Waveform: The MKBHD Podcast - The Apple Release Tier List
Episode Date: March 13, 2026A lot happened this week! First, the crew falls down a rabbit hole discussing the Subaru UI and volume knobs before jumping right into all of the new Apple devices that were released. Then they talk a...bout the Honor robot phone, Ray-Ban Meta privacy issues, and Google's 30% Play Store tax. They wrap it up by explaining the Bam Adebayo record breaking performance in tech terms. Shop the merch: https://shop.mkbhd.com Links: Verge - M5 MacBook Pro review Verge - Honor phone hands-on SVD - Meta x Raybans privacy article Verge - Tim Sweeney article The Studio - MKBHD Knockoff desk video MKBHD - MacBook Neo Music provided by: Epidemic Sound This episode brought to you by: This episode brought to you by: Framer: https://www.framer.com/wave Shopify: https://www.shopify.com/waveform Social: Waveform Threads: https://www.threads.net/@waveformpodcast Waveform Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/waveformpodcast/?hl=en Waveform TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@waveformpodcast Hosts: Marques: https://www.threads.net/@mkbhd Andrew: https://www.threads.net/@andrew_manganelli David: https://www.threads.net/@davidimel Adam: https://www.threads.net/@parmesanpapi17 Ellis: https://twitter.com/EllisRovin Join the Discord: https://discord.gg/mkbhd Intro/Outro music by 20syl: https://bit.ly/2S53xlC Waveform is part of the Vox Media Podcast Network. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Support for today's show comes from Atio, the AI CRM for modern teams.
The best tools don't force you to adapt to them.
They actually adapt to you, and that's the idea behind Atio.
Then ask Atio anything.
Ask Atio to prepare you for your next meeting or draft a follow-up email or find your hottest prospects.
Just ask, and Atio does the work for you.
If you want a CRM that scales with your business from day one, check out Atio.
You can go to atio.com slash waveform and you'll get 15% off your first year.
So that's A-T-T-I-O.com slash waveform.
At Desjardin, we speak business.
We speak equipment modernization.
We're fluent in data digitization and expansion into foreign markets.
And we can talk all day about streamlining manufacturing processes.
Because at Desjardin business, we speak the same language you do.
Business.
So join the more than 400,000 Canadian entrepreneurs who already count on us.
And contact Desjardin today.
We'd love to talk.
Business.
Hold on, I'm pulling up the Heat Wizards box score so I can be.
Heat Wizards?
Don't worry about it.
That's exactly where you need to.
It's the new Formula One team.
That's where you need to be.
Is this wow?
Yeah.
I'm a heat wizard and wow.
Yeah, what is up?
People of the Internet.
Welcome back to another episode of the Waveform podcast.
We're your host.
I'm Marquez.
I'm Andrew.
I'm David.
In this episode, we've got, let's see, fast food chains using AI.
Cool.
We've got a robot phone that maybe exists, but maybe not.
Cool.
We've got Rayban meta glasses
if you're using them,
then maybe you shouldn't.
Cool.
And Google is changing
their 30% tax.
Cool.
Pretty cool.
What?
Oh, and basketball stuff.
Google had a 30% tax
on, like, developers?
Yeah, same as Apple.
It was the same as Apple?
Why was everyone so mad at Apple?
We've got mad at 45 stories.
I know that.
The whole thing was that everyone was like,
no, Google's one is cheaper and fine,
but Apple's is a problem.
No, no, no, no.
Google Apple both got sued for the same thing.
and Google lost an Apple one.
I thought Google sued what?
Speaking as a...
Apple lost some parts of it, but Google lost more.
Yeah.
Yeah.
They don't have the same reputation.
That is, that is facts.
Yeah.
Well, that's because Google had a chain of emails saying how...
Anyway, continue.
Make sure you delete these.
And then some basketball stuff at the end.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Cool.
All right, but first, did they even test this?
Okay.
I have a really quick, really stupid.
one. But it drives me
insane every day. It drives me
insane every day. Sorry.
No, I mean, it's your thing.
My Forrester, the
volume U.I
is horrible. It's the worst thing
ever. I'll be really fast on this.
Go on, because a lot of cars have
surprisingly bad volume U.I.
You change the volume. It takes up the entire
screen. No matter what's on the screen.
Google Maps? Have you ever
been needing to take a turn so
you turn the volume down just to make sure it's easier to
turn. I don't know why that makes sense.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
You see better.
For sure.
Well, if you do that too close to your turn on my car, I've lost Google Maps now for like five seconds.
It's a photo.
Oh my gosh.
It's a full screen takeover.
It's a full screen takeover.
It is like kind of transparent for probably a couple seconds.
You're like liquid glass?
It's not like liquid glass.
This is me changing the volume on my.
That is crazy.
Andrew, Andrew, Andrew, Andrew.
tell you why you're wrong, okay? Because it's a volume knob, right? Oh, that's the next part of
my problem. When your hand is on the knob, you can't see the knob. So how do you know what
volume, the volume set at? So you need it full screen. Yeah, you do. That's what I'm saying.
Everyone else, your hand is covering it. On the screen, it should be a little bar on the side
that goes up and down with a number next to it and not take up the entire screen because
I need the volume quiet when I'm making my turn. Yeah. And now I've lost.
being able to see that. The other problem is it's a full circle. Wait, wait, real quick. Brits,
stop commenting right now.
No, keep commenting. This is all for engagement. Subscribe. The circle, it's a full circle.
The number it goes to is 38. No. Why? 38? Okay, that's actually worse. That is actually
worse. Part of me is like, that's not that bad because you never go max volume, right? But that means
the direct middle of the circle is at 19.
which is infuriated.
Okay, I thought you're...
When I heard that it was the volume in your car,
I was like, whatever,
a lot of cars have weird volume.
I think the one I showed,
I forgot what car it was,
where you do a gesture in front of the screen,
you twist your finger like this,
and it turns your volume up.
I thought that was going to be
the dumbest one I've ever seen,
but this is worse.
This is actually worse.
That's crazy.
So, yeah, so constantly, 19,
I'm like, no, I need to go to 20,
and now it's like one tick over
the perfect half circle,
which then I have to stare out for five seconds
why I miss my turn.
Dude, that's a deal breaker.
Honestly, in a car, that's a deal breaker.
I think if the Fisker had that, I'd be like,
that's a little much.
Imagine, like,
doing the whole thing with the,
like, salesperson at the Subaru dealership
and be like, man, this car is good price.
Drive's great, four-wheel drive,
everything's smooth ride, everything is great.
Let me just check how the sounds
and you spin it, you're like, oh, my God,
and just walk out the door and leave it behind.
No, I remember when I was a kid
and I would be playing music
in the car, my mom would turn the music down
because she would get stressed about what exit to take
and I'd be like, Mom, why are you doing that? And no, I totally
do that all the time. But it would be so much
worse if you're trying to figure out what exit to take
and the entire screen just disappear
for several seconds. Then you have to decide
between turning the volume down so you can actually
focus or being able to know
where you're supposed to go.
Can you like tap it to make you go away or something?
Every time.
That is crazy, dude.
That's the worst one yet.
That is really bad.
So crazy.
I think Adam has a quick update on his.
Yeah, quick update on the one that I said,
I don't remember when it was.
Time is live.
The WhatsApp one?
The WhatsApp one.
Oh, yeah.
So now I am on a different phone and the problem is gone.
Oh.
So it is just a pixel problem?
Yeah, I think it's just a pixel problem.
Hashtag pixel problems.
Hashtag pixel problems.
Hashtag team pixel problems.
That makes sense.
It's not developed from Google.
Get from Google.
Get from Google.
What phone are you on now with your weekly swap?
The S-26 Ultra now.
It came in.
You buy it.
Yeah, little color.
Black.
Nice.
Yeah, correct.
Also, a lot of people were telling him this was like some feature where you, because if you like lift it up to listen to a voice.
But no, you're talking about when you had your Bluetooth headphones connected.
Yeah, when I have headphones connected.
And going in your pocket.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Because proximity sensor makes sense if you're like about to take a phone call and then it switches to the earpiece, whatever.
But like I'm wearing headphones.
Yeah.
Why does the proximity sensor even turned on?
It could be like a pixel like tap to the flip to hush thing could be like going off or something.
Maybe.
I don't know.
I don't have to deal with it anymore, so someone else figure it out.
It's the best way to fix it.
Do you trade in your pixel for the S26 Ultra?
Not yet, but I'm probably going to.
How many total trade-ins do you have?
Do you think?
Lifetime.
I honestly couldn't give you a number.
Adam's basically the guy who leases a car every year.
More than every year.
It does it like every three months.
Listen, there aren't a lot of things that I splurge on, but the phone is the one.
It's fair.
Adam's been doing this for like the last seven years.
I remember Adam and I going to the Galaxy
S-20 Ultra briefing, and
we leave that briefing, he's like, I'm getting this phone.
I was like, Adam. This phone wasn't
even here, and another phone came in
that's still under embargo, and he went,
should I even open this phone?
And almost returned it.
Big returner.
Oh, boy. Okay.
According to car and driver,
at some point, Stalantis,
who does not own Subaru, did an
internal study where they determined
that 38 was the perfect
number of volume steps for a car.
Because you could still hear the difference between each step.
That is not.
But it did not feel like too few, like it was the perfect level of fine and course adjustment.
In theory, it makes sense because according to this, you get two decibel increments,
which give you about 64 decibels of dynamic range, which is what most people functionally consider silence to loud.
So that's kind of interesting.
Okay.
However, Super is not owned by Stalantis.
I don't know what that has to do with this.
I have so many rebuttals to that.
It's silly.
and I won't even while going through.
The biggest rebuttal is that the greatest audio engine of all time,
the one baked into all Apple products,
has 16 volume steps.
And no one has ever been like my iPhone
doesn't have enough granularity to the volume.
Yeah, but there's also not a number attached to it.
Like, they could just take away the number
and just show the wheel and it would be better.
That, yes.
But would you say, you're right.
No, no, no.
Or scale.
Actually, that would solve a ton of.
Why do we care about numbers?
It's a valid point.
Numbers make me mess.
No, no, no, no.
No.
Actually, that is, you know what's funny?
That's true.
A lot of cars, they will have, like, a set of numbers.
They have a set of numbers for the volume, and I'll, and a lot of people are like this.
They'll, they'll go to, like, 21 volume, and that's uncomfortable, so let's go to 20.
Or let's go to 22 or 25, or certain numbers are okay and others, even though it's the correct volume.
In my car, specifically, 14 is the perfect volume, but I hate that.
So I always go to 15 or 12, which makes me mad.
But the cars that I review that don't...
Okay, but 14 is not.
What's wrong?
Just 14 is weird.
I can't do a 14.
0s and fives are ideal.
0s and 5s are ideal.
So what's up a 12?
12 is fine.
11 is not.
It just is what it is.
Don't worry about it.
But I review cars that don't have number attached to volume and I'm so much happier because I'm not thinking about the number.
I just said it to exactly what I want.
And that's perfect.
Marcus, I'm not even going to get into this weird number bias you have.
That's not weird.
14 is a great number.
It's visible by 7.
That's it.
And two. Well, that's it.
12 is divisible advice. And 14 and 1.
Did I ever tell you when...
I was going to say, this is exactly like the headphone thing that happened last week.
Because in my head, I'm like, I could never use a device that doesn't give me a number with the volume.
Because like in the audio room, for example, it's like I know when I'm at like, I think 42 is the number I like on my...
Well, that's the answer to everything.
I know if it's at 42 and my reader is giving me like 78 or 82 decibels in the room, it's the right.
right volume. Like I can correlate all the numbers.
Because you need to match things. Yeah. But when I'm in the car,
I don't need to think about matching. I don't need to listen
to the music at the same volume that I did last week.
Oh, I do. I just think it's a sound the way
I want. That's my numbers thing. Like, there's
a right volume. Yeah.
Yeah. It's, I don't know.
And there's like YouTube volume and system volume.
I have this problem on my, I have a nebula
projector. And for some reason,
the projector has volume and
the Google, the Google TV
dongle that is part of the projector also has
separate volume.
And randomly, the system will just decide that I want to use one or the other.
Yeah.
And so sometimes it'll be maxed out.
And the projector maxes out at 25.
I don't know why it's 25.
I'm fine with 25.
Well, then half of it.
You just said even numbers are your thing.
Well, no, I guess if I'm only thinking of 25, because then the halfway mark of that is not.
Yeah.
No, that's 12.5.
That means that.
But one time I was on the Google TV thing and I had the volume maxed and it was still really quiet.
And I was super confused and I was going through everything.
and I had to change the HDMI to my Nintendo Switch 2
and then it raised the volume of the system
because you can't change the volume of the system
while you're in the Google TV volume.
That's only the Google TV volume.
Yeah.
It's the whole thing.
This is the thing with a lot of pairing your phone to your car.
A lot of them automatically max out the phones volume
so that you just adjust the car volume.
That makes sense if it did that automatically.
Yeah.
But some don't match the volume.
So I'll get in with my car volume high but phone volume low
and I'll turn the phone volume up and suddenly it's way too loud.
I have to turn the car volume down.
It's weird.
Oh, my gosh.
Yeah.
We've talked a lot about volume.
It's, you know, this is one of those things that we could probably do half an hour on at least.
Wait, wait, we have another one.
Yeah, we started arguing about something else now.
In a set of 25, the median would be 13.
But in a set of 24, the median would be 12.5.
That's not quite 13.
The median?
Is it a set of just the numbers?
Yeah, like the mean.
No, the mean is the average.
I'm talking about the number, like, dead set in the middle of 25 would be.
Well, that's if you start out.
Yeah, no, I'm talking about if you have, if you got a volume knob, right, that is 25 steps.
13 would be the one in the middle because you'd have 12 on either side.
You'd have 1 through 12.
Then you'd have 0 as well.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
0.13 would be the same.
This is what I, when I remember.
Someone tells you what's the halfway, like what's halfway between zero 25?
I brought this section into the pod to be short.
We're probably 20 minutes in.
So there's no sense.
We got to talk about Burger AI.
Yeah. We got to move on.
When I was in like third grade, we were learning halves and I had my hand up and I was like,
half of five is obviously three because of it.
it's my middle finger.
And no one could convince me otherwise.
And I just sat there like, I feel like the teacher's lying to me.
Logic checks.
Because of not doing zero.
It's the median of a set of five.
You were actually doing advanced mathematics.
Yeah.
Well, and then I stopped right there.
You got to slice your finger in half.
Oh, please don't say that.
Okay.
Okay, cool.
So, more importantly, Burger King.
I'm sure you're all dying to hear about this.
How important is this?
Let's see.
It will be very fast.
I want to get your opinions on it.
It'll be very fast.
Andrew writes six paragraphs about it.
That's what I always do.
I heard about this from a podcast called Eaters Digest,
which if you're into food or food content,
highly recommend.
So like Reader's Digest?
For old people?
This is like that, but it's a podcast for food for young people.
Oh, Marquez.
Or maybe millennials.
Definitely millennials.
Just call it Digest.
Wow.
Yeah.
They should just call it that.
That's a good point.
Remove the eaters, digested cleaner.
But, okay, so there's a new AI at Burger
King's stores and I will go over the pros and the cons of this.
There's only cons.
So you're almost right.
The pro is the AI's name is Patty,
which is really funny.
That's the only pro.
That's the only pro of this.
That's good.
The con is that it is a voice enabled chat bot that lives inside the employee's
headsets that helps them with food preparation and checking their interactions to determine
all of the employees quote friendliness.
So essentially this is piloting in 500 different Burger King.
Patty has been trained through information compiled by BK franchises and guests on how to measure the friendliness by using phrases like,
Welcome to Burger King, please and thank you.
By monitoring the headsets, Patty can Burger King managers and franchise owners can then access Patty to see how friendly their employees at their locations are being.
Sounds absolutely miserable.
That sounds like a hellscape.
These people have never watched office space.
I can't.
That's the part
novice is with Jennifer Anderson
with her all of her little pieces of
flare.
Oh, yeah. It's literally that
except worse
because they're always watching you.
Also, my favorite part of this was
they're working on it to
try and recognize tone
because I can just imagine people
saying thank you and please
extremely sarcastically and being rude
and their friendliness thing still going up.
But this just sounds like the worst
thing ever. Why are we
this makes it feel like, hey, managers and owners do less work.
And now the people who are getting paid the lowest amounts at these and make the franchises run,
we're going to monitor you 24-7.
So I hope you're not talking about anything private there because we knows where that's going to go.
This just reminds me that like my friend has a coffee shop and he got a low rating on Google Maps.
And the rating just, it was like one star.
And it was like, barista said, what do you want today?
And I felt that that wasn't friendly enough.
And I was like, are you kidding me?
She should have said, what the fuck do you want to do?
That's my thing, though, is people feel so entitled going to fast food already with, like, the workers that if someone's rude, they're probably going to leave a crappy review.
We don't need to listen to them 24-7 and have AI follow.
And every Burger King already has a 1.4 stars a game.
So who cares?
I love Burger King.
Like, I love the Whopper.
But even I can concede when I'm at a Burger King, when I'm at a Burger King, neither of us want to be either or the employee.
So I'm not expecting you to go up over beyond.
It's fine, dude.
Just be rude.
Give me my burger and we'll both go home at some point.
Like, that's cool.
You tell me to F off and just get everything right on the burger,
probably through the crappy point of sale system.
And I'm happy.
I don't care.
It sounded like you said, that's half of what it was doing.
The monitoring employees part is ridiculous.
But the first half you said it was like helping them.
You can ask it like what ingredients might need to be or like how many pieces of bacon,
which could be helpful because of how often, you know, we do,
limited time offers and stuff like that.
But it'd probably be easier just ask the employer standing next to you that knows how to do it already.
It sounds like there's a picture.
There's a there's a picture on the wall by the station.
Probably.
It'll remind you to put glue on the pizza.
This sounds like the AI that Marquez installed at all of our desks to track us.
No one knows about that.
You made a good point.
One of the big AI gaffs last year was it not knowing how to make food.
Yes.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
It was like, oh, my, my, my cheese is not sticking to the pizza.
What do I do?
And it was like, use Elmer's glue.
That's probably not, it's probably not trained on Reddit.
It's probably trained on, you know, recipes.
It's trained on Reddit.
It's not.
It's not.
I know.
There is one thing that I thought did maybe sound a little helpful, which is apparently
in the headset, you can say that you're out of an item and it should be able to update the
drive-thru menu, all the kiosks, all the point of sale system.
So that could be really helpful unless you go and ask one of your employees, hey, are we out
of bacon?
And I guess accident.
I don't know how it works.
But I could see that being like, oh, I thought.
Why do you even need AI for that?
This will happen.
It is easier.
Dude, the amount of times working at a restaurant where the kitchen hasn't told the servers
yet that like something is out and it hasn't updated the systems yet and then a bunch of
orders come in and you're out of it and then you have to go back to the table and explain
to them it's out.
So that would be kind of nice.
But other than that, this sounds awful.
Fast food workers have it hard enough.
Let them, you know, maybe chat about their lives without worrying that everything
is recorded.
Dude, that's horrible.
What if they're just super rude?
And then at the end they go, thank you, thank you.
Thank you. Thank you. Have a good day. Have a good day. Have a good day.
It's like Rocket League in my eyes.
Like the Rocket League to cut down on toxicity, they made all the quick checks, and that is still the most toxic thing possible.
When you miss a goal, it's like, nice, nice kick. What a shot. What a shot.
Great save. And it's just like ultra sarcastic. That's how this feels like.
I play the Pokemon Trading Card Game Pocket on my phone.
No, no, no. You are addicted to the Pokemon trading card card.
It's the one thing that I have, Adam. Please let me have it. Okay. I start something. I stick with it
my life. Okay. Anyway, there's like they, Nintendo really did not want people to be able to be
talking to each other. They really didn't. So you cannot, you cannot message each other in any
way. So even if you're trading somebody, you can't say like, oh, I don't want this or I want
this. Like you can label things that are start. Anyway, the whole thing, people have still
found a way by basically you battle somebody and if you beat them, sometimes they'll like
initiate a trade with you and just trade you like the most basic card ever.
and then say thanks.
And that's just like the way that people are toxic.
Toxicity always finds a way.
It's crazy.
They're like cockroaches.
Yeah, yeah.
Anyway, yeah, this is hell.
I think that the only way that a lot of employees of a lot of jobs get through the day
is by having camaraderie with their colleagues.
And just knowing that even though it's like an AI model,
just knowing that there is something that is always listening to what comes out of my mouth
while I'm at work is freaking terrifying.
And the only reason this exists is because Burger King was like, we got to get our stock up and AI is the only way to do this.
I've got to tell our investors that we're making the company better and using AI to do it.
Leveraging AI.
This is the thing they thought of.
Burger King is not the fast food place where people are mean to you.
That's Popeyes.
And frankly, I wouldn't want that to change.
I know.
They're pretty mean at the KFC Taco Bo combo near me.
Yeah.
But that's okay.
They're allowed to be.
I don't care.
I don't care.
I really don't care.
I do remember, well, yeah, the kiosks are nice, but sometimes I was going, I remember I walked in.
I don't know if it was a Burger King, so I shouldn't say it's Burger King, but I remember walking
to fast food on a late night road trip, and the employee just goes, what?
That was Burger King.
Probably, it was either of McDonald's a Burger King, and I was like, nice, nice.
Yeah.
Incredible.
All right, we are now 20-something minutes in.
Volume and Burger AI.
I don't know.
Well, I've talked about everything I know this episode.
Cool.
I think next we're going to go down the Apple new devices tier list because all of the reviews are out in it.
Well, not all the reviews.
There's a number of reviews out now.
All of the products embargoes have lifted.
Yes.
You can find reviews online everywhere.
We put a couple out.
We're still working on a couple.
But I think that we're going to go through all seven of them and we're going to rank them from best to worst.
So I had a question about that.
Yeah.
When you say rank them, because there's seven here.
Yeah.
I'll just go through the seven.
Just real quick.
iPad Air got the M4 chip.
iPhone 17E.
studio display studio display xDR m5 macbook air m5 pro and m5 max macbook pros yeah and macbook neo yeah now
when you say rank them are are we ranking them based on how good of an update they are are are
are we ranking them based on just how good they are period i would just say like excitement of the
launch yeah okay i can do that like people being stoked for this product to come out and exist
oh i can do that right now or even you being stoked for this product well that's different people
I care more about your thoughts.
I think Marquez's number one's probably
I'm going to guess the studio to play XDR.
I'm interested to hear what Marquez's on 17E.
My personal, I can do both.
I can do both my excitement.
iPad Air M-4.
And I've seen a lot of commentary online on these
so I can do both my excitement level
and the general public's excitement level for these.
Yeah, for sure.
Which you want to do first.
I like yours.
That's two things David and I didn't discuss
and said at the same time, by the way.
We're just on the same page.
You finish each other's sandwiches.
Thank you.
He finished it for me.
From top to bottom.
All right, so my personal excitement level, number one is the studio display XDR.
And it's because I am personally using the product right now that this replaces.
And that's the only thing, well, other than the MacBook Pro, that's true about this list.
I kind of like the Pro DisplayXDR.
It looks really good.
It's also only 60 hertz.
and...
No, the XDR is 120, right?
The one I'm using now, sorry, the pro display XDR.
Oh, the pro despise.
Yeah, the one I'm using now, which is discontinued, officially,
which I bought like seven, eight years, however many years ago it came out.
Yeah.
Looks really good.
The nanotexture is amazing.
It's got these thinner bezels.
I don't need a webcam or speakers in it.
It's a great display, but it's only 60 hertz.
And so this new display comes out, and it is better in every single way on paper
other than being smaller.
So it's a 5K, 27.
inch display instead of a 6K 32 inch display.
That being said,
it's better in every single way.
And it's cheaper by like 2000.
And it is cheaper.
And it comes with a stand.
So that's what I was most excited about.
And I'm thinking I'm going to be switching slash upgrading to these.
Yeah, how do you feel about the size?
That's what I'm the most wondering.
So that's, especially double.
That's a big difference in screen real estate.
Yeah.
I have a pretty set way that I use my dual displays now.
I'm a dual display guy.
I always have my primary, which is mostly my,
web browser, email, and whatever I'm working on.
And then on the right, I have a bunch of other things like Slack and my to-do list and
calendar and much of other stuff that sits over there.
Wow, good to know we're not your priority.
Well, when Slack notifications come in, I'm on top of it.
It's always open.
Anyway, I think I can work with slightly less real estate because of the way I manage what I'm doing.
I don't need the, I wish it was a 32-inch display.
That would be happier.
But I will still have enough.
So that's my number one is a studios play XDR.
Right underneath that is MacBook Neo.
I was fascinated by it, curious to test it.
You can see on the podcast video.
Users are aware that it's been in front of me this whole time.
Underneath that is M5 Pro and Max's MacBook Pros.
More piss.
They seem to have a surprising performance bump in a couple interesting ways.
Storage, read write speeds are insane.
I read the Verges review, and they said they were getting like 18,000 megabytes per second reads and rights.
I was like, wait, 18,000 or 1800?
18,000.
18,000?
Yeah.
I was getting 50,000.
1500 on the Neo and I was getting like 3,000 on my MacBook Pro and 18,000 is crazy.
So as someone who works with big files, I was curious about that.
Then I'd go down to the last four are kind of tied for me, I guess.
Do I like any one of them more?
Let's go M5 Mac.
Should I just make this fourth?
Yeah, the rest is just they're all tied.
No, man.
I think 17E is over the, like studio display is just.
My personal excitement.
I mean, I'm excited to review it, but like, it's what it should have been.
That's true.
Yeah, I agree.
I mean, as far as how good of a product it is, I agree.
So, yeah, you could go 17E, then MacBook Air, then iPad Air with M4 and Studio Display
last.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Now, general excitement from the public is MacBook Neo number one.
For sure.
By far.
Which is why they saved it for the last day.
I think this is probably true about cheap devices in general,
which is why, weirdly enough, iPhone 17E is probably number two,
as far as volume of chatter that I've seen about this.
Number three is people talking about the studio displays a lot.
Not necessarily because they're excited to buy them,
but because of how big of a difference there is
between the interest of Studio Display XDR and regular Studio Display.
A lot of people are disappointed with the regular Studio Display
because it's still a 60 Hertz panel.
They didn't really change much.
They updated the speakers and Thunderbolt 5 on the back,
and that's kind of it.
And it's still $1,600 and 60 Hertz.
So the studio display XDR is the interesting one, but it's $3,200 or $3,300.
So it's not like people are going out and buying this a lot, but they're interested in it because it's the new one.
Yeah.
Or different one.
The biggest thing that kind of sucks about it going to 27 inches for people who just want to use one monitor.
I guess like two monitors, it feels really big, but like 32 inches on one monitor, I have so much screen real estate to do separate things.
And now 27 is quite a bit smaller.
Yeah.
It is. Yeah, and the bezels are a little thicker, and it's, yeah, it's just a little bit less room.
And a lot of people spending that price probably only want to buy one monitor.
Yeah, when you're spending that much money, you want the best possible monitor.
But I said it in my review of the XDR, it's like, there are no other 27-inch 5K, 2,000-knit mini-ledy 120 hertz options.
That's like this guy scored four goals on a Thursday in March kind of stack.
But all of the things are really great, like what you want. Like, scored four goals and...
Thursday game, you usually lose.
Yeah, like, and won the game and had a cool haircut and, like, had a sweet jersey, whatever.
Like, it's a bunch of cool things all in one that you can't really find anywhere else.
So that's, I think, number three.
And then it kind of tapers off maybe.
Probably MacBook Pro over air just because, like, people, half the people who really liked Air liked because it was the cheapest thing.
Now, Neo's there.
So MacBook Pros are, like, maybe you were the person who's waited a few generations to get the new one.
you're looking for it.
True.
There's a ton of people on M1 generation MacBooks right now.
And every time a new generation comes out, they all look around and go, is it now worth
an upgrade?
Because the M1 is so much better than whatever they had before, and it was a huge leap.
So they've had M1 through the last six years of Apple Silicon.
And now M5, they're finally looking around like, is now the time I should upgrade?
Yeah.
And it's closing it on maybe it's finally worth jumping.
It's still expensive.
but like M5 Air is 1,100 bucks now.
If you have an M1 air, should you go to an M5 air?
You still kind of don't have to.
Yeah.
But it's starting to get there.
I think M2M3 really did not sell very well
because everyone bought the M1 and M1 Max being like,
I don't have to ever get this for like seven to 10 years.
Yeah.
Like that was the whole thing.
Like I blew like five grand on an M1 16 inch MacBook Pro
with four terabytes of storage because I was like,
still kicking.
It's still kicking.
Yeah, and I remember you stressed about it at the time,
but look at how long it's lasted you.
I know, exactly.
Yeah, I think with the M5 MacBook pros,
the new fusion architecture is kind of a big deal.
You can move data way faster.
There's more GPUs.
It's kind of turning into like a serious,
serious workhorse.
And I know that it's not upgradable in any given way,
but yeah, I think people are finally starting to feel like
maybe it's worth upgrading,
especially those people that are doing like coding and AI tasks
where they just want to have that stuff accelerated.
This stuff is very, very good at that.
Now, obviously we have the rumor
that the M6 Pro and M6 Max are coming out later this year, like in November.
Isn't that awkward?
So you know who's in an interesting spot right now?
Moriah.
I was going to bring it up.
Who edits here, as you guys probably know, her editing machine is an M1 Max MacBook Pro.
And it's just like yours.
It's been cooking, you know.
It's been very capable and it's gotten the job done and plenty of edits have happened
on that computer.
But like I said, it's getting up to the time where it's like, wow, okay, 12 to 25%
every year, now it's stacking up.
Maybe M5 is the chance to upgrade and actually feel that difference.
But now that there's that crazy MacBook ultra rumor on the horizon, it's like, well, maybe
that's the one to wait for instead.
And I don't know if that's going to be an M5 max or an M6 max or if they'll even get to M6
by then or if it's just the OLED that we want it for.
Either way, for people who are maxing out a laptop as their main machine, maxing, then
And that's the carrot at the end of the stick right now.
Mariah specifically wants a touchscreen.
Oh.
Does she actually her?
Really?
No, Mariah was all in on updating and then Alch was like, no, no, don't do it.
German just said that.
Like the M6 Ultras coming out later.
I was like, oh my God, Mariah is going to retire and still have that M1.
I mean, isn't she still running a pixel six?
Yes.
Yeah, but the getting work done machine.
No, I know.
Like the gains from M1 max to M5 max are massive will be pretty good.
For sure.
It would be nice.
I wonder if she doesn't need the touchscreen necessarily and then doesn't need the notch to be gone and have it be replaced with a potentially touch ID.
Like it's going to be a dynamic island.
I don't know if it matters for her that much, especially if the gains.
We don't even know if it will actually be M6 Pro and Max.
and even if it is, how much better is that than M5 Pro and Max?
Maybe it's not that much better.
And they focus on enabling things like the touchscreen and these different things and like maybe some AI.
workload things if they ever release Apple Intelligence, stuff like that.
Yeah, it is an awkward thing, especially when it's like we're not even, we're like nine
months away from this potential launch, nine or ten months away.
Potential launch.
Potential.
Big word there too.
Big word.
And it could get pushed.
There's all the, you know, there's the RAMs shortage.
There's all that stuff.
This is a whole other angle to all of this is that Apple was able to reduce the price of most of
their devices amid the global RAM shortage, which is insane.
Like every other computer, every other phone is going up in price.
And Apple is like, here's a $600 laptop.
Here's, we're going to reduce the price of the display, which also has, by the way, the display is an 819 in it.
So it has 16 gigs of RAM.
More than the Neo.
The display is.
Sorry, yeah, 12, 12 gigs of RAM.
It has more RAM than the Neo.
Yeah.
Which is wild.
As it should.
I guess it's cheaper.
It is very different.
But then the air did go.
up 100 bucks, right?
Well, they just
they got rid of the base model.
So it's actually,
it's $100 cheaper,
but there is no base model.
It's $100 cheaper than the second model
up from last year.
It's the weird version of a price.
Technically, so it's like, yeah,
it's a price.
Their margin is better on the base one now
because storage doesn't cost them much,
but they're giving you more storage
for the upgraded price.
So the price of entry is higher,
but you get more storage.
And it used to be $200 to get that much more.
George last year. How long do you think they eat the price until they have to raise it?
This is my question. I don't know how long Tim Cook makes these deals for like storage and
flash. And I would guess a year and a half, maybe two years. So it's like very possible that by
the end of the year, this is going to be way more expensive. I mean, we already knew that this
MacBook Ultra or whatever it is is supposed to be much more expensive than this one. And I think
that that's what potentially makes the M5 still doable for people and maybe why.
they're going to release both in the same year,
is that they're priced differently enough
that it's like M5, M5 Macs
are still insanely good.
If you want top, top, top of the line,
M6, M6, Ultra or whatever, Max.
I don't know.
And their price ladder.
Is crazy.
Big boy.
So I know.
Can I make a side bet here?
All these rumors on this new laptop.
Okay.
Name.
Seems to be floating M...
Studio.
Something like MacBook Ultra.
I firmly believe it should be Studio.
I guess the MacBook Studio.
You don't think that's too confusing?
They already have a Mac Studio.
They already have a, well, the lineup name is already confusing enough that I think this is fine.
You can't do Ultra because it can't be MacBook.
Well, if it only has the Ultra Chip.
Yeah.
It would have to because if they add N6, MacBook Ultra with M6 Pro would be really confusing.
Or could be M5 Ultra.
So that's the first question is, are they going to put an ultra chip in a laptop?
That is such a powerful chip.
so much GPU.
They've never put it in a laptop before.
I don't know if they would.
They've only done pro and max and base.
But if they do, and they name the laptop the Ultra,
that's a little crazy.
Well, I guess it's only put the Ultra chip.
Yeah, MacBook Ultra, which only has the Ultra chip.
MacBook Pro Max.
That could make sense.
MacBook Pro Max with the Ultra chip and the Pro and the Pro Max chips are not in the Pro Max.
I'm locking in.
Give me a 17 inch.
100%.
See, MacBook Ultra, but doesn't have an ultra chip,
It doesn't matter.
No one cares about the chip
if you're just buying a laptop.
If you're buying a $3,800
MacBook...
It's the same way that you're buying
like the Apple Watch Ultra.
Most people don't know
what chip is inside of it.
It's just the Ultra one.
That's the one I get.
Yes, but in computers,
I do think there's some part of you
that's like,
why am I getting the MacBook Ultra
over the MacBook trip?
Yeah, and it'll be like some crazy
web browser.
The answer is the screen
and the chip.
It's going to be the fastest,
best-looking screen.
But it doesn't necessarily
mean that it has
to have the ultra chip specifically.
Just like a super pimped out, like regular Macs chips.
Even in their own naming scheme, like they just released the like M5 Max Book Pro.
Wow, I guess there is the MacBook Pro though with M5 Pro.
Right.
So there is a Pro Pro and a Pro.
There's a MacBook Pro with a pro and there's a MacBook Pro with a Max.
Neo's looking like such a better name the more I look at.
I'm just saying I do think as weird as their naming is already.
I don't think they can get away with naming it.
MacBook Ultra and not putting the ultra chip in it.
That's all I'm saying.
So I think they have to name it something else,
and I think Studio is the name.
That's my...
The weird thing about Studio is that now they have the studio display
that's kind of mid, and it's not like insanely amazing,
and then they have the Studio Display XDR that's really good.
So that's kind of weird, right?
Yeah.
Display is not mid.
I mean...
It's beautiful.
It's still really nice.
I think both can be true.
both can be true. Mine is horribly broken.
No, the new one.
No, no, no, but he's saying no. It's the same as the old one.
It's still the studio display. So that's like the kind of weird thing is like studio kind of means pro, but there is still the studio and studio pro.
XDR.
Pretty much. But XDR is the name of it. It's the MacBook XDR.
But it's already XDR. That's possible. But it's already XDR.
Yeah, but now it's the name.
True. Yeah. Is the OLED one extra XDR? I don't know.
XXDR.
The Pro Ultra XDR.
I mean, the special thing about this laptop is going to be the screen.
So I wouldn't be surprised if the name is something about the screen.
I just hope it doesn't come out.
And we look back at this conversation.
And OLED.
Yeah, right?
I think it's supposed to be an OLED.
Yeah, it's supposed to be OLED.
So they're going to, they're going to.
That's so weird because now they have like mini,
because they have many LED in the laptop already.
Which looks phenomenal.
Which looks phenomenal.
And then now they finally put it in the bigger display.
And it is easier to make smaller screens like this.
So like they start with like really small.
then they slowly go up.
But it kind of feels like now they're like,
they've got multiple generations of screen technologies.
And you have to just,
you have to just know which one is better.
And OLED didn't used to be better
until they increased the brightness and the refresh rate
because OLEDs used to be hard to make bright and fast.
And now you can.
So it's just...
It is interesting how you just said
how like the new studio display XDR matches with a MacBook screen
way better now when you're using it in that mode
and to then make the highest level laptop.
up and highest level monitor now would be different screens again.
Yeah.
Which needs...
This is pixel ultra all over again.
This thing's not coming out.
Would they release the studio display XDR again but with OLED later?
It's like a weird ladder thing.
And maybe they do that on purpose to make you always buy the new one.
Yeah.
When it comes out.
Stagger the releases.
I guess I'm still confused why the touchscreen is going to be in the like pro pro
version of a MacBook.
Touchscreen feels like more of a like...
Casual feature.
Casual feature.
I agree.
Yeah.
Which is why I never wanted it in the first place.
Yeah.
So you two are not allowed to buy this if it comes out.
I'm probably still gonna.
I think kind of a sneaky update is the M5 Air.
Because it's crazy that the air used to be the computer that people were like,
this used to be the Neo where people were like,
you can't really do like really serious video editing, et cetera, et cetera on it.
But the M5 is like super capable.
Yes.
And if you have one of those laptops, you can do pretty crazy video editing.
Like the M5 is probably just as good in many ways as the M1 like like pro or max was.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It was it's an eye opener like actually using the Neo and just trying to find the performance ceiling
and seeing that it'll just, you can just open Final Cut and just throw a bunch of pro res videos from your iPhone in there.
And you're doing it.
You're editing 4K video on a MacBook Neo.
Like it's happening.
So that's that's already crazy.
It's benchmarking around M1 levels of performance with this chip.
So M5 is big multi-threaded jumps, big screen improvement.
Yeah, the GPUs are way more GPU.
It's going to be a better, like, it's a really good machine.
Yeah.
So, yeah.
Okay, wait, I have a question for you guys.
Now that the MacBook Neo is out.
Uh-huh.
Which one do you recommend still?
The Neo or the Air?
For who?
For who?
For a random college student walks up to you.
He's like, I'm starting college next week.
Which one?
I mean, the new default is Neo.
Yeah.
So it's like for the 90s.
90 something percent of people, I'm starting with Neo and then going, what do you want to do on
this laptop? And if I hear something that they say that sounds like Neo couldn't handle it,
then I'll bump you up to an air. Because it used to be air, and then when you hear the thing,
you bump on up to a pro. Yeah. So now what is that ladder? So now it's like, the air can do
99% of what most people need to do on a laptop. And if you're coming to me and asking what
laptop you should get, because you're not like in the weeds doing the research, that
probably means a Neo can handle everything you're doing. Unless you want a bigger screen.
the air has a 15 inch air if you want a bigger screen sure but the second you say something like
I have these these projects that I want to do and my current computer's too slow for them that I'm like okay now
you need to figure out if the Neo can handle that or not yeah and sometimes it's like a pretty big you know
know people are coding with like way heavier LLM stuff and bigger AI projects and they want more local
memory and sometimes they're playing bigger games and sometimes they're doing more stuff then air can
probably handle it. And at the very, very peak of that is I am doing professional, like,
projects that I make money from and MacBook Air is the answer. I say this because I still think
to me the answer is still MacBook Air. Like, I think the same way that people need to be convinced,
people need to convince me for me to recommend them a pro. I need to be convinced to recommend
you a Neil. Why? I still think that the Air is just a safe bet for anyone. If I know nothing about
what you're going to do, it's $400. It is a safe bet. That's not $500 more. Look at how long you keep M1 for.
No, I know.
It's almost double the price.
It's almost double the price.
Yeah, that's fair.
I think this anecdotally, the scenario to me is not so much as that.
It's usually the parent of the kid about to leave high school and go to college,
asking me what laptop should I get my kid?
And the two reasons, I've convinced them to spend extra money because it's usually the parents' money,
so they don't want to spend more, to go MacBook Air in the past.
Because if you're already asking me what MacBook to buy, or what laptop to buy,
you don't know a lot.
So you buying that means you can also bring it to an Apple store when something happens to it.
So now I can recommend a much easier to digest price point for a parent.
And with the benefit of like wherever your kid goes to college,
it's probably an Apple store within 40 minutes of them to go fix it.
I'll say this.
It's really hard not to do.
That's super valid.
I'll also say without knowing the breakdown of how much each laptop sells,
the way I think about it is like if you want the true safest bet,
money, no object, like 14-inch MacBook Pro is good enough for 99% of people to cover them.
If you want MacBook Air, M5, that's going to cover 93% of people, and MacBook Neo is going to cover
85% of people.
And so if I just want to recommend the thing that works for everyone, okay, yeah, MacBook Pro is
going to do it.
But you could probably start with a Neo.
And then if you're in the sliver of people who that can't cover, then you bump up.
Yeah.
That's how I think about it.
Yeah.
And it is crazy with that education discount, too.
Yeah.
I still think everybody should probably get the touchbar 512 gigabyte version.
That's the other thing.
If you need more storage.
Oh, touch ID.
Touch ID.
Yeah, yeah.
I was like, wait a minute.
Bring about that touch bar.
No, yeah, if you need more storage, this only comes with 256 and 512.
So I would definitely recommend getting the 512 unless you're apparently like my sister and do everything on the cloud.
My actual thing that I say to people is I go, look at how much storage you're using right now on your current computer.
for like four or five years in, how much storage are you using?
Assume that you'll use 50% more and get enough to cover that.
Yeah.
Because you're going to have it for four or five more years.
Just do that.
So I was like literally talking to someone the other day who has like 128 gigs used out of their 256.
Like you can get another 256 computer and be fine for the next four or five years.
For most people it's like photos and stuff too.
Yep.
I don't know about on a laptop.
But yeah, the other thing is like the touch ID, touch ID, not touch bar.
A lot easier to live.
log into your computer every time you open it by touching it as opposed to typing your password
every single time. If you have an Apple Watch, obviously, you can set it up so automatically
unlocks if you have your Apple Watch with you. But it is frustrating to have to type your password
every single time. So that is something. But yeah, pretty crazy. I think we talked about,
we talked about pretty much everything, right? You know what else we do every time? We do trivia.
Yeah. I was going to talk about that.
M4 iPad era, there's really nothing to say.
You just said everything about it. It's the iPad air.
It has an M4. Yes, indeed.
Let's move on.
Trivia, dude.
All right, so after the break, we're going to talk potentially.
I thought we're going to talk about it before the break, but the new Honor robot phone,
which they should not be calling a robot phone because there's nothing.
There's robotics.
The Verge article basically has the same thought as you.
What's the robot part of this?
The Verge just jocke in my sweat.
What else is new?
Just kidding.
I love those guys.
But my question is, amidst all the robot phone stuff,
Honor dropped a press release
that I did not see anyone mention in their articles,
which is Honor is partnering with a camera company.
Yes.
What camera company is it?
I remember.
Can we answer right now?
No.
And I miss this.
Oh, I do.
All right.
Oh, I know, I know, I know.
I remember.
I'm going to write it down.
Too much thinking.
I think I know what it is.
All right.
Answers will be at the end, like usual.
We'll be right back.
Support for the show comes from Framer.
A website should help your business grow, not slow it down.
If updates to your dot com feel harder than they should,
Framer is the shortcut you've been looking for.
Framerer is a website builder that can transform your dot com from a mere formality
into a tool for growth.
They've already helped thousands of businesses from early-stage startups to Fortune 500s,
build better websites faster.
Framer is an enterprise-grade no-code website builder used by teams at companies like
Perplexity and Miro to move faster.
With real-time collaboration, a robust CMS with everything you need from great SEO and
advanced analytics that include integrated AB testing, your designers and marketers are
empowered to build and maximize your dot com from day one.
So changes to your Framer site go live to the web in seconds with one click without help
from engineering.
So whether you want to launch a new site or test a few landing pages or migrate your fold.com,
Framer has programs for startups, scale-ups, and large enterprises to make going from idea to
to live site as easy and fast as possible.
Learn how you can get more out of your dot com from a Framer specialist or get started building
for free today at framer.com slash wave for 30% off a Framer pro annual plan.
That's framer.com slash wave for 30% off Framer.com slash wave.
Rules and restrictions may apply.
Support for the show comes from Shopify.
The early days of starting in business are equal.
parts exciting and terrifying. It's a big risk, but it's one worth taking as long as you have
the right tools. And if e-commerce is part of your new business, then here's a tip. Shopify.
Shopify is the commerce platform used by millions of businesses around the world. They say they
can help you tackle all these important tasks in one place, from inventory to payments,
to analytics, and more. No need to save multiple websites or try to figure out what platform
is hosting the tool that you need. Everything is all in one place, making your life easier,
and your business operations smoother. Let Shopify be your commerce,
with world-class expertise in everything from managing inventory to international shipping
to processing returns and beyond. You can get started with your own design studio with hundreds
of ready-to-use templates. Shopify helps you build beautiful online stores that match your brand's
style. So it's time to turn those what-ifs into with Shopify today. You can sign up for your
$1 per month trial and start selling today at Shopify.com slash waveform. Go to shopify.com
slash waitform. That's Shopify.com
slash waveform.
One plus one equals more of the greatest stories.
Hulu on Disney Plus.
Stories about our survivors.
Watched us.
The most dangerous planet.
Family.
Retribution.
Murder.
Prophecy.
Beer and propane.
Bolly Miller.
Blake Pantha.
The fun of their boots.
The ultimate soldier.
Chicago.
All right.
The best of the best stories.
Now with even more from Hulu.
Amazing.
Have it all with 3-1 Disney Plus.
Welcome back.
So there's a big event last week called Mobile World Congress, MWC.
Adam and I have a lot of trauma from that event.
Basically, there's a lot of stuff that gets launched there.
It kind of has weaned off in previous years, but this year we're freaking back, baby.
There's a lot of weird stuff coming out there.
One of those things was the on our robot phone, which we had, yes, beep, beep, boop.
We had shown this phone off a number of months ago.
because they showed off a little concept,
so we talked about it briefly.
But now it's out in the wild,
sort of it's attached to tables.
You can't really, you know, take it around.
But effectively what this is,
is it's a phone that has a built-in DJI Osmo Pocket in it.
It's like a little gimbal thing that you can, you know,
you can like swerve around.
Unfolds out of the phone.
Unfolds out of the phone, which is very crazy.
Yeah.
So, yeah, it's weird.
They claim that it's 70% smaller than the competition.
We're guessing that the competition is the Osmo Pocket.
Yeah, they just said competition.
I was like, gimbled in a smartphone.
What's the competition here?
It doesn't look 70% smaller than an Osmo because an Osmo is really, it's definitely smaller than an Osmo, but an Osmo is small.
Unless they're talking about, like, actual Gimbals.
Maybe that's the competition.
I'm not sure.
I think they're referring to the literal, like, gimbal mechanism.
Yeah.
To, like, fold it into a phone.
Something that's already small, 70% smaller is not.
Yeah, true.
It's smaller.
The way it comes out is the back of the phone has a kind of plateau, and then, weirdly
enough, all the cameras are on the right side of the plateau, which we're not used to seeing,
and then the left side has a stagger, almost like a step because that needs to,
half of it needs to slide over the right side, and then it flips up on top of the phone.
Yeah.
Kind of like, remember Essential had that like 360 cam that connected with pogo pins on the back and was up on the top?
Yeah.
Like that.
But it's a Osmo.
It kind of looks like that Insta 360 webcam that kind of follows you around.
The link kind of follows you around.
It's like that.
Yeah, it's strange.
They say it's the smallest four degrees of freedom gimbal in the industry.
And the bump is already pretty big, but it's, it makes the bump very deep.
The wobble must be nuts on that phone.
Yeah.
Okay.
There's a lot of things that are going to be nuts on this song.
One, the wobble of putting it on a table.
Two, trying to put this in your pocket and not like.
like yank the thing apart.
You know how you put your phone in your pocket
and like the lip of your pocket
catches the camera lens?
What happens on this phone?
That's another thing.
Yeah.
I just,
I think there's a reason why
they don't let people hold this thing.
If you watch all the hands-on videos,
none of them are hands-on.
They're just pointing at the phone
like on a stick,
on a stand in Mobile World Congress.
And then also, okay,
so I got briefed on this phone.
I talked to them about this,
and they're explaining why it's called the robot phone.
Do you guys know why it's called a robot phone?
Kind of.
It's sort of a robot.
Does it go like all the legs?
and walk across the desk.
It nods at you.
Almost.
The camera itself, obviously the gimbal will like
move it out and point around and do all sorts of stuff like that and can follow you.
But also when you're not using it as a camera,
it kind of becomes this anthropomorphic face
and nods and shakes its head and responds to your queries with sounds.
So you can ask it, do you think my outfit is nice?
And it will nod and go, yeah, nice outfit by moving the.
gimbal to shake the camera up and down.
That's why it's the robot phone.
I would love if it just judge me by what I was looking at on my phone and it could like
look down at the screen and look back at me and just like shake it.
That's the first thought I had is would it ever say no?
Like if you go, hey, gimbal, a robot phone, do you like my outfit?
And it looks at you and goes, mm-mm.
It just folds back up.
I don't like it.
That would be hilarious.
Yeah.
But yeah, apparently it'll, yeah, respond to your clear.
They are apparently also developing an accessory to clip it to your backpack.
So I think the point of this is that you should be able to use voice commands to do different actions.
And it can be kind of this.
You clip for your phone to your backpack and then you have like a POV thing going on on your back or maybe on your front.
Like the Osmo.
People like to clip it onto a backpack.
Yeah.
This feels like such a 2026 phone launch of, hey, we actually put some crazy hardware on this prototype phone.
And let's still tell you about all the weird AI things it can do instead of that we fit a gimbal inside.
No, it will pay attention if we don't say AI.
So AI, AI.
Yeah.
They are using a 200 megapixel camera, which I assume is primarily used for insane video stabilization.
Because you're not going to use all 200 megapixels.
You're going to crop the hell into that thing.
Yeah, it's weird.
Apparently, it's going to come out.
This is my...
Allegedly.
Is it going to come out in China only for $3,000 in, like, limited supply?
Or is it going to, like, come out?
Probably.
they suggested a global release
in the future was a possibility
but they have no timeline. This is a
long shot but have any of you played the Star Wars
Fall in Order game Jedi Fall in Order?
No. There's a robot, the BD1
that it's just a little camera guy
that hangs around your backpack and shoulder
if they can make this, that
I'm all in. Just give me that
that little robot with a camera. I think it just screws
your phone up so it's still way
too big and your phone camera bump
is like a double plateau essentially
on one side. This thing has IP 68.
No shot.
Do not bring it to the beach.
Wait, no, it could, it could. I've seen
Gimbals get wet. It could probably hold a full shot of
water inside of
the empty cavity when it's
popped out. Yeah.
Drones are
mostly you can, no, you can't.
It can do one thing where like
drones, you can get, you can get them wet.
A little, allegedly.
Maybe a little.
Not like submerged them or anything, but you can, you can, I don't know the I don't know the
I am.
That will be a drone that comes out eventually is a drone that can land in water and then can jet around like a boat that will happen.
If robot vacuums have anything to do with it.
See what Google has the say about it.
It's,
Mavik drones do not have an official IP rating.
It's funny that this comes out.
It's 5, light rain, Mavik 40.
People do fly light rain for sure.
And through like fog, which is basically rain.
Yeah.
It's a whole other conversation.
It is.
What is, rain?
Dense fog is like a cloud actually.
A cloud is basically, a cloud is when it condenses enough to precipitate.
Can you just talk about weather?
We have to be very careful here.
That's my bad.
I saw the road that I was going down and I decided not to go down.
It's that meme of the car.
Pivoting to the right.
Weather asks, back to the podcast.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yes.
So, yeah, I don't know.
It could be interesting.
Well, we'll see when it comes out.
We'll see when it comes out.
Now we have to talk about the thing that we glazed over a little bit last week.
We briefly mentioned it, but we wanted to go a little bit deeper in this.
Meta is allegedly sending your video feed from your meta AI rayman glasses to an analysis facility in Kenya.
And people are being, yes, do not do that.
People are being forced to watch videos that they shouldn't be watching.
Lots of intimate scenes.
Lots of people using the bathroom.
very weird.
Banking details.
Banking details.
And, you know, I just think we probably shouldn't have cameras strapped to our faces all the time,
but maybe that's just me.
And meta is the one that a few weeks ago had that leaked internal memo where they were like,
there's a lot of bad shit going on in the world right now,
which means it's perfect time to launch these AI features that people do not want.
So I didn't read this article, but I do have questions if you guys have.
I guess my first question is when you said like feed, camera feed, do you mean like not live feed, but stuff you take pictures of or stuff you ask AI about?
What is what is involved?
There's a long article.
One will have posted in the show notes because everyone should read it.
It's a Swedish newspaper that did this investigation.
From what I remember and from what I wrote down, it seems like it's the majority of the time they're seeing it is when you're activating AI features.
And not even always just like the AI features of like use the content.
of the camera, but essentially you ask it an AI question.
It isn't showing the recording thing because of you're not just doing the video recording.
And people don't know how long it's continuing to use the context of video and audio.
And so what it's due, the reason it's getting sent to this company called Sama, Sama, Sama, Sama, they're located in Kenya, is there are people there in an office who are using that feed to help label different things to help teach METAs AI.
There's data annotators.
Yeah, they're circling objects so you can tell the street signs.
You can tell a car so you can tell a person.
And it's just helping build that.
The issue is these people are saying the stuff they're seeing is like banking details on cards.
They're seeing private conversations that could be about all sorts of different stuff, legal and or illegal.
They're seeing one example was somebody asked it a question and then put their glasses down on the nightstand.
And then their wife walked out of the bathroom naked.
and they're seeing all these different, you know, sexual intercourse, people going to the bathroom,
people in changing rooms, all these different extremely private things are being sent to this
facility in Kenya where data annotators can then see all these really private moments.
My next question was going to be like, why is the data getting sent back?
So it's not just like, oh, this is some mischievous thing that they're doing.
It's that specifically they've decided to use humans to help correct.
or maybe point out things to the AI to train it to make it better.
Yeah.
So very poorly compensated humans because there's a lot of really, there's a ton of also
investigations about that company charging X amount and paying the actual employees fractions
of what they're charging.
Yeah, I wouldn't be surprised if that's awesome.
So that's another thing.
The employees aren't allowed like phones and stuff in the office, but at the same time,
like, I don't care what it is.
I just don't want people seeing potentially stuff like that, especially when you
don't know when it's ever recording this stuff. That's the last question, which is it's not
just when you're asking the AI for a visual match. You don't know when that ends after you ask it.
We did a little test in the office to see what would trigger various indicator lights on the camera.
Because obviously when you say meta take a picture, the ring around the camera lights up.
Yes.
If you say, so I looked at Mariah and I said what, hey, meta, sorry, I don't want to trigger anyone's thing.
But there's like a key phrase.
Yeah, I don't remember what it is.
But Mr. AI bought, what is 6 plus two?
And the camera light did not come on because that question should not require the camera.
Then I asked it, what color is the person in front of me's shirt?
And the light still did not come on.
So there's no feedback when the AI, there's no camera feedback to either the user.
There's a prompt light, but the prompt light comes on any time the thing is being prompted.
So that also, so the point is that like you don't actually.
know when the camera is firing.
Yeah.
Like the camera could have been recording data and sending that to meta when I asked
it what six plus two is.
It wouldn't surprise me because in order for context aware, you know, AI through the camera
to answer you as fast as possible, you should launch the camera and audio immediately once
you trigger the word, right?
Or else then you have to wait for it.
It's a different type of, well, just from my experience, it's a different type of prompt.
I think you literally say, hey, M, look and tell me.
me and when you start that, then it stars up the camera.
I just had to say, hey, M, what colors the person's shirt in front of me?
That, that, and it gave me the correct answer.
So clearly the camera was turned on.
And I tested that multiple times to make sure it wasn't a fluke.
Like how many people are in the room or the lights on?
And I never said, look and tell me.
It was just like there.
Yeah, so a couple extra things in here is like meta's attempt at privacy here is that
their own systems are blurring faces before it goes to these data data.
but they are also saying that,
depending on lighting conditions and stuff,
that those blurs don't work all the time.
It's pretty often that they see people just
and their faces and everything like that,
which maybe they need data annotators to check,
to work on their AI to send to other data annotators.
But it's just, this is all really yicky.
I mean, and in their terms of service,
they're saying this is fine because it says,
in some cases, META will review your interactions with AIs,
including the content of your conversations with or messages to AI,
and this review can be automated or manual parentheses human.
And no one will know when it's human.
You don't know when that's getting said.
You're using the product, but you don't know when.
You can opt out of this either.
Through the AI, there is some other privacy options you can opt out of through some
other stuff on meta raybans, but through AI, there's no opt out as far as I'm concerned
and when I'm reading this right now.
Opt out would be smart to add.
It would be.
Yeah.
It should be opt in.
It should be opt in.
Yeah. I mean, all of Samsung, like I just remember reviewing the S-26 Ultra, all of these features of, like, Galaxy AI stuff, they're all on by default, and they also will all use the internet by default. But at the very bottom, there's a little button you can check, which is do all of this on device, which does limit some of its functionality, but it is an option that you can check, which is to never have any of this stuff leave your device. Obviously, if you're editing photos or doing any of that stuff, maybe you want to check that box. So yeah, I agree that, like, opting everyone in by default.
is ridiculous. Well, and it's why they're selling these, right? Because this is all training
meta's AI. They want as much data, yeah. They want as much data. You're wearing it all the time.
You're probably accessing the AI stuff. It's just going to record. And now you pay a bunch of people
horrible wages to then help it wrongly tell the color of my co-workers shirt later.
And it's like it's sort of seems like it's meant to be confusing on purpose. Like one of the
parts of the article was going to Luxonica stores, which is the company that makes the like
glasses part of it.
asking a bunch of sales reps about where this data gets stored.
And a bunch of them were like, no, no, everything happens locally on the glasses.
They just have no idea.
They have no idea.
Like multiple different answers.
No one has any idea, you know, except meta.
Half of meta might not even know because they don't want them to know.
This reminds me a lot of the content moderation things that was happening a couple years ago.
Casey Newton had like a big story interviewing people in these places that are just like
looking at videos on social media that people die for terrible videos and it's like they're getting
paid pennies to like do this content moderation stuff this is like the new like labor of AI yeah i
cannot imagine yeah so yeah it says that they are also um all of the chats all the transcriptions of
the chats are also stored and they have to go through those to see if the AI gave them a good answer
and there's a lot of weird conversations that people are having and it's just it's just a weird privacy
thing because I think that something that we don't acknowledge enough as a society is what is in
the terms and conditions that you just scroll past really quickly and then I accept.
That stuff used to be like, I will not see the company if my microwave explodes.
But now it's like I consent to give up all data that I have ever used on this product and
the company can use it for whatever they want and blah, blah, blah.
And yeah, you're the product if the service is free.
And right now the AI service is the free thing and the glasses are what you're paying for.
And this is extra freaky because remember this is the same product that those Harvard researchers made the like look what we can do.
Automatic face ID thing built in.
Yeah.
No, no, no, I know.
Well, student.
Whatever.
You know, like this is like how easy would it be for someone to get these.
Look.
I'm spiraling at this point.
All of this is you have that.
It's like this is bad.
You know, this is really bad.
Yicky at the best level and extremely concerning depending how much you trust met.
You should just, if you have these glasses, read this article pretty much.
And just, just in general, if you, if you own a device that has a non-webcam camera, like,
like phones and laptops, I think are exempt from this statement.
But like, if you own a device with a camera on it, just assume it is always recording.
And that footage will be stored somewhere forever.
and people can look at it.
Like, there's no reason to ever assume that a device with a camera,
because, you know, the article even says, like,
the money meta makes on this training data from you
is infinitely more valuable than any,
than if they sold glasses to everyone in the universe, you know?
So, of course they're going to look at it over and over and over and over again.
And of course they're going to capture as much as they can of your life.
Like, the stuff about the glasses sometimes recording for like long,
periods of time. It's like, why do they do that?
It should definitely have the ring going on for any time that camera's being accessed
and something can be used for sure. It almost, if you really don't just met it, you could argue
that they only put the ring on there for normal recording to then make you not think about
when it's recording later for AI stuff. I don't necessarily think that's true, but I'm sure
they're not trying to get it on. It was because of the Google Glass issues of not having any
sort of indicator. Which was, yeah. I really liked, I don't know if it was in direct response to
this, but around the time this article came out, someone dropped an Android app that makes your phone
scan Bluetooth 24-7, and it can detect whether someone has meta-glasses within 50 feet of
you and sends you an alert. So you can go find them and not do anything. You can go find them and
say, gently take off those glasses, sir or madam. Cool. Next thing. Another potentially really
confusing article, but for the better this time.
Yeah.
Google's 30% tax is changing.
Awesome.
There's a cool soundboard there somewhere, right?
Yeah.
Whoops.
Maybe.
We've talked multiple times.
Apparently Ellis doesn't remember any of them about Epic versus Google.
They were also Epic versus Apple, essentially suing these companies because of their monopoly over play
stores and taxes on top of distribution.
Yeah. So there was a settlement or it seems like a settlement was reached in November, but before the final details of that came out, Google just started making changes and just announced recently that they're going to change how they're doing their. I just keep calling it to Google tax. I think everyone understands what I'm saying. Yeah, a Play Store tax. 30% of essentially your revenue if you sell on the Play Store through pretty much any form goes to Google.
Yeah. I'm going to super TLDR this and try.
explain a little different afterwards, but it gets really confusing because there's different levels.
Most of the fees seem to be going to 20% or lower.
And by the end of the year, they're going to launch registered app stores, which is a program
that you can download third-party app stores for people outside of the U.S., pretty much the same
way you would just download stuff in Google Play.
So they're not making this hard side-loading effort of getting like an epic store or stuff
on your phone that's a pain in the neck.
You should just be able to download them.
no problem, which is a huge issue.
It's outside of the U.S.
in particular, though, right?
That's what I read.
Because of just like European law.
I guess.
Again, thank you.
Europe gets the cool phones.
They get the good consumer rights.
Hey, they don't get that 20 watt charger in their Neo box.
That's true.
That's tough.
So yeah, 20% for the most part of people, which is 10% less.
I'm trying to look into here.
I have this chart that even the more I look at it, the more I'm confused.
So new installs 20%, existing installs 25%.
Non-recurring purchases, 20%.
They're taking links to downloads.
I'm not even going to attempt to.
But so in some subscriptions and microtransactions,
there's some other ways that this can be even lower.
And the Google Play billing fee, if you're using their billing system, 5%.
So a lot of things did go down.
This is great.
Somebody, I think Verge wrote this as Tim Sweeney just signed a deal to not be able to complain about Google for the next three years or something like that, which I thought was pretty funny.
It was till 2032, I think.
Is it?
Yeah.
Rollout for this will be through the year.
It seems like by June 30th, this will affect UK and U.S., September 30th, Australia, December 31st, Korea and Japan.
and then by September 30th, 2027, the rest of the world.
I'll link the Verge article if you're a developer and actually need a lot more information on this
because there's like 20 different ways that this could change.
The breakdown of this is reminiscent of when the judge said that Apple had to change their fees
and then they did the malicious compliance thing and just made it so insanely confusing
and probably worse for most people.
And then the judge came back with the injection and said there will not be another bite
at the Apple, which was a banger.
That almost kind of looks like what this is,
but I don't think this is necessarily
a malicious compliance thing.
It's just Google trying to save their ass
because both Google and Apple
make a huge amount of money
being the traffic stop for app stores.
That is their huge revenue driver for them.
Apple notably has been like shifting to services
over the last few years because they know
that they're probably not going to be able to
endlessly make money on the app store.
anymore. So, yeah, Google is also going to try to have to fill this gap. But it seems like they
came to an agreement that was good enough for everybody. I'm surprised that Tim Sweeney was still
okay with 20% to be honest. Like, I think that he was pretty hardcore about, you know, absolutely
not. I think the biggest thing is that there's a easier way to download third party stores on
your phone, which then obviously you're outside of it. Yeah. So good for developers. If you can
understand it.
Yeah.
It's crazy that Fortnite's big enough that he could be like this thing that one of the
largest companies in the world is making me mad about so you don't get Fortnite and that
will make changes in the world.
I mean, most game stores outside of Steam only really still exist because that company has
like one giant game that everybody plays, you know?
That's true.
Well, Epic Start is like getting other big ones to come to.
Yeah, yeah.
But yeah.
But Riot has like League of Legends and.
No, I don't even, do they even have a store?
They don't even know a store.
No, it's just a client.
Ubisoft has a client that is slowly dying a painful death.
But they always have like, you know, they've got call of, is it, they did it do
call of all?
I've lost track of all.
I don't even know, but yeah.
Not real gamers here.
Sorry.
Not real gamers.
Yeah, I just played out of two.
Jagex.
Jetscape, Old school Rooscape and Rooscape 3.
Is that a separate launcher for that?
They're just launchers out of things?
Yeah.
Big news.
Price increase.
Old School Roonscape.
I know you're very upset about that, Marquez.
Yeah.
$15 a month. Same as well.
Yeah.
Worth it.
Wait, same as well.
How much is it?
15 a month.
What?
Damn.
For old school Roots game?
The game is a banger, man.
It's been around for so long.
It's still getting awesome updates from that.
Have you played polopopia yet?
Pokemon.
Pocopia.
Pocopia.
Have you ever had a dream?
It's just Pocopia.
Yeah.
Pocopia is like,
it's if Animal Crossing and Minecraft
had a baby and then added Pokemon to it.
The dialogue is very funny.
I bought it and I regret it
only because I realize I don't like games like that.
However, the people are posting screenshots
on like all over social media
and is really freaking funny.
I'm obsessed.
The AI of the Pokemon.
I threw up.
The Pokemon just like talking to each other
and like weird shit going on is really funny.
Kyoga has a southern accent for some reason.
Magic Carp says yo a lot.
Oh, this is like animal crossing
Pokemon, right?
It's Animal Crossing with Pokemon, but everything is
block based, so it's kind of Minecrafty.
And you can make like mine carts and stuff.
So it's literally like...
Is it a first person shooter?
Yeah, with guns.
Anyway, I was funny.
The other day I saw I was like trying it out
and then on my switch I saw like,
Adam is playing Vukopia and I just texted him,
yeah, me too.
And he said, wait, what?
And I was like, what are you talking about?
You're playing this game.
Anyway, that is...
So back yard baseball is coming out in July.
I just had to get Marquez back into the conversation here.
Sorry, I'll get to all that once I'm done power washing various things.
Power washing simulator.
Yeah.
So, yeah, okay.
Well, with that, I think we're going to do one more little break.
We'll take it back with one more story that Marquez can ran about for a very long time.
But first...
Trivia, dude.
Trivia, dudes.
So, we were talking about the on-or-phone to little robot boy.
But we compared it, I don't know if this was on-camera, off-camera.
People into edit will know.
We compared it to Wally.
You're the one in the edit.
Yeah.
Well, people watching later will know.
Oh.
Yeah, because I don't know if I'm keeping it in it.
But anyway, we spoke about it and compared it to Wally.
Yeah.
What does Wally stand for?
One point per correct letter.
Like politically?
politically.
What does he stand for?
Anti-capitalism.
Yeah.
Returning to nature.
I should have just wrote that.
Second Amendment.
I didn't even know Wally was an acronym.
Wow.
Wow.
Well, I'll be guessing.
And we'll be guessing around here.
We'll be right back.
I'm not an astronaut.
I don't need an astronaut.
Audiences have spoken.
Project Hail Mary is an awe-inspiring masterpiece.
So I met an alien.
If you've fallen out of love with going to the movies, this one will bring you back.
Ryan Gosling, in the first must-see movie of 2026.
Project Hail Mary.
Only theaters March 20th.
All right, welcome back.
Something really big happened last night.
By the time we listened to this, it was a couple nights ago.
We recorded this on Wednesday.
Tuesday night, a historic performance happened.
And I was talking to you about this a little bit.
And David, I don't know if you've seen this,
but I do think this is a great opportunity
to explain something in tech terms here.
Okay.
So, what happened last night was Bam Otabio of the Miami Heat.
His name is Bam.
His name is Bam.
Cool.
Scored the second most points ever by a single player
in a single NBA game.
Dang.
By himself, he had 83 points last night.
That's almost the entire score.
Perfect.
Wow.
That's crazy.
If you watch the game, what happened was I was sitting at the table last night,
and I opened up YouTube, and there was a highlight reel at the top of my feed that said,
Bamata Bio scores 31 points in the first quarter.
I was like, what?
So I clicked it, and I watched it, and I was like, these are unbelievably,
like, he got super hot.
And then I closed the iPad, and I walked away.
and I went about the rest of my night.
And then I got a notification on Slack
like an hour later from Alex
who said, tune in to Bamatabio.
He's got 79 now.
And so I go on YouTube TV
and I'm like, I have to watch the heat game,
but I don't have the heat game on YouTube TV.
It's just the Celtics game, Celtics Spurs,
which is probably also an interesting game.
And then I hover over it
and it's players in red jerseys.
And I click on it and they have literally left that game
to broadcast the last few.
minutes of Bam out of bio setting this record yeah all the time they did this for Kobe's last game
so yeah they they literally left the Celtics broadcast to watch bam score 83 so i watched the last
two minutes of that game and it was hilarious to watch because everyone in the arena knew that they
were trying to get the record for bam oh and everyone on the other team is hell bent on making sure
bam doesn't get the record against them because that is like a star against your franchise
Oh.
And so it was funny watching him just like catch the ball at half court, get triple teamed,
and then just try so hard to dribble with three people on him and chuck up a shot and get some free throws.
It wasn't the prettiest 83 points you ever see.
Okay, okay.
And it's also by Bam out of bio, who is probably not the person you would expect to set the number two.
Marquez.
Waltz.
Bam.
Bame.
Wilt.
So, yeah, Willet Chamberlain.
in like the what
70s, 60s
had 100 points in a game
it wasn't even on camera
there's many recollections of this
and there's a newspaper article
and there's a picture of Wilt with 100
but no one got to
nobody alive today watched that
right
but BAM out of bio
in modern NBA most of who's ever seen
so in tech terms
trying to figure out how to explain
how anomalous this was
so what do you have to explain
the type of player BAM is
how many points that
in a game and how hard that is to do.
And I guess
I guess that's pretty much the only two things
you really need to. And how
reasonably likely it will
be to ever happen again.
Oh. And the conclusion I came to was
and this is shout out to Adam for helping
me figure this one out. This would
be like if we turned around and said,
Ellis, what's your iPhone's
battery percentage right now? And you still have
the 12 mini. And Ellis
goes, this is actually day
four of me using the iPhone 12 mini. We're like, what do you mean it's day four? And he goes, yeah,
I've got 12% left, but this is my 70th hour of using this phone. And we're like, how is that
even possible, Ellis? He's like, well, I woke up on the first day and I used my phone for a little bit,
and then I put it in airplane mode, and I didn't really use it after that. So the first half a day
was legit. And then the second three days were just him going, I want to just see how far I can
make it at the expense of my own sanity and daily quality of life. But I just want to see how long
it'll go. And now there's a benchmark result saying that the iPhone's 12 mini has the longest
battery life of any phone recorded history. And we're like, that seems a little bit crazy. What's the
asterisk? And then you go, oh, it's because he was. So what's the asterisk for the basketball guy?
The asterisk for the basketball guy is, I watched that first quarter highlights, and then I watched the fourth quarter.
The first quarter highlights are like, oh my God, he's bawling out.
And the other team's like, yeah, he is balling out, but, you know, what can you do?
You know, our two best defenders are sitting.
And then you watch the fourth quarter, and it's like, everyone knows to stop him from getting the ball.
But he gets the ball anyway, and he dribbles to half court and just chucks up a shot, and he gets fouled, and he gets two free throws.
Oh.
And he attempted 43 free throws.
which is the new most free throws ever attempted in an NBA game in order to achieve that.
He went 7 for 22 from 3.
He shot less than 50% for the game.
He still got 83 by himself, which is ridiculous.
The next highest player on his team got, what, 12 or something?
18.
So did he just intentionally get himself fouled a ton of times?
Yes.
In the last quarter, yes.
And it was tough.
It wasn't like bad to watch because it was still entertaining as hell
to watch this guy who everyone knows has a chance at the time.
the highest number to go try to get it.
But now we know what it looks like when a player actually tries.
Even though they're up by 20, even though he didn't have to stay in the game,
coach was like, you know what, go get your 80.
And he did it, and now we got to see what it looks like.
And there's not like an asterisk, but like now...
Was the team intentionally giving him the ball a bunch to try to let him do this?
So by the time he had 60-something at the end of the third quarter,
everyone was trying to get him the ball every time.
Okay, okay, yeah.
There's a really great video by...
I've brought up Jimmy Highroller on this channel before.
he does like basketball analysis videos for fun.
Literally last week he just did a video on
will we ever see an NBA player get 100 again?
Oh.
And it's funny because if you go back and watch that video,
he's like,
Will Chamberlain say what you want about it,
had the perfect set of circumstances to get 100.
He was a dominant player.
There was no answer for him by the other team.
He also played every minute of every game
for the entire season, which will never happen again.
Oh.
And if you are going off at a rate of 25 points per quarter,
usually your team's crushing the other team
and you just sit for the last quarter
because you're up by too much
you don't have to play anyway.
So you need it to be a close game
for you to stay in the game long enough
to actually keep putting up points.
Yeah.
So we're, you know,
Luca Donchitch had 73.
Joel Embed had 70,
Devin Booker had 70.
We've had 70s.
How many of those are Knicks players?
Yeah, none of them are Knicks players.
You know, it's not impossible.
It might happen.
Didn't Kat had 60 something,
but as a Timberwolf.
Yeah, as a Timberwolf.
So, yeah, it's really hard
to get those perfect sets of circumstances
to ever happen again.
And we just got a glimpse at like,
what if they just leave him in?
And it's like, just, I want to show you later
the highlights of the last quarter
where he dribbles to half court
and three people sprint at him
and he just throws the ball up and gets foul
and he gets two more free throws.
What made it foul him?
Because they were like, you have 65 points.
You are not scoring again.
You are not scoring again.
And the entire team's game plan
is to force you to pass it to someone else.
So we're going to triple team you
and half court to make you to pass to someone else.
And instead of passing it, he shoots it.
Okay.
And he gets fouled.
Damn.
And he got 83.
What was the final score?
The final score was 150 to 129.
That's a crazy.
That's a crazy high score.
It is.
The other asterisk is that the Miami Heat are a real basketball team.
Yeah.
The team they were playing is the Washington Wizards who the coaching, like, staff,
purposefully made the team.
as bad as they could be, so they could lose as many games as possible.
Why?
Because the more they lose this season.
The better the get picks next season.
Yes.
The hope being that...
So literally the two best players on the Washington Wizards,
Trey Young and Anthony...
Oh my God.
Anthony...
Edwards.
Davis.
Wow.
Okay.
That was crazy.
The two best players on the Washington Wizards,
Anthony Davis, Trey Young,
are not playing basketball right now.
Allegedly they're like injured.
Oh.
But they're like not.
Do they get in trouble for doing stuff like this?
Another team got in trouble and it was supposed to like, you know, set the record straight.
But yeah, so that's the other reason.
It's like they're not playing like a team that is like trying to win a basketball games.
But they were still triple teaming him to try to stop him.
That was that was because of the end they were like, we don't want to be the people that get lost like this.
But like.
Yeah.
So they were fine to lose.
They just didn't want to lose like like that.
They didn't want to be in the record.
The players do not want to lose, right?
The players are always going to go out there and do their best.
So the coaching staff responded by only putting the worst possible players on the court.
That sounds like a movie where the coaches are trying to get them to lose, but they end up coming back through the finals.
It happens sometimes.
Isn't that majorly?
It does happen sometimes.
Sometimes two tanking teams play each other and they're both trying to lose, but the players want to win, but the teams have to lose.
Actually, Marquez, it's even worse.
Sometimes a tanking team plays the Philadelphia 76 years.
Wait, I have three questions.
Yes.
This one I should know.
Points in basketball are only baskets, right?
Assists don't count for points.
That's a separate stat.
Yes.
Cool.
Easy one.
Second question.
Was...
How many assists do you think Bam Otabio had that night?
Meaning he passed the ball.
You're still too high.
He had three.
Damn.
Wow.
Who was the home team?
Miami.
Okay.
It was in Miami.
This is cool.
one happens at an away team and the away crowd
just gives up on trying to win and starts
cheering for people on the other team. So
that would have been cool. Savage. Third question
and this is an opinion for you guys but
went really good the last time we talked about basketball
is Bam as a
player compare him to a phone.
First of all I just want to say Bam is an Olympic
gold medalist. He's really good about it.
The Samsung flip has a gold medal too.
He's an all star. But in terms of who you
would expect to set this record, it's not
who you would expect. So I wanted, because we did
CJ
DJ McCollum.
He was the CMF Phone 3.
Grover loved that, so if Grover's listening,
who is Bam as a phone?
That's a good question.
So if you're,
we have to set like what we expect from the phone.
If you're expecting,
what is the highest benchmark score from a phone?
Then that would be like the pixel.
I was just going to say pixel if you're going to my benchmark.
The pixel's fine.
It's not bad.
It's like one of the top five brands or whatever,
but it would be like a pixel setting a,
all-time highest benchmark score.
It'd be like a pixel 10 having
256 base storage.
Yeah, like a tensor chip.
So he's a base pixel 10?
It's a tensor chip specifically,
setting a high benchmark score.
Okay.
You know?
Or like,
it's a good phone and you would expect it to do well,
but you wouldn't expect it to be this one.
Better than media tech.
Yeah.
Yeah, it's not, it's one of the better ones.
But wow.
It's like good enough that it's kind of boring.
Yeah.
So he's boring.
Is he short?
No, he's an all-star.
He's just not like a...
His previous career high before this
was less than half of 83.
It was 41, which is pretty good.
A lot of NBA players are all-stars
and can get 41.
A lot of players average 30.
Nobody gets 83.
What makes you an all-star?
An all-star means you are one of the best,
you know, seven, or I guess it's like 14,
best 14 players in your conference.
You get votes.
For that year.
For that year.
Yeah.
So, yeah, he's a great player,
but nobody thought.
Fun fact that,
Ellis found out that you know where BAM is from.
New Jersey.
Yeah.
Is he really?
Yeah.
And BAM Margera is from Pennsylvania.
I don't know who that is.
You don't know who that is?
Bam, who?
You know Bam Margera?
I've never.
Do you know Jackass?
The old show on TV.
I've heard of that.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But I know about the famous guys from that.
He's the most famous from that.
Him and Johnny Knoxville.
Steveo and Johnny Knoxville.
Steveo and Johnny Knoxville.
BAM got his own TV show on MTV that lasted like quite a few seasons.
How have I never heard of this?
And his brother is in the band, CKY.
I feel like if I show you a picture of him, you'd be like, oh, I've seen him.
Wait, I'm sorry.
Bam.
The reason I probably have brain damage is because of Jaya.
Bam's search engine optimization is cooked now.
Yeah, Van Mar Jarra just fell off.
Mar.
Well, he fell off.
Never seen this guy.
Skateboarder.
He's like the best skater in the jackass crew.
I guess I've seen a lot of Steve.
I just want to say 14-year-old me is so hype right now.
just covered basketball, phones,
Van Margera, like that kid is living.
Yeah.
It was a good time.
Anyway, I hope now, David, you can appreciate the insanity of what happened yesterday.
That's crazy.
Are you going to go watch the replay of the game?
I might watch the highlights.
I want to show you the last three minutes without like a highlight cut just so you can
appreciate, just so you can see what it looks like when everyone in the building is like,
do not let that man score.
And he's like, I'm a score.
It's so funny.
It's so good.
say when Adam and I walked in and saw that Marquez was watching the somehow already uploaded
RDC World One video.
Mark Phillips,
thank you.
Thank you for commentating every great basketball moment.
This is,
as soon as something happens in the NBA,
I'm like,
what did he say?
Last question.
How many points would he have had if he had 100% free throw percentage?
It was like over,
he had like 43 attempts?
I can answer that, yeah.
He missed seven.
So he would have had.
90?
Would have had 90.
I think all basketball players should have 100% free throw percentage.
Okay, bro.
That's my non-basketball take.
I like that take.
It's called a free throw.
It should be free points.
But you'd be surprised how bad some of them are at free throws.
I am surprised at all.
What's your hockey comparison?
All hockey players should make, I guess there's no penalty shots in hockey.
No, there are.
But it's against a goalie.
So?
A basket is bigger.
than a, I mean, a goal is bigger than a basket.
Yeah, but the goalie tries to stop.
The puck is smaller, ergo they should make every one.
That'd be, like, if the free throw had a one-on-one defender.
Dude, it's not like, it's not like a giant volume knob comes up and blocks the entire goal, okay?
It's, it's, it's really.
The Subaru UI would be a great goalie.
That's how you round this podcast out.
That's how we end right there.
I like your 38 notches, but just remove the numbers, please.
And also make it smaller.
Incredible.
All right.
Somehow Subaru was the biggest bad guy in this entire podcast.
The boo-woo.
Well, meta was competitive.
Meta is the biggest.
It was close, though.
I know what I said.
It was close.
Meta, I know you're spying on millions of people with other consent, but my Subaru
volume, nah, for three seconds.
Okay, I need a marker.
Why?
Because it's trivia time.
Yeah, baby.
Oh, other little last thing, and I guess we probably should have said this when the podcast,
when we started.
this episode is going to be dropping while we're live at South by Southwest.
Oh my God.
We forgot to mention it again.
Yeah.
Well, it doesn't matter because if you're listening to this podcast, we're already on stage or we're not on stage or we're leaving the stage.
But what if you already have South by South by Soutes and you just don't.
Oh, right.
You have to watch this leaves.
If you're not, by the time this comes out, we will be on stage.
If you are watching us outside of South by Southwest and watching this episode at the same time, I salute you.
Then I need you to yell iceberg lettuce right now.
I need you to scream iceberg.
It will be part of, I think Keith Lee is after us.
And if they stay around for that, this is well over an hour long.
So if you've made it this far, we're not on stage anymore.
They fast forward.
Okay.
Trivia.
Whoa.
I don't remember the question.
I remember the question.
I remember the question.
I know.
What was the camera company that?
Yeah, who's partnering with honor?
On the robot phone camera.
I almost said that and then that the answer.
What's on the honor?
Your honor.
Your honor.
I remember being in the briefing and hearing that and being like,
another legacy down the drain.
The camera companies going with the phone companies is the new,
the car company.
First, Leica and Hasselblatt.
Yeah, it used to be McLaren and Porsche.
Porsche, how are you saying?
And now it's...
Dragon Ballsie.
Flip them.
Ari.
Everyone got it right.
The answer is on.
Ari.
I knew it first, by the way.
I'm sure you did.
We're all very proud of it.
Anasonic had an R-E-Lut collaboration.
After that correct answer, the score.
Marquez with 17.
Andrew with 19.
David with 21.
Oh, I can drink.
Nice.
But don't.
As you sip your...
That is alcoholic.
Piss-colored lemonade.
The honor robot phone.
We've compared it to Wally.
But what does Wally stand for?
That is the question.
One point per correct word.
Wow.
I'm going to get really far behind now.
Maybe, maybe not.
What a lovable little Ellis.
Wow.
That was good.
How long have you been holding that in?
Just not.
No, it just came to me.
Oh, off the top.
Thank you.
Amazing.
I'm really good at acronyms.
Why are Legos like eggs?
They hurt you step on?
Nice.
All right.
Sliperman Reed.
What do you got?
All right, who wants to go first?
All right.
I wrote walking.
I guess it doesn't walk.
I was going to say you,
you contradict yourself in your...
I know.
Walking autonomous.
Wow.
Lovable, legless,
E.
Nice.
No points for David.
Andrew, what did you say?
I wrote, we all enjoy.
But we...
We W-A-L-E enjoy.
Clever, but no.
That's clever.
Because I had nobody's getting points.
I wrote, what and lovable little engineer?
But is the and?
Is it and right?
It is not right.
Damn, I hedge my bet there.
The correct answer is waste allocation load lifter.
Earth class.
Earth class.
It's in the movie.
Wait, yeah, I know, but I haven't seen that.
So it's really Wallach.
Child.
Earth class.
Well, it's Earth-Dash class.
It's like Earth.
We just get to.
M dash.
Make works one word
by putting a dash
I was gonna get it to you
and you said Earth
I did remember
that he was a trash compactor
so waste
allocating
waste allocation
load lifter
load lifter
Earth class
next time you guys are
at bar trivia
you're gonna kill this
what was the
I already forgot
Eva is that a
Eve?
Is that also
is also one
I forgot what it is though
I'm gonna find out right now
because it's gonna bother me
while he kind of talks
like
like ET
Eve is extraterrestrial vegetation evaluator.
There it is.
Oh, yeah.
Because she finds the little flower, right?
Eve.
I thought she found the apple.
Sorry, spoilers.
Vegetation.
For the Bible of some kind.
Wally is Microsoft and Eve is Apple.
Nice.
Because she's all like smooth and curved and he's all like blocky.
Too late.
I have already depicted you as the frumpy Wally robot and myself as the sleek Eve bot.
Anyway, that's been it for this week.
We obviously went full circle.
If any NBA players are listening to this, please try to beat 83 against tanking teams all year.
It's going to be so fun to watch.
And come on the podcast.
And also, yeah, come on the pod.
Let's talk ball.
If you break the record, you can come on the podcast.
No, you can come on the podcast either way.
You want Bam to come on the podcast?
Sure.
I would love that.
What about, what if we had Bam and the guy that they traded that everyone was like, whoa.
Do it?
Luke chick.
There's an asterisk that we do not.
We do not have a green room here at Waveform Studio.
This studio could probably barely hold someone who's over 6'5.
It's tight in here.
I'm right here and doing fine.
Yeah, I'm the shortest one on this freaking podcast.
And David's 6.7.
I'm 6.7.
No.
No.
See, I knew they're going to.
All right.
Thanks.
Thanks for watching.
Thanks for joining us maybe at the live show at South by Southwest.
If not, we'll see you back for our regularly scheduled programming.
See you later.
Pace.
Wayform is produced by Adam Alina and Ellis-Rovin.
We're partner of Vox Media Podcast Network and a church.
music was created by veins still.
Bingo!
I can't find an uncut fourth quarter.
It's all like cut highlight reels.
