Video Gamers Podcast - Resident Evil [requiem] Deep Dive – Gaming Podcast
Episode Date: March 10, 2026Gaming hosts Josh, Ryan and Ace dive deep into Resident Evil 9, breaking down Capcom’s latest gaming nightmare and asking where it ranks among modern video games. From the scares and story to combat... and pacing, we unpack what works, what doesn’t, and deliver our final ratings. If you love horror video games, this episode is for you as we explore what makes this entry tick and what it means for survival horror gaming. Don’t miss our discussion and final verdict on the Video Gamers Podcast! Thanks to our MYTHIC Supporters: Redletter, Disratory, Ol’ Jake, Gaius, Jigglepuf, Phelps and NorwegianGreaser, and Dettmarp Thanks to our Legendary Supporters: HypnoticPyro, PeopleWonder, Bobby S. Connect with the show: Support us on Patreon: patreon.com/videogamerspod Join our Gaming Community: https://discord.gg/h2cHKAvSmu Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/videogamerspod/ Follow us on X: https://twitter.com/VideoGamersPod Subscribe to us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@VideoGamersPod?sub_confirmation=1 Visit us on the web:https://videogamerspod.com/ Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hello, fellow gamers, and welcome to the video gamers podcast.
Leon Kennedy is back, and so are we with another incredible deep dive episode.
Resident Evil Requiem is out, but does it live up to the high expectations of the franchise?
How does the mixed play style of both stealth and action actually work out,
and does this game belong in the pantheon of the series?
We're about to break it all down, but before we do, some introductions are in order.
I am your host, Josh, and joining me, he said grace is annoying, but would love to hang out with his boy, Victor Gideon.
It's Ryan.
Give me some of that King Gideon, baby.
Oh, man, I don't know that there's a grosser character in gaming to me, man, than Victor Gideon.
You shut your mouth.
Shut your mouth.
I'm sorry, Ryan.
I'm sorry.
And joining us, he was so excited to play this game.
He took an entire week off of work and then beat the game in two days and had no clue
what to do with the rest of his time off.
It's Ace.
This may or may not have happened.
And it also may have sparked me just going through the entire remake French of the franchise.
Ace just kept saying, I'd be Resident Evil 2.
All right, I beat Resident Evil 4.
All right, I'd be resonant.
You just kept going down the list.
I just kept going down the list.
I don't know that I've seen Ace more hyped for a game release than this game, honestly.
Probably so.
This is one of my favorite franchises, dude.
His vacation was starting.
He was like, guys, I'm going dark.
Like, I mean, I love to see it.
Don't, you know, don't give, this is not, like, trolling at all.
It's just, it was, I don't know that I've seen Ace more excited for an actual game release
than Requiem.
So.
I was excited enough to stream it for the,
the first time.
Yeah.
Yeah, honestly, which was a good stream, by the way.
Yeah, I was watching it.
I didn't get to watch a lot of it, but I did get to dip in there.
Ace had some cool overlays, and you could tell he's, he's done this before.
That's for sure.
So, um, okay, I want to preface this episode by saying we are going to talk some spoilers.
Okay.
We're going to talk about the game.
We have to do that to be able to give our thoughts and opinions on it.
But when it comes to the story and any major spoilers, we'll do that at the end.
And we will give you a warning.
morning, okay? So, you know, I always say this, like, we love, we love people listening to the show and we want you to listen to these episodes.
But if you're listening to a deep dive on a game, this is a full game review and we talk about the game. So you should be listening to this if you don't want to know anything about the game, okay? Like, if you're planning on playing it, then just go. I think all three of us can confidently say, if you were interested in Requiem, you should go play this game. Is that accurate, boys?
Yeah, yeah, yep, yep, yep.
If that's what you were looking for and you just needed the VGP seal of approval, you have it 100%.
Be free. Go spend your $70. Yes. Go, go, go. And then come back and listen to this later.
But for those that are like, I've either played it or I don't really plan on playing it, I just want to hear what you guys have to say about it. We will do that with as little spoilers as possible. We will give a warning when it comes to the major story spoilers. And again, we'll do that at the end. You have been warned.
We never want to spoil something for people.
We have done our job in that, in that regard.
Okay?
So that way, there you go.
Also stay off, stay off Instagram or the internet because there's a lot of clips that are spoilers too.
Nobody's putting spoiler warnings on their clips anymore.
There's just a bunch of, a bunch of reels and stuff.
Yeah.
So, all right, boys.
Let's, I mean, let's get into it.
We've got a lot to talk about on this one.
Resident Evil Requiem.
I want to start off by saying, what is, you know,
know, what is y'all's experience with this franchise?
You know, is this the first game in the franchise that you guys have played?
Have you played every single one in this franchise?
What was your hype level for this?
Just kind of set the stage for people on this one.
So Ace, I feel like you probably are resident.
He was already.
He was like, he's like ready to talk.
He's like, the horse at the gate.
He's like, come on.
That's why I just threw it to him right away.
Let me go.
Let me go.
Yes, I played them all multiple times and I love this franchise.
Yeah, I am what you call.
a new gen, uh,
Resident Evil fan. I've played mostly the remakes, but I have played,
you know, seven, eight. I started of course with the first game.
It's really hard to get used to that fixed camera angle that started off the whole series and
kind of made its whole identity around that.
But when any,
whenever anyone asked me about these games,
I always say play Resident Evil 2 remake.
That's the best one.
That's the best way to start.
Best way to get into this franchise.
And I just,
I fell in love with this survival horror action.
just cheesy good time that Resident Evil is, man.
I love everything about Resident Evil.
That's what's so good about it is for my experience in Resident Evil,
it was kind of like right in the sweet spot of my childhood where you're growing up
where it's a game like when Resident Evil 1 came out, like it was like I was kind of a little
bit too young for it, but I was also like some friends had it, you know, and so then I would
play it at their house type thing.
So I played through one and two.
then obviously four, four remake, and then seven, and then this one.
So I am by no means like a Resident Evil fan or like I enjoyed the games,
but it's not something like I'm like, oh, I can't wait for the next one,
but I've always enjoyed what they've put out in the series for sure.
The Capcom makes quality.
That's like to say, for sure.
If you see something being made by Capcom, it's probably going to be pretty darn good,
especially Resident Evil.
except for Monster Hunter
that's a different story but
ran fine on consoles just not PC
I troll Monster Hunter a little bit
it's just not my
we tried playing it
it's fine it Capcom loves
their menus man
you don't like wilds
I have with Copcom so
I'm kind of like with Ryan on this one
I mean I played the original
Resident Evil I played one and two
I think I this is where I kind of fell off
the series a little bit because I did play
the Resident Evil 4 remake and I could have
sworn that I had played the original, but then when I'm playing the remake, I'm like, wait, I don't
think I played this one. Oh, you never played the original? I don't think so, man. And part of that
is, is that, you know, I'm a little bit older. I've played a little, you know, longer time span for me.
Oh, for sure. In the, like, the history of gaming and stuff. So it's like, I've always enjoyed the series.
And then I did play Biohazard Village and Now Requiem. I don't think I ever played five and six.
I'll be honest, I don't even know that I could tell you what five and six were at five is fine, but you're not missing much with six. I'll tell you that much.
Yeah. And just to be, you know, in all honesty, I only played about half of Biohazard, which, you know, that's common for me because I have a problem with finishing games. So I did beat Enroll credits on Village and Requiem at this point. So I would say I enjoy the series. I would not say that like I'm a super fan of the series or anything like that. So, you know, there's kind of your, you know, our experiences.
and our kind of takes going into this.
So lo and behold, guys,
we get the announcement for Resident Evil Requiem.
We get the return of Leon,
which, you know,
this is what the internet lost its mind over.
I can identify.
I will say this.
It made me a little bit happier
that I can identify with Leon a little bit more now
because it's like, you know,
he's creaking a little bit.
He's like he's starting to look a little bit more haggard
in his age.
You know, so, you know, the return of the beloved Leon in this series and then a new character.
You know, never before seen, which this is kind of an interesting thing where it's not just a villain, you know, which Resident Evil sometimes gives you new villains like Lady Demetresk and Village and things like that.
But we have Grace Ashcroft.
And so she's a brand new entry to this series.
What did you guys think about Grace?
I mean, she is literally one of the main characters in this game.
I joked about Ryan saying that she was annoying because you just get to listen to her panic breathe for several hours in the game.
But, you know, I know this is a question a lot of people had is who is this new character?
How does she fit into the game?
What are your thoughts on this?
So, Ace, let me, as the senior resident evil member, what did you think about Grace?
I liked Grace.
I did call her Ashley like three times accidentally.
Yeah, yeah.
Understandable.
She's a frightened blonde woman in a Resident Evil franchise, which made me call her Ashley.
But I think Grace is a very, like, grounded character.
It's interesting to throw someone who's basically like a normal person into the Resident Evil franchise where most of the characters we have now are like grizzled veterans who've dealt with zombie apocalypse after zombie apocalypse.
And then you just have this poor FBI desk jockey thrown into the worst situation possible where she wakes up,
wrapped upside down on a gurney that's taking her blood.
Yeah, kidnapped by the world's ugliest man.
In a snake skin jacket.
Yeah.
I did like that jacket, by the way.
Honestly, that was a pretty sick jacket.
It's pretty sick jacket.
I couldn't pull that off, but that jacket in real life would be like a $4,000 jacket also.
Them textures, though.
Victor's doing all right for himself out there.
What about you, Ryan?
I mean, you know, you did make the comment that she was a little annoyed.
with the breathing and stuff,
but like as a character in this game,
what did you think?
I thought that she was far more brave
than I ever would have been
going into this world.
The second I started walking into that alley
to go to where, you know,
I mean, I don't know, this is like pretty early
so like where your mom is.
This is the very beginning.
Yeah, this very beginning.
So you're going to this hotel.
The second I like walked around in there,
I would have been like, nope.
Yeah.
I see the picture with the key,
me, me and the game.
this room, I'm like, no, I'm, yeah, I'm out.
And I would just leave. And you know what?
The number one villain, we were talking about villains, the number one villain is the FBI
director that's center there. Like, are you kidding me?
Oh.
Like really? Especially with her history.
With her history and the building and the place, he's like, hey, I just want you to go
check it out. Like, go take a peek around. It's like, come on, man.
No, I think she was, um, I think she, which was really neat to see throughout the game and
we'll go over it all, but like to see how she grew and then how, how,
kind of how afraid she was of where she was at,
but she pushed through.
So I thought there was a lot of growth to her character within the game.
Her,
her kind of section is a lot more of like psychological, like sneak and hide horror stuff,
um,
but,
uh,
which I,
which I prefer kind of the more action base,
but,
but it was really neat to see her character develop and,
and grow into something a little bit different than what she started out as.
But overall, like, I think she was a super solid addition to, like, the Resident Evil kind of world.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's kind of a cool detail, and this is not giving away too much.
But when you start off with Grace, you know, you get the handgun.
She's very shaky with it.
When she fires it, it's got quite a bit of recoil.
And the longer you go in the game, she gets way better at handling the gun.
And the animation show that.
Yeah.
It's such a cool detail.
The details in this game are honestly,
fantastic, dude. Like, I have to, the amount of effort that they put into some of these minor details, like when she fires like Requiem for instance.
Oh, the Requiem.
Yeah. And it's like those little things make a huge difference, especially in such an atmospheric game like this.
I'm with you, Ace, on Grace. I, you know, I think that she is your kind of everyday person that is thrust into a very, very unnatural situation.
and I really like that
because for me,
you know,
a lot of the characters
in the Resident Evil universe
are almost,
they're not superheroes,
but they're almost superhero-e
in a lot of ways
with how they're like,
totally fine with dealing with this massive dude
whose head just split open
and a monster pops out
and it's like,
oh,
this is just another day at the office for me.
And I'm like,
his freaking head exploded.
Yeah.
Like, how are you so calm about this, man?
That's where Leon Kennedy gives in the,
I bet he has a headache.
Yeah,
They check in, they don't check you out.
You know, something's done like that.
And so to have this person, this timid, you know, this timid lady, Grace, who likes being an FBI agent, but then thrown into this like horrific situation and how she handles that made the game very relatable to me and made her relatable as a character.
And I, you know, I've seen some people talk about, well, you know, the first part of the game is just her panic breathing and stuff.
and it's like, but that's what you'd be doing.
You know what I mean?
Like, that's what you'd be doing.
If a monster came down from the ceiling and looked like that and you were in a room with it,
that's what I'd be doing.
That's for darn sure.
Yeah.
So I want to let's move to the gray sections versus the Leon sections because Ryan,
you just said something where you said, I like the action sections more.
And this was the big kind of, I want to say angle that they took with Requiem.
Right?
Is, you know, in the Resident Evil franchise, we have had entries over the years where it is this atmospheric horror where it's, you know, it's gritty and you're creeping around and you're not really facing a lot of things.
And if you do shoot something, you have very, very limited ammo.
So it's this almost like survival horror type game.
And then you have entries in the genre where it is basically like an action game.
And you've got, you know, big guns and rocket launchers and you're taking on things and you're just bluepil.
blowing things up and you're trying not to die.
Resident Evil 4 kind of being an example of that with lots of gunplay.
You know, Resident Evil 1 probably being like a really good example of like the kind of survival
horror type aspect of this.
And Requiem comes out and says, hey, we're going to do both.
And not only are we going to do both, but we're going to do them in the different perspectives.
So when you play Grace, you're going to be in first person perspective.
And when you play Leon, you're going to be in third person perspective.
And I think this is the question that a lot of people have is, does that work?
You know?
And so how did you guys like the switching back and forth between the two characters and what was your preference on that?
And Ryan, we'll start with you since I threw it to Ace first last time.
You got to wait your turn, Ace.
I was sorry.
I was so geeked out to talk about this game.
I was like, oh, that's good.
No, no, it is, and I know why Ace is so excited to talk about this and he's tromping at the bit.
Like, there is something to that just everyday person, like in this crazy world,
in this panic where you don't have, you don't have that ability to fight back.
You have to hide.
You have to distract.
You have to do everything you can to just survive.
It's just survival in that first half of the game where you're just playing as grace.
And it's something to me that struck a chord between.
the normal kind of games were explosions and bigs and bangs and stuff and it's that that super
psychological horror of of again like I said just survive so I loved it I loved playing as grace
I did absolutely I do prefer the more action based I want to kill stuff I want to go and you know
me smash you know Ryan kill zombies but but playing as grace does give a different um respect to the
world. Like you, you have to respect your environment, the sounds you make, what you do, and every
choice that you, you know, decide on throughout that kind of section of the game, which,
which I absolutely loved. Yeah. You get kind of tonal whiplash when you jump between Grace and Leon.
Yeah. And if you use the default settings, you don't have to play it in all first person or all
third person. You can kind of swap it up. Yeah, you can switch Grace a third if you want.
Yeah, but the default is Grace in first, Leon and third, and I think that's the way you should play it, because Grace's sections are so well acclimated to that first person perspective.
It puts you in these absolutely terrifying situations that you would not be scared of if you could see all around you.
Being in that forced perspective of what you would be experiencing totally changes things.
Like if I'm creeping around in that basement trying to find all those power switches and down from the ceiling comes a moment.
monster and I'm in third person and I see
them behind me like oh okay I just go over here
but if I'm in first person
and I turn around and there she
is completely
different experience and then you jump into
Leon that third person perspective
serves his action oriented gameplay
so much better because he's
able to see his entire surroundings he's able to pull off
nasty parries with that freaking axe
which is with the gray stuff too is like with the audio
they did such a good job for grace
the audio is so so so
stinking good to where you really genuinely like have tingles and fear every time you start hearing
this stuff because you can hear it a couple rooms over like you can hear it and you're like is that is
that like the room I'm going to or is it the room behind me or are they coming towards me and I don't
know because like you said I'm in first person so um yeah the combination of the audio and the stuff
uh with grace was just it was so good yeah something we haven't talked about yet though is like the
zombies in this game have personality and that's terrifying which is great
It makes it feel so much.
So much more realistic as, like, what is actually going on in the world than just these kind of, like, mindless, like, shambling zombies.
Honestly, the details in this game are incredible.
And until you play it and actually experience it, it's kind of hard to quantify, like, how much it makes a difference in that immersion.
For me, I absolutely loved that they took this style.
Like, you know, what a way to kind of throw back to all the games in the history?
history of the series. The grace parts with the stealth that you had to do and the creeping around
and feeling absolutely helpless was incredible. I mean, I played this game lights out, headphones on
every single time I played it. It was creepy. It was terrifying. This is one of the few shining
examples of triple A horror, in my opinion. You know what I mean? Which is hard to pull off and
they pulled it off incredibly. The sections with grace,
were my favorite.
Like honestly, like, it doesn't mean I didn't like playing with Leon,
but the gray sections were the ones where I was like,
I'm going to die.
I'm going to die.
You know what I mean?
Like something is going to scare me.
Like something is going to jump out at me.
And of course,
you know,
there are some jump scares.
But there are so many creepy freaking sections when you were playing as grace
that it was just like that was where I was just at,
like this game was at its peak for me.
I like to leave.
on sections, I think that that, Ace, you said it like really well, that tonal whiplash, right?
Like, just as I was starting to get maybe a little tired of like creeping around everywhere,
then it goes to Leon. And I'm like, oh, now I get to just rip through people and I'm not,
I don't have to worry about ammo so much. And I'm, oh, they're giving me this gun.
Boom.
You know, yeah, exactly. And that kind of stuff. And so to that difference was incredible,
because it makes it feel fresh
when it just barely, barely started
to feel routine a little bit
and then all of a sudden
now you're playing a different section,
you play as Leon for a little while,
and then you go back to Grace,
and then you go back to Leon,
and then it was like, okay,
this switching back and forth is awesome.
If you ask me which one I prefer,
I prefer the gray sections,
but I think it was masterful
that they actually approach this game
by going, we're going to do both,
you know, and let you kind of feel the difference.
And then it's very cool
that you get to see the story
from both of their perspectives because they do overlap.
You know, you have moments in the game where they're like,
hey, we're both in the same area and we're doing this
and you're seeing this game from this person's perspective versus the others.
Like when he watches the helicopter and you're like, oh, okay.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
Like, what the heck's going on down there?
And then, like, when you're playing his grace and there's the helicopter part,
you're like, do you know what I had to do to get in this thing?
I'm like, what I had to go through.
And then Leon just sees the helicopter.
He's like, well, I guess I should go check that out, you know?
It really does add a lot of depth to the story and the gameplay.
Can you play Leon as first person?
You can, yes.
I never even attempted it to you.
I didn't try it either.
I used the default settings.
I wanted to play it how the developer is intended.
I put Grace's third and then I was like, oh, this looks weird.
And I put it back to first.
Yeah.
So, all right, we got to take a quick break.
And then we'll get into some of the stories, some of the bosses.
And then some of the spoilers a little bit later.
We'll be right back.
One plus one equals more of the greatest stories.
Hulu on Disney Plus.
Stories about survivors.
The most dangerous planet.
Family.
Retribution.
Murder.
Prophecy.
Beer and propane.
The ultimate soldier.
Chicago, all right.
The best of the best stories now with even more from Hulu.
Amazing.
Have it all with Bulu on Disney Plus.
All right.
We're back.
Talking Resident Evil Records.
I mean, guys, this game, this game is super well done, man.
Yes, it is.
Super well done.
Let's talk about the story a little bit.
I don't want to get into major spoilers, but this is kind of a continuation as you're playing as Grace, you're playing as Leon.
I'll be honest with you guys, Resident Evil for me gets a little weird.
Yep.
Resident Evil 4 and Village were the last two.
that I played.
Okay.
And, you know, there's,
it just gets weird, man.
As somebody that's not an ultra fan of the series,
you know,
there's Las Plagis in Resident Evil 4.
Then you have the weird
myco something infection or weird,
what is it, fungus or something?
It's a mushroom.
It's a mold.
Yeah, the mold.
A mold.
So it's like you've got mold,
you've got Las Plagis,
you've got Elpice and whatever the heck's going on
and freaking,
Requiem and I think I like none of this stuff makes any sense to me man.
Is this supposed to make sense?
Is this a continuing story?
Why is there so many different things that turn people into zombies and hideous monsters?
Like I just thought it was all the same thing, man.
Well, it's kind of explained, but you know.
Is it?
Yeah.
Like explain it.
Like legitimately like I'm actually wanting to know because one time we have a fungus or a spore
than another time we have a manmade thing that like corrupts people.
and then we've got now this thing in freaking Requiem that it's like,
what is this?
I know that they're saying what they're going for,
but I don't know what the heck it is.
And yes, I beat the game.
So at the end, I kind of go,
okay, well, that makes sense to me.
But like, what started it?
Well, that would be an R.
Why is it not fungus one time,
but it's fungus another time?
Well, in R.E.1, we learn about the T-virus
and how Umbrella has kind of gotten involved in this bioweapon program,
and it got out and infected not.
not only the Spencer mansion, but the entirety of Raccoon City because a sample made its way in Raccoon City and got broken open.
And it was a disaster there.
Then, you know, Leon and Claire clear out as much of that as they can before they bomb that city into the ground to try to get rid of the infection.
But of course, lovely Adel, yeah, lovely Adel Wong happened to steal a sample and take off with it.
So that was great.
Then in Resident Evil 4, we find out that the parasites were deep underground in the amber.
and they dug them out of the amber and they took over their minds and they just started implanting them and everyone.
And then Ada took a sample of that and I don't know what she ended up doing with that, but it ended up somewhere with Las Plagus.
She can do whatever the heck she wants, sis.
And then the mold came from Evelyn, who was like an experiment from the, what are they called?
The connections, which was basically a new umbrella.
So we've got T-virus, we've got parasites, and we've got mold.
mold. Yeah. It's that easy.
You've got viruses, parasites, and mold.
All these things are bio-wess.
I love that we got a Resident Evil historian here. They're bio-wetons.
I know this is really, I'm so glad.
Is there anything else, Ace, mold, parasites, T-virus?
I'm sure there's other. I'm sure there's other viruses and bacteria.
Any alien possessions?
Anything like that going on?
You know, maybe. Who knows? Who could say?
Resident Evil 10, dude. That's pharmaceuticals, man.
Yeah. Yeah.
Pfizer's cooking something else.
Don't worry.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah, absolutely.
You know, we'll see a commercial for it pretty soon, you know.
So, okay, well, that helps clarify things.
T-virus, parasites, mold.
Well, in this one, the T-virus is what you're dealing with again.
So return to the roots of this.
You know, I, again, I'm not an ultra fan of the series.
I do really, really enjoy these games, but the story gets a little weird.
When is the last, is it four?
Is that the last time we, no, four is Ethan?
No, wait, is it nothing?
No, four is Leon.
But it's not Leon's last...
This is also where they get me.
Dude, they keep changing the protagonists.
They keep changing the villains.
What are we doing, people?
There's nine games.
What do you want him to do?
Four is Leon, but the last time we saw Leon was six.
Okay, but you said don't play six.
So Leon got dist in six.
Six is bad.
That's all I will say.
Yeah, okay.
So Leon gets distanced in six.
But Leon is the original.
Leon is Resident Evil one.
No.
Oh, no.
He's like, well, now, wait a minute now.
Who left this guy on air?
Was he not the cop in one?
No, he's the cop in two.
In Resident Evil one, it's Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine.
Yeah, they're the two protagonists.
Totally.
Now that rings a bell.
No, it doesn't shut up.
You're such a liar.
They're part of the.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
When the expert has to go,
like, wait a minute now.
Leon started in Resident Evil 2.
That's why I said people should play
remake 2 before they played this game.
Because it all connects back to that game.
It really does, too, once you get back to...
Oh, yes, it does, once you make it back to RPD.
Yeah, RPD, yeah. Yep.
Yeah.
All right, totally clear as mud, ace.
Clear as mud.
Clear as mud, understood.
With these characters and the story and stuff like that.
I'll find a YouTube video.
It'll probably be like six hours long.
I was going to say, the last time you sent me an easy to digest Lord video, I'm pretty sure it was a four-hour Eldon ring.
Josh, you haven't been sleeping just A-Cinnema?
Yeah, there you go.
Just put it on before bed and you'll fall asleep.
Yeah, the bad part is I watched like an hour of that video that A-set me, and I still had zero clue.
I had no clue by the end of it.
I'm like, guys, this just doesn't make any sense to me at all.
Oh, that's funny.
All right, well, listen, all you need to know is that this is a throwback to the roots of the series.
There are some really cool moments that actually do harken back to Leon's origin in this series that are very cool to experience.
Let's just do this.
Before we get to the spoiler part, okay, because that's coming up here rapidly, I want to rate the game because anybody that's listened this long that maybe doesn't want major spoilers but was like, okay, I'm okay with like, you know, easy spoilers.
Let's just talk about this game as a whole
And then we'll spend a few minutes talking spoilers
And kind of getting a little bit deeper into the story
Ace
Yeah, as our biggest fan of this series
And the expert on this one
You kind of spoiled it a little bit
But I want to guess that you really enjoyed this game
I really did enjoy this
I enjoy this even more than Resident Evil 8
Which I really liked Village
Village was really fun
And I enjoyed the heck out of it
But it just does not capture
What this game was able to capture
which is having Leon back is just everything to be having a protagonist that actually matters to this franchise
swoon yeah oh gosh every time we post a picture of Leon on our discord it's just thirst
thirst down the line I'm part of it too I'm part of the problem they knew what they were doing
I'm part of the problem I can't even pretend but this is easily like a nine eight for me
my I have some small issues with it obviously the length it's a pretty short game for $70
I can't say anything that'll make that better.
And there were some parts that were frustrating, but not terrible.
Yeah.
Did you 100% this?
No.
Gosh, no.
I do not 100% Resident Evil games.
Okay.
There are some people in our Discord server that are going for the 100% on this.
And it's like, I see them talking.
Maniac.
Man.
The 100% usually requires at least doing one run without healing, one run without picking up
ammo, one run without, within like beating the game within four hours.
Like it's on the hardest difficulties.
It's like, uh, I'm good.
I'm good.
Yeah, no thank you.
I'll enjoy my life.
No, thank you.
98.
It's huge.
I told Ryan to put this on my top 10.
He did.
Is this your favorite in the entire series?
I think so, yeah.
I think this is my favorite in the entire series.
It's just, it's made for the modern audience.
It plays fantastically.
It's a wonderful tribute to the entire franchise in general.
and if this is how they go out
with a requiem, why not?
Wow. Nice. Ryan? What are your thoughts on this?
I additionally, I am nowhere near
the Resident Evil guy that ACE is. I think I may have
played a little bit more than you. It was right
in my kind of heyday, like I said, of growing up in that sweet
spot of playing the original couple. And then
four I obviously loved in the remake.
I'm going to give this a 9-2.
I absolutely love this game.
Like you said earlier,
the parts with grace,
like the second,
you kind of start to be like,
oh,
I think I got the feel of this.
Switches right off and you're Leon and you're kicking butt again.
You know,
you're running through stomping zombies heads through the wall.
And,
you know,
you're doing all the cool stuff.
So,
uh,
so,
so yeah,
I just,
dude,
I love this game.
It was so much fun.
It was beginning to end.
It was a really good time.
It was panicky.
It was it was tense.
I didn't want anyone around me.
I would highly absolutely recommend my like my wife came in and I'm playing and she's like on the phone.
I'm like, you need to leave.
Like you can't be in here.
No.
I'm not going to.
You're harshing the vibe for sure.
And she's like, what?
And I'm like, all right, you're watching the show.
I come in and I'm like, yeah.
So anyways, and I'm on the phone.
You're going to be annoyed.
So like get out of here.
like this is serious so uh yeah it's it's a it's a what i say nine two nine three something like that
it's yeah nine two yeah it's it's it's an all-timer it's far and away my favorite uh resident
evil game um it was it was just that good dude it was it was so good yeah i this is funny
because my rating is a nine one um so we are all Ryan and I are right right there ace is a little
bit higher, but there is, there is very little to dislike about this game. And dude, here's the thing
with Resident Evil, man. You know, I, you know, Ace, I joked about your, your hype level going into
this. And it's, it's weird because I told you guys, I'm not super excited for this, man.
And I had, and I, and I knew that there was something wrong with that because I'm like, guys, I'm just not,
like, I know it's going to be good, but I'm just not excited for some reason, man. And then,
dude 40 minutes into this game dude 40 minutes in i'm like i am in these games are masterful dude
they're masterfully done like like every aspect of the presentation of these games is top
freaking notch dude from the voice acting to the the characters to the audio to the visuals
to the way that they present this crazy freaking world with all these different parasites and
and spores and fungus and T-virus and all this stuff.
This is just T-virus, bro.
I know, I know, I'm just saying.
The way that they always present this stuff is top-freaking notch, dude.
And then you get into, you know, the sections with grace,
and I'm just freaking viving with this so much.
And I'm like, guys, this is how you do AAA horror.
Like, legitimately, this is how you do it.
And it's not the scariest game I've ever played,
but it's one of the best, like,
just presented all around games that has really fun gameplay.
And then even the little dumb things, dude, that are just so nostalgic.
Like when you have to find a little item, you know, you get the wheel.
And then it does the little motion with the wheel and then it slowly spins around.
That's so Resident Evil.
Same with the keys.
Yeah.
Yes, exactly.
And I love that stuff.
I love the little bit of puzzles that they incorporate in this.
Like everything about this is top notch.
I have a couple complaints with the story, but I can't talk about those.
until we get into the spoiler section.
I want to give to that.
There's our ratings.
9-1 from me.
I'm with, you know,
the other thing is a lot of people say,
hey,
this game's like 12 to 14 hours long,
real-time play.
The game only tells you
your actual gameplay,
not cutscenes,
and there's a lot of cutscenes.
They're great cutscenes.
Don't skip them.
But like, you know,
the actual gameplay time shows in-game
and it was like nine hours exactly for me.
Whereas, like,
then I looked at my play time
and it was like,
oh, wait,
I actually played this for 14 hours.
So I don't know how they're basing that, but it is a $70 game and it's fairly short.
So that's one thing for me that takes off a little bit.
And then I have some gripes with the story.
But I mean, overall, I mean, this is this is a must play game, man.
Like for people, if you love the series, I think you get a lot more out of it like Ace does.
But for somebody like Ryan and myself who have played a few Resident Evil games, we know that they're good, but we're not like super fans.
you can still enjoy the absolute heck out of this game.
So pick it up, play it, enjoy it.
It's worth the money.
It's worth your time.
There you go.
And if you want to hear why there's a couple little issues that I have with the story.
This is the time where we're going to talk about it.
We're going to get into major spoilers, people.
Okay, for the next few minutes.
There's your warning.
Major story spoilers coming.
and it's only going to be a few minutes because we've got to wrap this up.
But there you go.
You have been warned.
And I'm going to say it one more time because sometimes we had somebody say, man, I tuned out for a second and then you guys were spoiling stuff.
Major stories, spoilers.
This is it.
Final warning.
That's it.
There you go.
Okay.
Guys, my biggest complaint with the story in this game.
And the story's good.
Don't get me wrong.
But my major complaint is you spent the first half of this game playing his grace and creeping around this.
freaking creepy hospital.
You've been kidnapped by this guy, Victor Gideon.
Mm-hmm.
And then all of a sudden they say like, hey, come with us.
And you're like, okay?
She just goes, okay, I'm going to come with you guys.
Like, what that?
Make that make sense to me, man.
She's been convinced at this point she's possibly a clone of something dangerous or weird,
and she wants to get to the bottom of it.
She's the key.
I don't care.
She's been convinced that she's something.
odd. No, the whole time, I would have noped out of some window, even if those bars, I would have
figured out a way to get out of there. And the whole time she's like, I'm going to explore more.
I'm going to look around. I'm going to bring this little blind girl with me to read the braille.
Yeah. Yeah. Like I, this is like, look, it's a good story, man. Like, it's, there's, and there's a good
payoff at the end, which I really, really enjoy. But this whole thing where you're like, Grace, all of a
sudden goes from, like, being an FBI agent.
You know what I mean to like, oh yeah, I'll come with you, Mr. Hidious looking villain bad guy.
You know, like all of a sudden, I'm just going to willingly come with you.
Like Zeno doesn't, it doesn't look as bad as Victor.
All right.
And she had no idea.
Well, yeah, but Victor's chilling there.
And then he just like hits his little remote and opens the garage.
And then Zeno's just like waiting outside.
He probably was like, all right, wait until she comes up.
And then open it when she comes up and then I'll be standing here.
Like they had to plan it for sure.
It just, it's so.
I Josh the same way I'm like
Why is she going? She just spent
eight hours, nine hours trying to get away from him
And now she's just going to roll with him like okay
You know? Yeah
She couldn't have gotten away from Zeno anyway
Rip Emily by the way
Yeah apparently Zeno's superhuman I didn't know that
Yeah he's a he's a clone of Albert Westker
From what I'm seeing
Okay see that's funny because I do remember Albert
Wesker but then I'm like who's this dude
But this dude's superhuman because Leon ain't touching this guy
No you know
All right guys real let's just
Let's just spoil the ending of this game for people because honestly this was a really cool payoff.
This was an awesome payoff. I actually really appreciated this.
I'm going to let you run with the little bit of the story spoiler on this and what choice.
I think we all probably made the same choice, but I want to know what choice you guys.
Sounds like Ryan made the wrong choice first.
We got both endings, yeah.
Well, you're not playing the game right if you don't get to the experience both.
I don't want to see him shot in the face, Ryan.
Thank you.
You don't see it, don't worry.
Well, okay.
The whole time, they've kidnapped Grace because they believe she is the key to unlocking this thing called Elpice, which was one of the last creations of the original T-Virus creator, Osmond Spencer, who was, you know, the owner of Spencer's mansion, R.E.1, guy who did all this terrible stuff in charge of Umbrella Corporation.
Like, obviously pretty bad dude.
He kind of claims himself as God throughout the games.
right yeah yeah like he he is not remorseful at all you get as grace you get to see a video of him getting interviewed by grace's mother that we saw in the beginning in the game where he is incredibly remorseful for what he has done to humanity and what he did by opening up the bio weapon vault upon the world and he mentions adopting grace as his sort of requiem his apology to the world by name of the name of the
Yeah.
His apology to the world, his hope.
And that from that, people believed that grace was something special because why would this evil man care so much about a random girl?
Grace gets obviously adopted by her mother and carries that forward.
They get the documents and things like that.
And grace gets the option to either destroy Elpice or release Elpice.
If you're paying attention, uh, you will understand that Elpice is a good thing.
and if you type hope into the computer,
it releases Elpice,
and it's an antiviral that will cure anyone
who's been affected by the T-virus
and its aftermath effects
from being infected known as Raccoon City Syndrome.
That's how you save everything.
Which Leon is about to die from.
Literally dying.
Yeah.
So the timing on that was pretty crazy.
Three awesome shots, by the way,
from him walking like up that orange corridor.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, dude.
I felt for Leon so much.
I was like, no, buddy, come on.
You can do it.
Press through.
The blacks just like crawling up his face.
Did you see it start creeping up more and more of his face?
Yeah.
And both Leon and Zeno are both being affected by this stuff.
Yeah.
Because anyone who's ever had the T virus and been cured of it, this is a side effect, basically.
It's a comeback.
It's terrible.
That's why when he took it, then he's like, all of his powers.
All his powers were gone.
Yeah.
That's why it was so easy for Victor getting.
to just lop his hell.
Does that mean that Leon has powers?
Because Leon seems like a normal guy.
Leon doesn't have the Oroboros, which was a thing that,
dang it.
Albert Wesker had that made him super speedy and super soldiery.
See, this is this game.
I almost feel like this is like Hideo Kajima type stuff.
There's so much.
It's not that complicated, but there's a lot of side games and a lot of information.
Yeah.
So Ryan, did you pick the bad ending by accident?
Because like the choice is like destroy Elpice, release Elpis.
And sometimes you go like, wait, if I release it is that bad?
And then like, I've sat there like questioning the thing for a little while.
And I was like, wait, I think I'm supposed to release it because we want Elpice now.
Well, like I was like crossing my fingers.
I'm like, this is the right choice.
I was going through and I figured that was probably what you should do.
But I was like, let's destroy it.
you know, let's see what we got going on here.
And of course, you know,
that goes real bad.
It goes real bad.
You know, it comes out and he's like, what did you do?
What did you do?
And then he kills, he kills Leon.
And then he was able to save you.
Grace gets up, yeah, at least I can save you.
And then they all crumble down.
Boom, roll credits.
End of the game.
But then it gives you the option to rerun it.
And I'm like, sweet.
All right, now I can try the real one.
And it goes up.
And then I got the real one and you get to do another boss fight,
which is cool.
you know at the end of that um but yeah man uh the end of this game is is just it's wild you go into
this super high tech facility and you're fighting all these new monsters you haven't seen before and this
is why and this is what i wanted i was kind of wanted to talk about earlier too is that um as amazing as
as indy has been for us and indy last year was the year of the indie and we had exposition 33 and all these other
amazing games and I'm sure we have we will have more this year as well.
This is what a AAA game is for.
Like the attention of detail, the amazing story, the amazing gameplay, the, the, the things
you can do, the depth of the game, this is why, you know, not that I want to, but this
is why games cost $70 is because this game was worth $70 to me, man.
It was, it was a, it was a really good game.
It had a multiple.
It's got, I've only scratched the surface.
I'm probably not going to play any more of it.
But, but I could probably get another 20 hours, 30 hours easily out of replays and trying
to get stuff if I want 100%.
It was just, yeah, it was, it was astronomical.
Two DLCs incoming.
Oh, really?
Oh, wow.
That's kind of the thing, too, is there's a lot of, like, hidden items and secrets and stuff.
Like, so the, the crazy, like, sister lady that you wind up cutting her hand off with,
the elevator.
Like, you can take the hand.
You can take the hand.
And then I'm running for my life,
but you can actually take it to the blood analyzer
and then analyze the blood for that creature,
which then opens up things.
I didn't know that.
There's tons of stuff that you can miss in this game.
A massive puzzle around that,
that people just solved.
It was insane.
Really?
Did anyone else think Grace lost her foot?
Oh, 100%.
When that elevator,
yeah, absolutely.
She's like clippering and crying.
She always loses a limb in these games,
dude.
I was like,
Ethan when he gets his hand cut off.
Poor, poor Ethan winners.
Yeah, immediately I was like, how am I going to run away?
How am we going to run away?
And then you see the arm and I was like, oh, God, thank God.
Oh, thank goodness.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So these games do have replayability.
I'm with you, Ryan.
I beat it.
I'm very content with my playthrough.
I won't play it again or anything like that.
But, you know, there you go, people.
That is, I mean, that's Resident Evil Requiem.
This is a must play game in my opinion.
I enjoy.
I'm with Ryan. I enjoyed every minute of this game.
It never felt old or like it was lagging or there was something that wasn't just polished to the core.
What did you think of the dirt bikes?
I thought it was sick.
I thought it was so sick.
It was sick.
It felt a teeny bit cheesy at the same time.
That's resurrection.
That's why I loved it.
The fact that you can like jump off the top of a fallen skyscraper and just fall like 300 yards to the ground and then just keep going.
It's like, okay, well, this is a little crazy.
I love Leon Kennedy so much.
Should have worn a helmet.
I love those slight like gameplay distractions almost where it's like this shouldn't be in this game, but they put it in anyway because it's just such a fun little thing to have thrown in there.
You know, yeah.
So that part was great.
I love seeing Mr. X again too.
That was cool.
Yeah.
So many good parts of this game.
So many it is, it's just like I said, it's creepy.
It's atmospheric.
It's memorable.
I really, really enjoyed my time with this one.
And this just gets me even more excited for Resident Evil 10.
This series is going in the right direction, man.
So whatever happened with five and then six, they figured out.
Oh, from seven on, we've been good.
I don't know that I've seen a series turn things around like Resident Evil has, dude,
because 7, 8, and 9 are absolute bangers, dude.
So it gets me very excited for what's to come.
I do want to know, Ace, was you, do you like playing Grace more or Leon?
Like, what section did you like more?
It's kind of hard for me to choose between the two
Because I've been playing a lot of you know
Third person ones with Leon and Jill and all those
So I've been very acclimated to that
And I haven't played a Ethan Winners game in a while
So I'm gonna have to say Leon I think
Because also all the parries you could pull off with Leon
In the different ways were just so cool
My favorite one
My favorite one is when you would like
Stun a zombie by shooting it in the legs
Because you know
That's what I was doing with shooting zombies in the legs
And he just crush his head against
the wall with your heel.
Yep.
Tap them and then, boom.
Yeah.
And then if you,
there was another pair
you could pull off just real quick
where if you pulled your gun
at the moment that you were about to be attacked,
you would pull a gun parry instead
and shoot them in the face.
Oh, I did that once.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I did it with the shotgun.
It's like an animation cancel,
but it's so sick.
You could do it with any weapon.
Yeah, I did it with the shotgun
and I just blew his head off.
I didn't know with the Requiem.
I didn't with the Requiem on a liquor.
On a liquor.
Yeah.
It was like,
wham.
Oh, man.
I didn't even know you could do that.
Yeah, it's really cool.
Yeah.
Well, all right, people, there you go.
That is our thoughts on Resident Evil Requiem.
Pick this game up, play this game.
You will not regret it.
It is worth the $70 price tag,
so you can feel comfortable in knowing that your money is well spent on that one as well.
So that's going to do it for this episode to everybody.
Remember to follow the show.
If you haven't clicked that follow button or that plus button,
make sure you do that so you get all our episode.
the day that they release.
If you haven't left us a review, leave us a review on Apple.
Write us a review, and there's a good chance we'll read it on the show.
If you listen on Spotify, you can rate us five stars.
If your podcast app has another way of rating us, just make sure you do that.
It helps other gamers find this podcast, and that way they can know that it doesn't suck.
So come join our community.
There's a link in the episode description to join our Discord.
We're over 1,300 gamers.
Actually, we're on our way to 1,400 at this point, boys.
Oh, it's growing, man.
There's been a lot of people that have been joining.
It's an awesome community.
So come be a part of that.
We are active there every single day, honestly, and throughout the day.
And it is a very active community as well.
So it's not like a ghost town where you're like, okay, well, nobody's talking.
Why would I join this place?
So right now there's people playing hell divers too, which I love seeing.
So it's like making a resurgence as well.
So that's going to do it for this episode.
Everybody, thanks for joining us.
Until next time.
Happy gaming.
And that's my cardio for the week.
Peace out.
Getting ready for a game means being ready for anything.
Like packing a spare stick.
I like to be prepared.
That's why I remember, 988, Canada's suicide crisis helpline.
It's good to know, just in case.
Anyone can call or text for free confidential support from a train responder anytime.
988 suicide crisis helpline is funded by the government in Canada.
Thank you.
