The Sheet with Jeff Marek - Ovechkin Nets #900 ft. Greg Wyshynski and David Pagnotta
Episode Date: November 6, 2025Alex Ovechkin’s 900th goal steals the headlines — but Jordan Binnington literally tried to steal the puck, and Jeff Marek and Greg Wyshynski break down every layer of the NHL’s most chaotic vira...l moment. From the history of stolen milestone pucks, to whether Binnington planned a decoy, to how goal No. 900 shapes Ovechkin’s legacy, today’s special MvsW edition of The Sheet goes deep into one of the wildest storylines of the season. Jeff and Greg also dive into Macklin Celebrini’s electric start, the early Calder race, Matthew Schaefer’s stunning rise, and the “who would you build around?” debate heating up across the league. They revisit Crosby vs. Ovechkin as a generational rivalry, talk Bedard, Anaheim, Montreal, and the league’s next great star battles — and then David Pagnotta joins to detail the growing pressure in St. Louis, trade buzz around Brayden Schenn and Justin Faulk, Vancouver’s unraveling, Nashville’s potential coaching change, the Stamkos situation, the Saros question, and the latest on Adrian Kempe’s negotiation grind. A jam-packed show covering every major NHL storyline.#TheSheet #NHL #AlexOvechkin #Ovechkin #Capitals #WashingtonCapitals #900Goals #MvsW #JeffMarek #GregWyshynski #ConnorBedard #Blackhawks #Canucks #VancouverCanucks #ChicagoBlackhawks #LukasReichel #TeamCanada #Olympics #Celebrini #MatthewSchaefer #NHLHighlights #NHLNews #DavidPagnotta #Hockey #hockeyshow SHOUTOUT TO OUR SPONSORS!!👍🏼 Fan Duel: https://www.fanduel.com/👍🏼Bauer: https://www.bauer.com/👍🏼Uber Eats: https://www.ubereats.com/ca👍🏼Prime Video: https://primevideo-row.pxf.io/c/5560083/3303015/20020Reach out to sales@thenationnetwork.com to connect with our Sales Team and discuss opportunities to partner with us!If you liked this, check out:🚨 OTT - Coming in Hot Sens | https://www.youtube.com/c/thewallyandmethotshow🚨 TOR - LeafsNation | https://www.youtube.com/@theleafsnation401🚨 EDM - OilersNation | https://www.youtube.com/@Oilersnationdotcom🚨 VAN - CanucksArmy | https://www.youtube.com/@Canucks_Army🚨 CGY - FlamesNation | https://www.youtube.com/@Flames_Nation🚨 Daily Faceoff Fantasy & Betting | www.youtube.com/@DFOFantasyandBetting____________________________________________________________________________________________Connect with us on ⬇️Link Tree: https://linktr.ee/daily_faceoff💻 Website: https://www.dailyfaceoff.com🐦 Follow on twitter: https://x.com/DailyFaceoff💻 Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dailyfaceoffDaily Faceoff Merch:https://nationgear.ca/collections/daily-faceoff Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I'm going to break a rule to start the show today,
I'm going to break a rule.
A partner rule is being broken.
Here it goes.
Today I'm not going to be a broadcaster to start the show.
I am going to be a narrowcaster.
A narrowcaster.
Yes.
I am broadcasting to one person to start the show today.
I am doing something for one.
one person specifically.
And that person is Carter Hutton.
Me?
Carter Hutton.
A good friend Carter Hutton.
A member of the Daily Facedoff family of memory serves.
Absolutely.
Part of a DFO Live with Tyler Yaramchuk.
And this afternoon, about, well, under an hour ago, we're the Tyler and Carter were
talking about Jordan Bennington, trying to steal the show.
And by steal the show, I mean, steal the puck of Alexander Ovechkin for goal number 900.
and just in an off-handed remark, Carter said,
eh, if you want to do something,
maybe just like take the puck and throw it up into the stand
so some fan can make some money off of it.
And I kind of went, okay, go to the Rolodex here.
There's Pat Stapleton in 72 with the Summit Series puck,
which, by the way, one thing I always liked about Pat Stapleton,
whenever anyone asked him where the puck was,
he always gave a different story.
And he took the truth to the crematorium with him.
Like, we'll never know what the real story is.
Like, he took that one to the cemetery, but he always told a different story with that puck went.
With the Chris Pronger in 2010, collecting up pucks, which is a real famous one as well.
But for my money, this one is the best.
Do we want to do the context shot, or has everybody already seen Jordan Bittington try to steal the puck?
Let's do the context shot so people can see exactly what happened in case people didn't miss it.
Ovechkin scored goal number 900.
Jordan Biddington fishes it out of the next pick.
I'll take that.
slides the puck down the back, the back of his pants,
Eric, that's an important part here.
The back of his pants, he would go to keep it for years,
much like Christopher Walker and Pulp Fiction.
But, uh-oh, the line and said, sir, you've got to return this historic puck.
This belongs in a museum.
He said, Indiana Jones style, and Biddington took the puck out of his pants.
So that is the context.
And so Carter Hutton, this one is for you.
further to what you were talking about about
just throwing it into the stands
and letting a fan make a couple of bucks off of it.
This goes back.
This is one of my favorite moments
in the history of hockey.
And it's particularly salient for my country
because this was the last time
a hockey team from Canada
won the Stanley Cup.
This is 1993
in the fabled Montreal Forum
the dying seconds of the game.
So Zach Scott
this cute up. Oh boy, I got a filibuster here
for 22 seconds here.
Yeah, I was going to see the dying 22 seconds
of the game. The dying. Patrick
Wogg kicks one out with his right pad there.
The video is a little bit grainy
here, grabbing this one off the old YouTube, I would imagine.
So the clock is winding
down. Montreal is about to
win the Stanley Cup. Kelly, Rudy
stops it behind the net. Daryl Sador
picks it up and flips it into the
stands. Wow.
That is villain shit.
The Stanley
Cup winning puck into, I don't know if we can back that up again, Zach, to show it.
Here you go.
So, Daryl Sador grabs it, has a look up, and no one's getting this puck on the ice, flips it into the stands, and Montreal celebrates and the Los Angeles Kings go back to commiserate with one another back in their dressing room at the Montreal Forum.
Now, a couple of things.
You left one out, by the way, about the pucks and where they've all ended up.
Oh, Pat Kane.
Yeah, also from 2010, the Patrick Kane, top winning goal puck.
There was an entire outside the lines that ESPN did trying to find out whatever happened to that puck.
Because I believe it was, it was Steve Miller?
Was that the guy?
I want to say that was the guy who was an linesman, I believe, was accused of taking the puck.
There's a whole investigation into it.
You can check it out online if you'd like.
But, yeah, the Patrick Cain puck would be the other one.
What are your Bittington thoughts?
I cut you off.
No, just a quick follow up on Daryl Sodor quickly.
That puck exists somewhere.
Like, to me, that moment has the makings of a great documentary.
I remember I asked Daryl Sador about it a few years ago when I had him on for some reason on one of my mini shows.
And he said he didn't recall doing it.
He said it was news to me.
He was just pissed probably.
Just pissed.
Just like, F this.
Like, we just lost the Stanley Cup.
Marty McSorley and his stick, stick measurements and Jack DeMers, how dare you?
And he said he didn't really remember it.
To me, it's one of the most interesting pieces of video that we've seen in the NHL going back to 1993.
And again, I'll echo again, the last time a Canadian team won the Stanley Cup.
Thank you very much.
It's slower and sexier, baby.
But here, the last time, Greg, we should throw something into a brandy sniffer.
This was the last time.
Oh, it's been such a great run.
Do you want to watch Daryl Sador, flip the puck again?
You want to watch Daryl Sador flip the puck?
That puck exists somewhere.
Now, it might just be in a bucket.
It might have been used again by the Montreal Canadiens.
It might be in someone's hockey bag and someone's basement.
Maybe someone has that puck and doesn't even know that that was the Stanley Cup puck from 1990.
Maybe an usher grabbed it.
I don't know.
Let's say that there's a guy with an exhort.
amount of generational wealth who has an affinity for the Montreal Canadiens.
Maybe he even like purchased the team at some point.
Do you think that he has the resources to track down this buck and maybe put that thing in
his office, Merrick?
Maybe.
Maybe.
Maybe.
Who knows?
Maybe.
Who knows?
All I know is that has the makings of a fantastic documentary.
And by the way, this in, so my narrow casting has not gone, not gone to crap here.
So this is from Carter Hutton.
I hope he doesn't mind if I read a private text message on the air.
But like, what the heck?
Here we go.
I think Greg Vishinsky is.
Oh, no, that was a different text from Carter Hutton.
Hey, Carter or Buds, man.
We don't got any heat.
Oh, sorry, sorry.
That was a different text about you.
Wild and I love it.
Hard to explain that to a guy in the moment you just lost.
You don't give a shit.
Reflecting now, they probably wish they didn't.
but best of the moment
that's exactly what you're saying
he probably is just like F this I don't care
I agree with Carter on that one too
listen Jordan Bennington has fashioned
himself into one of the NHL's great
loathsome individuals I say
that with the caveat that I know he's become a beloved
native son after the Four Nations tournament
but a lot of people don't like the guy
for various reasons
I think it's okay
I had a long conversation with somebody
this morning about Sean Avery
And I was reminded of the Sean Avery stick-waving incident with Marty Bruner.
And it was at that point that even as someone who doesn't necessarily have an affinity for Sean Avery for various reasons, professional and otherwise, that I had to give it to the guy.
The stick-waving thing was genius.
As a tactic, it was brilliant.
Brave-to.
Within the purview of who Avery was, it was perfect.
The idea that the NHL didn't change but tweaked its rules in the playoffs to address this thing was always.
is a thorn in my side.
I hate that they did it.
I don't like that.
But so my point is that occasionally you have to give these loathsome individuals
their due.
And Jordan Bennington fishing that puck out of the net, which by the way,
no capital decided to go fish out of the net themselves, Roevy.
Let's point that out.
Ooh.
He gets the puck.
Yeah.
He puts it in the back of his pants.
And so Logan Thompson last night, as I wrote about on ESPN.com,
tried to give him the benefit of the doubt that maybe Bennington was going to do the old trick of
he keeps the puck and then gives it to OV and like the you know after the game or in some sort of
handshake line or some such like maybe he was just doing that to do that I tend to believe like
you Merrick that he is keeping that puck to then immediately throw it on eBay after the game or
and this is my favorite thing Jordan Bennington is such an arch villain in this league that
I've seen this theory put forth a few times in my mentions and I will
share it with you now okay he knows that there is a chance that he could be the
goaltender that gives up goal number 900 right to ovechkin first player in NHL history to
ever reach that mark yeah he understands this what if in a grand daniel ocean like
heist jordan binnington already had a puck in his pants and gave that puck to the officials
and maintain possession of puck number 900.
This is not an original thought.
It was shared many times with me on social media last night.
But given Bennington's level of villainy in this league,
what if that puck was a decoy?
What if he had built a replica of the Capitals Arena
in a hangar somewhere in St. Louis
to replicate everything that would have happened last night?
And then said,
the only way I'll be able to keep this buck
is by having a decoy in my pants
that I will then give to the line.
what if he still has the puck would be the best hockey story of the year if that were true
give me that he'd need a puck man to move it like the puck will be so hot that you couldn't
just throw it on eBay he'd need some puck broker to then move it to to somebody who'd want to
i don't know that he'd want i don't know that he would i don't know that he would i don't know how
like honestly how much you're going to get for that puck like how much is puck 900 worth as opposed to the puck
that broke Gretzky's record.
That's a real valuable one.
This is 900.
I don't know what he's going to end up with,
but he's going to end up with more than just 900
gold.
The Gresky puck is the big one.
Like that's the whopper.
If you're doing it,
you're just doing it to be a jerk.
Which I applaud,
which I'm great with.
Like, when you're competing,
like gamesmanship, all of it,
there's no such thing as petty
when you're competing
as any tiny little mental advantage
you can get, like take it,
class be damned,
you know, gentlemanly behavior,
you'd be damned, gamesmanship all the way, even down to the pettiness of stealing a puck.
I'm down.
This is not me saying that Jordan Biddington intentionally gave up the goal or anything
like that.
Let's be clear.
We're not the NBA, ladies and gentlemen.
I'm simply saying that he is preparing himself for the possibility that Ovechkin could
score that goal against the blues.
But I digress.
My point to begin with, Merrick, is that sometimes the people that we like the
least do things that you have to give them credit for and the Bennington thing was unabashedly
hilarious. I will not apologize for finding it funny. I think it was a brilliant trolley move.
If this was Brad Marchand that did it, for example, I think people would put that right up with
the licking as far as the greatest moments in the history of this person's career.
But because it's Bennington and what have you, I think he's gotten a lot more grief than he
deserves. It was hilarious last night. One last point, because we do have like the rest of a show to do
here. But one last point.
Here's what I
I cannot believe
that Jordan Bennington didn't think that he
was going to get caught.
Like by now in Jordan Binnington's career,
like everybody understands, there are
cameras everywhere.
Like there are like you are
like, do they though?
Like we see guys
behind the play all the time
that they probably don't think is ever going to get caught on video
or stuff on the benches where there's
always cameras. For something
like that, for fishing the puck out of the net
and taking it, right?
Like, it took a while.
Like, again, I referenced 72 with Pat Stapleton.
That wasn't obvious.
It only came out like a while later where someone produced video because Stapleton always denied it.
Hey, we saw you take the puck.
No, I didn't.
No, I didn't.
I didn't take the buck until video appeared and he went on sheepish, like, okay, yeah, maybe I did.
Okay, I did.
First of up, we didn't give props to our friends at TNT who had the video of that and the
linesman conversation last night to really, you know, capture this thing.
It was amazing.
Yes.
If you look at where Biddington does this, okay, he fishes the puck out of the net with his stick,
and then he's kind of skating by the boards.
It almost looks like he's trying to adjust his equipment.
It almost looks like he's a wrestler trying to put the brass knucks back into his tights.
Like, I think there's a world where he thought he was getting away with this.
Look at this.
This could just be him adjusting his jersey after giving up a goal or working out something in his back.
I really think he thought he was going to get away with it.
Okay, here it becomes the question.
Yeah.
If he goes to the St. Louis Blues bench and hands that to a trainer, what does the trainer do?
Because now you've brought someone else into this.
Now you're an accomplice.
You're an accessory.
Now you're an accomplice.
Grant larceny.
But here's the other question.
Is there?
And maybe you know this because I don't.
Someone asked, is there anything in the rule book that says you can't have a puck on you during the game?
And I don't know.
I didn't look it up last night.
But I bet there might there must be something.
There must be, I don't know that, you can't have a puck on your body.
There's a, there's a standard.
There must be, it falls into the gray area of equipment violation.
Like there are things that you are allowed to have as part of your equipment.
Anything new needs to go, needs to go through, go through the NHL.
And I would imagine the Players Association, too.
Like this morning, that's funny.
I never thought we were talking about this, but for some reason this popped into my mind this morning.
And I tried to write down all the names that I could.
remember of players that use this.
Do you remember Therma Blade?
Oh, yeah. The blades that warmed up in theory it was going to make you go faster because
the blade was warm on the ice.
Yeah.
Correct.
Therma Blade.
That was one.
It was endorsed by Wayne Gretzky.
And the players that I tried to remember, now let me know if I'm missing on any of
these.
Completely out of character for Gretzky to take money to endorse something.
Well, hold on a second here.
There's a longstanding history.
of like, okay, there's a nickel available on this table.
Who wants to grab it?
Marty Reisner, Chris Draper,
Matt Lombardi, and Martin LaPointe.
I think were the guys that used it.
But I think this was a test.
And they had to get, because it was different equipment,
they had to get sign off from the NHL.
If you're going to keep a puck in your pants,
I'm sure that would fall under.
equipment violation because that's not under the standard play even though they don't have a dress
even though they don't have a dress code off the ice anymore there's still a dress code on the ice
and i'm pretty sure uh isn't on that dress code getting the ovechkin goal uh puck back on a equipment
violation charge is it's kind of like getting component on racketeering
all right before we let go of the bidding thing though i i sent this to zach before i know
he's ready for it i've got for you because i know you love prepared bits when i come on merrick i do
I've got for you a little top five list that I've created.
All right, Carnack.
The top five things that Jordan Bittington will try to steal next.
Letterman style.
Oh, I love this.
The top five things that Jordan Bittington will try to steal next.
Zach, are you ready?
We're going to begin the list, yeah?
Waiting for our bearded friend to say yes.
Where is he?
Yeah, you're good.
You're good.
Sorry.
All right, here we go.
Officer Phillips now, by the way, with that duster for Movember.
The top five things Jordan Whittington will try to steal next.
Number five.
Alex Ovechkin's footlong spicy Italian from Subway that he eats on the road.
Now, that would obviously fit right down your pant leg.
You could hide it.
It would be another way to agitate the greatest goal score of all time.
I was going to say that there's also what do you do about the Cheetos as well.
Does he go for those?
And by the way, yes.
Yeah, he does?
Yeah, you put that under your bean bag.
You slide the footlong Italian down your leg
and you put the Cheetos under your bean bag
and then there you go.
You got a response to that to you.
Hang on, no, I'm going to hang on, hang on.
I'm going to talk.
Okay, there is a very, you're going to love this.
There is a slap shot reference in this picture.
Can you get it?
No, go ahead.
He's carrying a bag of Cheetos.
The voice of Chester the Cheetah from the Cheetos commercial
was a voice actor by the name of Christopher Mernie.
Christopher Mernie in the movie Slapshot played netminder Hanrahan,
whose wife had extracurriculars with various players.
You may have heard the word Hanrahan a few times in between bleeps
when you watch Slapshot on regular television.
back when we all watch television number four uh the top five things jordan bittington will try to
steal next uh a game this season for the blue oh come on now uh three five and two eight 95
save percentage a minus six goals saved above replacement according to money puck fourth worst
in the n hl jordan bittington not the greatest season and uh not the greatest game last
night as well i six one capital victory do you want to know just to give you just give you just
indication of how we haven't even started the show properly yet um but do you want to give
an if you want an indication of how pissed off jim montgomery is right now it's a back to back
yeah okay last night washington tonight buffalo they're doing a full they did a full skate this
morning on the second half of a back to back they don't do that no Montgomery is like beyond
pissed at this team this is probably the worst goaltending performance both him and hoffered that
Montgomery's ever had on a team
I mean like it's astounding that you guys
could be sub 860
on the Jim Montgomery team
I don't I don't think it's just the goalies
that no I don't think so is awful
that defense has been awful but they are both thing
below replacement according to money buck
Number three
Jordan Bittington will next try to steal
silverware from the new White House ballroom
as you know
the blues went to the White House
Jordan Binnington famously had a
aggressive handshake with
President Trump one assumes that puts him in the good graces of the president and will he'll
eventually be invited to to look at the new ballroom that they tore down the east wing of the
White House to build and if that happens why not take a little keepsake a couple knives may
a fork maybe a serving spoon back back to St. Louis with you Jordan take a beating like you did
the other day and on election night there may be a new ballroom where the West Wing used to stand
as well okay there you go I'll let the Canadians speak on that
I don't involve myself in U.S.
The number two thing that Jordan Bittington will try to steal next, of course,
would be his team Canada starting goaltending job from Logan Thompson.
But hang on a second.
Do you not think that Binnington as a courtesy, unless he completely falls off the map,
as a courtesy for Four Nations, at least gets the first game?
I could see this becoming kind of your,
what was it,
Bredor for Luongo
was the way it went in 2010.
Am I correct than that?
Because Lou
played the
gold medal game,
correct?
Yeah, I think that's right.
So, yeah,
I could see a situation
where Bennington starts
as the starter for Team Canada,
as a,
hey, thank you for
playing out of your mind
in overtime in Boston.
But if we're looking at
performances of goaltenders this season,
sir,
Listen, I'm as shocked as anybody that Logan Thompson is doing this again.
And I think Logan Thompson is shocked, too.
Like, record-wise, I didn't think there was a chance to do it again.
He's not at the same level he was last year.
Record-wise, but he's close.
But statistically, he's blown away his performance last year for the Capitol.
So I think he should be the team Canada starter, but you're probably right.
It'll be a thank you, sir, for your four-nation service for Bennington to start the tournament at very least.
Loyalty for game one.
After that, all bets are off.
Loyalty for game one.
And the number one thing Jordan Bennington will try to steal next would be his dignity back.
I mean, honestly, sir, you tried to steal a puck from Alex Ovechkin.
That's going to belong in a museum.
And it belongs in museum.
And I think you should be more dignified than to steal from not only the greatest goals for of all time,
but also hockey's hallowed hall of fame in Toronto.
Would you say the same about Chris Prong?
stealing pucks in 2010 would you say the same about pat stapleton taking the uh the summit series puck
do you have the same amount of venom as you do for for jordan bittington sir i can't speak
or darrell sador that puck belonged to the montrealal canadians and the hockey hall of fame
sidore was a reflex stapleton i is a way or my name and b i don't care because it's team
Canada. And then Steve, Pronger
Pronger was tactical.
Like the Bennington thing last night had no
impact on the game whatsoever. Nobody's going to
like, the game is not going to turn because
Jordan Bennington stole this puck. Pronger's
puck stealing was a tactical
agitation
thing against the
Blackhawks. And it got, it drew, remember
the whole point of it, Merrick,
was that he was drawing attention away
from the struggles of the flyers in
that series to put heat on himself.
And it worked.
And so I will never begrudge Chris Pronger for puck stealing,
also because he's quite large.
He's a large man.
Beating up.
Hang on.
Here comes Officer Phillips.
I've got a,
I went looking to see if I could find something
and somebody much smarter than me
has given me an answer in regards to having a second puck on you.
Oh, awesome.
I don't, this is what they said, I don't believe there's a specific rule dictating that,
but the moment a second puck fell out, play would be dead.
And if the ref determined he was hiding a second puck intentionally,
you could probably hit him with an unsportsman like.
Yep, there you go.
So there's nothing specifically saying that, but effectively that's a no-no.
It would be the, no, you can't do that again.
You cannot do that.
Thank you, a guy who looks like he's smoking cigarettes and a Dunkin' Donuts in Boston.
You know what?
There was, not a puck, but a hot dog, are good friends.
Maybe we should have John Garrett on to talk about this sometime.
We was playing the WHA at the Quebec Nordiques.
He didn't believe that he was going in.
Dan Bouchard, I guess, for the Nordiques, was having a great game.
And so, Cheech loves hot dogs, as we all know.
And he loves ketchup, as we all know.
And I think Bouchard either got hurt or got pulled after a bad goal.
I'm not sure.
but Cheech got tapped in to go and play
and he was holding a hot dog
so he stuffed it into the top of his pads
and in a scramble in front of the net,
no joke, welcome to the WHA,
the hot dog popped out at the top of the crease.
So my question then would become,
would that be an equipment violation?
You're wondering about holding a puck,
I'm wondering about holding a hot dog,
like John Garrett back in 1978,
or whatever it was.
So loose puck to the corner
Four checker is going to get there first
It's late in the game
It's a key part of the game
Goaltender takes out a bag of pucks
From his hindquarters
Throws them into the corner
And the forechecker does not know
What the real puck looks like
It could be any of them
What do you think of that?
Pretty great idea, right?
I think right now Zach is saying
Will you please get to the beginning
of the program?
I'm sorry
because Dave Pan yoll is going to be stopping by it.
We're doing the intro, half an hour and of the show.
I think we did the whole show as an intro once.
Okay, let's do that.
Here we go.
The Blueprints is powered by Fanduel.
And Fandul, thank you so much for allowing me and Greg,
half an hour of puck conspiracies.
The blueprint is powered by Fandul.
Download the app today and play your game.
Coming up on the program, yes, he has more to add than just conspiracy theories
about St. Louis' Kniters.
He has Greg Woshensky from ESPN.
I do like the top five list as well, by the way.
Dave Panyoda, I'm sure, is already on the line standing by, shaking his head, wondering about his career decisions, specifically coming on this program.
We'll talk about Avechkin in 900 and we'll talk about Macklin Sellebrini, who checks notes, leads the NHL in scoring tied with some guy named Connor in Edmonton with 21 points and the latest puck and hot dog news around the NHL.
And there is the program for today.
You have a quick thought of what we're seeing from Macklin Celebrini here before we get to, before we get to Dave Panyoda, who's going to be standing by in a couple of moments.
Yeah, I'm feeling better now.
About a week ago, I was feeling pretty bad about the whole Macklin Celebrini and the Sharks will make the playoffs before Connor Baderd and the Blackhawksville, but now I feel much better about it.
I find it interesting, Merrick.
It's coming from places like, I think Ray Ferraro might have said this and some other people have noted this.
the Sidney Crosby
Maclin Celebrini comparison
seemed to be in the ether right now
which I thought was very interesting
I know that as heady praise
to put on a second year player
but the hockey IQ
the passing ability
the leadership quality
yeah they won't give up on a puck
all of it like the skill set
I'm not at Crosby
yet with Macklin
Celebrini I'm at the
what rung on the ladder?
I'm at the Jonathan Taves,
rung of the ladder.
I think we talked about this before.
Right now he feels like Jonathan Taves to me.
Like if this is like,
Macklin Sellebrini stops developing
and this is the player that we have.
First of all,
great player.
But it's not Crosby.
To me,
it's what I'm seeing
is a more offensively minded
Jonathan Taves.
Well,
I was going to say,
I mean,
do you see the defensive chops
inheriting?
Oh, 100%.
100%.
100.
Yes.
I think we talked about this last year
on the program,
whereas like more complete player
is, I don't know if he's going to be a better offensive player,
although already he seems to be,
a more offensive player than Connor Bardard,
who still has work on his defensive game,
but nonetheless, he's a magician in the offensive zone.
You're seeing it everywhere all over the ice with Celebrini,
just how smart and how hardworking this guy is
and how, again, I've used to always mention this about Detroit.
All these guys are great defensive players and great offensive players.
That's why it doesn't matter if you're on the road or at home,
you're not losing a line matchup.
because like find me the scenario where you're like oh well what was the mistake there
I hadn't celebrini on the ice in this situation like you will never hear any of his coaches
go like ah I had I shouldn't have had celebrini out there like he's working everywhere
like you are so confident as a coach like go on gone gone gone gone gone we're good
or just no stay stay stay you're good yeah it's it's phenomenal what a bright spot for
this seems like one of these first overalls that like
is going to sort of will his team into the playoffs
within the first maybe three years of his career.
You know, Sid did that too.
Ovi eventually did that.
But his capital, I think those capital teams that Obey played on
were actually a lot closer to the Bedard Blackhawks and anything else, right?
Just like that was stripped down to the nuts and bolts
because they needed the tank so hard you'd get him.
Like, you could see a scenario in which Macklin is so good
and so far ahead of where we thought he'd be
that like the Sharks are a playoff team next year.
Next year.
Yeah.
Dude, other teams are allowed to try.
I'm just saying, trajectory of the player, talent around him.
When you start to understand what you have,
then you expedite the acquisition of talent around that player.
And so they've got enough on that roster right now
where Mike Rear can go, let's go for it.
off season no and and ownership will back it because they like the idea of that place being
fuller fuller than it's been for the last five or six years yeah the one team though the team
I'm surprised is ahead of schedule is anaheim like I I knew they'd be in the play are you I didn't
think that I did not think that they'd be as good metrically as they are like I knew they'd win
games they got a lot of talent and stuff but like yeah to to for quenville to have turned around
their shot attempt metrics and their five on five scoring as quickly as he has was something
that I didn't I didn't quite buy into but they're they're good what a fun what a fun friggin
time to be a hockey fan like the resurgence of oh yeah you've got teams on the rise and they're
not just teams on the rise they're like really exciting teams on the rise like Montreal and
anaheim and san Jose like it's it's a it's fun it's a fun time uh it is here's the here's a question unfair
hypothetical Friday afternoon.
Who would you,
who do you think can bring you closer
to making the playoffs
and maybe you've already played your hand
with Macklin Celebrini?
Maclin Celebrini or Matthew Schaefer.
Now, I have a positional bias
and I always have.
I always feel that it's harder
to get a legit superstar number one defenseman
than it is legit superstar number one center.
There are just more to choose from.
It is a volume issue.
Who is, or who will project to be
more special?
and who would you rather build a team around
Macklin Celebrini or Matthew Schaefer
because what Schaefer is doing
but like the the
we talked about this the other day
like he's on pace for 34 goals
not going to get 34 goals
but if he gets 20 there's only been
three other defensemen that have ever done that
what if you just saw it off
and you say he gets like 28 goals
he still smash his rookie goal scoring
and he's the number one defenseman
and he's getting tons of minutes
and he's going to be a dark horse for team Canada
who would you rather have
I always go defenseman
where do you go
I go Celebrini
for the simple fact that
like
let's put stats aside for a second
because I think both guys are going to contribute
incredibly to their teams
statistically
I think Celebrini's got the charisma
doesn't have the charisma that Schaefer has
Schaefer is like a one of one right now
charisma wise
but he's he's
but but Celebrini's got a star quality to him
that is maybe like 70
percent of that and if you're looking at the long-term aspect of like what's better for business
star forward is better yeah yeah yeah of course i get it i get it so so from a from a hockey
standpoint maybe it's a wash depending on how good schaefer is and we're very early in his
career let's not like make him cal mccar quite yet um but from a from a from a from a
like business standpoint, I'd opt for celebrating.
That does make some sense.
By the way, I'm really disappointed in you because I've had.
It was the chat.
Because I've had.
I popped into the chat and they felt that the top five list was belabored.
Look, ladies gentlemen, this was a seminal moment in the history of hockey where a gold
under tried to steal an artifact down his pants.
We're going to have to go along on that one.
You don't think nice part about it.
One more point about the pants, before I make my pithy little comment about my coffee mug.
What's great about it is, now that always becomes part of the story.
Totally.
Right?
Like, who's going to remember, I mean, hardcore fans, you remember like, okay, so it was Sorokin that gave up the Gretzky goal?
Okay, if you're a hardcore hockey fan, you're going to remember that.
But casually, like, Sorokin's not the story.
It is completely Ovechkin.
Is this not, perhaps, to put in wrestling parlance?
is this not Jordan Bennington trying to steal Ovechkin's heat?
Is this not the Hulk Hogan move of all time?
Will not let Ovechkin have his heat for goal number 900?
He's got to make it about him.
Yeah.
It's like if Al Downing ran off the mound and jumped over the fence and caught Hank Aaron's home run ball.
And then tried to keep it for himself.
Now, why do you put it in my coffee mug?
Dude, I can't believe I've had like four sips out of this and you haven't noticed it.
It's a Monday Nitro mug.
well oh i didn't know the the logo doesn't come through as much it's like it's because it's a black
mat and it's like a shiny logo yeah i can see it now and it's the revamped uh nitro logo from the latter
day wcw i believe correct no that was from no this is from like this would have been from
like honestly this would have been from 1998 99 so my mug is the connection newspapers it's
the first job in journalism i ever got and i drink happily from
the mug because I'm a fan of
journalism, ladies and gentlemen. I don't know if you guys
know that. It's not all just dick jokes on the internet.
Sometimes I put paragraphs together.
Paragraphs of dick jokes. It's good, too.
Crosby Ovechkin tonight, bud.
Here we go. I don't know that
there was a while there where it was boring.
But who was it
the other day that was saying
oh, God, who was it
was saying that Sydney might be better now
than he was five years ago? Might have been Ray
Ferraro again. Second Ray Ferraro reference.
It might have been Ray.
Wow, really?
I'm not, I hope I'm not, you know, mishanding that, that quote to Ray Ferraro.
But he's like playing fantastic right now.
There are theories, by the way.
It's funny.
There's a couple of people that I follow on social media that are involved in, like, you know, longevity and fitness and health and all these types of things that we're supposed to be paying attention to as we age Greg Woshensky.
And there's one theory that's been put forward that men.
don't actually hit their physical peak until they are 40.
Sidney Crosby is proving that right now.
Now, you know, lifestyle and decisions, families, all that.
But if you're like singularly focused as Sidney Crosby has always seemed to be in his life,
that does make some sense.
But we're seeing that now with Crosby, right?
Like, I don't know that I've seen a player at his age play like this since I don't know who.
back in the
frick back in the 70s
these guys were all 20
and they looked like they were 40
or 50
a little blooms off the rose
for the game night though
like you know
Brazos's hurt
and Raquel's hurt
and Jari's hurt
and you kind of feel like
maybe the penguins
are going to maybe like
skid into it a little bit
now after that start
that they had
yeah but
but we have to cherish
every Crosby Ovetchkin matchup
that's where we're at
that's what I'm saying
we don't know how many more
of these we're going to get
and there's a whole lot of hockey fans
that came
to the sport because of after the lock of 2005 because of the marketing of crosbie versus
ovechkin and now this is that moment where you're starting to see this all wind down
i know we got dave ready i got i got i got i want to ask one question though and i need you to answer
it because you have such a handle on hockey history i'll defer to dave is is ovechkin crosbie the
greatest player versus player rivalry we've ever had in hockey in the n hl
head to head
Was Gretzky Mario
I don't think that was a rivalry
because they were in two different conferences
I thought you know what I thought we were going to get
I thought we were really going to get
McDavid versus Eichol
I really thought we're going to get that
now they started in different conferences
we see it in we certainly see it in the playoffs
but it's not like Oveckin cry
well put it this way it's the first time
that the NHL has marketed player
versus player right because it's always been local and hl dot com would have like a tail of the tape every
time the penguins the capitals a play of those two guys so i think i think no no disrespect to ickel but
like mac david is so far above everybody else that it's hard to really make that a play that's a real
like amadea salieri type type rivalry right but like the ovechkin crosbie one was a lot closer because
of how generational both those guys were i think it might be the best player versus player rivalry
in the NHL history.
Something to think about.
Let's get the proper answer from Dave Panyoda,
Daily Faceoff Hockey Insider from the fourth period.
He joins us now.
Do you have a thought on that one, Dave?
Is it the best player versus player rivalry
in the history of the game?
And we're going to see it again tonight.
Alexander Ovechkin versus Sidney Crosby.
I'm racking my brain, mainly because the NHL
previous to 2005 with this matchup
never went player versus player.
They just always went team versus team.
No, yeah, you're right.
And which was saying that exactly to that
point like they never really marketed that it was always player to player or excuse me it was always
team to team and i guess the other conferences like i thought remember the the hall and second draft
like it was yeah taylor tyler taylor yeah was that going to be a thing i think the conferences
play a big factor in this yes in all these ones that we're talking about ones in the east ones in the
west this one not only in the same conference same division so yeah it just added so much more
fuel they played so many so so much more often than some of the other guys and
to what you guys were saying,
the league actually marketed it.
So as a head-to-head battles.
So I think that played a bit of a factor in it, like,
can we get Bedard Celebrini
if these guys start to further prop themselves up
because they're in the same conference now.
Maybe that's a way to go in that regard
to try to manifest that type of crazy rival
between two rebuilding teams.
I think that's a good point.
The other thing, too, Dave,
It's like the NHL lucked out by having the caps and penguins having already been rivals for like a good 20 years.
And so it's like if Iqa got drafted by the flames, right?
Like it's kind of like that between Crosby and Ovechkin and how much heat was already inherent between those two franchises.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Look, make sense.
I mean, if what we need is basically Chicago and San Jose to have like a full out brawl in one game.
and then just have these guys
start popping in like goal after goal,
just going shot for shot
and then just build it up that way.
Can we figure that out?
Who do we talk to?
We don't have brawls now.
We have scrums.
We have scrums.
The next great website is hockey scrums.com.
Hockeyfights.com is your day was five minutes ago.
It's hockey scrums.com now.
That's the way they do it.
I was mentioning to Greg a couple of seconds ago,
day before he came on, that we had a very rare sighting today for the St. Louis Blues.
Second half of a back-to-back, and it's a full practice before the game against the Buffalo
Savers.
We've seen Jim Montgomery just like change up pairs on the D, flip-flop with the goaltenders,
can't seem to get a save.
Those goalies are hard to hits.
The lines are different.
Bush-Nevich is struggling.
Jordan Kairu is certainly struggling as well.
Robert Thomas came back in that game against the Oilers and looked good, but this is a team
that's struggling for goals, saves, identity.
And I wonder at which point we start to say,
I wonder where Braden Shen, Jordan Bennington,
Justin Falk are going to end up come trade deadline time, you know?
Yeah, it's interesting.
I think Kyru and Sunquist are going to be scratched tonight.
Wow.
This is some message sending.
That's big.
Certainly.
Yes, this is message sending right now.
because it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's not, you're not, you're not too far into
the season where you can't fix this. It, it's not a, it's not a matter of, okay, we're 13, 14
games in, oh, whoa is us, like the sky is falling. It may seem like it, but there's a lot of
runway left to get back into it. But at the same time, there kind of isn't. Like, you, you need to
start to flip the script here pretty quickly, or you're in a heap of trouble the rest of the
season. Um, and so I think, you know, full practice, that's,
a message sender. Sitting, Sunquist, and Cairo, that's a whole other one for a variety of
different reasons. A message to them, a message to other guys on the team. You know, Bushnevich
hasn't been that great, and he's getting a bit of a buy right now in terms of being scratched,
so we'll see kind of where that goes. But, yeah, this all leads to when you're crap and you're
not doing well, the vultures start to circle in. And there are teams that are very curious to see
how much longer this is going to go
and the longer it goes
are guys like
Braden Shen
Justin Falk and so on
are these guys that have some
no trade protection
are they going to be
available? Are they going to be available
excuse me? So there are some
teams kind of poking around now.
Shen was a guy that
teams asked about last season when he had his full no trade
they went on that playoff run. He didn't want
to leave the team. He wanted to stick with them
So, you know, he held on to that, and I get that.
I totally, you know, he wants to stick up, stick with his team and fight for them and with them.
Different circumstance now.
So if they can't kind of write the ship a little bit, there are going to be more teams that are going to be poking around on Shen, who's got a 15 team, no trade list.
Falk has a 15 team, no trade list.
They could chalk this up as, look, it's just a rough season.
We're going through a few motions here.
We'll look to move some of the vets and keep some of the younger guys together.
excuse me, Kyru was a player they talked about around the draft.
Both the Islanders and the Canadians had talks with St. Louis about Jordan
Cairo. Dobson's name was part of that.
There was even some rumblings of a potential three-way.
And then Dobson ended up staying in Montreal because the Habs weren't able to figure that out.
And obviously the Islanders didn't either.
So, you know, do they explore that again?
I think they're more inclined to hold on to some of these guys, some of the younger guys,
and right now look towards
and by right now I mean this season
look towards some of the vets
Binner I don't see
like if Holfer had a different type of season
to start then I think maybe
they look in that direction but I think
Bennington I'd be a little bit surprised there at least for this season
Really quick on Kyra just as a follow-up
there's one team out there that could really use
him and his speed
but considering who the coach is
there's not a chance that's going to happen and that's Toronto
that looks so slow
but I just want to be in the room
I just want to be in the room to hear the conversation
where Brad for Living says
Hey
Craig we're thinking about bringing in Jordan Cairo
I just want to be in the room
I just want to be in the room to hear I just want to hear that
him and him and Teresenko
a tofer
to play for Craig Ruby in Toronto
Dave I
I was curious I was curious I was curious
about your take on on the national predators obviously this is going to be the other team that everybody's got their eye on as far as uh potential departures the stamp coast thing seems to boil down to a couple of factors including the fact that his family is is is fairly happy where they are right now um if you had to put money on which guy on that roster could get shipped out first this season if things continue to trend downward who would it be probably ryan o'reilly
You know, even with, I mean, he unofficially has a no trade.
He doesn't have one, but, you know, they're not going to do them dirty.
They're going to send them somewhere if they do move them somewhere where it's going to be a contender.
But he doesn't have the no trade protection.
It's a lot simpler, a lot less messy to just from a paperwork perspective to go in that direction.
And there are a lot of teams that are going to be looking at guys like, you know, O'Reilly, like Shen,
to see, you know, are these guys available and can we make something happen sooner rather than
later in terms of trade deadline time? Can we do something in January? Can we do something before
the, what, two weeks right after the Olympic break ends or 10 days or whatever it is? You know,
can we do something sooner versus March 6th? The Stamco's thing is interesting. And yeah, he likes it
there. His family likes it there. Marsha so does as well. Same situation. I mean, everybody likes
in Nashville.
If you guys want to go, we can book a flight right now.
Like, I'll head over there.
It's a great time.
But we'll go to the pediota table at Tutsis.
Yeah, yeah, that'd be perfect.
That'd be great.
Every Friday, every Friday have two Saturdays, Dave.
Every Friday have two Saturdays.
It's always a good time out there.
But with Stammer's situation, I think there's an, I think there's been some loose
conversations just to say, where are we?
Where are things going?
and what's the direction of the next few years here?
He's got two more years on this deal after this season.
I think there's a willingness to explore a legitimate cup contender,
but there's so many variables in play.
A, nothing's going to happen anytime soon.
B, are we going to get to the point where you are asking him to consider his options
because he has the full no move?
And then C, realistically, how much is Nashville willing to retain?
because nobody's taken Stephen Stamcoast
an $8 million pop.
So are they willing to eat
$2 million, $3 million, half?
And depending on all that,
how much is that going to cost?
What's the acquisition cost for the player
and for the lesser salary,
the lesser A.A.V.
We're a little premature in that respect.
There's a reason why these are coming up
because it is a talking point
and teams are curious.
But I think this is a wait-and-see situation
with Stamco's, despite all the right messaging in terms of liking it there and all that,
I do believe if there's a legitimate opportunity to join a legitimate contender,
not just this season over the course of his contract, I think he would seriously consider it.
as well.
If the national predator is going to go through a rebuild,
I think you have that conversation with the goaltender
and say, like, look, you've been here a long time.
You've been through a lot of things here with you.
We can't ask you to do this now.
This wasn't the way things are going to go.
And the other thing that I wonder about, too,
is, you know, the, if you can't make a trade right away,
as a general manager, you can do one of two things.
You can make a trader, you can fire a coach.
And if they do go the route of firing Andrew Brennan,
Do you think it's Carl Taylor, who's the head coach in Milwaukee,
who's been sort of the next man up or consider the next man up for a while?
Or Barry Trots himself?
I think with this team, I think if this trend continues in terms of their performance,
one coaching change isn't going to change their season around.
You're looking at a change behind the bench and you're looking at making roster moves.
And I think because of that, you don't need to change what's going on in Milwaukee.
I say Barry goes behind the bench for the duration of the season,
and then they reevaluate their options for a new head coach in the summer.
Again, because you're going to have to make additional changes.
This isn't going to be, you know, a scenario.
This isn't, this isn't Daryl Sutter coming into L.A.,
and all of a sudden the Kings go on a heater and they win the Stanley Cup two or three years.
there's a lot more work that has to be done here in in Nashville from a roster construction
perspective by itself like they're not as deep as they anticipated being and because of that
even if you make a change at the coaching position you have to make additional moves along the
way up until March 6th and on going into the summer so I think it might make more sense for
them if they do make a change and brunette's out Barry goes behind the bench
you let what's happening in Milwaukee continue to play out
and then you look at your
and you re-evaluate your options in the summer
with respect to who's next year's head coach.
How do you see the Adrian Kempai situation
currently in L.A.?
With very foggy glasses
because I can't figure out why
that hasn't been cleared up yet.
Price keeps going.
No, no, no, that was yesterday's price.
And this is going to be tomorrow's.
I mean, who's going to be left for July 1st?
Yeah, like, I do think, I do think at the end of the day, they figure this out.
But, I mean, I was told at the start of the season, when they didn't have a deal done at the start of the season, that this was probably going to end up being a bit of a grind, regardless of what happens.
And then I thought, all right, well, wait a second, NACS signed.
Is that going to escalate things?
Is that going to speed things up?
And I don't think it has yet.
I think look the lines of communication are open
it's not like anybody's pissed off at the other side
but they just haven't been able to get there just yet
it's going to be in the 11s by all accounts
if we're going full term
but how does that look what's the final number
and then how is it structured as well
I think that's going to be the other factor in this
and look Kempay's been very vocal
he's been honest he said it during the media tour
He said it started the season.
He said it a few weeks ago.
He wants to stay.
He likes it there.
His family likes it there.
They want to stay.
You know, and I think one of the things he mentioned during the tour was,
I just don't want this to drag on, you know, around Olympic time.
Because then you've got trade deadline and it's in the back of your head and you're worried and so on and so on.
I think perfect scenario now for him, end of 2025, he gets into an extension.
It starts the new year with a brush of fresh air in that regard.
Because the longer this goes, it is going to weigh on a player who wants to stay in that
environment.
So maybe that's LA's game.
Maybe they want to wait them out and see if he'll say, you know what, forget it.
I'll just sign for 11.
Forget the rest.
Let's just get this done.
Maybe that's part of Kenny's game plan.
But we'll see.
I mean, look, the old saying is one phone call changes everything.
I just don't think they're there yet.
And maybe someone happens after.
Maybe it happened this morning.
Maybe it happens after.
but I just haven't gotten that sense yet.
Do respect Adrian Kempay,
but what the hell is he concerned about with the Olympics?
Like, they're obviously going to win bronze.
Like, either Canada wins gold or the U.S. wins gold.
Gingland's absolutely boned without Barkoff,
so they're not going to win anything.
Russia's not even there.
So what is Sweden even worried about right now?
I don't know if it's Sweden.
I think it's just him personally.
Like, to have that lingering in the back of his head
as he's playing, I don't know, Switzerland for bronze,
Um, like that's like that's going to be, that's going to be weighing on him.
So no, I get it.
I get it.
It's frustrating.
You're, you're, you guys, you guys are both.
You guys are both wrong.
You're missing what's going to happen.
Uh-oh.
He's getting traded to Carolina and finishing the season in Dallas.
We all know where this is headed guy.
Oh, no way.
He's Swedish, not finished.
Never mind.
Scratch that.
If he were finished, that would, that would be the way it would go.
Um, let me, let me close with this.
Um, what's happening with Vancouver?
What's happening with the Vancouver Canucks right now?
Do you get a sense?
Like, they just got waxed by the Chicago Blackhawks the other night, five to two.
That's not going to look good on the resume.
No, I mean, I was talking a lot of people at the start of the season about this team going,
all right, the defense looks sound, gold-tending looks pretty good.
They got both guys locked in.
I guess they just got to worry about secondary scoring.
And you fast forward 13, 14 games into the season,
and they got to worry about everything.
You can't have
Horonic and Quinn not playing together
because it just doesn't work.
Marcus Patterson hasn't been very steady
on that back end, you know, right now for them.
Goaltending's been Lankinen
has not been anywhere near
where they anticipated him being.
And then they have their secondary scoring woes.
So it's just a rough mix right there.
Quinn doesn't look like he's, you know,
just what he's made of he looks like a different type of guy right now i don't know if he's
frustrated or if he's ticked off or or what have you um if he's battling something because
we know he was going through something a couple weeks ago but he hasn't looked fully fully ready
to go p.d hasn't blossomed reblossomed and gone back to top tier form it's just a it's just a big
mess across the board right now for the conucks and they're looking for consistency consistency
see they're looking for stability.
You know, Sherwood's been really the only guy that's kind of stepped up
and they haven't taught contract there yet with him.
They kind of want to wait.
I don't know what's going to happen with this club right now.
We all know that Rutherford and Alveen don't like to wait.
They like to make their moves earlier than everyone else.
Yes.
And I'm very curious to see how they approach this.
They're only, what, two or three points ahead of Calgary for last in the West.
This is not gone the way that they've anticipated the first five weeks of the season.
And they're going to be, for me, a very curious team to look at if they can't figure things out by the end of this month.
Because you know that that Rutherford and Alvin, more jamming, kind of just itching.
The trigger figure is itching right now to try to do something to help this club right now.
Well, I mean, you guys know how stressful house hunting can be.
And the market in Jersey City and Hoboken is just on fire right now.
So Quinn must be feeling a lot of stress.
I was, I knew I was waiting for something when I brought him up.
Hold on a second.
Let's see, which is going to chime in for sure.
That's good times.
It's interesting.
It's, you know, we'll see.
We'll see.
Never a dull moment.
Listen, always appreciate it.
Thanks so much for indulging us early and then educating us later.
Always appreciate it, Dave.
You'll be good.
You got it, boys.
You too.
Dave Panyote, Daily Faceoff Hockey Insider.
and, of course, Dave Fianjota from the fourth period.
It is only a matter of time here.
And we'll see what happens against the Buffalo Sabres tonight.
But I think it's like, was it five times or six times, maybe seven times of St. Louis Blues of like lost by five goals?
Not good.
So far this season, like it's, full stop.
It's awful.
And even Dylan Holloway is not getting anything done either.
Yeah.
All the things that went really well.
for them last year i've completely flipped this year and again to see a jim montgomery team play
poor defensively undisciplined it's just not something you're used to seeing um from his teams
we mentioned national and i just realized that i didn't get your opinion on the uh overtime marcus
johansson goal the other night uh with the net office moorings i didn't get a chance to listen
yesterday what was your what was your take on it that it was a goal that that was that was an
I'm happy to have the discussion about rewording the, rewording the rule itself.
Anytime you put the word imminent in a description for a rule that opens up interpretation,
but as the rule is written, that to me is a goal all day.
I said it when I saw it live, and I'm sticking with it right now.
To me, that is a goal.
I know what.
Here's the one thing that I wonder about.
is if the net didn't come completely off the one mooring
and there was actually a net for the puck to go in,
would we be having the exact same conversation
or are we having this conversation
because the visual everyone looks at and goes,
how do you score a goal and not put the puck in the net?
Yeah.
What do you think?
Well, I mean, then again,
the Stephen Stamcoe, Andrew Burnett argument
is that if the net isn't off its mooring,
that puck goes to the end boards.
And nobody is even considering it to be an imminent scoring chance because the puck's never near the crease anymore.
Take that back one step, though.
And then if the net didn't come off the mooring, whether it was pushed or whether it was an NHL issue, as Mike McKenna has tweeted about and the mooring wasn't lodged, stiff enough, then the net wouldn't have been in that position in the first place.
Here's my question.
how many how many wax at the pinata do you get before it's not an eminent scoring chance
that's interpretation because nowhere in there does it say one that's why the word it the word
imminent is what is wide open for interpretation but that's like the entire rulebook but like to me
eminent is is the shot as the net's off at smorings which then hit the side of the net and then he
collected a rebound for another scoring chance so like if there was like five chances for
Joe Hansen the score with the net off its moorings.
I mean, is that all one continuous
scoring chance? I think that's my biggest gripe with it.
I feel like that first shot's the scoring chance.
He doesn't get it. Blow the whistle,
put the net back on its moorings. The idea that
he can get a second scoring chance
of eminence
was one of my big issues with
that play. I'm team predators here, by the way.
I don't think it should have counted.
Not for aesthetics, but because
of the notion that it
is a rule that I think has kept to
reserve scoring chances that are that are going to happen as the net comes off its moorings,
not rebound opportunities off the side of the net.
And that's why I said off the top, anytime you use the word imminent, you open up for
interpretation and you're not going to please everybody.
And nowhere in that rulebook does it say that imminent implies just one chance or one shot.
That's why.
I do.
Hang on.
First of all, you know this is coming up at the GM's meetings.
And you know there's going to be a lot of talk about, okay.
Okay, does that mean one shot? Does it mean two shots? If we say it's one shot or two shot,
then all of a sudden what constitutes a shot and is a deflection a shot? Can you argue that
what Johansson did was the first quote unquote shot was actually a deflection and it wasn't
actually a shot? And then we're going to have to go back and define what a shot is as opposed
to a deflection for this one possible scenario. Or we can just say this happens so
in frequently.
We all remember what happened when Matt DeShane went
offside egregiously. Now
we're going pixel by pixel and we all
hate this. Are we happy just
to leave it?
I'm happy to leave it.
I don't know what the
overall opinion of
the league was. I do
know one Western conference team I was talking
to yesterday like uniformly thought
it was horseshit that that cold counted.
But I would be
curious to find out like overall
what folks in the league thought because, I don't know, man.
I just thought it was two scoring chances, one of them eminent, one of them not.
Again, that's like every rule.
Everything is up to interpretation.
And like, but the thing is, and I was saying this is to Officer Phillips yesterday here on the program.
That's what I love about hockey.
I love that it exists in gray.
And as much as we want to make it black and white, we never can by the very nature of the game.
outside of Puckover Glass and now offside
where we do pixel by pixel by pixel.
It's part of what I love about the game
is there is still the human element of interpretation to it,
but nonetheless, I digress.
You've had an anti-replay streak
because of the human error of it all.
Yeah, and I love human error.
But the thing is, but hang on,
and I'll always coach it this way.
I sit in, and I understand this,
and I consider it a position of privilege
that I don't have to emotionally attach myself to a team
so I can just look at a play and not feel screwed.
Like, if I'm a Preds fan, I'm pissed, and I get that.
I'm sitting in the position of I just want to watch a good hockey game.
And, oh, that's the way it ended?
Great.
Now let's go see what's happening on another channel, watching another hockey game.
I don't have to, like, live with that outcome.
So I do understand I'm sensitive to the fact that some really pissed off National
Predators fans about the Marcus Johansson goal.
That I totally understand I get.
It's, I mean, for some of us, like,
It's it's freeing to understand that the refs have been against your team for the better part of 40 years because our coach, our coach once called one of them a fat pig and said have another donut.
And so the reps have been officiating again, like to the point where they change the rules so our goalie couldn't play the puck anymore.
Like there's a certain amount of, of acknowledgement that you have to come to that the league is against your franchise.
But you're right.
For you, it's probably freeing.
To not have that.
It is completely frank.
Okay, one thing I do,
we started the show off today with video
and damn it here towards the end.
As we wrap things up here,
I want to show you one more thing.
Now, here's what we're going to get to.
We're going to talk about Uber Eats,
which is the app that saves me.
You're a good dad.
Hungry for Hockey History
and presentation of Uber Eats.
Uber Eats is enabling fans
to maximize their fandom all season long
with exclusive game day deals on the app.
From game day eats to paper plates and napkins
if you're hosting.
So all the ingredients you need to make your favorite game day dip.
Before, during, after the game, Uber Eats is assisting every hockey fan's experience all season long.
Ingredients you need to make your favorite game day dip before, during, after the game, I'm repeating myself.
Uber Eats sponsoring this segment here as I just read whatever Officer Phillips put under my nose.
I will put over Uber Eats.
Oh, yeah.
I don't want to put over any individual fast.
food establishment or casual
food. But I will say that there is
a shack known for
its shakes and
Uber Eats came through big time for us
earlier in the week. You can't go out.
You get a newborn and you can't go out all the time.
Sometimes the food comes to you in Uber Eats
so it was a got
us the food the other night.
For us there's a
there's a there's a hut
that makes a dish
with crust and cheese
some sauce perhaps a
And it comes in a personalized package.
Some may call it in my box.
That someone's kids know exactly what their order is every single time.
Anyhow, I digress.
What do we have for hockey history today?
Officer Phillips.
We got four items for today.
Okay.
Four items for today.
So starting back in 1954, we have.
Boom, Boom, Boom, Jeffron for the Montreal Canadiens.
Boom, boom, Jeffrey on.
Yes.
NHL goal in a 4-1 win against Detroit.
In 1988, Wayne Gretzky with the L.A. Kings hits 1,700 career points with two goals and one assist in a 5-3 win against Chicago.
In 1995, Mark Messier scores a hat trick against Calgary to reach 500 career goals.
And in 2015, Henrik Zetterberg with Detroit, nets his 300th career.
career goal and a 2-1 win against the Maple Leafs.
Okay, what was the, when was the Boom Boom, Jeffreon?
Is that from?
What year? 51.
1954.
54.
Here's what happened a year earlier.
This is a game between the Montreal Canadians.
Don't show it yet.
Montreal Canadians and the New York Rangers.
What I've always wanted to do, wish, is put together a series chronicling how most of the league
in the history of the NHL.
outside of now, where there's more respect in the NHL than there's ever been.
I always wanted to do a series on the history of violence in the NHL
and call it when there was respect in the game.
So under the umbrella, when you talk to old-timers and they say,
oh, there's no respect to them.
Back then, we respected one another.
There was no BS, no stick work, none of it.
I'm going to take you back to Boom, Boom, Jeffriah, number five,
for your Montreal, Canadians,
engaged in a little exchange of ideas with New York Rangers,
Ron Murphy.
And imagine if this happened today.
Let's go back, Zach, to 1953.
Have a look at this one.
Oh, my goodness.
Like a lumberjack.
That man just slashed the hell out of him.
Yeah.
Wow.
Now, I want to play a guessing game with you.
Like, that's awful.
Like, that's one of the worst things we've probably ever seen in the NHL.
And it was.
If it happened today, how many games would that get?
If that very play happened today, that gets 15.
I thought you were going to say 50.
No.
He smashes his helmetless head with his stick, knocking him out.
How many do you think that would get?
Now?
Maybe.
For something like that?
that's like well that's like let's be honest like something that it depends on on what his priors are
first of all is it a guy who snapped in the moment or is it a guy with a history of violence
that snapped in the moment this is and this is for some of the old school american hockey league fans
in the audience that is alexander para joigin on garret stafford that's how that like that that that's
the only thing that comes close to this that got eight games eight does that back in the day
jeffreon got fined three hundred dollars to max
some of allowable under the collective bargaining agreement.
I think it was actually 30.
I think it was actually $300 back in a day.
That was like $10 million today.
And the Montreal Canadians were quite upset about.
Anyhow.
Yes.
So that would be part of my when there was respect in the game series.
Boom Boom,
Jeffriand versus Ron Murphy in one of the most awful,
heinous stick swinging incidents.
The game has ever seen.
Where is my fainting couch?
Okay, stick with us till the end here.
Might as well.
We're going all the way here.
We've got to wrap.
Oh, I've got to get on Tyler's show.
Hang on.
All right, the sheet is powered by Fanduel.
Let's wrap up here.
I got a broken clock in my head when I start talking on this show.
The sheet is powered by Fanduel.
Play your game with Fanduel.
It's the NHL season, and Fanduel is your home for all the action on the ice.
From Blue Line to Bet Slip, we've got you covered all season with unique promos, live
offerings, and more features to let you play your game.
Miss Puck Drop, no sweat, with a live.
game partly. You can build your bets up until the final buzzer. Download
Fandualsports book today and play your game. Please play responsibly. 19 plus and physically
located in Ontario. If you have questions or concerns about your gambling or the gambling
of someone close to you, please contact Connects Ontario at 1-866-531-2,600 to speak to an
advisor free of. Charge Officer Phillips. What are you looking at tonight? Nine games on the
go around the NHL, including, as Greg Wosinski mentioned, to kick off the program.
Movechkin versus Crosby, comma, again.
What do you got your peepers on?
Yeah, this one, I decided you know what, screw it.
We're going back to the parleyes and we're going to go out here with us.
And I'm glad that we had the conversation on the show today about the rivalry
because this one, I'm trying to think maybe you guys can help me coin the name for it
because I was trying to come up with something creative,
but I didn't quite get there.
So Wish, for example, the other day I had the don't you forget about me parlay.
And it was J.J. Peturca against Buffalo, Vitrano, against Florida.
And then I don't remember who the other guy was, but it was against a former team anyways.
Tonight, we're going with a parley.
Same game parlay on Fandual, Crosby and Ovechkin.
And I wanted to do something about like turn back the clocks,
but I couldn't come up with something smart enough, Greg.
So I was hoping maybe you could help me.
of them to score in tonight's game.
OV finds his legs after last night.
Cid's just been incredible all year.
Both of those guys to score in this one tonight is my best bets or my look tonight,
and it's plus 482 on that one.
Yeah, it was snappy.
I would go like throw-down throw-back parlay.
It would be the branding that I would apply to that.
No, it would be throw-back throw-down.
Throw-back, throw-down.
Yeah, take that reverse.
The throwback, throwdown parley, then, Officer Phillips.
Okay, okay.
I like that one.
But yeah, Crosby, Ovechkin, both the score, plus 482 is that one.
And $5 on that pays you $25.
See, Jeff, I thought maybe going for like these lottery tickets.
Maybe that's the wrong way to do this.
Let's tone it down a little bit.
Let's see one go through the uprights and then we'll extend this.
I used to go on like daily on our.
our ESPN bet show on ESPN, like, during the season.
And we'd have to give a best bet.
And I would do the same thing you're doing, Zach, which is that you'd want to be smart
about it and give out something that's like big odds and whatever.
Then you come to realize you've lost like four in a row or five in a row.
And you're just like, uh, how about Ovechkin over shots tonight?
And it's like, it's like minus 500.
And you're just like, I need a layup.
Yeah, I need to get back on worse.
I need what I need one to go off my.
I wanted to go off my shin pad.
I just need something off my butt, off my hockey bat.
I just need something to get me going and get my legs going again.
I told Merrick, I was like, you know, I've done, I'd done three of them leading into this.
And each of the three had three players in it.
They're fun.
But each one of them went, oh for three.
Like, it's not even like I got two of the three, one of the three.
Nobody was scoring.
Your caddry one last week was close early.
Like was it last Saturday?
Was it last Friday or last Thursday when they...
Yeah, yeah.
And they had the early game in the country.
He's got like two pipes in the first like five minutes.
I'm like, oh, man, Zach is so hitting this.
He's not coming to work tomorrow.
He's just scooge McDuck.
He's just going to be scrooge McDuck with all the coins, man.
He's no way he's coming to work.
Yeah.
I think that was Codry, Stamcoast, and J.T. Miller.
And they were all playing against it.
It was the revenge parlay is what it was.
Revenge Parley.
You think Albrega Parlay.
again revenge both for three no good happens to all of us all right i'm two minutes away from
getting on uh others nation every day here so i got a pun on what's the rest of your day looking
like what do you got uh little little radio hit with our friends in nashville oh and uh doing
some right and doing some noodling about the uh utah mammoth uh as well um but yeah if if you want
to check out something i wrote recently though i did a whole thing on virtual reality goal
goaltending training yesterday on ESPN.
I interviewed Joey DeCord from the Cracken about his process and using this VR platform.
I tried out the VR myself.
It's actually really cool, the skills drills that you can do, not only as a goaltender,
but also as a shooter.
Which one is it?
It's a centzerina.
I did censorina.
It's great.
Yeah, my kids have used it.
It's pretty awesome, right?
When it first came out, I think Andy Albers was involved in it in a sale.
Yeah, he's their director of, of like, whatever.
So still?
He's still doing it?
He's still there, yeah.
The big news this week is on Wednesday,
they announced a partnership with the NHLPA,
so now you have actual NHL players
and their likenesses inside the virtual reality.
It's really dope.
But yeah, read the decor piece.
It's pretty good.
Great.
I love it.
Okay, good stuff.
We'll talk to you next Tuesday.
Thanks, everybody.
Greg Wischinsky from ESPN and ESPN.com,
and that's it for me.
Thanks to Greg for stopping by.
Thanks to Dave Panyoda, as always,
for stopping by the program.
No show tomorrow.
Your boys going out of town.
Hockey tournament.
for my kid and games and everything overlap and it's too tricky to put together so
I give you a day off of listening to my nonsense but I'll be back with more nonsense on Monday
thanks for listening thanks for watching thanks for downloading thanks for subscribing to
our daily face off YouTube channel back on Monday for the sheet me and officer Phillips as well
have a great weekend I'll talk to Monday
I fled 16 hours last night every day this week, every day this month.
I can't get out my head, lost all ambitions day-to-day, because you can call it all right.
I went to the dark man and tried to give me a little medicine.
I'm like, no, man, that's fine.
I'm not against those men that's but new.
It's me and myself and how this is going to be.
in my mind
I don't want to practice
I turned on the music
I do want to back
yeah
I'll get you sometimes
losing
I've been on the days that we're wrong
in the dead dark night
