Locked On Mariners - Daily Podcast On the Seattle Mariners - MLB SQUAD SHOW! Blue Jays DEFY Odds and SILENCE Critics | Can They Topple the Mighty Dodgers?
Episode Date: October 24, 2025World Series Showdown: Dodgers vs. Blue Jays - Who Will Reign Supreme?The Los Angeles Dodgers and Toronto Blue Jays face off in an unexpected World Series matchup. Can the Blue Jays' complete team cha...llenge the Dodgers' powerhouse lineup? Key discussions include team strengths, payroll disparities, and the impact of high-spending franchises on MLB. The hosts analyze starting pitching, bullpen strategies, and offer bold predictions for the series outcome. Shohei Ohtani, Freddie Freeman, and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. take center stage as potential game-changers.Tune in for expert insights on this thrilling World Series clash and the broader issues shaping the future of baseball.Support Us By Supporting Our Sponsors!PrizePicksDownload the PrizePicks app today and use code LOCKEDONMLB to get $50 in lineups after you play your first $5 lineup.PrizePicks — Run Your Game.Click Link Here: https://prizepicks.onelink.me/LME0/LOCKEDONMLBRugietReady to level up your confidence ? Head to https://rugiet.com and use promo code LOCKEDONMLB for 15% off your first order. MonarchTake control of your finances with Monarch Money. Use code LOCKEDONMLB at https://monarch.com/lockedonmlb for 50% off your first year.GametimeDownload the Gametime app, create an account, and use code LOCKEDONMLB for $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Download Gametime today. What time is it? Gametime.FanDuelToday's episode is brought to you by FanDuel. Football season is around the corner, visit the FanDuel App today and start planning your futures bets now.FANDUEL DISCLAIMER: 21+ in select states. First online real money wager only. Bonus issued as nonwithdrawable free bets that expires in 14 days. Restrictions apply. See terms at sportsbook.fanduel.com. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit FanDuel.com/RG (CO, IA, MD, MI, NJ, PA, IL, VA, WV), 1-800-NEXT-STEP or text NEXTSTEP to 53342 (AZ), 1-888-789-7777 or visit ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-522-4700 (WY, KS) or visit ksgamblinghelp.com (KS), 1-877-770-STOP (LA), 1-877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY), TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN) Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Oh, this is it.
We're down to all the marbles, and it's the Dodgers, just like we all thought.
Canada!
Step up to the plate.
It's the Locked-on MLB Squad show.
From the Dodgers to the Astros, the Mets to the Rangers, and everyone else in the league,
with the experts of the Lockdown Podcast Network bringing you the most comprehensive breakdown
of all the action around the war.
We're coming on spikes up.
No hurt feelings allowed.
So squad up.
This is the latest edition.
of the Lockdown MLB Squad show. Hello, my name is Jeff Carr. I am one half of Lockdown Reds.
I am the channel manager for Lockdown MLB. Joining me here today is Jeremiah Geiger from Lockdown,
Marlins, one half of Lockdown, Guardians and Justin Lada, and of course, the inimitable, the
inimitable, I'm making up words at this point. Sully is here from Lockdown, MLB. And we're going to
tell you all about our predictions for the World Series and why they are probably exactly right. So make
sure you listen in, because it feels like the Dodgers have been.
off for a month as it took seven games to figure out the ALCS. And now we know it's the Toronto
Blue Jays that will oppose them. And that is going to be quite the matchup because it feels as
though these Blue Jays have just got it all figured out. Right. Right. That's all coming up on
today's squad show that's brought to you by Fanduel. Right now new customers can bet just $5.
And if your bet wins, you get $300 and bonus bets to use across the app. Download Fandual
today and also joining us now is also Booney from Lockdown A's.
And guys, as we look at this World Series, it's obviously going to be the Dodgers and
they're probably going to win in like four games, right?
I mean, obviously they're ruining baseball and we have to have this story, you know,
come to an end, right? It's got to be their ruination has to be final, correct?
No. And I really can't, I can't understand.
I live here in L.A. County, and everyone's just, the only question they're asking here is,
will there be a three-peat? And all my people who are big Yankee fans and everything around the,
or A's fans or whatever teams around the country, have been texting me to do the Blue Jays have a shot,
or is this just going to be in sweep? I'm going like, have I been watching a different team?
First of all, the Blue Jays have home field advantage. Granted, so did Milwaukee.
but we've seen that the Blue Jays can hit with anybody.
And believe me, I did a whole apologies episode
because everyone has been underestimating the Blue Jays the entire year.
And they're in the World Series.
And they did so in a dramatic fashion.
And they're probably not going to throw to the wrong base
to end a series.
They're probably going to score more than four runs
the entire series like Milwaukee did.
I don't understand why people are acting like this is
the, they're the Washington generals.
I mean, to your point, like Ernie Clement had more hits in the ALCS
than the Brewers did as a team in the NLCS.
There was a period of time in the game four,
which I attended,
where Shohei Otani had as many home runs in that game as the Brewers had runs in their entire series.
That's not going to happen with the Toronto Blue Chase.
I don't understand why people are acting like this is just a complete mismatch.
Can we also stop pretending that this whole thing is ruining baseball too?
I know there's, okay.
Is there a financial disparity?
issue, absolutely. There is a disparity issue that needs to be addressed. I don't have the answers for
otherwise Rob Manfred might hire me and I might, you know, tell them to go kiss off because I don't
want to work for Rob Manfred. But the blue jays are what, fifth in payroll? Like, they're still a
big market payroll team. Big market in our country. They have a whole country. Exactly.
It's Canada. I don't know what the exchange rate is these days, but I'm pretty sure they're still
paying a good amount of money. They still
kept Vladimir Guerrero Jr.
for a boat boat of Frank
Quas. And they were able to sign
George Springer. They were able to
sign Kevin Gosman, right?
They still make Jeff Hoffman, who, you know,
wasn't that good. So let's not pretend that
there's like this David Goliath thing here
that's going on. The flu just has a huge payroll.
If you spend, you get in,
and that increases your odds
of not screwing up
in the postseason unless you throw to the wrong base.
That's all he said. But this is not
killing baseball. There's a whole different issue here, but the Blue Jays are also a top five spending
team. So this is not like a, again, this is not a David Goliath situation. Well, and to your point, too,
like I don't know if everybody's seen that whole Forbes thing that, uh, I think it was Brooksgate posted
on Twitter. It was mentioning that, you know, so many teams have spent 50% or less of their revenue on
their payroll to the Blue Jays credit. They're one of the teams that actually outspend their
ranking as far as where their revenue and where their payroll is. So they've really,
worked at this. I mean, when you look at it, Booney, do you feel as though it's just going to be an
easy walkthrough for the Dodgers? Or is this, do you think the Blue Jays have a shot? I'm with Sully on it.
I think the Blue Jays have an extremely good shot. One thing that didn't get exposed in the Brewers
series because the Dodgers starting pitching was so darn good and went so damn deep was the
bullpen. And I think the Brewers hitting from top to bottom is going to shorten that outing from
five to six innings rather than in the Brewer series going from seven to eight.
And I think that's a big deal.
The brewers are good.
They're really, really good.
And I think they're going to surprise a lot of people.
Blue Jays.
Not surprised a lot of people.
The Blue Jays.
Brewers would be very surprising if they were still playing.
I would be surprised.
Pretty in a slip is clear.
Booney really good.
I'm going to go to Fannie.
I'm going to put my money on the Brewers in the World Series.
Brewers Mariners is going to be a hell of a series.
But yeah, no, I mean,
Jeremiah, like the bullpen of it all, I have said that since the wild card.
I said that in the DS.
I thought that the bullpen was going to be the Achilles heel of the Dodgers.
And it just never seems like they even get to the bullpen.
As good as they're starting pitching has been.
Well, quickly too, about the payroll issue in killing baseball.
How about the Mets with the second biggest payroll?
They didn't even make the playoffs.
Courtesy of your Miami Marlins, by the way, and the Cincinnati Reds.
But I think the Blue Jays have an excellent shot.
Their offense is incredible.
I mean, they can hit, when they get hot, they're going to hit homers in boatloads.
And the Dodgers starting rotation has their work cut out.
Do they have a really good rotation?
Yeah, obviously.
But that rotation doesn't go through a whole season unscathed.
They're not going to go through, I don't believe, the World Series unscathed.
So I think the Blue Jays have to start off on the right foot.
They got the home field advantage.
If they come out flat, then yeah, the Dodgers are going to have all the moment.
some going back to L.A.
But don't get it twisted.
This Blue Jays offense is legit.
It's why they're in the World Series.
I thought that the Dodger or the Mariners had a better chance to beat the Dodgers in the
World Series.
But now I've kind of changed my mind because the Blue Jays are a more complete team.
The Mariners were a terrible defensive team this year.
They didn't run the base as well.
The Blue Jays don't have defensive issues.
In fact, they have a lot of ex-gardians on their team because they play good
defense. And now make no mistake about it. I'm rooting for the Guardians of the North to
win this the whole thing somehow. But it's happened from rooting baseball, obviously. But because
they have Vlad Guerrero and they have Alejandro Kirk and they have Dalton Varshot and
Beauchette should be able to come back for them. Because they have George Springer,
they can make it work where they have a Jimenez and a straw and a Clement,
a Clement, obviously at a great CS. They are a more complete team than the Mariners were.
Their bullpen, I thought would be an issue for them. But I think their manager has
figured out.
Like, there's a lot of talk about relievers this year and the third time a team has
seen a reliever in a series.
He's mixed it up really well.
They have a good rotation.
If they can get into the Dodgers bullpen, which I know is hard, I think they're right.
I think Jeremiah's right.
They can absolutely do it.
And I think they have a shot.
Dodgers right now are minus 215.
That's the, uh, is 215 to win 100.
The highest of all time was the A's over the Reds.
91.
90, excuse me.
And how that work out?
Not very good.
It's 3.30.
35 years ago yesterday, that,
35 years ago yesterday, that's sweeping.
A couple, a couple, a couple of tiny things.
These three tiny things could have gone one way or the other,
and we're not looking at L.A.
Freddie Freeman picks up a ball in the dirt thrown by Tommy Edmund in game two against Philadelphia.
That was a, middle of a Dodger bullpen.
meltdown. And if that is, he doesn't scoop that ball out, the game is tied. Okay.
Bryce Terrang gets his leg out of the way of an inside pitch with the basis loaded with two outs
in the bottom of the ninth thing. That ball hits him. It's a blown save. And of course,
if Ryan Keckering remembers that there's two outs and doesn't throw the ball to Mary Hart,
then, you know, that in that game's going into extra.
going to the next end, who knows what Philadelphia does.
One of the shocking things about Milwaukee was they played so not the type of baseball we saw all year long.
They made errors, but most importantly, they were swinging early.
They were swinging first pitch, which allowed them to have Blake Snell do something
that Kevin Cash couldn't even imagine, which was pitch eight innings, or to allow Yamamoto
to say, hey, I have an idea what to do with our ballpen.
We'll have them throw a complete, we'll have them throw,
complete game.
But Trinan stinks.
And he let up runs against Philadelphia.
He surprised, the only run he let up in game, they let up in game four, the,
the Otani game.
Surprise, it was off of Trinan.
He nearly blew the save in game one.
If the ball hit his leg, then boom.
Those couple of dumb moves by the other team, if Toronto doesn't play dumb baseball,
I think they have a shot.
Do I think it's easy?
Do I think they're going to pull the Cincinnati Reds in 1990 and sweep them?
No, but I do not understand the people who are acting like this is,
this is a, oh, it's just seeing who's going to be,
who's going to the Dodgers are going to beat.
They don't even have home field advantage.
Oh, like Sully says, the Dodgers are lucky.
Now, I do find an interesting prop out here coming up next that I want to dive into
because it does have to do with the Dodgers and they're starting pitching.
Let's be real.
Making excuses doesn't solve anything.
We've all heard them before.
It's just stress.
I'm tired.
Or it happens to everyone sometimes.
But when it comes to performance,
sometimes your body just needs a little extra support.
And that's where Ruggiat comes in.
Ruggiat.com offers fast-acting doctor-prescribed treatments for ED,
designed to help you stop making excuses and start making moves.
Rougiate makes it easy to get started.
You just connect with board certified doctor 100% online.
line, no awkward waiting rooms, no in-person appointments.
If prescribed, your treatment ships discreetly straight to your door.
The process is fast, simple, and private, and it's all handled by real doctors.
Visit RUG-I-E-T.com slash locked-on MLB and get 15% off your first order.
That's RUG-I-E-T.com slash locked-on MLB.
And don't forget to use our code locked-on MLB so they know that we sent you.
Rugi it.
stop making excuses and start making moves your favorite MLB team has a MLB podcast right here on
locked on because we cover every team every day here on the locked on podcast network make sure
that you make us part of your everyday routine on YouTube and on your favorite audio platform
because we are free and available everywhere you get your podcast all right so I saw this interesting
thing and it has to do with the starting pitching obviously unless a relief pitcher comes
in and does that, and I would be surprised.
There's a prop for any starting pitcher to have 12 or more strikeouts in a game on this
World Series, and the odds on that are plus 350.
That kind of feels like the Dodgers will hit that, or will it be Kevin Gosman?
I don't know, but do we see the Dodgers starting pitchers going long enough into World Series games
to accomplish such a feat?
That is not happening because the Blue Jays were one of the team.
that have struck out the least in the postseason.
Now the Dodgers have struck out their rotation has struck out the most batters.
But I'm going to say the Blue Jays lineup has enough power hitters to grant out at bads and
contact hitters for balance.
But that's not going to happen.
But I'm just glad the prop bet isn't if the pitcher is going to throw a ball in his first pitch,
honestly.
Yeah, you would you would have some knowledge of that one, unfortunately.
It's clear, though, that the power is a big thing.
And, I mean, we've seen a lot of.
home runs really change these playoffs.
And I mean,
Jeremiah,
when you got a guy like Vladimir Guerrero in your lineup,
you can play with anybody.
Yeah,
I think the 12 strikeouts is such an interesting prop bet to me,
because I could see a guy like Blake Snell go out there and go five and two-thirds
and 12 strikeouts,
but his pitch count so elevated that he leaves the game early.
He just has that firepower.
You mentioned Gosman.
Gosman's one of the most volatile pitchers I can remember.
being the ace of the staff because during the regular season he was just so inconsistent.
He'd go eight innings one game and then give up five, six earn runs the next game.
The power for the Blue Jays is the key in this series to me.
It's if Vlad Guerrero can continue this just, I mean, MVP level performance, you know,
earning every single dollar of the contract.
And I see no reason why not to believe this is going to continue.
He has the supporting cast.
He has the protection in the lineup.
We just saw George Springer.
Bo Bichette's going to be back, hopefully, for the World Series.
So call me crazy.
I really like this Blue Jays team to give the Dodgers starting rotation trouble.
I don't think it's going to be a walk in the park like it was against Milwaukee.
I just don't.
I think this Blue Jays team is legit, and they're going to hit the ground running.
By the way, Jeremiah, I think it's absurd to think that any manager would take Blake
Snell out of the game.
before the end of the sixth inning.
I mean,
what kind of parallel universe?
Especially in the world theory.
Especially in a do or die where it's like we got to,
where he's airing it all out.
Why would any,
why would anyone their right mind do that?
He will never live that down.
That is his great little moment.
One of the things that I think you're 100% right.
And I think that the,
the strikeout thing is not going to be an issue.
This is a contact hitting team.
This is a smart team.
And yes,
Vladi Guerrero got three home runs.
Somehow,
Anders Him and it's got two.
home runs, which is surreal.
He has more postseason home runs than Willie Mays.
And, you know, George Springer hit his three home runs and everything like that.
But this is not a Yankees launch angle.
We're just swinging from our heels.
This is a smart hitting team.
They'll shorten up their swings and go to right field.
They do situational baseball.
They will squeeze a couple of runs here or there and then get the big honkin home run.
And that's one of the, you saw them.
Obviously, they did that like,
crazy against New York, but they did that against Seattle as well, especially after the first
two games. Remember, both Milwaukee and Toronto were down 02 going to the other city. Milwaukee never
recovered, and Toronto dusted themselves off. And you saw that from, you know, when they had
the third, was it 13 to 2 or 13 to 4, sorry, they had that game where, you know, they fell behind
early. Everyone in Seattle is throwing their Starbucks in the air.
And then, you know, it wasn't just the Springer home run.
It was, and it wasn't just the him in his home run.
It was single by Lucas, double by Guerrero, you know, walk, you know, Varsho gets a hit.
Like they up and down the lineup, they just have smart at bats.
They grind it out so they're going to get to the bullpen faster.
And heck of the hell of it.
I'm saying it's a Toronto sweep.
I don't think L.A. is a chance.
Interesting.
Okay. No, thank you.
Okay.
Okay.
It is funny to hear, though,
Andres Hemannes has more postseason home runs than Willie Mayes.
You got to love that.
He has more than Willie Mays and Ted Williams combined.
That's an unbelievable stat.
I never would have guessed.
And hell, Ernie Banks, for that matter,
if you want to throw him in because he never played the postseason.
It started Joey Votto, you know,
he started adding up a whole bunch of different guys.
Did Fotto hit one against the Giants in 2012?
one yeah but like okay oh that's true you're right you're right my point but i guess combined
because willie maize did hit one in the playoffs yeah yeah exactly so that'll be i i don't know
like i find it intriguing this whole series the way that this matchup has fallen i i just the dodgers
seem to have waltz through the n l portion of these playoffs and we said that the nl was supposed to
be the toughest of the two leagues and it felt like the more entertaining series happened on the
American League side. Would you agree? Well, I could tell you, I went to a hell of an entertaining
game at Dodger Stadium when I saw Shohei Otani hit three home runs and picked six
shutout. Under the entertaining quality. Close, maybe. Closer. I think this postseason has had
four really, or I think five really great games. I think the first game, the, the game
where Crochet beat the Yankees at Yankee Stadium was a great.
game. Obviously, the final game between Seattle and Detroit, that was just an all-time game.
Yeah.
I thought the Orion Keckering game, and I hate that that's what it's called, but that was a really
amazing game. The final game between Toronto and Seattle, game seven, was terrific.
And then, of course, you have Otani having the greatest individual performance in the history
of the postseason. Those are five really memorable games that, okay, maybe four, because
I'm leaning one that the one Red Sox win. But that was a hell of it.
of a game. But okay, okay, let's let's take my bias out of it. You've had four really, really good
games before we get to the World Series. And, you know, I think that they're evenly distributed
between the American League and the National League. I was just going to say, I think the reason
that you haven't seen the NL as competitive is because the Dodgers are a veteran team that has
turned out in the postseason. Normally, it's very dangerous to be a team that, obviously, that, you know,
They won enough games to win their division,
and their division's not weak by any means.
But they were not the top seat overall in the playoffs.
They didn't get a first round by at all,
but they've turned it on in October.
And that's because they have a group of guys in this team,
the Freddie Freeman's that have been there before.
The Mookie Betts is now a T'Otani there.
They have all these guys in this roster that have been there a couple times now
throughout their time with the Dodgers of their teams.
They can turn it on in October.
That's what they've done.
They have moved into October mode.
That's what they've been playing for all year.
So that's why I feel like they haven't had any pushback.
And I wonder when we get to the first game of the World Series or this series at all,
if the Toronto Blue Jays, who have had to kind of fight through the entire postseason,
at least say in the first round by, the two series they've played,
they've had to fight a little bit more tooth and nail.
And I wonder if that will make them a little more, not motivated,
but the Dodgers probably having as much pushback.
So I wonder how that plays.
Let's go around the horn and make our predictions coming up next.
there's still time to get in on this great introductory offer over on Fandall.
I know that we're in the middle of football season and all that stuff,
but of course the World Series is starting on Friday night.
And we've got the odds for the series winner.
The Dodgers are favored minus 220.
No surprise there.
And you've got the odds on the Blue Jays winning at plus 184.
It's interesting because it kind of feels like I've been picking against the Dodgers
all postseason.
And I'm just not going to do it.
I kind of feel like minus 220 is hard to put any kind of money on,
but I think I'm picking the Dodgers to win this World Series.
And if you've got a choice,
you can go make yours over on Fandul.
And new users can place a $5 wager.
And if it wins, you get $300 in bonus bets.
That's a crazy good offer.
Go download that Fandual app today.
Kind of feels like we're all picking the Blue Jays, huh?
I don't know there, Jeremiah.
What do you think?
You know, going into this season,
a lot of people didn't think the Blue Jays were a playoff team,
much less going to win the division, go to the World Series,
and now they face the Mighty Dodgers,
the best team money can buy,
anything short of a World Series trophy is a failure,
and I see the series going one of two ways.
The Dodgers put the money where their mouth is
and go out and sweep the Blue Jays or win it in five,
or the Blue Jays make this an all-time classic.
They win in six or seven.
I got the Toronto Blue Jays shocking.
the world in game seven slaying the dragon and winning the world series i like it i was told at the
the beginning of the year that john schneider needed firing uh sully i i i can't remember who said that
it was me and i i i have uh completely uh uh you know apologized to the nation of canada
for insinuating that he needed to be fired i thought i've been adamant about it and do what i was wrong
I was wrong about a lot of things about the Toronto Blue Jays.
A lot of them.
I've underestimated them.
I thought both the Red Sox and the Yankees would clobber them if they faced each other in the division series.
I didn't give, I thought Seattle was going to get in.
Every turn I've picked against them.
And I look at this and I see last year, look at, the Dodgers deserved the World Series title last year.
but they avoided the Phillies because the Mets took them out.
And I thought the Phillies were a deeper team.
Last year, the Dodgers had a mess in their starting rotation.
You know, when they had Sandy Kofax throughout the first pitch,
they asked them, could you give us four?
I mean, they scheduled a bullpen game,
not a bullpen game because it was an 18-in-a-game.
That was part of their rotation was a bullpen game last year.
And Dave Roberts was able to, you know, overpower a bullpen game.
a Mets team that was, you know, played a little over their head and deserved their spot that they were not in the same league.
And a very dumb team in the Yankees.
They are Biff Tannen from Back to the Future who bullied their way into the World Series.
And they earned their pennant last year.
But they, well, it's the Sky Report.
Put the ball in play.
They're dumb.
They faced a Phillies team and a, they faced a Reds team who were, they made the playoffs.
and that was their victory.
I'm sorry, I'm sorry, Jeff.
That was their victory.
And they did a terrific job.
But they didn't have a prayer.
And then they beat a Phillies team that played tight.
They played super tight in all three of their losses and a Brewers team that played tight.
If Toronto doesn't play tight, they're not a dumb team.
They have a terrific lineup up and down.
The Dodgers have the advantage in the rotation.
but Toronto has the advantage in the bullpen
and they have the smart contact hitters
who get into that bullpen.
That is why I am picking the Dodgers and six.
I like it. Justin, your thoughts.
I have to go, I think Jeremiah and Sully sounded up pretty well, actually.
I didn't think the Blue Jays had a shot to start the year either.
I thought a lot of those people were going to be fired,
especially all the ex-Cleaners that are up there,
we're going to be looking for new jobs.
I didn't think they're going to keep Vlad Guerrero either.
the bullpen to me isn't as big a mismatch.
Like obviously the Dodgers bullpen is a dumpster fire.
But the Blue Jays bullpen isn't so good that it's just like, you know,
so many paces above them.
So I don't think it really cancels out as much as we think it does.
And there's just no breaks in that Dodgers lineup.
Like you're facing Shohei Otani to lead off the game.
You're going to Mukhi Betz.
And you've got to face Freddie Freeman.
And what, Taska Hernandez has been terrible for a while now.
I don't know what he's done in the postseason.
But he's going to heat up again.
I'm pretty sure.
The hit and dingers in the postseason.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So, and you think he doesn't want revenge in Toronto?
Like he was there for a little bit too.
And they didn't resign him.
I think the deeper the series goes, the Blue Jays do have a better shot to win.
But the Dodgers, like I said, there's no breaks in that lineup.
The rotation has just been too good in the postseason.
I think there's too many spots in the lineup for the, for the Blue Jays that are easier to navigate through.
So I'm going to say Dodgers in five, unfortunately.
I man I I I love everything that the blue jays have put together and I've been I was really impressed and you know that was Forbes reporting on the revenue and all that other stuff that's not like public reporting because nobody makes the revenue public but Forbes says that according to the revenue the blue jays are actually lower on the list than they are on the payroll list are actually a lot higher on how much they spend on payroll so I admire the heck out of that in a day and age when it seems like you know we've got the teams like the cubs that are really really
not trying to spend their revenue at all.
I think it would be easy for Toronto to pack that in.
But I think there's something to, like you said, the whole idea of keeping Vlad.
That being said, I think the Dodgers win in five.
I just think they're inevitable.
I think this is this is Thanos before, before Infinity War, not Thanos before end game.
So I think that ultimately they're just going to end up and win this thing.
and then we are going to go into an off season with nothing but absolutely good feelings
amongst the teams and the players and the owners and all that good stuff as we head into the final
year of this.
You know, and I'll say this, the villains in baseball are not the, the Mets nor the Dodgers, in my opinion.
And I think, and I said this in a podcast during the All-Star break, which was, I think it's absurd that we're even thinking about
a labor stoppage because it is nothing to do with owners versus players. The players gave up a lot
in the last time. They have a revenue tax. They have, there's a luxury tax threshold.
There's revenue sharing. What this is, it's 28 owners versus two owners. It's 28 owners saying,
okay, we're going to live by this revenue sharing. And the Mets and the Dodgers say, we don't care.
we're just going to do whatever we want and we'll pay the tax you know here's a blank check we don't
care and so it's to say we're going to have a labor stoppage it's it's just you get your house in order
and the when you have a team like the pirates who now are going to go into year three of paul skeins
who have that there's really only what six maybe seven legitimate aces when cole comes back and the pirates
have one of them and you can't put a mediocre team around him. You're going to be in the, you know,
you have control. The gods have forged an ace and placed them in your hands. And now you're going
to go into year three. First year, okay, fine. It's a surprise. Second year, there's no excuse
that you don't have a major league team around them. Next year, if they don't, they're the problem.
And there should be, forget a salary cap. No one can show me evidence that salary caps
would create more parity,
how much more parity do you want in baseball
with a number of repeats
championships don't exist.
We've had every team
win at least one playoff
games since, you know,
what, since 2010?
Is that what, I mean,
it's been every...
Game or series.
At least one game.
Will win in that time? Because I don't know if they do.
Who?
The Angels. They lost the Royals in 2015.
I don't know.
Okay.
So the last time the
just won a playoff game was 09.
But we know that's a small market.
I mean,
it's a team that's ruining baseball.
They had Ocani and Trout
and they couldn't win, make a single
play of what they couldn't reach 500.
So that's a salary
floor and some sort of
accountability of revenue sharing.
If you're taking the revenue sharing
and you're pocketing it, you're the problem
in base. There has to be accounting.
I said this when we got our relief money
because we had the huge fires here in Pasadena in January.
And the schools, because a couple of schools in our district burnt down,
we got relief money for our classroom.
You know, it was like $500 some odd.
It was $500.
And we had to account for every dollar that we received.
This is how we spent it on our classroom.
We had to spend all 500, but we had to show,
I wasn't go to Starbucks.
This goes to this thing.
These go to the pens.
This goes for a wagon that we need to bring supplies to our classroom.
We need to do that, and there's to be a public audit.
Here's the revenue sharing.
How did you put that into either resigning your players, international free agents, or acquiring new players?
And if a dime of that isn't going to those three things, guess what?
You have to give it all back.
I like that.
Because then you're also, I mean, especially teams that have public money for stadiums.
Like, there's absolutely no reason for that stuff to be hidden from the public at that point.
So I lose their, lose their share of revenue sharing because of that.
They were, they were threatened to.
They were, I think that was like a threat, but I don't think that actually happened.
Because I remember that being like something with the Coliseum and now it's, it's all different.
I know, Sally, you know a lot more about that than I do.
But I remember that whole, they had to spend so much on their salary this year.
Yeah.
Or they would lose the revenue sharing.
And that's why they end up with Louis Severino, who.
Weird, how that worked.
they were threatened with that and all of a sudden they started spending.
Maybe Rob Manfred should follow through on that a little bit more.
Yeah.
I think so.
I think so.
And I think that's a great spot to end it.
So looking forward to this World Series and, of course, the off season as well,
who got you all covered here on Lockdown MLB and with Lockdown Guardians,
locked on Marlins, locked on A's and Lockdown Reds and all of your favorite teams in
between because we are all part of the Lockdown podcast network, your team every day.
Thank you.
