The Reel Rejects - BRIDGERTON 2x4 & 2x5 REVIEW – SHE IS THE BANE OF ANTHONY'S EXISTENCE! – FIRST TIME WATCHING
Episode Date: March 21, 2026EDWINA DESERVES SO MUCH BETTER!! W/ Bridgerton Season 4 now on Netflix, we CONTINUE our First Time Watch for Season 2! Download PrizePicks today at https://www.prizepicks.onelink.me/LME... & u...se code REJECTS to get $50 instantly when you play $5! BRIDGERTON Full Reaction Watch Along: / thereelrejects BRIDGERTON 2x1 & 2x2 Reaction: • BRIDGERTON S2 EP 1–2 REACTION –THEY CLEARL... BRIDGERTON 2x3 Reaction: • BRIDGERTON 2x03 REACTION – THAT BEE STING ... Gift Someone (Or Yourself) An RR Tee! https://shorturl.at/hekk2 Greg Alba & John Humphrey react to and review Bridgerton Season 2, Episodes 4 & 5 — “Victory” and “An Unthinkable Fate.” Netflix’s hit period drama from Shonda Rhimes (Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal) continues to turn up the romance, tension, and scandal as the complicated love triangle between Anthony Bridgerton and the Sharma sisters reaches a boiling point. Intense Suspense by Audionautix is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/... Support The Channel By Getting Some REEL REJECTS Apparel! https://www.rejectnationshop.com/ Follow Us On Socials: Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/reelrejects/ Tik-Tok: https://www.tiktok.com/@reelrejects?lang=en Twitter: https://x.com/reelrejects Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheReelRejects/ Music Used In Ad: Hat the Jazz by Twin Musicom is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Happy Alley by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/... POWERED BY @GFUEL Visit https://gfuel.ly/3wD5Ygo and use code REJECTNATION for 20% off select tubs!! Head Editor: https://www.instagram.com/praperhq/?hl=en Co-Editor: Greg Alba Co-Editor: John Humphrey Music In Video: Airport Lounge - Disco Ultralounge by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Ask Us A QUESTION On CAMEO: https://www.cameo.com/thereelrejects Follow TheReelRejects On FACEBOOK, TWITTER, & INSTAGRAM: FB: https://www.facebook.com/TheReelRejects/ INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/reelrejects/ TWITTER: https://twitter.com/thereelrejects Follow GREG ON INSTAGRAM & TWITTER: INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/thegregalba/ TWITTER: https://twitter.com/thegregalba Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
One Plus One equals more of the greatest stories.
Hulu on Disney Plus.
Stories about survivors.
The most dangerous planet.
Family.
Retribution.
Murder.
Prophecy.
Beer and propane.
Bobby Dillard.
Blake Pantha.
The ultimate soldier.
Chicago, all right?
The best of the best stories now with even more from Hulu.
Amazing.
Have it all with BYU on Disney Plus.
When West Jeffers took flight in 1996,
The vibes were a bit different.
People thought denim on denim was peak fashion.
Inline skates were everywhere,
and two out of three women rocked, the Rachel.
While those things stayed in the 90s,
one thing that hasn't is that fuzzy feeling you get
when WestJet welcomes you on board.
Here's to WestJetting since 96.
Travel back in time with us
and actually travel with us
at westjet.com slash 30 years.
Hey, I'm Seth Shackner.
Check out my new show, Breaking Down the Biz.
Every week, I sit down with people
who actually make movies, music, and media happen.
executives from Sony, Universal, Apple, NBC.
Together, we cut through industry jargon and hype to show you how the business is built.
What's key to making everything come together and why it matters to you.
From iTunes impact on the music industry to the advent of AI, from the Taylor Swift ticket sales fiasco,
to Bad Bunny's mediarch rise, we break down the stories, the numbers, and the negotiations that shape the industry.
I've been in the trenches of the entertainment industry for several decades with leadership roles at companies like
Sony, Paramount, and Jive Records.
My guests and I are going to provide the same thoughtful, concise insights that I'm trusted
to bring on TV networks like CNN and NBC, surrounding the industry and its culture-defining
moments.
We'll touch on the business of music, filmmaking, and streaming, and the emerging technology
of our time.
If you've ever wondered what really happens behind the scenes of the entertainment business,
this is a bite-sized insider guide.
Subscribe now on your favorite podcast platform or watch us on YouTube.
so you never miss a beat.
Let's make sense of this industry together.
This week's videos are sponsored by Price Picks,
the easy-to-use fantasy sports betting app.
More on them in just a bit.
Okay.
Holy shit.
That was crazy.
A lot happened in the ton.
Leave a like on the video.
Subscribe, hit the notification bell.
to get notified when more bridging comes your way.
Thanks to Prepper for chopping down the highlights.
But if you want more than just the highlights,
you can see those over at patreon.com slash the real rejects
where you can sync up with your own copy,
your own Netflix account.
Save yourself a little discounts
and rejectnation shop.com memorabilia.
See our shooting schedule?
Ask us questions.
A hell of questions for this one.
We got a hell of questions for this one.
Geez.
These must be two of the most
popular episodes. Oh, Jesus
Christ. Okay. All right.
I mean,
should we just dive right in the questions?
I'm feeling good,
gee. I'm feeling catharsed.
I'm feeling riled up.
I'm upset, but I'm also
I'm feeling all the things
they want me to feel. How are you?
Man, that is
that is just crazy stuff. Yeah.
That was hard.
I'm like,
there's a great set of stakes because I'm like either way it seems like
someone's going to have a very unhappy ending and then my brain goes
so what crazy shit are they going to pull out to make it so that everyone gets a happy
ending some random crazy amazing suitor has to show up for adweena out of nowhere
so that yeah Anthony and Kate can get together
I mean this is a great mids midpoint of the show though
yeah of this season yeah totally
because that conflict is really confused
like the
although it does
seem like Edwina
is just a little
girl in love.
It does.
It's like you,
I feel like when you're older
you'd realize
that this was just
an infatuation you had.
I suppose.
Yeah.
I mean,
there's nothing
compelling about them
getting together.
Yeah.
And like they don't,
it's clear
in the way they depict
all of their interactions
that Anthony is being
genial, but he's not
really that invested.
And they're
aren't a lot of other scenes to like contrast that between the two of them and you in i think you
echoed this during the episode like surprised between between it isn't uh i get i get that you see what
you want to see when you're smitten especially but i'm surprised that she's not more like i can't
tell if he's actually he actually cares like a love triangle i i want to even really call us a love
triangle because a love triangle is when the center character can't decide between the two
because it's there there's connection with both yeah when one is like eh one's a responsibility
choice kind of a chore and the other one is an actual love that he has you know i'm only counting
it as a triangle because edwina purports to love him so because she is so it's like the stakes are
triangular anyway. It's like I can't
see a way for all three of these people to be happy
yet. No, we're just
a big victim in all this. Yeah, it's so sad.
She's just a pawn in the game of the rich
I think they just got a killer. They do.
It'll make things so much easier.
She'll be at peace. She won't have to deal with any
of this shit. But I like how
dark it's getting.
Yeah. Like the choices
are harder. Whereas
season one was like, guys,
just fucking have a conversation.
Yeah.
Yeah, man.
It's great.
I fucking loved it.
Let go of a few things and have a couple, yeah,
plane talks and this can all be solved.
This is like really hard and the tension is so high.
Like whatever they're about to kiss is like,
so you're going to catch her stop against the top shot.
Yeah.
And then part of me was like,
just fucking do it right here in the lake right now.
And that one's around.
I know.
Get it out of your system.
Well, yeah.
And the back and forth of that playing with us.
And like, you know,
I thought they be having him actually out.
the feelings was cathartic, but yeah, they've
by and large, teased
and built, but not ever given you
the catharsis between, I'm not
expecting between Anthony and Kate until like
the very end, honestly, if it comes to all.
Well, it's acknowledging everything
that we've been thinking.
Yeah.
Of, um,
you know,
that,
hey, is this just an infatuation
that they both have with each other? It's just like a,
is this just like a heavy level of initial
lust and attraction? Yeah.
In the world of Bridgetton, you know, long enough, prolonged eye contact means love in this world.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
It's just that world.
When you've stood more than less than, you know, a few feet apart for enough hours at a time, you're pretty much engaged.
I mean, when I beat people back then, I know some people who were like, oh, yeah, I got married way too young, like old fucking people.
Like, I got married way too young.
And then sometimes it's the opposite case.
We've got into each other for a little bit, and then we got married and we've been together for like 40 years.
Yeah.
We love each other.
You know, so back then, though, um, the rules of love were very, very different.
And so, yeah, like, I'll, I'll just bind to the narrative that they're in love with each other.
But like how they're addressing, like, those is just a passionate thing that it'll pass.
Like, this will pass.
Just attraction, you know, the other things will come around.
And they're both, and the conflict is really well woven because both Anthony and Kate are very duty driven.
Yeah.
So they're, they would both talk.
themselves into
you can do
this marriage
because it's about duty
at the end of the day
and your feelings
don't matter
and they will pass
you know
so it's really well woven
I will say like
I'm enjoying the B
stories particularly
the Featherington's story
yeah it is fun
I do recall
I've always
I always enjoyed the B stories
when they cut to them
but I do recall our experience
with season one
like really
encapsulating every story
that was going on
yeah like beyond Simon
and
Daphne, we were really into like every story that we felt like compelled to talk about them, whereas there's one storyline here that is particularly like fucking gripping.
And then the other ones are engaging and enjoyable, but they're not on equal level.
Like the triangle story is so engaging and everything with the fucking Sheffield showing up.
Like, I mean, like, I got kind of emotional actually.
Yeah.
You know, watching her, the mom stand up.
And then Anthony even stepping up.
Like that was, that was actually like a really.
moving scene.
And, you know, like everything with Penelope is enjoyable, Benedict in school, Colin on his,
you know, a wanderlust, no, Colin, Colin. Colin. Colin. Colin. Colin. Colin. Colin. It's like,
what am I doing in my life?
I guess I go to Greece? I don't know. I guess I'll go visit my ex. I don't know. I guess I'll
ignore this girl right in front of me. I don't know. And Eloise finding her independent voice.
amongst the pores.
Yeah, in the
in the duly lit side of town.
They're all enjoyable.
Like, they're all really enjoyable,
but they're,
I don't feel as, like,
strongly urgent to even, like,
really talk about, you know?
It's not really even a criticism.
It's just,
if I'm preparing to season one,
because people have often said
season two is their favorite,
and I'm like,
oh, the main storyline,
I totally see why.
But the B stories are,
are not as,
uh,
gripping just yet in the terms of the tension yeah they're same like yeah i would agree it's like
it's not a good or bad value it's just they are the first season felt more like an ensemble
that had focus on daphne and simon but more yeah but more of an ensemble generally whereas like
the proportionality of the plots here is very much anthony adwina kate and then the featheringtons
and then a little bit of everyone else you know it's kind of how how
it seems to to break down now.
And that's, like I said, I would agree.
It's like, this is such gripping drama with the three of them.
And it's like high stakes.
And, you know, you're like, how the hell are they ever going to?
Like, it's to the point now where half my brain is like, I know they have to find love by the end.
But the other half my brain is like, we've gone so far back and forth.
I don't know what's going to happen, which is good.
But, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
There's a different feeling.
And then the Featheringtons are like super immutable.
I do really like them as like the contrast as like the Bridgerton's or this is how society works when you've got all your shit together and it's still hard, but you've got all your shit together and the Featheringtins are like, this is how society works when you look like you got your shit together and everything is on fire. Yeah. And it's a it's I really do appreciate that like I thought I was going. I thought they were going to be more hateable. Whereas like they do shitty petty things, but they're always fun to watch and those performers are great. So all right. Shit.
Well, let's go into some questions.
Let's do it.
Selimith Sanchez.
That's a cool name.
Let's see.
Hey, guys, super excited to see you guys react to this season.
Season 2 is my favorite, so I'm loving watching you guys react to it.
You guys have interesting ways of seeing things,
so I'm curious how you digest slash interpret this season after episode 4.
How are you feeling about the tension between the main characters compared to season one?
Okay.
Well, not exactly.
I thought I completely answered this question already.
The tension, the tension's way more high stakes, for sure.
Yeah.
Because they're aware of how they actually feel, but it's the situation that's preventing them from stuff.
where Simon and Daphne is kind of funny in retrospect
because it's like the game we were playing
was just you really liked each other the whole time
and you're just figuring out how to recognize
and articulate that properly
that you're not playing a game that you actually love each other
yeah yeah which is great which is yeah
and then he wants to have children you know
and that was a little bit more we know he'll get around to it
yeah I can see the way
way to heal all of this
and it's largely just between
the two of them so there's less mess
where I hear I'm like I have no idea
how this is 100% I'm like
yeah it seems like these stakes are fucking impossible
and someone's gonna end up like a pariah
in the dimly lit part of town
after this it's like it stands
to reason that you would go
hey
fucking Kate and
Anthony would end up together
and Edwina
would somehow be understanding or whatever
but from where we're currently and I'm like I don't really see how that's a scenario I feel like the only way this could end you know in a in if I'm thinking of my limited understanding of the tropes of a romance novel partly part my brain goes okay so you have to have a way to get Kate and Antony together but that also allows for Edwina to find someone who truly loves her the only thing that could actually help her is replacing Antony with someone who actually intends to love her along
with all the other shit.
Oh, yeah, that one guy who keeps courting.
And now I'm like, I don't know.
That's the thing.
It's like, I don't know who to sub in there.
I'm like, it could be Colin, but there's shit with him and Penn.
And I don't know.
I don't think there's nothing in this season to suggest that that would be an idea.
The other guy at least is involved in the, you know, yeah, he's in Decate.
So there's some connective tissue there.
But yeah, I have no actual guess.
But yeah, is it super.
I appreciate the tension.
I mean, it seems like for especially like for Penelope, the tension's higher.
because she's got to like skirt around and elie is like on her trail slash also disinterested in what she's doing and then the tension is more fun between the featheringtons this season i think
even though their stakes are always
catastrophic but like it's it's like
they ride that line of like
it's on a cartoon but it's still like fun with them
and then with Anthony and
Kate it's like unbearable
and then it's really sad when you think of
adwina because then you're like this person's just
getting trampled by all this
yeah so yeah very tense in a did a different
in like a more vivid way I guess
it feels more intense I suppose
is how I would describe it
oh shit
let me start with something honest
I'm not the most hardcore sports person in the world, believe it or not.
But I am hardcore about my love for my wife.
She's the reason I even discovered fantasy sports.
She and her friends play together.
And I wanted a way to join in without needing to know every stat sheet in existence.
That is actually how I discovered Price Picks.
Price Picks is a daily fantasy sports app where you build lineups by picking more or less on player stat projections.
You pick two to six players and if your picks are right, you have the opportunity to cash in.
It's basically fantasy sports built around player stats instead of drafting entire teams.
So it feels way easier to jump onto, especially for someone like myself.
You can pick from tons of sports, basketball, baseball, hockey, UFC, golf, tennis, e-sports, and more.
Whatever those more are.
They have great features like the early payouts, the stacks, and flex play.
Price Picks, they operate in all 50 states, and that includes California.
And withdrawals are fast and secure.
So, Rejects, you can download the Price Picks app today and use code Reject.
to get $50 in lineup after you play your first $5 lineup.
That's code rejects to get $50 in lineups
after you play your first $5 lineup.
Price fix.
It's good to be right.
Care Bear.
Lord G&J.
In this episode, El Luis clashes with a suitor
who dismisses her intellect,
claiming most women cannot articulate a thought.
When El Luis retorts that women have not been given
the same opportunities as
men. She has choded again.
Ha, ha.
Since the poilet,
Alwis has vented
that women are bar barred
from university and denied
financial professional freedom.
Why do you think Elouisa's plight
still resonates so deeply with modern viewers?
Oh, because of
a society.
Because even though we've come
some way from this,
we're not all the way where we should be.
And it seems funny.
in the modern times that such antiquated parameters and limitations should still be affecting us.
Now, I haven't seen The Bride.
And so I'm not going to speak to that movie.
I know you saw it.
You're going to love it.
I have a feeling I'll love this shit out of that movie that I was already super on the fence about.
I'm fascinated.
It's a 50-50, man.
That movie is truly like you're going to love it or maybe really appreciated it, but not think it's not a mess.
Well, I was listening to this interview with Maggie Gyllenhaalm and or a clip out from the interview.
And she was speaking on how the disparagingness of how like only 8% of women direct the movies that are released.
And when their women are only usually allowed to direct or given the opportunity to direct small films.
But when they're given the opportunity to direct a big film, it becomes like this huge ordeal.
And it's like dangerous for some reason.
season.
And I couldn't counteract that.
You know, like there's only so few who are like,
well,
Barbic, you know, there's not many where you can
honestly go like, oh yeah, women are
constantly given. So there's even in this field
of filmmaking, women are not given the same
opportunity. And then when they are given an opportunity of that
caliber, it really becomes a big deal that's a fucking woman doing it.
And then there's a section of society that will put
blame on like
because it's this fucking woman who made it
you know so
the reason I'm bringing up specifically
that example is because
we're watching a television show
and in this medium
of television and filmmaking
even there it is
like
her
the
the uh
the opportunities are
do
fuck with what a woman's expression
Yeah, the opportunities are not equitable even still.
Yeah.
So, yeah, Noel Luis has always been written as a modern-day character living in this past
where women are very much expected to be a certain way.
It was a great summation.
What the woman was saying on stage is that the whole, like, the only knowledge you get is like what you happen to, you know, catch from your husband or brother or whatever.
Yeah.
Yeah. It's messed up.
I mean, to your little fun facts here,
74 is when women were able to open bank accounts in the U.S.
without a husband's signature,
and in 1977 is when Harvard accepted its first female undergrad.
That's crazy.
Biggest mistake.
That's way more recent than I would have expected
for either of those things.
Yeah.
Too soon, if you ask me.
Too soon.
Making shit uncomfortable for everyone.
Let's go to...
Oh, wait a minute.
No, we've got some repeats here.
Oh, no.
Oh, no.
Well, we didn't realize I go in.
Let's go to...
Let's go to this one for another follow-up from Care Bear.
All right, Care Bear!
Greg, during Bridgetton's...
During Bridgetton's Season 1, episode 3, reaction,
you watched a 10th exchange between Anthony and the Duke,
observing aloud that Simon was, quote,
becoming the bane of Anthony's existence.
The YouTube comments went nuts debating
if you were a secret bridge fan
or a powerful clairvoyant.
Question, do you still believe
Simon is the bane of Anthony's?
Did you say that?
That must have something you said.
Oh, maybe.
I don't know, maybe.
I feel like you might have said that.
I could hear it in my mind's ear,
but we'll have to go back and check the tape.
I don't remember who said that.
I feel like that's something you've said.
There's a shortcut we can do to discover this.
Yeah, we can check the transcripts.
Pull up the transcript.
Pull up the, yeah, the subtitles.
Bridgerton, one by three.
I mean, while I'm doing this.
I saw another question.
Do you have a real answer to this question?
I mean, I do now.
Simon is in no way going to be in a position.
I don't think where Anthony is like,
no matter where on earth you are,
not going to be far enough for me.
like you know i feel like it's he says it's kate for sure because she's got his heart and that's
messing with his whole duty what's this movie i got to write down this universal reminders of him
cool got to react to dude um hell yeah oh it's her from freaking vein it follows 10 56
oh someone did that is a lot of the comments you're right shit we never never noticed it
that's funny we don't read the comments early on because we don't want to get this shit
spoiled. Nor have we read the books
early on. Let's
see who's... I think this is...
I think you said this. Come on. Come on.
Come on.
Simon is becoming
the...
Oh, I said it.
Hell yeah.
I heard it in your voice.
It's like...
It's the thing I would say. It's a phrase.
But I could hear it in your voice in my
ears.
Oh, okay.
It was a fucking prediction.
It was just a coincidence.
I do love it.
that knowing that in hindsight.
It's kind of funny like going to these comments and they are the top comments actually
of this video.
That is actually very interesting.
Wow.
No,
he's not,
but that is fun.
I'm glad I had no idea those are the top comments.
So that's actually pretty funny to like discover that.
Yeah.
Can we know you, sorry.
No, me?
Anna Karen.
Can we appreciate the jealous.
lake scene for a moment.
Y'all finally got to one of the most iconic and viral moments,
which is you are the bane of my existence.
I don't even know.
Do we even really like react to that?
I mean, I think, I don't know if we reacted to it specifically.
Because I was just taking that scene in.
It was like really hooked.
Yeah.
If I'm honest, I'm even surprised y'all hadn't heard it.
No.
It struck me when he said it at least in my ear.
Yeah.
It's a defining line.
I don't know if I, be out of it.
know if I went oh the way I should have
yeah we didn't really go
whoa you know yeah
it's weird if I've had seen these comments
beforehand then I guess I might have looked out
for the line no but I definitely
I remember when he said it that's when the camera
was going right behind her yeah
and like it was doing that like fucking Paul
Greengrass over the shoulder behind
went from like using went from right to left
I remember exactly when it was
so yeah
the line stands out
I hope you can feel it's fucking hey when people
assume that because we didn't make a noise that people think we didn't really take that in even though i can
completely recount when that was i hope you can feel all the tension between cantony canthony is very
flattering name uh okay okay my question is how do you feel about anthony's character development
they have done with him so far oh it's great it's it's really really really good and i actually
really like the nuance of when he stood up for them because you could tell it's coming from a true place
but it's also like opportunity
to get on the fucking marriage.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
It's so funny.
And at the time, and with your
modern brain on, you just
think, go, man.
And then once you catch yourself, you're like,
oh, shit, this is like way outside.
It is beyond the pale of polite society
as he tries to tell him.
And I mean, that too is a great scene
because it's that, it's the ugly side
of polite society where it's like,
if we want to, because of our status,
we can sit here and be really petty and messed up
and just be passive aggressive and really start going on in an offensive,
you know,
in a way that due to polite,
you know,
decorum,
you can't just call out the way he did.
So,
yeah,
it was a nice way to watch like the weird abusive and confronting of that abuse of power.
Well,
I think the layers to his performance are really good.
Last season,
he was just overprotective brother who was in love with someone he shouldn't be in
love with.
Yeah.
And not that he shouldn't be,
but society says no wouldn't accept it.
Yeah.
Whereas here he's...
He's got a real obsession probably.
He's got an obsession.
He's got to carry the family on his back.
He's got unprocessed grief and trauma
over the death of his father by beasting.
But yeah, that...
I mean, his whole character is rooted in the fact
that he never had time to grieve,
and that keeps showing up.
And I think that's really...
I think his performance is so good.
Yeah.
So good.
I forget he's gay and...
real life. I know.
Well, he seems
Yeah. He seems so straight.
He seems like he loved everyone.
Yeah. He and Scarlett
Johansson had sex on the red carpet for
Jurassic Worlds. Oh, good.
Yeah.
I forget he's in debt.
Yeah.
It's like a guy. He's just a guy.
He's just a guy. He's just a guy.
He was a slutty little glasses.
It's funny. It is
like, I liked him in that movie,
I recall. But he is like the most
just a guy I've ever seen
Like in, yeah, in Wicked, you know, he stands out in this show, stands out.
But it's good.
He's got range.
He does.
He's really good.
No, I liked him in season one.
I love watching him here.
I really love watching him here.
It was a bit of a sell for me in the first couple episodes for me.
It wasn't until the grieving, the same way how Simon's father episode did, like, wonders to get me hooked into him.
Yeah.
it's the exact same thing here for Anthony of like, oh, shit, I really get this guy now.
And I first, I was like, I just don't see how it could be more interested in watching Simon.
Now, you know, like, oh, this is actually very interesting.
Now I.
And also what they're doing with, let me just make sure no one brings it up, and what they're doing with the mom, too.
Like the way how they've changed that dynamic, because they always go, they bicker in the first season.
They go toe to toe.
But now the mom is seeing how he's about to throw his love life.
away and it's trying to pull him back to a sense of
like comfort and like mother him a little bit
yeah it's like they're coming from less of a
attempted similar eye line
it's like they have certain
like responsibility for the house
like knowledge of
it's like they can
converse on a similar level but this is
more her feeling like a mom
to him as well as you know the keeper
of the estate yeah you know
take it away john
patricia carrieu
thank you for chiming in episode
four of each season leaves on that big cliffhanger.
Season one was Daphney stopping the duel and saying they would marry.
Season two is the proposal.
Proposal.
The first two seasons did not have the season splits that are now becoming Netflix norm.
Story-wise, how would you have felt if you had had to wait to watch the second half
after these story points?
I fucking hate that with Netflix, honestly.
I think it's such a bad move with most of the time they do it.
I think it's, I think it's cheap.
and not every show requires that.
Like what they have with the split up with Arcane was smart
because Arcane was designed to be that way.
Three acts.
Stranger Things season four was designed that way.
Like that was perfect.
It felt like a part one and a part two of the same season.
You know, Breaking Bad had that, but it wasn't Netflix, you know,
and it wasn't a streaming show.
Most of the time I feel like it's a shit move.
And I think it affects the viewing experience.
because it sounds to me
in a lot of time
when these people are writing the show
and they're going to wear this
going to fucking happen
until like they're in the middle
of production on it or something.
Like oh God we got to try some like crazy
cliffhanger for the middle of the season now
when most of the time these stories
are best a streaming show
that is meant to be taken in as one whole
as a season versus episode by episode.
It's important to take
I'll do season four as an example.
Season four, I don't know what happens
in that season.
but I do remember the rhetoric of a good amount of people where they watched the first half and they weren't super into it.
And then the second half, everyone was like, best, Susan Bridgeton.
You know?
Well, that's the thing about watching this now is that.
I think you might lose viewers, too, if the first half isn't that strong, you know?
Yeah.
And my experience of this show so far, it's funny, we're watching four and five in relative succession here.
like I actually might not have quite realized that's where a chapter breaks should go
and I feel like this show thus far has been such that it kind of just builds the stakes in momentum
until you finally get to the end whereas I feel like to sell a two-part release you need
that buildup and climax two times to kind of justify it the way a stranger thing is like oh
these are two chapters and not that like a proposal or or break
taking off this duel can't be that but uh but yeah these don't seem inherently designed to be like
spaced out in a specific fashion and i'm curious to see now just how i would feel it sounds like it's
not going to feel hugely different but uh with them knowing probably later on these are going to get
broken up if it affects anything but but uh i don't know yeah i think it harms stranger things five yes i would
agree i think it harms because it also builds like a hype and a
anticipation and then when it's not
gonna do, and it doesn't deliver
on whatever that is in that
second half like, why the fuck do we wait for this?
Well, and it's not a, that was too, it's like
I think that is weird. I think the arcane
thing is a really cool
one to entertain with the right
project because you're right. It's like it makes sense
to break it up into a few
parts and also structurally, three
acts. Two halves can
work, I feel like, but
I don't know, there's something
I had a better point a minute.
Wednesday season two is all right with that.
That's what it was.
Like, Stranger Things was released in these odd shaped chival, what, three, four, and then one
jumbo episode.
So, like, even that made, I feel like this season as a whole feel more lurching.
So, like, I'm more optimistic about if it's two proportionally sized halves, then fine.
But, uh, but, but yeah, I don't, I've yet to find, as much as I like that they try these
different release strategies and don't only go for drop it all at once and have the conversation
be a weekend long, you know, like at the same time, I haven't encountered a bunch of ways.
I think it works really, really well.
Well, they're trying to find which, like, which show.
And I think Disney Plus is actually the one that's experimenting with it the best where they're going.
This show should drop out at once.
This show should be week to week.
Like Prime Video has a very specific.
We drop three and then one, one, one, because three will get you the audience invested where they want to keep coming back because they're going to be like, oh, let's watch all three.
And then by that point, you've committed.
Yeah.
So it's smart.
But not every show.
show is now designed to be a week to week. They're just not. You know, it's the reality of it.
Like, honestly, it's season two of this doesn't feel like it, like there's, there's so long that you
would think, but I am seeing like, sometimes when we're talking about, I'm like, we should just continue.
Yeah, yeah, yeah. Yeah, because yeah, with, yeah, no, it's just a really good point. It's like you
used to be bound by terrestrial schedules, television, technology, et cetera. So, yeah, you would have to
structure something because like yeah
it just wasn't the way of things that you could get basically one long movie
that's cut up out at a time
before you had to do
it was like TV used to be like comics I would imagine
where it's like you have to do your single issues
as single issues and beat out the whole storyline
whereas yeah now in the age of streaming it's just like eh
you know it's like a pizza you just get it
yeah and then it's good uh
a couple more we gotta make these ones quick though
uh jrushton can all rejects your knowledge swim the boat ride may kind of nervous there
oh um i mean i don't think i i feel like we should all be able to maybe swim i don't know
i feel like one of us can't swim i feel like maybe not can andrew swim he strikes me as to what too
i'm like what he should be able to i feel like he see yeah yeah uh i mean i would like
to imagine everybody's swim because
I feel like everybody here would have a very, very different
swimming form.
But I think...
I think Koi can't swim.
Oh, that sounds right.
I feel like he has said that
out loud to me at some point.
Yeah, because he keeps trying to punch the water.
Yeah.
Well, and he's so dense with muscle
that he just sinks.
He physically cannot swim.
He's just the cement inside of that epidermis of his.
He's metal Mario.
Oh, sure.
I feel like it's only fair since you read two
questions from someone that we should read.
Oh, the other one from
Selimuth? Yeah.
Selimuth Sanchez, thank you for
chiming in once again. Random question for you guys.
Are either of you,
the eldest sibling in your family?
Do you think being the eldest sometimes
creates pressure to be the responsible
one or make difficult decisions
for everyone else?
Well, I am, John is
the youngest of two. I am.
I am middle child, so I am
an older sibling.
and I'll admit I'm not like the best older brother.
I'm not someone who feels that like weight of responsibility.
You know, that can't be said for Jabby Kaua.
Yeah, I was going to say your brother is very much like,
dad died.
I'm taking control his.
I am the captain now.
I am your father now.
I'm looking out for everyone.
I'm going to make sure this family sticks together.
Yeah.
happy he's very very much did become like that guy who feels like he has to keep the
the family together and take care of the mom and everything so and i'm probably more of like a
fucking like benedict or something honestly i was gonna say when i'm looking at this i'm like yeah
i'm definitely more of a better like i just kind of wanted to like do my own thing yeah my my my
sister is certainly much more of an antony than i am i am definitely more of a benedict
like different different vibes different situations but yes she's definitely the more like responsible
and the more sort of, yeah, like,
track or keeper of family affairs and things.
Yeah.
No, so I do, from what I've witnessed,
but I also know ones that were, it's not that at all.
We're the older one.
I feel like there's a generalization, though.
I imagine it's a cliche for a reason,
and I've seen it firsthand,
but I also know of families where the oldest is the most dysfunctional
and the one who needs the most being taken care of.
so it's not like a you know it's not an always situation sometimes they end up the absolute
worst of the bunch but no i think it's a very common thing for sure for sure
and uh javy co his real name is anthony too so i'm just fucking ironic
a little bit i was gonna say maybe you should slip him season two and be like you know
i mean no they're already done season two they start bridget it after us and then they started like
you know him he's just oh sure they they they
film like fucking, you know, wall to wall, five studios at a time.
They got like, every day, he's running three channels.
So it's just like, we're filming eight hours a day.
It really is there.
So they've like paired up all the Bridgeton.
I think they do like four episodes in a video or something.
Oh, boy.
So they started after us, but they're like way ahead of us now.
It's fascinating to see what they cover in high volume versus small versus what we cover in
high volume versus small because don't they do friends like three at a time at like half the pace?
those friends.
Oh,
yeah.
Anyway.
Yeah.
All right, guys.
Well,
thanks for being here.
And we'll see you next week.
Woo.
