Locked On Mariners - Daily Podcast On the Seattle Mariners - MARINERS POSTCAST: Listener Q+A After Mariners LOSS vs Phillies
Episode Date: August 20, 2025Anders and Chris debut the Postcast Q+A after the Mariners game vs the Phillies. Bryce Miller returned from the IL and was okay. Meanwhile, Christopher Sanchez dominates the Mariners lineup. Supp...ort Us By Supporting Our Sponsors! 5-Hour ENERGYTee up that trip! Enter for a chance to win a dream golf trip for two to any golf tournament* in the USA. Visit 5HEWIN.com for full rules and entry. No purchase necessary. Excludes the Master’s tournament. Ends October 31, 2025. PrizePicksDownload the PrizePicks app today and use code LOCKEDONMLB to get $50 in lineups after you play your first $5 lineup.PrizePicks — Run Your Game.Click Link Here: https://prizepicks.onelink.me/LME0/LO... Monarch MoneyTake control of your finances with Monarch Money. Use code LOCKEDONMLB at monarchmoney.com/lockedonmlb for 50% off your first year. GametimeDownload the Gametime app, create an account, and use code LOCKEDONMLB for $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Download Gametime today. What time is it? Gametime. FanDuelToday's episode is brought to you by FanDuel. Football season is around the corner, visit the FanDuel App today and start planning your futures bets now. FANDUEL DISCLAIMER: 21+ in select states. First online real money wager only. Bonus issued as nonwithdrawable free bets that expires in 14 days. Restrictions apply. See terms at sportsbook.fanduel.com. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit FanDuel.com/RG (CO, IA, MD, MI, NJ, PA, IL, VA, WV), 1-800-NEXT-STEP or text NEXTSTEP to 53342 (AZ), 1-888-789-7777 or visit ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-522-4700 (WY, KS) or visit ksgamblinghelp.com (KS), 1-877-770-STOP (LA), 1-877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY), TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN) Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This is the Mariners Postcast.
Your instant game reaction for the Seattle Mariners.
Part of the Locked-on Podcast Network, your team every day.
Hey, Jerry, should you maybe thrown in that extra prospect for John Duran?
Maybe.
So you compare, you know, how he looked for the Phillies tonight versus how Matt Brashed in for the Mariners tonight.
Yeah, maybe.
Hey, Dan Wilson, you realize you can use your reliever, best reliever,
before the ninth inning, right?
Right?
Oh, wait, wait.
Am I in a time machine?
Is it still 1995?
Yes.
I love it.
So much good music.
Yeah, that's true.
That's the one positive from today.
There's some hair sticking out of my hat here.
If you guys can't tell, I'm ticked off after that one.
Because, yeah, the Mariners lost game two against the Philadelphia.
Yes, the Philadelphia Phillies.
Christopher Sanchez destroyed them.
But as soon as you get to the bullpen, you show some life.
Arihenio Suarez had his breakout game, question mark,
in a Seattle Mariners uniform once again.
Came through with a massive double with two outs to tie the game.
And yeah, then they poop the bed in the eighth inning,
going to Matt Brash.
And it's not like I didn't expect it to happen,
but it's been happening all year,
and I hope we can change our mentality on that some days.
But I don't see it happening.
We're going to debut something special today.
We're going to be doing a listener Q&A today.
We'll do a quick recap of the game here,
kind of go through moments and stuff,
but we want to hear from you guys.
Ask questions in the chat.
We'll put it on the screen.
Chris and I will answer.
We'll kind of just go through that for most of the show today.
So if you have anything you want to check out,
if you want to ask us, let me know or let us know.
Put it in the live chat there,
and we can put it on the screen,
and we'll be good to go.
This is Chris Crawford's idea.
by the way, I'm not going to take credit for it.
So really appreciate that, guys.
So, Chris, thoughts on the game.
Bummer.
Like, just bummer, man.
Like, this was a game that you were thoroughly outplayed for most of it, right?
But, like, you get that chance to come back,
and you do have that comeback, and you just can't get it done.
And I'm concerned about how this team has looked on the road more than anything else.
I'm just not pleased.
to see this team once again having this kind of brain fart.
And I don't know if it's a mental brain.
It is a little mental.
It's a little physical.
It's a little bit of everything.
But there definitely is gas coming out of brain one way or another.
And it's just frustrating.
It's especially frustrating watching the Astro stink out loud right now and not
taking advantage of it.
It's frustrating watching the rest of the American League just be absolute dog turds.
and you can't do anything about it.
You should be, I don't know, man.
I'm just really, this was a frustrating game.
There were some really bad performances.
There was a questionable, at least one questionable managerial decision.
And I don't know.
I'm excited for this, though.
And here's the thing that we need to say.
Like, you guys need to ask the right questions.
Like, ask what you need to ask, right?
Like, ask about what we thought about Bryce Miller.
Ask about what we thought about this,
because we want to make this as,
this is kind of a thank you to you guys to,
the listeners,
because you guys have been so unbelievably awesome
and we want to make sure that you guys know how appreciated you are.
This is not,
hope that doesn't come off as patronizing,
you know,
like,
oh,
we're so cool that we're willing to let you ask questions to us.
No,
it's just,
this is just kind of a fun thank you way to,
um,
get you guys involved as well,
because you guys sure have been awfully great to us over these past,
three and a half months three months something like that yeah no it's great having you guys
come and hang out that's every single night uh and uh just so we're clear we're if you want to have
a take maybe throw it in there with a question sure yeah yeah like hey what did you think of
brys miller tonight i thought he was pretty good but i want to know your guys's thoughts so we're
we're doing questions please uh and then we'll kind of answer that but i want to quickly get
your thoughts on the Matt Brash thing.
I've been kind of waiting for something like this to happen for a while.
And that kind of sounds like, hey, I've just been waiting for my moment to give my take.
But we saw something with Scott's service where he would use his best reliever,
not always in the ninth inning.
It just depends on what part of the lineup that you're facing.
And you're going up against the 345, Bryce Harper, J.T. Real Mutu.
I forget who was fifth in the order, but it kind of didn't matter after that.
And it was it was in the eighth inning.
Theoretically, mapping it out, if you get those three guys,
then you're facing the bottom of the lineup, 6, 7, 8 in the ninth inning, right?
I would rather have my best reliever facing the 3, 4, 5 guy than the 6, 7, 8 guy.
And I realized there's a lot of people like, hey, yeah, he's the setup man.
this is like this is what they've done i'm not disputing that whatsoever i didn't expect it to happen
uh but it's just something that i've been waiting to kind of ask you about so i'm wondering
what your thoughts are on this if you think matt rash is the best reliever on the team then fine
then that's you like great um and then munoz is just the ninth inning guy whatever but i don't
think that's what's happening with dan wilson i think he literally is expecting uh just waiting
for the save opportunity for to use andres mousas
Yeah, I think my biggest issue actually might be different than everybody else's.
It's once again, why can Gabe Spire only go one inning?
Why is Gabe Spire not available to pitch to Bryce Harper there, right?
Because I'll be honest with you.
If J.T. Remedo gets Matt Brash, I'm okay with it, right?
But what I'm not okay with is it being a two-run homer because why not have your best left-handed
reliever face that left-handed hitter, right?
Like, why is that?
And I need to look and to make sure that Bryce gave, he sparred through 11 freaking
pitches, okay?
Like, why is he not facing him?
And then I'm okay with going to Brash.
And if you give up the solo ding-dong there, so be it.
I'm all right there.
But why give up that, add that extra charge, right?
Why add that literal extra charge of an extra run in this game?
That's more what I'm concerned about.
and the fact that just Matt Brash has had some oops magoops lately, right?
And, you know, he threw 22 pitches.
So he is not going to be available for tomorrow based on how he pitched.
Maybe that's not such a bad thing, right?
But, like, my biggest issue is not going to Munoz there.
I would love to see Munoz facing the best hitters in the best situation.
So I wouldn't have hated that either.
But why not leave Gabe Spire in for one more backer?
I don't understand it.
Honestly, I didn't even think of that.
And I probably would have done that as well.
Then that way you probably get Harper out.
I mean, not probably.
Harper's a really good hitter.
He may you get inspired to,
but you want to give yourself the best opportunity to get him.
Any of the other thoughts on the game before we get to the Q&A?
Just real quick, I thought Bryce Miller was not good today,
but I saw enough good today that I am encouraged going forward, right?
Like outside of really that, I believe it was the third inning
when he gave up the couple of runs.
Like outside of that, I thought he actually picked.
pretty well. So not a good start from Bryce Miller, not what you sign up for, but you saw the
glimpses of the Bryce Miller that we need to see down the stretch. That's my only other time.
Yeah, he wasn't by any means like back and better than ever, so to speak. But usually when you
see guys return from the aisle as long as he's been on it, you see some struggles. And I thought
mostly he was good. And just the long-term signs didn't even kind of,
show their ugly heads, so to speak. Do you want to do quick ad reads and then we'll get to
that and then we'll get into questions. Okay. Before we do that real quick, I'm sorry, I just took your job.
I'm bad. No, you go ahead. No, no, go. I was just going to say this is the perfect time to leave those
questions right now, right? Because we're going to be away from the screen for a couple of seconds.
So anything you guys have to ask, I'll scroll up and I'm sure Anders will too, but this is the
best time. It can be about tonight's game. If you want to do something, a little bigger picture,
you can talk whatever you guys want to ask.
We're here to kind of help.
Have you guys be heard, so to say.
Yes. And then if you want to throw in your takes as well, of course, we'll
add those in there as well. But really quick, we'll give some love to our sponsors,
then we'll do the Q&A. August 26 is officially Fandul Futures Day,
a brand new holiday for football fans who live for bold predictions and pre-season
hunches. For just 24 hours, FanDul is giving you deals on NFL season predictions.
So whether you're calling your MVP, eyeing a long shot.
division winner are ready to crown your Super Bowl champ before week one even kicks off.
This is your moment. This is the best part about a day like this, right? Because, you know,
it's the Josh Allen's, the Lamar Jackson's and stuff. I won't hate you or call you a
nincompoop for betting on them to win MVP. But today's today to do the long shot, right? To do the,
you know, I believe that Justin Herbert is going to have a crazy year, right? And maybe he, because of
lack of expectations for the Chargers, he does well. Well, you're going to get a better deal from
Fanduel doing it on this day than you would before. Or if you're like, you know what, I think that
the Miami Dolphins have the chance to win the NFC East. I think that they're not getting good enough
odds. This is the day to bet on a game like that. Visit Fandual app today and start planning your
futures bets now because futures day is one day and one day only. Fan Duel, play your game.
This episode is brought to you by prize picks,
the daily fantasy platform that lets you turn your football predictions into real rewards.
Preseason is already heating up and college football isn't far behind.
Whether you've got your eye,
sorry, I just went straight into your thing, but I'll kind of keep going.
Whether you got your eye on big name quarterbacks or breakout running backs,
prize picks makes it easy to get in the game.
Yeah, it's the stuff that you're looking for, right?
Like you're looking for something that's easy to play.
You're looking for something that pays you quickly.
You're looking for something that's fun and exciting.
Price picks is going to give you all three of those.
So Anders was so excited about how good price picks is
that he wanted to steal my $65 million advertising deal with all of these guys.
I get it.
I get it.
But yeah, definitely check out price picks, folks.
Download the prize picks app today and use code locked on MLB to get $50 in lineups
after you play your first $5 lineup.
That's code locked on MLB to get $50 in lineups after your first $5 play.
prize picks run your game.
All right, Chris Crawford, lead it out.
Here we go.
Can you see JP moving to third base next year if the Mariners find a defensive upgrade
at third?
I don't think so because of the lack of arm strength.
I don't think that's where he goes.
I would imagine that second base would be the most likely landing spot for Crawford.
I think Crawford plays for a new team next year.
I just have a funny feeling that that JP Crawford, as popular as he is,
I think that they kind of realize what they have in Colt Emerson,
the fact that he's holding his own in AA already,
the fact that there could be some options if you,
as a stopgap, you know, type of thing.
I just have a kind of a funny feeling that J.P. Crawford.
But third's a good question.
I just don't know if he has the offensive upside,
nor the arm strength for third base.
Second base, I think he could do both, right?
But I think Cole Young is probably the answer there.
Yep, I basically concur.
there's a maybe you and I talked about this earlier.
There's maybe a thought he could be DH next year.
Yeah.
If he's still the on-based king that he is,
I'd take that over what Mitch Garver's giving you right now occasionally.
So I don't know.
I kind of'm with you.
It seems like it's run its course,
the J.P. Crawford experience here,
especially with so many middle-linked fielders coming up.
Question number two from Brian.
Why are the M's pitchers so awful at holding runners?
First of all, Brian, thank you for everything.
as always, you are the absolute man.
He's been following us for a long time,
both a KJR, my oi, all that stuff.
Brian is the absolute best.
Bryce Miller in particular is terrible at it, right?
Like, he was basically doing a Hadeo-nomo delivery there,
like, and with runners on base.
And it really hurt him, right?
Because that should have been a one-run inning at most.
Now, don't walk the ninth guy.
That's kind of another thing that's a big issue, too.
But they are.
the Mariners have kind of a strategy of, hey, get the guy out, right?
We'll make do with make do.
But like the pitching staff hasn't been good enough for that.
You have to hold runners.
You have to do a better job of shutting down that running game.
But Bryce Miller in particular is real bad at holding runners.
It's very frustrating.
I got another one here from David, Chris.
You can scroll through and find one you like if you want.
How much longer can they survive with Polanco question mark?
key is 10 for 51 with only two extra base hits in August.
It doesn't allow outfielder to get a break off their feet he needs to produce.
I concur with a lot of what you're saying.
He's been through major ups and downs.
He's about as inconsistent as a hitter as the Mariners have had this year because he had an amazing April, an awful May, God awful May.
But, and Dan kept him in the lineup.
He had an okay June.
He had a good July again.
And then in August, he's been bad again.
So it's just a weird situation for him where when he's going, he's going really well.
And he looks like a great part of this lineup.
And I've been one to sing his praises whenever it happens.
I will say he did look good at second base today.
Made a couple really good plays.
And that's something I don't have as much worry with going forward because every time he steps in there, he looks fine.
But you have to produce with the bat.
It's just what he is at the same.
point. I don't know what your thoughts are on that. No, I totally agree. I totally agree that there's just
there's too much up and down, right? Like, this is why Jorge Polanco won't play for the Mariners
next year. Barring something unforeseeable, I think it's really hard to justify just because the highs are
high and the lows are low. There's many songs written about Jorge Polanco season, the good and the good
with the bad and the bad. A lot of Victor Robles questions. Do you think it should just activate
Robles now so that he can start a suspension and come back sooner?
for those who missed it, Victor Robles suspended 10 games.
He is appealing that suspension.
Now is the time to appeal it because he's not on the major league roster.
So definitely want to get that done.
It's pretty easy what you do with Robles.
You wait to activate him September 1st when you have an extra couple of roster spots.
Because for those who don't know, when you're suspended 10 games or whatever, you're not put on the restricted list, you are taking up a roster spot.
So you have to play one man short.
And everybody who's made a Dylan Moore joke that they're playing one man short,
you're correct.
But it is something that you definitely have to keep in mind.
So this is why, you know, instead of a 28-man roster to begin the year,
you just go with a 27th.
So you activate him September 1st, after September 12th, probably.
I imagine they'll have a day off in between one of those days.
Then Victor Robles will be ready to play.
But it kind of works out nicely that the expanded rosters happen.
and right around the time you're probably expecting Victor Robos to play.
I will say this, Anders, I was shocked it was only 10.
I thought it was going to be 15 or 20.
I really thought that he was going to get,
not the book thrown at him,
but book adjacent for doing something like that.
So I was really surprised it was only 10.
And if I was Victor Robles,
I would just take the suspension to be completely honest with you.
Yeah, I don't think it's getting reduced to be completely honest.
And it's funny because Ryan Will and Smith,
I don't know if you were listening to the broadcast tonight,
but he talked about a story of him getting suspended.
for throwing at someone.
And he also got a 10-game suspension.
So for anyone saying, like, hey, like, there's pitchers who would get two games for
beating someone, this is a different situation, number one.
Number two, like, you threw the bat at a guy.
Yeah, come on.
Come on.
Okay.
Real quick to answer in this question.
No, I got rid of it.
I'm sorry.
That's okay.
The question was, is that true for PED-type suspensions, too?
No, because a PED suspension now is an automatic.
80 games, so you're automatically put on the restricted list.
So we even saw the Phillies activated somebody who was suspended for 80 games today, Jose
Alvarado, they had to clear a spot on the 40-man roster to put him on.
It's a little weird to me, you know, but I also get it that you're not going to ask a team
to play without, play a 25-man roster instead of 26 for 80 games as well.
What about SB 4321 YT?
Do you think the Mariners window for a championship is closing after this year, or is it still
wide open. It's wide open. As frustrating as like this last week's or so is, I still can look and say,
oh, my goodness gracious, do they have a special foundation going with this team? Now, that doesn't mean
you can't be frustrated too, right? You can be frustrated that they didn't do it enough in the off season
to make this amazing trade deadline, excuse me, mean even more, right? You can be frustrated.
You can be frustrated that they didn't spend the necessary dollars to improve this roster. You can do a bunch of
things while also acknowledging that they have, if not the best farm system in baseball,
one of the top five.
And it's not like that's not even debatable, right?
Like top three even.
You have a ton of young talent locked up.
You have one of the best pitching development staffs in all of baseball.
No, this window's open, right?
Now, how long is it open for Jerry DePoto and company?
I don't know.
I really don't know.
That's another question.
But whoever, if they were to make that front office move, and I'm not going to say I would or I'm not going to say if I wouldn't.
But I will say this, that would be the most highly sought after job in sports.
Because anybody, even knowing that you have Ebenezer Scrooge as an owner, you are still going to have so much talent to play with.
Somebody would want that thing.
But yeah, I don't think this window is closing.
All right.
What about from a macro question to a very micro question?
Do you think the mayor is win tomorrow?
probably you can't lose them all we've gone from you can't win them all to you can't lose them all
i mean two and seven road trip would be really bad it would be really really bad like it basically
erases your nine and oh right like it basically or nine and one i think that homestand was right
i think they probably win i i bet it on louise castillo to be better but i will tell you this man
one of the reasons i can't say for sure that philly's team is good
That's a really good baseball team.
My World Series favorite.
Yeah.
I totally get it.
I totally get it.
I would feel more confident if I saw
Aaron Nola pitching better, you know, and he just came off the energy list.
And I'm concerned about the Zach Wheeler thing, right?
But like, they're so deep.
They have so much talent in that lineup that, yeah.
But I think they went tomorrow.
All right.
From Matthew, Bryce got three games for throwing his helmet and punches.
Why is that different?
I'm getting 10.
Oh, because he threw a guy somebody.
Yeah, like, I get it.
Like, it's just different.
Plus the stuff afterwards too, right?
Like, but like when you aim a bat at someone,
I don't care what anybody tells me.
He was aiming his bat to throw at the dude, right?
It's just different.
It's different with a batman.
It's different.
Whether it should be or not, it's different.
Daniel Barber, I know you're being facetious,
but it's funny. Why didn't Wilson use anyone who doesn't give up run instead of using Brash?
I like the Steve Howe one that he asked earlier. Okay, yeah, that's good.
That was, but it was funny.
For someone who disagrees with my take, if you can have a joke about it, excellent.
It's funny. It's why we're here.
And here's the thing, Daniel, repetition is the funniest. So keep going. Keep on going.
We're not going to put your comments up ever again, but keep on. No, no, I'm just joking.
We're very much joking. But yeah, I mean, look,
nobody here is saying Matt Brash sucks out loud.
No, no.
We're just saying that like,
it's a process, right?
Maybe they didn't use that situation to the best of their abilities, right?
Like, maybe they didn't put their players in the best position to succeed.
And my frustration ultimately comes down with,
why not have Gabe Spire face Bryce Harper?
Yeah, I have the same question.
I have the same question.
All relievers besides Brash available tomorrow, says Tyler.
I would assume.
I would assume.
so because
I think of who wouldn't be.
No,
Bizarro didn't
grow very many
pitches.
Spire should be fine.
Brash definitely
not available
tomorrow.
Hopefully we don't have to see
Sorin Low
all due respect to him.
Like that's definitely
an emergency.
Or if we do,
it's hey,
26 to 1.
That's fun to see.
Let him get those.
But,
yeah,
just like Game Spire
pitch to Bryce Harper.
I'm kind of with you on that.
I don't know
what Harper's
splits look like. I haven't dug deep into that.
I think it's more me confident and gave Spire against a left-handed man.
Yeah. That's more than, because Bryce Harper is not a platoon player or anything like that.
But like, I just have so much confidence in Bryce Harper against the South Paw right now that
that's what I would do. I'm looking for more questions. I don't know if you've seen one.
Well, I stopped looking because I was distracted by the Red Sox tying the game up against the Royals.
Let's see.
This is good audio right now.
I'm going to do this one.
Can we just say this?
The Mariners are barely a playoff team and definitely not a World Series contender.
They're pitching is bad.
Gilbert fastball's two miles per hour slow.
He's hurt.
I don't think I agree with that.
Now, Gilbert could be hurt, right?
He may not be like...
You know?
No, but it could do, right?
Like, it's certainly possible.
He doesn't have the same pop on his,
fastball, but like for six innings against the Baltimore Orioles, this guy absolutely shoved,
right? And he's had some really good starts since coming back from the injured list.
We could be frustrated by that stuff. Also, the Mariners are barely a playoff team.
Depends on what you mean by barely a playoff team.
That's my question, too. Like, that's where it gets subjective, right?
Yeah. If they are a wild card team, is that what you consider barely a playoff team?
Yeah. And I think, I mean, technically, you know?
I will say this.
If we had the old four team division or four team playoff thing, I would be panicked.
Oh, yeah.
Panicked.
But six, I'm still feeling pretty good.
All right.
Seahawks fan 97.
Who needs to be the first pick up a slot to tennis one?
I like this question.
Who needs to be the one?
It's a really good question.
I will say this.
When the mariners have been at their best, especially in the early August,
it was Josh Naler kind of running things, right?
And he's not been good.
It's been really bad.
And I think that might be the guy who's hurt, right?
In fact, saw a little bit of the, and for those of you who are listening, the stuff, you know what I mean?
The grimacing, yeah.
The grimacing, being an old man.
Yeah.
White in that beard.
It's so pathetic.
Am I going to die someday?
It's essential here.
They need that guy.
They need Bryce Harper.
They do need Bryce Harper.
That'd be a fair trade.
No one more for Bryce Harper.
Who says no.
They need Josh Naylor, like to be that guy, right?
Like, they need him.
I will also say this just because nobody's asked about it.
Julio was terrible today.
Oh, just the worst game he's played in August by far,
which is both a compliment to how good he's been in August
and both an insult to how terrible of the baseball player he was today.
The fact that he got an RBI for driving in that.
That was one of the worst at-bats.
I've seen it a long time.
Good for Gino for making up for it.
Yes.
Like, they really needed that.
But to answer your question,
I think Josh Naler is kind of the catalyst of this offense right now.
And it's weird to say for a guy who's hitting fourth or fifth.
Yeah.
But when I've seen Josh Nailer playing at his absolute best,
I felt like this offense is a wagon.
When I have seen Josh Nailer over the last week or so,
not so waggony.
Well, and it's good you point that up offensively
because, like, the biggest difference,
because Julio's still hitting, like, besides today, obviously,
but up until now, even through this kind of rough patch,
Cal's still hitting.
He's fine.
He was a two-day game today.
It's really been Naylor and Canzone.
I mean, and Canzone's still fine,
but, like, that's not what you expect.
But that's the biggest drop-off offensively.
And that's where I get to me,
if you're going to get out of this,
they call it a stopper for a reason.
You need a pitcher.
I don't even care who it is.
If it's Castillo tomorrow,
if it's,
what is it,
Kirby the next day.
If it's Gilbert,
if it's Bryce Miller,
if it's Brian Wu,
whoever it is,
they need to be an ace.
I'm sorry.
I'm done with this like,
hey, we have five second starters.
Yay.
The Crackin,
we have five second lines.
Yay.
No, we're not.
We need an ace.
We did an ace performance out of one of your starting pitchers.
And they need to kind of be aces.
At least one guy has to be perform like an ace for the rest of this season
if the Mariners have a good shot at being a World Series contender.
I don't know what you think about that.
It's probably Brian Wu too.
I'm just being honest.
And I'm not trying to be too prisoner over the moment here because, again,
I will point out, Logan Gilbert and George Kirby were both fantastic against Baltimore
before STBing this next.
few starts, right? There's just simply no denying. And Luis Castillo has been fantastic up until
that clunker that he had previously, right? So it's not like the starting pitching is just so
atrocious or anything, right? But at some point, this pitching's got to carry him. At some
point, this pitching staff does have to carry him. That's totally fair. Real quick, though,
I'm glad you brought up Cal. He played an awesome baseball game. Yes, he did. Like one of his best games
just a designated hitter that I have seen from him in a while because take a look at the numbers.
They have not been great as the DH. And that's not, and again, that's not really an insult to Cal.
Some people like doing it. Some people hate it. And I bet you Cal freaking hates it.
I bet you he wants to be in the field, micromanaging the hell out of it, right? Like,
he wants to be doing that. But like, man, um, again, Zach, I love you. Julio's a top three player
in baseball over the last two months. L.O.L. One bad night.
We are talking about tonight.
That's what we are talking about.
I love all of you so much.
We are reacting to one game.
It's the American podcast from the Philadelphia Phillies on August 19th.
Oh, I love that.
It's why we do it every day, guys.
Hey, it's why we do it every day.
That's right.
That's right.
Like, because we are going to wax poetically about Julio
when he has a massive series against,
uh,
um,
okay,
that's apparently where there was a comment about Julio.
So I apologize, Zach.
I bet.
You know what, Zach?
No, I'm not sorry.
I'm just kidding.
Well, what do we make of Mitch behind the plate?
He's not Cal Raleigh.
I'll tell you that much.
Would you rather see Harry Ford?
No.
No?
No.
Honestly, I think it's a valid question.
It's a very valid question.
So here's what I will say.
When we talk about roster stuff, and Ty and Colby, you'll get more into this.
But just in case, I don't.
get my say.
Victor Rubles has to be one of those guys.
I think Harry Ford has to be one of those guys.
And I think
Leo Rivas probably has to be one of those guys.
Oh, yeah.
Big Leo Rivas stands.
Yeah.
Does it have to be one hit or one pitcher in terms of?
I don't remember because, oh yeah,
because I just named three guys, by the way.
I forgot.
I keep thinking it's 25 to 28.
It's 26 to 28.
But to answer.
of your question, Craig. And by the way, Craig, we really appreciate.
Yep. Let me see you every night. You're the man. I keep wanting to say Craig white out as in
wide receiver, but we ride right out. We ride out at dawn for my good friend, Craig. It's not good
behind the plate. Like, he didn't have any chance to throw at any of those runners, right?
But you also saw neither of the throws were particularly good. They were all off the mark.
It's not the best. Yeah. I'll kind of double up on that. Whoops.
to move down, as I said it. Evan says, what is Mitch Garver doing for you that Harry Ford can't?
Being in the major leagues. Yeah, that's such a long question thing. Like, because clubhouse chemistry matters so much right now. And I'm not saying that Harry Ford would destroy the clubhouse or anything like that. I've heard that he's a wonderful kid, wonderful, wonderful kid. But Mitch Garver is a really popular player, really popular player. Really popular player.
And that does matter some.
And there is also something about the comfortability with pitching to him too, right?
Like asking a guy like Harry Ford to catch in the middle of a playoff run, that's pretty tough.
That's pretty tough.
I'd love to have Harry Ford as a bench option, right?
I'd love to have him.
Like, I think he makes a ton of sense.
But I just don't know if it makes a ton of sense.
replace Mitch Garver with Harry Ford right now. Yeah, it makes sense when you're doing the September
call-ups and if you want to carry three catchers. Yeah, absolutely. And if you want to DH one of them,
they still have someone to go to after. Yeah. So, yeah, and it's, it's just hard to explain. It's the most,
this is such a bull crap answer because I'm not able to eloquently succinctly state what
exactly it is but like
huh well and everyone thinks like oh he can't be worse
to Mitch Garver yeah yeah he can
there's a reality where he is worse than Mitch Garver
did you mother Fers not watch Seby Zavala
last year come on
it can get a lot worse and actually Mitch Garver swung the bat
pretty well lately too I think that's worth pointing out
but behind the plate he's not very good I really wish
Mitch Garver could play first base. By the way, Donovan Solano, once again, I believe not used in this game.
What's the point? Give Josh Naylor arrest, please. Give him a break.
Yeah. And I get it. If you were to see the lineup today and it says Donovan Salano,
Dylan Moore, Mitch Carver, everyone's flipping bleep, right? So I get it. Like there's an optics thing to go with that as well.
Okay. Let's do a couple more. I have one lined up after this one and then I'll get out of here.
We're going a little long.
So Seahawks fan 97.
That's a good year to become a Seahawk fan.
Hey, see you guys.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Do you guys believe leadership is the issue for why this team implodes when one or two things don't spend our way?
Mental fortitude.
Something else.
I don't know if it's leadership per se.
When he says leadership, does that mean coaching?
Yeah, that's a great question too, right?
Because.
Or is a player leadership?
And it's really hard because, you know, Anders has been in that clubhouse.
You know, I've never been in that clubhouse.
They, if I even tried to go in there, they would absolutely, um, my head would be somewhere else.
Right.
It would be.
That's not true, Chris.
No, they like me.
Okay.
I would just say, hey, I'm the grandson.
I'm the grandson.
Remember you really like my grandma.
Please.
I, I, I, I, there is something to asking about the mental fortitude of this team, right?
There just have been a few.
enough losses to make you go hot,
which is funny because, like,
A. Oh, Anio Suarez,
one of the great clubhouse guys.
Donovan Salano, we just talked about it,
one of the great clubhouse guys.
Cal Rale is clearly a leader.
Like, Julio, one of the fun,
get these guys fired up type of guys, too, right?
Like, I think the personalities mix fine.
I just kind of wonder if the personalities
don't ultimately work, right?
because and Joe Sheen brought it up today on KJR with Ian Freness.
He kind of just speculated.
I don't think he knows the answer to it because we kind of asked him the same thing, right?
It's rain delays.
It's long East Coast road trips and you're going across multiple time zones.
It's just any sort of thing where, you know, your routine's off a little bit, right?
It's a little bit different than what you're used to.
And I realize baseball players are set on their routines big time.
But maybe there's like a travel.
schedule situation where it doesn't work out.
Like, just an administrative, like, thing going on where it's like, hey, they travel and they get in super late to their hotel instead of traveling earlier in the day, right?
Or I don't know.
I don't know.
This is like just all reasons that it could happen.
But it seems to happen a little too frequently to be.
It stands out.
Yeah.
And it's not like, it's one thing to lose and to not have, you know, the results in those games.
but it's the way it happens right it's far too often and i'll use rain delays specifically
far too often it's it's just an absolute did this team even show up after a rain
delay question mark right it's not like oh they battled and it was a ninth inning walk off homer for
the other team oh don't like no it's like 10 to uh like bats don't show up pitching isn't
there yeah and it's like what is going on and it was all happened to fall on those days so
that's the only way I can look at it and be like, hey, your manager has to get you up.
And like when you go down again, hey, we're having a two-hour rain delay.
You've got to get back up for it.
Can we do one more?
I think he had one more that you really.
Yeah, I do.
I do have one more from words distorted.
Oh, yeah.
What did you guys think of the wall denying two home runs?
Jeez, Louise.
And that's the thing, too, is that bad break stand out more.
Not playing well, too, right?
Like, there's, A.
Elenio Suarez missed that home run by, like, literal inches.
I'm so happy to see him hit the ball
though. He looks so much better.
Yes. So much better. So that's very encouraging.
But it's also, again,
we cannot discount the fact that the Mariners were built
on an ancient burial ground, right? Because
as soon as Eulhenio Suarez starts hitting,
somebody stops, right? And I know
not everybody can hit at the exact same time, right?
Not everybody. It'd be nice if there wasn't
one person super hot and one person sucking
out loud, right? Like, there has to be something, right? There should be a modicum of
evenness to this. And there just isn't. Whenever one player gets really hot for the Seattle
Mariners, and it's, we're talking about important players. Yes. One of those players are not good.
One of those players ends up not being good. And it's just super frustrating. It's why you go and
get depth to be sure, because not everybody can be good at the same time. But, man,
that Baltimore and whatever you want to call Philadelphia now.
By the way, that cream cheese sucks.
Wow.
Should we end it on that?
I just want to say really quick.
Thank you guys so much for putting in your questions tonight.
It was great.
Fun stuff.
I can promise you we're going to do this again sometime this season.
We like interacting with you guys a lot.
Sometimes you don't get the opportunity to if we have a lot to say.
And don't get me wrong.
We see all your comments.
Sometimes it's just hard to fit it in in the conversation.
So I think today was a perfect way to kind of, hey, you know, we see you guys.
We want you guys to be a part of the conversation.
We're going to do that definitely in the future again soon.
So great idea, Chris Crawford.
Hey, thank you.
And just the other thing, too, is the reason why I want to do this.
And I think we should probably just try to do this like once every couple of weeks,
something like that, you know?
I like it.
The other thing, you guys, if you get frustrated that we don't show your comments or we don't
interact, Anders and I also have like specific things we have to go over every game, right?
Like we can't really free flow as much as we would like to.
Like it'd be really fun if we could.
But since we are recapping one game, we just kind of have to go with that.
So it's not a we hate you.
We think you're better than you or anything along those spectrums.
We just, there are certain things that we have to hit on.
We're supposed to do it a lot shorter than this.
We're not getting trouble for this episode, be honest.
You know what, though?
But like, you know what?
The David will understand.
I'll talk to David after this.
and he'll say.
Wow.
Yeah, that type of relationship with a big name.
David was,
David was really mean to me once on a,
uh,
when I called in about an NBA draft question.
I'll just say that.
And then, uh,
yeah,
that's true,
by the way.
It's very,
very,
very true.
And to be fair,
I was an idiot kid,
but,
uh,
just letting you guys know that.
Like,
if we don't interact and stuff,
it's not because we have anything.
We think our thing matters more.
It's just that we have to hit that stuff.
We have to do every week.
And we,
super appreciate the support.
We'll talk to you guys later.
Have a good one.
For anyone who's interested in Seahawks content,
we're about to go live in about 20 minutes for the Seahawks squad show, myself.
I got Corbin.
No, Rob Rang with me and then Robert Turbin as well,
former Seahawks running back on the Lock on Seahawks channel.
So tune into that.
If you want Seahawks content, we'll be going over,
roster cuts and stuff like that.
Really appreciate you guys hanging out with us tonight.
We'll talk to you guys again tomorrow.
Please like the video if you haven't already.
It really helps us out a lot.
last word Chris Crawford, don't say until the cream cheese sucks. I'm just going to keep doing the thumb
thing until the video ends.
