Locked On Mariners - Daily Podcast On the Seattle Mariners - MLB's Most CLUTCH Players REVEALED | Who Rises to the Occasion?
Episode Date: April 22, 2025Can the Dodgers, Padres, and Giants keep the National League West race thrilling until the end? With the Dodgers and Padres neck-and-neck and the Giants just a game behind, this MLB season promises in...tense competition. Dive into the dynamics of division races, the emotional toll of different types of losses, and the elusive quality of being "clutch" in baseball. Follow & Subscribe on all Podcast platforms… 🎧 https://lockedonpodcasts.com/podcasts/locked-on-rays/Locked On MLB League-Wide: Every Team, Prospects & More🎧 https://lockedonpodcasts.com/leagues/mlb/Support Us By Supporting Our Sponsors!Amazon Fire TV Stick 4kDid you know your Fire TV is also an Xbox? Turn any TV into your gaming and entertainment hub with Fire TV Stick 4K devices — no console required. Head to Amazon.com/firetvlockedon to get started. Xbox Game Pass Ultimate subscription and compatible controller required.Supply HouseJoin the TradeMaster program today at SupplyHouse.com/TM and start ordering plumbing, HVAC, and electrical supplies with just a few clicks. Plus, use promo code S-H-5 for 5% off your first order. That’s SupplyHouse.com!Wonderful PistachiosGet snackin' and get crackin' with the snack that packs a protein punch. Visit WonderfulPistachios.com to learn more! Monarch MoneyTake control of your finances with Monarch Money. Use code LOCKEDONCOLLEGE at monarchmoney.com for 50% off your first year.GametimeDownload the Gametime app, create an account, and use code LOCKEDONMLB for $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Download Gametime today. What time is it? Gametime.FanDuelRight now, new customers can get TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS in BONUS BETS when your first FIVE DOLLAR BET WINS! Download the app or head to FANDUEL.COM to get started. Bet with FanDuel—Official Partner of the NBA.FANDUEL DISCLAIMER: 21+ in select states. First online real money wager only. Bonus issued as nonwithdrawable free bets that expires in 14 days. Restrictions apply. See terms at sportsbook.fanduel.com. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER or visit FanDuel.com/RG (CO, IA, MD, MI, NJ, PA, IL, VA, WV), 1-800-NEXT-STEP or text NEXTSTEP to 53342 (AZ), 1-888-789-7777 or visit ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-522-4700 (WY, KS) or visit ksgamblinghelp.com (KS), 1-877-770-STOP (LA), 1-877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY), TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN) Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
A lot of tight races around the league so far, but which division will have the most interesting race when things are all set and done?
On today's Locked-on MLB Squad Show.
Step up to the plate. It's the Locked-on MLB Squad Show, sponsored by game time.
From the Dodgers to the Astros, the Mets to the Rangers, and everyone else in the league,
with the experts of the Locked-on podcast network bringing you the most comprehensive breakdown of all the action around the horn.
We're coming in Spikes Up.
No hurt feelings allowed.
So squat up.
All right, baseball fans.
Welcome into the show that covers the big news of the week with the experts from the Lockedon MLB channel.
I'm your host, J.D. Haffron from Lockdown Cardinals, multiple hosts here with us from the Lockdown MLB Network,
ready to give you daily analysis of your favorite team from your favorite sport.
Another great smelling and attractive looking crew here from our Lockdown Network.
We've got not one, but both hosts.
from Locked on Reds with Jeff and Stephen.
We got Booney from Locked on A's.
Havi checking in from Lockedon Padres and the Godfather himself,
Sully from Locked on MLB,
who will inevitably catch hell from the listeners for all of our takes on this show here today.
Today's episode is brought to you by GameTime.
Download the GameTime app, create an account,
use that code Locked on MLB for $20 off your first purchase.
Later on the show, we're going to be discussing which type of loss is worse.
And what exactly is Clutch?
What is it to be clutch?
Who is clutch?
We'll talk about all of that.
But first, let's talk about division races.
Week 5 of the MLB season is underway,
and we've got plenty of tight races going on around the league already.
But we're going to try to look into our locked on crystal balls
and talk about which division races we think are actually going to be the most interesting
throughout the season.
And I want to start with somebody who is not necessarily affiliated with one team,
but let's go with Sully to start this.
Which division are you looking at right now that you find to be pretty interesting and will be interesting going on throughout the year?
Well, I mean, obviously the National League West, you have the Dodgers and the Padres as of this recording are tied.
And the Giants who are playing are only one game back in the lost column.
Unless we forget the Diamondbacks are only two games back in the lost column at this point.
I mean, it's very early, but you're getting a sense for teams like the Giants and for the debacks,
they need to get out of the gate fast
and they both have done that.
Boy, the dimebacks are going to regret that loss they had in Chicago
where scoring 10 runs and one inning wasn't enough.
But that's going to be a very interesting race
because you can argue that probably the two best teams in baseball
play in that race.
But boy, oh boy, I underestimated the Mets.
I didn't give them enough credit or maybe I gave the Braves too much credit.
Although the Braves are in a little bit of a hot streak right now.
but the Mets are now tied with the Dodgers and Padres by beating the Phillies.
And it is never the wrong time of the year or too early to beat your chief divisional rivals.
It was a too tight a game for Mets fans, you know, because it was five bagel and it turned out to be five four with Bryce Harper at the plate.
But, you know, I think I think the NOS would be the most interesting.
The Mets are making the NL East interesting.
but I do think both central races are interesting because there's no favorite.
So if there's ever going to be a who the hell, how the hell did they get in?
It would probably be in one of the central races.
But I think the most interesting in terms of quality baseball is going to be the NL West.
Yeah, absolutely, Ben.
I agree. Padres are a great baseball team.
That's what I picked up from that.
Yeah, first of all, I've never heard bagel used to describe zero ruds.
Oh, really?
I've only ever heard donut.
So thank you for that one.
I've just never heard that before.
It's really nice.
I'm a big fan of it.
But I agree with everything silly said.
I think that Atlanta is also just, I get, it's just not, I refuse to believe that the team that
had, it's one thing to be like, say Cleveland, if Cleveland fell off or if Detroit fell off.
It's another thing to be Atlanta, which basically had the same, give or take a few games,
win total projections as the Los Angeles Dodgers in a lot of ways.
and they're just having somehow two seasons from hell, like consecutively.
That usually doesn't happen.
You had last year with all the injuries and then really poor batting outside Marcelozoon
and a couple of other guys.
And this year it's been a little bit inconsistent batting.
And then my former, my former love jerks and pro far getting pop repedes,
Raid al-Lopez heading to the IL,
Ronald Cudy Jr. is still being hurt and apparently hating his manager for totally
justifiable reasons, by the way, but doing it publicly.
And then Spencer Strider getting injured.
tossing just just just warming up and stuff so I'm I'm just fascinated by this because this would be like one of the biggest wrinkles um in baseball is if the Braves are just fine that that completely changes everything because of the wildcard spots because of the fact that the NOS looks like it has four great teams in it right now so I don't know man I'm really really locked it on that and the rest of baseball is like whatever I mean nobody honestly cares obviously no no no no whatever the other divisions are fun actually let's talk about the other West the
American League West because I know this is fun.
I am all in and rooting for the athletics now, Booney.
I want to tell you what, the fact that they're just three games behind in the division right now,
I want them to win that damn division and create chaos.
I want to watch Rob Manfred sweat about having to let playoff baseball play at the hellscape with this Sacramento.
I want major league baseball to have to take it on the chin.
And, you know, it's a fun when a division's that group together.
I think we're seeing in the natural.
We grouped together.
There's going to be, that makes it fun.
Now, you know, are they as exciting as flashy as the $400 million
dollar Los Angeles deferrals?
Probably not.
Are they as fun and flashy at San Diego who's spending,
trying to keep up with their big brother up the road,
just smacks them around?
Probably not.
But it's still fun baseball.
I think, you know, as regionalized as baseball is,
that's good for baseball that these divisions seem to be kind of grouped together,
now and you know just so what if
Atlanta got off to a bad start
there's other things to follow those are the things
to see I like what's happening
in baseball right now will it hold all year
I don't know but it's fun to think and dream
about right now I agree with you
on the AL West and it's not just because the A's
play in there but if you if you really look
at all the storylines per team right
you got the 2000 and uh
23 a world series champs
the Rangers who was picked by many to win the division
you got the Astros in there I was like hey
we're the king of the hill.
Someone needs to knock us off.
The Mariners have been trying to be relevant for years.
A lot of people have been picking them to get to the playoffs to win the division.
And the best thing for baseball right now is Mike Trout playing well, right?
His batting average isn't there, but hey, it's high for the league league and home runs at eight.
And I'm sure the batting average will come around.
And of course, the storyline with regard to the A's or the athletics and Sacramento and whatever it may be.
And then playing in a minor league ballpark.
And yes, it's not the best division in baseball.
But I tell you, man, I mean, I watch the Houston Toronto game part of it today.
And I was rooting like hell for Toronto.
And, you know, so when you have the emotion for other teams against other teams in the same division,
you could feel like the rivalry's there.
So for me, the most interesting one is, like you said, all teams are real tight together is the AOS.
See, but here's the thing.
Everybody has done this investment thing in the,
the NL West and the AL East and even a little bit that are the Detroit Tigers and the AL Central.
Can I interest you in a division with five teams that don't care?
I mean, yes, the Cubs did get Kyle Tucker, but they're like, nah, Cody Bellinger can head
east.
Like, he can go play for the Yankees.
We don't need him.
And our pitching staff, yeah, we just need waiver claims.
We don't really need to spend money on pitchers.
I mean, we got Shota Emmanaga.
He pitches every fifth day.
What more do you need?
And then the Reds haven't had an outfielder for,
five years. And what do they go do? They go get Austin Hayes, who albeit has had a nice little
bounce back in his first handful of games coming off the injured list. But other than that,
they've got a bunch of other dudes that are just trying to prove that they are major league caliber.
And then you've got the Cardinals that used to be a really well-ran organization, decided to stop doing
that. And the Pittsburgh Pirates exist in this division as well. And I haven't even mentioned the Milwaukee
Brewers who said, Willie Adamas, yeah, you can go to the West Coast. We don't care.
Our former ace, Corbin Burns, you're available. Please go somewhere else. And our closer,
we don't need him either. He can go to New York. This division is so interesting for the fact that
nobody wants to win it. And you have the Cubs that have a run differential of like plus 45.
And the Reds who just beat the Orioles by 22 in one game, who their run differential is almost
plus 40 as well. It's it's a ridiculous grouping of teams that quite frankly, I'm getting to the
point, whoever ends up winning the division, I'm going to, well, yeah, that makes sense,
because nobody wanted to win it. Just incredible tag. The incredible thing against Baltimore,
because this is something that we want to discuss in our next segment. What type of loss is actually
the worst type of loss? Which one hurts the most? Which one annoys you the most? Which one's the
worst one to handle. So we're going to jump into that and talk about it on our next setup of
Locked-on MLB Squad Show. The NBA playoffs are here, and Fandall is giving new customers an
incredible way to get in on the action. Right now, when you join Fandall and you place your
first $5 bet, you'll get $250 in bonus bets if your bed wins. And one of the great things about
Fandual is how easy it is. It's so easy to be a part of it, whether it's picking your favorite team
to win the big game or you're diving into player props.
You know, with the NBA playoffs going on, you've got, you know, three-pointers galore, steals,
assist. Fandwell has so many ways to bet your favorite player props.
And after the game tips off, you can even combine live prop that's into a same game parlay
for a chance to win really big.
On Tuesday, the schedule is nice.
You got Milwaukee at Indy.
Pacers up in that one, one to nothing.
OKC, number one seat hosting Memphis up one or nothing.
And then the Minnesota Timberwolves went into L.A.
off the Lakers in game one, so they're up in that series one to nothing.
Great NBA action set to take place.
Don't miss out.
Head to Fando.com and claim your $250 in bonus bets today.
Once again, thank you guys for coming in and joining us on this Lockdown MLB Squad show.
We're talking ball.
We just ran through some of the division races and which ones we think are going to be entertaining and exciting.
And at the very tail end of that, Jeff from Locked on Reds brought up, you know, the crushing
loss by the Baltimore Orioles over the weekend where his reds and Stevens Reds.
I don't want to leave you out there, Steve,
just completely beat the snot out of the Baltimore Orioles where you know,
you got position players coming in.
You guys got bottom of the lineup guys just teeing off and set in records,
things that nobody will remember later on down the line except probably you too.
But they did happen.
It did happen.
So losing sucks no matter how it happens,
but some losses are going to hurt worse than others.
You've got the blowout games that you guys made, that you brought up, which can be an embarrassing massacre.
Or you've got walkoff losses where it comes down to the final pitch and ends in agony for one team,
either by home run or base hit, walk, wild pitch, et cetera, whatever it is.
But which type of loss is worse?
Personally, I think I'd rather get curb stomped like the Orioles did over this weekend.
I'd rather have that happen a couple of years ago.
The Cardinals saw both Albert Pooholes and Yaddi, and Maloney.
to get a chance to pitch and blowout losses in their final seasons.
And despite, you know, losing those games big time,
there was something charming and fun about seeing those old guys on the mound.
But what do you guys think?
Which one is the worst way to lose?
Is it a blowout or is it in a walk-off fashion?
It's the walk-off.
Listen, we saw, you know, Jeff and I experienced live opening day in Cincinnati.
It's a holiday.
It's almost as big as Christmas in Cincinnati.
And we got to watch Ian Jabot.
allow a game-winning home run in the ninth inning, you know,
not quite a walk-off, but they blew it in the ninth.
Then we got to celebrate yesterday, as Jeff mentioned, 24 runs on 25 hits.
You know, if I'm going to lose, I just, let's lose, let's get that over with,
because as we saw from the Reds, the next day, doesn't freaking matter if you win by that much
because you can go out and lose the Miami.
So I, this did, though, this interesting, just real quick side trip, JD,
because it helped me come up with a new plan.
since Rob Manfred's hell bent on ruining baseball anyway,
I came up with a Manfred plan.
I want to be able to take all of the positive run differential
for games that you didn't score in a divisional game
and apply them to a game that was a divisional game.
So say I lost to Milwaukee 3 to 2.
I want to take a couple of those runs from the Baltimore game
and change the score in the freaking Brewer's game.
And that might make.
So we're going to have to carry an Excel spreadsheet with us everywhere.
It's fine. Manfred's a smart dude, you'll figure it out.
I got a new plan. I got to write it down and I'm sending it to New York.
First of all.
Oh, I'm sorry. You go, Hobby. You know a little bit about losing.
Okay. Okay. Okay. I mean, you know what? I'll allow it. It's fine. It's fine. It's fine. It's okay. I thought we were friends.
But you know what? This is what life is like, right? Like you sometimes just face,
utter betrayal at the hands of the closeted meritor's fan
who could have joined the Padres and did it and now he's upset.
No, I'm just kidding.
But I've kind of struggled with this question my entire life, honestly.
Like, I really don't know whether it's worse because at least you felt alive at some point.
And in this world, I feel like we often are just, duh, you know, like you're kind of,
everything sucks the energy out of you.
That's kind of the world we've built for better or worse.
I don't mean people on this call, but the powers that be.
So I do like to be like, you know what?
At least I saw a game.
And I think that it hurts more in the moment, right?
You're going to be mad.
In my case, you'll be at a bar and someone throws a drink in your direction
and it hits the TV right next to you and your friend.
And then it gets all over you.
And for some reason, the bouncer doesn't kick him out.
And we're just standing and we don't even know what really happened.
But I look at the blowout and I say, that's also just really funny.
It's better to be disastrously wrong than wrong.
Like if I predicted the Padres to win the World Series and they won 65 games,
that's infinitely more fun than I think they'll make the playoffs and they won 87.
They didn't make it.
So I know that this is like the ultimate not answer.
I'm still frankly recovering from solely being mean out of nowhere.
But it just totally uncalled for.
I thought I thought Jeff Snyder was.
Was it on this call?
Like, okay.
It's just crazy.
And also the winningest team out of everybody here.
Just want to throw that out there.
But I do think that I prefer, I think, the walk off because you'll look back and be like, well, that was a great game.
You know?
And losing in crazy fashion, I think sticks.
I'm friends with Jets fans in my life.
And they are like bordering on nihilism at this point.
You know what I mean?
And I've been a Chargers fan, which is.
year after year not to do cross-reference of sports but year after year it's a lot of disappointment
but at least you were there at least you had some at least at least at one point you were invested and
you weren't yore from you know winnie the poo and you're just kind of like moping across through life so
that's the place i land in i think as of now we have the answer to the question what team does
sully hate this week and clearly the padres um because you know there's so much to hate about the podres the
I don't think it's even an issue.
I mean, I've said before, I'd rather lose 23 to nothing on the perfect game on the other side.
As someone who grew up in New England as a big Red Sock fan, you know, obviously I have the memories of 86.
I have the memories of, you know, a lot of, you know, crushing, you know, losses that slipped away.
And I've also seen my team have the doors blown off the dump.
Like in 1990, the A's swept the Red Sox.
and even though one of the games was pretty close,
they, by, like, then they would have like a seven run ninth inning
or something like that to pull it away.
And by the time Roger Clemens got ejected in game four,
I just sat there like, oh, we made the playoffs.
You know, I don't sit around and go like, in 1990 we had, no, you didn't.
The only frustrating thing was the two times when the A swept the Red Sox,
both times underdogs beat them in the World Series.
And I'm like, why couldn't we do that?
But there were two sweeps, 88 and 90.
And in 88, that was frustrating because the first two games were one-run games.
That, you know, they were within our grasp.
And the Red Sox had a four or five run lead in game three.
And then the doors fell off and they lost.
You know, you could, those close games stay with you.
But when you lose 20 to nothing, you know,
You don't sit there going, oh, if only what?
If only what?
The other teams alarm didn't go off?
I mean, like, it's like at some point you think, okay, yeah, we just didn't have it today.
It's kind of like, you know, again, I'll very rarely cross-reference on sports.
But you think about some of the really, like, tight Super Bowls that we've had where, like, Atlanta collapsed against New England or the picked off play at the line of scourge.
The last couple of ones, there was the one that was the overtime game.
game between San Francisco and Kansas City.
And then you think about those Super Bowls in the 80s that were all awful.
It were all blowouts.
Like Niners Chargers.
Nineers Chargers.
All right.
Bears Patriots when they had the doors blown off the dump.
There was the,
the Broncos lost to the 49ers when you're,
I think they're still scoring.
I think they're still on the field scoring touchdowns at this point.
But like you don't remember, I'm sure a Bronco fan is like, oh, if only that game, we lost 55 to 10.
If only what?
What was the key play that would have turned that around?
So to me, there's absolutely no comparison.
You know, if I look at the, you know, I even said to Yankee fans last year at the World Series,
when they blew the five-nothing lead because of bonehead plays and bad decisions, I said,
would you rather have lost a game like that or lost, you know, 10,
nothing. And everyone that commented, said, oh, 10 nothing, because then you could say, well,
they were the better team. What are you going to do? I almost wonder if, like, you asked
the major league ball player, like, which one's the easiest to forget? I'm guessing they would say
the walk off as well. Like, they had to set through the whole nine inning affair where they lost
by 20 or something like that, but they probably reconciled that loss somewhere around the fifth
any. Like Baltimore, Charlie Morton was getting his brains beat and he's been getting his brains
being in all season. And as much as he's had a very nice long career, it kind of feels like this
whole beginning of the season is making him wonder exactly, is this his last year? But I think that
this is something that the walk-off just sucks your soul out, where, yes, it was a good game,
and you can sort of think about it afterward and like, okay, if I wasn't a fan of my team that
just got walked off, maybe I do appreciate that game a little bit more, as opposed to a non-fifes.
fan watching a blowout like that. They're probably not watching it. But at least you can turn a blow
off. I've done that plenty of times as a Reds fan. Like we've seen our fair share of blowouts here
in this most recent decade of baseball. And so you kind of just see it happen. But yeah, the walkoff
for me, there's something about it where in that moment, there is no chance the game is over. You can't
come back. You just got walked off the field. You can't do anything about it until tomorrow.
That it just makes it so hard to stomach. And I almost, I kind of expand on it in season
wide form because I still hate 2021. It was the last year that the Reds ownership really cared
about spending on their, on their roster. And they still had holes. They didn't spend on all
of the roster, but they spent on enough of it. And it took the most,
ridiculous winning streak in St. Louis Cardinals history to get them ahead of the Reds and get them
into the playoffs. So it felt like a season walk off where the whole season, the Reds were worth
paying attention to until the final week of the season when the Cardinals passed them and it was
clear they weren't making the playoffs. That really still sticks with me as opposed to 2022,
whereas the last time the Reds lost 100 games since the 80s. I'm pretty sure. J.D. Haffron was
sacrificing live chickens during that whole.
I remember that ordeal.
And I remember texting Jeff a couple times.
Like,
I love how we're battling.
With the Cardinals,
we're begging us.
Just take it.
And they're like,
all right,
fine,
we're just doing 30 games in a row.
And even their horrid organization right now,
like,
was just like,
wow.
I don't know how that happened.
And they didn't keep that manager.
I don't know what you did.
What do you say?
Yeah,
cost the manager's job.
I don't know.
That was a good move.
That's worked out.
I never understood that.
It's so weird.
Why did that happen?
Like, why?
Who decided this?
I got the opposite take, guys.
I think it's harder on a blowout.
Let me tell you why.
You guys, before you guys jump to conclusions here.
Like Harvey said, at that moment, right, it hurts.
At that very moment, it hurts.
But when it settles in, you,
can tell yourself and look at the situation and say, hey, those guys played for each other.
They left it out on the field.
It didn't work out.
The ball didn't roll their way.
They're going to get better after this.
They're going to become a better team after this.
And a blowout loss like the A's have yesterday, I have, I'm questioning their whole year.
I'm questioning the effort they put in.
I'm questioning every ball they didn't run out.
I'm questioning their chemistry as a team.
I'm questioning their togetherness.
I'm questioning everything about it.
And for that, it hurts a lot more because I don't know if this is the team I thought they were in a blowout loss.
Now, I get it.
It's 162 game season, but in the game of baseball, unfortunately, we judge every game on itself.
And for me, a blowout hurts a little bit more than a walker.
Ed's last point.
and maybe it depends on, you know, what your situation is, your social situation.
Most people here have friends, I assume, right?
But you know what stinks when your team got blown out?
That jerk friend, we all have them.
That they're going to kill you when your team gets swept.
You know, you know how I know this because of what happened with the charges this past year?
You know how I know this?
Because it wasn't a blowout in the series, but the Padres, you know how many 22 inning jokes I've heard over the last six.
months a lot oh it's a lot folks let me tell you so the total your friends kill you and you hate it
the slanders all over the timeline which i know that doesn't mean as much it means more with friends
the timeline you could lose by one to michael jordan and then they're like wow you like you guys
blew it and it's like well what are we doing here right but the friends they kill you man the people
who are close to i know jeff snider locked on dodgers kills me all the time you know what
And I think that there's something about the blowout loss that you can't even say,
you can't excuse it because then those losers who didn't even to make it in the first place
starts saying, well, we could have done better.
You got a pirates fan, you know what I mean?
Who's all like, oh, well, we would have done okay.
And we haven't spent money in 13 years, but we would, why didn't we post season?
There's something about the Fred Rose that it drives me, it can drive you and Sam.
All right.
Well, the word clutch is throwing around a lot in sports, but what does it mean to be clutch?
We're going to get some opinions on that next on the Lockdown MLB Squad Show.
Thank you again for making Lockdown MLB Squad Show.
You first listen today for your second list.
And we want you to check out the all new Lockdown MLB game night every game every night,
all season long at local analysis on a national scale.
You can find MLB game night on Locked on YouTube or wherever you listen to your podcast.
It is playoff time in the NBA and NHL.
And if you're going to listen to any of those broadcast,
you're going to hear the word clutch brought up a lot.
There's going to be a clutch player.
There's going to be a clutch situation.
But what does it mean to be clutch?
What is that?
Who do you think of when you hear the word clutch
when it comes to Major League Baseball?
Sully, Clutch.
Let's start with you.
It's someone who you want to have up there.
And not necessarily you had the best regular season.
because we saw that, you know, I mean, it's really unfair to this guy who's had a wonderful career so far.
But Aaron Judge's postseason legacy is dropping a fly ball in the center field.
That's not fair, but that's the case.
Barry Bonds may have been the most talented player I've ever seen in my life when he was skinny and not.
But he had a bunch of very bad post seasons in his career.
It's the people who, I mean, of current, I mean, I could go old school and take.
about people like, you know, Reggie Jackson or Willie Starder when I was a kid or, you know,
obviously Kirk Gibson came up huge, not just in the 88 World Series, but in the 84 World Series.
Yeah, tigers.
You know, they don't want to walk you.
But you take a look at some players now, people who you'd want to be up there at a big moment,
I would say Corey Seeger, who, you know, who has been come up huge.
He is the only person along with Reggie Jackson to win World Series MVP's with two different.
franchises.
Freddie Freeman came up huge in the World Series with both Atlanta and Los Angeles.
I think about people who have had big post seasons with multiple teams.
In the late 80s, early 90s, Dave Stewart, you hand him the ball.
With the exception of the Eric Davis home run in 1990, he won three postseason MVP's as a pitcher.
Kurt Schilling was the same way.
and of the great brave staff,
their biggest big game pitcher was not Maddox.
It was Smolts.
You hand the ball to Smoltz,
and he was the one who came up huge,
and also ironically, he was their best closer.
So it was kind of a strange situation there.
We're starting to see that with Soto.
We're starting to see that maybe, you know,
we saw he came up huge for Washington when they won the World Series.
And he had a bunch of big hits with the Yankees,
with the Yankees last year.
The one, again, I like to take that player who isn't the huge superstar,
but for whatever reason came up gigantic.
And I'll just throw one other name,
because this is the ultimate person who came up big in the big games
while being in the regular season,
someone like El Duque Hernandez,
who was an okay pitcher and just,
you hit him in the ball in the postseason,
and he had ice water in his veins.
I don't know how it happened,
but, you know, that's just the case.
So that's, it's a hard thing to quantify, which is why the statistical folks hate it, because it's, it's narrative driven and emotions.
And they don't like narratives and they don't like emotions.
It's the last I test that baseball still has out there that hasn't been taken over by a stat, right?
Sometimes you can just feel it around a guy.
And it's not necessarily always the postseason, Sully, but it's like it's the reason that I still to this day just hate Derek Jeter because you knew that that guy with with all of the.
lights of ESPN shining upon him was going to do something and you're going to have to watch
him for four more weeks because that's all they were going to put on TV.
There's other guys that have those moments.
Anytime that Kristen Yelich sees a dude on a mound wearing a red hat, that dude's going to go
off.
He's going to be clutch in that moment.
Anytime, you know, you can look at the playoff dudes, you know, Reggie, you know,
Reggie Jackson, Mr. October, right?
You know, that was a playoff guy.
But there's these guys that just, just find a way to take the energy of a moment and
deliver and you know jeter was one of the biggest examples for me of a guy that was able to do that
who most of the other time was listen don't tell stacey i said this but most of the other time
was just like an average to below average shortstop but he would have those moments and fall
four rows into the stands and we'd have to watch him for four more weeks because of ESPN so i mean
there's guys that just rise to the moment you mean defensively i'm not going to i'm a native new
Winglander who rooted for the
Diamondbacks in the 2001 World Series.
But don't have me defend Derek Jeter.
No, I think you should
have to. I really feel like
Give you a palli-cleenser reset.
But I'm not going to, you're not like,
you know, you're not going to be, oh,
I'm so cool. I'm going to call him
Belize. No, he's one of the
he's a 3,000, he's the
all-time hit leader in Yankee history
and was put up MVP numbers
for a bunch of years. I'm defending
Derek Cheater. Are you going to record your show in, are you recording your show in Pinchripes now? Is that what we're doing?
Oh, great. I now hate the Padres and I'm now a Yankee fan. My gosh. Lifetime slash at Lifetime slash 310, 377 440 at a lifetime OPS of 817 and 3,465 hits.
Um, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, you know, come on. Let's, I know what's, I know it's cool. I know it's cool. I know.
It's cool. I know it's cool to be the contrarian, but he should have moved to third when
Arod showed up. That old ran. Because defensively, defensively, he was not there, but I'm, I'm not
saying, I'm just saying. In case there's any Reds fans that love the Big Red machine out there,
we're talking about clutch. So Tony Perez, he was clutch. Anyway, had to just get that out there. Obligatory
Tony Perez reference. RBI machine. Outside of, let me, outside of Tony,
Gwen, who's your Padres most clutch guy, hobby?
Is it too early, safe for Natta Tati shooter?
I know this is like the most boring answer I've probably ever given to any question
in my life, but this guy's got like a 1300 career OPS of the postseason.
And at one point last year, he had four home runs in five games and didn't strike out once.
And the only other player in Major League history to do that was Lou Gehrig from 1928 to
32.
Like, what?
Like, it doesn't.
And he's only favorite team.
he has the aura that's what you guys want to say let's just use it i know the asterisk also no he doesn't
he has the aura right like i'm not playing uh this nonsense aster's thing i've had enough of all this
but like it's this thing that it can't be described it's why people will pick bryce harper
over yordaunt alvarez who's technically better lately yordaunt alvarez but brys harper we've seen come up big
who's technically better Kyle Schwerber or
Christian Yellich Christian Yelich but every time
Kyle Schwerver is up in the postseason of like this guy's
going to hit something 490 feet and you just feel like you see it coming
and especially in the month of June Kyle Schwerver
yeah seriously the month of June and the other thing though is it is
harder in baseball I think you know Stephen kind of mentioned this like
it's the one thing in the sport that like you you kind of just have to watch it a
little bit more and I think that it's kind of cool
that baseball is a little bit immune from the like really tired legacy clutch choke
conversations compared to other sports because it's more about like teams a little bit while
in football you'll have the philippa eagles who have the best receivers best defense
best defense the line best running back best everything and then they're like wow our quarterback's
the best ever it's like actually it's a good team and i kind of like that baseball's a little
of immune from that.
But it's,
it's tough because I think that the numbers can't always get it,
but there are some players who have not performed as much.
And there are some players who are just,
they've been in the postseason a lot.
Aaron Judge, go look at the playoffs earlier in his career.
He was great.
He's basically just had two recent postseason that were bad.
And he's been awesome before that.
And like to not go against Tatis,
but Tatis has only been in the playoffs twice.
So it's this really tough thing,
but at the same time also with the Jeter thing,
I also love like the only people who called Jeter overrated are non Red Sox fans.
It's one of my favorite little like subplots about this.
Red Sox fans do.
They're like, we know.
And I think that that's a part of it too is what series do you feel like matter more, right?
Like it's just there's too many variables to it, but it certainly exists.
When you're looking at clutch performances, there's as far as pitchers, there's two pitching performances that move me, that absolutely move me.
was game 6, 04, Kurt Schilling.
I was there.
I was there.
You were really coming.
What made that so special was, I believe it was in game two when he got banged around
in Yankee Stadium.
Just absolutely got, it was game one.
I'm sorry, got shelled in Yankee Stadium.
I mean, for him to come back in game six, the way he did was just nutty.
And the other one's Madison Bumgartner in 2014 against the Royals game seven.
It was ridiculous.
As far as hitters, David Ortiz has to be in the,
the conversation. And for me, the most clutch player over 162 games season for what he brings
off the field and on the field is Freddie Freeman. No question about it. If I were to pick one guy
on my team that I know that would make it better today, it would be Freddie Freeman.
You know, when we talk about the, you know, I'm here living in Los Angeles County.
And there's been a lot of guff given to the men who has the highest war in Dodger history.
and that is Clayton Kershaw.
And there have been, he has had some not good, but great postseason performances in his career.
He's had 32 postseason starts in his career.
But the interesting, and of course, one of the things that makes the 2017 scandal so awful is that that was going to be his John Elway moment.
because he was brilliant in game one,
and he came out of the bullpen
was brilliant in game seven.
But the one game in Houston,
the place where Chris Sale got shelled,
C.C. Sabathia got shelled,
David Price got shelled,
and Clayton Kershaw got shelled.
Hmm.
And had he pitched the way he was pitching,
he probably would have been the World Series MVP.
And there have been,
he has had some great performance.
And he won two of the games in the,
the COVID series, but he's also had some bombastically.
2014, here he won the Cy Young and the MVP.
He got shelled by St. Louis.
And of course, I was actually living in the Bay Area then, and all the giant fans are
going, yeah, you have all your postseason awards.
Give us Bob Garner any day of the week as he threw shut, complete game shutouts and then
came out of the bullpen, and he's amazing.
The thing that's interesting, the win and loss record I don't really care about because
you can pitch great and
lose. It is interesting. His win-loss record,
he has thrown another season in the postseason. He's thrown
a hundred ninety-four in a third
post-season innings, and his record is
13 and 13. His ERA is 4.49.
So it's almost the
definition of mediocre, mediocre, mediocre record,
mediocre,
it's a quality start every time.
But you look at his lifetime,
what an average season would be was 217 innings, a 2.5 ERA, and the 17 and 7 record.
Again, less emphasis on the win-loss record and more on an average season of his,
he's, you know, he's dominant.
And so he did pitch worse in the postseason.
It's demonstrable.
And there have been a couple of years where he was the reason why they fell apart.
And I can, and I know that Dodger fans get.
frustrated by his legacy because his legacy on the field is astonishing.
And he did win a ring.
It was in the COVID year, which counts.
And he did pitch well in that World Series.
He was on the team last year.
So we picked up another ring for himself.
He was shirtless.
I know he won.
I saw it.
But he has a complicated legacy because he was the best pitcher of the 2010s.
and I don't even think it's close.
But I think that's why Clayton Kirshall and Havis point are,
is why it's so great to talk about clutch in baseball because we just have to kind of feel it.
Because in other sports, there are numbers for it, right?
Quarterbacks have completion percentages.
In basketball, it's, it's the guys that drain a certain percentage of shots.
Like basketball players that shoot 30% aren't really that great.
And quarterbacks that complete 30%.
aren't in the NFL, like hitters that hit 30% of the time are great.
And that's why it's so hard to quantify clutch in baseball.
You just have to kind of know and the whole aura argument and the whole like you see it like in the biggest moments,
the Jeter argument, all that other stuff.
That's what you have to talk about.
And it makes it almost a unfinished argument, but we kind of know who.
Who wins and who loses it?
Yeah.
I mean, you said it right?
I just think that like other sports,
there are some guys that you,
it feels like they change.
Like there's an actual added quality to them where I'm like,
I know James Hardin that they're going to lose.
We literally see him become a worst player.
With Clayton Kershaw, it's tough.
But like, if I'm having that, I mean,
the Padres fan, whatever.
But you have that like, you know,
bar room conversation with your friends.
if someone's like, I think not by skill, but I'm taking Mad Max because Clayton
Kershaw, this guy won an MVP as a pitcher, which is like impossible to do basically.
He wanted triple crown, all these things.
And at the peak of his powers, he has had way too many blowups in the postseason.
Like he's not, you know, a Michael King, like a really good pitcher, you know, U.
Darvish, a really good pitcher.
But I'm just, I look at that.
I'm like, that's what he's going to be remembered for, unfortunately.
you know what I mean and that's just what happens and well yes he got the the COVID ring and all that stuff what was his last outing he got one out you know what I mean like that is he couldn't even bookend it on a way so I just think in one of those in this weird way Kershaw is it's like maybe the question of most talented versus like greatest career and I think some people might be like is it Scherzer is it someone like that who you knew was always nails in the postseason and then Kershaw at his best I mean
I remember some of those Cardinals games, man.
I remember the freakouts.
I remember seeing him in that dugout.
You expect more from the best picture of the generation, I think.
Well, as the Lockdown Cardinals host,
I apologize for ruining Clayton Kirshaw
and his entire legacy.
It's sad that he gave up big-time dongs to guys like Matt Adams.
Like, hey, you know, things happen.
Things happen.
Matt Adams, more clutch than Clayton Kirschaw.
Write it down.
All right, guys.
Well, we want to hear from you guys in the comments below.
Actually, who do you guys think clutch?
Do you agree with the discussion we're having here today as far as who's clutch,
what makes a person clutch?
How are you guys feeling about that?
Let us know down in the comments section, any questions, anything like that.
Let us know.
Reach out to each and every host.
If you have it, if you got questions or things you want to hear from them,
make sure to make your favorite teams locked on show and locked on MLB,
part of your daily routine.
We'll be bringing your daily content all season long,
no matter how good or bad things go for your particular team.
So look for the Locked-on MLB Squad Show in your feed each week.
Part of the Lockdown Podcast Network, your team every day.
