The Philip DeFranco Show - PDS 2.22 WORST. DAD. EVER. Millie Bobby Brown's Gross Countdown, Russia-Ukraine Crisis & More News
Episode Date: February 22, 2022Shoutout to Keeps! Go to https://www.keeps.com/defranco to get 50% off your first order of hair loss treatment. News You Might Have Missed: https://youtu.be/umM-KNPwvmM TEXT ME! +1 (813) 213-4423 Get ...More Phil: https://linktr.ee/PhilipDeFranco – 00:00 - Father Arrested After Telling 4-Year-Old Son to Shoot Officers at McDonald’s 01:21 - Internet Slams “Creepy” Response to Millie Bobby Brown’s Birthday 03:11 - Three Men Found Guilty in Ahmaud Arbery Hate Crimes Case 04:48 - Sponsor 05:31 - Canada Upholds Emergency Powers Amid Convoy Crackdown 08:08 - U.S. Says Russia is “Beginning an Invasion” of Ukraine – ✩ TODAY’S STORIES ✩ Father Arrested After Telling 4-Year-Old Son to Shoot Officers at McDonald’s: https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/father-arrested-ordering-son-4-shoot-officers-mcdonalds-drive-thru-pol-rcna17130 Internet Slams “Creepy” Response to Millie Bobby Brown’s Birthday: https://twitter.com/BuzzFeedNews/status/1496113379299274756?s=20&t=7JkSN7Itl8c79qcSX6U8XA Three Men Found Guilty in Ahmaud Arbery Hate Crimes Case: https://roguerocket.com/2022/02/22/three-men-arbery-guilty/ Canada Upholds Emergency Powers Amid Convoy Crackdown: https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/2022/02/22/canada-trudeau-emergencies-act-freedom-convoy/ U.S. Says Russia is “Beginning an Invasion” of Ukraine: https://apnews.com/article/russia-ukraine-business-europe-russia-vladimir-putin-46cef648807d0e3c2bac9793ad9022a6 https://thehistoryofrome.typepad.com/revolutions_podcast/ ✩ STORIES NOT IN TODAY’S SHOW ✩ U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team Lands $24 Million in Equal Pay Settlement: https://roguerocket.com/2022/02/22/us-soccer-womens-settlement/ —————————— Executive Producer: Amanda Morones Produced by: Cory Ray Edited by: James Girardier, Julie Goldberg, Maxwell Enright Art Department: Brian Borst, William Crespo Writing/Research: Philip DeFranco, Brian Espinoza, Maddie Crichton, Lili Stenn, Ben Wheeler, Chris Tolve Production Team: Zack Taylor, Emma Leid ———————————— #DeFranco #MillieBobbyBrown #Ukraine ———————————— Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Have you ever ordered a Big Mac at a McDonald's
and they give you a Filet-O-Fish on accident
and you think,
well, violence is the only logical solution here.
Yeah, no?
Oh, well you are not quite built
like 27 year old Sadat Johnson in Midvale, Utah,
who went through a McDonald's drive-thru
at 1.30 in the afternoon on a Monday
and oh my God, drive-thru employee hands him the wrong food
so he responds by pulling out a gun
and demanding the meal that he asked for.
Luckily, the workers were smart.
They say, okay, yeah, sure.
Go on to the front of the store.
We'll get this fixed right away for you, sir.
And by fixed right away, they immediately called 911.
And shortly after several police showed up.
The police repeatedly tell the man to exit the car.
He ends up refusing.
So they approach and end up dragging him out.
But y'all, the story's not over yet.
It gets even crazier.
As they're trying to take him away into custody,
one of the cops looks back and they see a gun pointing out of the rear window
The cop swipes the gun to the side right as it goes off and they realize the person holding it was four years old
Yes, this guy told his four-year-old to shoot at the police at least that's what the police and a witness says
Plus there was also another three-year-old in the backseat as well. And so as far as Johnson, he's kind of fucked right now
He's been charged with felony child abuse and threatening the use of a dangerous weapon.
And while it does not come with additional jail time,
all of that hopefully explains why Sadat Johnson
is our douche bag of the day.
And bouncing off of that, happy note,
I say sup you beautiful bastards.
Welcome back to the Philip DeFranco show.
Hit that like button to help spread
some common sense news coverage.
Let's just jump into it.
And then let's talk about Millie Bobby Brown,
her birthday and disgusting internet creep monsters.
Right, so Millie just turned 18 over the weekend,
which I think I and most other adults other than Drake
were not aware was going to happen.
While much of the online chatter were just fans
wishing her a regular old happy birthday,
this became a news story.
And that's because there was reporting that found
that there were not safe for work online forums
and subreddits counting down to her birthday.
While one subreddit was reportedly banned,
many people have been making inappropriate comments
in other places as well.
Even on her own Instagram where she's posting pictures,
you have people posting things like,
oh, she's legal now, now I'm not a P word in my mind.
Others tagging Drake using sexual emojis
and telling her to start an OnlyFans.
With some of the most disgusting things
happening on Twitter.
With people posting explicitly sexual content
regarding Millie, including deep fakes
and other incredibly disturbing videos.
And all of this has resulted in a number of people
speaking out, saying things like a reminder
that sexualizing someone the moment they turn 18
is still creepy and weird as fuck.
And if you were celebrating Millie Bobby Brown turning 18
so she's legal now, that abso-fucking-lutely
means you were sexually attracted and fantasizing
about her before she was legal,
which makes you a fucking sexual predator of kids.
While this is news because she just turned 18
and we're seeing this new surge,
like this isn't a new topic when it comes
to Millie Bobby Brown.
USA Today once published an op-ed titled
"'How We Failed Millie Bobby Brown'."
And in that, noting a 2017 WMAG cover that said
"'Why TV is Sexier Than Ever' with it listing Millie
as one of the examples."
Also noting that a GQ profile once described her
as a very grown up child.
She is by no means the only one, right?
You've even had other young stars speaking up about this,
including Billie Eilish, who at the age of 17
said that she wore baggy clothes
so she couldn't be sexualized, body shamed,
or just had people commenting about her body in general.
Though there are also examples
of young women taking advantage of this.
For example, you had Bad Baby, right?
The catch me outside girl.
When she turned 18, she launches an OnlyFans.
It pretty much breaks the site for the day.
She reportedly made a million dollars
in the first six hours.
But obviously, like, that's not what Millie is doing.
She's just simply posting a photo of herself
on her birthday, right?
But with all this, I do want to pass the question off to you.
What are your thoughts here?
And then in major news, we saw break this morning,
the three men who murdered Ahmaud Arbery
have been found guilty on all counts
in a federal hate crimes trial.
Gregory McMichael, his son, Travis,
and their neighbor, William Bryan,
were all convicted of Arbery's murder
in a state court last year and sentenced to life in prison
with only Bryan eligible for parole.
But all three men also face federal hate crime charges
centered around the question of whether they were racially
motivated when they chased down the 25 year old black jogger
in their cars before fatally shooting him back in February
of 2020.
Throughout the trial, prosecutors argued that the three men
were driven up by pent up racial anger,
presenting nearly two dozen racist and sometimes violent
text messages and social media posts from the men.
This including Travis McMichael's regular descriptions of black people as savages and monkeys,
with witnesses also testifying about racist interactions they had with the defendants.
But on the other side, the defense attorneys for the men claim that their histories of racist remarks
were not proof that they targeted Arbery because of his race or violated Arbery's civil rights,
arguing they acted because they suspected he had trespassed at a neighbor's property.
But after just several hours of deliberation, the jury unanimously found the three guilty
of civil rights violations and kidnapping,
with the McMichaels also being hit
with separate firearms charges.
And so the men now face a maximum sentence of life in prison
on top of their other life sentences,
and they only have two weeks to appeal.
But regardless, this is a big win for Arbery's family
and many others who wish to see the men held accountable
for their racially motivated actions.
Right just last month, his family expressed outrage
when DOJ prosecutors filed court documents
asking a judge to approve a plea deal they
had apparently reached with both
McMichaels. With Arbery's mother condemning the move at that time saying she wanted the courts to prove that the men had acted due to racist
motivations and put any question of self-defense to rest. With her lawyer also arguing that it's only fair for these men to serve out their
sentences in federal prison rather than state prison which has much more favorable conditions. With the judge ultimately
rejecting that plea deal and paving the way for the decision we saw today.
But ultimately that is where we are.
We're gonna have to wait to see what happens next.
But from that, I wanna take a second
to thank the fantastic sponsor of today's show, Keeps.
Did you know that two out of three guys
will experience some form of male pattern baldness
by the time they're 35?
And maybe you have that friend or that family member
that's dealing with hair loss right now
and you don't have to just wait around
for that to happen to you
because now is the time to do something about it.
Keeps helps you stop hair loss before it's too late
with their scientific and affordable approach to treatments
that are up to 90% effective at reducing
and stopping further hair loss.
And Keeps offers generic versions
of the only two FDA approved hair loss products
that are out there.
So some of you may have already tried this before,
but probably never at this price.
And you can get these products delivered directly
to your door.
That means no more going in person to the doctor's office
for your prescriptions,
saving you both valuable time and money.
So if you're ready to take action and prevent hair loss,
go to Keeps.com slash DeFranco,
or just click that link in the description down below
to receive 50% off your first order.
And then a profoundly messy, divisive chapter
in Canada's history has come to a close,
but also not really at the same time.
And let me explain.
Right, we've been talking about this.
It began about three weeks ago
with a whole lot of truckers in the capital, Ottawa,
and now ending over the weekend
with the biggest police operation in the country's history.
For three days, Ottawa cops in riot gear
towed away over 70 vehicles,
arrested 191 people,
and dispersed crowds with pepper spray and stun grenades,
clearing out the last remaining protesters on Sunday
and extinguishing what supporters have called
the Freedom Convoy that has disrupted residents' lives
since January, but also has now spread internationally.
But locally, in the end, a total of 389 charges
were brought against 103 of the 191 arrested protesters,
including three key organizers.
Authorities also seizing at least 76 bank accounts
using emergency powers.
And just days before the operation,
the federal Royal Canadian Mounted Police
ordered a freeze on 206 bank and corporate accounts,
also flagging 253 Bitcoin addresses.
But you can't say they didn't go down swinging
with some protesters donning body armor,
wielding fireworks, throwing smoke grenades,
and in one instance, even shooting a gas canister at police.
With the authorities also saying things got extra messy
because you had children being brought to the front
of the demonstration, prompting the Ottawa police
to tweet out, we told you to leave,
we gave you time to leave, we were slow and methodical,
yet you were assaultive and aggressive with officers
and the horses.
Based on your behavior, we are responding by including
helmets and batons for our safety.
And in addition to the Capitol crackdown,
all of the US-Canada border blockades
have been cleared now,
which is absolutely massive dollars and cents news
because they were previously costing
around half a billion dollars in daily trade with the US,
according to Canada's finance minister.
Plus, the increased policing in Ottawa
have cost that city millions of dollars.
And so now, replacing the constant horn blaring,
you have concrete barricades, metal fences,
and relatively quiet city streets.
And although police have said no one was seriously hurt,
Ontario's police watchdog is investigating the case
of a woman who was trampled by a horse.
But with all that said, remember, this is only kind of over.
I mean, just first up, crushing the protest
doesn't fix the obvious social divisions
that caused it in the first place.
And while the police cleared the streets
around Parliament over the weekend,
lawmakers addressed just that,
debating whether or not to ratify Justin Trudeau's
invocation of the Emergencies Act,
a temporary measure giving the federal government extended powers to address just that. Debating whether or not to ratify Justin Trudeau's invocation of the Emergencies Act, a temporary measure giving the federal government
extended powers to address the protest.
Because while he invoked it Monday of last week,
it actually took until this Monday night
for the House of Commons to officially approve it
for 30 days, voting 185 to 151.
With conservative opposition,
lawmakers arguing this is an abuse of power.
But this also resulted in op-eds popping up like this one
in the Wall Street Journal,
reading, Will Canadian Democracy Survive Justin Trudeau?
And with that, of course, there are people that say,
you know, that's completely overblown saying, you know,
democracy itself is not at risk there,
but also still wondering, did Trudeau go overboard
with the response to all of this?
Because there is the very legitimate debate
that happens time and time again
when we see instances like this of what's the difference
between a lawful and unlawful protest, right?
Where is that line?
Are people lying about where the line is?
They're manipulating the situation?
Does it lead to some sort of power grab or overbearing government?
And then of course the final thing we're gonna talk about today is the day
that the office was shut down because there was an American holiday is the day that things heavily escalated between Russia and Ukraine.
At the start of the weekend things began to heat up. There were reports of more Russian troops being brought to the region despite Russian claims
that they were withdrawing. On top of that, there was shelling seemingly
between Russian separatists in the Donbas region
and the Ukrainian army.
Then suddenly there were alleged bombs in Donetsk,
one of the breakaway capitals.
All of that led to further Russian rhetoric
about protecting the people there
before those breakaway governments began evacuating women,
children, and the elderly.
And during all of this, you had Ukrainian President Zelensky
asking for a concrete timeline
of when Ukraine could be admitted to NATO
and asking for the West to impose sanctions on Russia. And that speedrun
explanation brings us to Monday where things really went off the rails. First off, Putin decided to officially recognize the Donetsk People's Republic and
Luhansk People's Republic as independent states. Now that alone would have been bad enough, but to add insult to injury,
he also guaranteed their security, meaning that any actions against them would be an action against Russia. Also to quote,
help these breakaway republics, Putin sent Russian troops into the regions, meaning that Russian troops have again invaded Ukraine. And I say again, because it's
important to remember that Russia already forcibly took Crimea in 2014, not to mention the fact that
certain unmarked Russian troops have likely been in the Donbass region for a while. And a real
quick thing, it's a side thing, but I do want to hit on because it's something important. A lot of
outlets, even Western ones, followed Putin's lead in calling these invading troops peacekeepers.
But calling them that, even in quotes, is widely seen as conceding some legitimacy to Putin's lead in calling these invading troops peacekeepers. But calling them that, even in quotes,
is widely seen as conceding some legitimacy
to Putin's filled with lies narratives,
while also possibly spreading the perception
that Russian troops are some kind of neutral third party
to keep the peace.
They're not, they're there to infringe on Ukraine's
sovereignty and at best, help break away regions leave
and at worst, eventually annex them.
And during his speech that recognized the independence
of these territories,
Putin, who once lamented the fall of the Soviet Union
as the greatest geopolitical catastrophe in the last 100 years, also had some other rhetoric that shines light on how he sees the world.
Saying, modern Ukraine was entirely and fully created by Russia, more specifically, the Bolshevik communist Russia.
This process began practically immediately after the 1917 revolution, and moreover, Lenin and his associates did it in the sloppiest way in relation to Russia by dividing, tearing from her pieces of her own historical territory,
with him adding that Ukraine was, quote,
ancestral Russian lands.
So understand, he's trying to set up this narrative
that Ukraine has always been a part of Russia until 1917,
and simply put, that's not true at all.
Ukrainians were acting in their own interests at that time,
and while we obviously don't have time
to get into all of that right now,
if you do want more info on that,
check out Mike Duncan's Revolutions podcast.
He's currently covering the Russian Revolution
and he goes into detail about how Putin's version of events
is way off base.
You also have the US Embassy in Kyiv
giving a more concise meme version of events
of why Putin is wrong here.
But either way, the entire situation
has led to a confrontation at the UN
with the Russian ambassador to the UN
justifying the invasion by claiming
that it was to protect Russian speaking people
living in the region.
While the Ukrainian ambassador demanded
that Russia withdraw their recognition
of the breakaway states. And following all of this, we had the expected reaction from the region, while the Ukrainian ambassador demanded that Russia withdraw their recognition of the breakaway states.
And following all of this,
we had the expected reaction from the West, sanctions.
Here in the US, President Joe Biden signed an executive order
that target both the Donetsk and Luhansk peoples' republics.
It'll essentially stop Americans
from working with the regions
by blocking new investment, trade, and financing
by US persons to, from, or in the regions.
This also won't be the end of the road for sanctions,
with Jen Psaki adding,
"'To be clear, these measures are separate from,
and would be in addition to the swift
"'and severe economic measures we have been preparing
"'in coordination with allies and partners
"'should Russia further invade Ukraine.'"
And as I was recording today,
Biden spoke and detailed new sanctions on Russia,
indicating that it would block transactions
with two major banks there,
including the country's military bank,
as well as placing restrictions
on refinancing its national debt.
And this could be a major problem for Russia,
as it's not uncommon for nations to pull out new loans
to pay their old ones.
And Western banks are one of the largest contributors
for this around the world.
But the US wasn't alone here, right?
This morning we had British Prime Minister Boris Johnson
announcing targeted sanctions against five Russian banks
and three wealthy individuals following Monday's events.
This on top of other sanctions already in place
due to Russia assassinating dissidents living in the UK.
However, many in the House of Commons on both sides
made their displeasure at the sanctions known,
though it's largely because they didn't go far enough.
But you had Johnson defending them and saying,
this is the first barrage of what we are prepared to do,
and we hold further sanctions at readiness to be deployed alongside the United States and the European Union
if the situation escalates still further.
And the European Union as a whole is still working on its sanctions package,
with leaders saying that Russia will feel the pain,
but in the meantime, some members have moved to limit what they can.
With Germany making the absolutely massive move of suspending the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline
Which would have been a major source of income for Russia when completed but from here the big question is well
What happens next obviously sanctions are on their way
But will things escalate as Ukraine essentially screwed and guaranteed to lose more territory to Russia because you have US officials pretty sure that Russian
Troops will eventually invade parts of Ukraine that are actually controlled by the Ukrainian military. And that is because Russia seemingly recognized the territorial claims made by the breakaway regions,
and 70% of which are still controlled by Ukraine.
And to that end, we have continued reports of shelling on Ukrainian positions.
And possibly one of the longest lasting effects of all this may be the proliferation of nuclear weapons.
Where Ukraine used to have them, in fact, it had more than Russia after the fall of the Soviet Union,
but they gave them up for assurances that it would remain independent.
And so with all of this going down, the Ukrainian president lamented that decision, saying on Saturday,
Ukraine has received security guarantees for abandoning the world's third nuclear capability.
We don't have that weapon. We also have no security.
And that last statement is something that many nations might feel after watching Russia eat up its neighbors.
Where you either need to be in a security alliance with nuclear deterrence, or you need to make your own to maintain your sovereignty.
But that, ultimately, is where make your own to maintain your sovereignty.
But that ultimately is where that story
and today's show ends.
As always, thank you for being a part
of these daily dives into the news,
you beautiful bastards.
My name's Philip DeFranco.
You've just been filled in.
I love yo faces and I'll see you tomorrow.
