really get into.
And maybe if I went there,
maybe if I went on watch kit,
maybe if I went to my best mates
and I got to see it in person,
I might go, yeah, you know what,
this is a cracker show
and we're having a really good time.
But most people,
watch Formula One races, watch them on their sofa.
They watch them at home.
They cannot afford to travel to go and buy those tickets,
to go out and be there for a week,
to pay for an $80 lobster roll that is audacious.
The prices on those menus.
And I tweeting about this when the news came out,
you look at the racetracks that we are now missing
or are about to miss or are fading from Formula One.
Spar is on the brink of going away.
Imola, which we're about to have next,
is on the brink of going away.
We don't have Sapan anymore.
We don't have Istanbul anymore.
We don't have the Hockenheim anymore.
We don't have the Nureberg ring anymore.
There's conversations that we don't have an African Grand Prix at all anymore.
Will there be Rwanda?
Will there be Kielami?
There are bad tracks up and down the Formula One calendar.
We are not in a wonderful time where every single racetrack is a glorious place to go racing.
But why does Miami get to be on here until 2041 when we're losing some of the absolute
jewels that make Formula One so historic money.
That's why.
Money buys you what you want.
And you know what, world, if you give me one billion dollars,
I will surely do and say many things as well.
That is how the world goes round.
But nonetheless, I don't like it.
And I don't want it to be here for that long.
And I do wish they would change something about it
to make it more exciting because it is always a rather mediocre experience.
Okay, let's take our final break on this episode.
On the other side, we're playing back and forth.
Oh, there is some light in this episode.
I'm right, there is.
Back everyone, it's time for back and forth.
Back and forth, it's F1.
Back and forth, it goes backwards.
Then goes forth, it's F1.
Back and forth, F1.
F1, back and forth.
There's a category in front of me,
a number of correct answers.
Harry and Sam will go back and forth
until they can't think of a correct answer
or give me an incorrect answer.
I will give you a strike each today.
Nice.
One strike.
Music to my ears.
Today, your task is to name the 15 drivers that have eight or more Grand Prix wins,
but they're not European.
As in the drivers aren't European?
The driver's not European, yeah.
Okay.
So, yeah, 15 non-European drivers that have had eight or more Grand Prix wins,
Sam kick us off.
Daniel Ricardo.
Daniel Ricardo is the last name on the list, but it is correct.
He had exactly eight race wins.
Harry.
Ayrton Senna.
From the last name to the first name,
41 wins for Etton Senna in his F1 career.
Sam.
Rubens Barichello.
Rubens Barakello is a correct answer.
He amassed 11 wins in his career.
Harry.
Emerson Fittipald.
Emerson Fittipaldi is a correct answer.
14 race wins.
Sam.
Fangio.
Fangio is a correct answer.
He's second on the list with 24 race wins.
Harry.
Alan Jones.
Alan Jones is a correct answer.
12 race wins for him.
Sam.
I've mentioned his junior,
so I shall refer to his senior.
P.K.
Alex and P.
Carlos signs.
for a second.
Do you not know what Europe is, Sam?
Probably not.
Or rally driver.
He's a correct answer.
23 race wins.
He's third on the list.
Harry.
Jack Brabham.
Jack Brabham is a correct answer.
Fourth on the list, he has 14 race wins.
Sam.
Oh, no, I'm making a joke about this a long time ago.
Now I can't remember what way the joke went.
Carlos Reuters.
Carlos Reuters
is a correct answer
What was the joke?
12 race wins
I thought that he was German
Oh yes
and Heinzheimer
French and
Argentina
who's not German
He's arguing
Yes
Oh God
Harry
Um
Dan Gurney
Dan Gurney is not a correct
answer
He had four race wins
so famous for that flat-a-meet.
Mark Weber?
Mark Weber is a correct answer.
He had nine race wins.
Ooh.
There's only about four countries they're from.
Sing a little song.
I tell you all the time.
Sing a little song.
I can only think of people from Australia,
which is not entirely helpful because they're not.
That is relevant, though.
Yeah, I know, but I can't think of anyone else.
I don't know, Jeff.
You're making me worrying out
because I feel like there's a couple
that I've got in my head
that are really obvious
and if I've got their bloody nationality wrong.
They probably are.
I just can't think of anyone.
I don't know.
I might have to fault
for the sake of no silence
on this episode.
I might have to fold
since early doors.
I don't know, Jeff.
Or Ben.
You have to say,
I'm a podcast hose.
Get me out of here.
I'm a podcast host.
Get me out of here.
Wow.
Sam, what were the other names that you were pondering?
Massa?
Felipe Massa, 11 race wins, yeah.
Andretti?
Andretti, which one?
Mario.
Yep, so Mario is a correct answer with 12.
Michael wasn't.
He just missed out with zero.
The deadpan expression gets me every time.
Was that it?
Was that all I had?
Oh, how many wins to Jogi Schechter get?
Ben, Jogi Schechter?
More than 8, 10.
Come on.
That was it.
I'm pretty stuck a run out there.
Yeah.
So the other two answers that were on the board,
no surprise, Harry didn't get this one.
Jacques Philnerve had 11 race wins.
And the other one who shares eight with Daniel Ricardo is Denny Holm.
The answers that would have been near misses.
So one Pablo Montoya has seven.
And then there's three drivers with six,
Gilles Villeneuve, Sergio Perez, and Oscar Piastri.
And I do confess, when I wrote this quiz,
which was about a month ago,
he was the last name I wrote down here because he had three.
So he's already doubled his win total by the time of actually got to do this quiz.
We do that again with Europeans.
It's like a long time.
Yeah, that was a reason that it was non-Europeans.
Well, I'm sorry you lost that one, Harry,
but I've got some good news for you, mate.
There's a better segment coming up on this episode.
Few.
I bet you've got no idea what it is,
but I'm going to surprise you because it is
what I would probably call the greatest segment in all of podcasting.
It is the...
I'll be question of a week.
Beautiful.
Yeah, so our question of the week is massively relevant until it wasn't.
Our question of the week was, what can Jack do and do to keep Colapinto out of the seat?
And then it was confirmed that Collopinito.
Nothing.
He's taken.
End of the podcast.
Let's move on.
There were a few answers that said nothing, and you are right.
but there were still some very funny answers
what was some of your favourites was
from Uncle Tim
he said fight him in the Thunderdome
two men enter
one man leaves
I've got a lot of time for the drama
Dewan's Ozzy
I think he'd beat him
there's proper Mel Gibson vibes
in the original
Max films
um
Joe Man Murphy
with a big Australian poo
poo and doing
which I think has an answer
is my favourite
If we take away the poo comments, that leaves us with about 20.
We are very poo-friendly on this show, aren't we?
Does that have to be a label?
No, I don't want that.
I like this one a lot from Luke.
I think it's a graph.
He can say, just say, nah-uh.
I like that one as well.
An answer I liked from Daniel,
find the hidden traction control menu
that the Benetton engineer's left behind
so he can go as fast as Schumacher.
I love a, love a mid-90s reference.
Good work.
Do you know what you mean, mate?
A lot of you mean.
You know what I mean?
It wasn't hidden.
It was a few empty things on the list
and you scroll down a bit further.
It was a traction control there,
but it's not real.
It wasn't really traction control.
Daniel Bedford said,
sorry, real 1990.
1994 banter.
Daniel Bedford, sorry, I've stolen Sam's,
10 pack of hex and a fair shake of the Tommy sauce.
Yes!
Again, still not sponsored by Heck,
and why are we doing this?
Because they never will sponsor us.
Everyone send these episodes to Heck immediately.
Hecker at a Monday morning marketing meeting, like,
you know what?
Real Spike got up and we just don't know why.
We're a spike in the American market.
We don't know why, though.
We're beating the tariff soon.
We're selling so many to the US.
Is that a heck a good time over here?
Good Lord.
Another answer for me was from Avery, who just said hit the gritty after every session.
I might hit the gritty after this podcast episode.
No, it's still not a valid reason, mate.
The leg of gritty.
This one from Roll off, which is a great callback to an F1 memory.
P in the seat.
And I do love that exchange between a long.
It's so a button.
It's great.
Yes.
As always, I appreciate it, and I feel like Ben does to the people who just answered the question.
This from Tyler, get better.
It's not a bad shout.
Too late.
As far as strategies do.
But never mind.
I've got a couple of answers here from Twitter.
Firstly, from Matty, who said, with their history, can we be sure Alpine have even signed Colopinto?
Which is a good question.
They might want to check that.
I can't wait for the Twitter statement.
The other one from Twitter that I pointed out was from Carla.
Stick himself to it with gorilla glue and see if 100 colopinto fans can pull them out of it.
That is such a relevant answer.
I love that.
Topical.
We should do a should what could 100 F1 drivers beat one gorilla?
I was thinking.
Next beer we're breaking.
Not 100, but a draft of who we would have to fight the gorilla.
LB members.
Who would you trust?
Like,
prime Mike Tyson.
Like,
it'd be a great draft pick.
Hmm,
I'm going to have to get thinking now.
Final one for me today on Instagram
from Davis Johnson.
He said,
you should call,
saved infinity.
With the ultimate trick,
it always works.
Why are there so many poo jokes?
Honestly,
inundated.
Send more ring.
Five star reviews.
Make a poo joke in the review.
Abing Koffer and make a doo-do
do on the seat.
I enjoyed that.
That's just good stuff.
At least you made that a pun
on doing.
I can appreciate that.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Drop his pants
and take a doing in the seat.
Thank you.
Oh, dear.
I mean, someone's actually said
a rude word,
but the same,
same lines.
Yeah.
Anyway.
Yeah.
I think that's probably our cue
to end this question
on that note.
On that note,
thank you very much
to everyone.
who did answer our question of the week.
If you're new here,
we do those every single Monday or Tuesday
on Instagram and Twitter.
So if you're following us there,
get involved.
We, of course,
read out our favorite answers
on the episode.
Sam, get us out of this Alpine heavy episode,
please.
Yes, we'll get out of here much faster
than they can get around a race track.
Folks, thanks for listening.
Thanks for joining us
on a non-F-1 race week.
We'll be back on Sunday
for more chik-chat about the F-1 world
before we're back next week
to discuss everything.
Imala-related. If you want more
content, you think, oh, my life's a bit F1
light at the moment, then you should
just get in the car, turn on the English,
and drive down the road and take a slow and easy
rights into Patreon City.
And that is a really cheap place to
live. Fees are low, electricity's
free, and there's always parking.
Electricity's free! It's free, mate.
It's free. And all of this,
all resident comes at the cost of about
nine pounds a month, maximum.
And you can refund it at any time.
So, per calendar month.
Bloody hell.
Canada month.
Isn't that great on the rent these days?
We're giving out for free.
Man who doesn't understand the value of money,
what would you pay for it?
I would pay a thousand pounds per week
to stay in pay for the city.
Well, fearing not man who doesn't understand the value of money,
it is simply a maximum £9 per month.
And that gets just so much more content.
Everything's out free, extra episodes.
You get to vote on a classic historic F1 race
that we reviewed together.
Loads of stuff.
Plus beer breaking.
when we get a little bit giddy
and we hit the gritty.
No, we don't.
No, we don't. We literally go.
In about two years, we've never done that.
All we do is gritty.
Fear with gritty for an hour.
Gritty with raking.
It's a new topic that we have.
It's a new tier.
It's just one.
It's just Sam.
Gritty for an hour.
Gritty sage.
Packing head for another.
the month. Thanks for listening. Thanks.
I'll do it again.
In the meantime, I've been Samuel Sage.
I've been Ben Hockey.
I've been gritty sage.
Lay entry.
Remember, keep breaking in lay.
Oh, right, the death. Poo and doing lost out.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
