The Late Braking F1 Podcast - Who is UNDER PRESSURE in 2024?

Episode Date: January 21, 2024

The LB boys share which drivers or teams they think are most under pressure in the upcoming 2024 season. They also discuss the Las Vegas GP start time for 2024 following schedule confirmations, and Mc...Laren's call for F1 action over the Red Bull / AlphaTauri alliance. They finish with a game of Pump the Brakes using your controversial opinions, submitted via the Discord... FOLLOW us on socials! You can find us on YouTube, Instagram, X (Twitter) and TikTok SUPPORT our Patreon for bonus episodes JOIN our Discord community JOIN our F1 Fantasy League BUY our Merch EMAIL us at podcast@latebraking.co.uk   & SUBSCRIBE to our podcast! Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Ontario, the wait is over. The gold standard of online casinos has arrived. Golden Nugget online casino is live, bringing Vegas-style excitement and a world-class gaming experience right to your fingertips. Whether you're a seasoned player or just starting, signing up is fast and simple. And in just a few clicks, you can have access to our exclusive library of the best slots and top-tier table games. Make the most of your downtime with unbeatable promotions and jackpots that can turn any mundane moment
Starting point is 00:00:29 into a golden opportunity at Golden Nugget Online Casino. Take a spin on the slots, challenge yourself at the tables, or join a live dealer game to feel the thrill of real-time action, all from the comfort of your own devices. Why settle for less when you can go for the gold at Golden Nugget Online Casino. Gambling Problem Call connects Ontario 1866531-260. 19 and over. Physically present in Ontario. Eligibility restrictions apply. See Golden Nuggett Casino.com for details.
Starting point is 00:00:59 responsibly. Thank you for listening to the Late Breaking F1 podcast. Make sure to check out new episodes every Wednesday and every Sunday. Welcome to the Late Breaking F1 podcast presented by Harry Ead, Sam Sage and me, Ben Hocking. Sam, you've come in prepared for this, right? We're doing a top five list here. I have done all of the research and definitely haven't put the research into a game that we're going to be playing our midweek episode that is irrelevant to all actual
Starting point is 00:01:44 sporting debate and definitely not very silly. But the most important part. The part I care about the most, yes. Yes. Even I've... The Fainble will be there. Yeah. Who's ringing who? Is he the Messiah? Or is he a very naughty boy?
Starting point is 00:01:57 That is the banker. He'll be here on Wednesday, folks, and definitely not being recording at the same time as this episode today. No, no. No. No. Don't break the illusion. I love that we're double recording today, and we've kicked off this episode talking about the thing that we will be recording ninth on our list of things to do today. Reverse chronological order is the only way we do. You brought it up, not me. Fair point.
Starting point is 00:02:21 We've got submissions back from our Discord in this episode today, so we've got some pump the brakes, but rather than us give our controversial opinions, we've got some controversial opinions from some of our Discord members. So thank you to all of those that have submitted, and we'll get to that a bit later on in the show. A little bit about Las Vegas. So the start times for 2024 have been announced, and there's no change to the Las Vegas start times. And we'll be discussing whether we'll be discussing whether we'll we think that is a good idea or not. But we're going to kick off with our top five drivers or teams that are under pressure for the
Starting point is 00:02:51 2020-4 season. Now, anyone who listens to the 2023 season and the previews that we did there, know that we do our under-pressure submissions for every single Grand Prix, but here we're looking at the year as a whole. So I'm going to go to Harry first because it's Sunday the 21st of January and I'm feeling crazy. Oh, that is a crazy day. It begs calendar.
Starting point is 00:03:12 And I know that Harry's probably not ordered these So I'm just going to get my fury out the way Did we have to order? You're so terrible at this Hang on You've done nothing Don't you come to me I've got a game ready
Starting point is 00:03:25 So they'll be top five in order under pressures Oh I don't care anymore It was such a terrible show Okay coming in at number 5 1, 2, 3 or 4 I've gone for a Mercedes Fair Yeah Could do have a good year
Starting point is 00:03:40 could do it a good year after two. Look, they've not been terrible, but by Mercedes standards, or they've been terrible. Oh, they'd be bad. And they did an apology letter. Yeah, I think this is a, this is a key year.
Starting point is 00:03:56 Honestly, 2020 went wrong. They doubled down on it. And we're like, we can make it work for 2023. Didn't work. So now they've gone for a, it'll be a whole new philosophy of car, this one. And they need it to work. otherwise, it's going to be a struggle to keep Mr Hamilton around, I reckon.
Starting point is 00:04:15 Louis Sambutan. Yeah. Not a struggle, but more difficult than it is at the moment. I think he's there very much on the belief that Mercedes can get back to the top. And I think this year they need to, even if they don't win the championship or anything, they need to at least show that they can be back properly in the fight and not at occasional races when they sometimes understand the car.
Starting point is 00:04:36 Yeah, which is basically the last two years. I guess, well, yeah, exactly, because they've gone with such a radical concept over the last two years. And I think you can almost pin their poor performance, relative poor performance on that. But if they show up this year with a, I don't know, normal design or something that goes a long way from what they've done in the past. And that still doesn't work. It's harder to come up with a, it'll be fine next year because of X, Y and Z. at that point you've kind of tried both options and neither of work.
Starting point is 00:05:08 So it's a fair one. Who's next on your list? Oh, am I going again? I thought we were going to bounce a bell. Do you want to do it? I mean, Sam's still writing here. I'm good to go, mate. I've got a five down for one in order.
Starting point is 00:05:21 In that case, Sam, five on your list. We're so good at this. So prepared. In fifth place, I've gone from McLaren because after they couldn't keep their mouth shut about how good they're feeling about the year and the diabolical starts to seasons they've had over the previous years, they are under massive pressure.
Starting point is 00:05:36 I think they're under the microscope to deliver here, the papaya coloured microscope. Your microscope. I haven't got a microscope. Going to buy one. I will buy one now and I will spray painted orange. I will follow them around the world identifying their performance. I don't think that's a good use of company funds.
Starting point is 00:05:51 We haven't got any funds anyway. It's coming straight out of my pocket. It's going to straight out of my pocket. It's coming straight out of my pocket. Anyway, I think that Zach Brown, Mr. Marketer himself, Mr Marketing Man and Angelus Man, which is, of course, Stella, they have done a fantastic job at raising the hopes of McLaren fans.
Starting point is 00:06:11 They've done a livery launch that isn't a car launch, which is very confusing because I really thought that was their car launch, Dan and Dusted. And then I saw on the Formula One official Instagram page that they're still doing a car launch in February. And I thought that was it. No, that wasn't the car, the last year's car. I just thought they'd just turn up and I had to test with the car.
Starting point is 00:06:30 Well, they probably should know. Two launches. Silly. What's better than one? Two. Apparently. Anyway, I just think that, you know, they've gone about data. They've gone back and forth.
Starting point is 00:06:41 About, you know, how positive they're feeling, how, you know, the margins aren't diminishing in their ability to grow. I just think they're giving it a lot of chit chat. They're very, very confident. They're almost as smugg as Alpine were the year before and look where it got them. So I just think that they need to just wind it back in and let the actions do the talking first. So I think they're under pressure. In fairness to McLaren, they do have one thing that Alpine don't have,
Starting point is 00:07:09 people working for them. So maybe it goes out all right. I don't know. My number five on this list, Kevin Magnuson could do with a good year. Obviously, contract-wise, he's secure for another year. But I don't know. I guess the Gunter Steiner was a bit of a, I don't know what the right word is,
Starting point is 00:07:33 but obviously Gunter Steiner brought him in and brought him back. So an advocate, I guess, of Kevin Magnuson and his abilities. Now Gunterstein has gone. I feel like this is a statement from Hass to say that we aren't just going to stick with what we've had and we aren't afraid to make these changes for better or worse. They're not afraid to make the changes. And Kevin Magnuson, after his relatively poor 2023, might be on the chopping block. we saw with, you know, qualifying performances,
Starting point is 00:08:01 Nika Holkenberg very regularly outqualified him. He had 12 Q1 eliminations did Kevin Magnuson, which is third most on the year. It was only Joe Guan Yu and Logan Sargent that had more than him. And then in terms of Q3 appearances, Nika Holkenberg had eight, Kevin Magnuson had three. And again, the only people he beat who did a full season were Joe Guan Yu and Logan Sargent, who had two each.
Starting point is 00:08:26 so he needs to show that he is a match for Nika Holkenberg quite early in my opinion. That's fair. I think Komag probably does need to buck up his ideas a little bit, you know? It's frustrating as well because he was so good at him, sir. Yeah. He's a very good racing driver, but not in Formula One now. It might just be a down year, who's to say?
Starting point is 00:08:49 But yeah, I think he needs to bounce back a bit. I'm actually going to go back to back and give you my fourth one because it's a repeat, and that's McLaren. for similar reasons to what you've said, Sam, I think, you know, there is that, is that pressure based on what they've done before. And also there's a big pressure just to keep Lando Norris. We know that Red Bull might well be sniffing about if McLaren faltered in any way. So a couple of children. Hello, Christian. You're right.
Starting point is 00:09:17 If we've both got to do that. Now, the thing is, Lano Norris has been very loyal to McLaren. But based on their performances last year, you'll both love the analogy I'm about to bring out here. Here we go. We're about to get a viral reel. No, no, no. This one's too specific to us, I think.
Starting point is 00:09:36 But anyone who was in our history class, which, of course, as a lot of you will know, is not going to be a viral. McLaren have effectively opened the box of change. Oh, God. Now, the box of change was something that was said about, I think it was Alexander the second for the Tsar of Russia
Starting point is 00:10:00 who get people a little bit of reform because that's what they were crying out for but the problem is as soon as he gave them a little bit of reform they just wanted more and more and more the problem here with what McLaren have done last year maybe is that Lando Norris was used to very poor McLaren's year after year now he's had something that's pretty good you can't go backwards from that
Starting point is 00:10:21 So unless they're moving forward or staying still, there might be some difficulty in holding on to him. He's seen what can be done with an OK car. They need to keep giving him that. So McCarron have opened the box of change, I'd say. Does that make Oscar Piastri respite in? No. Right, Harry, have you got next?
Starting point is 00:10:43 I'm desperately trying to think of a way to get an analogy about Stalepin's necktie now. No, no, you're too niche. It's too niche. He's gone too far. Back to Formula One. Coming in an out, 5, 4, 3, 2 or 1. I've also... Kevin Mangson.
Starting point is 00:10:59 He's on my list. Oh, be your original. The pair of you. I know, sorry, with all the reasons of Ben's already mentioned. Stop getting dunked on and qualifying by Nicahawk a big mate. True. He has become the basketball. Yeah. You're very lucky that your car ends up in the same place every time in the race, because otherwise it would be looking really bad for you.
Starting point is 00:11:17 Yeah. It does sound weird, doesn't it? He's less box office. He is lucky that his car was better. He's less. box office more Thursday afternoon 2 p.m. showing with probably like the sign language person does a fantastic... Matine Magnuson. That's it. Thursday.
Starting point is 00:11:30 Call him now. Yeah, Matarne Magnuson. Um, yes, honestly not much more to add than you've already said, Ben. He, without, it does feel like a bit of a protection he had there with good Steiner. Um, that's gone. And, and yeah, why, well, has I've got multitude of problems. but if he does what he did again last year, I don't see them keeping him on. No. Seeing as he was brought in a last minute replacement
Starting point is 00:11:57 for some Russian guy. But Gene Hart also had to hire anyone else because he likes gaming. Oh yeah, that's true. Oh, no, I forgot. He only hires his friends. People are like. Look at going on else.
Starting point is 00:12:10 Oh, Esty good. If you weren't listening to an episode, a couple of, it was a couple of episodes ago, Jean Hasse has explicitly said in a quote that he doesn't really like, he doesn't know if he's going to get on with people if he brings people in the middle-time. He doesn't get to go to anyone else.
Starting point is 00:12:25 Yeah. It's just going to be Grosjean next. Back in the car. The Phoenix. The Phoenix rises to Haas. Honestly, Hasse, 2035, the lineup will be Grosjean and Magnuson. It always comes back around.
Starting point is 00:12:37 Grozs-on-Magnoson. Magnuson will be in that car in 10 years time. Oh, they were in that car for so long. Yeah. So long. It goes around, comes around, and the famous words for Justin Timberlick. Yeah, exactly.
Starting point is 00:12:47 Thanks, JT. Fourth on your side, Sam. Right, I'll get to look right to the camera here for this one because listen to me, son. Daniel Ricardo, you're fourth on my list and you have the power in your hands to make something happen. Why are you threatening him?
Starting point is 00:13:02 I'm not threatening him. It's quite threatening. I'm giving him a one-on-one team talk. Is this inspirational? All right, he's a high-performance athlete and I'm going to make him sweat. Now, you could revolutionise what happens in that red ball team, okay? You could dethrone Perez,
Starting point is 00:13:16 but you could also give us a bangor other season by trying to deistrone Perez. Who knows? It's on you, your little whipperslipper, so you better deliver. I think he's got it. I don't think he's going to try now. He's too scared.
Starting point is 00:13:29 Well, either way, your career's over or I've made it. I'm influential. Good. Sure. Right. Number three. Let's go back to Harry. What have you got?
Starting point is 00:13:42 I don't know. Hang on. Oh, for God. Can you have to look at my list. Alpine. Oh, yeah. Sure. I mean,
Starting point is 00:13:51 Walmart don't need to say. Yeah, it's... Case of prees. Sorry, Ben. This might sound like a stupid question. Under pressure to do what? Like, what constitutes like, end of season,
Starting point is 00:14:04 it was a success? Fifth place. Oh, I swear to God. Well, I don't know. At this point, it's at least getting back to, getting back to their usual fifth place. Yeah, yeah.
Starting point is 00:14:16 But I think it's got to be, They have to at least be some signs of progress towards the top end of the midfield this year. There were occasional glimpses, but they were sort of out of, there were like anomalies, weren't they, Monaco with Okon and Zandvovot with Ghazley. Yeah, they just need a consistent year. Stop firing people under pressure to do that. Yeah. Maybe Alping had the opposite issue of Haas.
Starting point is 00:14:46 Genexham only hires people he likes, but Alpin don't like anyone. It's just like this Venn diagram of people in the middle. Hars and Alpin on each side. Fired, hired, fired, hired. Hight. Yeah, so, yeah, like Alpine,
Starting point is 00:15:00 this isn't to, you know, be third in the championship or anything, but last year was such a mess, just a mess of a year. Be in the conversation for fourth. Yeah. I'll finish fifth, but be in the conversation before.
Starting point is 00:15:10 Just be consistent and have cars that don't break down, have teammates that don't crash into each other. Less focus on Trent Alexander Arnold, more focus on results on the track. Yes, precisely. Do you reckon Anthony Joshua might replace Esteban Ock on mid-season? I think he had more chance of beating the car up than driving it. I'm not sure it's going to get in it.
Starting point is 00:15:33 It doesn't need any help. Goodness me. Have you seen that they're desperately trying to release excitement about their livery that's coming up? I have. I think it's pictures of just pink camouflage. Make it pink all-season, you cowards. If they did pin camouflage or seed, and at least it's one thing they've done well.
Starting point is 00:15:49 They're under pressure to do that. They need a good livery because they haven't had a good one for a while. Good Lord. I just want them to have a good car, to be honest. It can look terrible if it wants to. Just be all right. Again, talk about vend diagrams. I think there is a perfect vend diagram of cars that are amazing on track,
Starting point is 00:16:04 but look bad. Fine. But if you're going to drive bad, you need to look good. I either want stunning back of the grid cars or I want you to be spectacular in the car. I don't care if you do both, but you have to have one of those.
Starting point is 00:16:16 points, I think. Not, yeah, not neither. Not neither. You can't be ugly and bad. That's what they say about me. The late breaking of podcast. So we turn this off. They say to me, Sam, you can't be ugly and bad.
Starting point is 00:16:30 Yes, I can do something good. That's why I do a podcast. I've not got a face for TV. I've got a voice for radio, the good, the good, the bad and the ugly. The problem is none of us are good. And all of us are the bad. The other two.
Starting point is 00:16:42 Kerski's the good. Oh, yeah. That's the only reason we got. long to be the good. The bad's the bad, the ugly. We've got that covered. All right. Third on my list, I've got Logan Sargent
Starting point is 00:16:56 for, I guess, fairly self-explanatory reasons. This will sound harsh, but I don't think Logan Sargent is in a seat this year because of the good work he did last year. I just think that the lack of movement within the market as a whole has meant that there wasn't a great,
Starting point is 00:17:16 option out there for Williams. So I think they've decided to stick with what they've got. If there was a good option out there, you know, someone who's become a free agent, I think Williams would have snapped them up. But instead, they've decided to stick with Logan Sargent. And, you know, fair play, he just needs to, he needs to take advantage of that opportunity. I've said it before that I think he was somewhat lucky in that his performances didn't cost the team in any way.
Starting point is 00:17:40 Or maybe he's lucky that Alex Albin's performances got them to seventh place. But if they do make progress, if things are closer, he will need to step up his game because whilst Alex Albin can essentially single-handedly beat Alpha Romeo, Hass and an Alpha Tauri, I don't think he can single-handedly beat other teams further up the grid. So, you know, everything's long-term with Williams at the moment in terms of their outlook. So Logan Sargent just needs to prove that he's part of those long-term plans. At the moment, he's not, even though he's still at the team. if he was part of the long-term plans for certain,
Starting point is 00:18:16 they wouldn't have given him a one-year deal. So it's up to him to prove that actually, as well as Alex Alman, as well as James Vowell's, as well as Pat Fry, he's part of the long-term plans too. Sam, next on your list. Well, I can't say too much more, but I can see a famous old expression that delivers my point perfectly, which is clip-clap, paddawak, give the dog a bone,
Starting point is 00:18:39 Logan's sergeant's going home. And that is why he's under pressure. I'm actually going to cry. Oh, that's good. I don't see it. It's beautiful. Ben, you've spoken to my points as perfectly as I ever could. So I won't labour on the point.
Starting point is 00:18:55 But I do think that he is probably the luckiest man on the grid at the moment. No one really around to take his place in a great contractual situation that looked like they could walk in the door. He has got slightly more F1 experience than taking a bit of a risk on maybe an F2 driver. Like Paul Shear, of course, who's the most recent champion there. they're kind of working with the known rather than the unknown. And I do think that they'd rather take a smaller risk and know that he's got a bit of development and can learn. And they go, well, we gave it a year and it didn't work out for us.
Starting point is 00:19:24 We tried. And while they're where they are in the championship, it's no biggie. We know that Williams and Vowls and now Pat Fry as a team are working five years in advance, got one year in advance. And that seems to be the logical way of doing this. So the driver itself probably doesn't sway what happens in that car as much.
Starting point is 00:19:43 You know, they're not fighting for a second or third or whatever it might be. They're fighting over eighth and seventh in the championship. Logan Sargent isn't really going to change that or make it a groundbreaking difference in the championship.
Starting point is 00:19:55 So I think, yeah, he's got lucky, but it does need to deliver. But for his own career, this, I think, is probably the last chance he'll get if it is anything mediocre or below. Next up on your list, Harry.
Starting point is 00:20:09 Not a right? No. Ferrari. because Ferrari. Wow. Which part? Which part of Ferrari? Yeah, any particular bit? Just Ferrari.
Starting point is 00:20:21 Okay. Yeah, look, a similar situation to Mercedes, I think. Obviously, I don't think they've had worse years than Mercedes have, but they, I know we've said that Charlotte Claire may sign until 2029. Don't do it, Shal. But there's still a risk,
Starting point is 00:20:41 there's still a risk that if it doesn't, work. Charlotte Claire needs to at least win a few races this year. Because only having one win, one season, what I'm trying to say? Having a one season where he's won a race in a last.
Starting point is 00:20:57 Three. Yep. I'm very tired. We've got to do a whole other one of these hours. Yeah, I know. I'm fully aware. Yeah, only having one of those in the past four years, it's a bit of a crime.
Starting point is 00:21:09 And no disrespect to Carlos Sines because obviously he did pick up a win. but it's yeah I think Ferrari need a better year again not like winning a championship necessarily but you've got to start fighting in the front properly because they did it a bit but not a lot last year competition is so fierce at the front though and I know that Red Bull would but I do think if you as we said take out Max Verstappen from that Red Bull team I think the fight out front would be as good as 2012 I genuinely think we would see so many changes in the championship lead if we had just Perez, Alonso, Hamilton,
Starting point is 00:21:46 Russell, Norris, Piastri, LeCler, and Science, all in the cars that they currently had at the end of the season. I really do think it will be a sensational fight for the front. And in that case, Ferrari aren't actually too far off, but when it's Max for Slapping in that Red Bull, they are a whole generation of a performance away currently. So I think it looks worse probably than it is
Starting point is 00:22:10 in comparison to their other competitors, but yeah, they're nowhere near the standard of Red Bull. Number two on my list has already been said, and I won't menacingly look in the camera in the same way that Mr. Sage did, but Daniel Ricardo is also on my list. I struggle to see, I guess it's possible, but I don't think he'll be an Alfatari in 2025, or I don't think he should be,
Starting point is 00:22:34 in which case he's either in Red Bull or he's somewhere else. So there's a lot of pressure. I think quite early on in the season, we'll know roughly whether he's still got it or what percentage of it he's still got. But yeah, Ricardo, for obvious reasons. I think, you know, Sonoda, maybe they'd keep him in Al-Fa-Tauri for another year again.
Starting point is 00:22:54 But Ricardo, given his age, given the purpose of Al-Fa-Tauri, it's probably a do-or-die this season for him. I'm going to take a punt, and I'm going to say that the line-up for Al-Fa-Tauri next year is going to be Lawson and Iwasa. Maybe. That's where I think it's going.
Starting point is 00:23:10 Maybe. certainly Lawson, I'd be surprised if he's not there. Number two on your list, some. A bit of a rogue concept, this one, but I think when we can all get behind, sprint races. I just think, you know, we've had this topsy-turvy conversation about sprint races for a while now, and with comments coming out from tracks saying that sprint races don't sell more tickets,
Starting point is 00:23:33 fans are starting to turn on sprint races, we're not seeing any more excitement over the weekends that do have sprint races, and actually the main event is becoming more done. and it has been acknowledged in part by Formula One. They either need to transform themselves into something spectacular this year, which I think we can all agree is unlikely to happen, or this is the year that Formula One need to make the decision to remove them entirely.
Starting point is 00:23:55 So sprint races, if they want to exist as their own entity within Formula One, boy, they've got to deliver this year. I imagine I'm going to have a lot to say about spring races this year. So I'm going to save myself for now. I'm just going to button it. Sure. Benish off your list, Sam. What have you go? In first place, I have brought down the FIA,
Starting point is 00:24:17 a multitude of reasons why they're under pressure this year. And we spoke about this in a few episodes ago, where the friction that Mohammed bin Siliang brought up between the Formula One management and the FIA is healthy in some parts. And we all agree that in some areas, sure, healthy. But I think they need to orientate themselves. I think they need to boost their reputation.
Starting point is 00:24:37 Stewarding needs to improve. They need to make sure that they're more consistent and also that their penalties are more spread equally, as we've said, can't be five seconds for everything. It can't be murder one day and flicking a bogey out your nose another day and it's five seconds either way. It has to be fair, right? That on top of the fact that they are advocating for an 11th team, possibly a 12th team
Starting point is 00:24:56 to join the grid. That's a positive for them. That's a PR positive. They should hammer that home and they could deliver on that this year. And if they do, that's a big wing for the FIA. I also think that they just need to make sure their reputation as a whole is restored. I think a lot of people look at them like a bit of a clown, like a bit of a fool. So I think they need to make sure they are seen as the level-headed managerial side of the sport
Starting point is 00:25:19 that people can trust and rely on to deliver a competitive, fun and open sport. And they are keeping the reins on Formula One management who want to go off and do wild things like sprint races and every race and bringing different racetracks all the time. You need to have both sides. So they need to make sure they're delivering on that properly. and we don't hear comments like, oh, Sergei Perez said that we weren't very nice over the radio, so we're going to give him a talking to in the Stewards Room.
Starting point is 00:25:45 That's a little rubbish. Don't do that again. Just getting word from the FIA. Five seconds. That applies to you for that. I'm going to be on delaying out for the rest of the episode. Got you. I don't do that.
Starting point is 00:25:58 Yeah, you did get me. That's really frustrating. I'm going to very quickly go over number one on my side because I think there's not actually too much to say, even though he is number. I've got Sergio Perez. It's for fairly obvious reasons. So I'm not going to hammer into them now
Starting point is 00:26:17 because we've said them already, quite honestly, why he's under pressure. He needs to keep that Red Bull seat. He's probably not going to go back to Al-Fatari or two Al-Fatari. He's not going to go back there. So, yeah, needs to deliver.
Starting point is 00:26:32 Harry, number one on your side. I already been said McLaren. Sorry, there's a lot of copying here. For sure that you don't have an audit to your list, You could have just joined in one of us, said McLaren. That'd be boring, that. Yeah. All right, so save it to the end.
Starting point is 00:26:46 Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. Yeah, look, they've put it on themselves. So, come on, Macca. Come on, Macca. Come on. What you say like that? Come on Macca. Come on Macca.
Starting point is 00:27:02 That's not going to say it all year now. Good. Can't wait for that. Macca. Okay, anyway. Yeah, they, I put the pressure on themselves to be good this year already. And as you've already mentioned, you know, 17th of the DNAF last year. My favourite stat all time.
Starting point is 00:27:22 They started the season. So they're really under pressure to not do that again. They've got to come out of the gates punching. I've just realised that stat will become irrelevant the moment the first race is over this year. Get them in now. Unless they do it again. I'll have a new stat ready for you. Good.
Starting point is 00:27:40 What's off your stack, man? Yes, the lesser spotted stat. Right, we'll take our first break at this point. If you do let us know, by the way, who you've got us the most under pressure in terms of teams and drivers. If you're watching on YouTube, get in the comments.
Starting point is 00:27:56 If you're in Discord, let us know they're really interesting to hear whether your lists differ from what we have. But we will take our first break at this point. On the other side, we're going to be talking about Las Vegas. Okay, so the timings have been announced for the races for the 2024 season and you're probably thinking there's not
Starting point is 00:28:30 too much to say about them. In most instances they are identical to what we had in 2023. However, one thing did stand out and it is remaining exactly the same but there was controversy about it at the time which is the start of the Las Vegas Grand Prix. So in order for it to be a night race
Starting point is 00:28:46 the race starts at 10 o'clock PM local time which causes it to be a 6am start time in the UK and then a very early morning start for the east coast of the US. So that's about 1 o'clock in the morning there. Main reason for the controversy, of course, is we had delays to the session this time last year and starting so late. They didn't really account for that. But there's been no change
Starting point is 00:29:12 in the time going into 2024. Sam, are you surprised about this? And do you think it's a right move to keep it where it is? I was flabbergasted that they've kept it exactly where it is. something that came to light, which happened because of the working delays that we had around the track last time with the drains having their problems along the track, is the employment laws that are part of state of Nevada, of course, is that certain individuals, workers can't work certain shifts at certain points, right? And this happened on the overlap of their shift, and it meant they have to employ certain people to be later into the night. Absolute faff, right? And they didn't want to employ a lot of people to possibly just sit around and do nothing in case nothing happened. Sure, I get that, but it backfired big time. And essentially, they're setting themselves. up for it to backfire exactly again. If something different would have, let's say someone crashes and a barrier fails and they haven't got staff on hand to help repair a barrier and then it's going to take four hours to get a barrier repaired. It could happen feasibly at this spot, unlike any other race.
Starting point is 00:30:08 The other thing that's incredibly confusing about having it at exactly the same time is it's quite possibly the worst time for the whole world. Maybe Australia and kind of the very east coast of Asia. get it at a great time. Good for you guys. You deserve an easy race because you do get back a lot of the time.
Starting point is 00:30:27 But when you're looking to grow the market, the American market is your primary target. It's so confusing that you've made it so difficult to watch for literally every single spectator in the continent that the race is being held in. It's like saying, we've got the Silverstone Grand Prix
Starting point is 00:30:44 at three in the morning. And you're like, I don't want to watch that at three in the morning. I'm tired. And I've got to go to bed. and then get up at three in the morning. I mean, for Japan, sure, I'll do it. I'll make the once a year sacrifice again.
Starting point is 00:30:55 Sorry to anyone on the west coast of Asia or Australia. You do have to go through it. And New Zealand for many, many, many times. But why would you schedule it again where the East Coast of America, so again, if you're unaware of geography, that's Florida up to New York, are going to struggle to watch it at like four in the morning, three or four in the morning. And then the West Coast of America is what?
Starting point is 00:31:16 Going to start out earliest, Ben, like the 10, 10pm, 11 p.m. which I think is... Yeah, I think it was a 10pm local start time last year. And any delay, which we saw happened last time around, is just going to push that back further and further and further. So other than the fact they want it to be a cool night race, which you could still have at like 7pm in Nevada, which would make it a midnight Grand Prix on the East Coast,
Starting point is 00:31:41 and then it would be, what, like a 4 or 5 a.m. start in the UK. We're getting it bad either way, but make it relevant and worthwhile for the American fans and the Canadian fans and the Mexican fans who are the market you're trying to grow the most for that Grand Prix. It's nonsensical to me. I do not understand why they haven't shifting it at all. And there won't be a change in the laws or the setup. So you may run into the exact same difficulties that you experienced last time around.
Starting point is 00:32:08 It just feels like they're, you know, for me once, shame on you. You fool me twice. I'm a moron. And it feels like the F1 could be a moron. Good stuff. Yeah, I think this is an issue regarding trying to balance a number of components and sort of 75% achieving that. Because I think this is the only start time realistically that they can do that somewhat ticks
Starting point is 00:32:36 all of the boxes they want. So the main issue here is they want this to be a night race. If they didn't want this to be a night race, it would be absolutely fine. But because they want that night race, they have to. to start it, and I'm not saying that this is right, but I'm just going by what their logic is going to be here. They don't want a race to be starting in the middle of the night in Europe. Now, from a personal fan point of view, you're right. We get it very lucky in Europe where we don't have to do that pretty much all year. There are a couple of early morning races for
Starting point is 00:33:09 Australia and Japan. But outside of that, the timings are incredibly friendly for us. And I'm not saying that's right, but there's a good reason why in terms of it still being a predominantly European centric sport. And I don't think F1 is bold enough or ready enough yet to give Europe a race in the middle of the night. I think they would be worried about viewing figures not being made up elsewhere. So whilst logically, yes, you could like move the time back because the sunset, I think it's probably around like five o'clock or something at that time. a year. So you could easily move it back to say, you know, six o'clock and then suddenly you're looking at like a, like a 9pm start time on the East Coast. You would then be looking at like a 2am
Starting point is 00:33:57 start time for Europe and then 3 o'clock for mainland Europe, so 2pm for UK, 3am for mainland Europe. But I just don't think F1's ready to do that yet. Obviously, it wouldn't be much of an issue if they do it the same way as say Cota or Miami where they're happy for that to be a day race, then it would be okay. But I don't think they're prepared to make this anything other than a night race spectacle, in which case they feel like they're forced into a time that just about works for where they're doing it and a time that just about works for Europe, that being 6 a.m. in the morning. Again, not saying it's right. I just think that's where they're coming from.
Starting point is 00:34:41 What do you think, Aaron? Yeah, a bit dumb. Just call them out. Call them how it is. I don't, and I fully agree with your points, Ben. I know I get the reasoning why,
Starting point is 00:34:53 and there's a lot of balance here. But just like, it just feels like they're painting themselves into a corner again when they don't necessarily need to. And yes, the drain issue was a freak incident. But why put yourself under that pressure to...
Starting point is 00:35:09 You've got to account for those, right? Got to account for them. I just don't, I don't think this is the greatest idea. and doesn't feel like they're learning from their mistakes. And again, I'll reiterate. I understand some of the logic behind it, as you say, but not wanting to have a European audience watching it in the middle of the night.
Starting point is 00:35:28 But, you know, as we've all said, we get it pretty easy. We can sacrifice it a midnight. It might not be the greatest idea, but they do want it to be the greatest show. Nice. I love that. If we're getting up at the 6am anyway. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:35:47 Get me up at 3. We're still not in ideal time. So you might as well get up. We might as well get up early. Have you seen, by the way, that Australia this is at 4? In the morning? Yep.
Starting point is 00:35:58 Oh, we got to have words. 4. Yeah, I read something. And it was, because last year, normally is at 6, but it's going to be at 4 a.m. this year. But the time is also the same in Australia than it was last year. And I don't understand how that works.
Starting point is 00:36:11 Have we done... Oh, God, we're not getting to that. Have we done two? time saving moments, but then like light saving moments, but they haven't. I'm so confused how that works. I don't know. Anyway. Yeah. But yeah, we'll get over it. We can get up for a 4-A and we can get up for a midnight race for Vegas.
Starting point is 00:36:28 We see you, Australia, and we love you. I just, they're putting themselves under pressure to make that work. I don't think they need to. Oh, F-1. Yeah. I think ultimately it has to work on the ground, doesn't it? That has to be the number one concern is, does it work where you're running the rate? It sounds simple, but before you consider when is this time zone going to be seeing this, when is this time zone going to be seeing this, the first thought has to be, does it work on the ground?
Starting point is 00:37:01 In terms of, Sam, you've already referenced the employment laws and just overall, if something does happen that's going to delay one of these sessions, what is the contingency plan? because last year, essentially, the answer is we don't have one. And that can't be the case again this year. But of course, they are keeping it at the same time. So I hope they are at least making steps to mitigate the risk if something like this does happen again. Because I think it just makes sense to expect the worst almost
Starting point is 00:37:30 and expect that there will be something. And then if nothing happens, then great. You're absolutely fine. So just to go out of Sam, would you, rather than, transfer this to a day race, do you think the same option that Harry delivered there in terms of it being a, still a night race, but a middle of the night race for Europe would be the best solution? For fans like us who get up to watch every single qualifying a race or whatever across the world, I don't care if I'm getting up at half-past five for a six o'clock start or if I'm staying
Starting point is 00:38:02 awake until two o'clock in the morning to have a late night. For me, I'll watch it. I'll stay up and watch it. It's the very casual fan that you need to think about. But in that case, in Europe, is the very casual fan going to care regardless? Are they going to get up at 6 in the morning? Or are they going to stay awake until 2 in the morning? I don't think they're doing it either. I don't think it suits their lifestyle. So I think you're trying to please the wrong people.
Starting point is 00:38:23 And I think you should be targeting that North American audience, which is a key growth area for Formula One. And yeah, I would allow the North American audience to have the perfect viewing time where they can really get exciting about the event and sacrifice one of 24 for the European market. It's not a big deal, really. I do not think it's that much of a deal that they're making it. I think they'll survive if they were to do it at one or two in the morning.
Starting point is 00:38:50 Yeah, I think that's fair enough. The other, I guess, like consideration is you could do a day-to-night race. But again, I still think that because then you'd be sort of late evening Europe time. But I, you know, from a fan's perspective, I agree with you. I think that would be the right way to go about it is just to say middle of the night race for Europe and not cause any complications sort of on the ground. So don't come at me, people. I'm just trying to think what the FIA and F1 might be thinking here.
Starting point is 00:39:20 Also, most people don't then have to stay up another two hours after the race and produce a podcast and YouTube video and get them live. They will just go to bed. We will be here for another two hours straight afterwards. Yeah, we've got tough, mate. So hard. We can't end the point on that. And we...
Starting point is 00:39:39 I was going to go to a break, but like... We can't end on We're tough. We are well-up. We're just not right. We are well-ard. I would say we're scary. She ever in Tracy Beaker?
Starting point is 00:39:49 There's a family called the Well-Ards. Yes. Rico Well-Arts. And he loved his Marug 5 CD. Ben, is that the sort of concluding point you're after? I remember one lie where Rico went, E, what's you don't mean my Mara-5 CD? Because he was Welsh.
Starting point is 00:40:08 Tracy Beaker. Yeah. Oh. UK Children's TV reference for anyone who, who is unaware, which is probably most of you. Right, we will take our next break. I've got no idea what we'll be talking about on the other side, but it won't be Tracy Beaker.
Starting point is 00:40:24 Bag in themes on though. Bog off. Bog off. You can make my work come true. Other dreams to see me through. Doesn't make a work will come no way. I remember she said the phrase, and I'd never heard it before, but total twunk.
Starting point is 00:40:39 And I'll say, that's a great insult. You total twonk. Okay, everyone, welcome back. Harry, this probably isn't the right time to ask this question, given we ended the last segment talking about Tracy Beaker. But if for whatever reason someone enjoyed that or something else in this episode, what should they do about it?
Starting point is 00:41:14 Oh, Ben, so glad you asked. Everyone, five-star review, please. And do you know what? Some of them the ones have been coming in. Yes, you've been putting our secret messages that we're telling you to put there, like stick it up your butt. Not so secret. Not so secret, I guess.
Starting point is 00:41:30 But some of them, I think, people don't even like the podcast so much. And they still, they're still doing five stars, though, and I rate it. Yeah. They write a slightly average review, but five star it. Hey, that's fine. If you only enjoyed the podcast actually three out of five, but visually it shows five out of five, I can live with that. We don't care.
Starting point is 00:41:47 My ego is that. Easily inflated that I'll take it. I really like the idea that we think we're gaming the Apple algorithm. Yeah, we got them. Late Breaking versus Apple. Not a war I want to start. We're like the guerrilla camera. We're taking them down from the inside.
Starting point is 00:42:04 Yeah. No, seriously, thank you for everyone that has given us five-star reviews. But if you haven't, and you would like to, we would like you to. And it really helps us. So please, please,
Starting point is 00:42:15 please add the five-star reviews on wherever you get your podcast. And if you're watching it on YouTube, give a little comment and like the video. And subscribe. Massively helps us. And the special message for this week's review, yeah, five-star reviews.
Starting point is 00:42:30 I'll wait to hear it. Bring it on. It's total twunk. I don't go if that'll get past censorship. Why? Might be a swear word. It's not a swear word. You're fine. Oh, I'm sorry.
Starting point is 00:42:37 Sticking up your butt got on there, though. That's so true. I'd say the word total's fine. Shout, you twunk. Please. Completely. Completely okay. Right.
Starting point is 00:42:49 McLaren, let's move on to them. So they've urged F1, as in F1 the company, rather than just F1 on the sport, take some action over Alphotauri or whatever they're going to be called, and Red Bull, because we know that their relationship has over the years been very close, but it looks like it's going to be even closer than it has been over the last few years as we moved into the 2024 season.
Starting point is 00:43:12 So McLaren, yeah, believing that F1 should be looking to take action on this. Sam, what are your thoughts? I mean, there are rules in place that stop teams being too close together. Whether you like those rules or not, I don't think that the Red Bull family are going to break those rules. I think that they will exercise those rules to the absolute closest millimeter that they can to achieve the best performance.
Starting point is 00:43:38 And you need to remember that Alpha Tauri, Visa Kashap, Monso, their goal is to achieve the best training experience for their young drivers. That's the point of this CISC team. It is to elevate not just drivers, but engineers, ideas, philosophies within the team that could be used across the entire.
Starting point is 00:44:01 a Red Bull family makes sense. What I think is frustrating is I don't, I don't think that you should even be allowed to be as close as they are now. I do think that Formula One should be 10, 12, whatever it may be teams, working fully independently and they should have to find their own success
Starting point is 00:44:19 and their own momentum up the track entirely on their own, off their own back. And it is very frustrating to think, oh, McLaren, who are a team that were fighting regularly for podiums, are probably now having, to look over their shoulder at a team like Alpha Tauri, Cash App, Santander, HSBC, because they simply have access now to technology and staff and plans that come from Red Bull,
Starting point is 00:44:42 who are the championship winning team. They can just be given it up to a level. You could just be given that. And so it must be very frustrating for McLaren to think, if we aren't as good as we're saying we're going to be, and Alpha Tauri are suddenly the third or fourth fastest team, it's possible. You've got to remember what, 2020, when Pierre Gassley picked up multiple podiums and fourth place, they can make a car that is good enough to sit regularly in the top 10, they're going to take points away from teams like Ashton Martin,
Starting point is 00:45:08 like teams like McLaren. So I can see why they're worried. It's interesting that they haven't really made a vocal complaint about this until the closeness has improved again. And I think that is maybe from a scared of being competitive rather than a, hey, we don't like Cisco teams because McLaren have borrowed parts of other teams previously. But I do think that teams should have further separation.
Starting point is 00:45:31 don't like the way Haas operate with Ferrari, for example. They buy an awful lot of their components directly from Ferrari. Going real well. It's a lot, don't it? Whether it goes well or not, I do think that other than engines, really, I do think you should have to engineer your car yourself. And I do think that the relationship between Alpha Tauri and Red Bull is one that, yeah, should be under a microscope.
Starting point is 00:45:54 I do think it could lead to some negative dealings across the world of Formula One. It's maybe unfair competitive element. I can see their frustrations, but I do think it's, we bring this point up a lot. When you're mowing about something when you're doing well, you're mowing about it
Starting point is 00:46:07 because you believe there's a problem. But when you're mowing about something when you're at risk, you're mowing about it because you don't want to be at risk anymore. And I do think McLaren are slightly nervous that Barclayard, Lloyd's, TSP,
Starting point is 00:46:18 Alpha Towery are going to possibly find their way a lot closer to the front, taking away points from them than they were a couple of years ago. Just to confirm as well, these were comments directly made by, by Zach Brown. just to give a quick snippet as well.
Starting point is 00:46:34 He said, I believe it's a serious issue for the fairness of the sport for the fans. That's why it's pretty much not allowed in any other form of major sports. So, Harry, what are your thoughts? It's clearly an area that Zach Brown would like F1 to put focus into. Do you agree that they should?
Starting point is 00:46:51 He's marketing man back out again. Marketing man! He's not worried about the integrity of the sport. Selling you my ideas. He just doesn't want that I'm sorry. You're a liar. You're a liar. I think he's playing the game well
Starting point is 00:47:03 He's playing the game well Yeah no he's It's fully selfish interest Of course because it's formula one And he doesn't want Alfortari Sorry Minardi To
Starting point is 00:47:11 To catch them up And overtake them Should they get this This extra help From Red Bull Yeah I think F1 should be Keeping an eye on this
Starting point is 00:47:21 But as you say something I don't outwardly think Red Bull are just gonna start Giving them I think they'll break the rules No But I think they'll
Starting point is 00:47:29 Utilise what is allowed. And yeah, I'm with you. They should be independent teams. And we've had this before with Anardi, door or so, where Red Bull were much closer and then they moved away and it went on their own. But even then, we had the same sort of issues or same sort of complaints around it.
Starting point is 00:47:51 And it's not a new thing, I guess. But yeah, I'm in agreement. I don't think these teams should be so closely linked. It should go on their own. But yeah, I don't think is, I'm not massively concerned. I mean, if the Alfa Tauri turns up at Bahrain and is like... A rocket ship, then maybe then there's a few questions to be asked, but I don't see that coming.
Starting point is 00:48:21 Sorry, Kirsty is now a cat. Kirsty, the producer, has known to a cat. There is a cat where she used to be. If you'd like to see the cat as well, there is a picture of the cat on Discord. This is so good. I love it. This is what Ian Euse could do. This is Shea, I believe. Hello, Shea. Welcome to the show. You can't see it, folks. But it is gorgeous. That is comedy gold. Anyway, see you later, Shea. This podcast has been a state this episode.
Starting point is 00:48:49 It really has. A slightly more serious question, I guess, for you, Harry. Do you think that McLaren are more concerned about what Red Bull can get? Alpha Tauri or what Alpha Tauri can give Red Bull? I think it's what... Oh, that's a good question. I think it's what Red Bull can give Alphatari because I think... I understand the logic, maybe they're testing bits for Red Bull,
Starting point is 00:49:17 but I think they're more worried about Alphatari catching them up because it's just another team in that midfield who they could end up battling. But then I guess my clarin's aim is to be at the front. So maybe Alphatari would be a concern. But yeah, I do think it's that way around rather than giving Red Bull and a bigger advantage by being able to test bits.
Starting point is 00:49:41 But it's an interesting one. How legal is that? Because I think the rules are not very well publicised. How much testing and parts coordination realistically are they allowed to do throughout a season, right? You're allowed to buy parts off of a team up to a certain point, but there are certain parts of your chassis
Starting point is 00:49:56 and internally parts of the car that you have to develop entirely on your own. You can't buy a whole car, for example, from another team. So there's only so many things that Alpha Tauri could openly go, yes, Red Bull, we'll take your experiment,
Starting point is 00:50:09 put it on our car, and will give you the data because it's very similar to how McLaren stole that data from Ferrari all those years ago. There's just a handing over this time, right? That's the difference. I think the thing is,
Starting point is 00:50:22 they can't just take bits of Red Bull and put it on an Alphotari or vice versa. but if there's a closer relationship that, you know, they're owned by the same people. So the learnings, isn't it? Yeah. You can't stop people thinking, can you? So say a Red Bull engineer or aerodynamicist was at Red Bull and then he's got a new job at Alphiari. Yep.
Starting point is 00:50:42 Like, that's, you can't do it. What can you do about that? Just six months and off you go. Yeah. So I guess that's where it could actually happen, but Alba League just put stuff on the car. This is a problem that's coming up in football, for example, is that if two teams owned by the same owners, find themselves in the Champions League. You're not, that's got to allow.
Starting point is 00:51:00 One team from one ownership group is only allowed in the competition. And that's exactly, I think, what Zach Brown is alluding to. And he says in other sports, this isn't okay. They essentially could have a one, two, three, four, all owned by the same people, running in the same team, sharing almost exactly the same car parts. And marketing-wise, that would be fantastic for the Red Bull brand. Whatever they're calling this new car will be, you know, we saw the comments from Lawrence Stroll that said that Asking Martin sales were through the roof.
Starting point is 00:51:27 when they started doing well, it's the same for Alpha Tauri. In theory, whatever products they are selling, sales would go through the roof because the marketing would be so much higher. There's a lot to gain from this in other sports. It literally isn't allowed. You can't have the same two ownership groups in the same league. So I guess, like this, obviously, this example isn't going to be relevant for this season,
Starting point is 00:51:49 but we know that Alpha Tauri or I guess, Tora or Tora or so at the time, tested the Honda engine before it was put in a red ball. now naturally there was going to be quite a lot of working together in that regard to see okay is it is it okay on the tour or so is it okay enough yes we're confident enough to put this in the red bull but you could you know that same principle could have been applied to a team that wasn't connected to red bull they could have as an onlooker looked at another team who had taken on the Honda engine and gone yeah that worked pretty well we'll go for it as well um so you could have ended up with the same situation even if it wasn't
Starting point is 00:52:27 to your sister team testing it. So which makes it really difficult to regulate. It is a difficult situation, but it's a situation that F1 has got itself into. And you can't really blame Red Bull or Alfa Tauri for taking the rules to their limit. If everything they do is within the limit of the rules, that's what they're going to go to,
Starting point is 00:52:52 they're not going to consider the integrity of the sport or the fabric or the DNA or any of that rubbish, they're not concerned about that. They're just concerned about winning. So they're going to use those rules and regulations however they see fit in order to get there. And this closer relationship, based on how good that Red Bull is, makes sense. And if it is, you know, Al-Fa-Tari is there to exist as a feeder system.
Starting point is 00:53:16 That's why it exists. So any way that they can play the rules that's going to enhance that even further, they're going to go ahead, they're going to go ahead and do it. But yeah, I mean, Zach Brown, I, I think it is probably both in answer to the initial question that I asked Harry, which is, you know, is this, is this Alvatorei helping Red Bull or is it the other way around? I think it is, to be honest, both because they are probably going to have to look both ahead and behind.
Starting point is 00:53:43 Their ultimate goal is to catch Red Bull. So that should be their number one focus. But equally, yes, there is quite a stacked midfield that could appear. And if Alfatowri are in that mix with a revived Daniel Ricardo, with Yuki Sonoda that's improving year on year, maybe that's more of a threat to take points away from them. Who knows? Right.
Starting point is 00:54:05 We're going to take our final break on this episode. On the other side, we're going to be doing some Discord pump the brakes. Okay, here we go. Some Discord pump the brakes. Very aggressive from Liv Lafatee at the end there. Love it. Love it.
Starting point is 00:54:48 No idea what that last word was supposed to be, but, you know. It's candy shop. but you're a picking a candy shop yeah good okay I mean we kind of know it starts with S-H but Shandy shop
Starting point is 00:55:00 Shandy shop Shandy shop everyone loves shandy shop my kind of shop right pump the brakes so we've got some of our Discord submitters
Starting point is 00:55:12 because over the off season of course we don't really don't really need the submiters as often as we do in the middle of the season so thank you everyone who has but we won't respondent to the call. So, yeah, if you want to get involved in the Discord, of course, you can do the description.
Starting point is 00:55:28 The description is in the link. There you go. Good stuff. I think the link might be in the description instead. So we've got quite a few to get through, haven't we? Yeah. I think more than we usually with that. Whether they're talking rubbish or not.
Starting point is 00:55:40 Who should we start with? Dave, is Dave come with me on the tube? I didn't see you. He'll be here with his gang, I'm sure. Oh, yeah. Anyway, first up is Carson, brackets the LGG is gone. I don't know what that means. He used to be Carson L.G.
Starting point is 00:55:54 Oh. It's Prince, but not Prince. Okay. Hello, my Brit friends across Le Big Wet. Hi, Carson. Hi. My hot take or my pump the brakes is that Red Bull did not give Gazley a fair chance. And my hot take, gentlemen, is that Esteban Akon will reach the podium three times in the upcoming 20204 season,
Starting point is 00:56:20 despite the mess that is Alpine. Cheers, guys. Carson, all right. Yeah. Is he the LGG? Also, just to say, this isn't hot takes because it's legally very different. Very, very different.
Starting point is 00:56:34 This is pump the brakes. Just going to clarify that one. This is where you tell your friend, whoa there, slow down, sir. That's not a great opinion. Whoa, Nelly. I have already forgotten the second one. Ock-Hock will be on the podium
Starting point is 00:56:45 at least three times in 2024, even though Al-Pian will be rubbish. Let's tackle the first one. The first one was that Red Bull did not treat Gasley right. We know obviously Gazley was with the team for about half a season, summer break. He was sent back down to Toro Rosso, as it was, at the time. What do you think, Sam? I completely agree with him, actually.
Starting point is 00:57:08 As much as I don't think he was brilliant at the time, I think he was under a longer pressure. I think he was very young. And because of how well Max Verstappen had acclimatized in the top run, of Formula One. I think they assume that everyone around that age group should either be
Starting point is 00:57:22 Max Verstappan level or get out of town. And Pierre Gasley has proven time and time again that he is a very, very strong, solid driver and I'd argue no worse than what
Starting point is 00:57:33 Sergio Perez was capable of, no worse than maybe what even Daniel Ricardo was capable of at his current stage in his career. And so I think if you were to give Gasly the next season
Starting point is 00:57:44 to acclimatized properly into the team, I do think he would have started to deliver deliver very strong, not world beating, but good results that would they be any worse than what they have now with Perez? I don't think so. So yeah, I do think they probably rushed the boat a little bit. And we saw that with Albon as well. I think they went through a bit of a churn at the time and didn't really know what they wanted. What are you saying? What are you saying then? Pump the rakes.
Starting point is 00:58:09 No, agree. He's correct. Yeah, I agree. Pierre Gazley was done over very harshly. and mainly because Daniel Riccardo was quite good. Yep. And the Red Bull have learned that now. Sorry, the Daniel Riccardo is good versus Max Verstappen. But Red Bull have finally learned that now with Sergio Perez that you just can't have another Max Verstappen in your team. And it's difficult to find someone who is at the level of Riccardo.
Starting point is 00:58:39 But then having said that Vestappen's gone on a level. So, yeah, he was done over harshly. He was not good. He was not good in that first half a year. but instead of just dumping him, they should have tried to nurture that talent because he's clear he had it.
Starting point is 00:58:57 But I don't think I don't think it did. So yeah, agree with the castor on that one. I agree, but for a different reason. So I agree with the statement, but the issue for me was him being in the seat, not them getting rid of him. I don't think,
Starting point is 00:59:13 essentially, I think Red Bull dropped the ball because they had Vastappan and Ricardo in that team. and they had the perfect position where Carlos Sines was in Toro and he was ready for that Red Bull as soon as he got that opportunity. So they have like a perfect, they have like a sort of perfect positioning at that point. And then of course, Ricardo and signs both go,
Starting point is 00:59:33 leaving the void that Gassley had to fill. And he wasn't ready. He wasn't ready for that position and nor was Alex Albin who came after him. So I think if Red Bull had managed the Ricardo situation better, if they'd managed the Carlos Sines situation better, he wouldn't have even needed to go in. that seat at that point and maybe two years later, he would have been ready. I think he would have been based on what he showed in like 2020, 2021. Gansley, vastly improved as soon as he left that
Starting point is 00:59:59 Red Bull seat. So I think, yes, I agree, but not necessarily with dropping him, but hiring him in the first place. That's fair. Well done. You have survived the Gunging. Now onto your pal, the no-named menace. Snuck on the podium three times, Sam. What do you make of that? You're getting a pump the brakes from me, I'm afraid. I just, I think while Ocon is strong, and my mother texts me the other day and said, Ockon to Williams over Logan's sergeant
Starting point is 01:00:27 next season, and I thought, Ooh, that's a curious producer, my mother, yeah, Mama Sage. Yeah, Mama Sage there with an interesting shout. Maybe a conversation should get into another time. Whilst I think that Ockong is a strong, consistent driver and has periods of really going at it
Starting point is 01:00:43 and excelling, I just don't think he's consistently good enough to fight out side of a bad car to bring it to, I mean, one podium was good in that Alpine and they both did a great job to pick up a podium, I think. But three, in a car that I don't think will consistently finish maybe above eighth on a good day, yeah, for me, it's got going to happen. So it's a, it's a, pump the brakes for me. Harry? Yeah, pump the brakes. That's not happening, is it? No. No. Even if the Alpine was good, I don't think it was going to happen. And it's not a, that's not a get Espanocon, to be honest, I just
Starting point is 01:01:20 can't see. He's good, but he's not, I'm going to dry off the absolute nuts and bolts off this LP. He's not dragging it to podium. He might get, he might get a one or two, but I don't think multiple this year. I'd be very surprised if that happens.
Starting point is 01:01:38 You're both forgetting something. It's not war mode. No, the war mode. Low war mode. W for war mode, W for win. That's what they say, right, yeah. Three, at least three.
Starting point is 01:01:54 Oh, world champion Ocom. Go Ocon. Come on. This is the year. This is the year. Good. Me and no-name are together on this. The old G.
Starting point is 01:02:06 I think he's getting gunged. No, because yes, they were three, right? No, it's two out of three. Majority. because I still haven't loaded it. You're all gung. We haven't played pump brace in a very long time. People are going to be very confused right now.
Starting point is 01:02:24 That's the gunges noise that we do when you get pumped. Except we haven't had you. Oh, Lord. No. That's the worst thing that's ever been said on this podcast. You've done it. That's the worst thing. Oh, no.
Starting point is 01:02:43 how have you managed to out do yourself? That's the worst. Absolutely mortified. I didn't know that happened. What a podcast. We don't offer that kind of service here. That's the end of the show. It's after you just did those noises as well.
Starting point is 01:03:12 Awful. Right. We're swiftly moving on to the geeks up the breaks. I'm so sorry for any family listening along. I think before you speak your future. You have to change the name of this feature now. That's it, it's over. You're going to have to change the rating of this episode.
Starting point is 01:03:27 Oh, God. We're meant to be a family-friendly show. I'm sorry. None anymore. Guess an explicit rating because Sam said something to get pumped. Don't say it again. Anyway, Raff is next.
Starting point is 01:03:41 First of all, welcome to the year. My controversial opinion slash pump the brakes, that's whatever you want to call it. is that Mick Schumacher should have retained that house seat. I think he was unfairly let go of just because of his lack of experience, which he can't get without. Woo!
Starting point is 01:04:02 They love it! They agree! Again, my favorite kind of submission is where people are doing stuff, and I just take 30 seconds of their day. Yeah. But they don't stop what they do. Are you like a Kiggs party, like a swimming pool or something.
Starting point is 01:04:19 Like a football match or something. Yeah, like I appreciate that maybe you should have been child minded and you've gone. So good. Sorry, child, please hold. I need to just do a pump the brake submission. Don't drown in that 23 seconds. Anyway, so I think you were saying Mick Schumacher should have kept his seat. Right?
Starting point is 01:04:34 Yeah. It's an interesting way. This is one we've somewhat spoken about before, Sam. What do you think? I'll go to give it a very mild pumping of the brakes, I think. And I just think that whilst Mick, I think probably is no worse an option than what Haas have currently. I think with another year probably will have developed a little more and fine.
Starting point is 01:04:57 I don't think they're losing out by not having Mick. Again, very much Ben, like your point that you spoke about with Gassi moving into Red Bull. I don't know if he was ever really fully deserving of the seat. I know he's F2 champion, but he never wowed me in his junior career. Wow. Wow. And this double rookie hire that they did was appalling when they brought out the car
Starting point is 01:05:19 that obviously had no development. I just, you never set the place of fire, you know? He wasn't set in the world a lie, is what I meant to say there. Wasn't an arsonist. He's definitely, for legal reasons, he's not won. No, I'm going to do a really, really mild pump the brakes because I don't think he was good enough for a Formula One drive, but equally, I also think he probably got a bit of a rough end of the stick.
Starting point is 01:05:45 I'll give Harry the deciding vote and I'll say it's okay. Again, it's a close one that you could argue either way. I think based on where Hasse are, it might have been worth just sticking it out for one more year with Schumacher to see where he would have got to, see if he would have developed. We do know that Mick Schumack had tended to, you know, blossom in championships later on. He didn't necessarily connect with the car straight away.
Starting point is 01:06:12 So I think it might have been worth giving him just one more, one more season. I agree. I don't think he blew anyone away in his time, which, you know, it's, so I would have given him one more year, but can easily see the argument the other way as well.
Starting point is 01:06:26 Barry, what you got? Yeah, I agree. I think he should have got one more year. And he, yeah, the 2021, I know we got two seasons, but the 2021 season in that start one season.
Starting point is 01:06:44 Exactly. Not one season. Yeah. And that's my point. I think it doesn't count. Running around the race track, it would have made the same difference. And you're right.
Starting point is 01:06:52 His 2022 season wasn't great. He crashed a bit too much. But there were a couple of highlights. Austria and Silverston. Did you remember you battling for Snap in? Yes. He got shoved off the track unfairly. No penalty given.
Starting point is 01:07:06 Yeah, well. Oh, yeah. So he did have a couple of highlights in there. And I would have been intrigued to see last year if they retained him, how it would have gone versus Mangerson, given Mangson's form. And because I think that
Starting point is 01:07:21 if you, if you had Magson not being in great form and Schumacher, you know, pushed on, I think he could still be there now because they're doing it versus what Mangerson did. And yeah, that's why. So yeah, I'd have given one more year, but I think he said it before.
Starting point is 01:07:37 In hindsight, Holgerberg was the better option, though. For that second, for that seat. Yeah. I think ideal actually probably being Schumacher in Holkenberg but you can't predict the future The amount of other young kind of rookies that have kept a seat for longer, Latifi.
Starting point is 01:07:53 Sanoda. Yep. I'd argue that Sonoda has been better year two and three than Schumacher ever was. But then we never got a three. True. Very true.
Starting point is 01:08:03 So I guess you're staying dry, Rath. You are indeed. Thank you, Ralph. Great. The Bungalorian, Bungers, is back baby. Bye, bye. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls,
Starting point is 01:08:19 the CEO is back. Yeah. There he is. And my hot, spicy, delectable take is that if Lawrence Stroll did not own the same team as Lance Stroll, Lance would actually be good. You saw what he kind of did at Williams, but if he was not in charge of like owning that team, Lance would be half decent. I don't know. I think Lance gets a bad rap.
Starting point is 01:08:56 And I think a lot of people fall on these. He's bad. Yeah, but I hear me out. Hear me out. Lance gets a bad rap. A lot of people do fall on the excuse that the only reason he has a drive is because of his dad. And I don't fully disagree with that point.
Starting point is 01:09:10 Is he the worst driver on the grid? Has he been the worst driver on the grid every single year he's been on the grid? I don't. Is that the benchmark? Yeah, I know. I know. I know it's not a great benchmark to set yourself on. Like, would I want to be the worst podcast host
Starting point is 01:09:21 on the podcast every single year? I fall on that sword every time. Congrats. Take one for the team. But my point is, we've had worse drivers floating around. Do I think the T-fi was better than stroll? No, not really.
Starting point is 01:09:36 And I know that's, you know, that's the kind of example you sit up against. I don't think he'd be good. But I also think he's come up against difficult competition in a lot of teammates. and I don't think he's the worst driver we've ever seen in Formula One. I do think he'd be out of drive. I wouldn't disagree with that.
Starting point is 01:09:59 Yeah, I think outside of Latifie Mazepin and Sargent, I'm not quite sure who else I would put below him in recent years. It's not a very long list. All I will say, which should give away what I think on this, is that he was, before he got to Landstrol owned team, he was out-qualified over a season by Sergei Sorokkin. I just brought up Sirrockin for being bad. I was going to say, don't.
Starting point is 01:10:27 Yeah, he was actually all right. Park the brakes. Get him back out of here. Yeah. Pump the brakes on Buggers. I do think he's right at the point that he wouldn't still be a Formula One. I don't think he can have a drive for this long. Wait, so was his, was Bunger's point that if he was in a team that wasn't owned by his dad,
Starting point is 01:10:49 he'd be back then. We all think he'd be all right. Oh, I see. So, like, yeah, yeah. Oh, nah. I still think he'd be in the bottom 20% of the grid. Yeah, I think that's, that doesn't work. No, sorry, mate. Sorry, bangers, love you, but we're pumping the brakes on you. He's probably happy about that, though.
Starting point is 01:11:07 Oh. Oh, my God. It doesn't work if you've never heard the sound. We'll get the real sound effect. I promise. I promise everyone. We'll get this back. Right, final one.
Starting point is 01:11:22 Virgil. Hey, y'all, it's Virgil. Now this hot take is real spicy, so I am prepared for general outrage. But I think Dan and Ricardo should retire at the end of 2024. He's at the end of his rope. He's not going to get the chance to reprove himself to any higher-end teams. And at this point, he's keeping that alfutari seat away from deserving rookies.
Starting point is 01:11:41 So, yeah, he's got to go. Love you all. Love the podcast. Bye. Have a couple. We love you, too, Vogel. I'm going to kick off. I think if he doesn't get the Red Bull seat 100%, get him gone. I don't think it's worth him bothering. I think he's had a great run.
Starting point is 01:11:57 And I think he's now, because he's reattached himself to that Red Bull family, either make it work or pack up and say goodbye. I think from the team's perspective, that would make sense. But I don't think the on Daniel Ricardo. So if Daniel Ricardo at the end of this season
Starting point is 01:12:17 is given the opportunity to stay with Alfatari for next year or go off and do something else outside of EFATRI. I think he should stay with Alpha Tauri. Is the point true that he'd be taking that seat from a rookie? Yes, that point is true. But I don't believe that's on Daniel Ricardo. That's on the team making that decision to boot him out rather than him making the decision to retire.
Starting point is 01:12:39 You know, him being in F1 is good for himself, his brand, what he wants to do with his life. I think he should carry on for as long as he wants to carry on for. But I don't disagree with the point that if he doesn't improve this year, the team should do something about it. I just don't think that the onus is on him. Hear me out. Daniel Rakowdy. That's awful.
Starting point is 01:13:05 Yeah. Yeah. But is it? Yeah. I don't think... Yes. Yeah, no, it is. Controversial.
Starting point is 01:13:13 It still is. Part of the brakes. Yeah, I didn't think he needs to retire. He can't, as you've already mentioned earlier in the podcast, but he can't stay at Alphataria, I think, for another year. If he doesn't get the Red Bull seat, but it doesn't mean he doesn't mean he doesn't. has to retire, go somewhere else.
Starting point is 01:13:29 I just feel like he's floating now. He's a floater. Oh my God. What is the matter with you? I've wrung out of steam. Yeah. We've got another one to do. I'll be alright for the second one.
Starting point is 01:13:39 Sure. I hope so. But yeah, thank you very much for all of those Pump the Break submissions, which it's definitely called Pump the Break again for legal reasons. Apologies that we didn't get to absolutely everyone that put a submission in, but thank you nonetheless. And we might do something before we get back.
Starting point is 01:13:56 to the normal cadence of the regular season. But yeah, we'll put the shout out on Discord when we're looking for submissions. So if you want to be involved, got to get in the Discord. When we can't be able to fill 15 minutes, we'll let you know. I just hate coming up with these opinions.
Starting point is 01:14:13 We'll get the people to do the hard work for us. It's a tough job we've got. Of course, that's not it. Right. Sam, if you wouldn't mind, for the love of God, get us out of here. I formally apologise for this episode.
Starting point is 01:14:27 And thank you for listening and making it this way, this far into the show. You should be applauded. Links in the description for many things. Discord, join it. Social media at late breaking F1 everywhere, including YouTube if you want the visual representation of this podcast. We also have Patreon,
Starting point is 01:14:42 which has got many tears and there are many wonderful benefits, such as two extra episodes every single month. Everything is out free. And you get beer with breaking, which is this month, us doing, would you rather's for 45 minutes? And let me tell you, Would you rather listen to that or listen to this show?
Starting point is 01:14:58 I can tell you that one was better. I mean, that says how bad this is close. Correct. Thanks for this game. We'll be back midweek with a great show. In the meantime, I've been Samuel Sage. I've been Ben Hocking. I've been Harry Ead.
Starting point is 01:15:15 And remember, keep breaking late. This podcast is part of the Sports Social Podcast Network.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.