The Late Braking F1 Podcast - Which drivers should be MOST and LEAST content with their 2023 season?
Episode Date: November 29, 2023Our first off-season episode is here! The LB trio discuss which drivers should be most and least content with how the 2023 season went. They also cover ex-Alpine tech boss's blunt criticisms of the te...am, Perez's warning for his "joke" outburst about F1 stewards, and the F1 commission's plans for sporting changes in 2024. They finish with a game of F1: Late Faking. FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League BUY our Merch EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 Podcast.
Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday.
Everyone welcome to the late breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Ead.
The podcast.
I thought it's a broadcast.
Was it broadcast?
Broadcast.
It's even worse.
Oh, dear.
The off-season begins.
Good.
I was going to say let's redo this
but actually no
I'm going to roll with it
this is the late breaking podcast
presented by
Sramuel Sage
Harare
Hararee
Arreide
And Brent
Bramongjaming
Brongjaming hooking
You can tell the season's over
Can't you folks
Absolute chaotic energy
We're all on a high
Because Spotify raps come out today
And we get to feel good about ourselves
Don't we Sam?
Thank you so much
Trevor
that's sharing that on social media.
I have had the biggest ego stroke all day.
It's been wonderful.
Really needing it.
It's lovely to see so many of you with us as number one.
Number one!
We're on the camera, folks.
We're on the yubtubs.
So if you want to see us actually reacting to this,
come and watch it on YouTube.
We're doing the Sebastian Vetter number one gesture.
Bens is waving.
It's far more polite than we are.
And we beat out a lot of other F1 jumps on the podcast charts.
No.
I'm joking.
They're lovely.
The rivalry starting.
They're genuinely lovely.
we're being silly.
Some of them.
Some of them.
Anyway, so thank you,
John that has this and keep listening.
We're here all winter break.
We're going to do a lot on the show.
Harry, you're here.
Yeah.
Rare occurrence.
Yeah, no, I was going to say on the Spotify rap thing,
not that we like our ego is being stretched quite so much,
but it's been lovely today.
I am very interested and invested in.
Who has listened to us for the most amount of minutes?
I believe the winner so far, the leader is on 22,
23,000 minutes in a year.
That's a lot of minutes.
That's a lot of minutes.
Have you worked out how many days that is?
No.
Ben of you?
No.
Okay.
I'll keep someone,
someone Google that whilst I.
You keep talking.
I'm going to look it out.
Anyway,
if you do listen on Spotify
and you have got your Spotify wrapped,
please let us know what the minute,
the minitage is because I'm very intrigued.
Well, it's 383 hours.
So that is your Wi-Fi's killing.
15.9 days.
15 days of the year.
That's half a month.
I love that.
Almost.
So 124th of your year
has been spent with us.
Good.
I couldn't think of any better way
to spend a day, a week,
or indeed a year.
Oh, a friend's reference.
To give them a shout out as well,
that was Amara on Discord
because we give shoutouts to those
that we want others to replicate.
So, well done.
22,379, to be exact.
So if anyone can beat,
that. That is top 0.05% of listeners, but if anyone can beat that, let us know. But that's enough
of our egos. What have we actually got coming up today? Late faking makes an appearance. So that'll be
Sam versus Harry a little bit later on. Everyone's favorite topic, which is, of course,
the F1 Commission makes a return. So we'll be discussing the recent conversations they've been
having. Sergio Perez. Are you okay tonight, mate? What's going on? I've had four, I've had four
beers. I've been at a...
Oh, it's huge like four beers. That makes sense.
Yeah.
The irony.
Sergio Perez was given a warning by the FIA
after his comments on the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
and his penalty. Pat Frye,
he's had some comments to say about Alpine.
They're a bit tasty. We'll get to those in a little bit.
But let's start with this.
Who do we think should be the most content
and least content drivers from the 2023 season?
Harry, it's the end of the season.
so I'm going to start with you.
Thank you.
That's very Jeremy Clarkson.
You.
You in the world.
Do you know what?
I'm going to avoid the obvious answer because...
Will you get out of the way?
No, no, I'll let someone else.
We'll start with most content, yeah.
I'm going with the most,
so I get number one most content.
You do.
Oh, great news.
Max just happened.
Well done, mate.
This podcast brings exclusive.
Why is he content?
Oh, well, I don't know.
He's had a pretty good year, I guess.
All the things considered.
Been all right, have he?
Yeah, this is so obvious
It feels like there's not real enough to talk about behind it
That sounds so silly, doesn't it?
He's won 19 races
You should know that he's won by 500 points
Well, when I was watching the weekend
They had the, I think this is pre-A-Dabby,
but Sergio Perez could double his points
And still be behind
I still be like three points, by that point, three points behind.
Did you know that if Max Verstappen was a team
he would have won the constructors by 90 points.
One man banned.
He could have not turned up for the last 10 races and won by a point.
Honestly, what are we doing here?
Yeah.
So I think that speaks for itself.
Most content has to be the driver who won 19 out of 22 races.
Back for Stappen.
As years ago, he's had worse.
I would argue not many people have ever had better.
Also true.
We're coming out with great facts on the podcast already.
We're only a few minutes in.
It's a fair point.
But I almost think one of the reasons he should be content
is that he had so many half challenges almost in that
Aston Martin tried at the beginning, couldn't quite materialize.
McLaren came together at the end.
That didn't really come together.
Ferrari, not as good as last year at the beginning of the year.
Mercedes were there but never fully there.
It's just, it's like if you put all of these secondary teams,
together, you might have had somewhat of a challenge from them, but they weren't together.
They were very much separate and none of them could put it together in the same way that
Red Bull could.
Because the way that we essentially witnessed history, the fact that only one non-red Bull driver
won a full race this year, in the longest season we've essentially ever had.
Last time we didn't have a Mercedes-powered car when a race was...
We did have a Mercedes-powered car.
What this year?
What? I'm so confused what the point you're making is.
No, last time we didn't have a Mercedes-powered car.
Yeah. Sam says we did.
Was 2006?
That's how long it's been.
What's since the last year where we didn't have a single winner
from the Mercedes-Power engine?
I mean, if you don't count sprint races,
which I know a lot of this show doesn't.
We don't count spin races.
So they can't win anything this year?
Nope.
Nothing.
That's a long time ago.
That is a long time ago, isn't it?
Yeah, only Italians and Austrian-Japanese engines.
Nice.
Thanks for that, Harry.
Appreciate that.
I guess the other thing from Max Verstappen's perspective as well is that he wasn't,
he wasn't forced into 2021 situations where obviously we know 2021, he obviously won the championship,
but there were a lot of incidents going into the end of that season.
But he was so good to the point where he was just so comfortable,
there was never any doubt.
And when you're leading by 10 seconds, you're not put into these 50,
50 situations of should I make an overtake here, how aggressive should I go into this corner.
It gets to the point where you don't need to even consider that.
So I think whilst we can agree, he is a better driver now than he was two years ago.
It's almost like he doesn't, it's not that he doesn't need to prove it, but it's just he's so
far clear that he's not dragged into a fight with anyone else.
The funny thing is, I think the staffer from 2020, because I've also still won this championship
by a strong margin.
the public kid.
On that, on your point, Ben,
I've, you see F on Twitter,
F1NUx,
spouting off sometimes about Vestappan and his racecraft and
still don't think it's 100% perfect.
But when he's had,
I'm thinking in, you know, most recently,
lap one Abu Dhabi,
Charles LeGlaire gave it a right good go, didn't he?
Gave it a right, good clare.
And it was, it was all fair.
Like, and he, it's not like he ran Leclair off the road,
you know.
Is it because he didn't need to?
He didn't need to.
But he also didn't need to,
I don't think he needed to hang on to that league
because he would have got it back again.
But the way he did hang on
was in a fair way.
So I think...
He's so assured himself.
Very assured, yeah.
It's a good word to use.
And I think we can give him a pass
for Las Vegas as well,
just because nearly everyone
did what he did there.
Yeah.
And he was the only one penalized for it.
Yeah, he served that penalty
and still one.
so it doesn't matter.
Throwing another name into the hat, Sam?
Yeah, I'm going to slide down the fireman's pole
of driving aims all the way to the bottom, actually,
and I'm going to collect someone from the back end of the grid,
and that is Alex Albonne in terms of constructors.
Yeah, you didn't know where that was going,
but I always knew. It was always in control.
Down the pole?
Down the pole.
That man has been through a bit of turmoil
in the last few years of Formula One.
Basically, since he joined Formula One,
he has not had, I would argue,
a consistent, strong season where everyone has gone.
Brilliant job Alex's album.
You know, he kind of had that outfit at well as where it was Toro Rossi back then.
Then got promoted to Red Bull.
Then a lot of people, including us, to be fair, gave him his fair share of slander.
And he was kind of, obviously, demoted back down to then what was Alphatowry.
They got the move to Williams and people were kind of unsure if that was the right thing.
But he has come out this year.
I know he's been up against Logan Sargent, who isn't the fiercest of competition.
But he is well and truly put any doubt, I think.
think to rest. I think that guy is as truly turned up and proving himself as one of the very
strong drivers that we've got on this grid. And he's a team leader. And again, just because it's
Logan Sargent doesn't mean he had to go and defeat him in every single qualifying session of the
entire season. Why you've got to do him like that? Why you've got to make it so harsh? He's absolutely
burnt him. He's left him on the grill for too long and he's come out smoking. Um, he did
what he used to do. He was ruthless. But at the same time, he's ever so lovely. It's ever so sweet.
and I think he's delightful
and I like him very much.
I recently discovered
there's an Instagram channel
about his pets.
Yeah, he's his,
he runs it.
Yeah, I know, I know.
Yeah, also,
his lovely partner,
who is a golf pro,
she did a modelling shoot
the other day
and she was wearing
all McLaren gear
and under the comments,
he replied,
nah,
Orange doesn't suit you.
That's good banter.
It's great banter from him.
I appreciate that.
Anyway, so I think Alex Albon
is well-a-trudity to ligating
himself as a proper
top-end driver
who is leading a very historic team,
and I'm hoping that maybe they can go on to, you know,
they won't go on and rule the world,
but a bit of success would be nice.
In James Vales, we trust.
He is heaven and earth, a Formula One.
Love you, baby.
Sorry, I don't want to bring this back to Max Verstappen,
but I'm going to.
Alex Albin's great performances this year,
and Pierre Gasly's great performances
since he's left Red Bull,
and Sergio Perez's great reputation
before he got to Red Bull.
it all makes Vastapel look really, really good.
I mean, he does a good job of that anyway,
but album performing so well outside of that program makes you think,
ah, maybe he was always a great driver,
and he was just up against someone that good.
What I was doing the other day,
because my brain is not very guilt-remembering things.
If you're new to the podcast, welcome.
If you're not new, you'll know this.
And I was looking through some of the season results
over the last decade or so.
And I was looking at the comparison between Vastappan and teammates.
and Ricardo took him to the curb for two or three seasons.
And then all of a sudden, there was about a 90-point gap between Ricardo and Vastappen,
and then Ricardo very quickly left Red Bull.
And that last year, the Vastappan beat him by 90 points?
About 80 to 90 points, yeah.
To be fair to Ricardo, his car didn't really want to work for that second half of 2018.
Same car, though.
Well, no, but it's a shit back who.
It's back a bit.
Well, yeah, that's fair.
Yeah.
Works brilliantly when it hit his team, mate.
That's a point.
Yeah.
Or no. Right. I'm going to throw a third name in here. Oscar Piastri. He's got to be pretty happy with how this season has gone. Right.
Even though he has technically had a worse year than his teammate, Lando Norris, both in terms of points and performances. That is of course fully understandable and expected at this point in their respective careers.
Piastri is probably the more content of the two, I would say. Not to say that Norris is not content because he's also had a great year. But given Piastri,
is a rookie. He has had one of the best rookie years in a very, very long time. You might want to go
all the way back to Lewis Hamilton. I would. I would. Has there been a better rookie season since then?
So you have to go back a fair way for that. It's easy to forget as well that Oscar Pia actually
didn't race last year anywhere. It's really easy to forget that that can be, depending on who the
driver is, that can be quite problematic for a new driver coming in. I would say what has
helped Oscar Piestri is that he got the worst of the car out of the way early when,
let's face it, he probably wouldn't have been on the pace anyway, and he's got the better of
the car after he's adjusted. But yeah, he's had a great year. I would say he's had a great year
for a rookie, but he's had a pretty good year, even if he wasn't a rookie. And I know a lot of
F1 adjustment is regarding pace, which I think he's done a pretty good job with. But there is
also an emotional, like, adjustment that needs to happen from a driver's perspective,
but not every driver can do. Piaastri, it felt like since day one is made for this sport,
if that makes sense.
I'm not sure Pistri has emotions.
I think he does.
I just think he controls them so well.
He is the calmest man on earth.
I just realized I shook my head then on a podcast.
Yeah, again, on YouTube, you're saying it.
Folks on the podcast, they can't mind read.
Sorry about that.
No.
But the way he handled every incident, every overtake, every big moment or problem,
even when he won the sprint race, it wasn't, you know, like over the top emotional reaction.
He was just like, yeah.
Placid.
Bloody nice one, that's.
Let's go again.
Let's do it again, mate.
He's so cool.
It gives off the impression that, I don't know, he is aware of his own abilities and that this is only the start for him.
I think if he was more emotional,
I'm not saying that it's a bad thing to be emotional about these sorts of results,
but it might imply that,
I don't know,
he doesn't think he's capable of more.
Whereas I think Piastri's general demeanor is,
this is good,
it's going to get better next year and it'll get better in years to come from there
on now as well.
I think you make a really good point when you compare him to Landon Norris overall this season.
There is skill of pace deficit.
There is skill of consistency issue.
And I'm not saying that Piastri has been anywhere,
of, you know, very, very good.
But Landon Norris, when he needs to, has been able to kick it up a notch and go again and
chase down faster drivers and compete, I would argue, above where the car was.
Whereas Piastri, for a rookie season, as we've already said, has been brilliant.
But I think Piastri is very aware that there's another level that he's able to go to.
And he needs to start matching Landon Norris in all areas, not just on and off weekend
to show that he's got this ability.
Otherwise, you know, two or three seasons of this, people will start to think,
okay, he's just a very good driver.
He's not Landon Norris.
Let's go to the negative side of the conversation.
Who is not going to be content with this year, Harry?
Oh.
You're the easy picks.
I am going to the easy picks.
I won't go for the easy one this time.
I'll go for Kevin Magnerson.
Nice.
So glad you picked him because I haven't thought about it.
Yeah, I mean, we obviously famously know
that the Huss couldn't do a single.
race this year, apart from Australia, potentially, which it has to love Australia. That's just
the thing. I saw a stat the other day. And they can do pit stops. That's true. Oh, like three
tires in Australia. Oh dear. I saw a stat the other day, which someone very kindly sent to me.
I'm so sorry that I've gotten who you are. But it was the amount of points they scored in
2018 is more than the amount of points they've scored in 1920, 21, 22 and 23 combined.
That's bad. That's one of those where, as soon as you say it, you know, it's true. But
you don't even go there.
It's awful.
It's awful.
So anyway, yes, the car is not great in race pace, as we've seen.
But for the most part of this year,
Nuka Holkenberg has been dunking on K-Mag in the qualifying.
Like a hobnob in a cup of tea.
Yeah.
He's dunked.
Again.
Hobnob's very British.
Is that a British thing?
I brought it, especially a chocolate-covered hobnob.
I love a hobnob, but is that a thing?
Let's go, folks.
Do you have hobnobbs if you're from outside the UK?
Because if you don't, that probably sounds like a really rude thing.
Dipping your hobnob.
It's a lovely crunchy biscuit.
It is.
Oh, do you call them biscuits where you are as well?
It's going to be a long first topic, though.
Look, this is the late breaking podcast you've tuned into, okay?
This is not boring stuff for your man town.
Imagine this is your first time listing.
Welcome.
I hope you're enjoying it.
You better be.
Going to buy a hobnob.
Have a hobnob.
We're not sponsored.
I wish we were.
Hashtag Spon.
McVitties.
Okay.
You know, we're not far from the McVitties factory here.
No, no, I drive past it.
I'm just going to take a few minutes.
Sorry, Kevin Magnuson.
Sorry, no, yeah.
He should be least content.
Just based on the raw pace.
During the races, as we know,
they always end up back together.
But I'm not sure that's anything to do with
Kevin Magnuson being better at race pace
because he's still at the back.
Or Nika Hockenberg being bad at race pace
because I just think the car's terrible
in a race.
Hockeyaker could qualify.
Yeah, but so could KMAG.
You know, he was on Pulposition in Brazil last year.
Remember when one of them drove from McLaren?
Ooh.
It wasn't Holkenberg.
Yeah.
Perez drove from McLaren.
Yeah.
So did Babyface.
Um, so yeah, I think Kama,
relatively lucky in my view that he got re-signed, re-dash signed for next year.
Yeah, I guess it's simply because Haas are so bad.
What's the point in risking someone else in the seat?
But I think that's his saving grace.
Yeah, I think he has been safe.
If they had a season like Askin Martin did at the end of last year,
where they suddenly had this, you know, ability to be able to see.
to score lots of points.
I do think that they would look at that and evaluate and go,
oh, we've actually got something on our hands here.
Let's put a driver in that could help us pick us up.
Because I think Kameg might be past it.
He's not going to agree.
Yeah, so I think he'll be unhappy.
It's my view.
A lot of Q1 eliminations where Hulkenberg made Q3.
Because I think there's, not to say it's excusable,
but if you're knocked out of Q1 and your teammate scrapes into Q2,
okay, fine.
but there were a lot of instances this year
where Magnuson was out first session
and Holkenberg started 8th,
which is an ideal
if you're Kevin Magnuson.
In any other car, though,
it would be a problem.
In the Haas car,
they end up 18th and 19th anyway.
Yeah.
So what's the point in qualifying if it means Naga
on Sunday?
Just more track time for Hulk you be.
More people to get overtaken by.
Yeah.
A bit more fun in it.
Oh, another car's gone past.
Good.
We're not getting on to it today,
but Holkenberg had some fairly interesting comments after Abu Dhabi.
He basically, he's not happy.
What did he say?
Generally or?
Just the car is disappointed.
I can't remember the exact word he used.
Taking him 22 races to say.
Well, he said only after Mexico that it was,
what did he say?
A bit concerning.
Yeah.
Yeah, he basically confirmed that concern in these comments.
Right.
So it took him 19 races to be concerned.
I think three more to go, yes, I am definitely concerned now.
I have a concern now.
I'd like to speak to the manager, please.
Who else is making the list, Sam?
I'll go for the obvious one then as Mr. E did not.
And that is, oh, Georgie Russ.
You got third last time.
That's not I was thinking of.
Yeah, that's a fair point.
You got one, you got two poggums all year.
Only as good as your last race, mate.
Yeah, I only as good as your last podcast, Ben.
You got every word wrong.
Yeah, I mean, the guy has had, as he claims, his worst year in racing, you know,
and when you pair it to Lewis Hamilton, who came out in a press release, I think it was today
that said, you know, I'm only human, I'm doubting my own ability, have I still got what it takes?
And George, Georgie Russ is six places behind him and, what, 80 points down in the drivers.
And George Ross is meant to be on the up, that's worrying.
I mean, don't be wrong, I don't think we're going to have to panic over George Russell and go,
oh my God, he's actually a very mediocre driver.
This is the end for George Russell.
But as seasons go, this has been quite poor.
And he's right in saying that the reason why he was so concerned
about the constructors whilst racing around Abu Dhabi
and wanted to beat Ferraris because it was on his head.
If he had performed closest to Lewis Hamilton,
let's say he finished the season 25 points behind Lewis Hamilton,
there'd be no conversation about this constructors fight
in the last two or three races.
You know, arguably there wouldn't have been really
if Lewis Hamilton hadn't been disqualified from Cota.
But it was on George Russell's head
due to his poor performances across the entire season.
And he knew he had to make up for it.
He knew there was a lot of weight on his shoulders
from all the people that were working on the car
and had been pushing towards this second place in the constructors.
It's not been a good year for Georgie Russ.
And at least I can give him the credit to say
he was the first person to be aware of it
and announce it and say that he needs to do better.
And I respect that.
But it has not been a very good season for Georgie Russ.
It's because I didn't pick him in teammate wars this year.
Yeah, Harry did.
because I did.
Yeah,
and Harry did, yeah.
Oh, no.
I cannot wait for that episode.
Yeah, we will review
all of our predictions.
Well, Harry's out for the next two episodes.
So I think the one after that will...
I don't mind you're missing there, mate.
Does that mean young,
can I be here when Chives turns up?
No, that's later on.
Oh, few.
Thank God, because I...
Don't you worry.
I wanted to film him,
walking to yours in a suit.
Don't you worry, son.
Right.
I will go with
Joe Guan Yu
Oh, no.
Curious.
A little bit disappointed in this year.
And I appreciate that Alpha Romeo is in technical terms,
not very good.
But I don't think he's progressed a lot from last year.
And let's face it,
apart from the first five races of last year,
the Alpha Romeo wasn't very good in 2022 either.
But the second half of last season,
I think Joe Guan Yu came along quite a long way
and started to quite routine
out-qualified Valtry Bottas.
This year, there just hasn't really been,
it feels like he's as good as he was last year.
It just doesn't feel like he's moved on up at all.
And, you know,
I can't remember what the end-qualifying result was
between Bottas and Joe,
but it wasn't close.
Bottas out-qualified Joe very comfortably head-to-head,
which I didn't think would be the case this year
based on what I saw later on in 22.
So I'm not saying that he should be sat here.
here with two wins and ten bodiums,
but certainly a few more points
and a few more out-qualifyings of your teammate
would have been a good step forward,
which he hasn't really seen through.
Yeah, it's hard to make a judgment of two teammates
when they have.
I think arguably had the worst car across the whole year,
despite the harsh being that shocking.
But you're right, Ben, he is plateaued.
And when Valtrey Bottas is in the twilight of his career,
you would expect, much like Lewis Hamilton and George Russell,
you expect the upward climb for the youngster to carry on,
and it hasn't for show.
I think he's reaching what we always thought he would reach,
which was a midfield driver.
There's no disrespecting that.
He's still going to wipe the floor with most people
to ever go next to him in terms of world drivers,
but not everyone could be a world champion.
He's Jason plateaued.
What a great name Jason Plateau would be for a racing driver.
Jason Plato, mate.
Yeah, I know. Platto.
Platto is a real person.
Jason Plato's a real person. Jason Plato is far more engaging.
With Plato.
Very...
In British touring car together.
It's a very mediocre joke.
That's what we specialised in here.
Medioka's complimentary, that is.
Oh.
Okay. I'm going to draw the curtain on what could be the worst person in the breaking history.
On the other side of the break, it's going to get much better because we're talking about Alpine.
I've had a haircut, folks.
on the camera, I look like tinting.
It's not, it's all being hit by the wind and everything.
It looks awful in the camera.
I do not look my best good day.
We're extending this 25 minute long.
Don't watch on YouTube.
Does not see my hair.
Come back next week.
I'm assuming this is bright content.
Okay, we've got some comments from Pat Fry to discuss.
Pat Frye, the new Williams Formula One chief technical officer who was at Alpine
until earlier in the season.
It actually coincided that he left.
Alpine pretty much as
Othmar and Alan Pameh both got fired
but he announced this decision to leave
quite a bit earlier in the year
and it was by his own
choice rather than being pushed
as was the case with the other two
he left the team
as comments recently has come out with saying
a lack of enthusiasm and drive
to move the team forward beyond fourth place
interesting indeed
I mean Pat Fry's cooking up a storm
What has it gone on the grill?
Everything.
Bit of Ockmar.
I'll have a schnaffing out sandwich, please.
Not paraphrasing there either.
Lack of enthusiasm and drive.
The irony of saying you've got lack of drive
in a Formula One coming is also fantastic.
Well, Alpine does have a L'A drive.
Also, Permanes sounds like a type of cheese.
It doesn't get.
It's very rude to Alan Pame.
It's not.
Cheese is delightful to many.
Alan cheese.
This says a lot about LPN.
How bad has it got to be
if Othmar and Alan leaving or being fired is the final straw.
Because, I mean, Otmar is trying to be pregnant nine women a month.
And Alan Pemang wasn't exactly setting the world on fire when he was at Alping.
And you think they're gone.
I'm going to have to go as well.
It's not looking good for Alping, is it?
And I can understand what he means.
The ownership model is discombobulated.
It doesn't seem to have a focal point there.
Engineering focus seems to be confusing.
and that seems to stem down.
I said this expression before,
but when the managers of the shop
don't know what they're doing,
then the people on the shop floor
ain't got a clue.
And it disseminates through the ranks.
So you hear it from the drivers as well
that, you know, we heard it in Abu Dhabi.
Gassi was incredibly confused
why O'Con had to stop first?
And we said this in our podcast, right?
He's on a one-stop.
Why on earth are you stopping O'Con before?
Gasly, why does that make sense?
It doesn't make sense.
They don't know what they're doing half the time.
The engineers sit separate between
the British engine is and the French engine is that work there because there's such a rift
between the two. It is a real divide between that team. There is no coordination, no understanding,
and it just feels like that seems a state. So no wonder Mr. Fry has come out and said
they lack so much ambition, so much understanding, so much drive. They're selling off chunks to
celebrities who are forming these investment groups because it's the new fund trendy thing to do now
when you reach over 200 million sat in your bank account,
it's just going to diversify across sport
and helping just feel like a bit of a vehicle
to advertise one sports car
that they brought out three years ago.
And actually, winning a championship
seems way down the rankings of priorities for them.
I totally get what he means.
I totally get why he's jumped ship.
The guy's done enough in his career to go,
you know what, this ain't the one.
I ain't got to put up with this anymore.
If Otmar Schnaf Now, I can't even get a full season here.
Schnaffmauer.
then why do I have to bother?
You know, if the Permanes gone, then I'm gone.
I'm actually, it's what he said.
So, yeah, fair play to him.
It's savage, but I totally understand why he's come out with it.
He went before Permain.
Oh, okay, Neil was going on.
Okay.
Ficking all my four beers.
What did you make of these comments, sorry?
Look, it's, obviously it's just one person's opinion here on the situation.
But as you said, Pat Fry's been around for a while.
a trusted F1 person now.
He's been to MacLar and Benetton, Ferrari,
he's been everywhere.
It's a lot of the list of big names.
And Manor.
Well, sorry, I can't believe I forgot the biggest one.
Exactly.
Sorry, Mana.
Carrianta, that name.
Yeah.
I don't know.
The worry is,
I think all of the things we've talked about
with Alpine before being like incompetent,
not very good at what they're doing,
etc, etc.
This is different because even when you have teams that are being rubbish, Ferrari, for example, sometimes.
Yes.
I have no doubt of their drive and ambition to be the number one team.
They've been trying to do it again since 2007.
They've not succeeded, but I have no doubt.
I'm fully confident that they still all have the drive and ambition to be number one.
We go again.
We go again.
2040s the one lads.
Every year.
They've got one of those things in the office.
18 years since a championship.
Scrub it out.
We go again.
Anyway, but my point was
the fact that you've got
an ex-team member saying that
this team lacks
any driver ambition.
That's bringing the more worrying
or the most worrying thing
about the Albin situation.
because yes, you can be incompetent and useless,
but F1 teams generally, you'd say that they,
they still are trying hard,
they're just not doing very good job.
When you don't even care,
that's a,
that's a real bad situation to be in for an F1 team.
So Sam's Googled how to say we go again in an Italian.
And diamo de novo.
Perfect.
Well, hang on to that one for next year.
Apologies to all Italians.
Apologies for not doing it earlier.
Anyway, to finish my point,
which has been interrupted by Ferrari.
Um, yeah, that is, whether or how true it is, I don't know, but that is probably the,
probably the one of the most worrying things I've heard about a team in F1, that they don't even,
don't even care enough.
I guess in that case, it makes a lot of sense, well, they can't get any higher than fifth
place.
Sell it to Bojo.
Sure, because Pojo will be doing really well.
Big up, Pojo.
Their F-1 record is stellar, but their WEC records.
Jordan Pojo.
Jordan Pojo.
Yeah, sure.
Look up McLarenpac.
As to Cornish locals,
can you please tell the list of how they say Persio in Cornwall?
Pojo.
Pojo.
We're not going through Cornish pronunciations.
It's so bad.
Why do you say pojo?
That's what it's called, mate, Pojo.
Yeah, good.
Sorry, Franz.
Sorry, Saffnauer.
That's correct.
Get a perjo up Lantern.
There's a nugget for a few Cornish listeners,
that's, yeah, as you mentioned, Harry, of all people to come out with comments like this,
it's not like I've come out and said this or any of us have come out and said this.
This is Pat Fry.
If Fernando Alonzo had said it, then I'd almost understand because he's got an agenda.
Yeah, but Pat Frye.
Pat Frye has seen it all and done it all, to put it bluntly.
As Harry said, he started at, well, technically started off his career at Alpine under a previous
guys as Benetton spent seven years there. He was then at McLaren for 18 years, which included
multiple championships in different eras of F1, went to Ferrari and whilst he didn't win a
championship there, they were far closer to winning a championship in a couple of those years,
2012 being one of them than recently. And obviously he went back to McLaren a little bit after
that. He's been around the block and he's had a lot of success. So if he's saying,
this, it's probably true, is what I'm thinking. And also, there's no reason for him to say this
in that there was no obligation for him to come out and slander them. And slam them, right?
Like, he could have just come out and said, I decided to move on to a new challenge at Williams,
full stop. He could have said that. But he has gone out of his way to say that Alpine did not
have the drive and enthusiasm, which again makes me think he's probably
telling the truth and it's probably right.
I mean, we've seen this for so long.
It's the, again, going back to the rice and a fish cake pun,
but fifth, fifth, fifth, sixth, fifth, fourth, fifth, fifth,
like, there's just nothing better coming from Alpine at all.
I think there was under Pat Frye a little bit of progress year to year,
but for whatever reason, whether it's Alpine or Renault,
they just hit a wall.
They hit that wall in 2018 when they got up to fourth place,
couldn't progress any further.
And it seemed to happen again last year when they finished fourth.
And obviously now they've dropped back to position in the championship to finish sixth.
And what you're saying, Harry, I think is true in that it's not only we're looking at performance here, we're looking at ambition.
And if you look at some of the other teams on the grid, they are clearly displaying more, more ambition than Alpina.
You know, Mercedes have just finished P2.
They are very unhappy about it.
That shows ambition.
Ferrari, like you say, you always know the ambition is there.
Red Bull are winning championships.
I think they're all right.
McLaren, they've made important organizational changes this year
and are making really clear progress.
And they're getting regular podium,
something that Alpine is not doing.
Again, they seem to have more ambition.
Aston Martin are now going to go with Honda.
That's an ambitious move.
Alfa Romeo are becoming Audi.
William seems to be on the up.
So you've got all of these teams that are in one way or another
showing some sort of ambition.
All that leaves is Alpine, Hass, and Alpha Racing Bulls, Tauri, Minardo, Minardi Toroso, whatever you want to call them, right?
Manardo.
Pasto.
There were a lot of words in there.
But what you've got there is a B team in Alpha Tauri and Hasse, which might be a C team.
So, Chas.
Sorry about that.
Yeah, Chas.
That's a new one.
Does anyone want to ask Oscar Piastri or Fernando Alonzo
whether they've made the right decision to leave?
If he's dated, it would be an Oscar disaster.
I'm not mad at that one.
I think she came up with that on the spot.
I know my one.
Saw that picture the other day.
Oh, I know well because I tweeted it.
That's all I saw it.
The picture of Oscar Piastri being interviewed
with the graphic of the Constructors Championship
with Alonzo smiling behind.
him. Yeah. Oh, it's so good. So good.
It's, I mean, Oscar Piastri scored more points this season than Esteban Ocon has scored in
any season that he's done for Alpine or Renault. Fernando Alonzo scored over 200 points this
season. Can you tell me the last time an Alpine or a Renault driver scored over 200 points in
a season? No, you can't. It's never happened. Can you tell me the last time that Alpine, as a
Constructor scored 200 points.
No, again, it hasn't happened.
Alonzo scored more points this season by himself
than Alpine have got as a constructor in the last three years.
Oh, no.
Oh, no.
Oh, not snow.
And they're trying to put up this facade that they've got ambition by saying,
oh, we've got Trent Alexander Arnold inside.
Really a break.
Come on.
Oh, dear.
Oh, dear in me.
What a mess.
The plan.
God damn right.
Hey.
Give it a few more months.
I'll be back.
Oh, we go again.
Is it a break time?
I don't have the right to say we go again.
No, it's not time for a break.
Solid, good.
Because we've got the small matter of F1 fantasy to see off.
Oh.
Oh, old smug face over it.
No, in the end of the other.
Doesn't matter.
Go on there, Ben.
Firstly, I'm going to pat myself on the bat.
Not for my performance because I went downhill very quickly this season.
But because I've actually remembered to do these updates
way more than I did last.
Yeah, well done.
Actually, to fare, well done.
Beef is happy.
We've got birthday shoutouts to come out later.
Well done.
Remember that.
So make sure you get the spreadsheet up.
Nicely done.
Keep talking, Ben.
So we'll go with the top three, first of all, not including ourselves.
So congratulations, time to call Gene, who has won with 6,862 points.
Just three points ahead of Red Bull gives you wins, and then Grizzly racing in P3.
Well done.
Well done, everyone.
That's a lot of points.
Yeah.
Myself and Sam were separated by one place and one position.
Something like that.
One place and one point.
Fegg on it today.
They're the same word.
I swear.
Sam is the one who's actually.
had four beers before this.
I just came from a leaving party of my manager
who's delightful.
I'm sadly,
but Ben's sober.
Didn't ask for your life story, mate.
Come on.
Got a break to get too much.
And di Amo de novo de novo?
So I was pretty nervous.
Can't lie.
And then the results were revealed.
And I was like, oh, okay, it's fine
because I'd beaten Sam.
And then there was another twist in the tale.
that F1 had in very F1 fashion
got the points wrong
so they had to redo them all
making me worry again
but it was fine. I managed to
just about, you did stay ahead.
110th. Sam finishing
115th, just
22 points between the two of us
after 22 races.
Yeah, considering that I was
300th and Ben was in the top
25 at one point.
Something like that, top 50?
It was definitely top for, yeah, I was
Definitely top 50.
I'm very happy with that.
Did you use all your chips?
Not every single one, no.
I forgot.
I didn't use online.
There was one I didn't use.
I've got two that I haven't used.
Oh dear.
Harry, you finished 251st, by the way.
Oh, mate.
Because we had 740 or people.
That's actually not bad.
I was almost in the 400s at one point or almost there.
I reckon 308th, yeah.
Top third.
Well done, mate.
That's what we all strive to.
Better than Alpine.
Top third podcasts.
Well done us.
And well done to the top three
who did far better
than all three of us combined.
Now we will get to our second break.
On the other side, we've got Sergio Perez.
On the other side?
Is he on?
And di Amo de novo.
Is he coming on?
Yeah, he is.
I'm just building suspense.
And then I'll let them down in a moment.
Okay, moving on to fallout
from the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.
Sergio Perez, as we know,
picked up a penalty for his move
on Lando Norris, which meant that even though he finished on track inside the top three,
ended up finishing P4 after a five second time penalty.
After the race, and I mean literally after, as he was driving round back to the pits,
he said the following, the stewards are a joke, man.
I cannot believe it.
They've been very bad this year, but this is a joke.
That was really a joke.
In a Fernando Alonzo coming out there.
But the stewards weren't very happy about this.
Perez did apologize.
to the stewards for the comments,
but they gave them a warning
because whilst they had no issue
with someone disagreeing with their decisions,
comments that amount to personal insults
are a breach of the international sporting code.
Grow up.
Grow up.
God.
Barely rude, was it?
Well, I think I know where you stand, Sam.
Someone called me a balloon the other day.
I said I looked like a balloon.
And honestly,
that's more harsh.
They're being called a joke.
Very, very harsh.
Very, very harsh.
And I'm still going.
I complained about it.
I'm laughing at it.
They said,
Now I wish that Perez
would call one of them a balloons.
Someone said,
that guy in the corner
looks like a balloon.
And I went,
that's funny, that is.
Can you know what the stewards have done?
They publicly giving
Sergio Perez a warning.
Get a life, stewards.
It's become an increasing thing
you see,
because we saw it with Fred Visser
and,
and Toto Wolf in, well, after Vegas, they got summoned because they did some swears.
You're not allowed to have an opinion if it's not positive.
And I just think it's a little bit...
This is how dictatorship start.
Totalitarian, you know, it's a little bit...
You know, we're creating the propaganda and, you know,
this is all very tinfoil hat.
But it just feels kind of like you can't have an opinion if it goes against how the
stewards feel.
And I think Sergio Perez has every right to sit there and say,
I disagree what the stewards have said.
I don't think they'd be very good this year
Why are you not allowed to say that football players
can go in a press conference
I don't think the refereeing was very good
You don't get a warning from the Premier League
for saying that the referee wasn't great that match
or across the season
Warnings flying everywhere, right?
Honestly.
Am I right?
You are right, football fan.
Woo!
Harry's a big one.
No, I think Sergio Press has absolutely every single right
to voice how he feels.
He wasn't rude.
He said it's a joke, which is a very normal expression
for saying that something is bad
or something isn't great.
And he wasn't rude to anyone in particular.
He called anyone out personally.
He said that skewering has not been very good this year,
which you've got every right to say.
I don't think it's actually been as bad as it has been in previous years.
I still think it's been very good.
But I think we've had much worse years of stewarding.
2021, comes to your mind.
Is it what Ben Sudey said, by the way?
Nope.
He said he'd have Michael Massey back if he could.
We're moving on swiftly.
My point here is, I think surgery,
prayers. Regardless of whether I agree with him personally or not, he is absolutely every right.
As one of the 20 drivers who has to face that every single Grand Prix, to have an opinion,
whether it be positive or negative, and I don't think he was rude, I don't think he was out of
line. I think drivers should be allowed to, within reason, say exactly how they feel and how they want.
There was nothing inappropriate about what he said. He should be able to say that entirely,
I think.
Harry, what did you make of it?
Yeah, I, they're getting quite thin-skinned these stewards. A few years ago, this is quite
a few years ago now, but 2016,
Sebastian Vettel told Charlie Whiting,
who was the race director,
to go F himself quite a few times.
And everyone loves Charlie Whiting.
They did love Charlie Wattel.
We all loves Sebastian Vettel.
I think Vettel also loves Charlie Wighton.
He to the moment stuff, obviously.
But quite rightly,
Seb got pulled up for that,
because that's quite harsh.
Quite severe.
That's quite severe.
So that, very, very harsh.
That, I understand,
commenting that the stewarding's been a joke all year.
Again, it's in the moment.
stuff, it's right after the race.
But that does not equate to the same
sort of level as
what Seb did. So, yeah,
we've had more arsh reviews about this podcast.
We consistently do.
We could read them. We keep
going. Again,
I know this is off tangent. You don't like it. Just don't
write anything. If you do like it, fast-style review, please.
Obviously. Yeah, so
this, yeah, just a bit,
it does feel a bit like they're flexing
the muscles a bit, the stewards
to say, don't question our
decisions.
And in some ways
I can understand
because you want
you want them to
rule with a bit
of an iron fist
in terms of
you want some respect
from the drivers
and I think generally
they do
but this seems
just a bit of a week.
Sad little life,
stewards.
Yeah, stewards.
And I think
not for the race
incident itself,
but for the year,
I'm with you, Sam,
it's been better this year,
but there's still
some massive inconsistencies
with stewarding
and I think it's fair to be called out.
So now that we've said that, we're off to the stewards, I guess.
We're off to a flyer, yeah.
I have said it multiple times.
I think they should just do a scrapping of all previously done rules
and reassess how all penalties and things are giving out
and just go, forget anything historic this year.
We're following this set of specifics,
and that's how we're going for it, how we're going on police.
I think they like to base it on too many historic events
that are also inconsistent, and that leads to further inconsistencies.
So I think they should just go,
these are now the rules.
We've rewritten them.
this is what we follow.
You can look at them on a PDF if you really want to,
and that's how we're policing this sport now.
I think it would open things up a lot more to going,
they're policing to the rule,
whereas here it seems back and forth F1 all the time.
I don't disagree with that,
because there are incidents where the stewards will go,
well, this was the precedent,
but then you turn around and go,
well, the precedent was stupid, wasn't it?
So why are you using it?
So I don't disagree with that at all.
The incident itself,
my opinion hasn't changed from when we reviewed the race.
But it doesn't really matter because Perez has got his opinion on it and he's entitled
to have whatever his opinion is, whether he thought it was 100% his fault, 100% Norris's
fault, 50-50.
It doesn't matter.
He's got, I believe, a right to voice his opinion.
The only thing that Perez, I'm not going to say he did wrong here, but what the stewards
think he did wrong here was, say, the stewards are a joke.
I think if he had said stewarding is a joke.
that would have been fine.
The problem is where he said the stewards in particular,
almost like naming them.
I agree completely.
That's why I think they've pulled up him up on it.
Because they have said,
surely if they're talking about personal insults,
they can only be talking about that part of the,
that part of the quote.
Because if you're talking about stewarding throughout the year,
you're not talking about the same set of individuals.
You're talking about however many stewards,
are across the year.
And calling that a joke,
I don't think there's any problem with that.
I'm assuming it's the first bit
that they're referring to here,
but I, come on.
It really is nothing.
If he had, like, said one steward by name,
fine.
If he had used more colourful language,
as was the case with Sebastian Vettel,
fine.
I think a warning is suitable.
Here, this is nothing.
I mean, this happened just as he was coming into,
back into the pits on that in-lap.
The race is just finished.
And I've always said that drivers are going to say things
towards other drivers, towards stewards,
about themselves, about their own team,
about the strategy.
They're going to say things in the moment
that in retrospect,
might not be phrased the correct way.
That happens.
These guys are driving around insane speeds.
Like, you're going to get some of those comments happen sometimes.
I don't think, this is so tame.
there's nothing here.
So I think it doesn't give a good impression on the stewards at all.
I do think the stewards should, you know, rule with the iron fist, as you say.
But you do that with your actions in terms of like the incidents itself rather than, rather than this.
Because ultimately this doesn't impact the race or the standings or anything like that.
It's just them being a bit silly.
I made an action faster than on this and they dig for actual racing.
And so, also the process, what is the process for getting that like to start that?
Someone went, did you hear what Sergio said about you?
I'm not happy with that.
Did you hear what he said about you?
And then what happens in that in meeting?
Did you say we were a joke?
We're a bit upset about this.
All of us collectively.
Like, come on.
Yeah, I mean, as one of them got Tyrone and gone, come on, guys.
I want to go home, end of season, mate.
Yeah, it's bloody 10 o'clock here in Abu Dhabi.
Yeah.
Or whatever it might be.
Whatever times are.
I don't care anymore.
Before we move on, just to say,
my current problem with the stewarding
is not that it's inconsistent.
My problem is it's too consistent.
You can't just give five seconds for everything, stewards.
You've got to actually do some different penalties sometimes.
As you said, the difference between sneezing and murder
is just five seconds.
Five seconds and doubt five seconds,
whatever you want, do it,
but you've got a five second penalty coming.
Imagine them watching an indie car race
where they get,
a driver gets chucked to the back, they'll be like,
have they committed a mass murder?
What have they done?
Do you know what I miss?
Drive-through penalties.
Never get any more, do you?
Where have they gone?
If you're new to Formula One,
you know what a drive-through penalty is,
then they are a wonderful thing.
Yeah, you drive through the pit lane.
And come back out the other side.
That is a penalty.
That's a real penalty.
In the emotional word.
Back in my day, we're real penalties.
Stop and go penalties.
Where are the drive-through penalties?
Yeah, 10 seconds stop and goes.
That's,
much out there that can be done.
For fair, 10 seconds stop and go is bloody arsh.
That's brutal.
That is savage.
You lose about 40 seconds from the Grand Prix.
That's like three quarters of a lap in most places.
That's fine.
Driver shouldn't be a fool.
Be a fool, get a stop going.
I think the eye of fisk is here, actually.
Get better scrub.
Obviously, that would be on our door as the stewards.
Yeah.
Before you come in, could you get better scrub?
If the opposite, yes, go away.
They'll be on the door on the way out.
Oh, that's true.
As they leave with their penalty.
I'm sorry, get better scrub.
Don't forget.
It's time for the main event.
This is what we've all been waiting for.
F1 commission time.
Wee!
Just before the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.
And I'm going to say they made some decisions, but also they kind of didn't.
Right.
A few things that I'd just like to tick off kind of one by one.
We'll do it fairly quick fire.
on these first one that they've decided.
There will be an update to sprint weekends for 2024.
What updates, we don't really know yet,
but they have said that the,
this is an interesting choice of words,
the schedule will be rationalised
by better separating the sprint and the race itself,
although it is confirmed there will be six next year,
the same as this year.
So there's no movement on that.
Sam, do you think that they should rationalise?
I was just so surprised I'd give a rationalise before.
Conclusion to this meeting, what we're going to be.
Rationalise it.
Should we exchange anything to do with the sprint races first?
No, no, no, no, no.
We'll just rationalise.
Sounds like they want to be more distinct.
Yeah, which makes total sense and it's something they should have done from the first place.
And this is something that's a podcast, not to blow our own trumpets, that we've been
arcing on about for God knows how long.
Why the fact it was qualifying, qualifying race race is just ridiculous.
So before that, it was qualifying sprint race.
It's all very confusing.
Just have sprint qualifying, sprint race.
Stop qualifying race.
Two separate events.
Or just qualifying race.
I mean, that's worked quite well historically.
Oh.
A novel idea.
So well done for rationalising.
After everyone else in the world thought about it,
it still isn't going to fix sprint races.
Yeah.
I think Harry thinks it will.
Absolutely.
Sure.
I mean, to be honest, it means that if they do rationalise it,
sprint quality will be on a Friday evening.
So I won't care as much than I miss it.
It is still better than a practice session.
I still miss it.
So it doesn't make a difference to me.
I'm still working.
Yeah, so that's a positive.
So I don't have to watch that.
I just have to watch the sprint.
Yeah, look, I don't think there's any more to add to what you said,
if that is what they're going to do,
which we're not entirely sure,
because they say rationalise it may, they might make it worse.
You don't know with F1.
And the FIA rationalises something.
That isn't always a good thing.
And FIA and the F1 Commission,
are the F1 Commission just like the teams?
No.
Or the Commission does not reveal its members.
It's a secret society.
It's like the MI5.
First rule of F1 on Commission Club.
Don't talk about F on Commission.
It's just a shadowy figure.
With his nine babies.
How many references to that are you going to get in this episode?
I can't never let it go.
It's the weirdest expression of all time.
Oh, I sense an award coming at the album to that.
I reveal it too soon.
I like awards.
What free baby, mini awards.
Mini-baby awards.
Like Kinder eggs.
You can build them.
Oh, Lord.
What Sam said, that's the conclusion.
Yeah, it makes sense.
Yeah, I'm going to flag it does.
I don't have too much to add here other than I think the separation of them is fine
or they're making them more distinct from one of that. That's okay. But I feel like we are
just getting to a point here where it's being tinkered so much, right, since they were introduced.
And we're kind of getting to a solution where the sprint is just turning out to be the same
format as the race itself, which kind of just proves they had it right to begin with.
That's a reason why we've done nearly 70 years of this format.
God.
Because it's good.
Yeah.
Well, let's give it a qualifying session and then a race and then make it different from the other thing.
But it's also exactly the same thing.
He might as well just have another full race at this point.
Yeah, double races.
It feels like where we're heading.
Another thing they did decide on this one.
Alternative tire allocation.
Rest in peace, 2023 to 2023 because it's not coming back next year.
R-A B.
I know.
Again, annoying, quite enjoyed that the teams could pick, you know,
whether they wanted to go for,
was it the softer set of compounds or the harder set of compounds,
essentially?
Not the compounds themselves,
the amount of the tires that they get, rather.
Is it, is it, no,
mandatory qualifying.
You know, there's a couple of random sessions we had,
you had to do hard, then, median them soft.
Again, that's a good thing you could have done in the spring
and kept it as it is.
Hungry and Monza?
Did they do it?
Literally.
I've not seen Formula One Twitter F1 X'd
more in unison about an idea
that they've ever brought up, then
this is good, this is quite interesting, it works well
and that's the thing you've got rid of.
But also, oh, qualifying.
It's actually fine.
Oh, you know what?
You don't need to do anything to it.
Tell you what, an idea I've had recently
is that qualifying, the normal way of doing it,
it's actually quite good in the normal way of running it.
Oh, maybe you should stop.
knocking around with it.
A bit gutted because it was fun,
but at the same time,
bloody love qualifying as it is,
so don't really give a rat's bottom.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I don't know.
It's not like this one wasn't a game changer,
but equally,
I quite liked it.
So, of course, they got rid of it.
But if they were going to do it,
they should have done it everywhere.
The fact they only did it two races,
was Imola supposed to be one as well?
Yeah, yes, yeah.
But they can't move to it.
They have plenty of time to sort it out.
It did make it interesting.
But, yeah, like, we don't need a random two races a year.
Make it a rule.
Every other race, I'll do it.
So it's really confusing.
Or what they've done, not a rule.
Yeah, honestly.
I'm working on memory a bit here,
but I think the reason they did it at Hungary
was that it was supposed to be at Imler.
Oh, so they were only ever going to do two.
What was the point?
Maybe so.
And I'm only doing it for two Grand Prix as a trial.
If, realistically, you are never going to roll it out.
Lewis Hamilton's fuming because he can't get a bowl again.
That's the only time you're good.
Alpha Romeo are fuming.
They both make Cuesbria hungry.
They were so good there, weirdly.
Man, they haven't got a chance in 24.
After a mayonnaise, we're hungry.
Move on.
Last bit.
We knew that tire blankets were still going to be a thing for 2024.
The commission has confirmed they are still going to be a thing for 2025 as well.
Sam was just eye-rolled for anyone listening.
Honestly, when tyres, when tyres,
they come out of the pit laying and tires are cold, it's exciting. And we've seen a taste of that
recently because, of course, the average temperatures, the mandatory ones, the temperature's
been brought down, right? They used to be hotter in the blankets and now they come down
slightly. And you see that the cars in certain tracks really struggles to get up to temperature.
The fights come out of the pit laying are interesting. It makes strategy running for
undercut or overcut, way more diverse. And they push it back another year because they're
it's scrapped entirely, right?
Chick-wok-chik chickens. Is that out?
Yeah.
If Formula 2 can do it.
Yeah.
You can do it.
Formula 2 do a lot of things, well.
Sprint races.
A wheel to wheel racing.
Yeah, look, I think we said this before.
I'd be in favour of getting rid of them.
I wish they were gone.
The F1 drivers don't want to for obvious reasons.
But it shouldn't be, we should just say, don't care.
It makes their lives more difficult.
You're the best bloody drivers in the world.
Get on with it.
Yeah.
They'll warm up, won't you?
Shut up and put up.
It's like when you, if you, when it's wet,
and it's trying track and then you go out on slicks.
They're always stone cold then.
So just be like that.
Get a grip.
Get on with it.
Literally get a grip.
Think of all the things that have come and gone in Formula One
that you've all moaned about.
You're still racing.
You're still earning millions.
Just shut up and do it.
Yes.
As you two already know,
and many of the listeners of the podcast
will know this already too.
For all of the topics we do,
I write down some notes.
And depending on what the topic is,
I'll make more notes sometimes with some topics
and less notes with some other ones.
With this, with this, I've put tire blankets.
Grow up.
That's literally all I've put.
We're a really serious show.
I often do the silly bit, and I think Ben is going to cover me here because we'll do the serious bit.
Nope, not today.
Grow.
There's nothing else to say.
It's just grow up.
Yeah, just stick to a bloody change if you're going to make one.
That's enough F1 commission taught.
F1D commission.
God, have decommission this podcast.
I bet they have.
They're pretty voting this off now.
Right.
Last break.
Late faking is on the other side.
Okay, here we go.
Late faking.
One answer is fake and the other one's all right.
So help me, Christ, I'll make my decision in a second, Sam.
You're going to have to wait because Ben made this game so hard, and I'm down by five.
You've never been down by five.
It's also impossible.
There are some games where you could be down by five.
Yeah, order please.
Oh dear.
Oh, dear.
I was nearly down by five the last time we played that.
That's true.
I was down by a camel.
As the theme kind of gives away the game here,
but there will be a question.
Four answers that I will give Sam and Harry.
They have to choose the one that does not belong as part of the category,
and they'll take it in turns.
So numbers one through six, as always.
Sam, what number would you like?
I'll have number one, please, man.
Number one.
You don't have to go very far back for this one.
We're only talking about 2023.
I've just been there.
Yeah, technically, doesn't it?
I'll move down.
Four drivers, and just for clarity,
I'm excluding sprint races on this one.
So we're just talking about main races.
Four drivers, three of them have scored points in the USA this year.
One hasn't.
Okay.
Oh no, he did.
Good start.
Yeah, Rukes Sondola.
Kevin Magnuson.
Yeah.
Pierre Gazzley.
Yeah.
Valtteri Bottas.
One of those four drivers has not scored in the US this year.
Okay, Bottas did in Miami.
Yuki Sonoda did in Cota.
P. Gazos was a bowler.
And I forgot the other one was.
the other one was Kevin Magnuson
Kevin Magneson is definitely a bluff answer
so I'm going to say it's Yuki Sonoda
Oh mate we were there
It was Kevin Magerson wasn't it
They were at Coeter
I know we were
Yeah and Sonoda scored points
I thought it was the person that didn't score points
Yeah I know so you said
And you said Sanoda
No I oh yeah I did
Oh dear
Would you like to change your answer
To Kevin Magnuson
No
Oh, is that not, oh.
No, I don't want to cheat.
I got it run.
I got it run.
Well, you'd have been wrong with Kevin Magnetton anyway.
That's fine.
You don't have been honest.
I least trying it with honesty.
Did he go get,
oh, was it Miami last year?
Yeah, he hasn't turned up since then.
He's been asleep.
About 30 more deaths.
He's for growing a mustache.
Yeah, Magnuson had P-10 at Miami this year.
Sonoda had P8 at Austin.
And then Gansley scored points a couple of the races,
but he scored most recently in Las Vegas.
It was well good, only P-4.
sure
right
what number would you like
Harry
number two please
nice
number two
okay
four circuits
three of them
Carlos Sines
has got a podium
at
just tell me the one
that he hasn't
it's fascist
you got it
the Hungara ring
Sotchi
water drone
oh it's not just this year
my bad
Imola
and Yasmarina
Abu Dhabi.
You can do it.
Imala.
You can do it.
You're right.
He had P3 at the other three in 2021.
Blimey.
Three!
He's scoring all the podiums in 2021.
Yeah, he smashed it.
Three threes.
Three three.
Three.
Sam, back to you.
What number?
I'm going to go rogue.
Three!
Oh my God.
falling off my chair.
Oh, you're like this one.
Oh, it's a 50-50.
Four answers.
25, 25.
Yeah, I've actually cut down the number of answers just two,
just so you can have a 50-50.
Four circuits,
three of them run in an anti-clockwise direction.
Oh, no.
Which one runs in a clockwise direction?
Okay.
You have to go back to F-1 game here.
That's literally what I'm doing.
That's where you're coming out of the pits.
That'll help.
you with maybe a couple, but maybe not for a couple.
Okay.
Kyle Lami.
Yeah.
Fuji.
Yep.
Young Am.
Yeah.
And Istanbul.
And I'm I picking the one that isn't anti-clockwise.
Correct.
Fuji.
He got it.
Like you love tracks I do.
It's the only thing I'm good at.
Yep.
Definitely the right way to work out that answer as well.
what way you come out of this.
That's literally what I was doing.
Do I turn right or left?
Okay, we're at one all.
Harry, back to you.
Number four, please.
We're really in order, right?
Wow, going in order.
Four drivers, three of them
have raced against Fernando Alonzo in F1,
which one hasn't.
That's most drivers from the 70s out there,
so it'd be fine.
Okay.
Jean-Alaise,
Enrique Bonaldi,
Johnny Herbert,
Leeds.
Eddie Irving.
mine. Help me. Tell me more. I'll save it for another show. Good stuff. Johnny Herbert.
It is indeed Johnny Herbert. Good little brain in there. Only just missed each other. Herbert retired at the end of 2000.
Alonzo started beginning of 01. Do you remember that time when Johnny Herbert said the ones that should retire and then Alonso confronted him on TV?
Yes. That's good banter. Do you remember that time Johnny Herbert led the Bahrain Grand Prix?
we could do a whole episode of
do you remember that time
that Johnny Herbert
insert thing here
honestly I think
I know there weren't a lot
of highlights in COVID
but I think that was
my life like that
it's so niche
so you're taking
anyone that doesn't follow
Formula 1
that highlight
and they'll go
yeah
what
it was
when Johnny Herbert
moved into that
house at Snetter
he still lives there
good
right we're at
2 1 to Harry
5 or 6 Sam
5 please Ben
so great
I'm going to
give you four constructors, but the thing is only three of them exist.
Oh, no.
The one that doesn't exist.
Okay.
Shannon.
Clank.
Abaco.
Come on.
Techno.
Have you removed the engine providers from these?
Yeah.
These are just constructors.
Yeah, no engines.
Oh, I mean.
That's a Shannon.
If it would have been Shannon Honda, you're like, oh yeah, that's right.
Sometimes, yes.
I don't go.
I got a clue.
They all so ridiculous.
Come on.
I'll go clank.
Yeah, it's got to be clank.
Clank, sure.
Oh, my God.
Clank is a constructor.
Whing?
60s, maybe.
I can't remember.
Don't even know.
A good you drive for?
Clink.
Clank.
Clank.
nothing.
Clink was real.
Shannon is real.
Techno is real.
Abaco is Abacus in Spanish.
See, it was between
Clenck and Abaco.
If I had the engine,
I'd have been on that.
Sure.
I've lost it.
What number would you like, Harry?
Number six, please.
Should have asked what's left.
Good choice.
An excellent choice, sir.
Four drivers.
Three of them led a lap this year.
One didn't.
deal.
That's not this game.
No real.
Back.
Right.
Oscar Piastri.
Fernando Alonzo.
You count in the sprint races, mate.
No.
A bit late to disclose that.
Okay.
Carry on.
George Russell.
Pierre Gasley.
You've got this.
Self-assured.
I don't,
I...
Um, it was the first one again.
Oh, that's a PS3.
Yeah, sorry.
I think pasty.
Do you know what?
I, no, has he?
Did Alonzo not lead a lap this year?
Is it Alonzo?
No.
No.
It's, um, it's the obvious one.
It's Pierre Gazley.
Um, I mean, fair.
Why would it be a letter?
But you're, you're right to raise the question because of those three drivers,
George Russell led six laps.
Fernando Alonzo led a grand total of three laps this year.
Where?
Three.
I can't remember.
Okay.
And Oscar Piastri led one lap.
Blimey.
Blimey.
Oh well.
Unlucky Pekazel.
Alpine, we go again.
Still be York on.
Two one.
Final score to Mr. Harry E.
Obviously, I'll take that.
I only record, but that's respectful.
The record book with no one's making.
Peng thanks them.
Put somebody's wardrobe.
Sure.
Now that was late faking.
A real fake of a game.
But I know the most real segment.
I know the best segment in all of Formula One podcasting.
And it's coming right up because it is, of course,
The LB question of the week.
What?
Week.
Oh, that was delightful.
It's a bit jassy for you.
Four beer Sam is jazzy.
Jazz is Sam.
Jazzy Sam.
No.
That's a good idea.
If you were an apple, Sam, you'd be a jazz.
I'd be a pink lady.
What's a question, Ben?
Oh, good question that, mate.
Yeah.
Our question was, what should we do now that the season's over, basically?
How should we spend our time?
I mean, any favorites?
Dang's come out and say hopefully not what Othmore does in his month off.
We can't.
A third time.
No.
Come on.
So good.
Well done.
No, no.
Nate Candy said making gammon, because I do that.
I do that in the on season.
So I don't need to do any off season as well,
even though I will.
Bristol Liam's exciter.
That's Beng's schedule sorted.
Yep.
Jim Bridger said, sorry, it's Benckxed.
It said bumper cast clactin, which I've got all the time for.
Oh, a bit of Clacton.
Clacks and bumpers.
I'm just having a look through Twitter
and Merked in real life,
I'm just going to take one of the answers,
which is Harry Salba.
I'm no idea what to a Salba.
No, just Salba.
Andrew Dars has said 10,000 YouTube subscribers.
By Silverstone.
I'm not stating a year.
We're working on it.
I'm not stating it yet.
on Twitter again Todd has
planning your schedule ahead of time
so that all three of you are on the podcast
which is firstly hilarious
because the next two we aren't all going to be on
and also Todd I respect the comment
but if you would like to try and attempt to put together a schedule
when Harry Ead is missing for 40 days in a month
folks in all seriousness he's missing for 16 days of 30
how ridiculous that
your jealousy as well
It's pure jealousy.
We might have to start putting a holiday quota in.
You might only be allowing a certain amount of days off.
Some minutes a manual leave.
Yeah, 21 days.
It's all you're getting.
My favourite one on Instagram was from Rose of Gold 22.
He said,
I always just assumed you guys packed Sam up
and put him away in a storage unit
or something like Christmas decorations in the off-season.
Is that not what happens?
Like you think me and Clive's goat?
Go on, Sam.
I'm not the only one in there.
I've got a few of us in there.
unrelated to this, but I was listening to the first half of the 2022 LBs earlier.
Oh, no.
The first five minutes could just be the most chaotic thing we've done.
It's Sam having a conversation with Clive Pickle's work, which is, of course, also himself.
I forgot that we did that.
Well, that's happening again this year.
Yeah.
If you've got a spare five minutes, folks, go back and find the 2022 Albi Awards.
I definitely have a five minutes.
Listen to the first five minutes.
It's great.
Oh, Lord.
Lordy, Lord.
Mitch said,
find a way for Pirelli to make a Tycom bound out of over-cooked gammon.
Inferno Jim said getting a young woman pregnant.
Honestly, it's not just me on this hype,
but Legis, if you're interested, you know where they'll find us.
Okay.
Okay.
Moving swiftly on.
Bailey Moore on Twitter said,
I'll discover the 2020 F-1 season.
Ben will enjoy spag bowls,
and Sam will enjoy spag bowl.
I'm not getting into it.
I'm not getting rattled.
That's good.
Pronunciation's doesn't quite sound right.
Yep.
Oh, lolly lord.
They may be laughing every single week.
Wait for Esteban Ockon's penalty to finish is a good one.
It's never going to happen on Instagram.
That's a good one.
I'm going to retire to Schenetterton.
With Johnny Herbert.
Johnny Herbert.
Okay.
Right.
Sam, get us out of it.
Please.
folks.
We've still got to do
another recording
after this.
We have.
We often
to do beer
with breaking.
Thank you on
four beersing.
Join the Discord
link to the
Gascrippy.
Patreon is available.
You'll be able
to see that
beer with breaking
through the top tier.
We're about to
do birthday shoutouts
in a second.
Late Breaking F1
on all social channels
give us a follow
and on the Yubtubs
this has been video
recorded.
Hello, I'm waving
at the camera now
if you've stuck through
to this point.
That's great.
Eng's aggressively
hit his apparently.
He punched it.
There's literally
punched you
in the face.
give us a follow on there.
We love you dearly.
And now we're going to do birthday shout out for the top tier patron subscribers.
Of the month.
So, happy birthday to three of you that have our top tier.
Three top tier subscribers for November.
We've got Becca G.
In November 15, happy birthday.
You share your birthday with Michael Hoskins.
Happy birthday, Michael.
And it's our favorite hazard.
That's right.
It's been promoted.
Not me.
No, it's not you.
November 18th.
Here you got very worried
because we jokingly
still happy birthday
to him a little while ago
and on Patreon.
He went, is that my birthday shout
out?
Please don't make it my birthday shout out.
I've given him two for a year.
Well, there's a bit of an affing
the first one.
Best bang for your buck.
Yeah.
I expect double payment
this month, has her?
Thank you.
Anyway,
happy birthday to you three.
Thank you for subscribing.
If you go top tier,
you'll be hanging to that list.
You'll get a message from me
on Patreon asking for your birthday details.
Give it to me.
Give it to me!
Some of you haven't.
So if you've missed it, that's your own fault.
Love you all.
We're going to be back again on Sunday.
Yeah?
I'm not, but you're not.
You two are.
We will be.
And we'll be here on Patreon as well.
And we'll be your gaming stuff.
And we're here constantly.
Love you all.
Bye.
Sam Sage.
Bye.
That's not how we out too.
No, Scott.
In the meantime, I've been so much.
I've been Ben Hocking.
And I've been Shannon.
Remember.
Keep breaking late.
Oh, that's stupid program.
Clink.
Clink.
This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.
