The WAN Show - I Love Linux - WAN Show March 13, 2026
Episode Date: March 14, 2026One pair for everyday and everywhere. Vessi claim their Weekend Neo is waterproof, lightweight, and built for daily wear and travel. ✨ Grab 15% off your first pair here: https://vessi.com/wanshow �...� Free shipping • 30‑day returns • 1‑year warranty Go to http://factormeals.com/wan50off and use code wan50off to get 50% off and free breakfast for a year Get a free 15-day trial of Odoo’s all-in-one business solution and see how it can make your life easier! Check it out at https://www.odoo.com/wan Visit https://www.squarespace.com/WAN and use offer code WAN for 10% off Get a Circuit Board skin for your device so dbrand can keep messing with Linus at https://dbrand.com/pcb Check out the Razer Blade series of laptops; perfect for work or pleasure: https://lmg.gg/wanrazerblade Game or work in comfort on a Razer Iskur V2: https://lmg.gg/wanrazeriskur Get a special deal on Private Internet Access VPN today at https://www.piavpn.com/LinusWan Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Uh, where are my gloves?
Come on, heat.
Any day now?
Winter is hard, but your groceries don't have to be.
This winter, stay warm.
Tap the banner to order your groceries online at voila.ca.
Enjoy in-store prices without leaving your home.
You'll find the same regular prices online as in-store.
Many promotions are available both in-store and online, though some may vary.
There you go.
what's up everybody and welcome to the WAN show we got a great show lined up for you guys this week
that almost didn't happen thanks to Linux but then almost did happen thanks to Linux and then totally
did happen and we're so totally back thanks to Linux so I thought the last one was going to be
thanks to Windows so hey we made it no I got a I got a lot of I got a lot of Linux challenge
updates for y'all this week it's going to be freaking awesome in other
sort of tangentially Linux-related news,
it looks like Valve is still on track
to deliver their Steamframe and Steam Machine
in the first half of this year.
So that's pretty exciting.
They're still working out the details
of pricing and exact delivery times,
but hey, if they don't deliver it in Q1,
excuse me, if they don't deliver it in the first half,
then at least we'll have a new funny meme
for the Valve time,
website. True. Intel's new CPUs are in quotes their fastest gaming desktop processors ever.
I hope so, yeah, pretty much. But hey, we'll talk about that. Hopefully that'll be cool. Also,
more Linux news. Linux has been hacked onto a PS5, effectively turning Sony's console into kind of a
steam machine that can play PlayStation games? Honestly. Kind of cool?
That sounds kind of goaded. Kind of sick. Pretty sick.
We gotta do the thing. Hold on. I can, I think I can, they, bleh.
Oh my God. That's fine. Yeah, I'm fine. I'm fine. I'm fine. I don't know if I can,
plan if I can see it. I'll do it. Vessy, factor meals, Odu, and Squarespace.
All with our rap partner, Dbrand, laptop partner, Razor and chair partner, Razor.
Thank you. I would give anything for a razor chair right now, Luke.
I am sitting on a stool that is so crammed up.
against the bed behind me that the like rock hard for whatever reason frame around the bed is
digging into my butt and cutting off my circulation.
Rock hard things digging into your butt.
Dude, yeah, some of the some of the hotel wancho setups that I've had have been pretty precarious.
I'm not going to lie.
What do you want to talk about first?
Should we talk about my adventure getting the wandshow going?
I was going to say tech mall.
But yeah, let's do that, to be honest.
Let's do that.
and then we'll jump into your real topic,
then we'll come back to your tech mall.
Sure, it's all kind of related,
and it all started when I was still in the Uber
on my way to the airport,
and I realized,
holy crap,
I forgot my WAN show Away Kit.
So you know how the last WAN show that I did remotely?
The quality was, like, actually kind of awesome.
It's very good.
Lots of good comments about it.
Yeah.
Yeah, I was using an Algado Wave 3 microphone,
so I was just using like a desktop like kind of podcasty gaming microphone yeah and then so I was and then
for the camera I was using that like super boozy razor one from our webcam roundup yes so like
$400 webcam and I was like this is freaking awesome and I was in the Uber and I realized I didn't bring it
it was right next to my luggage it was where I keep my passport so it's impossible for me to forget
It was kind of interesting because you did bring it to ZTW even.
Like that's how like default it is for you to bring it.
Uh-huh.
But it didn't come on this trip, I guess.
Well, what happened is I got interrupted in my packing multiple times because I have kids and stuff with me.
So they needed help.
And when my routine gets interrupted, I can't, I can't do anything.
I'm useless.
I'm worthless.
Hate me.
Do you know how worthless?
Thanks, Luke. That's the affirmation I needed.
Anyway, I was in the Uber, I realized I didn't have it.
So, Yvonne, because she is, I don't know, a saint, was like, oh, well, you know, why don't we as part of our trip go to a tech mall?
And maybe you could make a video.
Hey!
Seriously, find a wife who supports you and your career as much as Yvonne does.
That's amazing.
Yeah, it's crazy.
Like, you know, I had really.
Is this like old school?
You're getting so far ahead of things.
Sorry, I'm getting excited.
I'm getting excited.
I'm telling my story.
I'm telling my story.
So, so she, so she's like, oh, we should, we should, you know, yeah, you could do that.
And I was like, you know, I had really planned to just be on vacation this time.
This one time I had planned to just be on vacation.
We could just go to Asia and I could.
not shoot a video in a tech mall.
And then I was like, well, okay, let's have a look at what my options are if I don't go to the
tech mall.
And I went, wait a second, my laptop is running Kubuntu right now.
And I have, I had a bunch of issues on the plane on the way over here trying to get screen
capture going because I was gaming on the plane.
And because I didn't bother to convert my handheld yet,
I was like, okay, well, my gaming machine for this trip then is my laptop,
because I have to game on Linux.
Dude, I had so many problems,
but then not any of the problems that were anything to do with gaming.
So we can talk about those later.
Okay.
The point is we got here and I was like,
oh, I really don't know about doing the tech mall thing.
And then I was like, wait.
can I even join the WAN show in my laptop's current state?
Because OBS was a mess.
I couldn't get screen capture working
because I was trying to show some of the challenges
that I was having on the plane on the way over here,
and I wanted to record them.
And I literally couldn't.
Still haven't solved it.
I'm sure I can, but I just haven't put in a ton of time
to solve it yet.
So I fired it up, and I was like,
uh-oh, we are in serious trouble here.
because what I didn't realize is that while my camera works,
the camera on this, this Asus machine that I'm demoing right now
that I'm using for the Linux challenge,
super cool machine, stricts halo, OLED screen, beautiful machine,
awful webcam, just horrendous.
So the webcam sucked, and even worse,
my onboard audio, it turns out wasn't working.
and I didn't realize that for, I've been Linux-pilled on this thing for, I think, two weeks now.
The reason I didn't notice is because I almost exclusively use my laptop docked.
So I'm always running over, I'm always using a USB audio device or an HDMI audio device, which does work,
or I'm using my AirPods, which do work.
my actual onboard audio doesn't work.
And so I'm in the hotel room and I'm like, okay, am I going to be able to do this?
And I just plug my headphones into my laptop and I go, holy crap, I don't have my, say, I would normally use this mic.
And then I would use my headphones.
And neither of them were working.
I was like, okay, what now?
I can't go back to Windows.
That's not in the spirit of the challenge.
So what are we going to do?
all right
we got to go to a tech mall
we're going to the tech mall
so
okay one one second
just to just to pause just to pause
you're getting some choppiness
is this
because you're on the other side of the planet
like I'm looking for input
potentially from Dan as well
this is your laptop
no this is me using
a solution that I found
okay okay okay all right
that I think you're
going to like. I think you're going to like the solution. Okay. Is it a perfect solution? No. Yeah.
Yeah. Is my audio good? Is it just the video that chops a bit? Uh, the audio, I mean,
it's, I can, it's clear. It's not as high quality as we've sometimes had on remote calls, but it's clear.
I just mean, does it chop? Does it chop? No audio seems fine, I think. It's just the video. I think.
All right. Okay. So, I headed to the tech mall, which, um, the Wikipedia article indicates is amazing,
you know and I found some other sort of raw raw
raw korea type articles that are like yeah yeah it's amazing
it's the best it's the biggest in south korea it's awesome
that sounds great and then I found some recent reviews on trip advisor
and found some recent discussion on Reddit
that it's maybe seen better days and is quote unquote
a ghost town and quote unquote full of scammers
and so I went in with very mixed expectations.
It's gigantic.
It's across over 20 buildings and totals like 5,000 shops.
So unlike, you know, Simlim Square or unlike the one that I went to in, what's it called, the Taipei one, it's not a mall.
it's more like
like oh I'm going to pronounce it wrong
but like Washong Bay
like the big tech district
in in Shenzhen
it's more like that
so it's just like
it's like a district and some of it is
you know corporate offices
and some of it is tech malls and some of it
is more like traditional malls
that just have a bunch of tech
on the ground floor
so
I had a simple objective
Luke. A simple objective.
I wanted a desk
USB microphone and a
boogie webcam.
And any time,
any time,
as a simple objective.
It's like,
oh no.
Why?
I feel like you need to have more
complicated objectives
and then maybe things will be easier.
I don't,
I don't know.
It's so true though.
Like seven gamers one CPU
was a complicated objective.
Got it done.
Yeah, I don't.
I don't know. For bonus points. For bonus points, I was like, hey, it'd be kind of cool to have a little LED light so that I would actually look deece.
Sure. All right. So I made my way through four or five floors of this place. And first, it seemed extremely promising. Just about the first store I walked into had a little like razor desk microphone. And I was like,
like, oh, this is great. This was basically effortless. I'm going to be good to go. But hey, you know, I don't want to buy the first thing I see. I'm not that kind of guy. I want to, I want to scrapyard hunt a little bit. I want to see what else they got. So anyway, I like pour through this place. And it, dude, it's a journey. It's a journey. It ended up being like a very old school video. I actually filmed it completely myself.
So I'm just on an iPhone, I've got my mic pack, and I'm just exploring this tech mall,
and the ups and downs are crazy.
I'm like, this is, I'm probably more excited about this than like, I don't know.
That sounds great.
I don't have much else to say.
It just sounds awesome.
At one point, at one point, shortly after noticing an entire store dedicated to Noctua,
which was pretty cool, I was like on the verge of giving.
up and I find a
Logitech store and I'm like
oh my gosh, that's it
that's the solution to my problem
and I got, wait, oh, uh-oh,
it's just mice.
It's like, it's like
just mice. Whoa, okay.
He's got two webcams. He has
the dinkiest
webcam of all time
and the other ever so
slightly less dinkiest
webcam of all time
and no microphones.
And then finally I was like, okay, well, I don't want to walk away completely empty-handed.
I'm going to go get that microphone.
And the shops closed.
Every other shop in the entire mall is open.
The one shop, I went everywhere else.
Not a single other desktop microphone.
Lots of like crappy, tacky gaming headsets.
No desktop USB microphones.
They're freaking closed.
So I'm just like, okay, we're getting to the point now where we are starting to run out of time.
And I have nothing.
I have no microphone.
I have no webcam, and I especially have no LED light.
So I'm just like, I'm going to go, I'm going to go to the Noctua store because they have an entire Noctua store.
They're just probably based.
And I'm going to ask them for help.
Because I did ask some other people for help.
And they were basically just like, no English, goodbye.
And I was like, okay.
I mean, fair enough, right?
Yeah, fine.
Yeah.
But which is funny, though, because.
Because in general, I'm in South Korea, if nobody figured that out yet from sort of the contextual clues.
Everywhere else I've gone, people have been like trip over themselves to be helpful, helpful.
Like, I'll just look a little bit confused.
I spent like four seconds looking at a metro map just to make sure that I was going down the right stairwell to go to the right terminus station, right?
and some guy walks over and he's like
can I help you do you do you need help are you lost I'm like no no I'm actually good but wow
like thank you um been absolutely incredible not in the tech mall for some reason the vibe was
very like like you make eye contact with them and they go oh four and pretend I didn't see him like
and then even like like like laughing to each other that they're they're both like going out of
their way to ignore me right now I'm like okay sure it might just be the one building that I
started in though anyway the knock to a dudes absolutely
absolute bros, we used Google Translate and we figured it out and they sent me to a different building
where once again, I found something I needed like immediately. Hold on just going to check. Yeah.
I walked basically through the door and into a shop with a road NtUSB plus, which is a perfectly
cromulent desktop microphone. Except once again, I was like, well, come on. I'm not going to, I'm not going to just buy
the first thing I see, never mind that it's like getting to be close to Yvonne and the kids are done at the zoo and we should probably get together for dinner at some point.
But I want to look around a little bit because, dude, this place was nuts in terms of like camera and production gear.
Like they had, I think it was what was it?
Like an FS7 Mark 2 or something like that.
Like multiple used camera bodies of that caliber right next to each other amidst like a hundred other production grade camera bodies.
just like, dude, you'd never get away with this kind of thing in North America.
Just like on the ground floor of this mall, like right next to the exit.
Yeah, I get yoint.
Like hundreds and hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of camera bodies.
Just like sitting on the counter.
Crazy.
Not even like bolted to anything.
And like, and full of like secondhand stuff.
Tons of second hand tech.
Actually in both in the first mall, which was more like PC hardware and in the second
mall that ended up being more like video production and then also.
PC hardware and also like the bougiest audio equipment. Dan, you'd get such a kick out of this place.
Like I saw turntables that were way more art than they were actually meant to be a turntable as far as I could tell.
Anyway, I walk into the place. I get a quote. Okay, how much is it?
Nothing's got pricing on it in a lot of the shops. So they just like, they pull it a calculator.
And it's like, you ain't calculating nothing. You're just typing a number in.
like you just
they just use it
so that they can
I don't know
seem like they calculated
the price
well isn't it that thing
like don't automotive
dealerships do this too
if they don't say it
if they just show it to you
it doesn't like impact as much
I think I think it's like a psychological thing
I think so
because dealerships will like write down the number
and like slide it over to you on paper
so they don't have to say it
um
really
I wonder if chat's gonna
chime in
in Japan these
calculator show prices everywhere too.
Maybe it's so that there isn't like...
Miscommunication problems.
Yeah?
Yeah.
Like I could definitely see that.
Anyway.
That's what happened when I bought my bike?
Negotiation tool?
Maybe it's both.
He shows me this price.
He shows me this price on his calculator and I go, okay, well, you know, I want to shop
around a little bit.
No, not going to buy the first thing I see.
And I go and I look it up after I leave it.
I'm like, oh my God, that's like a hundred US dollars more than if I just bought this
at B&H. So while it's a perfectly good desktop microphone, and while I'll be honest with you guys,
right, like I'm, you know, let's be real. The land show must go on. And if it came down to it,
I would buy it so that I can be coming to you guys with reasonable quality from halfway around
the world. But I don't like just burning $100 like that. It doesn't make me happy.
Yeah.
So I was like, okay.
I need to try to find something else.
Dude, if I'd been looking for like a hammer microphone
and I wanted like a professional like audio mixer or whatever,
dude, I'd have been so good, so awesome.
If I wanted a road like camera mounted, like vlogging microphone,
I'd have been so good.
I couldn't find a single other place that had a USB microphone,
even in this second mall.
and I was like starting to lose hope.
And then, and then this is actually kind of amazing, totally serendipitous.
I was going past this store, kind of like talking about the one side of it.
And buddy gets like real mad at me for having my camera out because some of the stores here, in particular, the gaming ones,
they do not want you filming their storefronts.
And I don't know if it's because they have knockoff stuff or like pirated, soft,
or they have like emulated software running as part of their display.
I whatever their reasons are for it. There was one like, uh, like very Nintendo
centric shop in particular that was like super mad when I had my phone out. I was like,
sorry bro. I like honestly don't didn't even care about your store. So, uh, sure.
Anyway, I was going past this like this island in the middle of the mall and I,
and I, I accidentally shot it and he's like, bro.
was like super mad and then that actually made me stop and I realized that and oh and he got mad at
me about wearing a backpack too he was the first one to yell at me about my backpack and because I stopped
because he yelled at me I realized that he also had the like the little hole in the wall next to it
and he had an NT USB plus in there and I was like okay well look we got off on the wrong foot but
I'll tell you what I'm going to take my backpack off you can have
I'm going to go over there and I'm going to look a little bit more closely.
And he gave me a way better price.
So here it is.
Okay.
I'm coming to you guys from a road NTUSB plus.
And I had long since given up on finding a boogie webcam.
So I went all in, Luke, chips all in on the table on being able to use my phone.
as my webcam, which is where the Linux saves the day comes in at the end of this story.
Okay. Interesting.
Buddy with the mic also had, what were the other things I needed?
Okay, right, right, right.
I needed a stand and a light.
The light ended up not being great.
I've got this, what is it?
It's a small rig.
I want to say P96.
Yeah, more like Poo-P-N 96, because
this thing, as far as I can tell,
just makes everything I pointed
at worse.
Dan had me turn it off before the show.
So I also bought a stand in a light
that are pretty bad.
And then from another one down
the, like just down the walkway
in the mall, I got a little phone
tripod that's also a selfie stick.
And that's what I'm coming to you guys
from there. So it's just over my
laptop webcam.
So last night, I get
back to the room.
Lancho is in the morning for me, right?
Like it's a 9 a.m. start or whatever it was.
So I'm not going to have time to go out shopping and re-cajigger a solution.
Literally don't have another SSD to like put windows on this laptop and get that working.
Because I've done the whole phone as a webcam thing before, but never on Linux.
So last night, it's desperation time.
first I get the mic working the mic's working but like
OBS wasn't recording it for some blah blah blah a lot of troubleshooting that
unfortunately I tried to record and ultimately I don't think I was able to record
because the mic wasn't recording any of it so yeah cool that probably won't make it
into the video and then I was like okay I need to figure out this camera
so I found three solutions suggested by AI
all of which apparently are Ubuntu ready, Debian ready.
I'm not using Ubuntu. I'm using Kubuntu or Ubuntu, it's Ubuntu, not Ubuntu, but it's hard for me to remember that.
Anyway, I'm using Kubuntu, but that's basically just Ubuntu with KDi.
So it should be anything, anything Ubuntu, I should be good to go.
So I fire up my, what's it called, Home Discover, which is the kind of the app store that
Kibun too comes with. And even though I've already configured it to use, what are the ones that I
added? I added Flat Hub and I think I added something else. Two of the three suggestions for
use your phone as a webcam things didn't show up or they like basically, yeah, didn't work.
and then I found this one
that is rated like three stars
IREAN webcam for Linux
V2.9.1
I installed it
there was literally
nothing to configure
I don't think I have ever
used anything
this seamlessly before
in my life
you've just got a drop down
which camera would you like
that camera
back
telephoto
what was that
ultra wide
what was that
what was that
one of them
was like a monkey face
or something
what do you mean
monkey face
that's my face
bro
I don't know
I think one of them
wasn't you
no I swear
I swear
did anyone else see it
I swear
was there not
Dan did you see that
did anyone else
am I crazy
I'm pulling up
playback
what was that
um
that was my face bro
no
one of the most different
there's another drop down
for video format
you just pick your resolution
and you pick your frame rate
and then there's another one
for whether you want to use
the audio from your iPhone
that's it
and you're just
you're just good to go
what do
what
apparently it was
it was zoomed in
super blown out
and upside down.
That's my face though.
The telephoto?
I'm going to just screen cap it.
My bad.
My bad.
Okay.
Sorry.
Sorry.
Hold on.
And I...
It's going to...
Monitor is going to...
So I connected with a cable.
And that didn't seem to do anything.
So I'm just on hotel Wi-Fi.
It just immediately worked.
And has not been perfect.
But it has, like...
basically worked for as long as I've been streaming with you today.
So I am completely coming to you Linux Live and it's going great thanks to Irian webcam V2.9.1.
Awesome. That's actually, that's pretty cool.
It's been, it's been sort of almost like a like a microcosm of my entire Linux experience.
even like over the years
if I try to do something complicated
it's shocking how
how somebody thought of that
and built a solution for it
it tends to be
and when I try to do this
when I try to do the simplest
bloody thing
it breaks
let me install steam gone
let me let me use my phone's camera
camera as a webcam instantly works
that's crazy
see like
I would have been scared of that problem, to be completely honest.
Yeah.
I'm surprised that was just like one shot.
That's really cool, actually.
I was scared of this problem.
And like, I don't know, man.
And you know what's funny is I saw someone cringing that I'm using AI as part of the Linux
challenge.
But there's two things, right?
One is that that's how people are going to do it.
You don't have to like it, but you do have to just kind of sit down and accept it.
like all of my normie friends and family,
they go straight for the AI
when they want to know how to do something these days.
And there's also like...
You don't have to take my word for it.
That's just like a fact.
And that's just like declining use of click through.
That's just a fact.
That's just how it is.
And you can hate it.
Yep.
But you do just have to like deal with it.
That's how people are doing things.
And what this is...
Sorry, you can keep going.
Number two is honestly, it's been way more useful.
When I was trying to figure out my screen recording issue, I came across a like a discussion thread that had, I kid you not, five different solutions for how I can solve screen recording issues on Kubernetes.
I don't want five solutions.
I want to know how to fix it.
And all these individual people are just arguing with each other about the validity and merit of all these various solutions, some of which.
Like I tried the first couple and they didn't even like apply anymore.
Just wasn't that useful.
And so that's the two things.
So as part of the Linux challenge, it's something that I would do anyway,
just because a huge part of my approach is that I'm trying to,
I'm trying to kind of channel my inner what would a random, you know,
and I have this one guy that I think of when I think of the Slackjod gamer.
and I bumped into him at Pax like 11 years ago.
Oh,
it was back when NVIDIA launched the Shield portable handheld.
Remember that thing?
Yeah, and I know the story too now.
Do you know the story?
You know the story.
Okay?
So I encountered this guy who's sitting on a beanbag playing a PC game on this Android portable
that is streaming over Wi-Fi,
which at the time was absolutely mind-blowing.
Like, I was so, I was so amped about, like, Wi-Fi game streaming
and the fact that this device was, like, decent ergonomics and reasonable portability
that could play Android games, and you could stream your freaking PC games over Wi-Fi to it.
It blew my freaking mind and eventually became G-Force Now and Moonlight and Steam Remote Play
and just this technology.
And it was at the forefront of it.
I think even just that concept in general also inspired you pretty heavily towards what ended up being your like my compute at my home as a server room thing.
Yes.
Because you used to talk a lot about how it would be likely that a lot of people would end up going that route and then distributing compute throughout their house.
And then that didn't get as popular as kind of a lot of people actually expected, but you were still able to pull it off for your setup.
Not in the way that I anticipated.
Yeah.
Instead, it lives in a data center somewhere in the form of G-Force now.
or whatever Microsoft calls their remote Xbox stuff.
Anyway, the point is, I walk up to this guy
who's experiencing the freaking future in his hands.
And I go, like, oh, yeah, what do you think?
He's sitting there on this beam bag and he's like,
that it was cool.
I was like, oh, yeah, did you realize that like it's,
it's like beaming to you?
And he's like, he's just gaming.
He's just gaming.
He doesn't care how it works.
He doesn't want to go any further than the lowest possible friction path to he's just playing his game.
And he's locked in.
And I was like, okay, well, I'm basically, I'm talking to a vegetable at this point.
But it was just, it was really eye-opening to me because, you know, for many years, I had thought, oh, well, like, you know, gamers.
We're like, we're very interested in, like, the hardware and, and how it all, you know, is configured and whatever setting means.
And we really care about all this stuff.
But no, there is a very, very large, much larger, way larger proportion of gamers who don't care at all.
Not even a little bit.
And so, yeah, probably high.
Yes, Tchalk junuclei.
Almost definitely, like, high as a kite, this guy.
It was remarkable.
Anyway, I forget where I was going with this.
But the point is that that's how I'm doing it, because that's how people are doing it.
And honestly, I'm...
I can't argue with the result.
It worked great.
Thanks.
I'm coming to you.
I'm coming to you over Linux.
Linux saved the WAN show, boys.
And I don't have a,
I don't have much Linux news.
Things have been going fine for me.
I think I've already updated WAN show on what's going with my laptop.
So I have Linux Mint on there.
For,
I guess a little bit of an update there just because you don't know what's going on.
Because in the video I talk about how I've been running Arch on my laptop for a while.
technically when I filmed that it was running Windows and up until fairly recently it was running Windows
but it was running Windows because it was having a hardware issue and Lenovo the laptop maker was
like maybe it's Linux which I'm not even upset at them for saying that reasonable enough
because the hardware issue that was that was happening was the screen would just like lock
and that's kind of weird so like it wasn't like the computer would just shut down randomly or
anything, the screen would lock.
And there was no, yeah, anyways.
So they were like, can you try Windows?
So I did.
And the same problem happened.
And then I just was too lazy to switch back over because the whole point of running
arch was to just point out that if you live in a browser all the time, it just doesn't
really matter.
And then Windows is getting in my way because the start menu stopped working.
So I rage installed Mint, because I'm more comfortable with Mint.
And Mint's been a fantastic experience.
I was pointing out to people before the show that I think it's actually really cool.
and I don't know how many, maybe there's tons of other examples of this.
I don't know.
I'm not that experience.
But like, if I type in SNN for snipping tool,
screenshot will come up a tool that Mint has.
Yeah.
It's not snipping whatever.
It's screenshot.
If I type in paint, it'll come up with drawing.
It has like something, some form of information that's like these are common things.
A Windows user would type in a start menu.
It's kind of what they expect to come up.
And then those things tend to come up, which is fantastic.
Keywords.
Yeah.
Alias is keywords, something.
They have some type of list.
Yeah.
Some kind of metadata.
Yeah.
And it makes it just super easy.
Oh my God.
Everything I've had to do super easy.
I'd assign PDFs.
Stuff's already installed.
Whatever.
Super easy.
What a joke.
The biggest problem with computers that I've had in the last week isn't, isn't like
technically a problem.
It didn't stop me from doing anything.
but it's been that this computer is Dan and I think it's like failing to Windows update,
but constantly trying.
Because there's,
because there's the Windows Modules installer worker that for literally hours at this point
has been taking up a very significant amount of memory,
a very significant amount of CPU,
a decent amount of disk,
just everything.
and going like hard.
There has been times where we've seen it spin up
to over like 40% CPU usage.
And it's just sitting there almost always at the top,
the highest process being used.
And like I've got I've got Chrome open right now on here
with the WAND dock and float plane and chat
and all this kind of stuff.
And it's not even Chrome that's using the most system resources.
It's the Windows module installer.
I've had some other interesting issues with it.
You try to install it.
and it fails.
And then to retry, it has to download the whole thing again.
Nice.
And so it's probably downloading and it's so slow.
Yeah.
And then it fails and tries it's...
So with one browser with three tabs open and task manager,
I'm at 60% memory, 25% CPU usage.
Because Windows module installer and the service host Windows event log and WMI
and a few other things are.
just cranking like all the time.
Oh my gosh.
And, yeah.
So the biggest problem I've had during the Linux challenge has been a Windows computer.
That being said, I haven't, I've been intentionally avoiding some things knowing that they
won't work.
But, yeah, I don't know.
So here's a question for you.
Yeah.
Is that a hack?
Because I have mixed thoughts on this.
Like, on the one hand.
launching a game that says not compatible on ProtonDB,
that feels like just throwing Linux under the bus, right?
But on the other hand, if you go in in good faith being like,
I need to accomplish task A.
Well, here's my...
And it turns out there's no solution.
Yeah, no, that's fine.
Here's my good faith thing.
I don't check.
I don't even go to ProtonDB.
Oh, interesting.
I run in compatibility mode with 10, whatever, 10-04, whatever it is.
the newest proton compatibility mode,
and I just run it.
Interesting.
I don't play as many games as I used to.
I don't game as much as I used to.
On Linux.
Everything's been fine.
The little tucks in your game library will, like, tell you
if it's Linux ready anyway.
So you don't even use that?
Nope, don't look.
That's crazy.
To me, that's the kind of thing that if I did,
people would be losing their minds at me.
Like I'm trying to make limits look at that.
haven't ran into a single problem. If I, if I clicked play and it didn't launch, I'd look into something,
but there has been no reason to. Like, I'm not, I'm not trying to. There's a, I saw some reviews.
Some people like reviewing our, our first video and like some comment threads about it. And they're
all like, oh, well, he's fine because he's like super Linux experience. I'm not do it in,
in like the same way that Linus isn't doing anything. I'm not doing anything. I'm not, I'm doing nothing.
So far it's been kind of luck of the draw
But like you saw this right
Like we went down to Florida
I downloaded Slaid the Spire 2
On pre-release launch
I clicked play
I would assume something light
Like Slaid the Spire would work
But then you can't assume you can't assume
But I don't think that's a crazy assumption either
To be honest
But like yeah
It also wouldn't be crazy if it didn't work
Yep
It's in EA right
Yep, but I didn't check anything.
Not electronic arts.
I didn't look up if anyone was having problems
before we went into a place with dubious internet.
I didn't plan anything.
I did nothing.
I installed the game, clicked play,
and it worked completely flawlessly.
It's also Godot.
It's like, yeah, it's, yeah, I just haven't,
it's been funny.
I, um, I, I, I played, uh, probably about three hours,
of God of War, like, remaster, like, not the first God of War game from like the PlayStation
or whatever, but like God of War for...
The relaunch, whatever you want to call it.
Yeah.
And it was freaking awesome.
I don't know if I was getting as much performance as I would have gotten on Windows, but I was
getting enough performance.
I did run into a weird issue where my charger, I only brought like a little compact 65-watt
charger and this laptop,
realistic, it comes with like a
150 watt charger or something like that.
But I can game
off of that charger and
it'll hold the line.
Like it won't charge or discharge.
So that was what I brought with me.
And I did run into an issue where
I got down to 10% battery
and I got that notification.
And then I was like, oh crap, someone knocked
my charger off on the plane.
So I put it back in. And then because
that notification kept like coming and going and coming and going because I was like riding 10%
forever the game eventually entered a state where it just got kind of choppy and wouldn't run properly
so I had to turn it off charge up a little bit launch the game again and then it was smooth again
but like realistically I don't know I would have you could have an issue like that on a on a
Windows PC as well so I'm I'm counting that as it ran pretty darn good and I'm really enjoying the game
so far. I finally
freaking playing it. It's funny how that
kind of happens for me is
it takes like a new device launch
or a Linux challenge or something for me to
finally get into a game I've been meaning
to play for years.
Like when did that come out?
2018 or 2017
or something? Not quite but I think
we're getting close. There's been
like sequels to it since then.
But there is some things
like you know
I'm not playing
I don't know, basically any multiplayer shooter game.
Yeah.
And again, I feel like it's less impactful this time around because I'm not playing as much stuff.
Right, yeah.
I mean, your gaming rig has been just like locked away for freaking six months anyway.
So it's not like you're like locked in and hyper in deep into a season of something.
Yeah.
Right as you're starting the challenge.
There is.
The wipes coming soon and you want to get in a bunch of gaming or whatever.
The one casualty is
Tarkov released 1.0 recently
and you can like escape from Tarkov now.
You can like complete the game.
And I like have some curiosity to do that
and finally put like a pin in it and be like
I have completed.
And that's the the draw is not
strong enough for me to like really care I think.
Like it's one of those.
We had this conversation pretty early of like
it kind of blows
you need to compromise
what games you can play
because of your operating system
and I'm sitting here on Linux
being like the experience
has been pretty good
I don't really care enough
I think to
so far
this is even
I think that might be a bit
of a boomer dad take though
it might be but it's dark off
where like gaming is not
the game is older
than no no that I know
I just mean like
gaming in general
I don't think is as much
of a central part
of your social life
that's where I'm getting with this.
Yeah.
There is a weird, I saw somebody point out,
and I don't know if this would work with Tarkov,
maybe it were some of the things.
And this isn't even a recommendation.
And like, it's kind of,
I wouldn't want to do it.
I have actually less interest in this than I do in, like,
dual booting, which I don't have a lot of interest in.
But G-Force Now is apparently a way you can get around some stuff.
Like, Fortnite, apparently you can play Fortnite through G-Force Now.
I didn't have interest in playing Fortnite before.
I don't have interest in playing Fortnite now.
But yeah, like I'm trying to think of what Slay the Spire 1 and 2.
I've launched both of those.
Balthersgate.
My dad and I jumped on, wow, that worked.
You just have to add, wow.
You have to go in Steam and then click activate a non-Steem game.
And then just add the installer 3.
through there and it.
And then it'll just proton you.
Yeah, it just works.
Okay.
Which is like, you know, that does take a second.
You have to Google like, okay, what?
And then the whole internet.
Honestly, what's been really, really helpful.
And I wonder if this is a bit of a hack for me is part of the reason why I went
with cashies, because it's based on Arch.
So I can follow the Steam deck guides.
Right.
Yep.
So that was what I ended up seeing for, uh, wow.
was a Steam Deck guide.
How do I play on Steam Deck?
And I was like,
that'll probably work for me.
And then, yeah, it did.
I got to be honest with you.
I've been happy about my Kubuntu choice
for pretty much the same reason
because Kubuntu Debian
are by far the most supported
when it comes to just like a random application
for using your iPhone as a webcam.
That being said,
literally,
I'd be really interested if you sent that to me
because I figured out recently
the whole tarball thing
it's just a zip file
you just open it and then run the stuff
that's inside of it and it seems to work fine
I had something that was made for
Debbie and work
with nothing from my end
immediately and it was completely fine
so I don't know
let me have a look at what their
what their download form
mats are oh yeah it's a oh it's a beta i actually forgot to mention that that the irian webcam is
beta for linux and it just worked immediately to 2204 or later required so they're literally on their
site was not an obvious way to um yeah so it's a dot d eb download so i just so all i had to do was
just open it in my uh in my store in my discover store or whatever the
stupid thing is called in my Discover store and go for it.
So sorry, no, this one's not beta.
So the support for Ubuntu is not beta.
And then there's a Linux RPM package, which I'm not familiar with.
I don't know what that means.
I don't know how that relates to your tarballs or whatever.
But that one is in beta.
And that's, yeah, dot RPM, whatever that is.
So when it comes to doing anything not gaming,
which I haven't actually really needed a ton of.
guides for. I've been
extremely
le happy to be on
Debian basically, to be on Ubuntu.
Yeah, I found
you know, Mint just had all the stuff
pre-installed. Like, I've been having
a good time with Kashi, but I don't know if I would
recommend Kashi to a ton of people.
It's
I hate to be that guy, but like,
I don't know if I would recommend
any flavor of the week
distro. No, I. And not
because the distro is bad, I think.
Yeah.
But because the people who
tends to evangelize these distros
are self-selecting as people who enjoy tinkering.
Yeah.
And so the very fact that they are recommending it
tells me that that's probably not what I want.
No offense.
No offense.
And for me it's been fine,
but it is been like,
oh okay I have to like go get something for screenshots all right um like there's been stuff like
and it's been easy to do so I like you you're talking about how you haven't been using like
thank you I like you too you're talking about how you haven't been using the like forums much and
stuff um yeah I've been kind of avoiding them as well I me too but I've been mostly avoiding them
the level one text forum is is permanently based but a lot of the other ones like honestly
I just don't need that much negativity.
You get,
you get like a simple question,
and then it's just 20 pages of people screaming at each other
for like often,
completely unrelated reasons.
It's wild.
It's honestly just kind of terrible.
But,
level one text form has been awesome.
Holy Wars are bad.
And the collateral damage is not worth it.
And you were talking about how like the flavor of the month distros thing,
one thing I will give Cashie,
as much as I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to
to new Linux users so much,
at least in my experience.
Is their wiki is awesome.
If you're willing to kind of like pour through a wiki a bit,
I could actually totally see new users using Cashi.
They have like this software list thing where it's like,
oh, here's a ton of different things you might need to do in your computer.
And here's recommended software that you can use on Cashi.
And here's the like package name.
So you can install it super easy, stuff like that.
but yeah their wiki is sweet their documentation is really good um so i've often i've i've kind of
defaulted to just like i'm not actually going to look up what people are saying i'm just going to
go look up the wiki and just find the information already there and grab that um yeah yeah
it's been uh it's been pretty good i will say the the mint experience has been more comfortable
isn't safe nope nowhere is i
like toxicity.
Yeah,
I actually think it's just nowhere.
So you've never tinkered with windows,
especially when you had to learn PC.
Stop lying.
Nobody said that.
Nobody said anything about that.
It's just,
it's honestly,
like,
it sucks.
I honestly,
I think it might be worse
than the first time we did this.
Which I find interesting.
I was,
I was expecting it to be better after that.
Me too.
It seemed like after the initial,
very,
strong reaction last time around. It seemed like they, a lot of people stopped blaming the user
quite as much when they realized, oh, wait, that was a really bad bug that caused that. Oh, wait,
a lot of this feedback is really valuable. We actually have a couple of people who between them
had at the time probably about 30 years of experience testing tech products doing free QA.
Like, maybe this is valuable what's going on right now.
And a lot of stuff on the developer side got fixed after we've liked, after we had issues with it.
Linux, the experience of using Linux again itself, both Mint and Kashi, has actually been really cool.
The improvements over the last, what, four years has been wild.
That's been one of the really cool things about using Mint on my laptop, too, is
as much as I'm playing around with Cashi,
I get to experience the thing that I did last time too
and seeing the gap, like Mint has come really far.
People trash on Mint for not getting as many updates
because it's an LTS thing and all that kind of stuff.
There's other parts of that as well.
But it has gotten a lot better, actually.
And I kind of liked it last time.
So like, that's been really cool.
And even just using Cashi, like things feel like they've really been worked on
since last time we did this challenge.
but the community just
ah guys the memes aren't cool
like it's actually just sucks
it's very it's very uh acidic
I don't want to go near it too much
and again there are havens
for like the fourth time or something
the level one text forum is awesome
um that that cashy wiki is freaking fantastic
um there are places where you can have
really good interactions
um but man there is just so much
prickly
I don't know, it's very
like holier than thou mentality
I must be right
about my opinion that multiple people could be right
about situation.
So this is really important.
Our, on my float playing commenter
is still upset basically
going you hold Linux to a bar
and then flame it. That's how it feels.
And it's like
yeah. It's all about the
perspective. When you hear me
talk about Linux in general, open source in general, you'll hear me be extremely, you'll hear me praise
it like very, very strongly because the concept is incredible. World changing is not an overstatement,
right? The free open source software is like, you know, YouTube, I would say as a wonder of the world
is incredible. It's something we've never had before and may never see again if somehow we,
we lose what we have now, this amazing thing.
And part of what's amazing about it is that it shouldn't be lost.
It doesn't seem like it's possible for it to be lost.
But we should never take that for granted either.
It's all I'm trying to say.
So from that perspective, you know, I'm very positive, very bullish.
I mean, you've heard me many times publicly talk about how the year of the Linux desktop is coming.
I think SteamOS could be the one.
However, when I am a.
approaching something from the perspective of an individual user who's trying to get something done,
you're just going to have to put the emotions aside.
Because, and so am I.
If I go and I click run this software and it doesn't, or it has me don't
donking around in the terminal a bunch, then I'm going to have to just give you a reality
bomb that most people don't want to do that.
And that's a terrible user experience.
And when I show up on a forum, talking,
about that terrible user experience and you get emotional,
like you're getting emotional right now,
and you make it that, you know,
I'm attacking this thing that is precious to you,
instead of just going, okay,
maybe this thing I love isn't perfect and could be better,
that's destructive.
That actually works against what we're all trying to do
and what I am rooting for,
which is Year of the Linux desktop.
But these different perspectives matter
and these different framings matter.
Linux challenge is not about do I love open source software and do I support it?
It's about, hey, as a gamer, how actually usable is this day to day and how much work do I have to put into it?
Am I substituting?
Go ahead.
It's also not a Linux sales pitch.
Like I've seen some, yeah, I've seen some people like upset that the negativity exists.
I've seen some people upset that Linus is trying to interact with things in the way that a normal user might and stuff.
And it's like, guys, what, like, what?
There are 10 trillion I switch to Linux videos on YouTube.
There's so many.
People have figured out that this format kind of works and people click on it.
Cool.
Sounds great.
This is our angle.
Everyone's going to have their own.
Yeah.
it's it's it's interesting but like it's it is a problem that the community is so toxic I think being
honestly being too being too positive about something I think can can be equally destructive to it
if you misrepresent something big time I mean think about it if you're shopping for a car
okay and you walk into the dealership and they tell you it gets a thousand miles to the gallon
and the paint never peels, it never needs to be washed,
and the second, you know, a woman sees you in it,
she will be drawn to you magnetically,
and you buy this thing, and it turns out it's just a car,
you're going to be disappointed
because the framing of it was totally wrong.
And you lose trust.
Exactly. And you might never buy a car from that brand again.
That's why I think it is so important
to just take off the makeup and be realistic about what this is like and what the problems are.
And if I find a problem, if a problem that I find is that, hey, this OS that everyone knows is bad,
still gets recommended a lot by tools like Google Search and like ChatGPT,
that you don't have to like it, but you do have to just kind of deal with it,
that basically everyone uses,
then don't be mad at me.
I'm just the messenger.
Solve the problem.
If that's what you're passionate about,
solve the problem.
But you said SteamOS could be the one for a year of the Linux desktop.
I don't think it's going to be.
I don't think it's going to be probably ever.
I don't think Valve is going to want to support the non-gaming aspects of it.
but that's one of the reasons why I've been playing around in like arch land and like playing
around with a couple different distros and stuff like that is because my current
extremely ignorant vibe check is like maybe the path that they're on is going to get a lot
of support and I've been kind of seeing that with cash EOS and like these different types of things
I don't think if we went back four years ago and I'm probably wrong about this in some
way.
Manjaro.
You have a button for that.
Manjaro was arch based.
Isn't that right?
Is Manjaro arch based?
No, I don't think so.
Yes, Manjaro is arch based.
Is it?
Yeah.
Oh, okay.
Yep, thank you.
So that was like a round,
but that was, if I'm,
you ended up using that, right?
Yeah, I did.
I used Manjaro.
I forget why I decided to use Manjaro,
but I ultimately settled on it.
So I think that was like,
Yeah, no. Okay, yeah, it's because it's easy arch.
Yeah. Or it was.
Yeah. I don't know. It might still be.
But I think that was like just kind of starting to become a thing as like that could maybe be used for gaming.
But Arch was always just the big spooky side of things.
People didn't really want to touch it. I remember people started talking about the AUR around that time.
And it started becoming a little bit more approachable. And there was Manjaro and a couple things like that.
And these days now it's like, oh, it's the gaming thing. And Cash US is over there.
and oh, Steam, Steam OS is built on this thing.
And gaming focus, gaming focus, gaming focus.
And I think the other things will kind of follow.
And I think something in that realm might make it,
which is why I'm trying to familiarize myself with those things,
instead of just sitting in my comfortable mint land forever.
So the reason I think it's going to be Steam OS is because I believe at this point,
And I've just, I've seen too much in our, in our last Linux challenges and just with the, the development of open source software in general, I believe you need a vision for something like an operating system.
I think you need a really strong direction.
And SteamOS has it.
And while I do absolutely see your point that with their focus on ultimately, like let's, let's not kid our.
ourselves selling more
counterstrike gunskins
right yeah
like you know what drives
valve at the end of the day
um i can see
how you might not have faith
that they're going to put the time and the
work into
the other aspects
of the desktop experience
from talking to the folks there
from seeing the direction that they're going
from the steam deck right
which is handheld only it's it's
big picture only, right? And seeing how much they wanted to talk about how much they've improved
the desktop experience with the Steam machine. The fact that one of their demos was with a
desktop monitor and the Steam machine running in desktop mode, the fact that it was a while back,
we were trying to get this ancient printer working for a video. And that was when I realized that
SteamOS had no built-in support for printers of any sort.
You had to basically, like, clutch it in yourself.
Since then, I believe they do support printers now.
And there would be no...
Can someone double-check that for me?
I'm going to need a Luke.
I don't know here.
But I believe that is a thing now.
There is no reason to support printers and the printing stack out of the board.
box if you don't freaking intend for this to be a desktop operating system. So to me, the vision
that I see and the direction that they're going are the strongest and the most cohesive.
And I just don't know. Yes, printer support added in SteamOS 3.6. And I just, I see how much
money they're putting into making the experience better for gamers. And I know that. I know
that gamers are just one specific use case, but they also are a use case that demands high
performance that tends to be micro-influencers for their friend groups around them. And I just,
I see momentum building that way. And I saw a couple comments in the chat. Yeah, but it's AMD only.
Valve would love for SteamOS to be super invidia friendly tomorrow. But from, and this is me putting words in
their mouth. No one from Valve has told me this. Any of this. I'm assuming that they would love
for SteamOS to be Nvidia friendly. And what I'm basing that on is that the original steam machines
10 years ago used Nvidia cards. Valve clearly wanted to use Nvidia at some point. But from what I can
tell, it basically just comes down to vendor cooperation and vendor software support. Something that
Torvalds mentioned has gotten way better from Nvidia.
Now that Linux and AI and Nvidia all have a common direction that they're trying to go.
Yeah, yeah.
Will the gaming hardware follow?
Yeah, I think it will.
There's also, man, there's also like bigger industry trends that we can look at and go, okay, well, does Nvidia matter that much?
You could look at their gaming discrete GPU market share, what is it, 95% in the most recent report?
and go, yeah, yeah, it's the only thing that matters.
But like the laptop that I'm running on right now, this machine does not have a dedicated GPU.
And I don't care at all.
Even a little bit.
I'm using an APU.
But with the performance of the AMD radion 8060s or whatever the model is graphics in this thing, I don't care.
So, yeah, if AMD's market share.
continues to absolutely suck donk on discrete,
but their APUs continue to go the direction that they're going right now,
where they own the business of Sony PlayStation,
own the business of Microsoft Xbox,
whatever form that ultimately ends up taking,
pretty much own the entire gaming handheld space,
and are shipping these incredible high-powered GPUs
that are going to start to dominate in laptops,
or even small-form factor desktops,
like the framework desktop investment disclosure.
I don't know, man.
Maybe that whole thing that I remember AMD first talking about with Fusion back shortly after the ATI acquisition.
Maybe that whole thing where desktop computers don't need to discrete GPU, like becomes a thing.
Gross.
Gross.
I know.
You might be right.
I know.
It's still gross, though.
And yet, and yet I was playing God of,
and it was freaking awesome on what as a high-powered solution, yes, very expensive right now,
but I remind everyone is an integrated GPU.
Itky.
What?
Integrated graphics, dude.
Gross.
And yet here we are, though.
No, I hear you.
I hear you.
I can accept the reality and still be disgusted by it.
There's a lot of that lately.
Person for sure says I don't want Sauter-D-on-Ram.
But guess what, buddy?
You already have soldered on RAM.
The RAM on your GPU is soldered
because it needs to run at super high speeds.
We're just using our GPU RAM as also system memory.
Nothing changed.
Just your perception changed.
Your perspective changed.
Yeah, that computer that you stick into your computer
that is the graphics card.
That always really fascinates me.
It really is its whole own computer.
Like if you look at...
If you look at, if you, if you really like analyze a whole graphics card, it has the whole everything.
Has everything.
Everything, buddy.
And like, especially the professional grade ones that can do, you know, virtualization and stuff and that happened.
And they, it's, yeah, it's just a computer in your computer.
Yeah.
It's funny because, like, in some ways, Intel Larrabee was so far ahead of the curve on that, where it was just,
purpose compute that was just hyper hyper parallel and could also be used for graphics and it was just a
computer. But yeah, so much for Laroby. Yeah. Have we actually done any topics yet? I don't think so.
This could transfer us into a weird jump if we wanted to to the 3060 news. Oh, here's a good one.
Hold on. Last thing. Ana Hicaj says, fun fact. The Bazaiiite
devs just updated the website
to make the warning for the Nvidia
deck ISO, which is broken,
more obnoxious and clearly
stated. Linus's experience
has already made Linux better.
And that's the thing.
The community zealots are
mad. The developers,
if they're smart, are looking at this
going, this is free QA.
Holy crap.
We should action this.
So shout out Bazite for
recognizing it for what it is. Calling
something beta in this day and age, I mean, Gmail was beta for 10 years.
Calling something beta doesn't mean what it used to.
And honestly, the experience that I had on that particular ISO for Basite was not even the old
definition of beta.
That was like alpha or pre-alpha.
It was completely broken, just completely broken.
So, I don't know, dude.
Yeah.
Where is it?
Back then it was beta mail.
Gmail. Thank you, chat. You guys are great.
Top. Okay, here we go. This is a potentially short topic, but I did want to transition to it just
because we're talking about like what GPUs people are actually using and stuff like that.
And then we can go to what Dan was talking about. But Nvidia reportedly brings back
production of the RTX 3060 to Samsung 8 nanometer production.
Samsung is restarting production of their 3060s, discontinued in 2024 on its 8 nanometer
node, according to Korean outlet, Hank Young.
I'm just going to confidently say that, and we'll see how it goes.
InVDIA's RTX 40 and 50 series, both run on TSM's custom 4 nanometer node, a 5 nanometer
class process, because it's all just naming at this point that's maxed out producing
Blackwell gaming and AI chips.
So the old Samsung 8 nanometer line can run without cutting into next gen supply.
The move is being driven by a few things at once.
A GDDR 7 memory shortage is squeezing RTF 50 series supply,
and NVIDIA's high-end AI chips face an uncertain and shifting regulatory congressional restrictions
in terms of shipping to China and doing all this weird stuff.
The older RTS 3060 sidesteps pretty much all of that,
since it falls outside of the restricted categories entirely.
It's still unclear whether the returning card will be on the 12.
gig original or the cut down 8 gig variant.
But one of the really, really cool side effects of this is people who currently have a
3060 or potentially just 3,000 series GPU in general will probably have elongated driver
support because of this, which is really cool because those cards still kind of ripped.
Still pretty based.
Yeah.
Absolutely.
So like if you're still running a 3060 because, hey, why not?
I mean, there's a ton of people still asking for a few more years
out of their 1080s and 1080TIs.
So I'm sure there's a ton of people still running 3060s.
Then sick, you're going to have a lot more driver support.
There's so many games coming out that really don't need much more power.
I'm sure 3060s run something like Arc Raiders, no problem.
With that said, if some of the rumors that I've seen about the next generation Xbox
are anything to go by and also the PlayStation,
6, don't forget that we're at the end of a cycle right now.
We're at the end of a console cycle and there's always a leap.
Once the dev kits for PS6 and Xbox, whatever they end up calling it, start to roll out to
developers.
We are going to start to see next generation games, hit development.
We're also going to continue to see live service games that continually get their graphics
updated like wow that are going to keep moving forward.
and so we shouldn't get, we shouldn't necessarily go, okay, well, you know, a 30-60 ought to be enough for everyone kind of thing.
But right now, I 100% agree.
I was actually, I was gaming on a 30-60 recently for some reason.
What was it?
Oh, right.
I remember we did the Brazilian PC.
Right.
That's, I think actually up on float plane right now, you guys can watch it.
We ordered PCs from Brazil, which tends to be a couple of generations behind because,
it turns out that import tariffs are actually a really great way to make everything way more expensive for people who want to buy stuff.
That's not a political statement. That's just math. And math is math. I don't make the rules about it.
So we did the Brazil PC and I was gaming on a 3060 and I was playing freaking cyberpunk and I was like,
holy crap, is DLSS ever like good these days? And I'm having a pretty darn good experience right now.
like what?
Yeah
360 is still a pretty freaking awesome
It's a sick car
So if we're going to get more driver support out of this
That's just like
I didn't even really think immediately about like
What I would call like a restricted market
Like Brazil kind of is
Where this is going to help them even more
And that's awesome
Yeah so I just thought this was honestly
Kind of it's
It's
I could see people taking this negative news
I'm just going to decide to take it as good news
because hey we could use one of those
and I like the idea of the driver support extending
but yeah I think this is
great news
is that a controversial take
no I just I'm just kind of
sitting here thinking like someone might see it as negative
because this means that they're not
necessarily increasing
like they're not increasing capacity
and getting out more like 50 series cards
which means that they'll be maintaining
the price of those cards
I've wondered for years now why the low-end one isn't just the last-gen one.
And for a long time, that wasn't feasible, because the old nodes, the dyes would be so big
that the cost just doesn't make any sense.
But for years now, you've had everyone, Intel, Nvidia, AMD, talking about how, well,
the new product is just more expensive because, yes, we can make a better one because of the dye shrink,
but it costs so much more to manufacture
that there isn't really like a cost benefit
and I was like, okay, well then why don't you just make
bigger, bigger dyes on the older node
of your last gen card and just keep printing them
and that can be your low end.
Like I'm super, like dude,
if Nvidia wanted to make more than just 3060s,
if they wanted to make 3070s, I'd be super down for that too.
Bring it on.
What is the AI card?
A lot of people try to go for?
3090s?
Oh yeah, 24 gig.
People still a lot.
of 3090s, 24 gigs.
That wouldn't make any sense, though,
just because of how much RAM you're putting into it.
And it's just too much GPU to make
for how much RAM you have to put on it,
for how much performance and how much power consumption
you're going to get.
And again, I've got people in chat yelling at me.
I'm not saying,
relax, I'm not saying I think it's negative news.
I said repeatedly that I think it's positive news.
I was just saying that some people might think
I'm getting that angle right now.
Uh, all I'm saying...
It's a tube of meat.
It's seasoned.
I prefer flat meat.
I prefer flat meat.
It comes off delicious.
I'm gonna come out and say it.
I prefer flat meat.
So much colon cancer.
But that's later.
My meat should be flat and circular.
So...
Not health advice.
Not health advice.
Uh,
really?
Okay.
More information than I wanted.
Uh, anyways, no, I was just saying like a shift of direction. I know it's a different process
node. I know it's different manufacturing. I know it's going back to Samsung. It's not using
the five nanomy, we literally just talked about that. I know that's a thing. It's like attention
pulling away. It's not potentially increasing whatever, blah, blah, blah. It's still like,
it's not an argument I even agree with. I was just saying that I could see some people trying to
take that angle. Okay, so chill. Circular meat is fine.
tube meat is fine
Anyways, Dan, CW things or something?
Get me out of here.
Yeah, you Blumplast.
More topics, he blown past, comms.
Why don't we do the CW announcement and a couple comms?
All right.
Hey,
Creator Warehouse's ambitions of being more than just the, you know,
merchandise arm of Linus Media Group
are coming to fruition here,
L's and G's because the Blanks
collection is expanding.
Luke, if anyone's going to screen share
it's going to have to be...
It's up. Way ahead of you.
What a guy.
What a freaking guy.
We are now showing
off our blank zip-up hoodie,
which is designed for easy layering
while keeping that clean, minimal look.
It's available in black and dusty olive,
and it's made from the same
100% French Terry Cotton
as our classic blank hoodies.
And we're also introducing a blank hoodie that does not zip up in Dusty Olive.
You can complete the set with our new Blank Sweatpants available in also Black and Dusty Olive.
These are great for lounging, the gym, or quick errands, and they match nicely with our other tops and hoodies, even older colors that you might already have.
Visit LMG-G slash Blanks to shop the collection, and hey, if you happen to be another creator who has some kind of interest in
working with us, but you're not that interested in having LTT branding all over the stuff that you have.
You know, hey, what about, what about creator warehouse branding? That seems perfectly not LTT.
Nice. Digdug says, blank is pointless. I mean, I prefer it a lot, actually, and like lots of people do.
There's tons of people that don't want to wear brand logos. And like, I think our brand logos are subtle enough that is totally fine. And there's sometimes
where I do kind of like brand logos.
I don't know.
I go back and forth.
But this looks kind of sharp to me.
It's subtle.
It's understated.
It looks nice.
It works.
It works good.
I've had multiple people tell me,
and this blew my flipping mind.
I've had multiple people tell me
that they would buy the commuter bag
if only it didn't have the LTT branding on it.
Can you just...
And I was like...
D-stitcher that?
Bro, it's one centimeter by one centimeter black on black.
what are you even talking about
but there are people who are so
how do I put this
very set
on a particular
mindset goal
that they just
somebody in full plain chat said you can offer your point is mute
yeah except I've bought blanks that weren't from us before
so my point is not mute
it is it is generally good
so triggered right now
Even as someone who...
M-O-O-T.
M-O-T, M-O-T, M-U-T-E.
Yeah, no idea.
Yeah.
I, uh, as someone who isn't even that good at fashion stuff, at all, not even sort of...
Nice.
Something that the people who are good at the fashion stuff have told me is that I should have more blank things.
Because I always just had, like, convention shirts.
Oh, God.
Basically.
I had 100% of my wardrobe for a long...
Years was convention shirts.
And then fashion people were like, hey, you should probably just have like a plain white tea and a plain black tea and like a couple other colors.
And then those can go with whatever.
And then you'd look a lot more presentable and a lot more scenarios.
And I was like, oh, that was like part of growing up.
It was like, I'm an adult now.
I need to not have like the equivalent of band shirts but for technology or games.
And like those are still cool.
I still wear those, but there's time and place for things.
And sometimes it's not up to people.
Brumby in floatplane chat says,
yeah, I had to unstitch the logos off of my LTT cargo pants
in order to meet work policies.
Sometimes you're not allowed to wear stuff.
Totally get it.
And look, I totally understand the perspective too of,
who is it?
Bookhorse says, don't want to be a walking advertisement.
Don't want to be a consumer.
totally get that too.
But I don't, I don't personally consider a one centimeter by one centimeter black on black logo on an entire backpack to be consumer level branding, walking advertisement.
That's like, come on, what are you even, what are you, what are you even talking about, buddy?
Like, I don't know, man.
But either way, either way, we're doing our, you know, we're doing our part.
we're making unbranded stuff.
So now all you have to do is do your part and buy it and then we can keep making it.
Yeah.
And if you don't want a blank tease, that's totally fine.
I didn't want blank teas for a long time.
But they obviously, very obviously have a utility.
Hold on.
I have an idea.
What are you doing now?
What are you doing now?
Spanky says, I'd love creator warehouse to offer some self-branding stuff.
I'd probably buy 100 to 200 pens or pencils if I could.
could change the logo to our companies.
It is the kind of thing that we could do,
but for 100 units,
that would be really tough.
And it all just depends on how it's done.
They're all trash.
Like, whether it's,
if it's a mold,
it's just not feasible for small amounts of units.
Like, I think if someone ordered thousands of screwdrivers from us,
we could talk about changing the logo for like the plastic screwdriver.
For something like pens,
I don't want to put any words in the scene.
CW team's mouth, but I think it would have to be at least hundreds before we'd be able to look
at a logo change. It just, it depends on, it depends on our suppliers. It depends on lead times.
It depends on, you know, how much you're willing to pay for the customization. But hey, it never
hurts to reach out. Sorry, Luke, what were you going to say?
My Google search ended up working. I tried to like pull a gambit where I Googled attractive
man and then I realized that they were all wearing dress shirts. And I was like, that didn't work.
So I tried attractive man wearing a t-shirt. And I wanted to be like,
Like, look, they're all wearing blank t-shirts.
And then even searching attractive man wearing a t-shirt only brought up dudes wearing button-ups.
I was like, what the hell?
That should tell you enough, shouldn't it?
It did a little bit.
I was like, dang.
I guess, Luke, we just got told.
I think so.
We just got told so hard.
It didn't work at all.
Good thing we sell pretty brandless button-ups.
I mean, maybe.
we did.
Did we get rid of them?
I don't know.
Wait!
I got it to work this time.
And I'm totally right.
They're all blank.
They're all blank.
Every single one of them is blank.
All of them are blank.
Okay, there's one.
One.
Two with upload your image here.
I don't think that counts.
Almost all blank teas.
Yep.
There's a few that aren't,
but they're almost all blank teas.
So yeah.
What up?
I don't know fashion things,
but fashion people told me,
and apparently fashion people were right.
Surprise, surprise.
Resale white, but for shirts.
Okay, Dan, you're going to have to guide us a little bit here
because we're clearly not.
I can't see your signs.
I'm trying?
Luke's ignoring me?
Cool.
You're going to plug Whaleand or just?
Okay, you said it to him too, didn't you?
No.
Oh, it was just me.
We could do that.
Okay, yeah, let's do Whaleand.
We have locked in the dates for the next Whale land.
going to be on May 23rd and 24th. B.YOC tickets, so that is bring your own computer tickets,
are going to be starting at $80 Canadian. So what's that work out to? About $60 US, like $55, $60.
And there will be a limited number of whale VIP tickets for $5,000 Canadian.
VIPs will get, obviously, their ticket to the event, but also a high-powered custom-built gaming
PC to game on, a Prismagic
screwdriver, a lightweight packable jacket,
a premium polo, and a studio plus
labs tour. Ticket sales
will start this coming Monday at
Noon Pacificwhaland.com,
and we will see you
there.
Luke, how are those dates looking for you?
Hopefully good... Oh yeah, no, I think so.
I think I'm just generally going to be at Whalands.
May 23rd, 24th, May...
Yeah. When is Computeex?
Uh, not May 23rd and 24th.
I think it'll be shortly afterward.
Whoa.
It's like, what?
Immediately afterward.
Yeah.
Uh, so I mean, it's a week later.
Well, normally I go a week early.
So maybe I'll just, oh.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Maybe I'll just come back a week later.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
It's just fine.
Yeah.
I've done that too.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's good to know, though.
I'm happy we just figured that out.
But yeah, I'm intending it.
I'm intending to generally be attending.
Yeah.
All right.
Sounds good.
Yeah, let's get another topic in here.
Yeah, look at that.
Intel's new CPUs are their fastest gaming desktop processors ever.
And there was, once upon a time, a time when I would have said,
wow, the new water is wetter than ever in response to that.
but in fact
Intel did have a generation
of desktop CPUs that
in fact were not
their fastest gaming CPUs
ever so we can't take that for granted
so this is good news
everyone
Intel is super bullish
on the recently announced Intel
Core Ultra 727K plus
and Core Ultra
5 250K
plus
these new chips
offer four additional
e-course or efficiency course compared to their direct predecessors, have faster clock speeds,
and this has got to be a really big one here, have significantly improved die-to-dye frequency
over their predecessors, the 265K and 245K. This translates to support for 70,200 megatransfer
per second RAM, as if anyone can afford that these days, and early support for four-rank CU-Dim modules.
Again, as if anyone could afford those, but cool, cool, cool, cool beans, Intel appreciate you.
Notably, these improvements were achieved without Intel increasing the chips 125 watt TDP.
The Ultra 727K plus features 8p cores and 16 eCores, which actually matches the core count of the flagship Core Ultra 9 295K.
Okay.
And it is also worth noting that while the 295K was and in fact the whole lineup of Core Ultra 200 series was criticized for uncompetitive pricing and lower gaming performance, over time they have improved.
Pricing has gotten lower.
And these new refreshed Arrow Lake CPUs are apparently looking to deliver up to a 13% gaming increase over their predecessors while coming in at very similar pricing.
So the 250K plus is going to be starting from 199 with the 270K plus starting from this says to 199, but I believe it's 299.
Yeah, starting from 299.
So cheap, no.
But a $200 chip that Intel claims is faster than the 9600X from AMD comes with that name.
any flipping cores.
Like, yes, some of them are e-cores,
but these Intel hybrid P-core,
e-core chips tend to be great
for non-gaming as well.
Not to mention all the gaming improvements,
man, that seems like
it seems like a pretty compelling value.
And it's not just hardware where Intel is trying
to make gains. Like Nvidia, they've
realized if you can't win with better fabrication,
then you can take the fight to software, except
Nvidia also has been used.
using cutting edge fabrication, but yeah, whatever.
The point is Intel binary optimization tool
will be part of their Intel application optimization
software package and is touted as a first of its kind
optimization technology hoping to increase
instructions per clock in certain games
by leveraging Intel compiler and profiling IP
to streamline library and executable performance.
Now, I remember a time not that long ago
when we considered that kind of optimization
to be like cheating.
and using sort of using non-standard compilers in order to get a performance benefit compared to your competition.
And now they're just playing the game.
We live in a very, very different world.
You know, remember when making changes to the rendering pipeline on a GPU was cheating.
And now that's like Nvidia's headline feature for their latest GPUs is all the changes that they make to the rendering pipeline with AI and whatnot.
want. And honestly, this implementation sounds very different from the old cheaty way, where they would
allegedly coerce companies into using their tools that benefited their CPUs. It sounds like
what's happening here is they're taking scattered instructions from code that might be optimized for
older architectures and repacking them to reduce architectural contention. And it sounds like it won't have
a negative impact on the competition, it will just perform better on Intel, which maybe is better
than it used to be before? Anyone been around long enough to know if that sounds about right?
Anyway, we don't know how well it's going to work until we can try out their APO software in our
upcoming review, but it seems like from everything that we're seeing communication-wise out of
Intel, they are extremely bullish on these.
Which I would hope so.
So hopefully we're happy about the result.
You can hope, but like last time around,
hope didn't really get us anywhere.
Hope's all we can have, brother.
Nothing else is worth it.
Nothing else is worth it.
Despair is not worth it.
It doesn't help you.
Anyways.
Thank you.
Do you have any supplements to sell me?
Yeah, I've got a lot of peptides.
whatever whatever peptide you want
Tell me your problem and I'll come up with
Yeah we should probably stop talking
Jeez
Uh
Whatever your element
I'll have a pill
Okay
What do we want to do
Google's killing the Playstorm Monopoly
That's fun
By June 30th developers
Oh you know what?
No hold on hold on we can get to that in a second
First, I want to talk.
I had to have the snake oil folk medicine conversation with my eldest daughter on this trip.
They all got $20, $20 Canadian dollars for a souvenir budget.
And she picked out this little, it's like a little woven mat and it has a little cat on it.
It's cute.
It's a cat on a mat, whatever.
Sure.
Anyway, the cellar lady was super determined to talk about the air purification and health benefits of this little stuffy cat on a little woven mat and kept talking about activated charcoal.
And I kind of went, uh-huh, uh-huh, uh-huh, uh-huh. And then I had to have the conversation with my daughter after the fact where I go, okay.
So this is the most dangerous type of hookum, where there is a grain of truth upon which a tower of lies and misunderstandings is built.
Does activated charcoal have odor reduction qualities?
Yes.
Yeah, totally.
However, only if we are actively running air through it.
Not if it's just sitting there on your dresser.
And we need to have a way to either swap out the...
Are you going to gut that fake cat?
The activated charcoal.
Or we have to have a way of removing it and putting it out in the sun to reactivate it.
Neither of those things are true.
It's just activated charcoal in a pillow that just sits there and has no way to replace it or recharge it.
And so we just need to, you know, learn to, I read this really interesting article on the Atlantic
earlier this week about how Western society has a major problem with both gullibility and cynicism
and being gullible to the wrong things and cynical about the wrong things.
How can you be so gullible and so accepting of,
anything that someone tells you, no matter how ridiculous it sounds, and at the same time, so cynical and disbelieving of experts.
And there's a lot of, like, super, super deep reasons for it that the article only skims the surface of.
But it's fascinating, and it's something that has sort of been on my mind as something that we really have to flag.
flag with our kids and talk about, you know, how to navigate your way through. You should be
cynical and you should believe people, but you've got to make sure that you're cynical of the right
things and you believe the right people. Otherwise, you're going to end up in deep trouble. Like,
one of the things the article touched on is how smart people, you know, let's not just be
dismissive and say, well, anyone who believes in something stupid is too stupid. Not that simple. Smart people
who live in a bubble, who live in an information echo chamber,
can end up believing some, some, some, some, some, some, some, some,
shockingly, baseless things.
The desire to, for something to be true can also influence how much you believe that it is true and like,
Yeah.
Life is strange.
Yeah.
These fries would be like super healthy and you could eat as many as you want.
If only they were fried in beef tallow instead of, ooh, scary seed oils.
It's like, yeah, I, yeah, you know,
if I just wanted to like enjoy French fries,
I might love to believe that.
I can ignore all the other parts,
but it tastes amazing.
Not going to deny it tastes good,
but that ain't what we're talking about.
Totally, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, Errol Doe says,
I work around so many brilliant people in tech,
and some of them believe the silliest scams and wee-woo things.
Yeah, 100%.
Oh, no, everyone's like piping up with their stuff.
magnetic flux my grandma thinks vegan burgers make people gay
no no no see that's correlation not causation
no I'm I'm this is joke
is joke
I love me a good vegan burger wait
oh no this is my mouse wait a minute
it turns the freaking
YouTuber skin
Oh, man.
Apparently there's an XKCD for this.
Of course there is.
I think there is for everything.
Oh, okay.
No, it's not that good.
I, to be clear, love XKCD.
I didn't personally appreciate that one that much.
All right.
I guess we'll do another topic.
Oh, yeah, right.
You were going to do the thing.
wait sorry I'm doing what thing
the topic
yeah by June 30th
developers in the US UK and the European
economic area
okay we'll see the standard
30% in-app purchases fee
on the Google Play Store
dropped to 20% for the first time
sorry for first time installs of apps
after the new fees launch
recurring subscription service fees will drop to
10%. Furthermore, Google is introducing a new business model intended to decouple the fees by
separating the cost of their billing system from the service fee. Developers that opt into Google
plays billing system in the US, UK, or Europe will have to fork over an additional 5%. However,
mobile developers will officially have the option to use their own billing system alongside or
in place of Google's enrolling into Google's new apps experience.
experience program will drop the service fee to 15% for new installs.
The rollout will gradually hit Australia, Japan, and Korea by the end of the year and the rest
of the world late 2027.
Apart from cutting fees, Google is also launching a registered app store program thing that
will streamline the process for third-party app stores like Epic Games as long as they meet
certain quality benchmarks.
So it's an app store for app stores.
Hold on a minute.
No, no, no, no, no.
It's not a store for app stores,
but you can have an app store as long as you mean quality benchmarks.
So you'll work with Google to have like an Epic Games app store on Android.
Okay.
Sure.
I don't know what I think about that.
But all right.
More topics, I guess, maybe.
Oh, I mean, I can, can we, can we shout out sponsors?
Can we shout out.
Can we shout out what?
Can we shout out a guy who I don't always agree with, but who I got a shout out here.
Who else would have had the balls to go toe to toe with Apple and Google and force this change?
But Epic Games is Tim Sweeney.
Oh man, this is another one of those ones where at the time, I took a ton of flack for just being like, yeah, obviously the app store and the Play Store are.
are a huge antitrust problem
and the fact that people are pretending they can't
see it is just
corporate bootlickery
of the highest order
and especially Apple people
were like, we don't
want the App Store to be
we like the iPhone the way it is
we love the taste of leather.
It's so good.
And other things.
Yeah. No, this was, it was like just
objectively of things. They too ate vegetable
and bean burgers.
It was, it was, it was, it was, it was, it was definitely a thing.
And, and, and, and, and Google and Apple, all know.
Everybody knows.
It was just a matter of time until you could figure it out.
And, uh, this is great.
I'm, um, I'm, I'm, I'm very, very, very excited.
Uh, Eraldos says, I refuse to accept the hypocrisy of simping for steam.
That's the thing.
And again, this is
We brought this up a ton.
You need to read more.
Steam has things about it
that
where Valve
leverages their quite dominant
position, but they are
not, in fact, a
monopoly because they just
like aren't.
Because you're not
bound to use Steam in
any way. You can go on GOG.
You can go on Epic
game.
You can go anywhere you want, and you can download a game for any platform where you can also get that game on Steam.
It is, and Steam, unlike the App Store and the Google Play Store, is not owned by the platform owner.
That's why it just isn't the same thing at all.
And I'm sorry, but I can't be the one to explain it to you.
You're going to have to go and just learn more about monopolistic.
behavior and anti-competitive laws and stuff.
Cool.
Should we do the flow plane announcement?
Yeah, do it.
Sponchers?
Uh, yeah, flow plane announcement.
Let's do it. Where is it?
We all have an embarrassing tech story or two.
So Riley sought out some embarrassing moments from members of the LMG team.
It features Elijah who admitted to a crime,
Adam, who blew out his partner's ears with music that was too loud,
and James, who bought a laptop that cost $2,300 at the time,
just to play Team Fortress 2.
That's a yikes.
But where is David, you might ask?
No one ever asks, how is David?
Oh, okay, I did the delivery on that.
totally wrong. Anyway, his setup
from five years ago, the point is, David
showcased his setup and how much it's changed
from his original ultimate
tech upgrade. He's got his
man cave upgrade in there and shows what it looks like
today. Also, if you are from
Brazil or think Brazil is cool or
you don't understand tariffs and you want to
understand tariffs better and how
they can be like really bad for consumers,
you might want to check out the early
release.
Luke, are you showing any of this?
Yep, we're doing it. Keep going. Also, oh yeah, there you go.
tariffs tariffs tariffs
uh all of this and more at lmgggg slash fpwan
cool
now for some sponsors
uh hold on hold on give me a second lozarth says
linus valve and steam is creating that environment with steamOS
with the with the ownership of the platform and that
and the thing um you're trying so hard to make this a thing
but it still isn't because SteamOS still totally supports other app stores with Valve taking absolutely
count them, zero dollars and having zero involvement in that transaction.
So it's still completely not the same thing.
I'm sorry, but no amount of trying to make Steam the same thing as the App Store and the Google Play Store
is going to make it the same thing because it's just not the same thing.
and it's just not going to work.
Steam could be compared to one of the app stores
that is now allowed to potentially be on there.
Yep, totally.
And if one of them had an extremely dominant position
that enabled them to do certain things
that could be anti-competitive,
then we could draw a parallel there
because Valve does have an opportunity
to do certain things that can be anti-competitive.
But one of those things is not the thing
that Tim Sweeney was complaining about
with the App Store and iOS
and the tight integration and control
over transactions and payments
and the availability of apps for the platform.
They're just not the same thing.
Magic Cheeseburger says,
I agree with you.
It's not about agreement.
It's about like this is a fact
that it just is a thing.
I'm gonna have a nap.
But if you delete Steam,
if you leave Steam, you lose all your games forever.
Yes.
Yes, you do.
but that is nothing to do with what we're talking about.
Cool, dude.
All right.
Oh, man.
I don't know, dude.
You know, I think part of it, Luke, I think one of the big challenges we have is that you and I watch every Wandshow.
And most viewers don't.
So all they hear is...
I don't watch every Wand Show.
Well, no.
I just read the comments.
You're there for it, though.
Oh, my God.
So we end up in the situation.
Technically correct.
why are you so
down on Linux
and you never criticize Windows?
And it's like,
the previous web shows title
could literally be,
you know,
Windows is cooked,
you know?
Yeah,
I can play about it all the time.
Their own exposure bias
is that all they see and hear
is the thing that's making them emotional right now.
Yeah.
It's like, guys,
we criticize Steam and Valve all the time.
Windows is becoming like,
how very, very rapidly terrible.
I had this whole thing where like I was getting really nostalgic about old Windows
actually.
I was thinking back to like how much I just really enjoyed using Windows XP.
And I know people go like, oh, if you go back now, it's terrible.
It's like, yeah, that's cool.
For the time it was amazing.
And then you look at Vista.
Vista was based.
And it's like a lot of people have terrible memories of Vista.
because they bought a laptop from Best Buy
with 512 megs of RAM
and tried to run Vista on it
and that was terrible.
Terrible, terrible.
But when I had some better hardware
and especially when I had a custom version of Vista, dude,
Vista Black Edition was so sick.
It was amazing.
I loved using Vista,
especially late in the game
when I had better hardware
and especially a custom version,
but I still really actually liked using Vista.
Arrow looked amazing.
It just couldn't run under crappy laptop, okay?
And then seven came out and seven was amazing.
Again, people keep talking about this like, oh, it's good and then bad and then good and bad.
In my opinion, not really.
It was kind of just good and then the hardware wasn't ready and then good.
Like Vista was actually fantastic.
Especially things like printers.
Printer compatibility on Vista was a nightmare.
Yeah.
Then we get eight.
And eight out of the gate was to use the young people's probably out of date term by this point.
dog water.
But 8.1 came out and with a little time,
with a little bit of time in the marinade,
8.1 was actually really solid,
especially if you got the Windows 9 thing
and got the custom version, all that kind of stuff.
Fantastic.
And then we hit Windows 10.
And it was like, ooh, now, now,
it's still edible,
but something's wrong with it.
I don't necessarily know what it is.
It's still Windows.
All my stuff still kind of works.
You left the sticker on when you were eating it.
Yeah.
Like something's just,
okay.
And then Windows 11 came out and then it was like,
okay,
no,
like this for sure still works,
but is clearly bad for me.
Like something,
something is not good in this thing.
Have they fixed 11 yet?
I am being food poisoned.
Um,
and then I think with looking at 12 on the horizon,
like it's just,
we were doing this thing,
right?
We're like,
they'd stumble a little,
like amazing launch.
Maybe a little bit of stumble because of hardware,
but then amazing,
uh,
just amazing and then really troublesome launch, but then they totally fixed it.
And then now we're just literally just doing this.
And it feels terrible.
And you can jump off the ship early and maybe have some troubles trying to learn Linux
and maybe come back to Windows, who knows, but gain a little bit of familiarity.
Or you can jump off later when it's like just death.
Or, or, I don't know, or Microsoft will maybe, but I doubt it, actually listen to some people
and stop just doing this with their operating system,
which by God, I will volunteer.
I expect nothing.
You never even have to admit that I helped you.
I require no compensation.
I will tell you all of the things you need to do
to make it not garbage anymore.
No problem.
I am yours to be resourced, but you won't do it.
And even, you know what?
You know what?
Yeah, Linus will come with me.
We'll figure it out.
If you want Windows 12,
to be like the AI operating system,
I think this is still possible.
You can still accomplish that goal
and still make it not complete crap.
I, like, you can do it.
I don't believe you're going to,
but you totally can do it.
I know a lot of people,
I know a lot of people are,
are just sort of like,
reflexively against anything that has AI
of any sort involved in it.
I'm not.
I actually agree.
with you that Windows 12 could be, could have, could have AI as a central part of the experience.
And all they need to do to make that palatable to everyone who doesn't want it,
I bet you were going to say the same thing.
Just make it so I can remove it.
Yup, done.
It's to be able to turn it off, be able to remove it, make it modular so I could plug my own in.
Make it so I could make it local.
Make it so the first time I press the co-pilot button, it goes, hey, I'm co-pilot,
I'm co-pilot.
Do you want me to rebind this button to something else?
Right now I do this.
Hey, what an idea.
Do you want it?
It can also do this other thing.
Or like I would love it if they built these systems where it can work with your computer in really good ways.
And then I could be like, right, but I don't want it phoning home to Microsoft all the time and literally screen recording everything I do and putting it in your server farm just for someone else to steal it.
So I would like to use my own resources, run some stuff locally and then be able to just plug my own thing in.
and it still has those capabilities, that would be awesome.
You could make a really, really cool Windows 12.
I don't believe you're going to.
So I'm trying to jump off the ship early.
But, man, I will help you for free.
I will put in time.
I'll put in hours.
You don't have to tell anyone.
You don't have to compensate me.
Please.
It's too bad because they are doing some stuff that is pretty cool.
I left my RG ally on our last trip.
I'm getting it back.
I did find it.
So that's cool.
But on our trip down to Zero Trust World, I left my ally.
So I grabbed a handheld to bring on this trip and ultimately didn't end up needing it.
Like I said, Linux Challenge, and I'm using my laptop for gaming right now.
But it had the new gaming optimized windows on it.
And it's pretty cool.
The Xbox interface on the ROG ally X, Series X or whatever the stupid thing is called.
it's like legitimately pretty cool and the RAM usage is way lower like Microsoft is putting in work they're optimizing stuff they just have to not be at the same time breaking things and moving the user experience backwards like dude you were talking about the CPU usage issues that you're having over there right now right yeah okay do you want to know what my CPU usage is right now yeah what
it's hovering between about three and a half to four and a half five percent what's your memory and
that's with that's with everything i'm doing right now so i have the live stream running i have the
chat open i have the separate window where i have um the the call running i have that app for
my phone capture so i have Wi-Fi up the butt because i'm also
I couldn't get the wired connection working for my phone as my webcam.
So I have all that data streaming in.
And I'm sitting at a handful of percent.
Now, I do have a lot of RAM use.
But I think that's just because when ASUS sent this laptop to me,
they sent me like a fully loaded version,
which is honestly crazy, given the current situation.
I have 128 gigs of RAM in this machine.
So I'm using 12 gigs of RAM.
But when I look at my application,
I am sitting at a total of under two gigs.
So I think that's probably just the OS just cashing everything.
So mine, I have Chrome open with admittedly three flowplane tabs, one Google sheet, one Google search, the Steam hardware survey and the LTT store.
I have one notepad open with one page on it, and I have the task manager open, and that's it.
I'm hovering between 15 and 20% CPU usage.
I'm at 52% memory usage and usually around 5% to 10% disk because the Windows module installer
worker is still just rip it.
It hasn't stopped once.
It's still the number one process.
It has constantly been the number one process.
The next one is like Windows event log.
That just that just went down.
It kind of jumps up and down all the time.
And now I talked about this when we recorded this before the show.
We do have Sentinel 1 running.
We do have Ninja RMM running.
Those are in there.
Those are never like the number one through five.
But they are floating around.
So it's like there are.
There is some stuff that we installed running in the background.
But on my Linux desktop back at home, there are there's things running.
I have stuff.
I have been using it as a desktop for a one.
while this happens when you have a system, you know?
It's just, I mean, like, Chrome is like usually like five to eight in the, in the top
processes.
Like this thing, uh, it's, it's mostly calmed down now before on camera without touching it.
We saw it spike to like 75% CPU usage and it wasn't central one or any of those other
things.
Uh, I mean, threat lockers also on here.
It's just not showing up in like, uh, a highly like a super heavy process.
compared to these other ones right now.
Comparatively like...
Recall is? Recall's part of it.
Oh God.
The recall preview.
The recall preview.
It probably sneaked its way back in.
Yeah, I neutered those before I deployed them.
You can see, I'm sure Dan can see it on my screener now.
Recall is sitting right there.
I'm looking at mine. I'm sitting at 50% CPU usage with a cool 42 gigs of memory usage.
Yeah, but you're...
Well, yeah, but you're handling this...
I'm so much better.
so much better than you guys.
That's not fair.
My Ferrari is so much faster than your bicycle.
I'm just a better person.
Yeah.
All right.
I think we're supposed to do sponsors now.
I can't believe recalls there.
I know that Dan killed it too.
It must have snuck its way back in.
This is like, this is what I'm talking about, dude.
Get out of here.
I'm going to do another pass and rip out more of its brain.
The recall preview
I learned how to neuter Windows 11
so I'm a little happier with it now
Did I restore your right click
menus on the desktop? I can't remember if I did that
on those ones or not
I did
I would have noticed if my right click wasn't working
that would have made me extremely angry
Yeah
What the new menu? All right
Yeah
The show is brought to you today by Vessi
Here's the thing about the Vancouver area
Every year without fail we get hit with a random
wave of snow. Not when you'd expect it, just randomly, this time in March. But thanks to Vessi,
our sponsor, a little bit of spring snow doesn't need to slow you down. Their weekend Neo shoes are
perfect for this time of year. They're lightweight, which makes them easy to pack for any excursions
or even travel. If your old shoes are on life support, they need CPR, but not the weekend
Neo. They breathe great. And as always, Vessie claims they're 100% waterproof. Uh, okay. You spoke
up and Vessie listened. Oh, this is cool. Their shoes come in half sizes now. Wow, that's
incredible. And every pair of Vessies is still backed by a full year warranty and a 30-day
hassle-free return policy. So if your March plans involve moving, commuting, traveling, or
exploring, and you need a shoe that keeps up with you, check out Vessie. You can get 15%
off your weekend neo at Vessi.com slash WAN show. The show was also brought to you by factor meals.
Whether you're working part-time, full-time, or overtime.
When you get home, it can feel like there is no time,
especially if you're logging 16 hours into Pocopoeia every night?
Am I supposed to know what this is?
Pocopoeia?
I don't know.
Okay.
Well, with our sponsor Factor.
New Switch 2-Gate.
We don't have to worry about budgeting a ton of extra time to make a meal.
Factor makes fully prepared meals designed by dieticians and chefs
with never frozen ingredients already in just a couple of minutes.
They have a hundred rotating weekly meals so you can have hearty proteins, vibrant veggies, and healthy fats to keep you going through the final stretch of winter.
Factor can even help you stick to all kinds of diets with meal options like high protein, calorie smart, Mediterranean, GLP1, and more.
So pick meal prep stress to the curb and spend more time on things that matter, like family or Pocopia or your Pocopia family.
Sorry, quick clarification.
When I said GLP1, I didn't mean like it has an injection needle in it.
I meant like GLP1 support.
So it's four people who are on GLP1s.
Yeah, braille cortex and float plane chat says, what was that last one?
Yeah, you said that.
Anyway.
I was a little confused.
Yeah, okay.
Yeah, head to factor meals.com slash when to get 50%.
Wait, what?
Wait.
What?
Don't worry about it
You can just make them
Sorry, keep going
Head to Factor Meals.com
slash WAN50 off and use code
WAN50 off to get 50% off
and free breakfast for a year
Eat like a pro this month with Factor
New subscribers only
Varies by plan
One free breakfast item per box
For one year while subscription is active
There you go
All right
Okay
Let's get some more topics
People
No I want to know what's going on
What the chat's going
Polcopia?
Did I say it wrong?
No, no.
Is it polkopia?
No.
It was an image on screen.
Don't worry about it too much.
I did notice based
factor meals.
A lot of them were
chicken, some simple
carb like rice and then
a vegetable.
They don't need to reinvent the wheel
here, me.
Yes.
Yes.
Yes.
Success chicken.
I was like
Don't forget your flat meat
Then there was like
Four different ones
And I was like yeah
Flat meat is critical
There was like the chicken rice and asparagus
There was like the chicken
I think it was like rice and corn
And some type of broccoli or something
And it's just like
Chicken Simple Carb plus green
Yes
Very good
All right should we talk about Linux
Hacked on
to a PS5, effectively turning Sony's console into a steam machine.
Security engineer Andy Neumann successfully ported Linux to a PS5 slim by bypassing Sony's
hypervisor using an exploit called bipervisor.
Which has got to be the best name of an exploit I've heard in like so long.
Byprovisor is so good.
It grants kernel level control and allows unsigned code to run.
The hack required firmware version 1.0 to 2.0, though, which is about 5 years old.
So if you've been keeping your PlayStation up to date, this isn't really going to be a thing for you.
However, once he caught it running, it was kind of awesome.
The modded console could run GTA5 Enhanced Edition via Steam at 1440p60 FPS with ray tracing enabled,
and, because it's a PS5, supports 4KHtml output, audio, and even had all the USB ports running.
The CPU runs at 3.2 gigahertz and GPU at 2 gigahertz with boost capabilities, although it did start overheating at higher clock speeds.
Sony actually used to allow something similar on the PlayStation.
My notes say the PS3 had the other OS feature, and if you go back even farther, you could just get a Linux disk that you could put in your PlayStation and run Linux on it.
When we did our, I bought every PlayStation video, we actually showed it.
But they don't allow it.
it anymore, but apparently nothing
would prevent it and
it would honestly, in my
humble opinion, Luke,
be the best
solution right now
for games. Really, really cool
considering you can run PS5 games.
It's so sick. I used
yeah, I used PS5
that could dual boot
Sony's PlayStation operating system
and Linux to just
like run Steam would be
the goat
gaming machine for that price.
Like, killer.
Super, super cool.
Super cool.
Our discussion question here is,
with Sony rumored to be pulling back from PC releases,
does a hack like this hint at a future
where console hardware could be repurposed as a PC,
as the lines between PCs and consoles keep blurring?
Unfortunately, I don't think so.
I think the Sony rumor that they're pulling back from PC releases,
if anything indicates that Sony wants to draw clearer lines between their consoles and general purpose software PCs in the lead up to the release of the PlayStation 6.
I think they are recognizing that later in the console's lifecycle, it's very beneficial to take that software and tap into a new market with it and sell a bunch of, you know, Spider-Man to PC gamers.
but if you want to move the machine,
if you want to create the install base,
you got to have exclusives.
And I remember talking about this,
back with the original Steam Machine,
where I was like,
yeah, I understand Valve's like,
good guy philosophy,
where they don't want to have exclusivity,
you know, locked games for the Steam machine,
and they want to be open.
But at the end of the day,
games move consoles.
It's that simple.
and I think Sony is either recognizing
or this was the plan the whole time
that when they launch a new generation,
there is absolutely no way
that they are not going to be,
that they are going to be a success
without exclusive titles.
It's just not going to happen.
Man, Microsoft, so they're like losing consoles.
They're,
I think people are genuinely getting
just a little too over it
when it comes to operating systems.
I don't think we're quite there yet,
but there are actually,
it does seem to be a lot more people
that I've been hearing from,
actually genuinely switching over to Linux lately,
especially-
Normy people that are mad about it.
Sorry, I thought you were going to say
that are fed up with it.
No, yeah.
I know, I know people that used a steam deck
and we're just like, wait,
this is fine,
and like just actually replace their computers
with steam decks.
And don't even think of it.
as like I'm running Linux.
They're just like, yeah, I use a Steam deck
and it's fine.
Like I don't even know if they're really fully understanding
like what that means.
It's SteamOS.
But that's the thing.
Linux is not a distra.
Linux is not an operating system.
Yeah.
I think SteamOS is going to be the one.
Azure is running Linux.
Co-Pilot is kind of
open AI powered.
Like what are they?
it's like the office company now teams yeah yeah the worst chat
I guess but like honestly this is what what have you had to do anything I'm assuming
yeah have you have you had to do anything with like documentation so far on Linux what have you
been using Libra only office what have you been using have you used any of it I just use Google Docs
Google Docs yeah okay I had to assign some PDFs recently and uh I went with
only office just to give it a shot and it was really easy and totally fine right did you have to pay
like like five bucks for a picture nothing its feed or like it also i thought this was kind of funny
there's definitely more things when you download office 365 i feel like i didn't hear something um
that's okay everyone else got it there's there's definitely more things that you're downloading
when you download office 365 but only office downloaded fast and it like takes a while
to download Office 365 and you have to jump through a bunch of login hoops and do all these different
types of things. And like I was probably done signing my first document before I would have been done
installing Office. Yeah. Oh, you have to, I remember for years, it was a pain in the butt to even
find the download link for Office 365 because they had it behind a login and then you would
download it and then you'd have to log in anyway. I don't know if Adobe is fix this with Creative Cloud,
but that would, they had a really similar situation where getting the creative.
Cloud application download link involved logging in, and then you'd have to log in again once
you got it. It's like, what is the downside of just letting me download this thing? And then I'll
log in once I get it. Yeah. Yeah, yeah, yeah. It's, uh, but yeah, it's, I mean, it was a pretty
great experience. Um, so just, I'm gonna throw that out there. But yeah, Microsoft, stop taking
L's bruh. I liked it when you were cool. I really, God, this whole, this whole,
Linux thing has been fun, I would really love to enjoy Windows again. It would be so cool.
That's something that I think a lot of people miss in all of our takes on basically everything,
is that we are not pro one side. One sec, sorry, Dan, is that? We are pro competition. Is this
going to the, to the viewers? Can they see this mouse cursor? What? There's a mouse cursor. Oh, that's
my mouse cursor. Are you hallucinating a mouse cursor? No, there's a mouse cursor. I'm sorry. It was
on the wrong screen. Can they even see that? No, that's my fourth monitor. Oh, so it's just for me. Okay.
Sounds good there. Anyway, we are, we're pro competition. Competition between Windows and Linux and
MacOS and competition between Android and iPhone and competition between Xbox and PlayStation.
So you're going to see us like, like, I've seen people who are like, ooh, minus always flip-flops
anyway, you know, he's not consistent.
Yeah, I'm not consistent.
We're trying to support underdogs.
In a time when Nvidia is so dominant in GPUs, for instance, you're going to hear me say,
hey, like, Intel's doing some really cool stuff over there right now.
And it's really important that we acknowledge that because we need competition.
And in the same way, you know, even though I might say that from a day-to-day use perspective,
There's a lot of aspects of the Linux experience that are not working too great for me.
You're still going to hear me talk about how the Microsoft dominance in the operating system space has to be challenged
because otherwise we end up with what we've got now.
A monopoly always encrapifies, always every single time it will turn to crap eventually
because competition puts pressure on us to do better.
And so you're always going to hear that from us.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Speaking of which,
Live Nation Ticketmaster agreed to settle a federal antitrust lawsuit with the Department of Justice.
And apparently they won't be broken up.
The DOJ reached a surprise settlement with Live Nation just one week into its landmark antitrust trial,
allowing the company to keep Ticketmaster without admitting any wrongdoing.
The deal caps service fees at 15% at Live Nation menus, bars.
Oh, at Live Nation menus.
Bars Ticketmaster from requiring exclusive contracts with large amphitheaters
and requires all acquisitions to be submitted to the DOJ for approval regardless of size.
Wow, okay.
The middle one is actually not that, that helps a lot.
The exclusive contracts one?
Yeah.
The whole exclusive contracts thing.
However, in my humble opinion, that's not enough.
Carry on.
Yeah, not at all.
The settlement blindsided state attorneys general, more than 25 states and D.C.
Say they're continuing the trial anyway.
The presiding judge called the process entirely unacceptable after it emerged.
The DOJ and Live Nation had already signed a...
What?
Had already signed a preliminary agreement on Thursday without notifying the states,
giving them only 24 hours to decide whether to join.
Seat geek called it incredibly disappointing.
Senator Amy Klobuchar said,
breaking up the company is the only real fix,
and rival promoters say 16 years of surface-level remedies haven't worked.
The settlement still needs final court approval.
With more than half the states rejecting the deal and continuing the trial,
does a settlement that lets Live Nation keep Ticketmaster actually solve anything?
The current DOJ is, look, I'm not American, so take this for all it is,
but the current DOJ appears to be an enormous problem for people who want things like this,
which are important things that impact everyday people, lots of people.
Seems to be a massive, massive problem.
My friends call me, they're like, wow, that's so many people.
It is, it is so many people.
I mean, if you buy a ticket for basically freaking anything, you have to deal with ticket
master and the um the clearly back alley deal that was done to reach this settlement um it's just so clear
that it should be a wake-up call to anyone who's not certain how clear this was that it was
very clear that this was a back-alley corrupt deal and charcoal non-y and has said but have you seen the
Dow.
Dude.
Yeah, exactly.
Exactly.
The Dow though.
But the Dow.
But the Dow.
It is so fascinating.
Watching politicians
and billionaires
talk about the stock market
as though it matters to
what percentage is it
of even people in
affluent countries,
like even in North America,
what percentage is it?
of people who actually own stocks.
I know that a lot of people will have part of their retirement,
invested in stocks,
but in terms of like actual, like having a personal portfolio,
my understanding is the investment class is shockingly small.
I know the, I think, is the top 1% own 50% of the entire stock market.
Yeah, Nokey says 62% of U.S. adults own stock.
apparently. But that's the thing. Hold on, hold on. Yeah. How much though? Like we've got people in chat that are like,
yeah, I own I own four grand in stocks. I own like a couple grand in stocks. When the when the stock market
goes up, you know, 10%, it's like you made $400, which is like, yeah, okay, great, as long as
you know, inflation isn't going wild. And that's not just, you know, treading water. But like in terms
of people who own like significant value of stocks like i remember i remember reading that it's like it's
like shockingly small um i don't know the exact numbers erldo says it's something like the wealthiest 10
percent own 87 to 93 percent of the actual like dollar value of the stocks though it's like okay
cool yeah i'm not uh not much of a stock guy i do feel i honestly i feel like i feel like i feel like
I've like missed out over this incredible like, what is it, like a 20 year bull run or something like that at this point.
Business Insider in 2024 said that the wealthiest 10% of Americans own 93% of stocks, even with market participation at a record high.
Cool.
But the Dow's pretty freaking sick, dude.
Let's let the, oh man, nah, I'm going to lose it.
I need to.
In through the mouth, out through the nose.
Um, what can we talk about?
Don't worry though about that because the dock just moved.
Don't worry about that because the steam machine is coming.
Even with rising DRAM prices around the world and a slight delay in the steam machine release,
Valve posted a blog post that the steam machine, steam frame and steam controller would all arrive in 2026 on that train.
Our goal of shipping all three products in the first half of the year, this is a quote, has not changed, but we have work to do to land on concrete pricing and launch dates.
They did also skate in the blog post that if you have a line on a bunch of RAM, we are in the market and would like to buy, which is, you know, probably a joke, but still, maybe someone will.
Discussion question, going back to the original discussion about steam machine and the price it would hit, it would have to hit.
Do you think your original guesses about price would make this more appealing to people now that DRAM prices have affected things so much?
Yeah.
I feel like it kind of has to be yes.
Because if it is...
Yeah.
But it would be more appealing.
Yeah.
It's going to go up.
Yeah.
But then again, okay.
I guess it's a little higher though.
I wonder.
Here's where I get a little confused, though.
on the one hand
D-RAM pricing has gone
Benetase and so has NAND Flash
But then on the other hand
Apple just released a $600
laptop that from my understanding
It is like trivially easy
To get an educational discount on
And is $499
With the educational discount
Yeah it's only got 8 gigs of RAM
Sure
But still
Like price competitive products
Are clearly still able to be released
still possible.
And...
But then again, I was...
No, you go.
I was talking to the writers about this and someone was like, how are they doing this?
And my guess is that Apple locked in their contract for this stuff like two years ago
because they operate on a timescale and a general scale that...
They have the...
They have the bank to do that kind of stuff.
And on top of that, speaking of that MacBook Neo,
co-CEO of Asus Flippin loves it.
and is also pretty scared of it.
A Seuss Co CEO, Sue?
S.Y. Sue?
Sue?
I was just trying to do the last name.
Yeah.
S. Y. Sue called the Apple's 599 MacBook Neo or 499 if you're clever.
A shock to the entire PC industry, which honestly, yeah, saying Apple has never competed at this price point before.
Sue said all major PC players, Microsoft, Intel and AMD, are actually.
actively discussing how to respond to the MacBook Neo threat, and they probably should be,
to be completely honest. Despite this, he attempted to downplay the Neo's appeal, pointing to
his 8 gigabytes of non-upgradable unified memory and calling it more of a content consumption
device, similar to an iPad, also known as what almost everyone uses their laptops for.
The Verges, he didn't include that part, I put that in there. The Verges review also flagged
slow SSD speeds as another notable limitation alongside the RAMP.
cap. Again, it's 600 bucks. That said, most outlets are reviewing the device quite positively
and demand from the market is notable. And I'm not surprised. That's amazing, dude. What a crazy
piece of hardware. Our discussion question is, do you agree with Sue's assessment that the
Neo is just a content consumption device, or is that maybe just a cope? I actually do
mostly agree, but I don't think it's the gotcha that maybe he hopes that it is. Because to
Luke's point, the vast majority of what people are doing on their laptop is content consumption.
If you bought a MacBook Air, what were you doing with it? Yeah. Yeah. Content consumption.
Maybe you did some garage band for fun. I'm sure that still works. I wouldn't be surprised if you can do some
not super crazy final cut
Oh
Sue is pronounced shoe
Shue
Thank you Mellow Geek
I thought something might have been wrong
Sorry about that
I thought it was Sue
Anyway
Also
I think this is just the first volley
Apple never
No matter how
catastrophically a product performs
Apple never
launches just one
Okay no I shouldn't say
never. There might be an example
at some point.
But like even Vision
Pro, okay? Yeah, got
a follow-up. People are trying to
gotcha me with the Vision Pro. The Vision Pro
got a new model. Yeah.
Okay, Newton, the Pippin.
The Pippin. Yeah. Where's our Pippin?
Yeah, we lost our Pippin.
We don't know where it is. I
have to have been stolen. Yeah, if Spanky
2K says even the weird hi-fi thing
led to the home pod, yep.
Like, they, Apple,
doesn't release a product in a vacuum.
They release a product with a freaking roadmap, with a freaking plan.
Okay, the trash can poke brick.
Yeah, the trash can is kind of a disaster.
Not in a long time, though, okay?
It's been a long time still.
It's just a different form factor for their desktop product line, though.
It was, but it was also kind of a dead end in terms of the paradigm.
the paradigm of the Mac Pro as this like kind of locked down no expansion cards.
Yeah, but like the Mac Pro existed before that.
I understand what you're saying.
I see the logic, but I don't think it 100% fits.
I see that in both ways.
I see that in both ways.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, for sure.
But the point that I'm getting at, the point I'm getting at here is the MacBook
Neo is almost certainly the first in a line of MacBook Neos.
and I guarantee you that if they didn't have the limitation of only 8 gigs of RAM
on top of the package for the A18 processor,
that they would have at least considered allowing you to pay for a memory upgrade.
I mean, Apple loves having people pay for a memory upgrade or a storage upgrade.
Now, they didn't go far in terms of the storage upgrades that are available on it.
That does tend to be a way that Apple differentiates their top models.
So, for instance, the latest iPhone, you have to buy the pro if you want to get, I believe, is it two terabytes or four terabytes of storage?
Whatever it is, whatever the top storage configuration it is, you have to get a pro.
And I would expect them to not offer a MacBook Neo with 200 gigs of memory and freaking 4 terabytes of storage or whatever.
That is a differentiating point for them.
But I would be shocked if the next one doesn't allow 12 gigs or 16 gigs as we make our way through.
subsequent releases. And with the way that software optimization is going right now,
um, 16 gigs of DDR4 was like good and a lot. And 16 gigs of DDR5 is pretty good and a lot.
And like we, it's, if you think about it, it's actually been quite a while since we've really
needed more than 8 to 16 gigs. You know what I mean? It's also been websites, but you can just
closed tabs.
Yeah.
It's just a little bit of convenience.
It's not so much capability that much for most users.
Exactly.
And so if we see an A19 Pro chip with 12 gigs of RAM in a next gen, man, that thing is going to be killer.
It's just going to be killer.
It's going to destroy the budget Windows machine market.
Like Apple is, dude,
Apple is freaking
they're out for blood.
It's like they want market share for a change.
The Mac Mini is already
like the computer to buy.
Distro devs on the Linux side
under a certain price seem to be hungry
and Apple seems to be hungry
and I'm very happy because
Microsoft needs some people chomping at them.
Microsoft can be great again.
I believe in a positive future for Microsoft.
I just...
They have to get focused.
They have to get focused, man.
Oh my God.
And I don't think they're going to, Luke.
Windows is like 8 or 9% of their business.
It's less than 10% of their business.
I just don't think they're paying attention.
They're not focused on it.
I mean, they went and they put that AI exec in charge of Xbox.
Like, what are they?
Yeah, but if you start losing Windows is a part of, you're talking revenue.
And for sure.
But I think if you start losing Windows, you start,
losing 365 subscriptions.
Oh, you're 100% right.
Like, I think it's, I think it's this.
It's, it's their infrastructure department kind of that happens to make money.
I'm talking about the, the dangerous path that they could be heading down.
Oh, totally.
If they, if they manage their business based on counting beans.
Yeah.
You got a, you got so many beans, dude.
You got so many beans coming in.
Your, your bean income seems to be pretty good.
You should probably work on, uh, making it so that.
the thing that supports all your incoming beans is a little bit better.
Just let and, okay, honestly, I'm going to use that argument.
The like it's 8% or whatever.
Just make it awesome.
Whatever.
Get the stupid ads out and stuff and just make it really good and go back to the whole
just everyone uses Windows.
Therefore Microsoft wins by default thing that worked for you so well.
And just make money off Azure and make money off Office 365 business subscriptions,
whatever, because every single freaking person in the world,
is using Windows because everyone has these cheap laptops.
Because if you don't do that, everyone's just going to get MacBooks because for a business,
you know, their businesses aren't going to do the student discount thing.
For a business, there's 600 bucks.
And if they run pretty good, a lot of users would love to have MacBooks.
Anyways, we're reviewing right now our subscription software at work.
And we've been running into the like,
okay, well, it's incredibly uncomfortable,
but we're probably going to have to make a choice finally
between Google Workspace and Microsoft.
And there's a lot of pushback in each direction.
I think if I could speak for them,
most of the IT team kind of wants to lean
towards the Microsoft route.
I think from an IT perspective,
it's easier and better for them.
I viciously hate teams.
Sorry?
Could we be ditching teams?
Are we talking about ditching teams?
We're talking about ditching something, either Google Workspace or Office 365, which includes teams.
Because each one of these are massive, very expensive contracts.
I'm trying to save you tons of money.
Oh, I'm aware.
Is ultimately what's going on.
Oh, I'm very aware.
Yeah.
So we're trying to figure out one of them.
If we ditch 365, the, like, popular tech bro route is to use Slack and Google Workspace.
but Slack is so expensive.
Yeah.
Which sucks and people are saying matter most.
Just, you know, you can talk to each other if you want.
It's so it's, it's, it's this thing.
But there is the curveball.
I didn't, I said I didn't believe them.
I didn't believe them for a year.
I said on when I didn't believe them.
I was at Google and saw people's laptops.
They actually use chat.
They actually just use Google chat.
Are we going to go full circle and go back to hangouts?
So it's, we're trying to figure out, we're trying to figure out, do we go to chat and hangouts?
Do we go to chat and hangouts and Google Workspace?
Keeping our like insane pile of things that are in Google Drive.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So do we honestly, even though I hate teams, honestly, probably sacrifice in the chat department.
Yeah.
And still have to have some people like the accountant.
teams, they're still going to need stripped down licenses for Microsoft so they can have things like
Excel. They just need Excel. Excel is just the best at what it does. I dog on a ton of Microsoft
things, but local desktop Excel is just unassailable as far as I can tell at this point. So they just
need Excel. Some of the teams might need Excel. People that need Excel will have a license that gets
them Excel, but we don't mess around with too much other stuff. Or do we go the other route
and keep teams, but have to migrate all of this stuff out of Google Drive. You're going to have to
one drive.
I'm trying my Google Docs from my cold dead hands.
See, this is, this is the thing, is for people like you, I think it would be easier to go the Google route.
But for other people, it would be easier to go the other route.
And it's rough because both of these companies, their subscriptions are going, whoop,
because they're trying to bundle AI stuff and make us that you can't really get out of those contracts that include AI.
They're just starting to include AI by default and then cranking the price because of it.
And like all this crap is.
getting really expensive.
Also, I think because there was like some unlimited data loophole thing or something,
but back in the day, you guys signed up for a pricey Google Workspace subscription.
So there is a way that we could actually like half basically the Google Workspace subscription.
And that was because we were using it for cloud backup and then nobody else canceled it, I guess.
Yep.
So we were probably just going to.
Oh my God.
That was for one video.
that was it's we think that it's still there uh so we're we're very likely going to drop there's
other things we would lose though like that way that we figured out that email issue that you had
we would like lose that um so there there are things but we've only ever used that twice
there was one for a document security thing a while ago that you are aware of that i'm not going to
go into details for um that i would have needed that tier for and there was uh your email thing those
are like the only two things i can remember that we're pretty good though
It is, but those are the only two times we've ever really used it.
And it's like 30K a year or something.
So you might want to just drop it.
And I'm not going to lie, we do need to look at our expenses.
I mean, I've been, I think I've been very, very clear internally and, you know, talking to the audience on WAN show that we don't operate in the same environment that we used to.
and we're going to have to find some efficiency.
I don't know if you saw this, Luke.
Probably not because you don't stare at the views dashboard as obsessively as I do.
But over the last little while, the last week or so,
we've had quite a few releases closer to like our old daily cadence.
And a handful of them actually performed quite well.
And the channel was just like going.
And then we had one day that we didn't upload.
And the overnight dip, which was something that I would look at,
in order to determine what the kind of like the background viewership is, you know,
aside from your new release, like your hottest new video,
dipped below what it was before we had a bunch of like good performing videos over the last
little while. So the just like background vaude viewership of the library of content that we've
produced over the years is just going down as people's interest in the
tech hobby wanes and we can see this with like uh uh google um what's the search relevancy tool again
they're asking if his feed is like i think that's just him being there's like there's like
half a second of there and back time he's literally across the planet i've been pretty happy with
the stream so far sorry keep going yeah doing our best um and also as youtube uh emphasizes shorts more
more and more. It's just the back catalog and the competition increases for people's eyeballs.
Those back catalog videos are just not getting any views anymore. Oh, wow. No, I'm getting like
really choppy now. Uh-oh. It'll self-rexflare. Anyway, the point is that we're going to have to
find some, we're going to have to find some efficiency. Thankfully, we are pretty well diversified.
we have the creator warehouse
LTT store team
oh good Lord is my voice okay at least
Getting some robot but your voice is fine
Okay cool that's great
So yeah if we could lose one of these subscriptions
I would find it extremely hilarious
If we ultimately went full circle
Back to freaking hangouts
Whatever they call it now
Yeah I don't know what we're going to do
We are probably going to do
We are probably going to do that subscription reduction thing, but we need to really figure out all the different levels of impact and then make sure that people are okay with us, you know, not actually having certain levels of tools.
But it would save a ton of money, so it's probably worth it.
But we need to figure that out still.
And then after that, that seems like just we should definitely, AJ identified that and we should just like definitely look into that first.
But then we have basically until the end of the year, because there are such massive.
of penalties to early cancellation.
We have basically till the end of the year to figure this out.
And when AJ pointed out, like, look, the early cancellation fees are so bad, there's
basically no point in doing so.
And the contract renewal is basically at the end of the year.
It was like, okay, we have some time.
Because this is going to be insane and painful, no matter what route we go.
It will be bad.
There is no, like, this is going to be a hard sell internally.
because there is no route without pain,
but it will be a massive reduction in cost,
no matter what direction we go.
So we're going to kind of need a direction.
So speaking of YouTube and going in the direction of more and more shorts all the time,
they clearly aren't going to change course anytime soon
because it turns out YouTube makes more money from ads
than Disney, Paramount, and Warner Bros combined.
According to research firm Moffat Nathamson,
YouTube earned $40.4 billion in ad revenue,
while Disney NBC Paramount and Warner Bros earned 36.1 billion combined.
Parent company Alphabet confirmed last month that in 2025,
YouTube generated 60 billion with a B in revenue,
which still trails behind meta,
which generated 196.2 billion in ad revenue.
But we consider that YouTube is just YouTube.
Yeah.
Yeah, not all of Alphabet.
That is pretty freaking incredible.
And I think one of the most recent insights we've gotten into exactly how YouTube is doing revenue-wise,
the female audience says, hey, wait a minute, Linus, doesn't Paramount own Warner Brothers now?
That is still happening.
That's still pending.
But yes, the offer is in and is functionally accepted, but they are still operating today as separate companies until such time as the acquisition is complete.
So, yeah.
I still have.
My only question for...
There we go.
Oh, am I gone?
No, you're back.
Cool.
Okay, my only question for YouTube is, when will it be enough?
And can you stop enguppifying the service?
Because I heard they just added 30-second unskippable ads to TVs.
Will 30 seconds be enough for you?
Are we just going to go all the way back to cable TV with like three-minute ad breaks?
Can we not?
please can we just not the honestly the AI slop content is getting to be too much we were talking
before the show about how Theo joe um which it might have been a joke might not have been but
theo jo posted on twitter about like bro i'm done it's like too much i don't want to compete
with like actual just junk and i run into it in the platform decently often
to compete with junk i'd go on only fans
I mean, we should put our stuff up on the hub.
Where's my ding, Dan?
We got to bring that project back.
We got to put our videos on the hub.
But, yeah, it's, there's so much of it.
It's crazy.
I don't know.
Yeah, this is another tweet from Theo Joe.
Nochi just posted this in chat.
I really think YouTube is going to be overwhelmed with garbage slop within a few years
to the point where it will no longer be usable.
And this comes back to the conversation I have with YouTube every time I can get in a room with them.
And I may have an opportunity to chat with some execs in the near future here.
And I'm going to bring it up again.
It's like, look, you guys need to decide what you want to be.
You can be TikTok.
You can be Facebook and Instagram and just full of AI crap garbage, short form dopamine hit, move on to the next dopamine hit crap.
or you can take a bit of a hit now and in the long term keep your soul, keep your identity, be YouTube
because, and I'll just, I'm going to be really honest with them.
With the way things are trending right now, LTT in its current form may not be viable in the medium future.
It just may no longer be viable.
like we upload relatively few shorts
but like I can tell
I can tell in our analytics
what they're pushing and what they're not
and YouTube's response to this kind of thing is always
well you know we're giving the audience what they want
it's like yeah kinda
but also not also
you guys control how prominent the shorts shelf is
you actually decide that
and yeah people you know click on it
because you're the dealer and they want another hit.
But you can be part of breaking the cycle.
You can be part of making YouTube an app
that I don't feel icky about opening,
that I don't feel guilty about using.
You can feed me high-quality content
that makes me feel enriched after I'm done consuming it.
Don't just, like, it's like be a good parent, right?
obviously my kids would eat more if I gave them candy at every opportunity, right?
They'd eat so much. I could have the kids that eat the most. Good for me. But what if there was a
goal beyond that? What if I wanted them to be healthy? What if I wanted them to reach adulthood and go,
thanks, Dad. I didn't always love my vegetables. Yeah. And still use it because of that.
Yeah. And sometimes, sometimes I didn't do what you said. And I went on TikTok and I ate
candy. But I understand why you were trying to feed me something different. Thank you.
You know, maybe you could have that attitude. I'm starting to lose hope, though.
Speaking of in crappification, let's talk about high sense. Oh my God. Sammy just told me
something I didn't know. If you watch a lot of shorts on YouTube, the app defaults to a short
when you open the app. That is unhinged. I didn't know that. It kind of makes sense, though.
I don't even have the app installed anymore.
And see, it shouldn't come to that, dude.
It should not come to that.
But I got...
I got so tired of shorts that I actually uninstalled the app and I watch YouTube on my phone through a browser now.
Noki says not even that.
If your last watched video is a short, it will just launch a short.
Whoa.
This is nuts.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Huh.
Okay.
Well, another in crapification news, owners of High Sense TVs in Spain and Britain have reported
unskippable ads appearing during basic functions like powering on their TVs, switching
inputs, navigating to the home screen, or changing channels.
Reports of intrusive ads on High Sense TVs have been growing since 2022, Tom's Hardware
reports.
and have escalated from small tile ads to unskippable videos.
We've got links to some Reddit posts showing incidents.
I won't be able to screenshare. Luke, do you want to fire one of those up?
So I was reading something else for saying, which one is this?
High Sense TVs.
I'll find it.
I'll find it.
Show us one of the examples.
Yeah.
While you're finding it, the ads began appearing after purchase on sets with
Highsense recently rebranded Home OS, formerly VDA, an OS that is licensed by other
manufacturers. At least one of the complaints has been about a Toshiba TV. Some users have reportedly
contacted High Sense directly and provided their TV's unique ID to disable the ads. Spanish publication,
La raison, I don't know how to Spanish accent, but anyway, published a statement from High Sense
that denied wrongdoing, asserting that an incident covered was a one-off test that did not
affect the normal operation of the television or limit access to its main uses. This is
translated by Google Translate.
The question for me,
whenever a company uses this as an excuse is,
why are you testing that?
You know?
Yeah.
It's like,
it's like, do you think that,
do you think that that would,
I don't know, I'm in Korea,
so I got Korea on the brain,
but do you think that if the North Koreans,
you know,
did a nuclear test,
and everyone was like,
yo, can you not,
you know, don't build a nuclear program.
And they're like,
well,
I was just testing.
You know, what does that mean?
Right?
What does I was just testing it mean?
It means you were testing it.
Like, why did you need to test that?
Sorry, Luke, do you want to show the thing now?
I love this comment.
Cat O.S. said, oh God, there's an emergency alert.
Better turn on the news and then you just get an ad.
Right? Like, can we not, please?
What, do you want me to read, sorry?
I wanted to see one of the examples.
see one of the examples. Oh yeah, I know I showed them all. Oh, brilliant. Okay, well, I
I missed them. Uh, yeah, I, I, R-F-T-W in Floop playing chat says, you've spent dev time on it.
Yes. Here's my, this is not a bug. I'll show it again. Here's my favorite one.
So they're, they're on their like homepage thing. You can see them navigate down to here and
just, wow. And that, that is a whole ass ad. Oh, ad.
Whole ad
Rough
Wild
Dude
Okay
Investment Disclosure Framework
Hear me out
Framework TV
I'd be very interested
Actually
It just wasn't crap
I'd be super interested
genuinely
Oh my goodness
Yeah
What about a TV
That you could upgrade
You could upgrade the processor in
For like your Google TV
Or whatever it is
Or it just had a little
Like nook
That you could like put an Apple TV in
And then you could just
configure the firmware of the TV to just launch your Apple TV every time you, you know what I mean?
So Black Raven asks, would it be a dumb TV or a smart TV? I would see it as, I would see it as both.
Yeah, Colonel Critics says that's just a TV with a dongle, but that's the thing.
Sick.
I wouldn't want to, I personally like using whatever it's called. I forget, they've rebranded it a couple
times, whether it's Android TV or Google TV or whatever it is. I like Google TV. It's pretty good.
I like to use it. But over time, you get, have you.
media files or you know whatever I might like to be able to upgrade the processor
make it more responsive sometimes I like gaming on it there's a fun game
bomb squad that's really fun with a big group gaming on the TV choice exactly
Ricky Bobby choice I want choice and so if somebody wants a stupid one then yeah
have a stupid TV have a dumb TV and have it not do any of that stuff but I also
want to have the option to do that and if there was anyone that I would
trust to do it, I think it'd be framework. I think I could trust them to not screw this up investment
disclosure. Yeah, that'll be awesome. I'm pitching it. I'm pitching it right now. No guarantees that
they'll do it, of course. They're going to be more expensive. They don't work for me. Yeah. And they're
going to be more expensive even if they do make one. Like, people have to realize that this crap is why,
is part of the reason why TVs are so cheap now, because they're monetizing your, you're,
You know.
I'm getting a lot of packet loss.
Sorry, guys.
I can maybe just do another topic while we wait for him.
Let me see if there's something.
I can talk about Slaitha Spire.
I can talk about that for as long as you want.
We'll wait for Linus to catch up here.
Slay the Spire 2 almost beat Silk Song's record,
which I didn't even think it was going to get quite that high,
but I'm very proud of them.
Good job, Megacrit.
I've played too much of your game.
The sequel to Megacrit's 2019 Higrits,
It record, well, just called Slave the Spire, to be clear.
Hit, this one?
Hi.
Hit, they apparently recorded nearly 575,000 concurrent players after its early
access release last week.
It's still in early access.
I was, you know, whatever.
Only about 12,000 players shy, which when you're at the scale of over half a million is not
that much, of the indie record set by Hollow Night Silk Song back in September of,
last year?
Really?
September.
It was that long ago.
Yeah.
I mean, I was going to say it was
not very long ago, but yes,
it's both.
All right.
The game already has more than
43,000 reviews on Steam
and is rated
overwhelmingly positive.
Yes, let's go.
Exciting.
Have I been playing? I have played.
I have played mostly on the plane
to and from Florida.
but I played a little bit since then too
it's a long flight
it's a long flight so I got a lot in there
it's good I don't know if I
did you achieve your goal Luke
I did when it was with every
he's lagging to all heck
but he asked did I I'm gonna take the self-brag
alley-up that he gave me
he asked did you achieve your goal of being it once
at least on every single character
before we got back
and I only played it on the plane
and I tried not to be too antisocial
and yes I did
like kind of
Dan I think saw me do it
like kind of as we were landing almost
I think I finished the last run
You were like I did it
Yeah I did it
Lept up close all right we're landing
Still having conversations the whole time
Yeah
It's
It's early access
The original game
Went through a bunch of balancing over time
I think it definitely
definitely needs more balancing work in, oh, right, I'm looking over here now.
In my opinion, it still needs more work.
But the bones feel really good, in my opinion.
I don't actually care too much that there's like animations now and stuff.
It looks nice.
It just doesn't really mean much to me.
But the bones are really cool.
The new necromancer characters, like one of my favorite ones.
I'm not super happy about the current state of silent, which is generally my favorite care.
So I'm hoping there's some rebalancing stuff that happens there.
But yeah, we'll have to see what they do over the course of the early access and then what they do after the fact.
Like Slate As Fire 1, if I remember correctly, I think it was like released before Defect even came into the game.
I'm not sure when it was technically out.
And then Watcher came after as well.
The difficulty floor is so much higher than STS 1.
That's interesting.
It feels just actually easier to me.
Um, but I've been, I've been really interested in what the community thinks about the, the difficulty of the game.
There, I have found that there are more like kind of just, I run into a mechanic and I'm just like, ugh, like the, I think it's called the Time Eater in Sly Aspire 1, one of the act three bosses, which is super annoying because if you played a lot of cards, then it just hard directly counters you.
And almost all my favorite decks on almost every character was just play a crazy amount of cards.
so it's really annoying to run into time eater
and now I find that there's more
like time eater style enemies
where it's like ha ha you decided to build your deck that way
I guess you have a bad time now
and I don't love that so much
again
the balance isn't super secure as well
yeah
sorry everyone calls it Expedition 33 where it's like
oh you are not built in this exact way
therefore your break damage is too low and you can beat this boss but you will have to grind
it will take you forever like there's an end boss called the queen and i haven't read a bunch of
like other people's opinions on size by or two yet but i read one thread because i was like
well i heard that one was super thanks for asking it's an old reference
I don't get it.
But yeah, I was like, I wonder what other people think about this like horribly difficult boss.
And I honestly thought all the other act three bosses were like so easy that they might as well been like elites or not even that hard.
And then the queen is just like this horrifying mess of destroy my everything.
And then I read online that everyone's like, wow, that's the easiest one.
And I don't know what's going on.
So I might not have opinions that line up with other people.
I also find that, or sorry, I also saw on that thread that apparently people are saying that the queen punishes hyper optimized decks.
And if you just like grab cards for fun and your deck isn't like built around a certain system that you have an easier time with it.
And I tend to try to make optimized decks.
But then that's, it runs into the same problem where it's like, especially when you're running on really high difficulty, you're probably going to want optimized decks.
So then you just have like a die roll that if your game has the queen is the end box.
you just lose.
Like I don't like that.
That's what I really,
really hated about time meter.
But anyways,
Slydespire,
really cool game.
It's overwhelmingly positive
even if I don't currently like it
as much as Slai Spire 1.
And I think they can tune things up
because they have in the past
and Mega Crit is based.
And I even really liked
their other random game.
Mega Crit dancing game.
Will I be able to find it this way?
Dancing Dueless.
This game, I believe,
is even free.
It's on itch.io
called Dancing Dueless
and this game is super fun.
Yeah, you can just download the zip
for Mac, Linux, or Windows right there.
It's a game jam game.
Yeah, it's a game jam game and it's super fun.
This was their first exploration into Godot
if I remember correctly.
And it's a fun little game.
Let me see if I can
swoop.
Gameplay.
Yeah, you pick your little dancer, bro,
then you have your different cards and then the game kind of like semi auto plays,
but it's like you build the deck and then it kind of does the things or whatever and blah,
blah, blah, blah.
For a game game,
holy crap,
it was amazing.
That's cool.
It seems to be done the jump ship jam,
which is over a month.
So probably why it looks a little better.
It was like pretty polished and stuff.
Month game jams intense.
Yeah.
But yeah,
cool.
Slice part two.
Sweet.
I'm sure I will continue playing it for a long time.
very nice
all right
why don't we
jump into
how about uh
doing sponsors three and four
please good sir
fine
do you want me to do it
because your internet shoppiness
it seems to be
I don't know am I good now
you're good now
you seem good now
yeah I uh I turned off my Wi-Fi
and turned it back on
classic troubleshooting tech tip
wow it's actually perfect
the show is brought to today by Odu
if you're running a company of just about any size
it's easy to be pulled in dozens of
different software and tools for every
tiny aspect of running said company. We were even talking about this earlier on the show.
That's hilarious. Odu is business management software that offers tons of integrated apps for all
your needs in one convenient place. If you were to, say, run a YouTube channel. How are you going to
keep track of all those videos? ODCRM. More traditional business, Odu can help automate inventory
management with replenishment strategies based on min-max rules as well as help you schedule vendor
follow-ups and hey look all businesses you know YouTube or traditional need to have
employees so why not use Odu's HR tools they will help you build an org chart to
keep track of your team help you with onboarding scheduling it's super cool and the
best part of Odu is that hey if you only end up needing a single app they will let
you use it with unlimited users for free so book a demo with a member of their
team or get started with the 15-day trial no credit card required at Odu.com
The show is also brought you by Squarespace.
Fun fact.
The website Linus has perfect hair.com does not currently exist, which is good to know, because
if I ever decided to start a shampoo tips business, that domain is right there.
And with our sponsor Squarespace, it would be easy to acquire.
With their domains tool, it really is as simple as punching in your business's name,
hitting search, then picking and purchasing your site.
From there, just tell Squarespace what your business or your hobby is all about,
and Squarespace will suggest templates for you.
For that extra bit of personality, their design AI lets you answer a couple quick prompts about your business,
and Squarespace will create something that fits that criteria.
And look, while I've never used Squarespace to launch my hair and shampoo tips website,
we have used it for our Linus Media Group website, and it is super easy.
So start building your website today and get 10% off your first purchase by visiting Squarespace.com slash when.
I'm so disappointed that you fixed your hair
because the last one was supposed to be a hair zoom in
Oh yeah
Oh that's funny
I had this I had this situation before the show
Where this was doing a weird thing
And I decided to fix it
I also one quick last thing quick I swear
About Slay the Spire
Is the very first event I did
On my very first run
I got an it was an option
I could do something who knows
Never choose that choice
Or I could get an egg
and spoiler alert
don't listen to this part
plug your ears
if you care about
spoilers for Slay the Spire
which I don't think anyone does
I'm plugged my ears
but I have headphones
and what am I gonna do
Linus yeah Linus doesn't care
but I was
I hatched the egg
and this was first event
first run
I'm just putting it out there
just saying
no maybe I don't want to know
I don't want to know
you literally get a little bird bro
I'm not gonna worry about it
you get a little bird bro
and he fights with you
all the way up the spire
the second that happened
I was like, I can't lose.
I can't lose when I have bird friend.
That's impossible.
That can't happen.
I just thought it was amazing that my first run I got bird immediately.
It was great.
Let's jump into Sony appears to be experimenting with dynamic AB pricing on the PlayStation store.
PlayStation Store price trackers at PSPrices.com have been following dynamic AB pricing experiments since late last year.
where Sony has shown users varying discounts of up to 27.8%.
The experiment has lasted over four months and included over 190 games in over 70 regions, including the U.S.
Affected titles have included developers like Sony, 2K games, Focus Entertainment, Deep Silver, Bethesda, Rockstar, and Ubisoft.
Our discussion question here is, are deep discounts coming to consoles?
What? I don't think that's...
The more important discussion question is dynamic pricing.
Can we not, in fact, absolutely everything with this?
Can we just have the price be the price?
Yeah, I don't think this is deep discounts coming to consoles.
I think this is trying to extract as much possible dollars from each possible person you can
by like tracking what things they might like and might not like
and making sure that there is optimal amounts of discounts applied to each individual person
so that you can extract as many dollars as possible at any given time.
This is super bad.
This is just a bad thing.
MROMUT says,
I was about to say dynamic pricing on a digital store is pure evil,
but if it's just discounts,
I'm not as upset.
But that's the thing.
Dynamic discounts are just dynamic pricing.
Yuck.
Yeah.
You could kind of consider that everything is a million dollars
with a certain amount of discount.
applied to it. Like it's the original price doesn't matter. Oh my God. Have you seen some of the
stuff people are sharing about best buy's compare at feature? We already talked about it a couple weeks ago.
I think it was. So we don't have to go through the whole thing. But people are posting some
unhinged comparisons. Like I think there was someone bought open box AirPods or something like that.
And the compare at was to brand new AirPods. It's like, okay, yeah, sure. That's that's how that works.
I think that's what I saw
$350 of savings
Gross
Cool
In other news
That's gross
Meta has acquired
MaltBook
The social media platform
For AI agents
Bringing the company's founders
Matt Schlichtscht
And Ben Parr
Into Meta's AI research division
Schlicht says
He built Maltbook
Without writing a single line of code
relying instead on his personal AI assistant,
Claudecoderberg.
Financial terms of the deal were not disclosed.
Oh my God.
In other AI news.
Our discussion is,
does whatever research benefit
we might gain from AI agents
sending each other pictures of their lunches
outweigh the cost and natural resources?
Thank you, Jordan,
for asking such a leading question
with such an obvious answer.
In other fun AI news,
Amazon's AI
coding tools linked to outages as internal documents reveal push for senior signoff on generated
AI code.
After a six-hour Amazon.com outage and multiple AWS incidents, internal documents seen by
the Financial Times show Amazon Senior Vice President Dave Treadwell calling out a trend of
incidents tied to GenAI assisted changes with a high blast radius and pushing for senior
engineer sign off on AI assisted code changes.
Amazon disputes the framing, saying only one incident was AI related, none involved AI written code, and the sign-off requirement isn't being formally mandated.
Ooh, the last part, okay.
The AWS incidents.
That's not the win you think it is.
Yeah.
The AWS incidents included a 13-hour outage caused by Amazon's own Kiro AI coding tool, deleting and recreating an entire environment, which Amazon attributed to use.
your error rather than AI itself. Everything can be. And in a lot of ways, fair enough. But that's
why you need the sign-off thing, right? Discussion question, Amazon's own internal memo blamed
AI tools, but the company's PR team is saying it's the opposite. Who do you believe? The internal
memo. For sure. 100% of the time. To be clear, internal memos can be BS. Yeah. But when I'm
comparing it to a PR statement, it's going to be the internal memo 100% of the time.
Yeah, it's not corporate popular right now to be like, no, no, no, the, the AI tools are bad for sure.
Don't use ours.
They have problems.
That's not, it's not going to go well right now.
Dude, Silicon Valley, like the TV show, was just so far ahead.
Like, it, it feels like, it feels like, it feels so accurate that it's, it's almost creepy at this point.
Yeah.
I don't know how to deal with it.
Like it's it's it's gone full circle from like so outlanded or so true to life that it's funny to so true to life that it's not funny anymore.
Yeah.
Wet Melon says I work at a Silicon Valley company.
I still haven't seen it.
Loll I should really get around to that.
You really, really should.
If you've ever been anywhere near a startup or a big tech company, it is so funny.
Like I don't understand how it's that just how it captures the real experience and yet manages to be funny and not just depressing.
It's so good.
Inside out, dude.
I actually have only, I've not seen the entire run.
I think I've only seen the first three seasons.
I like bought them on Blu-ray.
I binged the first season with Austin Evans randomly enough.
Really?
Yeah, it was great.
Nice.
We're hanging out.
Nintendo is suing the U.S. government over tariffs.
Nintendo is seeking a full refund with interest of tariffs it paid under the IEPA executive order signed by President Trump
after the Supreme Court struck these orders, or sorry, multiple orders, struck these orders down in February.
Over a thousand companies, including Costco and FedEx, have filed similar suits with a judge already ruling that they are, in fact, entitled to refunds.
Nintendo's lawsuit has since been automatically paused pending the outcome of a broader Supreme Court case covering all similar claims.
Trump has since announced plans to reimpose tariffs through Section 122 of the Trade Act of 1974,
which is a more legally constrained method, and has two dozen states, over two dozen states, already suing over that move as well.
Here's the thing that I'm going to just come out and say, I'm finding a little bit confusing about all of this.
I have paid through companies that I am either sole owner or partner owner, a lot of money in tariffs for products that we have imported or exported into the United States.
there is a part of me that would obviously love to have that money back.
I'm pretty sure it's like over a million dollars, like a lot of money.
We sell a lot of goods on LTD Store.com.
It's a good store with great products.
People love them.
And businesses has been okay.
You know, there's a lot of headwinds right now.
Every all hands, you hear Terran use the word headwinds.
But overall, you know, we've been, we've diversified.
the team has worked hard we're doing stuff you know we're we're getting it done and so with that volume
of business there's been a lot of money that has gone towards tariffs i'd love to have it back
but here's the thing um i believe not i believe it's it's just i believe it is a fact there i'll say this
that tariffs are in fact a consumer tax.
So why would I get the refund?
So here's what I'm kind of trying to understand.
And I know that for someone like Nintendo or Costco, right,
they have made the argument, especially Costco.
I don't actually know that Nintendo is making this argument,
but I know that Costco made the argument
that they held their pricing steady, right?
And they absorbed the tariffs because they believe,
believed that they would be able to sue for the tariff money back, and that would make them whole
eventually. I mean, you know, minus interest, obviously, opportunity costs and whatever else, right?
But in the current climate, where will we find the nuance to differentiate between a company like
Costco who claims, right, and I would tend to believe Costco, they've operated with pretty
strong integrity over the years, who claims that they ate the cost compared to other companies
who passed the cost along to consumers and then will basically be taking back free money.
How do we differentiate that? How do you prove that? I have no idea. I think that's part of
their argument, actually, is they haven't started this stuff. And if I remember correctly, the
Nintendo suit is already paused. And I think the big part of that reason is because
they're saying it's just too complicated.
So we're going to have to see where that goes.
I also think like,
I think as far as my understanding goes,
we tried to keep prices down for Americans.
So that would partially include us.
So maybe there needs to be just a refund in both directions.
Ours was complicated.
Because it was a combination.
And I'm sure that almost everyone is probably kind of like us.
Yeah.
Because it was so volatile.
and at times there was a tariff one day
and then there was like oh forget it the next day
and it was just chaos
there were times when we just ate it
there were other times where we went to our suppliers
and we worked with them
to manage margins across the board
so they would take a small hit
we would take a small hit and we'd make a small adjustment
to pricing so everybody's taking a small hit
the consumer, us, and our manufacturers.
Then there were the times when we just, we had to.
We just had to increase pricing.
So we've done all of them.
So what's the right thing to do?
There's also, I don't know to say this name,
but someone in full point chat said,
yeah, so what about companies that raise global pricing
to subsidize Americans, which did also happen?
That's tough.
You can't really solve that.
Where's the refund for European Xbox buyers?
Yeah.
It's not happening.
So basically this is the dumbest possible outcome
because the U.S. taxpayer gets nothing for all of it.
The U.S. government gets nothing for all of it.
It's like the least surprising outcome, though.
Just funnel more money to the rich.
And are we really just going to give a refund to the corporations?
who, you know what, from my point of view,
were dramatically inconvenienced by this whole thing,
and it did affect our revenue,
and it did affect our profit.
It wasn't just inconvenience.
This was a serious problem with the money that was charged
and also the haphazard way that the whole thing was implemented
and messaged.
It burned countless, countless cycles
and a ton of money for us.
like the whole thing just is looking even dumber and like an even stupider more useless
crap outcome than I even could have predicted and I was pretty opposed to the whole thing
in the first place for fairly obvious reasons just wild so dumb did you hear about a government
affiliated official that's been running around selling
are basically buying companies tariff refunds for like pennies on the dollar.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Corruption in plain sight, boys.
It's been, it's been wild.
I think he's a dude in like the financial part of the government as well.
Like, I think he might have some amount of influence over if this is even happening.
So wait, say the name again?
Was it Scott Besson?
Yeah, I thought it was him.
I can't remember.
Lotnik.
There we go.
Isn't he still in finance stuff anyways?
Yeah.
Yeah.
United States Secretary of Commerce.
So like a person doing finite stuff
who like is going to have a lot of influence.
I just,
ugh.
Anyways,
let's go man,
let's get through this.
We got a couple more to go.
I need to get into after dark here.
This is getting brutal.
B.Y.D.
reveals charging.
network in world's longest range EV.
Chinese automaker, BYD, has reportedly been testing a 1500 kilowatt hour flash charging network
in Shenzhen that is capable of adding 249 miles of EV range in five minutes.
That means this network is more than three times faster than the ultra-rapid chargers
that currently exist in North America and Europe.
The test hub uses liquid-cooled charging guns, which just sounds awesome, that allow users
to roll up, plug in, and handle payment on either the infotainment or an Android app.
The pricing at the demo site was about 18 cents per kilowatt hour, making a charging session
about 15 bucks.
Meanwhile, in America, cyber trucks currently handle the highest charging speeds with peaks
at around 500 kilowatt hours, so a third if the claim is real.
BID's luxury brand Denza also teased their new ZDXXXE.
GTSUV with 64 miles of range, a 64% improvement from the current Z9 GT model's 391 mile range,
which is priced at around 50,000 USD.
It is worth noting that the Chinese range estimates are not as difficult as the EPA US ones.
So there's a bit of translation that'll have to go on there,
but that is still freaking wild.
That's an enormous range for an SUV.
It's not a big SUV, I don't think.
Trying to see, like, how, what would this be equivalent to?
It's more Model Y or Model X.
It actually looks amazing.
This is the ZD9.
I decided I'll just look it up, but like that $50,000 car, dude,
like, d'i-ha.
I'm so stoked on trying to be able to get,
BYD soon, dude?
Yeah, they're going to disappear.
They're going to sell out instantaneously.
There's, I think it's 50,000 cars that they're in total allowed to bring in.
They're just all going to disappear.
Looks like that inside, 952 brake horsepower, 952.
Looks like that inside, looks like this outside and it's 50K.
You think those aren't going to instantly disappear in Canada?
People are going to buy those immediately.
950?
Is that a joke?
Lainis, how much, how much did you Porsche got?
I can see the video
I can see the video now
nothing has that much
I can see the video now
I bought a new car
Linus Sebastian
400
the the 2023
I can't remember if I have a
20202 or a 223
but they should be the same power
the 2023
Tican Turbo S
produces 650 to 8000
616 horsepower
which increases
with launch control
to 740
50.
So this SUV would have substantially more horsepower than my stupid Tiken.
What the heck?
I really like that on their dash.
I really like kind of how they laid this out.
I know,
I know there's like other EVs with this to be very,
very clear.
It looks like they have dual wireless charging pads for phones,
I think,
passenger and driver.
And then I like that just in front of the wheel is actually quite simple.
there are lots of other EVs that do that as well
but sometimes they get a little bit too busy right in front of the wheel
and I don't like that
keep the infotainment in the middle
damn
or damn
YouTube is expanding their AI deep fake detection
to include politicians, government officials and journalists
that's it that's all that I really have to
say about that they say they'll still protect parody and satire
that involves these public figures
but yeah, this is a good thing.
And they should do deep fake detection more
and just generally AI detection more and not less.
Also, after complaints, Google will make it easier
to disable generative AI search in photos,
including a toggle for fast classic search.
Nice. Nice.
Now what I want to know is where's my good,
fast, non-AI Gmail search?
Dude, I had a wild interaction with Gmail search the other day
where I looked for a keyword that I knew for sure was in something recent, and it wouldn't bring it up.
It only brought up like one page of results, even though there should have been like hundreds of emails with this common word.
And I actually had to use for the first time the Gemini Gmail search in order to find it.
And it found it immediately.
But I was just so annoyed with that workflow.
Just find the word.
If the email contains the word, bring up the email.
How complicated is this?
Google was good at this 10 years ago.
Why do they suck at it now?
All right.
I don't exactly shop for cars too often, but this is cool, man.
Is that seriously 50 grand?
That's cool configurator.
You can like click around and stuff happens.
It won't be here.
That's like converted.
So there'll still be like extra transportation costs and they'll have to cover their just
their operational costs of running in the country.
So I would suspect it'll be closer to like 75 or 80.
Yeah, but not like 150, which is kind of what I would expect.
I don't think.
For a car that looks like that.
It has those specifications.
Yeah,
buddy.
What if I click space?
What does that do?
Oh,
wow.
Scenarios.
I don't know the domestics have like,
this is weird.
You can see the shocks?
I'm sure there's like other,
again,
I don't exactly buy for new,
shop for new cars ever,
but that's a cool,
that's a cool little thing they made.
You can look.
Yeah.
Just no touch.
Can't wait to buy one on Craigslist in 25 years from now.
Yeah.
It's going to be sick.
Dude, they have a freaking like what, bruh?
Again, 50 grand.
Like, the big ones compete with Maybach, and they're like 100 grand.
You can't scroll this.
That's wild, man.
DeVille audio system.
So they even ponied up for bushy co-branding for their audio and still manage to make it this cheap.
That's wild.
Are those legal in Canada?
I don't think so.
Digital side mirrors?
Yeah.
Yeah, they might not have you.
I don't think so.
I don't think they are either.
The cooler is sweet.
You know to have cold water.
It would be dope.
I know.
Anyways, enough drooling over that car.
What do we got next?
There's something, I think.
Are we done?
After Dark?
I think it's After Dark.
Let's go.
After Dark.
Okay, I got a few checkout messages for you here.
First up, first, you really need tall sizes for the gray RGB shirts.
Second, LLD, what are your favorite guilty pleasure?
Self-serving, Dan.
I liked that.
That was good.
That was really good.
Second up, LLD, what are your favorite guilty pleasure treats and candies?
This guy was actually first.
This is the first merch message we received, so double first.
Oh, man, I've got.
I've got lots of guilty pleasure treats and candies.
I have a wicked sweet tooth.
I remember this one time.
You know those those like sour strips that are rainbow colored
that you could get in like a bulk pack at Costco?
Yeah, you know the ones I'm talking about?
I once ate an entire Costco bulk pack of those in a weekend
sitting at my desk.
Yeah.
We're talking like an actual brick of sugar.
Holy crap.
Damn.
That's wild.
Yeah, I got a sweet tooth.
It takes a lot of discipline for me to eat as little sweets as I do these days.
As I'm getting older, I can't do that anymore.
My metabolism used to be like hyper.
And now I just can't.
But like, oh man, I love me a perfectly toasted marshmallow.
Like, mm, oh, love that.
spicy ramen noodles that's my like late at night oh yeah oh just like uh a i'll make let i have eaten
in one sitting continuously as many as three packs plus eggs just like nom nom nom nom nom nom no nom no nom no nom no nom after midnight
i whoa this is a bad one i once ate you know the dempsters like kind of
like crappy white bread cinnamon raisin bread
I once ate in one sitting
in the middle of the night when I was like
craving a midnight snack an entire loaf of it
piece by piece
I've got a butter I've got one of those
entire loaf of butter damn okay all right
every slice you might still have me then
my like diet when I used to work at the bread factory
so this would have been not way too long
before I met you to be honest
was I would bring a can of stag chili to work
and a bowl,
but I wouldn't bring any utensils
and,
you know,
statute of limitations,
whatever,
it's probably fine.
They had this policy where like,
if there was a bag of ruined of bread,
you could just have it.
So a single bag of bread would just fly out of the facility for some reason
and it would be outside on the ground and that's ruined.
So then I would eat stag chili with an entire loaf of bread.
And that would be my lunch like,
every time.
So I would buy stag with like when my parents would go to Costco, we'd get just tons of
Costco stag chili packs.
So they're super cheap.
And then the bread was free.
And that was my meal.
That was like, I was effectively like one meal a day fasting.
Because I would eat a whole loaf of bread and a can of stag and just be like, hell yeah.
So I lived off that for like a while.
In terms of guilty pleasures, these are rare, but a long-term LTT staple community person, MAP, got me onto these, but they're licorice from New Zealand called RJs.
And you can find them in stores every once in a while.
I know, like, way back when we worked out of the Langley House, that there was like a grocery store that was near the corner store that was down the street.
I don't know the name of the grocery store
but that grocery store had it
Um
Oh what Nestors?
Was it Nestors?
Oh wait no not not oh I don't remember what grocery store that was
Yeah I know I've been there I went there a few it was more expensive than the
Savon the save on the save on was just down the hill so like I didn't go there that often but
There's a couple times um
Dude I have so many more
I mean yeah another one that I really like which I think this might be controversial
actually is Hawkins.
Hawkins.
I've never tried that.
Hawkins Cheeses.
I got a rifle here.
I must have spelled it wrong.
Yeah, Hawkins Cheezys.
It's Canadian brand,
Canadian-made thing.
Something that I really like
is that the ingredients
is like pretty chill.
Yeah, okay.
Not about to say they're good for you.
Not about to say they're low calorie.
I don't think they're necessarily either of those.
But the ingredients list is like relatively short
and I can tell what's happening, which is neat.
Cool.
But yeah, they're Canadian, which I thought is cool.
I didn't know the brand was Hawkins.
Yeah, well, cheesy.
Yeah, cheesies with a Zed and they're like,
they're normally the crunchier,
kind of like smaller ones.
They're not the like big poofy ones.
Not the poofs.
Yeah, I don't like the poofs.
I like Hawkins.
That's another one that's like,
it's pretty rare, but.
when they're around they're neat my my my probably biggest guilty pleasure though is got to be
breakfast cereal and i'm talking like like the sugar bombs chocolate frosted sugar bombs type like
nest quick uh honeynut checks oh gosh cinnamon toast crunch i would something i'm i think i'm fairly
lucky for is i liked those when i was a kid but now i genuinely just prefer like musly
like actually just really like it especially you cut up some banana
end it too?
One of my worst
ones. I didn't do it once
this winter. I made it all the way through the winter
without doing this. But I
will make a
cup of hot chocolate
and then I'll put probably about this much
whipped cream on the top of it.
And then I'll get a spoon and I'll
dip it into the hot chocolate
and then eat the whipped cream off the top
and then I'll hit it again with whipped cream
all the way down the cup.
I love
whipped cream. I think it's funny because you usually eat like quite clean and then
when you dive off the head, you just go really hard. Dude, 100%. A hundred percent. And like for me,
as long as I can, as long as I can pass a pinch test, like I'll eat like the dirtiest stuff.
Like, oh, dude. But it's for me, it's all about the, it's all about the pinch test.
But when I don't pass the pinch test, then I'm extremely disciplined.
Hey, DLL, love all your videos.
I'm interested in a Framework 12, but I was seriously turned off by the price of RAM.
Do you guys think that the Framework 12 is in trouble unless the price of RAM falls?
I think everything's in trouble unless the price of RAM falls.
It's been a major point of discussion in the tech space for the last three to five months.
It's a major problem.
Yeah.
Yeah, I think they're in trouble.
If the price of RAM doesn't fall,
I hope it kind of seems like there's signs of cracking in the AI bubble right now.
It hasn't entered free fall or anything like that,
but isn't Oracle stock like way down right now?
I think everything's stock is way down right now.
Oracle stock is definitely down
Yeah and I think like because of AI over
But AI pressure
That's a big part of the reason that Oracle's coming down
So down three percent today
Maybe it's coming maybe it's coming
Well today they're down like two and a half three percent
Five days they're up two and a half three percent
One month they're down three-ish percent
Six months they're down forty-eight point
So.
Yeah, if you look at the six-month trend, things are not looking good.
They're up 5% from last year.
Yep.
Nice.
Nothing matters.
Yeah, so following the AI bubble and then maybe we're on the way down.
Hopefully, that'd be awesome.
I saw a new animal used to describe the stock market.
Apparently we're in a kangaroo market.
Boing.
So forget about bears and bowls.
It's just do-to-do-do-do-to-do up and down.
they're also the ones that punch you in the face
yeah that still seems right
yep absolutely tracks
yeah what's up boys
Luke how's your fitness journey going
would like to know if you tweaked your diet at all lately
looking good my boy
the last comment's a little surprising
it's not going well I basically for
well it's all relative Luke
I mean compared to where you started I think you're still
looking pretty good
yeah that's probably fair
I can see where they're coming from
I think you see every little imperfection, but yeah.
I'm very frustrated right now, basically.
So, okay, so I was traveling a bunch and was kind of out of the gym
because I was still working out when I could.
Like, I got a workout in Hong Kong.
Like, I was trying to make things happen.
I was keeping it going.
And then I came back and I had this crazy reno that lasted for like over six months.
So I was inconsistent about my workouts.
and then a crazy reno that went on for a long time where I couldn't really use my kitchen.
So I had like non-prepared meals and no gym time for over six months.
And that really, what are we hearing right now?
Is that here?
Yvonne's back in the room.
Oh, okay.
I thought that was local.
Sorry.
No, you're good.
I thought that was local.
Yep.
So I lost a lot of traction there.
And the big problem that I'm having, realistically right now, is that old injuries that I had like had under control.
They weren't dealt with.
They weren't fixed.
But I had them under control are now, again, not in a state that I would consider under control.
So like I have to go up a certain amount of quite a few stairs to take the stairs in my building.
I try to take the stairs exclusively every time.
And every once in a while, that'll kind of throw my knee out a little bit.
And it's just like, damn, man.
Like, I think a week or two ago, I literally went up one flight of stairs.
And my knee was like, nope.
And it's just like, oh, like this was something that I had completely solved.
Like, not that long ago.
And then just through, and I had talked about this on WAN show.
I had talked about this with lots of people where I was like, no, I just have to do this forever.
And I didn't really think, like I knew I was doing stuff.
you know, I'd work around the house, I was traveling, whatever.
Like I didn't, it wasn't like laziness that was keeping me out of the gym,
but I didn't go to the gym for a while.
And my diet went to crap.
And that combination, I think just brought everything kind of back.
So I have to go through this like reparative phase again, which I've been working on.
I do these like, I don't know what you want to call them, these like really weird lunges
where you get your knee way over your toe.
And dude, there's a YouTuber guy, knees over toes guy, been following some of his stuff.
That's how I originally fixed my knees, was following some of his stuff.
My shoulder, I don't have anything particular.
It's just these things that I call side poles.
I don't know what they're actually called and hanging.
I do both of those and those help, but like my hangs have gotten a lot worse because I wasn't doing them.
And yeah, backwards running.
Like there's lots of different things that I do, but they're just in a terrible state right now.
So I can't like, it's just very frustrating.
And I would weigh rather, I know there's like the whole, you can't work out a, you can't work off a bad diet.
Yeah, but you can really support a much worse diet by doing a lot of activity.
And I would way rather, it's not even necessarily that I want to eat junk all the time.
I just hate eating very little.
I hate that scenario.
I'd rather just be active and then eat like a pretty decent amount.
Rotator cuff exercises.
Yeah.
So my things are both of my knees, but mostly my right knee, but it's both.
my right shoulder cuff and my lower back on the right hand side I got speared there in hockey when I was younger
the back is kind of the least problematic one but when it's a problem I'm out it's like when it when it
kind of flares up I'll be done for like a month but it's it's it's very frustrating I knew when I was
going to go back into the gym my lifts were going to be way lower and that was going to be annoying
I didn't expect the like actually you can't go.
You have to go for walks all the time for a while and do these lunch things and do this like really boring stuff that has no like measurable improvement.
I like number go up.
I don't like, oh, maybe I feel better today.
I can't really tell.
That's not very fun and it's difficult to be motivating.
But I just have to do it because I have to get back on track.
So I'm planning.
If I remember correctly, it's like three more weeks.
I'm going to try to go into the gym and try some stuff.
And I'll start with pretty low weights and be pretty chill and just try to see how things feel.
And I'll probably only do like, I don't know, once or twice a week at the beginning and just try to kind of ease back into it.
But I got to be careful because I'm dealing with some broken stuff.
Yeah.
I have very particular things that I do.
That's fine.
We're not necessarily going to be doing the same stuff.
I'm just saying if you want, if you want buddies, me and J-Quon are there on Mondays.
Yeah, that's not a bad idea.
Usually I do, at the end there, it's not a weird one.
You can just say you're too cool for us.
No, Monday is usually a day that I do.
One day is usually likes for me.
I like starting the week off with legs because legs takes the most energy.
And it is generally like the least, like men don't tend to like doing legs as much.
So I just start with that one.
and then yeah so i i used to do monday tuesday thursday and then i was shifted to i think it was
like monday thursday saturday for a bit there um but i'll move things around a lot of granularity in
the detail here yeah we're we're losing it but anyways it's a little off track but i'm trying
to get back on the tracks and i'm like actually peak frustrated right now but we'll we'll
figure it out now fam boy n z says have you considered glp1 but i think i can probably
answer this for you. Luke's goal is not to have side effects and take a drug and do it the easy way.
His goal is to be physically fit, which does not necessarily mean the shape. It means like he wants
his strength back. Yeah, I don't actually care that much. And I don't think GLP1 is a path to that.
I don't actually care that much about the shape. Obviously, I do a little bit. But like the goal is that I want to feel capable. I want to
I want to be able to run. I want to be able to jump. I want to be able to sprint. I want to be able to lift. I want to feel capable and feel healthy. That's my by far primary goal.
Ribbitt says GLP1 is not the easy way. So what would be the easy way for weight loss then? Like are you, I'm having a hard time understanding what you mean by that.
I think that's the first time I've ever heard that. It's a head start, right, which is, well,
Yeah, or if it says I've been on it for nearly two years and been working my butt off combined with it.
Well, right.
Yeah.
I mean, that's the exact same.
It's all relative.
That's the exact same and actually accurate, as far as my understanding goes, argument of steroids.
Like, you don't just become Mr. Olympia by just taking steroids.
A lot of, they will make you, they will give you muscle mass just kind of automatically.
But also a big part of is it reduces your recovery time so you can work out more.
You have to try harder.
It unlocks trying harder.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Sorry, man, you're over 30.
That feels good thing has sailed.
No, I actually completely disagree.
There was like, before this happened, before the house rent, I was mostly feeling pretty good.
I felt strong.
Yeah.
Things were doing okay.
Obviously, there's going to be lows, but like there's relative, I'm speaking relatively,
and relatively right now it feels terrible.
But it also feels a little bit better than it did last week.
So, like, okay, we'll keep going.
All right, Dan, hit me.
Hello, Mendelgen.
The Linux challenges are always interesting to me.
I've been using a Fairphone 6 with EOS and loving it.
When is the EOS or Lineage OS challenge?
Also, happy day before Pi Day.
I would actually love to look at Lineage OS again.
I'm going to put it on the list.
It's been on the list for a long time,
but I'm going to surface that in my inbox.
Lineage OS is such a cool idea to me in theory
as a way to squeeze way more life out of older Android devices.
And I'd love to see, now that we have five-year-old phones
that are totally still good enough, hardware-wise, to daily,
but maybe aren't getting software support anymore,
I'd love to take a crack at it again.
Yeah, I used to have to.
run it. It's awesome.
Last one I got for you
here. Hold on. Pointed question.
Uh-oh. You said, it's awesome
and used to. Why do you stop?
It wasn't available on my more recent phones.
Got them. It's only available
on some very specific models.
Seems like a fair enough answer. I'm
so sorry it's not an XI.
Yeah, a lot of these
are specific phones, and I don't
generally go for the generics.
But I do
always try and buy the ones that have unlocked
bootloaders for the future in case someone makes one in 10 years so that they can keep working.
Last one. Hey, DLL, just hit my 30s. Careers peaking and my GF and I keep getting the
When's the Wedding questions? Any advice for this stage of life? Anything you wish you knew in your
early 30s? Sleep. I've wrecked myself, honestly. Apparently you're supposed to work out
with steroids. I'm just hearing this now.
I got to talk to my dealer.
Don't work out with stairways.
Just come work out.
Sleep.
I think that's the main piece of advice that I needed.
And I still need that advice.
I'm not doing very good at this.
Yeah.
I got nothing for you.
I don't know if any of my advice is going to be that applicable.
I did my early 30s and my early to mid-20s.
Just like went from, well, I'm in high.
school now I'm supposed to go to university well I'm in university now I'm supposed to get a career while I'm in a
career now I'm supposed to get married well I'm married now I'm supposed to have a kid um now I have a kid uh okay
let's let's complete the set let's get the family going oh I'm going to start a business I was just like go go go go go go go
and there's a lot of arguments to be made that that is not the right for every right choice for
everyone so yeah you know definitely
you know for me partnering up was critical to my success um but you know i fully recognize that you know if
the wedding is not you know right or the timing is not right for you then that's you know that's your
choice you got to be you got to do things on your own terms but also if your plan is to get married
and have kids you also got to understand that time is not infinite um i remember uh for our second kid i've
told the story before, but Yvonne was, what were you,
Yvonne, 26? When, when you talked to Dr. Tam about
our middle child? Yeah, and she goes, man, it's just
my sciatica pain is worse and my fatigue is worse and
like my sleep is worse and everything is, everything is harder
this time and he just kind of, he has his clipboard out and he wasn't even
looking at her, didn't even bother to turn around. He goes, well,
your nose bring chicken. And it's like, bro, like, what are you
talking about? We have this perception today that like,
You just like have kids in your late 30s or maybe even like in your 40s and that's like totally fine.
But from like a biological standpoint, that's not how our bodies work.
Peak, peak childbearing years are way before that.
So if your plan is to do that, then the people who are asking, hey, like, are you getting on with it?
It may just have your, you know, your health and your best interest in mind.
but I will say that having kids young,
there were a lot of things that we really didn't feel ready for.
Ace of Tunes says my mom had me at 32,
and the last was at 36, she was fine, and that's nice,
but that doesn't change anything that I said.
So cool.
Sick.
Next one.
I don't have any more.
No, that's it.
That's it, that's all.
So we'll see you again next week.
Same bad time.
same bad channel. Bye.
Provisor.
Such a good name.
Linus'
his laptop is just rip it.
