Locked On Mariners - Daily Podcast On the Seattle Mariners - Late-Game Heroics Save Mariners From Fumbling Series Opener With Astros
Episode Date: April 8, 2025Ty and Colby react to the Mariners' wacky 4-3 win over the Astros and get you set for the final two games of the series.Check out our Patreon!Follow the show on Twitter: @LO_Mariners | @TyDaneGonzalez... | @CPat11Follow the show on Bluesky: @lockedonmariners | @tdg | @mlbcolbySupport Us By Supporting Our Sponsors!Wonderful PistachiosLooking for a snack that’s both delicious and nutritious? Get snackin’ and get crackin’ with the snack that packs a protein punch. Visit WonderfulPistachios.com to learn more.Supply HouseJoin the TradeMaster program today at SupplyHouse.com/TM and start ordering plumbing, HVAC, and electrical supplies with just a few clicks. Plus, use promo code S-H-5 for 5% off your first order. That’s SupplyHouse.com!UpworkVisit Upwork.com right now and post your job for free to connect with top talent and grow your business today! Just IngredientsVisit JustIngredients.us/Bryce-Harper and use code LOCKEDONMLB for 20% off your order! And for more wellness tips, follow @just.ingredients on Instagram.Monarch MoneyTake control of your finances with MonarchMoney. Use code LOCKEDONMLB at monarchmoney.com for 50% off your first year. GametimeDownload the Gametime app, create an account, and use code LOCKEDONMLBfor $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Download Gametime today. What time is it? Gametime.FanDuelRight now, new customers can get TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS in BONUS BETS when your first FIVE DOLLAR BET WINS! Download the app or head to FANDUEL.COM to get started. Bet with FanDuel—Official Partner of the NBA.FANDUEL DISCLAIMER: 21+ in select states. First online real money wager only. Bonus issued as nonwithdrawable free bets that expires in 14 days. Restrictions apply. See terms at sportsbook.fanduel.com. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit FanDuel.com/RG (C Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The Mariners tried to fumble away last night's game, but Jorge Polanco had other ideas.
Let's talk about it.
Colby, hit it.
You are Locked-on Mariners, your daily Seattle Mariners podcast, part of the Locked-on Podcast Network, your team every day.
Oh, Hoy, Sailors, it is Tuesday, April 8, 2025.
This is Tadning Azales and Colby Patnaud for the Lockdown Marys podcast, part of the Lockdown Podcast Network, your team every day.
This episode is brought to you by Fandul.
Right now, new customers can get $250 in bonus bets when your first $5 bet wins.
And as always, if you want to hear from me and Colby even more and help support the show,
you can check out our Patreon.
All you have to do to check that out is click the link in the description of this episode.
So the Marys beat the Astros 4 to 3 last night in dramatic fashion, or well, for the mayor's normal fashion.
We'll go over all of it from Ryan Bliss is Homer to Logan Gilbert's start,
to the weird scene with Gregory Santos and Gabe Spire to Lori Polanco's Heroics and J.P.
Crawford's insane play. There was a lot that happened in this game.
We'll also get you set for tonight and tomorrow's game.
So we're not particularly sure on who's starting for the Astros.
It seems like it's going to be Framber Valdez, but he has been dealing with a sore throat.
Apparently there's a bug that's been going around in the Astros Clubhouse.
So we'll see if maybe something changes on that front.
It's going to be Hunter Brown against Luis F. Castillo tomorrow.
and obviously Luis Castillo, the one that we all know and love, is starting tonight for the mayor.
So we'll get into those games a little later on.
But let's talk about last night.
It's 4 to 3 win, Colby.
Just give you your takeaways, initial reaction to the win last night.
Sure.
Jorge Polanco is really good.
Dan Wilson is really bad.
Dylan Moore, what are you doing?
Yeah.
Dylan Moore, great at bat.
Yeah.
Played appearance, technically.
Yeah, whatever.
Yeah.
Whatever.
Because that's the important thing.
Miles Mastroponi.
Off the bench.
Good plate appearance.
Second day in a row.
Big time walk.
Terrible bunt decision.
Good bunt laid down.
Horrible day for Julio.
Including coming up flat in a big moment again.
Polo Bails him out
Holy JP
Yeah
And kind of the forgotten
Storyline of the entire game
Logan Gilbert splitter
Dot dot dot wow
Wow
Yeah oh and you know also forgotten
Because of all the heroics
Ryan Bliss finally getting paid off
For all the hard contact he's had
About damn time right
I feel like his process has been really really good at the plate
And hopefully
this is kind of going to jumpstart everything coming together for him.
This is a really impressive piece of hitting.
Fastball on the inside corner and he drives it out to left center field on a cool April night, T-Mobile Park.
It's impressive.
We know he can do this.
We know he's got sneaky pop.
Everybody loves to talk about it because he's like five foot six.
And it's like, oh, you wouldn't expect that type of power.
And it's like, I mean, Altuve has that power.
You know, Petroia had that power.
like Mookie Betz is 5-9, 5-10, and 160 pounds.
He's got that power.
So it's not all that rare anymore.
But yeah, like Bliss, as we know, he's going to play really good defense.
He can create havoc on the bases.
He's got to get on base more, though, in order to do that.
And he's got this power.
So, yeah, Bliss, you know, kind of gets overlooked last night,
but it looked for a while, like he was going to have the game-winning home run.
It just so happened to happen in the fifth inning instead of the eighth or the ninth.
And if not for all the shenanigans in the 8th,
he would have more than likely had the game winning home run.
So, yeah, it was an impressive piece of hitting.
And again, it does feel like Bliss has been hitting the ball hard pretty consistently,
especially over the last three or four days.
I know he got paid off with the RBI single in San Francisco.
Yes, Sunday, I believe it was.
Now he gets the home run.
But we've seen this guy fly out to the warning track a bunch of times.
We've seen him hit a lot of hard grounders right at.
somebody. I think kind of the encouraging signing is that last year, again, short sample,
all of this is a small sample. He had a 31% strikeout rate. This year so far, it is at 20%.
So, you know, again, we'll see. It's only 30 plate appearances. Obviously, he's got to get on
base more than he has so far. But Bliss defensively makes a big difference. And if he starts
to hit at all, then you're looking at a really solid everyday type of player.
I just feel like the plate appearances where he's looked overmatch have been few and far between,
which is a good sign.
Yeah, he seems to.
But it's a good sign.
Yeah, he seems to really know his strike zone.
I don't know what the chase numbers are off the top of my head and all that, but I don't
recall him chasing a ton.
Yeah, I just feel like I've seen many like really bad at bats from him.
Right.
And yeah, you know, right now it does still feel like the, the,
velocity up right now is the one thing he can't cover.
And yesterday they wanted to do that and ended up being more middle and
middle in instead of up and in.
And he hit the mistake and he made a pay for that.
And that is a skill set that you need to have.
But yeah, there's still some holes in bliss,
swing.
But so far, you know, he is the everyday second baseman.
I think we just call him that now, at least until they feel like Cole Young is ready.
And if he continues to, you know, get a little bit of.
better at the plate and perform to any degree it's going to cause an interesting conversation
between Cole Young and Ryan Bliss when Young is ready and it's good like there's nothing
wrong with having multiple middle infielders who are young and cross-controlled and all of that so
but yeah Bliss a little bit over oh overlooked last night yeah for obvious reasons but yeah it was a
good piece of hitting and it's nice to see him finally get paid off for making hard contact yeah so that bottom of the eighth inning uh you get the big time walk from dillamore great uh played appearance uh for more than master bunny walks on four pitches taylor scott is laboring this is why i don't like the butt decision with j p in particular you know brian abrayu is warming up in the pen he's going to face julio no matter what yeah you got scott who's really
struggling to throw strikes. I just felt like that bunt let him off the hook. We can go
around and round in circles about, you know, the philosophy behind bunting and all that good stuff.
But specifically in that situation, when you have a pitcher who's struggling as much as Taylor Scott is,
I just, I really don't like giving him a free out. Yeah, I mean, he had a long at bat with Dylan
Moore and then he walked Master Boney on four pitches. It's like,
Can we give JP a strike or a swing to see if he can maybe lift a ball, do some damage?
Yeah, and it's like I get that JP's not hitting right now, but also he's probably going to give you a decent at bat.
He's probably going to work a count and all that stuff.
And if Scott's really struggling to throw strikes, I trust JP not to expand the zone and to, you know, if he's going to take a walk, I'll take it.
And base is loaded with nobody out is better than runners on second and third.
let's be clear about this.
The reason that J.P.
Bunted was to get the runner to third with one out.
So you could score the tying run with an out.
Like you could hit a fly ball and still score that run where you can't do that
if the runner's on second.
But you have Julio going up.
He's like one for eight against a brayu.
Julio in these situations,
not the best track record,
unfortunately.
And you have a situation where like you cannot strike out.
It's the one thing you have.
have to put the ball in playing, make the other team make a play.
And Julio didn't do it.
And so it didn't work.
Now, thankfully, Polo bailed him out with an insane, like, perhaps the first clutch hit.
I mean, there's been others, but like, that's the big one, right?
With runners in scoring position, that wasn't a home run.
I mean, Randy's double on Sunday.
Obviously, it didn't lead to a win, but.
They lost, so who cares?
That double costs him Victor Robles.
Ty, are you saying that's worth it?
interesting
technically yeah
but yeah so
Dan got bailed out there
you have to give credit to Dylan Moore
who went from the
goat to the guy and I don't mean that
is the way we use goat now
I mean we went from the villain
to a guy who
was leading off the next inning
it would have been very easy for him to try to do too much
but he works the walk along at bat he steals second base
he scores the tie and run
and so you have to give him some credit
for going out there and giving you that quality
even at bat after what just happened.
Master Pony off the bench does his job.
JP does the job
even though it's a stupid job to ask him to do.
And then Julio doesn't,
but thankfully Polo
carries him to the finish line.
And it all set up a fun ninth inning
and arguably the play of the year so far.
I mean, it's really tough when it's up against Robles
and what he did on Sunday.
Yeah.
Very impressive play, nonetheless, by JP Crawford.
Yeah, I think, you know, my feelings on the rubless play versus the JP play, but, uh, I mean,
still a great play by JP.
JP made an incredible play and didn't hurt himself.
Just saying.
I feel like there should be extra merit given to the guy who literally sacrifice his body to make
a play, but sure.
Just because JP's more athletic and can, you know, avoid the injury landing on his, uh,
separating it.
You're out of your mind.
Yeah, the, uh, the Roblo's play was probably better, but, uh, still.
A heck of a play by JP and completely changed the outlook of that entire inning.
Yeah.
So we're going to talk more about that.
We're going to talk some Logan Gelber.
We're also going to talk about that weird bullpen moment in just a second.
But first, a reminder of this episode of the Lockdown Airs podcast is brought to you by Fandul.
The NBA playoffs are almost here.
And Fandul is given new customers an incredible way to get in on the action.
Right now when you join Fandual and place your first $5 bet, you'll get a
$250 in bonus bets if your bet wins.
I love how Fanduel makes betting so easy, whether it's picking my favorite team or diving
into player props.
From three-pointers to steals to assist, Fanduel has so many ways to bet your favorite
player props.
Plus, after the game tips off, you can even combine live prop bets into a same game parlay
for a chance to win big.
Don't miss out.
Head to Fanduel.com and claim your $250 in bonus bets today.
And you're listening to the locked on Mariners podcast.
Mariners win four to three over the Astros last night.
Hey, Logan Gilbert started this game.
And he was pretty damn good.
And it's taking us this long to talk about him,
which honestly feels like a shame.
But that just is kind of a testament to just how crazy this game was
and how many things happened in this game.
But Gilbert goes five and two thirds.
a little bit of
24,
Gilbert showed up
in the final moments
of his start.
You know,
we talked about this
during the off season
where there were a few starts
last year where Gilbert
wasn't able to finish
things off strong.
You know,
he would have a really good start,
but then a couple of mistakes
would happen towards the end
and that would kind of skew everything.
He ends up giving up a home run to Jose Altuvei.
Kind of starts struggling to throw some strikes.
I end up walking Yorna and Alvarez on four pitches to to wrap up the the start.
But also I didn't think that he needed to even be out there for that at bat,
especially after striking out parades.
That felt like a great moment for his night to end right there.
But Dan left him out there for one more batter and it just wasn't a competitive at bat.
Thankfully, it didn't lead to anything.
By the way, Trent Thornton.
Trent Thornton, we've given him a lot of crap to start the year.
hopefully so to be to be fair um but he was nasty last night he was really good at the sweeper and the
curve ball going like yeah and he was and he was fired up he was feeling himself uh so yeah Logan
five and two thirds seven strikeouts two walks uh just the one earn run on the on the home run that was
the only hit that he gave up last night as well that broke up the uh the no hitter um
just three hard hit balls on the night against Logan.
This is obviously an Astros lineup that is struggling almost as much as you are right now.
But still, very impressive start by Logan.
And like you said towards the start of the show, that's Splitter, man.
If you follow pitching ninja, you probably saw it a bunch last night.
But totally, you know what.
that pitch is filthy yeah uh last night gilbert had i believe it was a yeah 60% whiff rate
on the splitter uh which by the way he had a a very good 40% width rate on the slider on top of
that yeah the slider was nasty last night too yeah so i mean it was it was a pretty interesting
mix from gilbert last night i threw 99 pitches so obviously the percentages are just the
pitch total. But yeah, 35 sliders, 24 splitters, 24 fastballs, 15 curveballs. So pretty even
split there, all things considered. No cutters from Logan. Yeah, and the velocity was good.
Like you said, he only allowed the one hit. Funny enough, as interesting as this game was,
there was only six hits combined between the two teams. So.
Yeah, it was, it was a weird one, to say the least.
Logan Gilbert threw one of his splitters with a spin rate of 477, which is, you know, insane.
It's practically a knuckleball.
Yeah, pretty close.
Like the, it was an elite pitch, and he used it whenever he got in trouble.
He used it against lefties and righties.
And it was just a devastating pitch that Houston really didn't have an answer for.
So, yeah, he was very careful with Yordon.
I don't think that's really a surprise or a problem.
It's probably a good idea in general to be pretty careful with Yordon.
But, yeah, he did pretty much manhandle the Astros.
He had one inning where he threw 20 plus pitches and that kind of kept him from getting through six.
A couple of innings where he threw 18 pitches.
So, you know, for him to not get through six is kind of the only blemish on
what he did yesterday.
But he was,
he was nails.
And really,
you know,
Logan Gilbert has been,
I don't even want to say bad,
but Logan Gilbert has had like one poor inning in three starts.
And so he,
you know,
he took the mantle of the opening day starter.
And he's shown you why he's earned it.
He's shown you why he's a Cy Young favorite.
So far,
like it's hard to overstate how good Logan Gilbert has been so far this year.
He's been nails.
So I want to circle back quickly on J.P.'s
play hard hit ball off the bat of victor carintini 99.3 uh off the bat right up the middle the fact
that jp is even able to just keep that ball in the infield pretty impressive but the fact that he's
also able to get upon his knee be able to deliver a fairly i mean an accurate enough throw to first
base to get the out in time i know carantini isn't the fastest dude in the world but still
like that's an insane play i still think that the the play
that he made all those years back against the tigers.
I think that's still the best player,
but what we saw last night,
that's got to be top two, top three.
It's definitely up there.
And it's recent,
so it's better than it actually is.
Sure.
But yeah,
the Candelario play is the signature,
JP Crawford play.
Sure.
Yeah,
yeah,
that's still the king.
So I've delayed it long enough.
I know you have thoughts about it.
Let's talk about it.
So top of the eighth inning.
Gregory Santos.
not doing so hot
ends up getting in a bit of a jam
uh you got gab spire warming up
and the lineup rolls around to yorda and alvarez's spot
and you think okay
there you go it's going to be spire against alvarez
who's terrifying even though that he's off to a poor start
he's just sitting a buck 76 right now but he also walked three times
last night including the intentional walk that they
wound up deciding to
to issue him uh in this inning
but damn
Wilson comes out of the dugout.
Game goes to commercial break.
All right. Game Spires coming in to face
Yordon Alvarez with runners at
second and third, two outs. Biggest moment
of the game. Comes out of commercial
break. Gregory Santos is still on the mound.
I thought my MLBTV
like accidentally went back 30 seconds.
But,
uh, yeah, Aaron Goldsmith was
as perplex as we all are,
which is a common occurrence
this, this year.
Uh, Goldie hasn't, uh,
held back his feelings on some of Dan's decisions
here in the early going.
He has an outright said like,
this is stupid or anything,
but you know,
you know that he's like,
yeah,
yeah,
yeah.
See how this works.
Yeah.
So apparently,
Spire was halfway to the mound
before you realize,
oh,
they didn't actually,
Dan didn't actually call for me.
Dan came out,
talked to Cal.
Talk to Santos.
I guess told him, hey, we're going to walk Alvarez here and we're going after Walker,
which that in a vacuum, if you want to go after Christian Walker over,
Yon on Alvarez, all right, I can understand that.
Sure, fine.
But in that situation, given the context of how that ending had transpired up to that point,
it's sketchy.
Right.
So here's the thing.
Last night, as I do, I tweet.
I tweet through the decisions.
And a lot of people assumed that the mistake, quote, unquote, that Dan made that I was referring to, was walking Yordon.
Because, well, Santos got the ground ball.
He did his job, which is what Dan Wilson said.
Here's the problem.
Dan Wilson had already screwed up five hitters ago.
It's not walking
or it's not a walking
Yordon.
It is going to Gregory Santos
for the second day in a row
when you have six outs to get
and you have your two best relievers,
not even close.
There is not a close third here.
You have your two best relievers
ready to go and available.
They could pitch yesterday and you only needed six outs.
And Dan Wilson made the conscious decision
to go to a lesser reliever who had just
pitched the day before.
Why?
I can only assume because of handed this.
Four righties in a row.
But here's the deal, Dan.
Gabe Spire is better against lefties and righties than Gregory Santos.
You made the mistake when you decided to go Galaxy Brain instead of going, hey, you know what?
Let's go to Gabe Spire to get 8, 9,1.
And then we can have Munoz pitching.
to Paredes, Alvarez,
yeah, and Walker.
So I have my best guy going against their best guy,
no matter what.
I can do that.
And instead, he's like, oh, righties,
we can't have a lefty face in a bunch of righties.
That would be a disaster.
Why?
Because, you know, reasons.
Gabe Spire is good against,
he's your second best reliever.
And again, it's not close.
And he didn't pitch yesterday.
And again,
And again, Spire is not a luggy.
He's good against
Fridays. And in those situations, by the way, you want
strikeouts. All right.
Stantos gives up a lot of contact.
Usually they're ground balls, but in a one-run game, a tight game like that.
Yeah.
You want you want strikeouts.
And so your two best guys are available.
You need to cover two innings.
It was idiot proof.
Go to Spire in the 8th.
And if you get to a situation where Spire can't
it done and Yordon is coming up in the eighth.
Then you go to Munoz.
Munoz is the only guy who should be facing Yordon Alvarez in that situation, the only
guy.
But if you're going to allow somebody else to do it, it should be Gabe Spire.
And Dan Wilson opted for neither.
He screwed up five hitters before the Yardon.
I don't care that he walked Yard on.
Now, we could talk about like, is it smart to walk the bases loaded when your guy's
struggling to throw strikes in a one-run game?
yeah maybe not
but it's yorknhonn versus christian walker
that part i i totally understand
but even then
i would rather have gave spire face christian walker
than that's struggling mary santos
yeah that's what i was about to say it was like
all right you want to walk yordan fine
but again given the context of what led up to that to that moment
and then the fact that it is baseless loaded and santos
is struggling
you're giving him very little room for air
error here. Yeah.
So look, he
got the job done technically.
He got the ball on the ground.
Yeah.
Walker hit a ball that should.
Yeah, but Walker hit a ball that should have resulted in and out.
Yep.
I think Dimo is the guy here that's at the most fault.
Sure.
He didn't come in on the ball.
He tried to give ground to it.
And then he whiffed for the second time in like three games on a ball.
That's a play that just Dillamore has to make in that situation.
100%.
The decision by Dan Wilson is still weird, still should be criticized.
But in that particular moment,
whose fault or the blame ultimately falls on the shoulders of Dillamore?
So here's the thing.
Sometimes being a manager is incredibly easy.
And in a situation like last night, again,
I need two innings, my two best.
leavers are both available and throwing the ball very well right now.
They're the same.
Wow, this is incredibly simple.
I can use my two best guys for these last two innings to win a game.
I kind of really need to win because we just got walked off twice in, you know, in what,
in three days and we just got swept.
And we're one Dylan Moore Homer off of Terrick Scoobble away from losing six in a row.
and this is my division rival,
I got to start turning the ship around.
And it's like, hey, let's go Gregory Santos
because righty versus righty is better, right?
No.
Best pitcher versus their hitters is best.
Always.
I don't care how good Christian Walker is against lefties.
I don't care how good Jake Myers is against lefties.
Gabe Spires good against right.
It's about what your guy does well.
And Dan continues to make these weird decisions about like handedness.
and like, oh, well, we're more of an innings-based type of thing.
And it just, it's insane.
So forget what happened with Dylan Moore and, you know,
whether or not the intentional walk was the right call.
I don't care about the intentional walk.
I could have seen that going either way.
I'm fine with whatever decision he made.
Sure.
It's the decision not to go to your best guy or your second best guy.
Yeah.
When you only need two innings and you have your two best guys ready to go.
That's what I don't get.
Marron is looking for their first series when tonight?
hopefully they're able to clench that.
This is their best opportunity to do so.
They got Luis Castillo taking the bump,
who's been fantastic to start the year against,
it seems like Framberville does,
but it's not confirmed on the Marra's website,
but it seems like it's going to be Framber Valdez.
We'll talk about that as well as tomorrow's game in just a moment.
But first a reminder of this episode of the Lockdown Merris podcast
is brought to you by Just Ingredients.
When it comes to fueling your body, quality matters.
That's why Just Ingredients is changing the game with clean, high-quality products designed to support better health and peak performance.
Just Ingredients offers an NSF-certified line of protein powder, electrolytes, pre-workout, and creatine, all rigorously tested to ensure they're free from substances banned by major athletic organizations.
Just Ingredients has also partnered with two-time MVP Bryce Harper, who trusts their NSF certified sports.
line to fuel his training and recovery.
I love that Just Ingredients
prioritizes wholesome, nourishing ingredients
without the artificial junk.
Visit JustIngridients.us
and use the promo code Lockedon MLB.
That's LOC, KED, ON, MLB for 20% off.
And for more wellness tips,
follow at just dot ingredients on Instagram.
And you're listening to the Locktime Marys podcast.
So M's going for their first series win tonight
against the Astros.
again looks like it's going to be for amber valdez he's been dealing with like a sore throat apparently
there's been a bug going around in houston's clubhouse but i believe chanler rome the athletic
writer for the for the astros said two days ago that it would be framber tonight so
i'm just going to assume that it's going to be him until until further notice even though
that it says on the mayor's website right now tbd against louise castillo but for louis
Luis coming off of a great start against the Tigers where he went toe to toe with Terrick Scouble and straight up outduled him.
That was awesome.
He's been fantastic to start the year, truly.
And, you know, when you look back on how this offseason transpired with all the trade rumors that Luis was in,
now with the context of like the George Kirby injury, it's like, man, where would this team be without Luis Castillo to start this year?
So the Mariners were smart to demand a starting pitcher back.
Yeah.
Yeah.
In any Luis Castillo trade.
But yeah, you know, Luis is kind of, now it's only been two starts.
So, but I do wonder maybe Luis is kind of starting this, you know, mid career or late career,
depending on how you want to look at it, transition into a different type of pitcher.
Sure.
Because it's sinker slider right now is kind of what he is.
And he's getting a ton of ground balls.
And he's not giving up any hard contact.
on the sinker in particular.
The four seamer is not generating as many whiffs.
It's still been a pretty good pitch,
but he's not generating as many whiffs.
We're seeing him down in the zone more than up in the zone.
So, you know, is it just, it's a couple starts
and this is just how it's worked,
or is this kind of like a, you know, a transitional period
for Luis in his career where he's going to be more of a sinker slider guy
and focus on getting deep into games and getting ground balls
and soft contact and, you know, still having the stuff
to get a strikeout when he needs it.
but it's different.
It looks a little different right now for Louise than it did the last two years.
Again, that might just be a two game sample.
That might just be matchup.
That might just be how it ended up working out.
But yeah, it is interesting.
Velo's down again, which isn't unusual in April anyway.
So, you know, it very well could be the type of game where Luis goes and pitches up in the zone
and gets a lot of whiffs on the four seamer.
And it's four seam slider power pitcher Louise Castillo tonight.
but first couple starts it's been you know sinker slider and then mixing in a good change up to the lefties
so yeah it'll be interesting to see what version of louise castillo we get tonight because there
may just be a transition happening here or maybe it's just simply that's just the way the first two games
went so who knows so the other louis castillo taking the bump tomorrow
you're going to see it you're going to be there in person right now watch it all you're stoked
Yeah, just a reminder, the F does not stand for fun.
And what is it stand for?
Or fine.
Or full of possibilities.
Yeah.
The F stands for...
The F stands for the likelihood that the Mariners can win that game.
So if you want to win this series, you know, better win tonight.
And, you know, thankfully the Mariners do have.
have a really good game plan against Framber traditionally.
So, you know, Framber's gotten them or they've gotten Framber a couple times.
Framber's gotten them a couple times.
But in general, they have good at bats.
They generate a lot of traffic and they do fairly well.
I mean, against Framber compared to other Sigh-Young contenders.
So mildly optimistic they could scratch together three or four runs tonight.
But, yeah, tomorrow, I mean, Hunter Brown, it's not even so much.
Hunter Brown is that the Mariners probably had to score six, seven runs to win tomorrow.
And even in the best of circumstances, that's, that's not great.
But, you know, we'll see.
It's baseball weird things happen.
I mean, the Mariners should have won the last Luis F. Castillo start.
Thanks in no part to Luis F. Castillo.
But, you know, they should have won that game.
Oh, and by the way, we're doing a postgame show after the game.
our second Louis F. Castillo start to do a postgame show after.
Awesome.
Yay.
Yeah.
Can't wait to race back to my confines after that liberating game and your undisclosed location.
Yeah, somewhere deep in the Puget Sound.
By that, I mean, literally underwater.
Yeah, it's one of those underwater hotels that you probably see on like Instagram or something.
actually I will be recording the post game show live from the Ferris wheel.
Oh, okay.
So I like it.
Yeah.
If I could rent out one stall for like an hour, just over and over again, never have to leave.
After the Blue Jays Mariners series, I should do a post game show from the C&Tower on the, like on the see-through floor.
Go up in the space and it'll be like, what's going on guys?
Well, on that note, we're dealing with some technical deals.
difficulties. My internet's trying to
abruptly in this recording.
So we're just going to not temp fate
here and we're going to wrap. So yeah.
Unlike why, that's going to do a first show.
That's right.
Thank you so much for joining us here on the lockdown
Marriss podcast for Colby Patnode. I'm Tadine
Gonzalez. Be sure to give us a follow on Twitter
at L0 underscore Mariners. You can follow me at
Tading Gonzalez and Colby at C-Pat-11.
Also on Blue Sky. You can follow me at TDG,
Colby at MLB Colby in the show at Lockdown Mariners.
Have yourself a beautiful baseball day and we'll see you next time.
Please.
